DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 11/28/2025 has been entered. Claims 1- 13 are pending in this application.
Claims 1-7 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive
The applicant
Main Argument (pages 6- 7) under Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. §103:
Applicant argues that the combination of Kim, and Lee does not explicitly teach the method, performed by a video decoding apparatus, for decoding a current block of independent claim 1. Specifically, "deriving an intra prediction mode of a subblock of the plurality of subblocks from the intra prediction information of the current block, based on at least one of a width and a height of the subblock, a location of the subblock in the current block, or a partitioning direction along which the current block is partitioned into the plurality of subblocks."
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Kim teaches the decoder may obtain mode information of a current block from the bitstream (Kim [0009]), and use that information when decoding subblocks, including extracting an intra prediction mode for the subblocks (Kim [0165]). Kim teaches the intra prediction mode used for each subblock may be the mode that is the same as the intra prediction mode of the current block (Kim [0166]). Kim teaches that the subblock mode is derived from the current block intra information. Lee further adds that the derivation is not limited to a fixed on size fits all assignment, but rather depend on how the block is portioned and on the characteristics of the resulting subblock. Lee teaches that the size, the shape, or the number of subblocks may be determined based on the intra prediction mode of the current block, including whether that mode corresponds to a horizontal direction or a vertical direction (Lee [0362]). Lee further teaches that the intra prediction mode of the N-th subblock may be derived by adding or subtracting an offset, where the offset may be derived based on the size, shape, and the number of subblocks as well as the portioning direction (Lee [0307]). The Claim states that deriving an intra prediction mode based on "at least one of on at least one of a width and a height of the subblock, a location of the subblock in the current block, or a partitioning direction ". Lee teaches that the intra prediction mode is determined based the size of the subblock and the position of the subblock, which is at least on of the claimed conditions (Lee [0307]).
Applicant further argues that Lee merely discloses determining the size, the shape, or the number of subblocks based on the intra prediction mode of the current block. However, Lee is silent on deriving the intra prediction mode of a subblock based on some information of the subblock
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee teaches that the subblocks may use the same intra prediction mode (Lee [0304]), but it further teaches the intra prediction mode of the N-th subblock may be derived by adding or subtracting an offset (Lee [0307]). Therefore Kim teaches the subblock mode derivation, and not just subblock information.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the subblock prediction framework as disclosed by Kim to add partition direction dependent and subblock dependent derivation rules of Lee to improve intra prediction efficiency (Lee [0016]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1. 8-9, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayoon Kim (US 20150358618 A1) (hereinafter Kim) further in view of Bae Keun Lee (hereinafter Lee) (US 20250193373 A1):
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches a method, performed by a video decoding apparatus, for decoding a current block, the method comprising:
decoding an intra prediction information of the current from a bitstream (“The decoder is configured to obtain mode information of a current block … from a bitstream” [0009]; “a decoder 1410 for decoding a received bit stream” [0165]; “receiving a bit stream including information on the intra prediction mode of the current block or information, by which it is possible to determined the intra prediction mode of the current bloc” [0169]);
partitioning the current block into a plurality of subblocks (“FIG. 3 is an example of a current block and a plurality of sub-blocks decomposed from the current block” [0012]; “Further, in FIG. 3, the current block, which is a 16×16 macro block defined by a thick solid line, is decomposed into 16 sub-blocks each having a 4×4 block size” [0046]);
respectively predicting the plurality of subblocks based on the intra prediction information of the current block (“sequentially predict the plurality of sub-blocks by using neighboring pixels adjacent to each of the plurality of sub-blocks, wherein each of the plurality of sub-blocks is predicted by using the same intra prediction mode of the current block selected based on the obtained mode information” [0009]),
wherein predicting the plurality of subblocks (“sequentially predict the plurality of sub-blocks “[0009]) comprises:
deriving an intra prediction mode of a subblock of the plurality of subblocks from the intra prediction information of the current block (“The intra prediction mode for the plurality of sub-blocks described above is the same as the intra prediction mode of the current block” [0166]) … and;
predicting the subblock using the intra prediction mode of the subblock. (“sequentially predict the plurality of sub-blocks “[0009]; “The intra prediction mode for the plurality of sub-blocks described above is the same as the intra prediction mode of the current block” [0166])
Kim does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Lee teaches based on at least one of a width and a height of the subblock, a location of the subblock in the current block, or a partitioning direction along which the current block is partitioned into the plurality of subblocks (“the size, the shape, or the number of subblocks may be determined based on the intra prediction mode of the current block. For example, when the intra prediction mode of the current block is in the horizontal direction, N columns (or N rows) are set as one subblock, whereas when the intra prediction mode of the current block is in the vertical direction, N rows (or N columns) may be set as one subblock.” [0362], [0307], [0310]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the image encoding and decoding disclosed by Kim to add the teachings of sub-block prediction conditions of Lee to improve intra prediction efficiency (Lee [0016]).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim in view of Lee teach the method of claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein intra prediction modes of remaining subblocks, among the plurality of subblocks, in the current block are equal to the intra prediction mode of the subblock (“The intra prediction mode for the plurality of sub-blocks described above is the same as the intra prediction mode of the current block.” [0166]).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim in view of Lee teach the method of claim 1. Lee further teaches wherein the intra prediction mode of the subblock is derived by adding an intra prediction mode indicated by the intra prediction information to an offset (“the intra prediction mode of the N-th subblock may be derived by adding or subtracting an offset to or from the intra prediction mode of the N-1-th subblock” [0307]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the image encoding and decoding disclosed by Kim to add the teachings of sub-block prediction conditions of Lee to improve intra prediction efficiency (Lee [0016]).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim teaches a method, performed by a video encoding apparatus, for encoding a current block (“a current block and a plurality of sub-blocks decomposed from the current block for application of an image encoding method” [0012]), the method comprising:
partitioning the current block into a plurality of subblocks (“FIG. 3 is an example of a current block and a plurality of sub-blocks decomposed from the current block” [0012]; “Further, in FIG. 3, the current block, which is a 16×16 macro block defined by a thick solid line, is decomposed into 16 sub-blocks each having a 4×4 block size” [0046]; “The block divider 110 may divide the current block into multiple sub-blocks”[0029]);
respectively predicting the subblocks using an intra prediction (“intra prediction mode for a plurality of sub-blocks” [0171]),
encoding an intra prediction information of the current block which is used for intra- predicting the subblocks,(“ an intra prediction encoder 120 for generating a bit stream for the current block by performing an intra prediction encoding”[0028]“sequentially predict the plurality of sub-blocks by using neighboring pixels adjacent to each of the plurality of sub-blocks, wherein each of the plurality of sub-blocks is predicted by using the same intra prediction mode of the current block selected based on the obtained mode information” [0009]),
wherein predicting the subblocks (“sequentially predict the plurality of sub-blocks “[0009]) comprises:
deriving an intra prediction mode of a subblock of the subblocks specified by the intra prediction information of the current block (“The intra prediction mode for the plurality of sub-blocks described above is the same as the intra prediction mode of the current block” [0166]) … and;
predicting the subblock using the intra prediction mode of the subblock (“sequentially predict the plurality of sub-blocks “[0009]; “The intra prediction mode for the plurality of sub-blocks described above is the same as the intra prediction mode of the current block” [0166]).
Kim does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Lee teaches based on at least one of a width and a height of the subblock, a location of the subblock in the current block, or a partitioning direction along which the current block is partitioned into the plurality of subblocks (“the size, the shape, or the number of subblocks may be determined based on the intra prediction mode of the current block. For example, when the intra prediction mode of the current block is in the horizontal direction, N columns (or N rows) are set as one subblock, whereas when the intra prediction mode of the current block is in the vertical direction, N rows (or N columns) may be set as one subblock.” [0362],[0307], [0310]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the image encoding and decoding disclosed by Kim to add the teachings of sub-block prediction conditions of Lee to improve intra prediction efficiency (Lee [0016]).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim teaches a method for providing a video decoding apparatus with video data (“a current block and a plurality of sub-blocks decomposed from the current block for application of an image encoding method” [0012]), the method comprising:
encoding the video data into a bitstream, (“an intra prediction encoder 120 for generating a bit stream for the current block by performing an intra prediction encoding” [0028]); and
transmitting the bitstream to the video decoding apparatus (“an intra prediction encoder 120 for generating a bit stream for the current block by performing an intra prediction encoding” [0028]; “a decoder 1410 for decoding a received bit stream” [0165]),
wherein encoding the video data (“an intra prediction encoder 120 for generating a bit stream” [0028]); comprises:
partitioning a current block into a plurality of subblocks (“FIG. 3 is an example of a current block and a plurality of sub-blocks decomposed from the current block” [0012]; “Further, in FIG. 3, the current block, which is a 16×16 macro block defined by a thick solid line, is decomposed into 16 sub-blocks each having a 4×4 block size” [0046]; “The block divider 110 may divide the current block into multiple sub-blocks”[0029]);
respectively predicting the subblocks using an intra prediction (“intra prediction mode for a plurality of sub-blocks” [0171]); and
encoding an intra prediction information of the current block which is used for intra-predicting the subblocks(“ an intra prediction encoder 120 for generating a bit stream for the current block by performing an intra prediction encoding”[0028]“sequentially predict the plurality of sub-blocks by using neighboring pixels adjacent to each of the plurality of sub-blocks, wherein each of the plurality of sub-blocks is predicted by using the same intra prediction mode of the current block selected based on the obtained mode information” [0009]),
wherein predicting the subblocks (“sequentially predict the plurality of sub-blocks “[0009]) comprises:
deriving an intra prediction mode of a subblock of the subblocks specified by the intra prediction information of the current block (“The intra prediction mode for the plurality of sub-blocks described above is the same as the intra prediction mode of the current block” [0166]) … and;
predicting the subblock using the intra prediction mode of the subblock (“sequentially predict the plurality of sub-blocks “[0009]; “The intra prediction mode for the plurality of sub-blocks described above is the same as the intra prediction mode of the current block” [0166]).
Kim does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Lee teaches based on at least one of a width and a height of the subblock, a location of the subblock in the current block, or a partitioning direction along which the current block is partitioned into the plurality of subblocks (“the size, the shape, or the number of subblocks may be determined based on the intra prediction mode of the current block. For example, when the intra prediction mode of the current block is in the horizontal direction, N columns (or N rows) are set as one subblock, whereas when the intra prediction mode of the current block is in the vertical direction, N rows (or N columns) may be set as one subblock.” [0362],[0307], [0310]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the image encoding and decoding disclosed by Kim to add the teachings of sub-block prediction conditions of Lee to improve intra prediction efficiency (Lee [0016]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayoon Kim (US 20150358618 A1) (hereinafter Kim) in view of Bae Keun Lee (US 20250193373 A1) (hereinafter Lee) further in view of Bae Keun Lee (hereinafter Bae) (US 20200120338 A1):
Regarding Claim 10, Kim in view of Lee teach the method of claim 9. Lee further teaches wherein intra prediction modes of remaining subblocks, among the plurality of subblocks, in the current block are respectively set by adding the intra prediction mode indicated by the intra prediction information to different offsets which are determined (“the intra prediction mode of the N-th subblock may be derived by adding or subtracting an offset to or from the intra prediction mode of the N-1-th subblock. The offset may be predefined in the encoder and the decoder. Alternatively, the offset may be derived based on at least one among the size, the shape, and the intra prediction mode of the coding block, the size, the shape, and the number of subblocks, and the partitioning direction of the coding block” [0307]; “The method of determining the offset includes an edge offset (EO) or a band offset (BO). EO denotes a method of determining an offset of a current sample according to the pattern of surrounding pixels” [0482]) …
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the image encoding and decoding disclosed by Kim to add the teachings of sub-block prediction conditions of Lee to improve intra prediction efficiency (Lee [0016]).
Lee does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Bae teaches based on locations of the remaining subblocks, among the plurality of subblocks, in the current block. (“Whether to set the offset to the sub-block may be determined based on the position of the sub-block” [0197]),
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the image encoding and decoding disclosed by Kim to add the sub-block prediction conditions of Lee to further add the sub-block position based offset of Bae to improve the quality of the prediction picture (Bae [0157]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayoon Kim (US 20150358618 A1) (hereinafter Kim) in view of Bae Keun Lee (hereinafter Lee) (US 20250193373 A1) further in view of Bae Keun Lee (hereinafter Bae) (US 20200120338 A1) further in view of Bae Keun Lee (hereinafter Keun) (US 20200077089 A1):
Regarding Claim 11, Kim in view of Lee and Bae teach the method of claim 10; however, does not explicitly teach wherein a filtering is performed on a boundary between two subblocks, among the plurality subblocks, in the current block which are predicted using intra prediction modes different from each other.
However, analogous reference Keun teaches wherein a filtering is performed on a boundary between two subblocks, among the plurality subblocks, in the current block which are predicted using intra prediction modes different from each other (“When different intra prediction modes are used for each sub-block, blocking artifacts may occur at boundaries between sub-blocks. Thus, for samples adjacent to a boundary of a sub-block, a boundary filter may be applied to reduce artifacts.” [0239]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the image encoding and decoding disclosed by Kim to add the sub-block prediction conditions of Lee to add the sub-block position based offset of Bae to add the filtering at the boundaries of sub-blocks of Keun improve the quality at the boundaries of the sub-blocks of the image (Keun [0162]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHMOUD KAMAL ABOUZAHRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2486
/JAMIE J ATALA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486