DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-17 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 must be amended to “wherein the melt flow rate (MFR) of the modified hydrogenated material…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The MFR range of claim 8 is broader than recited in claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 1-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 does not specify the method for obtaining the claimed MFR.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the melt flow rate" in claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sano et al. (2009/0264591).
Sano et al. teach a modified hydrogenated product comprising 15 mass% Styrene and 85 mass% butadiene, wherein the modified hydrogenated product has 0.98 phr of an amino group and a hydrogenation rate of 97% [Examples; Table 1]. The modified hydrogenated product of Sano et al. is capable of functioning in the claimed capacity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (2009/0264591).
Regarding claims 1, 3-8: Sano et al. teach a resin composition comprising 6 parts by weight of a modified hydrogenated product comprising 15 mass% Styrene and 85 mass% butadiene, wherein the modified hydrogenated product has 0.98 phr of an amino group and a hydrogenation rate of 97%, a MFR of 22.1, and Mw of 120,000 [Examples; Table 1]; and 30 parts by mass of polypropylene [Examples; Table 2].
The MFR of 22.1 is very close to the claimed MFR of 20.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05).
Alternatively, Sano et al. provide a range of 3.4 g/10 min to 22.1 g/10 min in the examples [Examples; Tables], and Sano et al. teach result effective variables for optimizing the flowability of the modified hydrogenated product [0045, 0046].
The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held that choosing the overlapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP 2144.05. It would have been obvious to optimize the variables of the modified hydrogenated product for the desired flowability, processability, and MFR of the product.
Regarding claim 2: Since the modified hydrogenated product of Sano et al. is the same as claimed it will possess the claimed glass transition temperature. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Regarding claim 9: Sano et al. teach a ratio of 6/30 [Examples; Table 2], which is within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 10: The composition of Sano et al. is capable of functioning in the claimed capacity.
Regarding claims 11-12 and 14: Sano et al. teach 70 parts by mass of polylactic acid (a polyester-based resin) [Examples; Table 2].
Regarding claim 13: Since the composition is the same as claimed it will possess the claimed domains. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Regarding claim 15: Since the composition is the same as claimed it will possess the claimed property. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Regarding claim 16: Sano et al. teach a ratio of 6/70 [Examples; Table 2], which is within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 17: Sano et al. teach a ratio of 6/30 [Examples; Table 1], which is within the claimed range.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant has made the argument that Sano et al. fail to teach the claimed melt flow rate. This is not persuasive because The MFR of 22.1 is very close to the claimed MFR of 20.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05).
Alternatively, Sano et al. provide a range of 3.4 g/10 min to 22.1 g/10 min in the examples [Examples; Tables], and Sano et al. teach result effective variables for optimizing the flowability of the modified hydrogenated product [0045, 0046].
The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held that choosing the overlapping portion, of the range taught i the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP 2144.05. It would have been obvious to optimize the variables of the modified hydrogenated product for the desired flowability, processability, and MFR of the product.
The applicant has alleged that Sano et al. fail to teach the vinyl bond content. This is not persuasive because the examples disclose 85% butadiene.
The applicant has alleged, without evidence, that Sano et al. fail to teach the claimed properties. Since the composition is the same as claimed it will possess the claimed properties. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763