DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 15-27 in the reply filed on 02/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/10/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 27, it is unclear which cooling circulating liquid “the cooling circulating liquid” is referring to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15, 16, 20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wan CN 113566226 [translation].
Regarding claim 15, Wan discloses a method for cooling a process gas (Abstract), the method comprising: passing the process gas successively through: a first-stage cooling function zone which uses a first circulating liquid to cool a process gas to a temperature of T.sub.gas 1; a second-stage cooling function zone which uses a second circulating liquid to cool the process gas to a temperature of T.sub.gas 2; and a third-stage cooling function zone which uses a third circulating liquid to cool the process gas to a temperature of T.sub.gas 3; using a first cold source to cool the first circulating liquid; using a second cold source to cool the second circulating liquid; and using a third cold source to cool the third circulating liquid; wherein: T.sub.gas 3<T.sub.gas 2<T.sub.gas 1<T.sub.gas 0; T.sub.gas 0 is an initial temperature of the process gas when entering the first-stage cooling function zone; and the three cold sources are distinct (page 5: three-stage cooling spraying device, includes circulating coolers 5, 7 and 9).
Regarding claim 16, Wan discloses that first cold source is cooling water from a circulating cooling water or a closed cooling tower; and the first circulating liquid is cooled by a first heat exchanger (page 5: cooling water).
Regarding claim 20, Wan discloses that the third cold source is a chilled liquid obtained from a chiller; and the third circulating liquid is cooled by a third heat exchanger (paragraph bridging pages 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 24, Wan discloses that the temperature of the first cold source is T.sub.source 1 before heat exchange and T.sub.source 1′ after heat exchange, wherein T.sub.source 1<T.sub.source 1′; the temperature of the second cold source is T.sub.source 2 before heat exchange and T.sub.source 2′ after heat exchange, wherein T.sub.source 2<T.sub.source 2′; and the temperature of the third cold source is T.sub.source 3 before heat exchange and T.sub.source 3′ after heat exchange, wherein T.sub.source 3<T.sub.source 3′ (pages 5 and 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-19, 21-23 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan CN 113566226 [translation].
Wan is relied upon as above.
Regarding claims 17-19 and 27, Wan does not disclose the claimed cooling sources as the first or second cold sources. Nevertheless, absent persuasive evidence that the particular cooling source is significant, it is deemed to be an obvious matter of design choice. MPEP 2144.04 (IV-B).
Regarding claim 21, Wan discloses that T.sub.gas 0 is in the range 40-80° C.; T.sub.gas 1 is in the range 35-48° C. (page 5: 40 degrees C), but does not disclose that T.sub.gas 2 is in the range 15-40° C.; and T.sub.gas 3 is in the range 10-30° C. Nevertheless, absent a proper showing of criticality or unexpected results, the temperatures are considered to be a general condition that would have been routinely optimized by one having ordinary skill in the art in order to provide optimal temperatures for dewatering. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 22, Wan discloses that the temperature at which the first circulating liquid enters a tower is T.sub.liquid1, and the temperature at which the first circulating liquid exits the tower is T.sub.liquid 1′, wherein T.sub.liquid 1<T.sub.liquid 1′, and T.sub.gas 0−T.sub.liquid 1′=ΔT.sub.1; the temperature at which the second circulating liquid enters the tower is T.sub.liquid 2, and the temperature at which the second circulating liquid exits the tower is T.sub.liquid 2′, wherein T.sub.liquid 2<T.sub.liquid 2′, and T.sub.gas 1−T.sub.liquid 2=ΔT.sub.2; and the temperature at which the third circulating liquid enters the tower is T.sub.liquid3, and the temperature at which the third circulating liquid exits the tower is T.sub.liquid 3′, wherein T.sub.liquid 3<T.sub.liquid 3′ (pages 5 and 6), but does not disclose that T.sub.gas 2−T.sub.liquid 3′—ΔT.sub.3; and each of ΔT.sub.1, ΔT.sub.2 and ΔT.sub.3 is, independently of the others, in the range 2-5° C. Nevertheless, absent a proper showing of criticality or unexpected results, the temperatures are considered to be a general condition that would have been routinely optimized by one having ordinary skill in the art in order to provide optimal temperatures for dewatering. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 23, Wan discloses that T.sub.liquid 1 is in the range 10-40° C. (page 5: 40 degrees C), but does not disclose that T.sub.liquid 1′ is in the range 15-50° C.; T.sub.liquid 2 is in the range 15-36° C., and T.sub.liquid 2′ is in the range 20-45° C.; and T.sub.liquid 3 is in the range 0-25° C., and T.sub.liquid 3′ is in the range 10-40° C. Nevertheless, absent a proper showing of criticality or unexpected results, the temperatures are considered to be a general condition that would have been routinely optimized by one having ordinary skill in the art in order to provide optimal temperatures for dewatering. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 25, Wan does not disclose that T.sub.source 1 is in the range 5-35° C., and T.sub.source 1′ is in the range 10-45° C.; and T.sub.source 2 is in the range 10-30° C., and T.sub.source 2′ is in the range 15-40° C.; and T.sub.source 3 is in the range −17 to 10° C., and T.sub.source 3′ is in the range 0-30° C. Nevertheless, absent a proper showing of criticality or unexpected results, the temperatures are considered to be a general condition that would have been routinely optimized by one having ordinary skill in the art in order to provide optimal temperatures for dewatering. MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 26 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan CN 113566226 [translation] in view of Jin CN 2737771 [translation].
Wan is relied upon as above.
Regarding claim 26, Wan does not disclose performing on the process gas: ammonia-based desulfurization; and ammonia-based decarbonization; and performing cooling: after the ammonia-based desulfurization; and before the ammonia-based decarbonization. Jin discloses performing on the process gas: ammonia-based desulfurization; and ammonia-based decarbonization; and performing cooling: after the ammonia-based desulfurization; and before the ammonia-based decarbonization (see Jin page 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wan to include performing on the process gas: ammonia-based desulfurization; and ammonia-based decarbonization; and performing cooling: after the ammonia-based desulfurization; and before the ammonia-based decarbonization, as taught by Jin, for the purpose of removing sulfur and carbon from the gas.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776