DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10, 14, 16, 21, 23, 30, 32, 36-38, 40-42, 67, and 69 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 40-42, 67 and 69 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10, 14, 16, 21, 23, 30, 32, and 36-38 are examined herein.
Priority
The instant application is a CON of PCT/US2020/062627 filed on 30 November 2020, and claims benefit of priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63112609, filed on 11 November 2020. The claims to the benefit of priority are acknowledged. As such, the effective filing date of the claims is 11 November 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted on 15 September 2023 and 09 June 2026, are acknowledged and considered. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10, 14, 16, 21, 23, 30, 32, 36-38, and 69, without traverse, in the reply filed on 09 June 2026 is acknowledged. In addition, the specie election of Formula(I), compound 30 (pictured below), which reads on claims 1-4, 6, 23, 30, and 36-38, is acknowledged.
Claims 40-42, 67 and 69 are withdrawn from consideration for not reading on the elected group.
If the elected species is not identified in the art, the search will be expanded to additional species per MPEP 802.03.
The elected species was not found in the art, and the search was expanded to include all species of Formula(I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10, 14, 16, 21, 23, 30, 32, and 36-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crews et al. (WO2013106646A2; cited by Applicant on 1449 IDS) in view of Bondani et al. (Drug Discov Today. 2017;22(10):1572-1581).
Regarding claims 1, 6, 8, 10, 16, and 21 Crews teaches compound of Formula (I) (pictured below) which overlaps with the instant Formula (I) when:
R1’ is –(CH2)nOH or –(CH2)n-O-(C1-C6)alkyl, wherein n is 0
X is C=O
X’ is C=O
R2’ is -NR1-(CH2)n-(C=O)u(NR1)v- Aryl, optionally substituted; wherein n is 0-6; u is 0; and v is 0; or
R2’ is -NR1-(CH2)n-(C=O)u(NR1)v- Alkyl, optionally substituted; wherein n is 0-6; u is 0; v is 0; and alkyl is cyclic
R3’ is (CH2)n-C(O)u(NR1)v(SO2)w-Heteroaryl, optionally substituted; wherein n is 1; u is 0; v is 0; and w is 0.
Crews does not disclose a preferred embodiment of the instant genus. The closest compound contains a 1,2,4 triazole and not a 1,2,3 triazole (pictured below from STN search). Crew’s definition of heteroaryl provides examples including triazole (page 40), but does not specifiy the exact substitution of the three nitrogens. However, 1,2,4 triazoles are the only embodiments disclosed.
Bondani et al. teaches 1,2,3 triazoles are bioisosteres for 1,2,4 triazoles (page 1578, column 2, paragraph 4).
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the 1,2,4 triazole for a 1,2,3 triazole as Bondani teaches there are isosteric substitutions. The skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success and would be guided to making this substitution as Bondani provides an example in which the isosteric substitution was carried out resulting in reduced toxicity and increased efficacy.
Regarding claim 2, Crews teaches R2’ which corresponds to the instant L, in particular the alkylene group of -NR1-(CH2)n-(C=O)u(NR1)v- Aryl.
Regarding claim 3, Crews teaches R2’ which corresponds to the instant A, in particular the aryl group of -NR1-(CH2)n-(C=O)u(NR1)v- Aryl. Crews provides no limit as to the number of carbons within the aromatic moiety (page 39).
Regarding claim 4, Crews teaches R2’ can be optionally substituted which corresponds to the instant (Re)n. Optional substitutions include optionally substituted heteroaryl groups (page 39).
Regarding claim 23, Crews teaches R3’ which corresponds to the instant 1,2,3 triazole, in particular the heteroaryl group of (CH2)n-C(O)u(NR1)v(SO2)w-Heteroaryl. Crews teaches the heteroaryl can be substituted. Substitutions include, halo, cyano, C1-6 alkyl, aryl, or heteroaryl (page 38). Additionally, Crews defines alkyl to include cyclic alkyl croups (page 36).
Regarding claim 30, Crews teaches R3’ which corresponds to the instant R1, in particular the alkylene group of (CH2)n-C(O)u(NR1)v(SO2)w-Heteroaryl. Crews teaches this alkylene group may be optionally substituted with C1-6 alkyl.
Regarding claim 32, Crew teaches which corresponds to the instant R1, in particular the alkylene group of (CH2)n-C(O)u(NR1)v(SO2)w-Heteroaryl. Crews teaches this alkylene group may be optionally substituted with C1-6 alkyl, which includes cyclic alkyl.
Regarding claims 36 and 37, compound 2 (pictured below) is a species of the reference genus, however Crews does not teach the exact embodiment. Crews teaches the compound pictured below. Modification of the 1,2,4 triazole, as guided by Bondani and the addition of the 1-ethynyl-1-methylcyclopropane to the triazole results in the instant elected species.
Regarding claim 38, Crews teaches a pharmaceutical composition of a compound of Formula (I) (claim 45).
Conclusion
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10, 14, 16, 21, 23, 30, 32, and 36-38 are rejected.
/J.K.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621