DETAILED ACTION
Response filed on 2/23/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Claim status
Claims 1-2, 11, 13, and 16 are amended.
Claim 12 is canceled..
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are pending for examination.
Response to arguments
Re: Objection to drawings
In view of amendments to the drawings, the objections are withdrawn.
Re: 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered.
Applicant argues: “Applicant respectfully submits Makharia is silent as to whether there is a feature of delaying setting of a transmission processing circuit and a reception processing circuit by a predetermined period of time when the uplink signal is not transmitted at the starting point, based on a determination that the "SPS Data Tx" (allegedly corresponding to the uplink signal) is not transmitted at the starting point of the "C-DRX On-Duration" (allegedly corresponding to the onduration slot).”; and
Makharia fails to teach "variably controlling an activation period of the processor by delaying a setting of a transmission processing circuit and a reception processing circuit by a predetermined period of time when the uplink signal is not transmitted at the starting point, based on a determination that the uplink signal is not transmitted at the starting point to control a modem's current application period",
Examiner’s response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. Makharia discloses delaying the transmission relative to beginning of the respective C-DRX, as disclosed in Clm. 7 of Makharia and discussed in the following section, in greater detail. The delay amount is based on the SPS transmit periodicity and SPS activation offset (Makharia: Clm.10). Scheduling data transmission is dynamic in nature as disclosed by Makharia in Col.2, lines 33-34, “Another aspect of wireless data transmission is scheduling. In most cases, scheduling is fully dynamic.”, making the controlling activation period dynamic in nature, as per the claim.
35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection is not withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 11, 12, 14, 16, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makharia et al. (US 9,635,616 B2), hereinafter “Makharia”.
Regarding claim 1, Makharia teaches, a method performed by a wireless communication device (Makharia: [abstract] “Disclosed herein is a method of receiving a signal by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system. The method may include receiving a discontinuous reception (DRX) related configuration through higher layer signaling”), the method comprising:
determining whether an uplink signal is not transmitted at a starting point of the onduration slot by using network configuration information (Col.11, lines 17-21, “once the SPS activation command (628) has been received, during each subsequent C-DRX On-Duration period the UE may not start the SPS data transfer (632) until 4 subframes (638) following the start of the C-DRX On-Duration period (636); lines 24-27, “FIG. 7 is a timing diagram illustrating SPS data transfer while operating in C-DRX mode, according to another embodiment, in which transmission is not delayed in each C-DRX On-Duration period”);
variably controlling an activation period of the processor by delaying a setting of a transmission processing circuit and a reception processing circuit by a predetermined period of time when the uplink signal is not transmitted at the starting point based on a determination that the uplink signal is not transmitted at the starting point to control a modem's current application period (CLm.7 “transmit data during a first C-DRX On-Duration period, beginning data transmission after a first time delay relative to a beginning of the first C-DRX On-Duration period; and transmit data during one or more respective C-DRX On-Duration periods subsequent to the first C-DRX On-Duration period, beginning each data transmission after a respective time delay relative to a beginning of the respective C-DRX On-Duration period, wherein the respective time delay is determined according to the adjusted SPS transmit periodicity and is different from the first time delay”); and
transmitting the uplink signal to a base station, based on the delayed setting (discussed above with respect to disclosure in Clm.7 of Makharia).
Regarding the claim element, generating an onduration slot in a connected discontinuous reception (C-DRX) mode, Makharia teaches in Col.11, lines 2-5, “Communication, for example between a UE and a BS may occur in C-DRX mode using SPS. FIG. 6 shows a timing diagram illustrating SPS data transfer while operating in C-DRX mode”.
Though Makharia does not expressly teach, generating an onduration slot, this would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on Makharia disclosure, “The radio and the processing element may interoperate to establish a connection with a network via a wireless link, communicate with” (Col.3, lines 48-53), and Figs. 6 and 7.
A person of ordinary skill would be motivated to come up with claimed invention for power saving purpose and only perform the transmission reception only in the onduration period. UE may be in Sleep mode (634) during C-DRX operation, until it receives an SPS Activation command (328) during the C-DRX On-Duration period (636). This causes the UE to wake up ( 626), in other words, causes the UE to transition to a Talk state from a Listen state.
Regarding claim 11, Makharia teaches, A wireless communication device comprising: at least one transceiver; a transmission processing circuit configured to transmit an uplink signal to a base station using the at least one transceiver; a reception processing circuit configured to receive a downlink signal from the base station using the at least one transceiver; a processor configured to control the transmission processing circuit and the reception processing circuit; and a power module configured to supply power to the processor (existence of a transmission processing circuit, reception processing circuit, processor and power module is implied),
wherein the power module is further configured to variably control a length of an activation period of the processor based on network configuration information, and wherein the power module is further configured to: generate an onduration slot in a connected discontinuous reception (C-DRX) mode (implied), determine whether an uplink signal is not transmitted at a starting point of the onduration slot using the network configuration information (discussed above in claim 1), and
variably control the length of an activation period of the processor (discussed above) by delaying setting of the transmission processing circuit and the reception processing circuit by a predetermined period of time when the uplink signal is not transmitted at the starting point, based on a determination that the uplink signal is not transmitted at the starting point (implied based on discussion above regarding determination of delay as per SPS schedule).
Claim 16 is for device including communication module and power module whose existence are implied in mobile device. Claim elements are discussed above in claim 1. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 1.
Claims 2 and 17:
Regarding claim 2, Makharia teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above), further comprising activating the transmission processing circuit and the reception processing circuit after a predetermined period of time based on a determination that the uplink signal is transmitted at the starting point (Fig.7, step 730 and 732; 732 discloses adjustment of SPS data transmission based on SPS grant periodicity; Discussed also in Clm.7 of Makharia, as discussed above in Clm.1).
Claim 17 is implied based on discussion above regarding determination that the uplink signal is transmitted at the starting point.
Claims 3 and 19:
Regarding claim 3, Makharia teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above), wherein the delaying setting comprises calculating a delay time based on the network configuration information (Col.3, lines 24-30, “the network may prefer the UE to transmit at some other subframe in the C-DRX On-Duration period rather than at the first subframe in the C-DRX On-Duration period. The network may inform the UE of this preference in the form of an SPS-Activation-Offset parameter through UE higher layer signaling such as RRC.”).
Claim 19 is implied based on the discussion above in claim 3.
Regarding claim 8, Makharia teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above), wherein the delay setting comprises: generating a wake-up signal in a wake-up signal period, and generating a sleep signal in a sleep signal period (implied by disclosure in Makharia Col.9, lines 41-58, discussing generation of DRX cycles including wakeup and sleep periods; see also Figs. 5-7 ).
Regarding claim 12, Makharia teaches the wireless communication device of claim 11 (discussed above), wherein the power module is further configured to:
generate an onduration slot in a connected discontinuous reception (C-DRX) mode (discussed above in claim 1),
determine whether an uplink signal is not transmitted at a starting point of the onduration slot using the network configuration information (Col.11, lines 17-21, “once the SPS activation command (628) has been received, during each subsequent C-DRX On-Duration period the UE may not start the SPS data transfer (632) until 4 subframes (638) following the start of the C-DRX On-Duration period (636); see also Makharia Fig.7 and discussion above in Clm.2), and
variably control the length of an activation period of the processor by delaying setting of the transmission processing circuit and the reception processing circuit by a predetermined period of time based on a determination that the uplink signal is not transmitted at the starting point (delaying is discussed above in claim 11; no transmission of uplink signal is discussed above in claim 1; a predetermined time is implied by disclosure above in Clm.1).
Regarding claim 14, Makharia teaches the method of claim 11 (discussed above), wherein the processor is further configured to set a frequency of the transmission processing circuit based on the network configuration information or to set a filter of the reception processing circuit based on the network configuration information (Col.3, lines 10-14 “The SPS transmit periodicity may be adjusted with respect to the SPS activation command and the SPS interval UL (for uplink). Data may then be transmitted during the C-DRX On-Duration periods according to the determined SPS transmit periodicity”; periodicity in above disclosure determines the frequency).
Regarding claim 18, Makharia teaches the method of claim 16 (discussed above), wherein a transmission time point of the uplink signal is not a starting point of an onduration slot in the C-DRX mode (implied by the disclosure discussed above in claim 1, “Col.11, lines 17-21, “once the SPS activation command (628) has been received, during each subsequent C-DRX On-Duration period the UE may not start the SPS data transfer (632)” ; see also discussion above in CLm.1).
Claims 4-7, 9, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makharia as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of MYUNG et al. (), hereinafter Myung”. Hwang et.al (US 2025/0024552 A1), hereinafter “Hwang”.
Regarding claim 4, Makharia teaches the method of claim 3 (discussed above).
Makharia however fails to teach, wherein the delay time is a time between a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) slot and an unlink control indicator (UCI) slot.
Myung in the same field of endeavor teaches the regarding necessary delay time is a time between a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) slot and an unlink control indicator (UCI) slot ([0457] The UE may initially report capability values N1 and N2 related to processing time thereof to the base station. Here, N1 may be time in symbols taken from reception of a PDSCH to transmission of a PUCCH, and N2 may be time in symbols taken from reception of a PDCCH to transmission of a PUSCH. The base station may indicate, to the UE, time K1 in slots to transmit the PUCCH after receiving the PDSCH and time K2 in slots to transmit the PUSCH after receiving the PDCCH in consideration of the processing time capability of the UE and a timing advance (TA).”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine disclosure by Myung regarding the delay k1 with the disclosure by Makharia to come up with claimed invention motivated by allowing a necessary delay based on the UE capability regarding processing time as discussed above.
Regarding claim 5, combination of Makharia and Myung teaches the method of claim 3 (discussed above), wherein the delay time is a time between a downlink control indicator (DCI) slot and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) slot (discussed above in Clm.3; K2 is the related delay time that is discussed above).
Regarding claim 6, combination of Makharia and Myung teaches the method of claim 3 (discussed above), wherein the delay time is a time between the starting point of the onduration slot and a periodic uplink control indicator (UCI) slot (Makharia: Clm.1 “schedule data transmission for a first C-DRX On-Duration period to begin after a first time delay relative to a beginning of the first C-DRX On-Duration period”; the uplink data may be data in UCI, as discussed in claim 4 above).
Claims 7, 13, and 20:
Regarding claim 7, combination of Makharia and Myung teaches the method of claim 3 (discussed above).
Combination of Makharia and Myung discloses, wherein the first time is a time between a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) slot and an unlink control indicator (UCI) slot (discussed above in claim 4) , wherein the second time is a time between a downlink control indicator (DCI) slot and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) slot (discussed above in claim 5), and wherein the third time is a time between the starting point of the onduration slot and a periodic uplink control indicator (UCI) slot (Makharia: Clm.2 ”The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing element is further configured to cause the wireless communication device to adjust the SPS transmit periodicity to enable data transmission to begin as soon as the wireless communication device wakes up during the one or more respective C-DRX On-Duration periods.”).
Though combination of Makharia and Myung does not expressly disclose wherein the delay time is a minimum value among a first time, a second time, and a third time, the claim is implied based on the discussion above in claims 4, 5, and 6 regarding SPS data transmission. Whenever delay criterion is satisfies SPS data transmission may occur.
Claim 13 is a change in category with respect to claim 7. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claim 7.
Claim 20 is implied by discussion above in claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, combination of Makharia and Myung teaches the method of claim 8 (discussed above).
Myung expressly teaches the claim, further comprising: monitoring a physical downlink shared channel (PDCCH) in the wake-up signal period; and not monitoring the PDCCH in the sleep signal period (Myung: [0699] When C-DRX is configured, a UE may perform PDCCH monitoring for an on duration. When a PDCCH is successfully detected during the PDCCH monitoring, the UE may operate (or run) an inactivity timer and may maintain an awake state. However, when the PDCCH is not successfully detected during the PDCCH monitoring, the UE may enter a sleep state after the on duration expires”; The disclosure implies that no monitoring takes place in sleep signal period.)
Claims 10 and 15 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makharia as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (CN-203825759-U), hereinafter “Li”.
Regarding claim 10, combination of Makharia and Myung teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above).
Makharia however fails to teach, wherein the modem's current application period is a period in which a current flowing through the modem is 25 mA or more.
Li in the same field of endeavor teaches in [0023], idle state current consumption as 25mA.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine disclosure by Li regarding modem current consumption with that of Makharia and come up with the claimed invention that modem current consumption would be more than 25mA when it is in data processing sate.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/INTEKHAAB A SIDDIQUEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462