Detailed Action
The following is a non-final rejection made in response to claims received on May 10th 2023. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims reference “the article of manufacturing”, but cite dependency to claims (i.e. claims 1 and 2) that are directed to “a stepped trailing edge bullet”. Further amendment is required for compliance with this section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The claims cited in this section are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pat. No. 4,674,706 (hereinafter referred to as “HALL” or simply as “the reference”).
Regarding claims 1, 61, and 11, Hall teaches a stepped trailing edge bullet, the stepped trailing edge bullet comprising: a body cylinder; a leading edge (3) of the stepped trailing edge bullet positioned proximate to a first end of the body cylinder; and a trailing edge of the stepped trailing edge bullet positioned proximate to a second end of the body cylinder opposite the leading edge of stepped trailing edge bullet, where more than one stepped concentric indentations are formed upon the trailing edge of the stepped trailing edge bullet (see Fig. 2 which illustrates the tail end of the projectile 1 having a series of concentric indentations that are formed along the length of the tail portion).
Regarding claims 2, 7 and 12, Hall teaches that the trailing edge of the stepped trailing edge bullet comprises a first trailing edge end located proximate to the second end of the body cylinder and a second trailing edge end tocated distal to the second end of the body cylinder, where the more than one stepped concentric indentations are formed with a descending radius from a longitudinal axis of the trailing edge beginning at the first trailing edge end (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 3, 8, and 13, Hall teaches that the more than one stepped concentric indentations have a greatest radius from the longitudinal axis at the first trailing edge end, decreasing to a least radius from the longitudinal axis at the second trailing edge end (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 4, 5, 9, 10, 14 and 15, Hall teaches that the more than one stepped concentric indentations have a linear or curvilinear descending profile along the trailing edge (the reference teaches that the tail may “form a ‘beehive’ or cone configuration”2, which is considered to coincide to both linear and/or curvilinear profiles).
Conclusion
While the Examiner is available via telephone to help resolve administrative issues regarding a patent application, Applicants are encouraged to consider utilizing the USPTO’s Inventor Assistance Center for general administrative and/or procedural matters at 800-786-9199. Issues relating to patentability and/or prospective amendments may be more efficiently discussed via email correspondence subsequent to the filing of form PTO/SB/439 (“Authorization for Internet Communications in a Patent Application”) authorizing permission for internet communication. The form is available online may be submitted for the record along with any other response to this action. In accordance with current USPTO policy, this form must be submitted on the record prior to internet communications being authorized. A written statement by the Applicant authorizing internet communications on the record is not sufficient. Once authorization is submitted, the Applicant may contact the Examiner at samir.abdosh@uspto.gov. In the event that a telephone conversation would be the easiest means of resolving issues related to the subject matter of a pending patent application, the Examiner may be reached by telephone at 303-297-4454. Interviews will not be granted after issuance of a final rejection unless it is to discuss an amendment that either places the application in condition for allowance or simplifies issues for appeal.
/Samir Abdosh/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641
1 Claims 1 and 6 present the same structural apparatus and rely on a difference of phrasing and terminology to distinguish themselves from each other. Claim 6 is considered to be a generic presentation of the bullet embodied in claim 1.
2 See col. 4, ll. 5-9