DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the amended claims filed on 8/6/2025.
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 12-15 and 18-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-9, 12-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2018/0043896).
As to claims 1, 8 and 15 Lee discloses a method for performing smart regenerative braking incorporating learned driver braking habits (based on driving information, see abstract), comprising:
receiving, from one or more sensors coupled to a vehicle, one or more input signals (Paragraph 0222-0224), wherein the vehicle comprises a computing device, comprising a processor and a memory (Paragraph 0409); and
using the computing device:
implementing an advanced driver-assistance system (ADAS) (Paragraph 0004) and map info processing model to determine whether, within an environment of the vehicle (Paragraph 0218), there;
a traffic sign (Paragraph 0008);
a traffic light (Paragraph 0008); and
a preceding vehicle between the vehicle and the traffic sign or traffic light (Paragraph 0370);
implementing a learning model configured to use one or more braking habits of a driver of the vehicle to tune a calibration factor (Paragraph 0246); and
implementing a desired braking distance model to (Paragraph 0253):
determine, using the calibration factor, a desired deceleration (Paragraph 0253); and
convert the desired deceleration to a desired torque (coasting) for a motor wherein the implementing the ADAS and map info processing model (the model is shown in the figures based on map and ADAS in formation as described in paragraph 0004 and 0218) comprises, using the computing device (Paragraph 0256-0257):
when there is a traffic sign within the environment of the vehicle, determining whether the traffic sign is a stop sign (Paragraph 0370); and
when there is a traffic light within the environment of the vehicle, determining whether the traffic light is a red light (Paragraph 0370); and
implementing a coasting mode of the vehicle: when the traffic sign is not a stop sign; and when the traffic light is not a red light (Paragraph 0370).
As to claim 2 and 9 Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more sensors comprise at least one of: a LiDAR sensor; a RADAR sensor; a camera; and a position determining sensor. (Paragraph 0143)
As to claim 5, 12 and 18 Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the vehicle further comprises a brake pedal, and the implementing the learning model comprises, using the computing device, receiving one or more inputs indicating whether a brake pedal of the vehicle is pressed or is being pressed. (Paragraph 0258)
As to claim 6, 13 and 19 Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the implementing the desired braking distance model further comprises, using the computing device: generating and outputting an output signal configured to cause the vehicle to perform one or more actions; and performing the one or more actions. (Coasting or Regenerative braking, Paragraph 0256)
As to claim 7, 14 and 20 Lee discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the one or more actions comprises at least one of: braking (regenerative braking, Paragraph 0256); accelerating; changing direction; maintaining a distance between vehicle and one or more objects or obstacles; adjusting a position of a brake pedal; and adjusting a position of an acceleration pedal.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 5-9, 12-15 and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SHERMAN D. MANLEY
Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/SHERMAN D MANLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/PHUTTHIWAT WONGWIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747