CTFR 18/195,732 CTFR 88588 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 03-10-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not disclose the claimed configuration, and the hot rollers of the prior art are rotatable but not configured as claimed. Examiner respectfully disagrees . The cited prior art teaches a fuel cell and a method for fabricating the fuel cell, wherein the fuel cell comprises an attachment roll configured to attach gas diffusion layer to the surface of a membrane-electrode assembly (see figure 1 which describes the attachment roll with gas diffusion layers and MEA). Applicant arguments are persuasive for reasons made herein and of record . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2016/0329591 hereinafter Lee . Regarding Claims 1 and 11, Lee teaches a fuel cell and a method for fabricating the fuel cell, the fuel cell comprising: a downstream press, wherein the downstream press comprises an attachment roll configured to attach a second gas diffusion layer [100b] to a second surface of a membrane-electrode assembly [105] with a first gas diffusion layer [100a] attached to a first surface of the membrane-electrode assembly; wherein the attachment roll is rotatable and configured to receive the second gas diffusion layer having a predetermined size, and to attach the gas diffusion layer to the second surface of the membrane-electrode assembly at predetermined distances (paragraphs 26-36, see annotated figure 1). PNG media_image1.png 456 833 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding Claims 2-4, Lee teaches a punch roll disposed adjacent to the attachment roll such that the second gas diffusion layer continuously supplied to the attachment roll is located between the punch roll and the attachment roll, and wherein the punch roll is configured to rotate and to cut the gas diffusion layer into predetermined sizes (paragraphs 26-36). Regarding Claims 5-8, Lee teaches that the attachment roll comprises a vacuum line; a plurality of conduits disposed in the attachment roll; and a plurality of valves provided on the conduits, wherein the attachment roll further comprises a fixed part, a rotatable part, and an identification sensor (paragraphs 26-36). Regarding Claims 9-10, Lee teaches that the fuel cell comprises an electrolyte membrane; a positive electrode attached to a first surface of the electrolyte membrane; and a negative electrode attached to a second surface of the electrolyte membrane (see MEA described above). Lee further teaches an electrode detection sensor in the configuration above. Regarding Claims 12-19, Lee teaches a rotatable attachment roll configured such that the membrane-electrode assembly to which the first gas diffusion layer is attached passes between the rotatable lower roll and the rotatable attachment roll. Lee teaches a punch roll disposed adjacent to the attachment roll such that the second gas diffusion layer continuously supplied to the attachment roll is located between the punch roll and the attachment roll, and wherein the punch roll is configured to rotate and to cut the gas diffusion layer into predetermined sizes (paragraphs 26-36). Lee teaches that the attachment roll comprises a vacuum line; a plurality of conduits disposed in the attachment roll; and a plurality of valves provided on the conduits, wherein the attachment roll further comprises a fixed part, a rotatable part, and an identification sensor (paragraphs 26-36). Lee teaches that the fuel cell comprises an electrolyte membrane; a positive electrode attached to a first surface of the electrolyte membrane; and a negative electrode attached to a second surface of the electrolyte membrane (see MEA described above). Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OSEI K AMPONSAH whose telephone number is (571)270-3446. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, NICHOLAS A SMITH can be reached at (571)272-8760. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/195,732 Page 2 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/195,732 Page 3 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/195,732 Page 4 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/195,732 Page 5 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/195,732 Page 6 Art Unit: 1752