DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dickenson et al (US PG Pub No. 2015/0347827), in view of Bonhomme et al (US PG Pub No. 2014/0363141).
Regarding claim 1, Dickenson et al teaches a system for sharing video images via social media (Abstract), the system comprising:
(a) a first electronic device (i.e. servers in cloud system 1604) that identifies an image on display screen that is located at a live venue [104, 1602] (i.e. some or complete image processing), wherein the first electronic device linked to the display screen and configured to communicate with a third electronic device (server(s) in cloud system 1604 configured to communicate with 1602, 1607 and/or 102) (Figure 16; Para. 0153);
(b) the first electronic device captures an image on the display screen to form a captured image while the display screen provides the captured image with a unique identifier (i.e. the images can be labeled and/or assigned to a specific grid by the cloud system 1604 upon uploading the images to the cloud system 1604) (Figure 16; Para. 0153);
(c) the third electronic device communicates with the first electronic device by downloading and installing an application, wherein the third electronic device is a peripheral device (Figures 16 and 27; Para. 0153);
(d) creating, with the third electronic device, a user account via the application by providing information comprising a name, email address, password, date of birth, address, nationality or any combination thereof and at least one of a sports teams, entertainment events other than sports, desired venues, merchandise types typically purchased, whether the user ever uses coupons and what kind if answered yes, whether the system can forward coupons to the user, whether the system can forward targeted emails to the user, whether the system can forward advertisements to the user, and/or user billing information (Figure 27; Para. 0113, 0132, 0164, 0167);
(e) the first electronic device communicates the captured image with the unique identifier to the third electronic device (a specific image or images associated with the user’s location (e.g., photo position) can be distributed to the user based on the specific gridded processed image 1605 to be provided on the user’s requesting device, e.g., user mobile device 102 or user computer device 1607) (Figure 16; Para. 0153); and
(f) the third electronic device is configured to selectively share the captured image of step (e) via social media (Figure 30).
The reference is unclear with respect to a processor in a first electronic device and the first electronic device includes a transmitting device and an oversized display screen.
In similar field of endeavor, Bonhomme et al teaches a processor in a first electronic device and the first electronic device includes a transmitting device(Figure 1B-C) and an oversized display screen (Figure 8; Para. 0157). Therefore, it would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the reference before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the common knowledge purpose of allowing device to capture information and communicate with other devices to easily share desired information.
Claim 3 is rejected wherein additional digital content is added to the captured video image of (b) or (e) (Dickinson: Figure 30).
Regarding claim 4, Dickinson and Bonhomme, the combination teaches limitations of claim 3. The combination is unclear with the respect to the additional digital content is at least one advertisement embedded within the captured image provided by a licensed third party vendor. However, the examiner takes official notice that both concepts and advantages are well known and expected in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination by the additional digital content is at least one advertisement embedded within the captured image provided by a licensed third party vendor before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the common knowledge purpose of incorporating data that can be adjusted according to the users data, the event the image was taken at, the moment the image was of and the time the image was shared to provide most relevant information by advertisers.
Regarding claim 5, Dickinson et al teaches wherein additional digital content is added in real time to the captured video image of (b) or (e) (Para. 0184).
Claim 6 is rejected wherein the third electronic device is a smartphone (Dickinson: Figure 16).
Regarding claim 7, Dickinson and Bonhomme, the combination limitations discussed with respect to claim 6. The combination is unclear with respect to wherein the system determines geolocation of the third electronic device relative to the transmitting device of the first electronic device by a global positioning system in operable communication with the first and third electronic devices, and selectively determines the advertisement to be embedded based on geolocation of the third electronic device. However, the examiner takes official notice that both concepts and advantages are well known and expected in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination by the system that determines geolocation of the third electronic device relative to the transmitting device of the first electronic device by a global positioning system in operable communication with the first and third electronic devices, and selectively determines the advertisement to be embedded based on geolocation of the third electronic device before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the common knowledge purpose of incorporating data that can be adjusted according to the users data, the event the image was taken at, the moment the image was of and the time the image was shared to provide most relevant information.
Claim 14 corresponds to claim 1.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dickerson et al, in view of Bonhomme et al, further in view of Lau et al (US PG Pub No. 2014/0282001).
Regarding claim 2, Dickenson and Bonhomme, the combination teaches limitations of claim 1 including and the oversized display screen, as discussed above. The combination is unclear with respect to wherein the third electronic device shares the captured image of (e) with a fourth electronic device that shares the image via social media in real time, at a later date, or a combination thereof, wherein the fourth electronic device is different than the first and third electronic devices.
In similar field of endeavor, Lau discloses wherein the third electronic device shares the captured image of (e) with a fourth electronic device that shares the image via social media in real time, at a later date, or a combination thereof, wherein the fourth electronic device is different than the first, second, and third electronic devices (par. [45], using either email or messaging the user may send the clip to a different user, the other user is free to share the clip using the social media). Therefore, it would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the common knowledge purpose of easily allowing friends and/or family to share content of their experience with each other.
Conclusion
/KUNAL LANGHNOJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425