DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 11, and 16 are amended.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s reply to previous office action, see Remarks/Amendments filed 01/15/26, with respect to drawings have been fully considered. The drawings are sufficient to overcome the drawing objections of the previous office action, therefore the objections are withdrawn. However, a new drawing objection is introduced below.
The amendment to claim 16 is sufficient to overcome the claim objection, therefore the objection is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “410” has been used to designate both Switchgear Bay and BUS network. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Par [0049] – BUS network and Switchgear Bay are both designated by number “410”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US10379991B2, hereinafter Yang) and further in view of Schweitzer et al. (US 20210109139 A1, hereinafter Schweitzer).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a control method (abstract) for a control system (fig 1, central IED 170) in a substation (fig 1, e.g. substations 119, 151, 141), the control system comprising a substation feeder (fig 2, substation feeder 204), an intelligent electronic device (IED) (fig 1, IEDs 104, 106, 108, and 115; fig 2, IEDs 242, 246), a merging unit separate from the IED (col 7 lines 52-54 “IEDs 104, 106, 108, and 115 may include an integrated merging unit and/or be in communication with an external merging unit.”; fig 2 MU1 222 and MU2 224), and a Binary Unit System (BUS) network (fig 1, BUS 124, 126, 132, 148; fig 2, bold bus lines) connecting the IED and the merging unit (fig 1, BUS connecting IEDs and MUs; fig 2, BUS network connecting MU1 to IED1 and MU2 and IED2), the control method comprising: providing measurement signals by the substation feeder to the merging unit (abstract “a first measurement device obtains measurement data from a first portion of the electric power delivery system”, the first portion of the electric power delivery system is the substation feeder; col 7-8 lines 55-2 explains that IEDs may obtain electric power delivery system signals via merging units. Merging units may be in electrical communication with primary equipment, CTs, PTs, and/or other measurement devices configured to measure one or more electrical power characteristic(s) at one or more points in the system 100); transmitting, by the merging unit, measurement data based on the measurement signals of the substation feeder to the IED via the BUS network (col 7 lines 55-64); identifying, by the IED, a fault condition based on the measurement data, the fault condition being indicative of a potentially forthcoming electrical fault of the substation feeder (col 8 lines 36-49, electric power delivery system may include a power line 202 and a feeder 204…IEDs 242, 246 may be used to monitor and protect the distinct portions of the electric power delivery system; examiner interprets “monitor and protect” to be capable of identifying a potential fault of a feeder in the power delivery system) transmitting, by the IED, a conditional control command to the merging unit via the BUS network, the conditional control command comprising a control measure and a condition for executing the control measure by the merging unit in response to the electrical fault (col 8 lines 15-20); determining, by the merging unit, whether the condition of the conditional control command is met (col 8 lines 21-34 processing module in the MU sends the command signal); and if so initiating, by the merging unit, the control measure of substation feeder circuit (col 8 lines 41-49).
Yang does not specifically disclose a substation feeder fault example in its disclosure. It appears to focus on the MU and IED faults, although portions of the disclosure mention utilizing the MU and IED to initiate circuit breaker commands to disconnect or connect a portion of the feeder 204 from downstream portions of the electric power delivery system.
Schweitzer discloses a power delivery protection system including “primary protection relays” or “bus protection relay” (“IEDs” see par [0021] and [0033]) that obtain electric power system information from merging units (MUs) and effect control actions on the electric power bus system. Schweitzer discloses identifying, by the IED, a fault condition based on the measurement data, the fault condition being indicative of a potentially forthcoming electrical fault of the substation feeder; transmitting, by the IED, a conditional control command to the merging unit via the BUS network, the conditional control command comprising a control measure and a condition for executing the control measure by the merging unit in response to the electrical fault of the substation feeder; determining, by the merging unit, whether the condition of the conditional control command is met; and if so initiating, by the merging unit, the control measure of a substation feeder circuit of the substation feeder (par [0020] – [0025]; fig 1; fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yang and incorporate the feeder fault detection and protection as taught by Schweitzer. The advantage of this design is to provide protection, control, and monitoring to various equipment in the power delivery system to ensure reliability.
Regarding claim 2, Yang and Schweitzer disclose the control method of claim 1, wherein the control system comprises at least one second merging unit (Yang fig 2, MU2 224; Schweitzer fig 1, e.g. MU 162-178; Schweitzer fig 1, MUs 172, 174, 176, and 178) and at least one second substation feeder (Yang fig 2 is a simplified diagram of a portion of an electric power delivery system of fig 1; each substation of figure 1, e.g. 119, 151, 141 has its own feeder 204 as shown in fig 2; therefore at least one feeder per substation/MUs/IEDs; Schweitzer fig 1, various feeders from bus 204 to MUs also see par [0021] “on the feeders from MUs 172, 174, 176, and 178”), the BUS network connecting the IED and the at least one second merging unit (Yang fig 1 and fig 2 bold lines indicate BUS network connecting IEDs and MUs; Schweitzer fig 1, bus 104 connecting IED 140 to various MUs 172-178), the method further comprising: providing measurement signals by the at least one second substation feeder to the at least one second merging unit (Yang col 2 lines 24-31; col 2 lines 37-45; Schweitzer fig 1, see connections from MUs to IED 150 and 140 and network 170); and transmitting, by the at least one second merging unit, second measurement data based on the measurement signals of the at least one second substation feeder to the IED via the BUS network (Yang col 3 lines 3-10; Schweitzer fig 1 and 3 and par [0031] and [0034]).
Regarding claim 3, Yang and Schweitzer disclose the control method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the conditional control command via the BUS network complies with a hierarchical communication protocol, and wherein the merging unit is located at a lower hierarchical level than the IED within the hierarchical communication protocol (Yang col 8 lines 3-13; it is understood that communication between the IED and the merging unit complies to standard communication protocol IEC 61850 as outlined in the specification of the instant application; Schweitzer [0032] see predetermined communication protocol).
Regarding claim 4, Yang and Schweitzer disclose the control method of claim 1, further comprising: encoding the condition of the conditional control command in a codelet by the IED (Yang col 2 lines 31-36; Schweitzer par [0034] and [0035]) and transmitting the codelet by the IED to the merging unit via the BUS network (Yang col 17 lines 12-17; Schweitzer par [0034] and [0035]); and processing the codelet by the merging unit (Yang col 8 lines 26-30; Schweitzer par [0034] and [0035]).
Regarding claim 5, Yang and Schweitzer disclose the control method claim 1, wherein the condition of the conditional control command comprises a specified reaction time period until initiation of a protection measure (Yang col 8 lines 6-10 “the Sample Value Protocol defined in IEC 61850 environments and all subtypes, related protocols, and mappings (e.g., manufacturing message specification, generic object oriented substation events, sampled measured values, etc.)”; it is well known in the art and common in Intelligent Electronic Devices (IEDs) to specifying a reaction time or include time delays before initiating protection measures in response to electrical control commands or detected anomalies as established by IEC 61850).
Regarding claim 8, Yang and Schweitzer disclose the control method of claim 1, wherein the measurement signals comprise at least one of a voltage signals, current signals, temperature signals, and frequency signals (Yang col 7 lines 25-30 “the IEDs 104, 106, 108, 115, and 170 may be configured to monitor electrical power characteristics (e.g., frequency, voltage, current, etc.) of alternating current waveforms in the system 100. The measurements may be used in connection with the systems and methods disclosed herein for control of the system 100”; Schweitzer par [0034] and par [0035] “Voltage measurements” “Current measurements”).
Regarding claim 9, Yang and Schweitzer disclose the control method of claim 1, wherein the control measure comprises operating at least one switchgear bay of the substation (Yang col 8 lines 15-20 e.g. circuit breaker; Schweitzer par [0020] “Circuit breakers 122, 124, 182, 184, 186, 188 may be used to selectively connect and disconnect portions of the power system for various purposes such as reconfiguration, protection in the event of a fault, or the like.”).
Regarding claim 10, Yang and Schweitzer disclose the control method of claim 1, further comprising identifying, by the IED, a no-fault condition based on the measurement data, the no-fault condition being indicative of the conditional control command being no longer necessary; and transmitting, by the IED, a cancel command for cancelling the conditional control command to the merging unit (Yang col 6 line 56-67 it is well known in the art and understood that the microprocessor-based device IED is capable to monitor, control, and automate the measurement data and initiate a cancel control command if a condition is met utilizing programmable logic controllers (PLCs), programmable automation controllers, and input and output modules).
Regarding claim 11, Yang and Schweitzer disclose a merging unit (Yang col 7 lines 52-54; fig 1, 104, 106, 108, and 115; fig 2 MU1 222 and MU2 224; Schweitzer fig 1, MUs 132, 162-168,172-178) for a control system (Yang fig 1, central IED 170, Schweitzer fig 1, 140, 150, 190, 170) for a substation (Yang fig 1, e.g. substations 119, 151, 141; Schweitzer fig 1, 100), the merging unit comprising: a feeder-facing interface (Yang fig 2, MU1 and MU2 connected through CT 214 and CT 216 to feeder 204; Schweitzer fig 1, each MU has feeder line attached) configured to receive measurement signals from at least one substation feeder of the substation (Yang fig 2, feeder 204; Schweitzer fig 1 and par [0021] and [0022]); a signal converter configured to provide measurement data based on the measurement signals of the at least one substation feeder (Yang col 8 line 21-30; Schweitzer [par [0026] “provide electrical signals … which in turn provide digitized analog signals corresponding with those electrical signals to the bus protection relay 140”, signal conversion); a Binary Unit System (BUS) interface (Yang fig 1, BUS 124, 126, 132, 148; fig 2, bold sold lines are bus network; Schweitzer fig 1, bus system 102 and 104) configured to transmit the measurement data via a BUS network to an intelligent electronic device (IED) separate from the merging unit and to receive a conditional control command from the IED (Yang fig 1, BUS connecting IEDs and MUs; fig 2, BUS network connecting MU1 to IED1 and MU2 and IED2; Schweitzer fig 1, see bold lines 102 and 104 connecting MUs to IEDs 140 and 150; ), wherein the conditional control command comprises a control measure and a condition to execute the control measure by the merging unit in response to an electrical fault of the at least one substation feeder (Yang col 8 lines 15-20 “Merging units may further be configured to provide control signals to primary equipment on the electric power delivery system. For example, a merging unit may be in communication with a circuit breaker, and designed to open and/or close the circuit breaker upon receipt of a command from an IED”; Schweitzer par [0020] – [0025]; fig 1; fig 3; par [0030] “In the event of a condition determined outside of predetermined operating conditions, the feeder relay 362-368 may be configured to send an open or trip command to an associated circuit breaker, thus effecting a protective action on the electric power delivery system.”); and logic configured to determine whether the condition of the conditional control command is met, and if so, to initiate the control measure of the substation feeder circuit of the at least one substation feeder (Yang col 6 line 56-67 it is understood that logic is present within the IED to monitor, control, and automate the control command if a condition is met utilizing programmable logic controllers (PLCs), programmable automation controllers, and input and output modules).
Regarding claim 12, Yang and Schweitzer disclose a control system for a substation, the control system comprising: at least one substation feeder (Yang fig 2, substation feeder 204; Schweitzer fig 1, each MU has feeder line attached) with sensors (Yang fig 2, 214 and 216; Schweitzer par [0034] “obtain electric power system measurements related to electric power entering and leaving the protected bus 104 using CTs, PTs and the like and/or merging units”) configured to provide measurement signals (Yang col 3 lines 59-60 “measurement device may include a sensor (e.g., a CT or PT)”; Schweitzer par [0034] “CTs, PTs”); at least one merging unit (Yang fig 1, 104, 106, 108, and 115; fig 2 MU1 222 and MU2 224; Schweitzer fig 1, MUs 132, 162-168,172-178) according to claim 11; an IED (Yang fig 1, IEDs 104, 106, 108, and 115; fig 2, IEDs 242, 246; Schweitzer fig 1, IEDs 140 and 150); and a BUS network connecting the at least one merging unit with the IED (Yang fig 1, BUS connecting IEDs and MUs; fig 2, BUS network connecting MU1 to IED1 and MU2 and IED2; Schweitzer fig 1, MUs 132, 162-168,172-178 connected through bus to IEDs), wherein the IED has a BUS interface configured to receive the measurement data (Yang fig 1 and fig 2 BUS network; Schweitzer fig 1, BUS 102 and 104); logic configured to identify, based on the measurement data, a fault condition indicative of a potentially forthcoming fault (Yang IED microprocessor-based device; Schweitzer par [0033]-[0035] “determine that a fault is present on bus 104 using current differential protection principles”) and configured to provide a conditional control command, wherein the BUS interface is configured to transmit the conditional control command via the BUS network to the at least one merging unit (Yang e.g. col 9 lines 3-5 “IED 246 issue commands to the circuit breaker 212 (e.g., via a direct control line or via the second merging unit 224 and second communications switch 233)”; Schweitzer par [0035] “command breaker 124 to open (either via direct communication or via merging unit 330) to remove electric power from the faulted bus 104”).
Regarding claim 13, Yang and Schweitzer disclose the control system of claim 12, wherein the BUS network between the IED and the merging unit complies with a hierarchical communication protocol, and wherein the at least one merging unit is located at a lower hierarchical level than the IED within the hierarchical communication protocol (Yang col 8 lines 3-13; EIC 61850 protocol; Schweitzer [0032] see predetermined communication protocol).
Regarding claim 14, Yang and Schweitzer disclose the control system of claim 12, wherein the conditional control command is encoded as a codelet, and wherein the merging unit has logic configured to carry out the codelet (Yang col 2 lines 31-36; col 17 lines 12-17; col 8 lines 26-30; Schweitzer par [0034] and [0035]).
Regarding claim 15, Yang and Schweitzer disclose the control system of claim 12, further comprising at least one switchgear bay, the switchgear bay comprising at least one of a circuit breaker, a disconnector, a load switch or a switch disconnector, the control measure comprising a control action (Yang col 8 lines 15-20; e.g. circuit breaker open/close command; Schweitzer fig 1, circuit breakers 124 and 182-188).
Regarding claim 16, Yang and Schweitzer disclose the control method of claim 9, wherein the switchgear bay includes at least one of a circuit breaker, a disconnector, a load switch or a switch disconnector, the operating the at least one switchgear bay of the substation comprising a control action (Yang col 8 lines 15-20; e.g. circuit breaker open/close command; Schweitzer fig 1, circuit breakers 124 and 182-188 open/close command).
Regarding claim 17, Yang and Schweitzer disclose the control system of claim 13, wherein the conditional control command is encoded as a codelet, and wherein the merging unit has logic configured to carry out the codelet (Yang col 2 lines 31-36; col 17 lines 12-17; col 8 lines 26-30; Schweitzer par [0034] and [0035]).
Regarding claim 18, Yang and Schweitzer disclose the control system of 13, further comprising at least one switchgear bay, the switchgear bay comprising at least one of a circuit breaker, a disconnector, a load switch or a switch disconnector, the control measure comprising a control action (Yang col 8 lines 15-20; e.g. circuit breaker open/close command; Schweitzer fig 1, circuit breakers 124 and 182-188 open/close command).
Regarding claim 19, Yang and Schweitzer disclose the control system of 14, further comprising at least one switchgear bay, the switchgear bay comprising at least one of a circuit breaker, a disconnector, a load switch or a switch disconnector, the control measure comprising a control action (Yang col 8 lines 15-20; e.g. circuit breaker open/close command; Schweitzer fig 1, circuit breakers 124 and 182-188 open/close command).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US10379991B2) and Schweitzer (US 20210109139 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dolezilek et al. (US20230253824A1, hereinafter Dolezilek).
Regarding claim 6, Yang and Schweitzer disclose the control method of claim 1.
Yang and Schweitzer do not disclose wherein the condition of the conditional control command comprises a specified fault threshold for the measurement data.
Dolezilek discloses a system and method for substation IED to obtain power system data from a power system. Dolezilek discloses a condition of the conditional control command comprises a specified fault threshold for the measurement data (claim 6 “power system data comprises voltage measurements, current measurements, breaker status, breaker commands, or any combination thereof.”; par[0022] “The IEDs 44-46 may compare the current measurements to thresholds to detect faults and to disconnect the bus 34 or feeders 38 and 40 from the power source 22. For example, if current on one or more phases exceeds a preset threshold and/or current-over-time exceeds a preset threshold, the processor 81 may detect a fault event and send a signal, via the output circuitry 86, to open the CB 70.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yang and incorporate control fault threshold for the measurement data as taught by Dolezilek. The advantage of this design is that the fault threshold will initiate the command to disconnect the bus and feeder when a fault is detected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, Yang (US10379991B2) discloses the control method of claim 1. Yang does not teach wherein the condition of the conditional control command comprises a control decision model based on measurement data, the control decision model preferably comprising a zero-crossing condition for a measured current and/or voltage.
Prior art Yang (US10379991B2), Schweitzer (US 20210109139 A1), and Dolezilek (US20230253824A1) are found to be the closest prior art.
However, none of the prior art, taken singly or in combination, teach “ the condition of the conditional control command comprises a control decision model based on measurement data, the control decision model preferably comprising a zero-crossing condition for a measured current and/or voltage”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREN ASHLEY SHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838