DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "134" and "136" have both been used to designate the “first heat exchanger”, as described in paragraphs 00015-0017 of the instant specification, through which the feed mixture and outlet fuel mixture are conveyed respectively in Figs. 1-3 and Figs. 4 and 6; "136" and "138" have both been used to designate the “fuel-air heat exchanger”, as described in paragraphs 0080-0081 of the instant specification, through which inlet air and outlet fuel mixture are conveyed respectively in Figs. 1-3 and Figs. 4 and 6; and “138” and “137” have both been used to designate the “second heat exchanger”, as described in paragraph 0025 of the instant specification, through which the inlet air and outlet oxygen mixture are conveyed respectively in Figs. 1-3 and Figs. 4 and 6.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “160” has been used to designate both a “CO2 separator” and “dryer unit” in Fig. 1 and a “high pressure unit” in Fig. 2; “154” has been used to designate both a “dryer unit” and the water supply assembly, as described in paragraph 0088 of the instant specification, in Fig. 3; and “S132” has been used to designate both the step of the fuel mixture flowing through heat exchanger 136 and the step of the fuel mixture flowing through the heat exchanger 138, as described in paragraph 0082 of the instant specification, in Fig. 4.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “162” and “164” introduced in paragraph 0015; “S160” and “130” in paragraph 0018; “1925” in paragraph 0056; “152”, “159” and “158” in paragraph 0107; “157” in paragraph 0111; “156” in paragraph 0125.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “S114” and “S116” in Figs. 1-3.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 6, line 1, “Claim 1 further” should read “Claim 1, further”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6, 8-10, 12, 14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "a second heat exchanger" in line 4. The limitation of “a second heat exchanger” through which the air mixture from the air supply and the air mixture from the cell stack are conveyed is previously introduced in claim 2. It is therefore unclear whether the recitation of claim 3 is referring to this previous limitation or introducing a new limitation. For examination purposes, the recitation is interpreted as introducing a new limitation.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the second heat exchanger" in lines 8-9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation of “a second heat exchanger” through which the air mixture from the air supply and the air mixture from the cell stack are conveyed is previously introduced in claim 2. Claim 3, lines 3-7, then introduces a “a second heat exchanger” through which the first fuel mixture is conveyed. It is therefore unclear which “second heat exchanger” is being referred to later in claim 3. For examination purposes, this later recitation has been interpreted to refer to the heat exchanger introduced earlier in claim 3.
Claim 4 recites the limitations of "the humidification period", “the heating period”, “the electrolysis period”, “the cooling period” and “the purification period” in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. There is no previous mention of these respective “period[s]” in the claims. Instead, claim 1 introduces the limitations of “a humidification cycle”, “a heating cycle”, “an electrolysis cycle”, “a cooling cycle” and “a purification cycle”. For examination purposes, the later recited “period[s]” are interpreted to be equivalent to the previously introduced “cycle[s]”.
Claim 6 recites the limitations of "the humidification period", “the heating period”, “the electrolysis period”, “the cooling period” and “the purification period” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. There is no previous mention of these respective “period[s]” in the claims. Instead, claim 1 introduces the limitations of “a humidification cycle”, “a heating cycle”, “an electrolysis cycle”, “a cooling cycle” and “a purification cycle”. For examination purposes, the later recited “period[s]” are interpreted to be equivalent to the previously introduced “cycle[s]”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the wet side of the membrane" in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no previous mention of a “wet side” of the membrane.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the water tank" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no previous mention of a “water tank”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "conveying the second volume of water from a second outlet of the separator unit into the water tank" in the last 2 lines. The claim previously describes the second volume of water being generated and separated in the dryer unit, while the second fuel mixture is conveyed through the separator unit. It is therefore unclear how the second volume of water, which does not travel to the separator unit, can be conveyed from the separator unit. For examination purposes, this limitation has been interpreted to be intended to comprise the second volume of water being conveyed from a second outlet of the dryer unit into the water tank.
Claim 10 recites the limitations of "the humidification period", “the heating period”, “the electrolysis period”, “the cooling period” and “the purification period” in lines 2-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. There is no previous mention of these respective “period[s]” in the claims. Instead, claim 1 introduces the limitations of “a humidification cycle”, “a heating cycle”, “an electrolysis cycle”, “a cooling cycle” and “a purification cycle”. For examination purposes, the later recited “period[s]” are interpreted to be equivalent to the previously introduced “cycle[s]”.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the reversible fuel cell" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation of “a reversible fuel cell” is previously introduced in lines 11-12 of claim 1, and the limitation of “a second reversible fuel cell” in line 10 of claim 11. It is therefore unclear which “reversible fuel cell” is being referred to in claim 12.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the reversible fuel cell" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation of “a reversible fuel cell” is previously introduced in lines 11-12 of claim 1, and the limitation of “a second reversible fuel cell” in line 10 of claim 11. It is therefore unclear which “reversible fuel cell” is being referred to in claim 12.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the first reversible fuel cell" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no previous explicit mention of a “first reversible fuel cell”.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "interposed between the first reversible fuel cell and the second reversible fuel cell; and comprising a contact layer" in lines 5-6. It is unclear from the claim language what subject is “interposed between…” and “comprising a contact layer”. For examination purposes, the interconnect has been interpreted to be the subject of these limitations based on paragraphs 0040-0041 of the instant specification.
Claim 14 recites the limitations of "the third heat exchanger inlet" and “a third heat exchanger outlet” associated with a “third heat exchanger” in lines 11-13. The limitations of “a third heat exchanger inlet” and “a third heat exchanger outlet” associated with a “second heat exchanger” are previously introduced in lines 6-8 of the claim. It is therefore unclear how the same inlet and outlet can be associated with different heat exchangers.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the feed mixture comprising hydrogen" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no previous mention of the feed mixture comprising hydrogen. Instead, the limitation of “a feed mixture comprising water” is introduced in line 3 of claim 15.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the separator unit" in lines 17-18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, this claim has been interpreted to be dependent on claim 16.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "conveying the second volume of water from a second outlet of the separator unit into the water tank" in the last 2 lines. The claim previously describes the second volume of water being generated and separated in the dryer unit, while the second fuel mixture is conveyed through the separator unit. It is therefore unclear how the second volume of water, which does not travel to the separator unit, can be conveyed from the separator unit. For examination purposes, this limitation has been interpreted to be intended to comprise the second volume of water being conveyed from a second outlet of the dryer unit into the water tank.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the separator unit" in lines 24-25. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, this claim has been interpreted to be dependent on claim 16.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "conveying the second volume of water from a second outlet of the separator unit into the water tank" in the last 2 lines. The claim previously describes the second volume of water being generated and separated in the dryer unit, while the second fuel mixture is conveyed through the separator unit. It is therefore unclear how the second volume of water, which does not travel to the separator unit, can be conveyed from the separator unit. For examination purposes, this limitation has been interpreted to be intended to comprise the second volume of water being conveyed from a second outlet of the dryer unit into the water tank.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the reversible fuel cell" in lines 13-14 and 22-23. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation of “a set of reversible fuel cells” in line 6 of the claim. It is therefore unclear which individual “reversible fuel cell” is being referred to later in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "during a second electrolysis cycle…a second current applied to the reversible fuel cell during the first electrolysis cycle” in lines 20-23. It is therefore unclear what “electrolysis cycle” the surrounding limitations apply to. For examination purposes, the recitation of “the first electrolysis cycle in line 23 has been interpreted to be intended to refer to the second electrolysis cycle.
Any claims dependent on the above claim(s) are rejected for their dependence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jakobsson et al. (U.S. 2016/0040311).
Regarding claim 1, Jakobsson discloses a method (see e.g. Paragraph 0002, lines 1-2, process) comprising:
during a humidification cycle at a humidification unit, humidifying a gaseous mixture comprising carbon dioxide with a volume of water to generate a feed mixture comprising carbon dioxide and water (see e.g. Fig. 1, feed stock comprising CO2 mixed with, i.e. humidified by, steam in respective process unit; Paragraph 0048, lines 1-8);
during a heating cycle, conveying the feed mixture, from the humidification unit, across a first side of a first heat exchanger to heat the feed mixture form a first feed temperature at a first heat exchanger inlet to a second feed temperature, within a target feed temperature range, at a first heat exchanger outlet, the second feed temperature exceeding the first feed temperature (see e.g. Fig. 4, feed stock including CO2 passed through feed effluent heat exchanger on fuel side to heat the incoming feed gas, i.e. raise it from a lower 1st temp to a higher 2nd temp; Paragraph 0018, lines 1-9);
during an electrolysis cycle (see e.g. Fig. 1 and Paragraph 0001, electrolysis conducted):
conveying an air mixture comprising oxygen through an anode layer of a reversible fuel cell, in a set of reversible fuel cells, in a cell stack (see e.g. Fig. 1, air used to flush oxide/anode side of solid oxide electrolysis cell, i.e. reverse solid oxide fuel cell, in stack of multiple cells; Paragraphs 0001-0002 and Paragraph 0049); and
conveying the feed mixture form the first heat exchanger outlet across a cathode layer of the reversible fuel cell to generate a first fuel mixture at the cathode layer via electrolysis of the feed mixture, the first fuel mixture comprising syngas and a first concentration of secondary materials comprising water and oxygen (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 4, feed including CO2 and steam led to fuel/cathode side of SOEC to produce product gas including CO and H2, i.e. syngas, as well as unreacted steam and CO2, which contains elemental oxygen; Paragraph 0002 and Paragraph 0048, lines 4-15); and
during a cooling cycle, conveying the first fuel mixture from the cell stack over a second side of the first heat exchanger to cool the first fuel mixture from a first fuel temperature at a second heat exchanger inlet to a second fuel temperature at a second heat exchanger outlet, the second fuel temperature falling below the first fuel temperature (see e.g. Fig. 4, fuel side product gas feed led to fuel side feed effluent heat exchanger to heat the inlet gas, i.e. transferring its heat and being cooled from a 1st high temp to a 2nd lower temp; Paragraph 0018, lines 1-9); and
during a purification cycle:
conveying the first fuel mixture from the second heat exchanger outlet through a dryer unit configured to reduce a dew point of syngas in the first fuel mixture and promote separation of water from the fuel mixture, to generate a second fuel mixture comprising syngas and a second concentration of secondary materials comprising oxygen, the second concentration less than the first concentration (see e.g. Paragraph 0048, lines 6-15, product gas purification by first removing steam from product gas stream including syngas (CO+H2) and CO2, thereby reducing the water content, i.e. dew point);
conveying the second fuel mixture through a separator unit configured to extract oxygen from the second fuel mixture to generate a third fuel mixture comprising a concentration of syngas exceeding a threshold concentration (see e.g. Fig. 4, CO2 separated from CO and H2 in separation process unit after removal of steam; Paragraph 0010, lines 9-14, and Paragraph 0048, lines 6-15); and
collecting the third fuel mixture at a separator outlet of the separator unit (see e.g. Fig. 4, separated CO and H2 collected as desired product; Paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 2, Jakobsson discloses, during the heating cycle, conveying the air mixture from an air supply over a first side of a second heat exchanger to heat the air mixture from a first air temperature at a third heat exchanger inlet to a second air temperature at a third heat exchanger outlet within a target air temperature range, the second air temperature exceeding the first air temperature (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 4, air as oxygen purge inlet gas heated by passing through feed effluent heat exchanger on oxygen side, i.e. raising it from a lower 1st temp to a higher 2nd temp; Paragraph 0010, lines 4-5, and Paragraph 0018, lines 1-9);
wherein conveying the air mixture through the anode layer comprises conveying the air mixture from the third heat exchanger outlet through the anode layer (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 4, heated oxygen purge inlet gas from oxygen side feed effluent heat exchanger enters oxygen/anode side of SOEC; Paragraph 0010, lines 4-5, and Paragraph 0018, lines 1-9); and
during the cooling cycle, conveying the air mixture from the cell stack over a second side of the second heat exchanger to cool the air mixture from a third temperature at a fourth heat exchanger inlet to a fourth air temperature at a fourth heat exchanger outlet, the fourth air temperature falling below the third air temperature (see e.g. Fig. 4, oxygen side outlet gas led to oxygen side feed effluent heat exchanger to heat the inlet gas, i.e. transferring its heat and being cooled from a 1st high temp to a 2nd lower temp; Paragraph 0018, lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 15, Jakobsson discloses a method (see e.g. Paragraph 0002, lines 1-2, process) comprising:
during a heating period:
conveying a feed mixture comprising water across a first side of a first heat exchanger to heat the feed mixture from a first feed temperature at a first heat exchanger inlet to a second feed temperature, within a target feed temperature range, at a first heat exchanger outlet, the second feed temperature exceeding the first feed temperature (see e.g. Fig. 4, feed stock including steam/H2O and CO2 passed through feed effluent heat exchanger on fuel side to heat the incoming feed gas, i.e. raise it from a lower 1st temp to a higher 2nd temp; Paragraph 0018, lines 1-9, and Paragraph 0048, lines 1-8); and
conveying an air mixture comprising a first concentration of oxygen across a second side of a second heat exchanger to heat the air mixture from a first air temperature at a second heat exchanger inlet to a second air temperature, within a target air temperature range, at a second heat exchanger outlet, the second air temperature exceeding the first air temperature (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 4, air, which contains oxygen, as oxygen purge inlet gas heated by passing through feed effluent heat exchanger on oxygen side, i.e. raising it from a lower 1st temp to a higher 2nd temp; Paragraph 0010, lines 4-5, and Paragraph 0018, lines 1-9);
during an electrolysis period (see e.g. Fig. 1 and Paragraph 0001, electrolysis conducted):
conveying the air mixture from the second heat exchanger outlet across an anode layer of a reversible fuel cell, in a cell stack, to generate an oxygen mixture via oxidation of the air mixture, the oxygen mixture comprising a second concentration of oxygen exceeding the first concentration (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 4, heated oxygen purge inlet gas from oxygen side feed effluent heat exchanger enters oxygen/anode side of SOEC, i.e. reversible SOFC, of cell stack, generating oxygen outlet mixture with surplus oxygen, i.e. an increased concentration; Paragraph 0001, Paragraph 0010, lines 1-5, and Paragraph 0018, lines 1-9); and
conveying the feed mixture from the first heat exchanger outlet across a cathode layer of the reversible fuel cell to generate a first fuel mixture at the cathode layer via electrolysis of the feed mixture, the first fuel mixture comprising hydrogen and a third concentration of secondary materials comprising water (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 4, heated feed including CO2 and steam led to fuel/cathode side of SOEC to produce product gas including CO and H2, i.e. syngas, as well as unreacted steam and CO2, which contains elemental oxygen; Paragraph 0002 and Paragraph 0048, lines 4-15);
during a cooling period:
conveying the first fuel mixture across a third side of the first heat exchanger to cool the first fuel mixture from a first fuel temperature at a third heat exchanger inlet to a second fuel temperature at a third heat exchanger outlet, the second fuel temperature falling below the first fuel temperature (see e.g. Fig. 4, fuel side product gas feed led to fuel side feed effluent heat exchanger to heat the inlet gas, i.e. transferring its heat and being cooled from a 1st high temp to a 2nd lower temp; Paragraph 0018, lines 1-9); and
conveying the oxygen mixture across a fourth side of the second heat exchanger to cool the oxygen mixture from a first oxygen temperature at a fourth heat exchanger inlet to a second oxygen temperature at a fourth heat exchanger outlet, the second oxygen temperature falling below the first oxygen temperature (see e.g. Fig. 4, oxygen side outlet gas led to oxygen side feed effluent heat exchanger to heat the inlet gas, i.e. transferring its heat and being cooled from a 1st high temp to a 2nd lower temp; Paragraph 0018, lines 1-9);
conveying the first fuel mixture from the second heat exchanger outlet through a dryer unit configured to reduce a dew point of hydrogen in the first fuel mixture and promote separation of water from the first fuel mixture, to generate a second fuel mixture comprising hydrogen and a fourth concentration of secondary materials less than the third concentration (see e.g. Paragraph 0048, lines 6-15, product gas purification by first removing steam from product gas stream including syngas (CO+H2) and CO2, thereby reducing the water content, i.e. dew point); and
collecting the second fuel mixture at a dryer outlet of the dryer unit (see e.g. Paragraph 0048, lines 6-15, product has stream collected after steam removal for further separation).
Regarding claim 16, Jakobsson discloses wherein conveying the feed mixture comprising water across the first side of the first heat exchanger comprises conveying the feed mixture comprising water and carbon dioxide across the first side of the first heat exchanger (see e.g. Fig. 4, feed stock including steam/H2O and CO2 passed through feed effluent heat exchanger on fuel side to heat the incoming feed gas, i.e. raise it from a lower 1st temp to a higher 2nd temp; Paragraph 0018, lines 1-9, and Paragraph 0048, lines 1-8);
wherein conveying the feed mixture from the first heat exchanger outlet across the cathode layer to generate the first fuel mixture comprising hydrogen and the third concentration of secondary materials comprises conveying the feed mixture from the first heat exchanger outlet across the cathode layer to generate the first fuel mixture comprising hydrogen, carbon monoxide, and the third concentration of secondary materials comprising water and carbon dioxide (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 4, heated feed including CO2 and steam led to fuel/cathode side of SOEC to produce product gas including CO and H2, i.e. syngas, as well as unreacted steam and CO2, which contains elemental oxygen; Paragraph 0002 and Paragraph 0048, lines 4-15);
wherein conveying the first fuel mixture from the second heat exchanger outlet through the dryer unit configured to reduce the dew point of hydrogen in the first fuel mixture and promote separation of water from the first fuel mixture to generate the second fuel mixture comprising hydrogen and the fourth concentration of secondary materials comprises conveying the first fuel mixture from the second heat exchanger outlet through the dryer unit configured to reduce the dew point of hydrogen and carbon monoxide in the first fuel mixture and promote separation of water from the first fuel mixture to generate the second fuel mixture comprising hydrogen, carbon monoxide, and the fourth concentration of secondary materials comprising carbon dioxide (see e.g. Paragraph 0048, lines 6-15, product gas purification by first removing steam from product gas stream including syngas (CO+H2) and CO2, thereby reducing the water content, i.e. dew point); and
further comprising, conveying the second fuel mixture through a separator unit configured to extract carbon dioxide from the second fuel mixture to generate a third fuel mixture comprising hydrogen, carbon monoxide, and a fifth concentration of secondary materials less than the fourth concentration of secondary materials, the third fuel mixture comprising a concentration of hydrogen exceeding a first threshold concentration and a concentration of carbon monoxide exceeding a second threshold concentration (see e.g. Fig. 4, CO2 separated from CO and H2 in separation process unit after removal of steam to produce desired product of concentrated CO+H2; Paragraph 0010, lines 9-14, and Paragraph 0048).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson in view of Herrmann et al. (EP 3054519 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Jakobsson teaches all the elements of the method of claim 2 as stated above. Jakobsson does not teach the method further comprising, during the cooling cycle: conveying the first fuel mixture from the second heat exchanger outlet over a first side of a second heat exchanger to cool the first fuel mixture from the second fuel temperature at a third heat exchanger inlet to a third fuel temperature at a third heat exchanger outlet, the third fuel temperature falling below the second fuel temperature; and conveying the air mixture from an air supply over a second side of the second heat exchanger to heat the air mixture from a first air temperature at a fourth heat exchanger inlet to a second air temperature at a fourth heat exchanger outlet within a target air temperature range, the second air temperature exceeding the first air temperature; wherein conveying the air mixture through the anode layer comprises conveying the air mixture from the fourth heat exchanger outlet through the anode layer; and wherein conveying the first fuel mixture from the second heat exchanger outlet through the dryer unit comprises conveying the first fuel mixture from the third heat exchanger outlet through the dryer unit.
Jakobsson does however teach the use of feed effluent heat exchangers for transferring heat between inlet and outlet streams increasing the power consumption efficiency of the plant and reducing the load on the high temperature heaters (see e.g. Paragraph 0020, lines 1-4).
Herrmann teaches a reversible fuel cell system (see e.g. Paragraph 0004) in which a stream of CO2 and steam is fed to a fuel electrode to produce a product stream including carbon monoxide and hydrogen (see e.g. Paragraph 0047, lines 3-7), and a stream of air is fed to an oxidant electrode to produce an stream including the air and generated (see e.g. Paragraph 0048), the system further comprising a heat exchanger system wherein respective high and low temperature process streams can among which heat can be transferred, with the inlet purge gas, i.e. air, as an exemplary low temperature stream and the fuel product from electrolysis as an exemplary high temperature stream (see e.g. Fig. 3, reactant product/hydrogen from electrolysis as hot stream moving left to right and purge gas moving as cold stream moving right to left; Paragraphs 0122-0123), the connection of these process streams being among the many possibilities by which the heat exchanger system allows thermal energy in the form of heat and waste heat from the processes of the fuel cell system to be re-cycled instead of wasted (see e.g. Paragraph 0008, lines 25-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Jakobsson to comprise conveying the air mixture, before being sent through the anode layer, and the first fuel mixture, before being sent through the dryer, through respective sides of an additional heat exchanger to be respectively heated and cooled as taught by Herrmann as an additional suitable means of recycling instead of wasting thermal energy from process streams involved in the method by transfer of heat that further contributes to the increased power efficiency and reduced load on the heaters. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding claim 14, Jakobsson teaches all the elements of the method of claim 1 as stated above. Jakobsson further teaches conveying the air mixture comprising oxygen through the anode layer of the reversible fuel cell comprises: ingesting air from an air supply for extraction of the air mixture comprising a first concentration of oxygen (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 4, oxygen-containing air, i.e. from air supply, used as oxygen purge; Paragraph 0010, lines 4-5); conveying the air mixture across a first side of a third heat exchanger to heat the air mixture from a second air temperature at the third heat exchanger inlet to a third air temperature, within a target air temperature range, at a third heat exchanger outlet, the third air temperature exceeding the second air temperature (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 4, air as oxygen purge inlet gas heated by passing through feed effluent heat exchanger on oxygen side, i.e. raising it from a lower 1st temp to a higher 2nd temp; Paragraph 0010, lines 4-5, and Paragraph 0018, lines 1-9); and conveying the air mixture at the third air temperature through the anode layer of the reversible fuel cell in the cell stack, heated to a stack temperature within a target stack temperature range, to generate an oxygen mixture comprising a second concentration of oxygen exceeding the first concentration of oxygen via oxidation of the air mixture (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 4, heated oxygen purge inlet gas from oxygen side feed effluent heat exchanger enters oxygen/anode side of SOEC, i.e. reversible SOFC, of cell stack, generating oxygen outlet mixture with surplus oxygen, i.e. an increased concentration; Paragraph 0001, Paragraph 0010, lines 1-5, and Paragraph 0018, lines 1-9); the method further comprising conveying the oxygen mixture from the anode layer across a second side of the third heat exchanger to cool the oxygen mixture from a first oxygen temperature at a fourth heat exchanger inlet to a second oxygen temperature at a fourth heat exchanger outlet, the second oxygen temperature less than the first oxygen temperature (see e.g. Fig. 4, oxygen side outlet gas led to oxygen side feed effluent heat exchanger to heat the inlet gas, i.e. transferring its heat and being cooled from a 1st high temp to a 2nd lower temp; Paragraph 0018, lines 1-9).
Jakobsson does not teach the air mixture from the air supply first being conveyed across a first side of a second heat exchanger to heat the air mixture from a first air temperature at a third heat exchanger inlet to a second air temperature at a third heat exchanger outlet, the second air temperature exceeding the first air temperature; and conveying the first fuel mixture from the second heat exchanger outlet through the dryer unit further comprises: conveying the first fuel mixture from the second heat exchanger outlet across a second side of the second heat exchanger to cool the first fuel mixture from the second fuel temperature at a fourth heat exchanger inlet to a third fuel temperature at a fourth heat exchanger outlet, the third fuel temperature less than the second fuel temperature; and conveying the first fuel mixture from the fourth heat exchanger outlet through the dryer unit.
Jakobsson does however teach the use of feed effluent heat exchangers for transferring heat between inlet and outlet streams increasing the power consumption efficiency of the plant and reducing the load on the high temperature heaters (see e.g. Paragraph 0020, lines 1-4).
Herrmann teaches a reversible fuel cell system (see e.g. Paragraph 0004) in which a stream of CO2 and steam is fed to a fuel electrode to produce a product stream including carbon monoxide and hydrogen (see e.g. Paragraph 0047, lines 3-7), and a stream of air is fed to an oxidant electrode to produce an stream including the air and generated (see e.g. Paragraph 0048), the system further comprising a heat exchanger system wherein respective high and low temperature process streams can among which heat can be transferred, with the inlet purge gas, i.e. air, as an exemplary low temperature stream and the fuel product from electrolysis as an exemplary high temperature stream (see e.g. Fig. 3, reactant product/hydrogen from electrolysis as hot stream moving left to right and purge gas moving as cold stream moving right to left; Paragraphs 0122-0123), the connection of these process streams being among the many possibilities by which the heat exchanger system allows thermal energy in the form of heat and waste heat from the processes of the fuel cell system to be re-cycled instead of wasted (see e.g. Paragraph 0008, lines 25-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Jakobsson to further comprise first conveying air mixture from the air supply and the first fuel mixture, before being sent to the dryer, through respective sides of an additional heat exchanger to be respectively heated and cooled as taught by Herrmann as an additional suitable means of recycling instead of wasting thermal energy from process streams involved in the method by transfer of heat that further contributes to the increased power efficiency and reduced load on the heaters. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson in view of Brunot et al. (U.S. 2019/0194816), and further in view of Chuah et al. (U.S. 2009/0123790).
Regarding claim 4, Jakobsson teaches all the elements of the method of claim 1 as stated above. Jakobsson further teaches humidifying the gaseous mixture at the humidification unit comprises humidifying the gaseous mixture at the humidification unit during a fuel generation period comprising the humidification period, the heating period, the electrolysis period, the cooling period, and the purification period, and the fuel generation period (see e.g. Paragraphs 0002 and 0048, and Paragraph 0018, lines 1-9, CO2/steam feed stock, i.e. humidified gas mixture, continually provided during the electrolytic CO/H2 production process including the heat exchange, i.e. heating and cooling, steps and the separation/purification steps); and during a startup period preceding the fuel generation period, conveying a stream across the cathode layer and conveying a stream of the air mixture across the anode layer (see e.g. Paragraph 0010, lines 1-5, Paragraph 0017, lines 4-9, and Claim 7, inlet gases, i.e. air on the oxygen side and the CO2 feed on the fuel side, supplied to SOEC stack during start-up); and during a conditioning cycle: conveying the stream across the cathode layer; subjecting the cell stack to thermal conditioning by regulating a stack temperature of the cell stack from a first stack temperature to a second stack temperature, within a target stack temperature range, according to a temperature ramp rate via a heating element coupled to the cell stack; and, in response to the stack temperature falling within the target stack temperature range, terminating the conditioning cycle (see e.g. Paragraph 0010, lines 1-5, Paragraph 0017, lines 4-10, and Claim 7 inlet gases, i.e. air on the oxygen side and the CO2 feed on the fuel side, supplied to the stack through heaters, i.e. heating elements, to help the stack reach its operating temperature during start-up).
Jakobsson does not teach the stream across the cathode layer being hydrogen from a hydrogen supply to generate a reducing environment at the cathode. Jakobsson does however teach the desire to maintain reducing conditions to suppress carbon formation at the cathode and for the integrity of the SOEC (see e.g. Paragraphs 0034-0035 and 0039-0049).
Brunot teaches a method of operating a stack of solid oxide electrolysis cells (see e.g. Abstract) for co-electrolysis of H2O+CO2 at high temperature to produce a mixture including H2+CO (see e.g. Paragraphs 0034-0036), wherein a reducing atmosphere may be maintained in the SOEC reactors by flushing with the feed (CO2/H2O/H2/CO) or with another reducing gas such as hydrogen in a stand-by mode to limit the risks of oxidation and need for inerting (see e.g. Paragraph 0055) and this stand-by mode may also be used for increasing the temperature of the initially cold SOEC reactors (see e.g. Paragraphs 0056-0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Jakobsson to have the stream across the cathode layer during startup comprise hydrogen from a hydrogen supply instead of the regular cathode feed as taught by Brunot as an alternate suitable reducing gas stream for maintaining a reducing atmosphere in an SOEC to limit the risks of oxidation and need for inerting. MPEP § 2143(I)(B) states that “simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results” may be obvious.
Modified Jakobsson does not explicitly teach the streams across the cathode layer and anode layer being conveyed first in a purge cycle if a target duration succeeded by the conditioning cycle after expiration of the target duration.
Chuah teaches a method for starting an electrochemical stack (see e.g. Paragraph 0010), wherein the anode and cathode chambers are first purged with a gas flow for a period of time to remove any condensate present, before continuing the startup process (see e.g. Paragraph 0033, lines 14-17, and Paragraph 0037, lines 1-4), this purging preventing instability or damage during startup and/or instability during operation that may result from the presence of condensed water (see e.g. Paragraph 0032, lines 14-23, and Paragraph 0033, lines 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the startup period of modified Jakobsson to comprise first purging the anode and cathode layers with the respective gas streams to remove any condensate present before continuing with the startup process, i.e. completing the conditioning, as taught by Chuah to prevent instability or damage during startup and/or instability during operation that may result from the presence of condensed water.
Regarding claim 5, modified Jakobsson teaches all the elements of the method of claim 4 as stated above. Modified Jakobsson further teaches, during a shutdown period succeeding the fuel generation period, conveying a stream across the cathode layer; and subjecting the cell stack to thermal conditioning by regulating the stack temperature from a third stack temperature, within the target stack temperature range, to a fourth stack temperature according to the temperature ramp rate via the heating element coupled to the cell stack (see e.g. Jakobsson Paragraphs 0020-0021, cooling down of SOEC during shut-down controlled with cooling medium such as air N2 or CO2).
Jakobsson, as modified above, does not explicitly teach, during the shutdown period, the stream across the cathode layer being the stream of hydrogen from the hydrogen supply to generate the reducing environment at the cathode layer. Jakobsson does however teach the desire to mitigate degradation during shut-down and cooling (see e.g. Jakobsson Paragraph 0020, lines 8-10), as well as the desire to maintain reducing conditions to suppress carbon formation at the cathode and for the integrity of the SOEC (see e.g. Paragraphs 0034-0035 and 0039-0049).
Brunot teaches that a reducing atmosphere may be maintained in the SOEC reactors by flushing with the feed (CO2/H2O/H2/CO) or with another reducing gas such as hydrogen in a stand-by mode to limit the risks of oxidation and need for inerting (see e.g. Brunot Paragraph 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Jakobsson to instead comprise the hydrogen from the hydrogen supply as the stream across the cathode during shutdown as taught by Brunot to allow maintenance of a reducing atmosphere that limits the risks of oxidation and need for inerting.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson in view of Newkirk (U.S. 2009/0325014), and further in view of Merida-Donis et al. (U.S. 2002/0017463).
Regarding claim 6, Jakobsson teaches all the elements of the method of claim 1 as stated above. Jakobsson further teaches during a fuel generation period comprising the humidification period, the heating period, the electrolysis period, the cooling period, and the purification period (see e.g. Paragraphs 0002 and 0048, and Paragraph 0018, lines 1-9, electrolytic CO/H2 production process including the provision CO2/steam feed stock, i.e. humidified gas mixture, the heat exchange, i.e. heating and cooling, steps and the separation/purification steps): selectively distributing power from a power supply to a heating element coupled to the cell stack to regulate a temperature of the cell stack within a target stack temperature range configured to promote electrolysis of the feed mixture (see e.g. Paragraph 0017, lines 4-12, external electrical heaters, i.e. supplied with power from power supply, used to reach operating temperature); and selectively distributing power from a power supply to the cell stack to regulate a current applied across the cell stack within a target current range configured to promote electrolysis of the feed mixture (see e.g. Paragraphs 0050 and 0053, individual control of power supplies supplying electrolysis current for each stack).
Jakobsson does not teach regulating a gas flow rate of the gaseous mixture into the humidification unit and through the cathode layer based on the current. Jakobsson does however teach the gaseous mixture and the water from the humidification making up the feed into the cathode layer of the reversible fuel cell (see e.g. Paragraph 0048, lines 4-5).
Newkirk teaches an operation control method for a solid oxide electrolysis cell (see e.g. Abstract and Paragraph 0018) wherein a concentration of a reactant in a feed stock, i.e. percentage of the total volumetric flow, is varied according to changes in the supplied electrical power, and thereby current and voltage, to the cell (see e.g. Paragraph 0008, lines 3-9, Paragraph 0026, lines 9-19, and Paragraph 0027), enabling the cell to be maintained at thermal neutral voltage and thus preventing thermal gradients that can result in severe stresses and eventual failure (see e.g. Paragraph 0008, lines 6-9, and Paragraph 0024).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Jakobsson to comprise varying the concentration, i.e. percentage of total volumetric flow, of the gaseous reactant mixture to be supplied to form the feed based on the supplied electrical power, i.e. current and voltage, as taught by Newkirk to enable the cell stack to be maintained and thermal neutral voltage and thus prevent thermal gradients that can result in severe stresses and eventual failure.
Jakobsson as modified by Newkirk above does not explicitly teach regulating a water temperature of water flowing into the humidification unit based on the gas flow rate and a target humidity level defined for the feed mixture. Jakobsson as modified by Newkirk does however teach the control of the concentration of the reactants in the feed mixture, which include the gaseous mixture at the given gas flow rate and the humidifying water, i.e. a target humidity (see e.g. Jakobsson Paragraph 0048, lines 4-5; see e.g. Newkirk Paragraph 0026, lines 9-19).
Merida-Donis teaches an apparatus for hydrogen production by water electrolysis including a humidification unit (see e.g. Abstract) wherein a rate of reactant humidification can be controlled by varying the temperature and pressure of flowing water for humidification as well as the flow rate of the incoming dry reactants to reach a desired level of humidity before being delivered to an electrochemically active section (see e.g. Paragraph 0023, lines 12-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Jakobsson to vary a temperature and pressure of flowing water into the humidification unit along with the reactant gaseous mixture flow rate according to a target humidity level for the feed mixture as taught by Merida-Donis as a known suitable means for controlling a rate of reactant humidification to achieve a desired level of feed humidity before being fed into an electrochemical apparatus. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson in view of Olshausen et al. (U.S. 2017/0175277).
Regarding claim 7, Jakobsson teaches all the elements of the method of claim 1 as stated above. Jakobsson further teaches conveying the air mixture comprising oxygen through the anode layer of the reversible fuel cell comprises: ingesting air from an air supply for extraction of the air mixture comprising a first concentration of oxygen (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 4, oxygen-containing air, i.e. from air supply, used as oxygen purge; Paragraph 0010, lines 4-5); conveying the air mixture across a first side of a second heat exchanger to heat the air mixture from a first air temperature at a third heat exchanger inlet to a second air temperature, within a target air temperature range, at a third heat exchanger outlet, the second air temperature exceeding the first air temperature (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 4, air as oxygen purge inlet gas heated by passing through feed effluent heat exchanger on oxygen side, i.e. raising it from a lower 1st temp to a higher 2nd temp; Paragraph 0010, lines 4-5, and Paragraph 0018, lines 1-9); and conveying the air mixture from the third heat exchanger outlet across the anode layer to generate an oxygen mixture comprising a second concentration of oxygen exceeding the first concentration (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 4, heated oxygen purge inlet gas from oxygen side feed effluent heat exchanger enters oxygen/anode side of SOEC, i.e. reversible SOFC, of cell stack, generating oxygen outlet mixture with surplus oxygen, i.e. an increased concentration; Paragraph 0001, Paragraph 0010, lines 1-5, and Paragraph 0018, lines 1-9); and further comprising: conveying the oxygen mixture from the anode layer across a second side of the second heat exchanger to cool the oxygen mixture from a first oxygen temperature at a fourth heat exchanger inlet to a second oxygen temperature at a fourth heat exchanger outlet, the second oxygen temperature falling below the first oxygen temperature (see e.g. Fig. 4, oxygen side outlet gas led to oxygen side feed effluent heat exchanger to heat the inlet gas, i.e. transferring its heat and being cooled from a 1st high temp to a 2nd lower temp; Paragraph 0018, lines 1-9).
Jakobsson does not explicitly teach conveying the oxygen mixture from the fourth heat exchanger outlet to a supply inlet of the air supply, but does teach the air being used to flush the anode layer (see e.g. Paragraph 0010, lines 4-5).
Olshausen teaches an electrolysis system including an electrolysis cell (see e.g. Abstract), wherein a flushing medium, after being supplied to the electrolysis cell to remove, for example, oxygen produced at the anode, is reintroduced into the flushing medium supply and thereby recirculated to the cell (see e.g. Fig. 1, anode flushing medium/produced oxygen mixture returned via flushing circuit 16 to anode flushing medium supply 60; Paragraphs 0017-0021,0101 and 0103-0104), resulting in improvement in overall efficiency by further utilization of the originally contained thermal energy and pressure of the flushing medium (see e.g. Paragraph 0022, lines 1-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Jakobsson to comprise recirculating the oxygen mixture back to an inlet of the flushing air supply as taught by Olshausen to improve overall efficiency by further utilization of the originally contained thermal energy and pressure of the flushing air.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson in view of Merida-Donis.
Regarding claim 8, Jakobsson teaches all the elements of the method of claim 1 as stated above. Jakobsson does not teach humidifying the gaseous mixture comprising carbon dioxide with the volume of water to generate the feed mixture comprises, during a humidification cycle: conveying the gaseous mixture from a gas supply across a dry side of a membrane at a first feed flow rate; and conveying the volume of water from a water supply across the wet side of the membrane to generate the feed mixture via injection of steam across the membrane and into the gaseous mixture, the volume of water heated to a first temperature corresponding to the first feed flow rate and a target humidity level defined for the feed mixture.
Merida-Donis teaches an apparatus for hydrogen production by water electrolysis including a humidification unit (see e.g. Abstract) wherein a rate of reactant humidification can be controlled by varying the temperature and pressure of flowing water for humidification on one side of a membrane, i.e. a wet side, as well as the flow rate of the incoming dry reactants on the other side of the membrane, i.e. a dry side, to reach a desired level of humidity before being delivered to an electrochemically active section (see e.g. Paragraph 0022 and Paragraph 0023, lines 12-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Jakobsson to comprise providing the volume of water for the feed mixture at a specified temperature on one side of a membrane while the dry gaseous mixture comprising carbon dioxide is provided on the other side of the membrane until a desired level of humidity is reached as taught by Merida-Donis as a known suitable means of providing a humidified, i.e. mixed with water, reactant feed for an electrochemical apparatus. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding claim 9, Jakobsson teaches all the elements of the method of claim 1 as stated above. Jakobsson does not teach humidifying the gaseous mixture with the volume of water to generate the feed mixture comprises: conveying a stream of water from a tank outlet of the water tank through a wet side of a membrane humidifier; and o conveying the gaseous mixture across a dry side of the membrane humidifier to inject a volume of water, extracted from the stream of water flowing through the wet side, into the gaseous mixture to generate the feed mixture; wherein conveying the first fuel mixture from the second heat exchanger outlet through the dryer unit configured to reduce the dew point of hydrogen in the first fuel mixture and promote separation of water from the first fuel mixture to generate the second fuel mixture comprises conveying the first fuel mixture from the second heat exchanger outlet through the dryer unit configured to reduce the dew point of syngas in the first fuel mixture and promote separation of water from the first fuel mixture to generate the second fuel mixture and a second volume of water; wherein conveying the second fuel mixture from the dryer unit through the separator unit comprises conveying the second fuel mixture from a first dryer outlet of the dryer unit through the separator unit; and further comprising, conveying the second volume of water from a second outlet of the dryer unit into the water tank. Jakobsson does however teach remaining water from the feed mixture being removed from the product mixture, i.e. via a dryer, before further separation processes (see e.g. Paragraph 0048, lines 13-15).
Merida-Donis teaches an apparatus for hydrogen production by water electrolysis including a humidification unit (see e.g. Abstract), wherein water for humidification is fed from a tank across on one side of a membrane, i.e. a wet side, and dry reactants on the other side of the membrane, i.e. a dry side, to reach a desired level of humidity before being delivered to an electrochemically active section (see e.g. Fig. 7, water from reservoir 815 led to humidification module 827; Paragraph 0022, Paragraph 0023, lines 12-22, and Paragraph 0083, lines 4-6), and, following the electrochemical reaction, water is cooled and returned to the initial tank (see e.g. Fig. 7, water leaving PEMFC stack cooled in heat exchanger 850 and then returned to reservoir 815; Paragraph 0083, lines 6-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Jakobsson to comprise providing water from a tank across one side of a membrane while the dry gaseous mixture comprising carbon dioxide is provided on the other side of the membrane until a desired level of humidity is reached, and returning the water, after separation in the dryer, to the tank as taught by Merida-Donis as a known suitable means of providing a humidified, i.e. mixed with water, reactant feed for an electrochemical apparatus. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson in view of Newkirk, and further in view of Merida-Donis and Petipas et al. (“Thermal Management of Solid Oxide Electrolysis Cell Systems Through Air Flow Regulation”, Chem. Eng. Trans., 2017).
Regarding claim 10, Jakobsson teaches all the elements of the method of claim 1 as stated above. Jakobsson further teaches during a fuel generation period comprising the humidification period, the heating period, the electrolysis period, the cooling period, and the purification period (see e.g. Paragraphs 0002 and 0048, and Paragraph 0018, lines 1-9, electrolytic CO/H2 production process including the provision CO2/steam feed stock, i.e. humidified gas mixture, the heat exchange, i.e. heating and cooling, steps and the separation/purification steps): selectively distributing power from a power supply to a heating element coupled to the cell stack to regulate a temperature of the cell stack within a target stack temperature range configured to promote electrolysis of the feed mixture (see e.g. Paragraph 0017, lines 4-12, external electrical heaters, i.e. supplied with power from power supply, used to reach operating temperature); and selectively distributing power from a power supply to the cell stack to regulate a current applied across the cell stack within a target current range configured to promote electrolysis of the feed mixture (see e.g. Paragraphs 0050 and 0053, individual control of power supplies supplying electrolysis current for each stack).
Jakobsson does not teach humidifying the gaseous mixture to generate the feed mixture further comprising regulating a gas flow rate of the gaseous mixture into the humidification unit and through the cathode layer based on the current. Jakobsson does however teach the gaseous mixture and the water from the humidification making up the feed into the cathode layer of the reversible fuel cell (see e.g. Paragraph 0048, lines 4-5).
Newkirk teaches an operation control method for a solid oxide electrolysis cell (see e.g. Abstract and Paragraph 0018) wherein a concentration of a reactant in a feed stock, i.e. percentage of the total volumetric flow, is varied according to changes in the supplied electrical power, and thereby current and voltage, to the cell (see e.g. Paragraph 0008, lines 3-9, Paragraph 0026, lines 9-19, and Paragraph 0027), enabling the cell to be maintained at thermal neutral voltage and thus preventing thermal gradients that can result in severe stresses and eventual failure (see e.g. Paragraph 0008, lines 6-9, and Paragraph 0024).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Jakobsson to comprise varying the concentration, i.e. percentage of total volumetric flow, of the gaseous reactant mixture to be supplied to form the feed based on the supplied electrical power, i.e. current and voltage, as taught by Newkirk to enable the cell stack to be maintained and thermal neutral voltage and thus prevent thermal gradients that can result in severe stresses and eventual failure.
Jakobsson as modified by Newkirk above does not explicitly teach regulating a water temperature of water flowing into the humidification unit based on the gas flow rate and a target humidity level defined for the feed mixture, wherein conveying the feed mixture across the first side of the first heat exchanger comprises conveying the feed mixture at the target humidity across the first heat exchanger. Jakobsson as modified by Newkirk does however teach the control of the concentration of the reactants in the feed mixture to be heated, which include the gaseous mixture at the given gas flow rate and the humidifying water, i.e. a target humidity (see e.g. Jakobsson Paragraph 0018, lines 1-9, and Paragraph 0048, lines 4-5; see e.g. Newkirk Paragraph 0026, lines 9-19).
Merida-Donis teaches an apparatus for hydrogen production by water electrolysis including a humidification unit (see e.g. Abstract) wherein a rate of reactant humidification can be controlled by varying the temperature and pressure of flowing water for humidification as well as the flow rate of the incoming dry reactants to reach a desired level of humidity before being delivered to an electrochemically active section (see e.g. Paragraph 0023, lines 12-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Jakobsson to vary a temperature and pressure of flowing water into the humidification unit along with the reactant gaseous mixture flow rate according to a target humidity level for the feed mixture as taught by Merida-Donis as a known suitable means for controlling a rate of reactant humidification to achieve a desired level of feed humidity before being fed into an electrochemical apparatus. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Modified Jakobsson does not teach conveying the air mixture through the anode layer comprising regulating an air flow rate of the air mixture supplied to the anode layer based on the current. Newkirk does however teach the desire to maintain thermal neutral voltage (see e.g. Newkirk Paragraph 0008, lines 6-9).
Petipas teaches a control strategy for high temperature electrolyzers (see e.g. Abstract), comprising regulating an air flow rate into the anode of an SOEC based on the supplied power, and therefore current (see e.g. Table 1 and Fig. 3; Page 1072, under “3.2”, lines 3-5, and Page 1073, lines 1-4 and 7-9), allowing the air flow to adapt to the thermal needs of the system and maximize system efficiency by maintaining a constant cell operating temperature (see e.g. Page 1072, under “3.2”, lines 3-7, and Page 1073, lines 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified of modified Jakobsson to comprise regulating an air flow rate of the air mixture based on the supplied power, and therefore current, as taught by Petipas to allow the air flow to adapt to the thermal needs of the system and maximize system efficiency by maintaining a constant cell operating temperature
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson in view of Seabaugh et al. (U.S. 2012/0264031).
Regarding claim 11, Jakobsson teaches all the elements of the method of claim 1 as stated above. Jakobsson further teaches conveying the air mixture through the anode layer comprising conveying the air mixture through the anode layer and a second anode layer of a second reversible fuel cell, in the set of reversible fuel cells in the cell stack (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 12, air as oxygen/anode purge fed into multiple cells of fuel cell stack; Paragraph 0010, lines 3-4, and Paragraphs 0049-0050) comprising: the reversible fuel cell comprising the anode layer, an electrolyte layer arranged across the anode layer, and the cathode layer arranged across the electrolyte layer opposite the anode layer (see e.g. Fig. 1, anode and cathode with solid oxide or ceramic electrolyte therebetween; Paragraph 0001); and a second reversible fuel cell comprising a second anode layer, a second electrolyte layer arranged across the second anode layer, and a second cathode layer arranged across the second electrolyte layer opposite the second anode layer (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 12, additional cells of stack each comprising anode and cathode with solid oxide or ceramic electrolyte therebetween; Paragraphs 0001 and 0049-0050); wherein conveying the feed mixture from the first heat exchanger outlet across the cathode layer comprises conveying the feed mixture from the first heat exchanger outlet across the cathode layer and the second cathode layer to generate a first portion of the first fuel mixture at the cathode layer and a second portion of the first fuel mixture at the second cathode layer via electrolysis of the feed mixture (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 12, cathode feed led into multiple cells of fuel cell stack; Paragraphs 00048-0050).
Jakobsson does not explicitly teach an interconnect arranged across the cathode layer opposite the electrolyte layer, the second anode layer arranged across the interconnect opposite the cathode layer.
Seabaugh teaches an electrochemical device comprising one or more solid oxide fuel cells (see e.g. Abstract), each of the SOFCs including a cathode, an anode, and an electrolyte layer therebetween, wherein, in a stack of multiple of the solid oxide cells, an interconnect plate is located between the cathode of one cell and the anode of an adjacent cell (see e.g. Fig. 1 and Paragraph 0051, lines 7-12), the interconnect functioning as a gas separator and electrical connection between cells (see e.g. Paragraph 0003).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cell stack of Jakobsson to comprise the interconnect plate of Seabaugh between the cathode layer and second anode layer to function as a gas separator and electrical connection between the adjacent cells.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson in view of Seabaugh, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Taguchi et al. (“Characterization of LaNixCoyFe1 − x − yO3 as a cathode material for solid oxide fuel cells”, Solid State Ionics, 2010).
Regarding claim 12, modified Jakobsson teaches all the elements of the method of claim 11 as stated above. Jakobsson as modified by Seabaugh further teaches conveying the air mixture through the anode layer and the second anode layer comprising conveying the air mixture through the anode layer and the second anode layer of the cell stack comprising the reversible fuel cell, the second reversible fuel cell, and the interconnect (see e.g. Jakobsson Figs. 1 and 12, air as oxygen/anode purge fed into multiple cells of fuel cell stack, Paragraph 0010, lines 3-4, and Paragraphs 0049-0050; see e.g. Seabaugh Fig. 1, stack with multiple cells and an interconnect, Paragraph 0051, lines 7-12): the interconnect interposed between the first reversible fuel cell and the second reversible fuel cell (see e.g. Seabaugh Paragraph 0051, lines 9-12, interconnect between adjacent repeat cell units) and comprising a contact layer: applied to the surfaces of the interconnect (see e.g. Seabaugh Paragraph 0031, lines 1-5, and Paragraph 0052, lines 1-4, conductive perovskite coating on interconnects); comprising a first amount of Lanthanum, a second amount of Nickel, a third amount of Oxygen, a first amount of a second doping agent configured to stabilize a crystal structure of the material, a fifth amount of a first doping agent configured to limit thermal expansion of the interconnect (see e.g. Paragraphs 0064-0068, perovskite ABB’B”O3, where A is La, B is Ni, B’ is Co, Fe or Cu and B” is an additional transition metal such as Fe or Cr, where B’ and B” different, Co or Fe being exemplary stabilizing dopants and Cu, Fe or Cr being exemplary thermal expansion limiting dopants as described in paragraph 0044 of the instant specification).
Modified Jakobsson does not explicitly teach the specific stated double-doped contact material exhibiting a thermal expansion coefficient between 10.0x10-6 K-1 and 15.0x10-6 K-1 at temperatures between room temperature and 1100 degrees Celsius, and an electrical conductivity of greater than 200 Siemens-per-centimeter at temperatures within a temperature range of 700 degrees Celsius to 1300 degrees Celsius. Seabaugh does generally teach that its described contact materials may exhibit a high conductivity of at least about 50 S/cm at 700°C, encompassing the claimed range, and in some embodiments greater than 500 S/cm at 700°C (see e.g. Seabaugh Paragraph 0069, lines 8-12), as well as a thermal expansion coefficient similar to 14.3x10-6 K-1, though a temperature range is not specified, presumably in the operating temperature range of 600 to 1000°C (see e.g. Seabaugh Paragraph 0072 and Paragraph 0069, lines 1-5).
Taguchi teaches LaNixCoyFe1-x-yO3 perovskite materials for solid oxide fuel cells (see e.g. Abstract) with specific examples where x=0.6 having a conductivity greater than 500 S cm-1 at 1073 K (799.85°C) and near that in the range from 973-1273 (699.85-999.85°C) (see e.g. Fig. 6 and Page 129, Col. 2, under “3.3”, lines 1-5) and thermal expansion coefficients of 13.3 to 14.8 x10-6 K-1 at 300-1273K (26.5-999.85°C) (see e.g. Fig. 8 and Page 130, Col. 1, lines 2-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the contact material of modified Jakobsson to particularly comprise the LaNixCoyFe1-x-yO3 (where x=0.6) materials with a conductivity of greater than 500 S cm-1 at 799.85°C and thermal expansion coefficient of 13.3 to 14.8 x10-6 K-1 at 26.5-999.85°C taught by Taguchi as an exemplary specific perovskite material that meets the formula, conductivity and thermal expansion coefficient desired by Seabaugh. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson in view of Stoots et al. (“Test Results From the Idaho National Laboratory 15kW High Temperature Electrolysis Test Facility”, ICONE17, 2009).
Regarding claim 13, Jakobsson teaches all the elements of the method of claim 1 as stated above. Jakobsson further teaches humidifying the gaseous mixture with the volume of water to generate the feed mixture at the humidification unit comprises humidifying the gaseous mixture with the volume of water to generate the feed mixture at the humidification unit (see e.g. Fig. 1, feed stock comprising CO2 mixed with, i.e. humidified by, steam in respective process unit; Paragraph 0048, lines 1-8); conveying the feed mixture from the humidification unit across the first side of the first heat exchanger comprises conveying the feed mixture from the humidification unit across the first side of the first heat exchanger of an electrolysis module (see e.g. Figs. 4 and 12, feed stock including steam/H2O and CO2 passed through feed effluent heat exchanger on fuel side which forms part of an SOEC core; Paragraph 0018, lines 1-9, and Paragraph 0026, lines 1-4) comprising a module housing comprising a layer of thermal insulation (see e.g. Paragraph 0001, lines 7-9, and Paragraph 0026, lines 4-5, SOEC core encapsulated, i.e. in housing, and thermally insulated), the cell stack transiently installed within the module housing (see e.g. Fig. 12 and Paragraph 0026, lines 1-4, SOEC unit/stacks as part of SOEC core), and a set of heating elements installed within the module housing and comprising the first heat exchanger and a stack heater configured to regulate a temperature of the cell stack within a target stack temperature range (see e.g. Fig. 12, Paragraph 0017, lines 4-12, and Paragraph 0026, lines 1-5, feed effluent heat exchangers as well as pre-heaters for reaching stack operating temperature part of encapsulated SOEC core); conveying the air mixture comprising oxygen through the anode layer of the reversible fuel cell in the cell stack comprises conveying the air mixture comprising oxygen through the anode layer of the reversible fuel cell in the cell stack of the electrolysis module and transiently installed within the module housing (see e.g. Figs. 1, 4 and 12, air as oxygen purge inlet gas enters oxygen/anode side of SOEC, i.e. reversible SOFC, of cell stack as part of SOEC core; Paragraph 0010, lines 1-5, and Paragraph 0026, lines 1-4); conveying the first fuel mixture from the second heat exchanger outlet through the dryer unit comprises conveying the first fuel mixture from the second heat exchanger outlet through the dryer unit (see e.g. Paragraph 0048, lines 6-15, product gas purification by first removing steam, i.e. in dryer, from product gas stream including syngas (CO+H2) and CO2); and conveying the second fuel mixture through the separator unit comprises conveying the second fuel mixture through the separator unit (see e.g. Fig. 4, CO2 separated from CO and H2 in separation process unit after removal of steam; Paragraph 0010, lines 9-14, and Paragraph 0048, lines 6-15).
Jakobsson does not teach the humidification unit being part of a feed supply module installed on a first region of a skid; the electrolysis module being transiently installed within a second region of the skid; and the dryer unit and separator unit being part of a fuel processing module installed in a third region of the skid. Jakobsson does however teach the feed supply and purification process units being separate from the electrolysis module (see e.g. Fig. 8, CO2 supply and separation units outside of SOEC core; Paragraph 0027)
Stoots teaches a high temperature solid oxide electrolysis cell test facility (see e.g. Abstract) in which all system components and hardware are mounted on a skid (see e.g. Page 6, Col. 1, 3rd paragraph, lines 1-4), with the enclosed electrolysis cell stacks, feed preparation units such as steam generators, and product purification units such as steam condensers provided in separate locations (see e.g. Figs. 1-2, hot enclosure 1 containing cell stacks, steam generator 6 and steam condenser 11 shown in respective locations on skid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Jakobsson to comprise installing various process components on a skid, with feed supply, e.g. steam preparation, electrolysis and product purification modules in respective different locations, as taught by Stoots as a known suitable mechanism and configuration for mounting process components of a high temperature solid oxide cell electrolysis system. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson in view of Zhao et al. (“System level heat integration and efficiency analysis of hydrogen production process based on solid oxide electrolysis cells”, Int. J. Hydrogen Energy, 2021).
Regarding claim 17, Jakobsson teaches all the elements of the method of claim 1 as stated above. Jakobsson further teaches conveying the feed mixture across the first side of the first heat exchanger comprising conveying a volume of water in a vapor state across the first side of the first heat exchanger (see e.g. Paragraph 0048, lines 3-8, and Paragraph 0018, lines 1-7, steam in feedstock led through fuel side feed effluent heat exchanger); conveying the first fuel mixture from the second heat exchanger outlet through the dryer unit configured to reduce the dew point of hydrogen in the first fuel mixture and promote separation of water from the first fuel mixture to generate the second fuel mixture comprises conveying the first fuel mixture from the second heat exchanger outlet through the dryer unit configured to reduce the dew point of hydrogen in the first fuel mixture and promote separation of water from the first fuel mixture to generate the second fuel mixture and a second volume of water (see e.g. Paragraph 0048, lines 6-15, product gas purification by first removing steam from product gas stream including syngas (CO+H2) and CO2, thereby reducing the water content, i.e. dew point); and conveying the second fuel mixture from the dryer unit through the separator unit comprises conveying the second fuel mixture from a first dryer outlet of the dryer unit through the separator unit (see e.g. Fig. 4, CO2 separated from CO and H2 in separation process unit after removal of steam to produce desired product of concentrated CO+H2; Paragraph 0010, lines 9-14, and Paragraph 0048).
Jakobsson does not explicitly teach conveying the feed mixture across the first side of the first heat exchanger further comprising: heating water stored in a water tank to temperatures within a target water temperature range to promote transition of water, in the volume of water, from a liquid state to a vapor state, and conveying a volume of water in the vapor state from a tank outlet of the water tank to a feed inlet; the second volume of water being in a liquid state, and conveying the second volume of water, in the liquid state, from a second outlet of the dryer unit into the water tank.
Jakobsson does however teach remaining water from the feed mixture being removed from the product mixture, i.e. via a dryer, before further separation processes (see e.g. Paragraph 0048, lines 13-15).
Zhao teaches a solid oxide electrolysis cell system (see e.g. Abstract) in which liquid water for a cathode feed mixture is first converted to steam by being heated in a water evaporator, i.e. tank, (see e.g. Fig. 1 and Page 38165, Col. 2, lines 3-10 and 17-20) and, after undergoing electrolysis and being cooled, liquid water is removed from a hydrogen product and recycled to be led back to the evaporator (see e.g. Fig. 1 and Page 38165, Col. 2, lines 4-10 and 23-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Jakobsson to comprise vaporizing a volume of liquid water to be delivered to a feed mixture by heating in an evaporator, i.e. tank, and, after electrolysis and cooling, separating water in liquid state from a product feed mixture to be recycled back to the evaporator as taught by Zhao as a suitable process flow for providing steam as a reactant in a solid oxide electrolysis cell system. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson in view of O’Brien et al. (“High Temperature Electrolysis Pressurized Experiment Design, Operation, and Results”, INL, 2012), and further in view of Sadeghzadeh et al. (“A novel exergy-based assessment on a multi-production plant of power, heat and hydrogen: integration of solid oxide fuel cell, solid oxide electrolyzer cell and Rankine steam cycle”, Int. J. of Low-Carbon Tech., Feb 2021) and Akikur et al. (“Performance analysis of a co-generation system using solar energy and SOFC technology”, Energy Conv. and Manag., 2014).
Regarding claim 18, Jakobsson teaches all the elements of the method of claim 1 as stated above. Jakobsson further teaches conveying the feed mixture across the first side of the first heat exchanger comprising conveying a volume of water, in a vapor state, across the first side of the first heat exchanger (see e.g. Paragraph 0048, lines 3-8, and Paragraph 0018, lines 1-7, steam in feedstock led through fuel side feed effluent heat exchanger); conveying the first fuel mixture from the second heat exchanger outlet through the dryer unit configured to reduce the dew point of hydrogen in the first fuel mixture and promote separation of water from the first fuel mixture to generate the second fuel mixture comprises conveying the first fuel mixture from the second heat exchanger outlet through the dryer unit configured to reduce the dew point of hydrogen in the first fuel mixture and promote separation of water from the first fuel mixture to generate the second fuel mixture and a second volume of water (see e.g. Paragraph 0048, lines 6-15, product gas purification by first removing steam from product gas stream including syngas (CO+H2) and CO2, thereby reducing the water content, i.e. dew point); and conveying the second fuel mixture from the dryer unit through the separator unit comprises conveying the second fuel mixture from a first dryer outlet of the dryer unit through the separator unit (see e.g. Fig. 4, CO2 separated from CO and H2 in separation process unit after removal of steam to produce desired product of concentrated CO+H2; Paragraph 0010, lines 9-14, and Paragraph 0048).
Jakobsson does not teach conveying the feed mixture across the first side of the first heat exchanger further comprising: conveying a volume of water, in a liquid state, from a water tank through a compressor configured to pressurize the volume of water from a first pressure within a first pressure range at a compressor inlet to a second pressure within a second range at a compressor outlet, pressures within the second pressure range exceeding pressures within the first pressure range; conveying the volume of water from the compressor outlet to a buffer tank; conveying the volume of water from an outlet of the buffer tank to the first heat exchanger inlet via a water duct comprising a heating element configured to increase a temperature of the volume of water flowing through the water duct to transition the volume of water from the liquid state to a vapor state.
O’Brien teaches operation of a high temperature steam electrolysis facility (see e.g. Page 1, bottom paragraph, lines 1-5) which is operated at elevated pressure which is desirable for pressurized product storage and yields higher overall process efficiencies by compression of a liquid water feedstock (see e.g. Page 1, 2nd paragraph, lines 1-5), wherein liquid water is provided from an initial deionized water tank to a pressurized water supply system in which water is pressurized, i.e. compressed, and stored in holding cylinders (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 2; Page 4, lines 1-6) before being supplied along tubing to a controlled evaporation and mixing unit for converting the pressurized water into steam via a heating element (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 2; Page 3, lines 5-6, and Page 4, lines 1-2 and 10-13) and then being fed for further heating and into the electrolysis stack (see e.g. Fig. 1, H2O+ H2 led through Ht2 and into electrolysis stack in pressure vessel; Page 2, under “2.1”, lines 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Jakobsson to comprise conveying liquid water through a pressurization system into a pressurized holding cylinder, i.e. buffer tank, before being transitioned into steam along a duct comprising an evaporation unit including a heating element and sent to the first heat exchanger as taught by O’Brien as a suitable process flow for providing steam as a reactant in a solid oxide electrolysis cell system that also enables elevated pressure operation and is desirable for pressurized product storage and yields higher overall process efficiencies.
Modified Jakobsson does not explicitly teach the liquid water being increased from the first pressure to the second pressure via a compressor before entering the buffer tank, instead teaching the buffer tank itself being pressurized via a compressed gas line (see e.g. O’Brien Page 4, lines 2-5).
Sadeghzadeh teaches a system comprising a solid oxide electrolyzer cell (see e.g. Abstract) in which an inlet water stream is pressurized to a desired pressure using a pump, i.e. compressor (see e.g. Fig. 1 and Page 800, Col. 2, lines 3-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Jakobsson to comprise increasing the pressure of the liquid water via a compressor before entering the buffer tank as taught by Sadeghzadeh as an alternate or additional suitable means of providing pressurized liquid water for a solid oxide electrolyzer cell. MPEP § 2143(I)(B) states that “simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results” may be obvious.
Modified Jakobsson does not explicitly teach conveying the second volume of water, in the liquid state, from a second outlet of the dryer unit into the water tank.
Akikur teaches a solid oxide steam electrolyzer operation mode (see e.g. Abstract) in which liquid water from an initial storage tank undergoes evaporation into steam, heating and electrolysis, and remaining water after electrolysis is separated as liquid water in a condenser and output back into the initial storage tank for further use and recirculation (see e.g. Fig. 1, Table 3 and Section 2.1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Jakobsson to comprise conveying the second volume water from a separate outlet of the dryer outlet back into the initial water tank as taught by Akikur to enable separated remaining water to be further used and recirculated in the electrolysis operation. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petipas in view of El-Halwagi et al. (U.S. 2021/0061655), and further in view of Jakobsson.
Regarding claim 19, Petipas teaches a method (see e.g. Abstract, operation of high temperature electrolyser) comprising:
during a live period for an electrolysis module (see e.g. Fig. 1 operating SOEC unit):
selectively distributing power from a power supply to a cell stack to regulate a current applied across the cell stack within a target current range (see e.g. Table 1 and Fig. 3, range of different power load and respective current applied to SOEC unit stacks; Page 1072, under “3.2”, lines 1-9, and Page 1073, lines 1-4 and 7-9), the cell stack transiently installed within a housing of the electrolysis module and comprising a set of reversible fuel cells arranged in a vertical stack (see e.g. Fig. 1, electrolysis cells shown vertically arranged in stacks housed by thermal insulation wall; Page 1070, under “2.1”, lines 1-3); and
selectively distributing power to a set of heating elements to regulate a stack temperature of the reversible fuel stack temperature range corresponding to the target stack efficiency (see e.g. Page 1071, under “2.2”, lines 7-10, and Page 1073, under “3.2”, lines 5-7, electric heater to which power is provided heating up inlet water to the desired cell operating temperature for efficiency);
during a first electrolysis cycle within the live period (see e.g. Fig. 3, operation of electrolyser unit at different power loads at respective periods; Page 1073, lines 1-2):
conveying an air mixture from an air supply across a set of anode layers of the cell stack at a first air flow rate corresponding to a first current applied to the reversible fuel cell during the first electrolysis cycle, the air mixture comprising oxygen (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 3, air flow including O2 supplied at a calculated flow rate to anode according to a first SOEC unit load and corresponding current; Page 1073, lines 1-4 and 7-9); and
conveying a feed mixture, comprising water, from a feed supply across a set of cathode layers of the cell stack at a first feed flow rate to generate a fuel mixture comprising hydrogen via electrolysis, the first feed flow rate corresponding to the first current (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 3, steam supplied to cathode at a specified flow rate proportional to the first SOEC unit load and corresponding current to maintain a 75% conversion rate of the steam into H2; Page 1070, under “2.1”, lines 4-7, and Page 1073, lines 3-4 and 7-9); and
during a second electrolysis cycle within the live period (see e.g. Fig. 3, operation of electrolyser unit at different power loads at respective periods; Page 1073, lines 1-2):
conveying the air mixture from the air supply across the set of anode layers at a second air flow rate corresponding to a second current applied to the reversible fuel cell during the second electrolysis cycle (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 3, air flow including O2 supplied at a calculated flow rate to anode according to a second SOEC unit load and corresponding current; Page 1073, lines 1-4 and 7-9); and
conveying the feed mixture from the feed supply across the set of cathode layers at a second feed flow rate to generate the fuel mixture via electrolysis, the second feed flow rate corresponding to the second current (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 3, steam supplied to cathode at a specified flow rate proportional to the second SOEC unit load and corresponding current to maintain a 75% conversion rate; Page 1070, under “2.1”, lines 4-6, and Page 1073, lines 3-4 and 7-9).
Petipas does not explicitly teach the electrolysis module being installed on a skid.
El-Halwagi teaches a method and system for generating oxygen and hydrogen by water electrolysis (see e.g. Abstract), wherein the system including an electrolysis unit is installed on a skid (see e.g. Fig. 2, system 200 including electrolysis unit 225 on skid 290; Paragraphs 0035 and 0046), making it to be mobile and allowing it to be transported to stranded gas reserves or to be used with conventional syngas and chemical production (see e.g. Paragraph 0071, lines 19-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Petipas to comprise installing the electrolysis module on a skid as taught by El-Halwagi to make it mobile and allow it to be transported to stranded gas reserves or to be used with conventional syngas and chemical production.
Modified Petipas does not teach the heating elements being installed within the housing, instead teaching them being in a balance of plant module separate from the housing (see e.g. Petipas Fig. 1, heater as part of BOP submodule separate from insulated SOEC unit; Page 1071, under “2.2” line 1). Petipas does however teach the heating element being used to heat an electrolysis feed inlet to the stack operating temperature (see e.g. Petipas Page 1071, under “2.2”, lines 7-10, and Page 1073, under “3.2”, lines 5-7).
Jakobsson teaches a process using a solid oxide electrolysis cell or SOEC stack (see e.g. Abstract) in which pre-heaters for heating inlet gases and maintaining stack operating temperature are provided together with an SOEC unit in an encapsulated and thermally insulated core, mitigating heat loss from and thermal gradients within these units operating at high temperatures (see e.g. Paragraphs 0017 and 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Petipas to have the heating elements installed within the thermally insulated housing along with the cell stack as taught by Jakobsson to mitigate heat loss from and thermal gradients within the respective units operating at high temperatures.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petipas, El-Halwagi and Jakobsson, as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Fu et al. (“Syngas production via high-temperature steam/CO2 co-electrolysis: an economic assessment”, Energy Environ. Sci., 2010).
Regarding claim 20, modified Petipas teaches all the elements of the method of claim 19 as stated above. Petipas, as modified above, does not explicitly teach conveying the feed mixture across the set of cathode layers at the first feed flow rate to generate the fuel mixture during the first electrolysis cycle comprises conveying the feed mixture across the set of cathode layers at the first feed flow rate to generate the fuel mixture comprising hydrogen and carbon monoxide, the feed mixture comprising carbon dioxide and a first amount of water corresponding to the first feed flow rate; and conveying the feed mixture across the set of cathode layers at the second feed flow rate to generate the fuel mixture during the second electrolysis cycle comprises conveying the feed mixture across the set of cathode layers at the second feed flow rate to generate the fuel mixture comprising hydrogen and carbon monoxide, the feed mixture comprising carbon dioxide and a second amount of water corresponding to the second feed flow rate. Petipas does however teach different amounts of water being provided in the feed mixture to the cathode according to the feed flow rate (see e.g. Petipas Fig. 3)
Jakobsson further teaches the SOEC cells and stack being used for simultaneous electrolysis of a mixture of steam with carbon dioxide, i.e. at a target humidity, to produce syngas (H2+CO), thereby enabling transformation CO2 into a valuable fuel source and allowing a CO2 neutral use of hydrocarbon fuels (see e.g. Jakobsson Paragraphs 0006 and 0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Petipas to comprise providing carbon dioxide along with the water at the specified flow rates in the feed mixture to the cathode to produce a mixture comprising carbon monoxide and water as further taught by Jakobsson to enable transformation CO2 into a valuable fuel source and allowing a CO2 neutral use of hydrocarbon fuels.
Modified Petipas does not explicitly teach the carbon dioxide and amounts of water in the feed mixture during the first and second electrolysis cycles corresponding to a target humidity level defined for the feed mixture.
Fu teaches a syngas production process by high-temperature steam/CO2 co-electrolysis (see e.g. Abstract) in which syngas at an optimal 2.12 H2/CO ratio for production of synthetic fuels can be produced by adjusting the H2O/CO2 ratio, i.e. target humidity level, of the inlet gas (see e.g. Page 1383, Col. 2, Eq. 5, and Page 1385, Col. 2, lines 6-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Petipas to comprise providing the carbon dioxide and amounts of water in the feed mixture during the electrolysis cycles corresponding to a target H2O/CO2 ratio, i.e. humidity level, as taught by Fu to enable production of the hydrogen and carbon monoxide at an optimal ratio for production of synthetic fuels.
Conclusion
/MOFOLUWASO S JEBUTU/Examiner, Art Unit 1795