Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the detachment of the first part from the second part provides access to replace the deodorant cartridge through an opening in the first part, and wherein detachment of the first part from the second part provides access to replace the perfume or cologne cartridge through an opening in the second part as recited in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 4-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “detachment of the first part from the second part provides access to replace the deodorant cartridge through an opening in the first part, and wherein detachment of the first part from the second part provides access to replace the perfume or cologne cartridge through an opening in the second part.” There is no disclosure of the detachment of the two parts being related to access for the replacement of the cartridges. In all the figures, the bottoms of both parts are closed and the cartridges are received through the working ends of the first and second parts. Detaching the first and second parts does not provide any sort of access to replace the cartridges. Paragraph [009] of the original specification says “The two parts of the housing can be detachably connected, for example, via a threaded connection or a hinged joint, enabling easy replacement of the cartridges and allowing users to carry the parts separately if desired.” This is not sufficient support for claim 1. There is disclosure of a detachable connection and the replacement of cartridges, but no support for the limitation that the detaching of the two parts provides access for replacing the cartridges.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “connection mechanism” and “extender mechanism” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5-7, and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahfood (US 9521894) in view of Groffsky (US 11490708).
Regarding claim 1, Mahfood teaches a dual-function dispenser apparatus for deodorant and perfume or cologne, comprising: a modular housing having a first part (110) and a second part (120); a deodorant applicator housed within the first part of the modular housing, comprising a porous stick (130) and a deodorant cartridge (220); a perfume or cologne spray dispenser (250) housed within the second part of the modular housing, the perfume or cologne spray dispenser comprising a replaceable cartridge (250) containing the perfume or cologne; a connection mechanism (fitting 120 on 140) that detachably couples the first part of the housing to the second part of the housing; an extender mechanism (225) associated with the first part of the housing, the extender mechanism forming an adjustable support for the porous stick and being configured to allow for selective extension and retraction of the porous stick with respect to the housing; and a spray dispenser mechanism (1020) associated with the second part of the housing for dispensing the perfume or cologne; wherein detachment of the first part from the second part provides access to replace the perfume or cologne cartridge through an opening in the second part (removing the part 120 from part 110 allows a user to more easily remove element 265 to replace the cartridge).
Mahfood does not teach that the deodorant cartridge is replaceable, or that detachment of the first part from the second part provides access to replace the deodorant cartridge through an opening in the first part.
Groffsky teaches a replaceable deodorant cartridge (300).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Mahfood to use a replaceable refill cartridge like that of Groffsky for the purpose of enabling a user to continue using the device after using all of the initial store of deodorant (Groffsky col. 5, ll. 34-41). It is noted that in this combination, detachment of the first part from the second part provides access to replace the deodorant cartridge through an opening in the first part (in that a user would have to remove the cap 120 of Mahfood to access the opening at the top of body 110 to replace the cartridge of Groffsky).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Mahfood and Groffsky teaches the dual-function dispenser apparatus of claim 1, wherein the housing has a cylindrical profile.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the profile of Mahfood to be cylindrical as taught by Groffsky, wherein doing so would merely be a matter of changing the shape of the device without changing the function or operation thereof.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Mahfood and Groffsky teaches the dual-function dispenser apparatus of claim 1, wherein the housing has an oval-shaped profile (Mahfood, Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Mahfood and Groffsky teaches the dual-function dispenser apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a removable lid (Mahfood 260) for the perfume or cologne spray dispenser.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Mahfood and Groffsky teaches the dual-function dispenser apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a removable lid (Mahfood 120) for the deodorant applicator.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Mahfood and Groffsky teaches the dual-function dispenser apparatus of claim 1, wherein the porous stick is secured in place by a ringed part (Groffsky 310) at a top of the replaceable deodorant cartridge and a base (Groffsky 320).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Mahfood and Groffsky teaches the dual-function dispenser apparatus of claim 11, wherein the base includes a hollow cylindrical opening (Groffsky 322) for receiving and holding the porous stick and coupling it to the deodorant from the replaceable deodorant cartridge.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Mahfood and Groffsky teaches the dual-function dispenser apparatus of claim 1, wherein the spray dispenser mechanism comprises a pump and nozzle assembly (Mahfood 1020) with an inlet (1025) dipping into the perfume or cologne reservoir of the replaceable cartridge (Fig. 11B).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Mahfood and Groffsky teaches the dual-function dispenser apparatus of claim 1, wherein the deodorant applicator is adapted to accommodate a roll-on deodorant applicator or a gel deodorant applicator (the deodorant applicator of Mahfood is capable of receiving a gel deodorant).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahfood and Groffsky as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Breidenbach (US 6276853).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Mahfood and Groffsky teaches the dual-function dispenser apparatus of claim 1, wherein the connection mechanism comprises a protrusion (Mahfood 140) on one part of the housing and a corresponding cavity (925) on the other part of the housing.
The combination does not teach that the protrusion and cavity are threaded.
Breidenbach teaches a threaded protrusion (11) and a threaded cavity (22).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to modified the combination of Mahfood and Groffsky to include a threaded protrusion and threaded cavity as taught by Breidenbach, wherein doing so would merely be a matter of simple substitution of one known cap attachment means for another with predictable results.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahfood and Groffsky as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Piscopo (US 5800086).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Mahfood and Groffsky teaches the dual-function dispenser apparatus of claim 1, but does not teach that the extender mechanism is a slider mechanism.
Piscopo teaches an extender mechanism that is a slider mechanism (comprising 17 and 13).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the extending mechanism of Sandlin with an extender mechanism that is a slider mechanism as taught by Piscopo, wherein doing so would merely be been a matter of simple substitution of one known extender mechanism with another with predictable results.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Mahfood, Groffsky, and Piscopo teaches the dual-function dispenser apparatus of claim 8, wherein the slider mechanism comprises a lengthwise slit (Piscopo 13) in the housing and a slidable button (Piscopo 27) disposed on an exterior of the housing for actuating the porous stick.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Mahfood, Groffsky, and Piscopo teaches the dual-function dispenser apparatus of claim 9, wherein the slider mechanism further comprises a ratcheted silicone guide bar (Piscopo 14) running along the length of the slit for holding the porous stick at predetermined positions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 31 July 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2 and 4-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY S OLIVER/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754