DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended independent claim(s) 1 and 11, applicant has further amended dependent claim(s) 5, 6, 14, and 15. Claim(s) 2, 4, 12, and 13 has/have been cancelled.
Regarding Mergener, applicant argues “the balancing circuit 86 is used to charge the lower-capacity battery pack with the higher-capacity battery pack. It is totally different from the claimed invention”. The claim limitation as written only describes prioritizing discharging the battery with the higher electrical energy, and is silent on whether that energy is being used to charge the other batteries. Under broadest reasonable interpretation balancing circuit 86 would function as prioritizing the higher electrical energy battery to discharge.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot, new grounds of rejection are presented herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-11, and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaki et al (US 20230322124 A1) modified by Zhang et al (US 20250141238 A1), Zhang has a priority date of 06/12/2020.
Regarding claim 1, Takaki teaches a method of smart battery control for a power supply module controlled by a controller, (¶0045 “[FIG 1] A controller 7 is disposed in the machine body 2 or inside the protection mechanism 6, and includes a CPU 7a and a memory 7b”, ¶0058 “FIG. 1, the BMUs 31b and 32b are disposed in the battery packs 31 and 32, respectively”)
wherein said power supply module includes a plurality of battery packs [having at least a first type and or second type of battery pack], (¶0053 “battery unit 30 includes a plurality of battery packs 31 and 32”, ¶0054 “battery unit 30 includes two battery packs 31 and 32. However, the number of battery packs included in the battery unit 30 is not limited to two, and may be three or more”)
wherein said first type of battery pack has a different output voltage than that of said second type of battery pack, (¶0101 “controller 7 compares the remaining power levels of the battery packs 31 and 32, which are monitored by the BMUs 31b and 32b”)
said method comprising steps of: checking whether said plurality of battery packs are all in a normal state that can be discharged [and categorized into said first type of battery pack]; (¶0099 “controller 7 compares results of monitoring the battery packs 31 and 32 obtained by the BMUs 31b and 32b (FIG. 1) (S1 in FIG. 4A). Then, the controller 7 checks the presence or absence of abnormality (error) of all of the battery packs 31 and 32 from the comparison result”)
if yes, said power supply module discharges electric power by a first discharge mode,, otherwise, neglecting the abnormal battery packs [and forming serial battery pack units among remaining battery packs,] said power supply module discharging said electric power by a second discharge mode; (¶0102 “remaining power level of the first battery pack 31 is greater than or equal to the remaining power level of the second battery pack 32 (S3: YES), the controller 7 selects the first battery pack 31 having a high remaining power level as a discharging battery pack”)
calculating electric energy of said plurality of battery packs, comparing said electric energy of
individual serial battery pack unit, and scheduling discharge priority among said serial battery pack units; (¶0101 “controller 7 compares the remaining power levels of the battery packs 31 and 32, which are monitored by the BMUs 31b and 32b”, FIGs 4a and 5 show charge/discharge target selecting operation which decides an order which battery packs 31 and 32 are discharged)
wherein said scheduling discharge priority includes: when said electrical energy between said
individual serial battery pack units being different, said serial battery unit with higher electrical energy being discharged preferentially; (¶0102 “[FIG 4a] remaining power level of the first battery pack 31 is greater than or equal to the remaining power level of the second battery pack 32 (S3: YES), the controller 7 selects the first battery pack 31 having a high remaining power level as a discharging battery pack”, ¶0103 “[FIG 4a] remaining power level of the first battery pack 31 is smaller than the remaining power level of the second battery pack 32 (S3: NO), the controller 7 selects the second battery pack 32 having a high remaining power level as the discharging battery pack”)
[and when said electric energy between said individual serial battery pack units being the same, checking whether said electric energy of battery packs in each said serial battery pack unit being the same, enabling said serial battery pack unit composed of said battery packs with the same electric energy being discharged preferentially, and said serial battery pack unit composed of said battery packs with different electric energies entering to a waiting mode.]
Takaki discloses a method of smart battery control which compares two battery packs 31 and 32 to one another and selects a discharging battery pack to operate the electric working machine 1. Takaki ¶0054 discloses “battery unit 30 includes two battery packs 31 and 32. However, the number of battery packs included in the battery unit 30 is not limited to two, and may be three or more”, giving battery unit 30 the capability of expanding to multiple battery packs.
Takaki does not teach [wherein said power supply module includes a plurality of battery packs] having at least a first type and or second type of battery pack, having at least a first type and or second type of battery pack, and categorized into said first type of battery pack and forming serial battery pack units among remaining battery packs, and when said electric energy between said individual serial battery pack units being the same, checking whether said electric energy of battery packs in each said serial battery pack unit being the same, enabling said serial battery pack unit composed of said battery packs with the same electric energy being discharged preferentially, and said serial battery pack unit composed of said battery packs with different electric energies entering to a waiting mode.
Zhang teaches [wherein said power supply module includes a plurality of battery packs] having at least a first type and or second type of battery pack, having at least a first type and or second type of battery pack, (¶0196 "battery pack further includes a type recognition element 180… type recognition elements 180 of the battery packs of different types are different, and resistance values are different. The external device may detect the type recognition element 180 by using the communication terminal 120, to learn the type of the battery pack", please see below for further detail)
and categorized into said first type of battery pack and forming serial battery pack units among remaining battery packs, (¶0202 “control module 110 is capable of determining whether the battery pack is in an over-charge state or an over-discharge state”, the over-charge state and over-discharge state are dependent on the battery voltage)
and when said electric energy between said individual serial battery pack units being the same, (¶0233 “battery set 150 further includes battery cores connected in series, and the circuit module 210 is connected to each battery core and is configured to acquire a single voltage of each battery core”)
and said serial battery pack unit composed of said battery packs with different electric energies entering to a waiting mode. (¶0233 “battery set 150 further includes battery cores connected in series, and the circuit module 210 is connected to each battery core and is configured to acquire a single voltage of each battery core”)
Zhang does not explicitly disclose checking whether said electric energy of battery packs in each said serial battery pack unit being the same, enabling said serial battery pack unit composed of said battery packs with the same electric energy being discharged preferentially. Zhang’s control module 110 is capable of receiving battery parameters, including battery type and battery voltage, and in FIG 1 steps S350 and S360 replies with the battery state parameter. Further Zhang ¶0202 describes sorting the battery packs into two categories based on their voltage, similar to that of the claimed invention. Applying the battery packs sorted into Takaki’s first battery pack 31 and second battery pack 32 results in the claimed invention which uses a controller to detect and measure battery packs connected in series to sort them into a first type of battery pack and a second type of battery pack and discharge them in a particular order.
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method of smart battery control for a power supply module as taught by Takaki wherein said power supply module includes a plurality of battery packs having at least a first type and or second type of battery pack, and categorized into said first type of battery pack and forming serial battery pack units among remaining battery packs as taught by Zhang. Takaki and Zhang both disclose smart battery control for a power supply module which collects battery parameters to determine the charging, discharging, or standby states of each battery pack. Incorporating the battery parameter of battery type as taught by Zhang into the target selecting operations taught by Takaki FIGs 4a and 5 would result in the claimed invention. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to increase the flexibility of battery usage and battery sharing.
Similarly for claim 11 as applied to a method of smart battery control for a power supply module which includes checking whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range. (Takaki ¶0122 “controller 7 may select the discharging battery pack or the charging battery pack, for example, based on the result of comparing the voltages, the currents, the terminal voltages of the internal cells, the temperatures, or the like of the battery packs 31 and 32, which are monitored by the BMUs 31b and 32b”, Zhang ¶0169 “preset temperature information may be a maximum allowable discharging temperature and a minimum allowable discharging temperature”)
Regarding claim 3, Takaki modified by Zhang teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 1. Takaki modified by Zhang further teaches wherein said step of checking whether said plurality of battery packs are all in a normal state includes [checking whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range,]
and checking whether identification information and voltages of said plurality of battery packs are correct. (Takaki ¶0122 “[FIG 4a] controller 7 may select the discharging battery pack or the charging battery pack, for example, based on the result of comparing the voltages, the currents, the terminal voltages of the internal cells, the temperatures, or the like of the battery packs 31 and 32, which are monitored by the BMUs 31b and 32b”, Zhang ¶0196 "battery pack further includes a type recognition element 180… type recognition elements 180 of the battery packs of different types are different”)
Tataki as modified by Zhang does not teach checking whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range.
Zhang teaches checking whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range. (¶0169 “preset temperature information may be a maximum allowable discharging temperature and a minimum allowable discharging temperature”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the method of smart battery control as taught by Takaki to check whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range as taught by Zhang. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to increase the flexibility of battery usage and battery sharing.
Regarding claim 5, Takaki modified by Zhang teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 1. Takaki modified by Zhang further teaches wherein said first discharge mode is a discharge mode that all said plurality of battery packs in said power supply module are connected in series to form a single serial battery pack unit used for discharging. (Zhang ¶0233 “battery set 150 further includes battery cores connected in series, and the circuit module 210 is connected to each battery core and is configured to acquire a single voltage of each battery core”)
Similarly for claim 14 as applied to a method of smart battery control for a power supply module which includes checking whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range, Takaki modified by Zhang teaches the method of smart battery control for a power supply module which includes checking whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range of claim 11.
Regarding claim 6, Takaki modified by Zhang teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 1. Takaki modified by Zhang further teaches wherein said second discharge mode is a discharge mode that all or a portion of said plurality of battery packs in said power supply module are connected in series to form more than one serial battery pack units used for discharging. (Zhang ¶0233 “battery set 150 further includes battery cores connected in series, and the circuit module 210 is connected to each battery core and is configured to acquire a single voltage of each battery core”)
Similarly for claim 15 as applied to a method of smart battery control for a power supply module which includes checking whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range, Takaki modified by Zhang teaches the method of smart battery control for a power supply module which includes checking whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range of claim 11.
Regarding claim 7, Takaki modified by Zhang teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 5. Takaki modified by Zhang wherein said first discharge mode is performed through controlling open-circuit and closed-circuit configurations of a plurality of switches disposed between said battery packs by said controller. (Takaki ¶0055 “battery packs 31 and 32 are provided with connection switches 31a and 32a, respectively. Each of the connection switches 31a and 32a includes a relay, a switch, or the like, for example, and is switchable between a connected state and a disconnected state”, Takaki ¶0102 “[FIG 4a, S4] first battery pack 31 is greater than or equal to the remaining power level of the second battery pack 32 (S3: YES), the controller 7 selects the first battery pack 31 having a high remaining power level as a discharging battery pack”)
Similarly for claim 16 as applied to a method of smart battery control for a power supply module which includes checking whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range, Takaki modified by Zhang teaches the method of smart battery control for a power supply module which includes checking whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range of claim 14.
Regarding claim 8, Takaki modified by Zhang teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 6. Takaki modified by Zhang further teaches wherein said second discharge mode is performed through controlling open-circuit and closed-circuit configurations of said plurality of switches disposed between said serial battery pack units by said controller. (Takaki ¶0055 “battery packs 31 and 32 are provided with connection switches 31a and 32a, respectively. Each of the connection switches 31a and 32a includes a relay, a switch, or the like, for example, and is switchable between a connected state and a disconnected state”, Takaki ¶0103 “[FIG 4a, S5] controller 7 selects the second battery pack 32 having a high remaining power level as the discharging battery pack,”)
Similarly for claim 17 as applied to a method of smart battery control for a power supply module which includes checking whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range, Takaki modified by Zhang teaches the method of smart battery control for a power supply module which includes checking whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range of claim 15.
Regarding claim 9, Takaki modified by Zhang teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 1. Takaki modified by Zhang wherein said controller is a processor, a microcontroller, or a logic operation unit. (Takaki ¶0045 “A controller 7 is disposed in the machine body 2 or inside the protection mechanism 6, and includes a CPU 7a and a memory 7b”)
Similarly for claim 18 as applied to a method of smart battery control for a power supply module which includes checking whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range, Takaki modified by Zhang teaches the method of smart battery control for a power supply module which includes checking whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range of claim 11.
Regarding claim 10, Takaki modified by Zhang teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 1. Takaki modified by Zhang wherein said power supply module is used to discharge electric power to an inverter. (Takaki ¶0048 “[FIG 1] junction box 39 is connected to, in addition to the inverter 38, a battery unit 30, a DC-DC converter 40, and a charging port 41”)
Similarly for claim 19 as applied to a method of smart battery control for a power supply module which includes checking whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range, Takaki modified by Zhang teaches the method of smart battery control for a power supply module which includes checking whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range of claim 18.
Regarding claim 12. Takaki modified by Zhang teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 11. Takaki modified by Zhang further teaches wherein said steps of scheduling discharge priority includes: when electrical energy between said individual serial battery pack units is different, said serial battery unit with higher electrical energy is discharged preferentially; (Takaki FIG 4a step S3 compares power level of first BP with power level of second BP and chooses the higher power level BP to discharge)
and when electric energy between said individual serial battery pack units is the same, check whether electric energy of battery packs in each serial battery pack unit is the same, (Zhang ¶0233 “battery set 150 further includes battery cores connected in series, and the circuit module 210 is connected to each battery core and is configured to acquire a single voltage of each battery core”, Takaki FIG 4a step S3 wherein a first battery set 150 is compared to a second battery set 150)
enabling that serial battery pack unit composed of battery packs with the same electric energy is discharged preferentially, and serial battery pack unit composed of battery packs with different electric energies enters to waiting mode. (Takaki ¶0102 “[FIG 4a] remaining power level of the first battery pack 31 is greater than or equal to the remaining power level of the second battery pack 32 (S3: YES), the controller 7 selects the first battery pack 31 having a high remaining power level as a discharging battery pack”, Takaki ¶0103 “[FIG 4a] remaining power level of the first battery pack 31 is smaller than the remaining power level of the second battery pack 32 (S3: NO), the controller 7 selects the second battery pack 32 having a high remaining power level as the discharging battery pack”)
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Chuang et al (US 20170190257 A1) discloses a method of selectively charging battery packs by comparing the voltages of the battery packs to one another and selecting the highest voltage battery to discharge preferentially.
Brooker et al (US 20230335995 A1) discloses a battery system comprising a first bank of batteries comprising a first plurality of batteries of a first type and a second bank of batteries comprising a second plurality of batteries of a second type.
Conclusion
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859