DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Mergener et al (US 20170346334 A1) Regarding claim 1, Mergener teaches a method of smart battery control for a power supply module (¶ 0033 “FIGS. 1-2 illustrate a battery power system 10 including a battery power device 14 supporting and electrically connecting a number of separate battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n in series and operable to provide an output voltage to a powered device 22” ) controlled by a controller, (¶ 0038 “A control ler 58 is electrically connected to the circuit 34 and is operable to configure, communicate with and/or control the system 10” ) wherein said power supply module includes a plurality of battery packs having at least a first type or second type battery pack, ( ¶0033 “[FIGs 1-2] a number of separate battery packs 18 a, 18 b… 18 n in series and operable to provide an output voltage to a powered device 22” ) said method comprising steps of: checking whether said plurality of battery packs are all in a normal state that can be discharged and categorized into said first type battery pack; (¶ 0038 “each battery pack 18 includes (see FIG. 2) a pack control ler 62, and the control ler 58 is operable to communicate with each pack control ler 62 to determine characteristics (e.g., nominal voltage, capacity, cell chemistry, etc. ) and/or conditions (e.g., state-of-charge, temperature, etc.) of the associated battery pack 18” ) if yes, said power supply module discharges electric power by a first discharge mode; ( ¶0055 “During discharg e operations, the battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n are selectively connected in series in the circuit 34 to provide power at the output terminals 50 (a “ discharg e” condition of the device 14)”, in which one battery pack is being discharged ) otherwise, neglecting the a b normal battery packs and forming serial battery pack units among remaining battery packs, ( ¶0044 “ the controller 58 may communicate with the substituted battery pack (e.g., with its battery pack controller (not shown)) to determine whether the battery pack is operational (not disabled due to SOC, an abnormal condition, etc.) and, if the battery pack is determined to be operational, control the associated bypass portion 66 a, 66 b . . . 66 n to connect the substituted battery pack to the circuit 34” ) said power supply module discharging electric power by a second discharge mode; ( ¶0055 “During discharg e operations, the battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n are selectively connected in series in the circuit 34 to provide power at the output terminals 50 (a “ discharg e” condition of the device 14)”, in which two or more battery packs are being discharged ) calculating electric energy of said plurality of battery packs, (¶ 0036 “the boost converter 54 boosts the input voltage of the supported battery pack(s) 18 to a set or desired output voltage (e.g., 120V, 240 V, 400 V, etc.)” ) comparing electric energy of individual serial battery pack unit, (¶ 0038 “each battery pack 18 includes (see FIG. 2) a pack control ler 62, and the control ler 58 is operable to communicate with each pack control ler 62 to determine characteristics (e.g., nominal voltage, capacity, cell chemistry, etc.) and/or conditions (e.g., state-of-charge , temperature, etc.) of the associated battery pack 18” ) and scheduling discharge priority among said serial battery pack units. ( ¶0063 “The balanc ing circuit 86 may be selectively connected to and disconnected from the battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n ”, ¶0066 “the balanc ing circuit 86 can operate more quickly (fast balanc e) by discharging the higher SOC battery pack(s) 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n to power a charging circuit to charge the lower SOC battery pack(s) 18 a, 18 b . . . 18”; ¶0065 “ controller 58 may control operation of the balancing circuit 86 (e.g., connection of the switch arrangement) based on information relating to the operation of the device 14. For example, the controller 58 may determine non-use and/or predict periods of non-use (e.g., off-peak hours) sufficient to operate the balancing circuit 86”) Regarding claim 2, Mergener teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 1. Mergener further teaches wherein said steps of scheduling discharge priority includes: when electrical energy between said individual serial battery pack units is different, said serial battery unit with higher electrical energy is discharged preferentially; (¶0066 “the balanc ing circuit 86 can operate more quickly (fast balanc e) by discharging the higher SOC battery pack(s) 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n to power a charging circuit to charge the lower SOC battery pack(s) 18 a, 18 b . . . 18”) and when electric energy between said individual serial battery pack units is the same, check whether electric energy of battery packs in each serial battery pack unit is the same, enabling that serial battery pack unit composed of battery packs with the same electric energy is discharged preferentially, (¶0062 “balancing circuit 86 operates to transfer energy from the high SOC battery pack(s) 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n to the low SOC battery pack(s) 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n to balance the battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n (e.g., to within 10% state-of-charge )”; controller 58 selects battery packs 18 to connect and disconnect until their SOC’s are within a threshold SOC) and serial battery pack unit composed of battery packs with different electric energies enters to waiting mode. (¶0042 “This arrangement forms a “smart cell” so that the associated battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n is either put in the circuit 34 or bypassed. The battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n may be switched into and out of the circuit 34 based on disabling of the battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n (e.g., SOC, temperature, etc.) This arrangement allows all battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n in the system 10 to be completely discharged”, ¶0043 “the controller 58 may control the associated bypass portion 66 a, 66 b . . . 66 n to again connect the battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n to the circuit 34 if it is determined that the condition has been removed and the battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n is operational”) Regarding claim 4, Mergener teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 1. Mergener further teaches wherein said first type battery pack has a different output voltage than that of said second type battery pack. (¶ 0036 “the boost converter 54 boosts the input voltage of the supported battery pack(s) 18 to a set or desired output voltage (e.g., 120V, 240 V, 400 V, etc.)”, ¶0066 “the balanc ing circuit 86 can operate more quickly (fast balanc e) by discharging the higher SOC battery pack(s) 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n to power a charging circuit to charge the lower SOC battery pack(s) 18 a, 18 b . . . 18”) Applicant specification ¶0043 defines “ identify the battery pack is the first type battery pack (type 1, 20V) or the second type battery pack (type 2, 40V)”, and ¶0068 further asserts “the single-slot discharge mode can be regarded as the first discharge mode; the dual-slot discharge mode can be regarded as the second discharge mode”. Regarding claim 5, Mergener teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 4. Mergener further teaches wherein said first discharge mode is a discharge mode that all said plurality of battery packs in said power supply module are connected in series to form a single serial battery pack unit used for discharging. (¶0042 “This arrangement forms a “smart cell” so that the associated battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n is either put in the circuit 34 or bypassed. The battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n may be switched into and out of the circuit 34 based on disabling of the battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n (e.g., SOC, temperature, etc.) This arrangement allows all battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n in the system 10 to be completely discharged”, ¶0055 “the battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n are selectively connected in series in the circuit 34 to provide power at the output terminals 50 (a “discharge” condition of the device 14)”) Regarding claim 6, Mergener teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 4. Mergener further teaches wherein said second discharge mode is a discharge mode that all or a portion of said plurality of battery packs in said power supply module are connected in series to form more than one serial battery pack units used for discharging. (¶0042 “This arrangement forms a “smart cell” so that the associated battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n is either put in the circuit 34 or bypassed. The battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n may be switched into and out of the circuit 34 based on disabling of the battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n (e.g., SOC, temperature, etc.) This arrangement allows all battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n in the system 10 to be completely discharged”, ¶0055 “the battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n are selectively connected in series in the circuit 34 to provide power at the output terminals 50 (a “discharge” condition of the device 14)”) Regarding claim 7, Mergener teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 5. Mergener further teaches wherein said first discharge mode is performed through controlling open-circuit and closed-circuit configurations of a plurality of switches disposed between said battery packs by said controller. (¶0055 “the battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n are selectively connected in series in the circuit 34 to provide power at the output terminals 50 (a “discharge” condition of the device 14)”) Regarding claim 8, Mergener teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 6. Mergener further teaches wherein said second discharge mode is performed through controlling open-circuit and closed-circuit configurations of said plurality of switches disposed between said serial battery pack units by said controller. (¶0042 “This arrangement forms a “smart cell” so that the associated battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n is either put in the circuit 34 or bypassed. The battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n may be switched into and out of the circuit 34 based on disabling of the battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n (e.g., SOC, temperature, etc.) This arrangement allows all battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n in the system 10 to be completely discharged”, ¶0055 “the battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n are selectively connected in series in the circuit 34 to provide power at the output terminals 50 (a “discharge” condition of the device 14)”) Regarding claim 9, Mergener teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 1. Mergener further teaches wherein said controller is a processor, a microcontroller, or a logic operation unit. (¶0039 “ controller 58 includes a processing unit (e.g., a microprocessor, a micro controller , or another suitable programmable device), non-transitory computer-readable media, and an input/output interface”) Regarding claim 10, Mergener teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 1. Mergener further teaches wherein said power supply module is used to discharge electric power to an inverter. (¶0067 “FIGS. 5-6 illustrate a matrix power arrangement for a multi-phase motor 90 in which energy is drawn from each battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n based on its state of charge and applied to the motor 90… An invert er/bridge 94 a, 94 b . . . 94 n is provided between each battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n and the motor 90”) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 3 and 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mergener modified by Johnson et al (US 20220093965 A1) Regarding claim 3 , Mergener teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 1. Mergener does not teach wherein said step of checking whether said plurality of battery packs are all in a normal state includes checking whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range, and checking whether identification information and voltages of said plurality of battery packs are correct. Johnson teaches wherein said step of checking whether said plurality of battery packs are all in a normal state includes checking whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range, (¶0141 “microprocessor 140 can also send the temperature information to an electrical device, such as the power tool 55 and/or the battery charger 60, and/or use the temperature information to initiate certain functions or to control other components within the battery 50”, ¶0145 “microprocessor 140 can disable the fuel gauge 155 or output a zero present state of charge output if the temperature of one or more battery cells 80 a - g exceed a predetermined threshold”, ¶0151 “boosting circuit 171 a may only supply power to the remainder of the circuit 130 when the temperature of the battery cells 80 drops below a low temperature threshold and when the combined present state of charge of the battery cells 80 drops below a low voltage threshold”) and checking whether identification information and voltages of said plurality of battery packs are correct. (¶0139 “microprocessor 140 can store battery characteristics or battery identification information, such as, for example, battery chemistry, nominal voltage, and the like”) Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method of smart battery control as taught by Mergener wherein said step of checking whether said plurality of battery packs are all in a normal state includes checking whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range as taught by Johnson. Mergener and Johnson both teach a smart battery control system which may operate on serially connected batteries of varying makes and nominal voltage for powering a device, in both cases they power a motor. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to check if the temperature of the plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range to ensure safe device operation and limiting battery degradation due to temperature. Regarding claim 11 , Mergener teaches a method of smart battery control for a power supply module controlled by a controller, (¶0065 “ controller 58 may control operation of the balancing circuit 86 (e.g., connection of the switch arrangement)”) wherein said power supply module includes a plurality of battery packs having at least a first type or second type battery pack, (¶0033 “[FIGs 1-2] a number of separate battery packs 18 a, 18 b… 18 n in series and operable to provide an output voltage to a powered device 22”) said method comprising steps of: checking whether said plurality of battery packs are all in a normal state that can be discharged and categorized into said first type battery pack, (¶ 0038 “each battery pack 18 includes (see FIG. 2) a pack control ler 62, and the control ler 58 is operable to communicate with each pack control ler 62 to determine characteristics (e.g., nominal voltage, capacity, cell chemistry, etc. ) and/or conditions (e.g., state-of-charge, temperature, etc.) of the associated battery pack 18” ) [ which includes checking whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range, and checking whether identification information and voltages of said plurality of battery packs are correct; ] if yes, said power supply module discharges electric power by a first discharge mode; (¶0055 “During discharg e operations, the battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n are selectively connected in series in the circuit 34 to provide power at the output terminals 50 (a “ discharg e” condition of the device 14)”, in which one battery pack is being discharged) otherwise, neglecting the abnormal battery packs and forming serial battery pack units among remaining battery packs, (¶0044 “ the controller 58 may communicate with the substituted battery pack (e.g., with its battery pack controller (not shown)) to determine whether the battery pack is operational (not disabled due to SOC, an abnormal condition, etc.) and, if the battery pack is determined to be operational, control the associated bypass portion 66 a, 66 b . . . 66 n to connect the substituted battery pack to the circuit 34”) said power supply module discharging electric power by a second discharge mode; (¶0055 “During discharg e operations, the battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n are selectively connected in series in the circuit 34 to provide power at the output terminals 50 (a “ discharg e” condition of the device 14)”, in which two or more battery packs are being discharged) calculating electric energy of said plurality of battery packs, ¶0036 “the boost converter 54 boosts the input voltage of the supported battery pack(s) 18 to a set or desired output voltage (e.g., 120V, 240 V, 400 V, etc.)”) comparing electric energy of individual serial battery pack unit, (¶0038 “each battery pack 18 includes (see FIG. 2) a pack control ler 62, and the control ler 58 is operable to communicate with each pack control ler 62 to determine characteristics (e.g., nominal voltage, capacity, cell chemistry, etc.) and/or conditions (e.g., state-of-charge , temperature, etc.) of the associated battery pack 18”) and scheduling discharge priority among said serial battery pack units. (¶0063 “The balanc ing circuit 86 may be selectively connected to and disconnected from the battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n ”, ¶0066 “the balanc ing circuit 86 can operate more quickly (fast balanc e) by discharging the higher SOC battery pack(s) 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n to power a charging circuit to charge the lower SOC battery pack(s) 18 a, 18 b . . . 18”; ¶0065 “ controller 58 may control operation of the balancing circuit 86 (e.g., connection of the switch arrangement) based on information relating to the operation of the device 14. For example, the controller 58 may determine non-use and/or predict periods of non-use (e.g., off-peak hours) sufficient to operate the balancing circuit 86”) Mergener does not teach which includes checking whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range, and checking whether identification information and voltages of said plurality of battery packs are correct. Johnson teaches which includes checking whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range, (¶0141 “microprocessor 140 can also send the temperature information to an electrical device, such as the power tool 55 and/or the battery charger 60, and/or use the temperature information to initiate certain functions or to control other components within the battery 50”, ¶0145 “microprocessor 140 can disable the fuel gauge 155 or output a zero present state of charge output if the temperature of one or more battery cells 80 a - g exceed a predetermined threshold”, ¶0151 “boosting circuit 171 a may only supply power to the remainder of the circuit 130 when the temperature of the battery cells 80 drops below a low temperature threshold and when the combined present state of charge of the battery cells 80 drops below a low voltage threshold”) and checking whether identification information and voltages of said plurality of battery packs are correct. (¶0139 “microprocessor 140 can store battery characteristics or battery identification information, such as, for example, battery chemistry, nominal voltage, and the like”) Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method of smart battery control as taught by Mergener wherein said step of checking whether said plurality of battery packs are all in a normal state includes checking whether temperatures of said plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range as taught by Johnson. Mergener and Johnson both teach a smart battery control system which may operate on serially connected batteries of varying makes and nominal voltage for powering a device, in both cases they power a motor. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to check if the temperature of the plurality of battery packs are within a predetermined temperature range to ensure safe device operation and limiting battery degradation due to temperature. Regarding claim 12 , Mergener as modified by Johnson teaches t he method of smart battery control of claim 11 . Mergener as modified by Johnson further teaches wherein said steps of scheduling discharge priority includes: when electrical energy between said individual serial battery pack units is different, said serial battery unit with higher electrical energy is discharged preferentially; (Mergener ¶0066 “the balanc ing circuit 86 can operate more quickly (fast balanc e) by discharging the higher SOC battery pack(s) 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n to power a charging circuit to charge the lower SOC battery pack(s) 18 a, 18 b . . . 18”) and when electric energy between said individual serial battery pack units is the same, check whether electric energy of battery packs in each serial battery pack unit is the same, enabling that serial battery pack unit composed of battery packs with the same electric energy is discharged preferentially, (Mergener ¶0062 “balancing circuit 86 operates to transfer energy from the high SOC battery pack(s) 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n to the low SOC battery pack(s) 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n to balance the battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n (e.g., to within 10% state-of-charge )”; controller 58 selects battery packs 18 to connect and disconnect until their SOC’s are within a threshold SOC) and serial battery pack unit composed of battery packs with different electric energies enters to waiting mode. (Mergener ¶0042 “This arrangement forms a “smart cell” so that the associated battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n is either put in the circuit 34 or bypassed. The battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n may be switched into and out of the circuit 34 based on disabling of the battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n (e.g., SOC, temperature, etc.) This arrangement allows all battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n in the system 10 to be completely discharged”, Mergener ¶0043 “the controller 58 may control the associated bypass portion 66 a, 66 b . . . 66 n to again connect the battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n to the circuit 34 if it is determined that the condition has been removed and the battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n is operational”) Regarding claim 13 , Mergener as modified by Johnson teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 11. Mergener as modified by Johnson further teaches wherein said first type battery pack has a different output voltage than that of said second type battery pack. ( Mergener ¶ 0036 “the boost converter 54 boosts the input voltage of the supported battery pack(s) 18 to a set or desired output voltage (e.g., 120V, 240 V, 400 V, etc.)”, ¶0066 “the balanc ing circuit 86 can operate more quickly (fast balanc e) by discharging the higher SOC battery pack(s) 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n to power a charging circuit to charge the lower SOC battery pack(s) 18 a, 18 b . . . 18”) Applicant specification ¶0043 defines “ identify the battery pack is the first type battery pack (type 1, 20V) or the second type battery pack (type 2, 40V)”, and Mergener ¶0068 further asserts “the single-slot discharge mode can be regarded as the first discharge mode; the dual-slot discharge mode can be regarded as the second discharge mode”. Regarding claim 14 , Mergener as modified by Johnson teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 13. Mergener as modified by Johnson further teaches wherein said first discharge mode is a discharge mode that all said plurality of battery packs in said power supply module are connected in series to form a single serial battery pack unit used for discharging. (Mergener ¶0042 “This arrangement forms a “smart cell” so that the associated battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n is either put in the circuit 34 or bypassed. The battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n may be switched into and out of the circuit 34 based on disabling of the battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n (e.g., SOC, temperature, etc.) This arrangement allows all battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n in the system 10 to be completely discharged”, ¶0055 “the battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n are selectively connected in series in the circuit 34 to provide power at the output terminals 50 (a “discharge” condition of the device 14)”) Regarding claim 15 , Mergener as modified by Johnson teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 13. Mergener as modified by Johnson further teaches wherein said second discharge mode is a discharge mode that all or a portion of said plurality of battery packs in said power supply module are connected in series to form more than one serial battery pack units used for discharging. (Mergener ¶0042 “This arrangement forms a “smart cell” so that the associated battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n is either put in the circuit 34 or bypassed. The battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n may be switched into and out of the circuit 34 based on disabling of the battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n (e.g., SOC, temperature, etc.) This arrangement allows all battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n in the system 10 to be completely discharged”, ¶0055 “the battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n are selectively connected in series in the circuit 34 to provide power at the output terminals 50 (a “discharge” condition of the device 14)”) Regarding claim 16 , Mergener as modified by Johnson teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 14. Mergener as modified by Johnson further teaches wherein said first discharge mode is performed through controlling open-circuit and closed-circuit configurations of a plurality of switches disposed between said battery packs by said controller. (Mergener ¶0042 “This arrangement forms a “smart cell” so that the associated battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n is either put in the circuit 34 or bypassed. The battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n may be switched into and out of the circuit 34 based on disabling of the battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n (e.g., SOC, temperature, etc.) This arrangement allows all battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n in the system 10 to be completely discharged”, Mergener ¶0055 “the battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n are selectively connected in series in the circuit 34 to provide power at the output terminals 50 (a “discharge” condition of the device 14)”) Regarding claim 17 , Mergener as modified by Johnson teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 15. Mergener as modified by Johnson further teaches wherein said second discharge mode is performed through controlling open-circuit and closed-circuit configurations of said plurality of switches disposed between said serial battery pack units by said controller . (Mergener ¶0042 “This arrangement forms a “smart cell” so that the associated battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n is either put in the circuit 34 or bypassed. The battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n may be switched into and out of the circuit 34 based on disabling of the battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n (e.g., SOC, temperature, etc.) This arrangement allows all battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n in the system 10 to be completely discharged”, Mergener ¶0055 “the battery packs 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n are selectively connected in series in the circuit 34 to provide power at the output terminals 50 (a “discharge” condition of the device 14)”) Regarding claim 18 , Mergener as modified by Johnson teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 11. Mergener as modified by Johnson further teaches wherein said controller is a processor, a microcontroller, or a logic operation unit. (Mergener ¶0039 “ controller 58 includes a processing unit (e.g., a microprocessor, a micro controller , or another suitable programmable device), non-transitory computer-readable media, and an input/output interface”) Regarding claim 19 , Mergener as modified by Johnson teaches the method of smart battery control of claim 18. Mergener as modified by Johnson further teaches wherein said power supply module is used to discharge electric power to an inverter. (Mergener ¶0067 “FIGS. 5-6 illustrate a matrix power arrangement for a multi-phase motor 90 in which energy is drawn from each battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n based on its state of charge and applied to the motor 90… An invert er/bridge 94 a, 94 b . . . 94 n is provided between each battery pack 18 a, 18 b . . . 18 n and the motor 90”) Claim Objections Claim s 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: grammatical error . Claim s 1 and 11 contain the limitation “a first type or second type battery pack” which should read “a first type or second type of battery pack”. Appropriate correction is required. Claims 1 and 11 are objected to due to improper punctuation. Claims 1 and 11 contain the limitations: “if yes, said power supply module discharges electric power by a first discharge mode ; otherwise, neglecting the abnormal battery packs and forming serial battery pack units among remaining battery packs” The semicolon at the end of the first part of the limitation should be a comma, due to these limitations being the two choices for the step of selecting a discharge mode. Prior Art Not Relied Upon The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence. Sakakibara et al (US 20110012560 A1) teaches a smart battery control system for a multi-battery pack tool that depends on battery temperature and state of charge. Kajitani et al (US 20160276715 A1)teaches a method of controlling a storage battery comprising multiple battery cells which is controlled based on state of charge to provide power to an external load. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT LISA M KOTOWSKI whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-3771 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 8a-5p . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Taelor Kim can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 270-7166 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LISA KOTOWSKI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859 /TAELOR KIM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859