Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, claims 10-15 in the reply filed on 1/21/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-9 are withdrawn.
Priority
Acknowledgement has been made of applicant’s claim for priority under 35 USC 119 (a-d). The certified copy has been filed on 6/26/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed 5/11/2023, 2/25/2025 has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings received 5/11/2023 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20200029227) in view of Jiang (US 2022/0045325).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses a solid electrolyte for a battery which contains Li, La, and Zr and is doped with Al, Ga ([0121] of the translation).
In claim 10, the limitation “for a garnet-type all-solid-state battery” has been interpreted as an intended use. However, the instant Specification states that the formula Li7La3Zr2O12 (LLZO) is a garnet-type oxide [0003], and hence Kim’s lithium lanthanum zirconium oxide electrolyte (LLZO), for Example Kim’s Example 1 of Li6.25Al0.2Ga0.05La3Zr2O12, and Example 2 of Li6.1Al0.2Ga0.1La3Zr2O12 also appear to be of a garnet-type structure.
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the solid electrolyte for the all-solid-state battery has a structure Li6.25Al0.2Ga0.05La3Zr2O12 in Example 1 (see Kim [0124] of the original document), and Li6.25Al0.2Ga0.1La3Zr2O12 in Example 2 (see Kim [0162] of the original document).
In claim 11, regarding the amount of gallium, Kim discloses that ionic conductivity is improved by controlling the gallium content [0010]. Example 1 discloses that the amount of gallium is 0.05 or 0.1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the amount of gallium for the benefit of improving ionic conductivity.
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses the solid electrolyte for the all-solid-state battery is a powder type or a pellet type ([0121] of the translation).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses a solid electrolyte for an all-solid-state battery, which contains Li, La, and Zr and is doped with Al, Ga, but does not disclose a solid electrolyte for a triple-doped garnet-type battery being further doped with Ta. Jiang teaches a lithium lanthanum zirconium oxide having Ta has a dopant to increase its ion conductivity [0035,0036]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to add Ta to Kim’s lithium lanthanum zirconium oxide doped with aluminum and gallium, as taught by Jiang, for the benefit of further improving ionic conductivity of Kim’s solid electrolyte.
Regarding claim 11, Kim does not disclose Formula I that includes Ta as a dopant with an amount between 0.01 and 0.02. Jiang teaches a lithium lanthanum zirconium oxide having Ta has a dopant to increase its ion conductivity [0035,0036]. The amount of Ta doped in LiLaZrO is between 0.01 mol to 0.5 mol per mole of LiLaZrO [0036]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to add and adjust the amount of Ta to Kim’s lithium lanthanum zirconium oxide doped with aluminum and gallium, as taught by Jiang, for the benefit of further improving ionic conductivity. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 12, the solid electrolyte for the all-solid-state battery has an ionic conductivity of 3.0×10−4 S/cm−1 or more and 5.0×10−4 S/cm−1 or less, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the ionic conductivity of Kim’s solid electrolyte, by adjusting the amounts of the dopants, ad disclosed by Kim and taught by Jiang, for the benefit of having good ionic conductivity.
Regarding claim 13, state battery contains a cubic phase and a tetragonal phase, and the cubic phase is contained in an amount of 75% by weight or more and 85% by weight or less, it is noted that the crystalline phases are an inherent property of a composition. Hence, it is noted that claim 13 would be met by the solid oxide of Kim modified by Jiang.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20200029227) in view of Jiang (US 2022/0045325) as applied to claim 10, further in view of Sung (US 2016/0190639).
Regarding claim 14, Kim modified by Jiang does not disclose that the solid electrolyte for the all-solid-state battery has a relative density of 97% or more calculated by Equation 1 below.
Relative density (%)=real density of solid electrolyte for triple-doped garnet-type all-solid-state battery/theoretical density of solid electrolyte for triple-doped garnet-type all-solid-state battery, the instant Specification states in paragraph [0069]:
[0069] According to one embodiment of the present disclosure, the compression step (S70) of compressing the pulverized material to form it into pellets may be to manufacture pellets by applying a pressure to the pulverized material obtained through the pulverizing step (S50). The pressure applied to the pulverized material in the compression step (S70) may be 100 MPa or more and 300 MPa or less. Preferably, the compression step (S70) may be performing compression at a pressure of 200 MPa. When performing compression at the above pressure in the compression step (S70), it is possible to prepare a high energy density electrolyte since the energy density increases. (emphasis added)
Kim discloses that the solid electrolyte was in pellet form, but does not disclose the amount pressure that the pellet was formed with. Sung forming a garnet-based solid electrolyte pellets at a pressure between 120 to 150 MPa [0022]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to form the solid electrolyte pellets of Kim modified by Jiang with a pressure between 120 to 150 MPa, as taught by Sung, for the benefit of forming a tightly formed pellet.
It is noted that Kim modified by Jiang and Sung meets the limitation of claim 14.
Conclusion
/CYNTHIA K WALLS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751