Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Amendments
This action is in response to amendments filed as part of an after-final amendment on May 18th, 2026, which was not entered at that time, in which Claims 1, 9, and 15 are amended. No claims are cancelled nor added. The amendments have now been entered, and Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent Claims 1, 9, and 15 each recite the adjective local, in various situations. It is unclear when local is to be interpreted as a label, and when the term limits the claim scope. Specifically, local neural network appears to name and not limit the neural network, while local grid patch, based on the filed arguments, appears to be intended to limit a size of the patch. If local were interpreted as limiting a size (i.e. with respect to local patch), it would seem that local is a relative term of degree, not defined by the claim where the specification does not provide standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Even further, local domain of dependence does appear to be defined in the specification (see [0017], as applicant may be their own lexicographer) as “for a partial differential equation, a small portion of a range such that the solution values on this portion determine the solution at a given space-time location.” However, this definition fatally dooms the term local domain of dependence to be indefinite, since “small” in the definition is a relative term of degree, where the specification does not provide standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
For the purpose of examination: local in local neural network will be interpreted as merely a label for the neural network; local in local patch will be interpreted such that the patch is any patch that is a strict subset of some other (global) patch; and local domain of dependence will be interpreted such that the domain is a strict subset of some other domain.
Note that for the purpose of examination, high-fidelity is also interpreted as a label, as otherwise it would also require a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being a relative term of degree.
Dependent claims are rejected for inheriting the indefiniteness of a parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al., “Multi-resolution Graph Neural Networks for PDE approximation,” in view of Hajgato et al., “Accelerating Convergence of Fluid Dynamics Simulations with Convolutional Neural Networks.”
Regarding Claim 1, Liu teaches a method comprising, in simulation software (Liu, pg. 2, “we introduce two such architectures for GNNs in the context of PDE simulations”), (a) receiving, in analysis engine of the simulation software, two or more numerical models for one or more differential equations to be evaluated by the simulation software, the two or more numerical models including a first numerical model and second numerical model, wherein the two or more numerical models are converging to an exact solution of the one or more differential equations (Liu, pg. 6, Fig. 1, the combination of the “coarse-to-fine mesh” grids along with the input f are converging to an exact solution u of the PDE and are numerical models, see pg. 7, 4th paragraph, “The Input Functions … resulting in 25 control parameters”); (b) generating, by the analysis engine, from the first numerical model, a first numerical solution in a first grid patch in which the first grid patch corresponds to a local domain of dependence; (c) generating, by the analysis engine, from the second numerical model, a second numerical solution in a second grid patch in which the second grid patch corresponds to the local domain of dependence (Liu, pg. 6, Fig. 1, the “coarse-to-fine mesh” grids along with pg. 7, 4th paragraph, “The Input Functions … resulting in 25 control parameters” wherein the input f on each of the two grids are two solutions calculated as “a linear combination of eight Gaussian functions … They are chosen uniformly in domain-dependent intervals” i.e. solutions of values for each grid) (d) generating a high-fidelity numerical solution value at a space-time location determined by the local domain of dependence for the one or more differential equations using a trained neural network receiving as its input the first numerical solution generated in step (b) and the second numerical solution generated in step (c) (Liu, pg. 6, Fig. 1) wherein the trained neural network is a local neural network that maps a local patch of the first numerical solution and the second numerical solution to the high-fidelity numerical solution value at the space time location (Liu, pg. 6, Fig. 1 & pg. 8, 5th paragraph, “‘donut-like’ domain” & pg. 10, Fig. 2 – each of these domains and patches are local and not global because there is, e.g. white space or a donut hole, where the solution is not calculated) wherein one of the first numerical solution or the second numerical solution is closer to the exact solution than the other (Liu, pg. 6, Fig. 1, the second solution is closer to the exact solution because it is input at a later layer, closer to the output/exact solution; alternatively, out of two things that are different, one of them must be closer to a third thing) and wherein the first grid patch and the second grid patch each cover the local domain of dependence of the exact solution at the space time location (Lui, pg. 6, Fig. 1 & pg. 10, Fig. 2 – each of the input grid patches each cover the same area as the output, i.e. the colored area) and repeating steps (b) and (c) to provide as input to determine respective high-fidelity numerical solution value for one or more varying local domains of dependence (Liu, pg. 9-10, Fig. 2, the experiment is performed on “square domain,” “donut shape,” “5.2 Variable domains”) wherein the trained neural network is trained on one or more … [training examples] wherein each of the [training examples] includes (i) an exact or nearly exact solution to the one or more differential equations … and (ii) solution to the two or more numerical models (Liu, pg. 7, “Ground Truth and Los Function … the solution provided by FEniCS on the finest mesh will be considered as the ground truth” & pg. 8, last paragraph, “For each type of domain, a training set of 42 000 examples is generated” where the examples need the input and expected output of Fig. 1, including the input solutions f).
Liu does not teach that the differential equation analyses performed by their invention are design iteration analyses. However, Hajgato teaches an iteration of design analyses of systems, wherein the required PDEs have approximations provided by neural networks (Hajgato, pg. 231, Figs. 1 and 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of Liu to produce solutions for an engineering design iteration process, such as that of Hajgato. The motivation to do so is that Liu quickly produces the solutions necessary for the design iterations (Hajgato, pg. 231, 1st column, “time-consuming numerical simulation … CFD simulations of an optimization session can be accelerated without losing accuracy”).
Regarding Claim 2, the Liu/Hajgato combination of Claim 1 teaches the method of Claim 1 (and thus the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated). Liu further teaches wherein training the trained neural network comprises computing the difference between (i) an output of the neural network and (ii) the exact or nearly exact solution for use in a loss function (Liu, pg. 7, 2nd-to-last paragraph, “the solution provided by FEniCS on the fines mesh will be considered as the ground truth. The loss function is defined by the Mean Absolute Error (MAE) between the network output and this ground truth”).
Regarding Claim 3, the Liu/Hajgato combination of Claim 1 teaches the method of Claim 1 (and thus the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated). The combination has already been shown to teach repeating steps (b), (c), and (d) for an additional design iteration analysis of the plurality of design iteration analyses (Hajgato, pg. 231, Figs. 1 and 2 iterates the process).
Regarding Claim 4, the Liu/Hajgato combination of Claim 1 teaches the method of Claim 1 (and thus the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated). Liu further teaches interpolating outputs of the two or more numerical models to align common grid points of the first and second grid patches (Liu, pg. 6, 2nd paragraph, “The sampling operators from mesh M1 to mesh M2 use the k-nearest interpolation proposed in PointNet++” on the solutions f of the two numerical models).
Regarding Claim 5, the Liu/Hajgato combination of Claim 1 teaches the method of Claim 1 (and thus the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated). The combination has already been shown to teach wherein the plurality of design iteration analyses correspond to an engineering model, a scientific model, or financial model (Hajgato, pg. 230, 2nd column, 2nd paragraph, “In aerodynamic shape design,”) wherein the two or more numerical models are used by the trained neural network to generate high-fidelity solutions (Liu, pg. 6, Fig. 1) for an additional design iteration analysis of the plurality of design iteration analyses (Hajgato, pg. 231, Figs. 1,2 & Liu, pg. 9-10 multiple PDE solutions for different f initial conditions for each domain).
Regarding Claim 6, the Liu/Hajgato combination of Claim 1 teaches the method of Claim 1 (and thus the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated). Liu further teaches wherein the trained neural network is part of a neural network engine, the neural network engine comprising logic or instructions to direct steps (a) – (d) (Liu, pg. 8, 4th paragraph, “Implementation is done in PyTorch”).
Regarding Claim 8, the Liu/Hajgato combination of Claim 6 teaches the method of Claim 6 (and thus the rejection of Claim 6 is incorporated). Liu further teaches wherein the neural network engine is executing on a computing device execution the analysis engine (Liu, pg. 8, 4th paragraph, “Implementation is done in PyTorch” which inherently is performed on a computer).
Claims 9, 10, 11, 12, and 14 recite a system comprising one or more processors; and a memory having instructions stored thereon, wherein the instructions, as part of a simulation software, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the steps of the methods of Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 8, respectively. As Liu executes their methods in PyTorch, (Liu, pg. 8, 4th paragraph, “Implementation is done in PyTorch”) and thus inherently on a computer, Claims 9, 10, 11, 12, and 14 are rejected for reasons set forth in the rejections of Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 8, respectively.
Claims 15, 16, 17, and 18 recite a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon, wherein the instructions, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the steps of the methods of Claims 1, 3, 5, and 6, respectively. As Liu executes their methods in PyTorch, (Liu, pg. 8, 4th paragraph, “Implementation is done in PyTorch”) and thus inherently on a computer, Claims 15, 16, 17, and 18 are rejected for reasons set forth in the rejections of Claims 1, 3, 5, and 6, respectively.
Regarding Claim 19, the Liu/Hajgato combination of Claim 18 teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of Claim 18 (and thus the rejection of Claim 18 is incorporated). Liu further teaches wherein the neural network is implemented in a library file that can be coupled to the analysis engine (Liu, pg. 8, 4th paragraph, “Implementation is done in PyTorch”).
Regarding Claim 20, the Liu/Hajgato combination of Claim 18 teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of Claim 18 (and thus the rejection of Claim 18 is incorporated). The combination further teaches wherein the neural network engine is natively implemented in simulation software comprising the analysis engine (Liu, pg. 8, 4th paragraph, “Implementation is done in PyTorch” in combination with Hajgato, pg. 231, Figs. 1 and 2).
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Hajgato, and further in view of Dirac, US PG Pub 2015/0379424.
Regarding Claim 7, the Liu/Hajgato combination of Claim 6 teaches the method of Claim 6 (and thus the rejection of Claim 6 is incorporated). The combination does not teach, but Dirac does teach, wherein the neural network engine is executing on a cloud infrastructure (Dirac, [0035], “A wide variety of machine learning algorithms may be supported natively … including neural network algorithms” & [0080], “a number of different programming languages … may be supported … including … Python” & [0037], “a machine learning service implemented by using a plurality of network-accessible services of a provider network … cloud-based computing”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cloud-based machine learning as a service system of Dirac to implement the neural network computation of the Liu/Hajgato combination. The motivation to do so is that “many machine learning techniques can be computationally intensive ... it may not always be advisable or viable for business organizations to build out their own machine learning computational facilities” (Dirac, [0002]) and using a MLaaS solves this problem.
Claim 13 recites a system comprising one or more processors; and a memory having instructions stored thereon, wherein the instructions, as part of a simulation software, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the steps of the methods of Claim 7. As Liu executes their methods in PyTorch, (Liu, pg. 8, 4th paragraph, “Implementation is done in PyTorch”) and thus inherently on a computer, Claim 13 is rejected for reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed May 18th, 2026 have been fully considered, but are not fully persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of the claims have been fully considered, but are unpersuasive.
Applicant argues with respect to Claim 1 that Liu fails to teach local patches, arguing that “Liu discloses a global-to-global mapping that maps a full-domain source function.” However, it is clear from each of the figure that the domains considered by Liu are local and do not cover the entire space of possibilities – Figs. 1 and 2 of Liu both include whitespace where the domain does not cover, thus the domain is local to the patch, and not over an entire area (e.g. of the rectangular block). Further, Liu discusses a “donut-like” domain, which presumably omits a hole in the center, i.e. the donut-shape is local to the shape of the donut, and dis-includes the donut hole. Thus patches, domains of dependence, and neural network of Liu are indeed local. The specification also never uses the word global with respect to a patch or domain or the partial differential equation, so it is even more difficult to clearly distinguish (metes and bounds of the claim) the extent of the term local.
Applicant’s amendments (and further consideration of the definition of the term local domain of dependence, defined in the specification as inherently indefinite) have required new rejections with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) in this office action.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the other independent and dependent claims rely upon the features argued with respect to Claim 1, and are thus also unpersuasive.
Conclusion
/BRIAN M SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2122