DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because FIGs. 2 and 6 contain duplicate reference numbers which correspond to different structures:
FIG. 2 discloses pickup circuits 263, whereas FIG. 6 discloses active controls 263.
FIG. 2 discloses communication model 260, whereas FIG. 6 discloses passive controls 260.
Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In ¶0019, “the body 105” should read, “the body 101.”
In ¶0022, “magnetitic fasteners 240” should read, “magnetic fasteners 240.”
In ¶0024, “electrically connected the mounting interface 255” should read, “electrically connected to the mounting interface 255.”
Paragraph 0024 refers to FIG. 2 and recites, “pick-ups circuits 263.” Paragraph 0032 refers to FIG. 6 and recites, “The system may further include active controls 263.”
In ¶0025, “The pre-amplifier 250 may be implement” should read, “The pre-amplifier 250 may implement.”
Paragraph 0025 refers to FIG. 2 and recites, “Such an interface mounting may also include a Digital Signal Processor (DSP) with a wireless communication module 260.” Paragraph 0032 recites, “The additional componentry shown in FIG. 6 includes passive controls 260.”
In ¶0029, “e.g., and electric guitar” should read, “e.g., an electric guitar.”
In ¶0030, “secured in place my magnets” should read, “secured in place by magnets.”
In ¶0030, “with respect to FIGs. &a-&c below” should read, “with respect to FIGs. 7a-7c below."
In ¶0033, “tone control 674.” should read, “tone control 674.)”
Paragraph 0034 recites, “FIG. 7a-7c are schematic diagrams of three different examples of swappable and configurable pre-amplifiers 700a-c coupled through a 19-pin pre-amplifier module.” However, as described in ¶0036, FIG. 7b embodies a dual 12-pin connector form factor.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informality: In line 3, “a first set signal processing device” should read, “a first signal processing device.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informality: In line 7, “a third signal processing” should read, “a third signal processing device.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informality: In line 3, “a first set signal processing device” should read, “a first signal processing device.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informality: In line 7, “a third signal processing” should read, “a third signal processing device.” Appropriate correction is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the received electrical signal” in lines 3, 5, and 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites only “an electrical signal.”
Claim 4 is likewise rejected for depending, directly or indirectly, from claim 3.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the third signal processing device” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Remedying the objection to “a third signal processing” in claim 3 as discussed above would obviate this rejection.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the adjacent respective strings” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1, from which claim 6 depends, recites only, “an adjacent respective string” rather than a plurality of adjacent respective strings.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the pre-amplifier module” in line 19. There is ambiguous antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 11 recites “a first pre-amplifier module” and “a second pre-amplifier module” but not “a pre-amplifier module.”
Claims 12-17 are likewise rejected for depending, directly or indirectly, from claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 5-6, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Brubaker et al. (US 20060032365 A1, February 16, 2006), hereinafter Brubaker, to the extent understood.
Regarding claim 1, Brubaker discloses a musical instrument (Brubaker ¶0029: "The present invention comprises a pre amp module used in electric stringed instruments including the electric guitar, the bass guitar, the electric mandolin and the like."), comprising: an instrument body having a cavity configured to receive a swappable pre-amplifier module (Brubaker ¶0030: "The guitar 10 comprises a guitar body 12 with a module cavity 16 having a side wall 17 preferably formed in the bottom of the instrument body as shown in FIGS. 3 and 4. A module 20 containing the associated electronic components including the pre amp is shown removed from the guitar body 12 in FIG. 6."); at least one set of electrical pickups positioned to detect vibrations from an adjacent respective string (Brubaker ¶0030: "The strings are located cooperatively with two or more pickups such that the pickups will detect vibrations into an electrical current for external amplification and other adjustments."), the at least one set of electrical pickups configured to generate an electrical signal in response to string vibrations (Brubaker ¶0030: "The movement of the metal string in proximity to the pickup causes the pickup to generate a minute electrical signal which corresponds to the vibration of the related string, thus exhibiting the string characteristics such as pitch and the presentation of frequencies including harmonics."); a pre-amplifier module interface disposed in the cavity and configured to electrically couple to a pre-amplifier module that may be swapped in and out of the cavity (Brubaker ¶0033: "The connector member 34 which is a male pin type connector has a series of slide pins 36 which are adapted to be mounted to the female/mate pin connector 38 mounted on the inside wall of cavity 16 as is shown in FIG. 3."); a pre-amplifier module coupled to the pre-amplifier module interface (Brubaker ¶0033: "A built in pre amp and required electronic component are mounted on the inside of the module by adhesive or brackets. The pre amp is of standard construction purchased off the shelf by one of a number of manufacturers well-known in the art. The connector member 34 is mounted to a side wall of the housing 28 but can be mounted to the base plate 30.") and configured to alter the electrical signal from the at least one set of pickups (Brubaker ¶0034: "The module 20 is inserted through the back of the guitar body 12 as depicted in FIGS. 3 and 4, and is maintained in position by the face plate 22, support plate 60, fastener 21 and a fastener inserted through hole 19 into the face plate. The module 20 houses the pre amp and battery, with wiring connecting the electronic control components, namely, the pickup blend control, the dual band mid control, the bass/treble control and the volume/bypass switch control to the housed pre amp."); and an audio output circuit coupled to the pre-amplifier module and configured to provide the altered electrical signal (Brubaker ¶0003: "Vibrations in the strings of a guitar induce electric signals in the coils of the pickup which are modified by switches and potentiometers and transmitted through the output wires from the guitar to an amplifier.") to an output jack (Brubaker ¶0033: "The pin connector 34 is a 6-10 pin flat modular connector with extra connections for any possible switching arrangement, e.g., neck and bridge pick up phasing, coil selection, ground, jack, etc.").
Regarding claim 5, Brubaker discloses a musical instrument comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Brubaker further discloses a volume attenuation device coupled to the audio output circuit and configured to alter the amplitude of the altered electrical signal (Brubaker ¶0003: "Potentiometers regulate tonal qualities and volume and switches regulate the electronic signal between pickups or different tonal qualities within the same pickup.").
Regarding claim 6, Brubaker discloses a musical instrument comprising the features of claim 5 as discussed above.
Brubaker further discloses at least one second set of electrical pickups positioned to detect vibration from the adjacent respective strings, the at least one second set of electrical pickups configured to generate a second electrical signal in response to string vibrations (Brubaker ¶0030: "The strings are located cooperatively with two or more pickups such that the pickups will detect vibrations into an electrical current for external amplification and other adjustments. The movement of the metal string in proximity to the pickup causes the pickup to generate a minute electrical signal which corresponds to the vibration of the related string, thus exhibiting the string characteristics such as pitch and the presentation of frequencies including harmonics.").
Regarding claim 11, Brubaker discloses a stringed instrument system (Brubaker ¶0029: "The present invention comprises a pre amp module used in electric stringed instruments including the electric guitar, the bass guitar, the electric mandolin and the like."), comprising: an instrument body having a cavity configured to receive a swappable pre-amplifier module (Brubaker ¶0030: "The guitar 10 comprises a guitar body 12 with a module cavity 16 having a side wall 17 preferably formed in the bottom of the instrument body as shown in FIGS. 3 and 4. A module 20 containing the associated electronic components including the pre amp is shown removed from the guitar body 12 in FIG. 6."); a plurality of strings secured between a head and the body along a neck that is attached to the body (Brubaker ¶0030: "The guitar includes a plurality of metallic strings running from the head to the bridge assembly."); at least one set of electrical pickups positioned in the body and adjacent to the strings (Brubaker ¶0030: "The strings are located cooperatively with two or more pickups."), the electrical pickups configured to detect vibrations from an adjacent respective string (Brubaker ¶0030: "The strings are located cooperatively with two or more pickups such that the pickups will detect vibrations into an electrical current for external amplification and other adjustments."), the at least one set of electrical pickups configured to generate an electrical signal in response to string vibrations (Brubaker ¶0030: "The movement of the metal string in proximity to the pickup causes the pickup to generate a minute electrical signal which corresponds to the vibration of the related string, thus exhibiting the string characteristics such as pitch and the presentation of frequencies including harmonics."); a pre-amplifier module interface disposed in the cavity and configured to electrically couple to at least two different pre-amplifier modules that may be swapped in and out of the cavity (Brubaker ¶0020: "The cavity cut into the rear surface of the instrument is of a shape and size to remove and receive a module which is preferably retained in the cavity by a base plate. Once installed, the module has a fixed connector allowing it to be connected to various pickups and volume control. Modules having different electronic components may be provided with an instrument to offer a musicians a choice between distinct selected sounds."); a first pre-amplifier module configured to couple to the pre-amplifier module interface and configured to alter the electrical signal from the at least one set of pickups in a first manner (Brubaker ¶0012: "The present insertable module allows different electronic packages (other manufacturers pre amp-tone shaping and effects) to be used in the same musical string instrument."); a second pre-amplifier module configured to couple to the pre-amplifier module interface and configured to alter the electrical signal from the at least one set of pickups in a second manner that is different than the first manner (Brubaker ¶0036: "For rapid exchange of pickups and electronic components, however, interchangeable modules, each having a different electronic installation is preferred. Thus, by having a single instrument and multiple modules, a variety of distinct sounds are achieved through the exchange of modules, and an infinite variety of combinations of pickups and electronics is provided."); and an audio output circuit coupled to the pre-amplifier module is swapped in and configured to provide the altered electrical signal (Brubaker ¶0003: "Vibrations in the strings of a guitar induce electric signals in the coils of the pickup which are modified by switches and potentiometers and transmitted through the output wires from the guitar to an amplifier.") to an output jack (Brubaker ¶0033: "The pin connector 34 is a 6-10 pin flat modular connector with extra connections for any possible switching arrangement, e.g., neck and bridge pick up phasing, coil selection, ground, jack, etc.").
Regarding claim 13, Brubaker discloses a stringed instrument system comprising the features of claim 11 as discussed above.
Brubaker further discloses at least one second set of electrical pickups disposed in the body and positioned to detect vibrations from the adjacent respective strings, the at least one second set of electrical pickups configured to generate a second electrical signal in response to string vibrations (Brubaker ¶0030: "The strings are located cooperatively with two or more pickups such that the pickups will detect vibrations into an electrical current for external amplification and other adjustments. The movement of the metal string in proximity to the pickup causes the pickup to generate a minute electrical signal which corresponds to the vibration of the related string, thus exhibiting the string characteristics such as pitch and the presentation of frequencies including harmonics.").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Brubaker in view of Guzman ("Nu Update: Meet the Nexus," November 21, 2015, retrieved September 2, 2026 from https://www.cycfi.com/2015/11/nu-update-meet-the-nexus/)
Regarding claim 2, Brubaker discloses a musical instrument comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Brubaker does not explicitly disclose that the pre-amplifier module interface comprises a 19-pin electrical connector.
However, Guzman teaches that the pre-amplifier module interface comprises a 19-pin electrical connector (Guzman, "19 Pin Connector": "Audio signals from the multichannel Nu pickup together with outputs from one or more monophonic pickups, 2) control voltages, and 3) power are sent through a single 19-pin LEMO compatible connector.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the musical instrument of Brubaker by adding the 19-pin electrical connector of Guzman to keep the signals as pristine as possible (Guzman, "19 Pin Connector").
Claims 3-4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Brubaker in view of Keir (GB 244188 A, June 8, 2008), to the extent understood.
Regarding claim 3, Brubaker discloses a musical instrument comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Brubaker does not explicitly disclose that the pre-amplifier module further comprises: a first set signal processing device suited to alter the received electrical signal in frequencies at a high end of a human range of hearing; a second signal processing device suited to alter the received electrical signal in frequencies at a low end of the human range of hearing; and a third signal processing suited to alter the received electrical signal in frequencies between the high end and the low end of the human range of hearing.
However, Keir teaches that the pre-amplifier module further comprises: a first set signal processing device suited to alter the received electrical signal in frequencies at a high end of a human range of hearing (Keir p. 4, lines 18-19: "VR4, forming the treble control, allows the level of the high pass filter in relation to the low pass filter to be adjusted. (Figure 3e)."); a second signal processing device suited to alter the received electrical signal in frequencies at a low end of the human range of hearing (Keir p. 4, lines 25-26: "As VR1 a is rotated in the clockwise direction, capacitor C1 in conjunction with the resistance of VR1 a serves to attenuate bass frequencies."); and a third signal processing suited to alter the received electrical signal in frequencies between the high end and the low end of the human range of hearing (Keir p. 4, lines 29-33: "Rotation of VR2 In a clockwise direction adds an attenuated all pass function to the low pass filter previously described. This serves to limit the depth of the mid frequency attenuation Ao and thus provides a means of adjusting the level of the mid band frequencies. The value of R 1 determines the minimum amount of mid frequency attenuation when VR2 is at its fully clockwise position. (Figure 3c).").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the musical instrument of Brubaker by adding the equalization of Keir to adjust the spectral balance in a way judged to be desirable by practicing musicians (Keir p. 4, lines 27-28).
Regarding claim 4, Brubaker (in view of Keir) teaches a musical instrument comprising the features of claim 3 as discussed above.
Keir further teaches an adjustment device for adjusting a center frequency of the third signal processing device (Keir p. 2, lines 17-18: "Preferably, the circuit will have a frequency control to adjust the middle cut frequency.").
Regarding claim 12, Brubaker discloses a stringed instrument system comprising the features of claim 11 as discussed above.
Brubaker does not explicitly disclose a first set signal processing device suited to alter the received electrical signal in frequencies at a high end of a human range of hearing; a second signal processing device suited to alter the received electrical signal in frequencies at a low end of the human range of hearing; and a third signal processing suited to alter the received electrical signal in frequencies between the high end and the low end of the human range of hearing.
However, Keir teaches that the pre-amplifier module further comprises: a first set signal processing device suited to alter the received electrical signal in frequencies at a high end of a human range of hearing (Keir p. 4, lines 18-19: "VR4, forming the treble control, allows the level of the high pass filter in relation to the low pass filter to be adjusted. (Figure 3e)."); a second signal processing device suited to alter the received electrical signal in frequencies at a low end of the human range of hearing (Keir p. 4, lines 25-26: "As VR1 a is rotated in the clockwise direction, capacitor C1 in conjunction with the resistance of VR1 a serves to attenuate bass frequencies."); and a third signal processing suited to alter the received electrical signal in frequencies between the high end and the low end of the human range of hearing (Keir p. 4, lines 29-33: "Rotation of VR2 In a clockwise direction adds an attenuated all pass function to the low pass filter previously described. This serves to limit the depth of the mid frequency attenuation Ao and thus provides a means of adjusting the level of the mid band frequencies. The value of R 1 determines the minimum amount of mid frequency attenuation when VR2 is at its fully clockwise position. (Figure 3c).").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the stringed instrument system of Brubaker by adding the equalization of Keir to adjust the spectral balance in a way judged to be desirable by practicing musicians (Keir p. 4, lines 27-28).
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Brubaker in view of Juszkiewicz (US 20130298751 A1, November 14, 2013), hereinafter Juszkiewicz '751, and further in view of Guzman, to the extent understood.
Regarding claim 7, Brubaker discloses a musical instrument comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Brubaker does not explicitly disclose a battery disposed in the cavity and configured to provide electrical power to the pre-amplifier module through the pre-amplifier module interface.
However, Juszkiewicz '751 teaches a battery disposed in the cavity (Juszkiewicz '751 ¶0028: "Battery compartment 160 is positioned on recessed upper edge 120 of module cavity 108 in the embodiment in FIG. 8 a. In most embodiments, battery compartment 160 is attached with module cavity 108 using fasteners (not shown). In the embodiments of FIGS. 8 a and 8 b, battery compartment 160 includes at least one threaded opening 162 where a fastener, such as a screw can be threaded through battery compartment 160 and into recessed upper edge 120 of module cavity 108. Battery compartment 160 includes cavity 164, which is designed to accommodate standard batteries.").
Furthermore, Guzman teaches providing electrical power to the pre-amplifier module through the pre-amplifier module interface (Guzman, "19 Pin Connector": "Audio signals from the multichannel Nu pickup together with outputs from one or more monophonic pickups, 2) control voltages, and 3) power are sent through a single 19-pin LEMO compatible connector.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the musical instrument of Brubaker by adding the battery of Juszkiewicz '751 and the power interface of Guzman to allow for different electronic packages to be used in a single electric stringed musical instrument without rewiring the electronics or changing other hardware (Juszkiewicz '751 ¶0006).
Regarding claim 14, Brubaker discloses a stringed instrument system comprising the features of claim 11 as discussed above.
Brubaker does not explicitly disclose a battery disposed in the cavity and configured to provide electrical power to the pre-amplifier module through the pre-amplifier module interface.
However, Juszkiewicz '751 teaches a battery disposed in the cavity (Juszkiewicz '751 ¶0028: "Battery compartment 160 is positioned on recessed upper edge 120 of module cavity 108 in the embodiment in FIG. 8 a. In most embodiments, battery compartment 160 is attached with module cavity 108 using fasteners (not shown). In the embodiments of FIGS. 8 a and 8 b, battery compartment 160 includes at least one threaded opening 162 where a fastener, such as a screw can be threaded through battery compartment 160 and into recessed upper edge 120 of module cavity 108. Battery compartment 160 includes cavity 164, which is designed to accommodate standard batteries.").
Furthermore, Guzman teaches providing electrical power to the pre-amplifier module through the pre-amplifier module interface (Guzman, "19 Pin Connector": "Audio signals from the multichannel Nu pickup together with outputs from one or more monophonic pickups, 2) control voltages, and 3) power are sent through a single 19-pin LEMO compatible connector.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the stringed instrument system of Brubaker by adding the battery of Juszkiewicz '751 and the power interface of Guzman to allow for different electronic packages to be used in a single electric stringed musical instrument without rewiring the electronics or changing other hardware (Juszkiewicz '751 ¶0006).
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Brubaker in view of Brown (US 20150356955 A1, December 10, 2015), to the extent understood.
Regarding claim 8, Brubaker discloses a musical instrument comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Brubaker does not explicitly disclose a cover plate secured to cover the cavity using a plurality of magnetic fasteners.
However, Brown teaches a cover plate secured to cover the cavity using a plurality of magnetic fasteners (Brown ¶0059: "A control cavity route 84 is enclosed by control cavity cover 82, which is held in position by magnets 40 connecting to magnetic holes 44.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the musical instrument of Brubaker by adding the magnetic fasteners of Brown to provide for quick access to the cavities within the body of an electric guitar to allow for modification or correction (Brown ¶0011).
Regarding claim 15, Brubaker discloses a stringed instrument system comprising the features of claim 11 as discussed above.
Brubaker does not explicitly disclose a cover plate secured to cover the cavity using a plurality of magnetic fasteners.
However, Brown teaches a cover plate secured to cover the cavity using a plurality of magnetic fasteners (Brown ¶0059: "A control cavity route 84 is enclosed by control cavity cover 82, which is held in position by magnets 40 connecting to magnetic holes 44.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the stringed instrument system of Brubaker by adding the magnetic fasteners of Brown to provide for quick access to the cavities within the body of an electric guitar to allow for modification or correction (Brown ¶0011).
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Brubaker in view of Isaac (US 20140311315 A1, October 23, 2014), hereinafter Isaac, to the extent understood.
Regarding claim 9, Brubaker discloses a musical instrument comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Brubaker does not explicitly disclose a metallic lining disposed over an interior contour of the cavity and configured to inhibit electromagnetic signals from interfering with circuitry disposed in the cavity.
However, Isaac teaches a metallic lining disposed over an interior contour of the cavity and configured to inhibit electromagnetic signals from interfering with circuitry disposed in the cavity (Isaac ¶0023: "Pick-up cavities may be lined with metal flake or metal lining to insulate the magnetic field around the pick-ups thus deterring electronic interference.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the musical instrument of Brubaker by adding the electromagnetic shielding of Isaac to insulate the magnetic field around the pick-ups thus deterring electronic interference (Isaac ¶0023).
Regarding claim 16, Brubaker discloses a stringed instrument system comprising the features of claim 11 as discussed above.
Brubaker does not explicitly disclose a metallic lining disposed over an interior contour of the cavity and configured to inhibit electromagnetic signals from interfering with circuitry disposed in the cavity.
However, Isaac teaches a metallic lining disposed over an interior contour of the cavity and configured to inhibit electromagnetic signals from interfering with circuitry disposed in the cavity (Isaac ¶0023: "Pick-up cavities may be lined with metal flake or metal lining to insulate the magnetic field around the pick-ups thus deterring electronic interference.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the stringed instrument system of Brubaker by adding the electromagnetic shielding of Isaac to insulate the magnetic field around the pick-ups thus deterring electronic interference (Isaac ¶0023).
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Brubaker in view of Juszkiewicz (US 20140150630 A1, June 5, 2014), hereinafter Juszkiewicz '630, to the extent understood.
Regarding claim 10, Brubaker discloses a musical instrument comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above.
Brubaker does not explicitly disclose a wireless communication module electrically coupled to the pre-amplifier module and configured to receive remote signals from a remote computing device to adjust a manner in which electrical signals from the electrical pickups are altered.
However, Juszkiewicz '630 teaches a wireless communication module electrically coupled to the pre-amplifier module (Juszkiewicz '630 ¶0070: " Electronics module 500 a may include a multiplexer 600, a digital signal processor (DSP) 602, a wireless communication module 604, a microcontroller unit (MCU) 606, a plurality of analog-to-digital converters (ADCs) 610, an ADC 614, and a tailpiece string circuit 616.") and configured to receive remote signals (Juszkiewicz ¶0007: "The antenna is operably coupled to the processor and receives a wireless signal including an effects parameter from a first device.") from a remote computing device (Juszkiewicz '630 ¶0022: "The one or more computing devices may include computers of any form factor such as a laptop 110, a personal digital assistant 112, a tablet computer, a desktop, an integrated messaging device, a cellular telephone, a smart phone, etc.") to adjust a manner in which electrical signals from the electrical pickups are altered (Juszkiewicz '620 ¶0083: "The new values may be set by adjusting the controls of guitar 102 a or based on values received through wireless communication module 604.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the musical instrument of Brubaker by adding the wireless communication model of Juszkiewicz control the application of the various sound effects at the guitar or at the effects device (Juszkiewicz '620 ¶0005).
Regarding claim 17, Brubaker discloses a stringed instrument system comprising the features of claim 11 as discussed above.
Brubaker does not explicitly disclose a wireless communication module electrically coupled to the pre-amplifier module and configured to receive remote signals from a remote computing device to adjust a manner in which electrical signals from the electrical pickups are altered.
However, Juszkiewicz '630 teaches a wireless communication module electrically coupled to the pre-amplifier module (Juszkiewicz '630 ¶0070: " Electronics module 500 a may include a multiplexer 600, a digital signal processor (DSP) 602, a wireless communication module 604, a microcontroller unit (MCU) 606, a plurality of analog-to-digital converters (ADCs) 610, an ADC 614, and a tailpiece string circuit 616.") and configured to receive remote signals (Juszkiewicz ¶0007: "The antenna is operably coupled to the processor and receives a wireless signal including an effects parameter from a first device.") from a remote computing device (Juszkiewicz '630 ¶0022: "The one or more computing devices may include computers of any form factor such as a laptop 110, a personal digital assistant 112, a tablet computer, a desktop, an integrated messaging device, a cellular telephone, a smart phone, etc.") to adjust a manner in which electrical signals from the electrical pickups are altered (Juszkiewicz '620 ¶0083: "The new values may be set by adjusting the controls of guitar 102 a or based on values received through wireless communication module 604.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the stringed instrument system of Brubaker by adding the wireless communication model of Juszkiewicz control the application of the various sound effects at the guitar or at the effects device (Juszkiewicz '620 ¶0005).
Conclusion
/PHILIP G SCOLES/
Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/DEDEI K HAMMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837