DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more (See 2019 Update: Eligibility Guidance).
Independent Claim(s) 11, 20 recites
calculating an estimate of state-of-charge based on at least one of a DC impedance or an AC impedance
used to
calculate resistance and capacitance values for an equivalent circuit module,
wherein
an AC signal at a power converter switching frequency is used to measure a real ohmic of the AC rechargeable battery for calibratinq data of an ECM calculation;
inputting previously measured current to a first module
configured to
calculate using a coulomb gauge a preliminary state-of-chargepre1 and a preliminary state-of- charge_pre2;
and
inputting the previously measured current and the preliminary state-of- chargepre1 and the preliminary state-of-chargepre2 to a second module
configured to
calculate an estimated terminal voltage
that is
compared to previously measured voltage
to
calculate an input to an extended kalman filter (EKF)
to autonomously
estimate the state-of-charge of the AC rechargeable battery
[Mathematical Concepts – mathematical relationships; mathematical formulas or equations or mathematical calculation].
In combination with Independent Claim(s) 11, Claim(s) 12-19 recite(s)
wherein,
when the DC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery is used to calculate the estimate of state-of-charge of the AC rechargeable battery,
the previously measured voltage and current are determined at a time 1 and a time 2.
wherein
a duration from the time 1 to the time 2 is about 1 second to about 1 minute.
calculate a preliminary state-of-charge_pre1 and a preliminary state-of-charge_pre2 based on a coulomb count taken at the time 1 and the time 2.
determine an estimate open circuit voltagepre1 and an open circuit voltage pre2 based on the preliminary state-of-charge pre1 and the preliminary state-of-charge pre2, respectively, using a look-up table comprising open circuit voltages and corresponding preliminary state-of-charges.
wherein,
the DC impedance and the AC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery are determined for at least one of a predetermined temperature of the AC rechargeable battery or a C-rate of the AC rechargeable battery.
wherein,
when the AC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery is used to calculate the estimate of state-of-charge of the AC rechargeable battery,
the previously measured voltage and current are determined at a time 1.
wherein
a duration of the time 1 is about 1 second to about 1 minute.
perform a Fast Fourier transform analysis to
calculate voltage and current of AC signals with certain frequencies embedded in the power converter DC voltage and current.
perform curve fitting to
calculate resistance and capacitance values for the equivalent circuit module in real time while the power converter is operating
[Mathematical Concepts – mathematical relationships; mathematical formulas or equations or mathematical calculation].
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application:
Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) (i.e. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions that when executed by a process perform a method for);
Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)) (i.e. Generic data acquisition/measurement for the purpose of facilitating the abstract idea); or
Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)) (i.e. managing a storage system configured for use with an energy management system; an AC rechargeable battery coupled to a power converter).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because looking at the additional elements as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. The additional elements simply append well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2359-60, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)) (i.e. See Alice Corp. and cited references for evidence of additional elements (i.e., generic computer structure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10-14, 16-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WILD ET AL. (US 2022/0082631) (hereinafter “WILD”) in view of SHARMA ET AL. (US 2022/0302724) (hereinafter “SHARMA”), LIU ET AL. (US 20250167565 A1) (hereinafter “LIU”).
With respect to Claim(s) 1, WILD teaches determining the state of health (including state of charge and relative age) of a Lithium Sulfur battery, module or cell and the BRI of:
an AC rechargeable battery (See, e.g., ¶ ABSTRACT);
and
a power converter operably coupled to the AC rechargeable battery (See, e.g., Fig(s). 3, 5)
and configured to
calculate an estimate of state-of-charge of the AC rechargeable battery (See, e.g., Fig(s). 3, 5)
used to
calculate resistance and capacitance values for an equivalent circuit module (See, e.g., ¶ 0166-0168; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 18-20; See also, e.g., Claim(s). 39, 38),
wherein
previously measured current is input to a first module
configured to
calculate using a coulomb gauge a preliminary state-of-charge pre1 and a preliminary state-of-charge pre2 (See, e.g., ¶ 0129; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 18-20; See also, e.g., Claim(s). 39, 38),
and
wherein
the previously measured current and the preliminary state-of-charge pre1 and the preliminary state-of-charge pre2 are input to a second module configured to calculate an estimated terminal voltage that is compared to previously measured voltage (See, e.g., ¶ ABSTRACT, 0162, 0166; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 18-20; See also, e.g., Claim(s). 39, 38)
to
calculate an input to an extended kalman filter (EKF) (See, e.g., ¶ 0034, 0060, 0161-0178; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 18-20; See also, e.g., Claim(s). 39, 38)
to autonomously
estimate the state-of-charge of the AC rechargeable battery (See, e.g., Fig(s). 3, 5).
However, WILD is lacking the explicit language of:
calculate an estimate of state-of-charge of the AC rechargeable battery based on at least one of a DC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery or an AC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery;
a bus that connects to a grid and configured to allow current to be blocked in one direction but not the other direction to allow current to flow from the AC rechargeable battery to the power converter for discharging the AC rechargeable battery and from the power converter to the AC rechargeable battery for charging the AC rechargeable battery;
an AC signal at the power converter switching frequency is used to measure a real ohmic value of the AC rechargeable battery for calibrating data of an ECM calculation.
SHARMA teaches a battery power management unit and the BRI of:
calculate an estimate of state-of-charge of the rechargeable battery based on at least one of an impedance of the rechargeable battery (See, e.g., ¶ 0066, 0070, 0081).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify WILD to include calculate an estimate of state-of-charge of the rechargeable battery based on at least one of a impedance of the rechargeable battery.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify WILD because it would be beneficial to improve the management of battery parameters. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
LIU teaches ‘Systems and methods are described for managing charging and discharging of battery packs. In one or more aspects, a system and method are provided to minimize overcharging of battery cells of specific battery chemistries while still enabling fast charging cycles. In other aspects, a buck converter may be used to reduce a voltage of power used to charge the cells. In further aspects, a fast overcurrent protection circuit is described to address situations involving internal short circuits of a battery cell or battery pack. In yet further aspects, a bypass circuit is provided in series-connected battery packs to improve the charging of undercharged battery packs while also increasing the efficiency of the overall charging process. In other aspects, a circuit is provided that permits a controller to determine a configuration of battery packs. In yet further aspects, a system may determine a discharge current for a collection of battery packs based on each battery pack's state of health (SOH) and forward that determination to an external device’ and the BRI of:
a bus that connects to a grid and configured to allow current to be blocked in one direction but not the other direction to allow current to flow from the AC rechargeable battery to the power converter for discharging the AC rechargeable battery and from the power converter to the AC rechargeable battery for charging the AC rechargeable battery (See, e.g., ¶ 0066, 0070, 0081),
an AC signal at the power converter switching frequency is used to measure a real ohmic value of the AC rechargeable battery for calibrating data of a battery parameter calculation (See, e.g., ¶ 0323).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify WILD to include a bus that connects to a grid and configured to allow current to be blocked in one direction but not the other direction to allow current to flow from the AC rechargeable battery to the power converter for discharging the AC rechargeable battery and from the power converter to the AC rechargeable battery for charging the AC rechargeable battery, an AC signal at the power converter switching frequency is used to measure a real ohmic value of the AC rechargeable battery for calibrating data of a battery parameter calculation.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify WILD because it would be beneficial to improve the management of battery parameters. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 11, 20, WILD teaches determining the state of health (including state of charge and relative age) of a Lithium Sulfur battery, module or cell and the BRI of:
calculating an estimate of state-of-charge of an AC rechargeable battery coupled to a power converter (See, e.g., Fig(s). 3, 5)
used to
calculate resistance and capacitance values for an equivalent circuit module (See, e.g., ¶ 0166-0168; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 18-20; See also, e.g., Claim(s). 39, 38),
inputting previously measured current to a first module configured to calculate using a coulomb gauge a preliminary state-of-charge pre1 and a preliminary state-of- charge pre2 (See, e.g., ¶ 0129; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 18-20; See also, e.g., Claim(s). 39, 38),
and
inputting the previously measured current and the preliminary state-of- charge pre1 and the preliminary state-of-charge pre2 to a second module configured to calculate an estimated terminal voltage that is compared to previously measured voltage (See, e.g., ¶ ABSTRACT, 0162, 0166; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 18-20; See also, e.g., Claim(s). 39, 38)
to
calculate an input to an extended kalman filter (EKF) (See, e.g., ¶ 0034, 0060, 0161-0178; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 18-20; See also, e.g., Claim(s). 39, 38)
to autonomously
estimate the state-of-charge of the AC rechargeable battery (See, e.g., Fig(s). 3, 5).
However, WILD is lacking the explicit language of:
calculating an estimate of state-of-charge based on at least one of a DC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery or an AC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery;
an AC signal at a power converter switching frequency is used to measure a real ohmic of the AC rechargeable battery for calibrating data of an ECM calculation.
SHARMA teaches a battery power management unit and the BRI of:
calculate an estimate of state-of-charge of the rechargeable battery based on at least one of an impedance of the rechargeable battery (See, e.g., ¶ 0066, 0070, 0081).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify WILD to include calculate an estimate of state-of-charge of the rechargeable battery based on at least one of a impedance of the rechargeable battery.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify WILD because it would be beneficial to improve the management of battery parameters. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
LIU teaches ‘Systems and methods are described for managing charging and discharging of battery packs. In one or more aspects, a system and method are provided to minimize overcharging of battery cells of specific battery chemistries while still enabling fast charging cycles. In other aspects, a buck converter may be used to reduce a voltage of power used to charge the cells. In further aspects, a fast overcurrent protection circuit is described to address situations involving internal short circuits of a battery cell or battery pack. In yet further aspects, a bypass circuit is provided in series-connected battery packs to improve the charging of undercharged battery packs while also increasing the efficiency of the overall charging process. In other aspects, a circuit is provided that permits a controller to determine a configuration of battery packs. In yet further aspects, a system may determine a discharge current for a collection of battery packs based on each battery pack's state of health (SOH) and forward that determination to an external device’ and the BRI of:
an AC signal at the power converter switching frequency is used to measure a real ohmic value of the AC rechargeable battery for calibrating data of a battery parameter calculation (See, e.g., ¶ 0323).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify WILD to include an AC signal at the power converter switching frequency is used to measure a real ohmic value of the AC rechargeable battery for calibrating data of a battery parameter calculation.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify WILD because it would be beneficial to improve the management of battery parameters. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 2, 12, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
SHARMA further teaches the BRI of:
wherein,
when the DC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery is used to calculate the estimate of state-of-charge of the AC rechargeable battery, the previously measured voltage and current are determined at a time 1 and a time 2 (See, e.g., ¶ 0066, 0070, 0081, 0082).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify WILD to include wherein, when the DC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery is used to calculate the estimate of state-of-charge of the AC rechargeable battery, the previously measured voltage and current are determined at a time 1 and a time 2.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify WILD because it would be beneficial to improve the management of battery parameters. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 3, 13, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s)teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
SHARMA further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
a duration from the time 1 to the time 2 is about 1 second to about 1 minute (See, e.g., ¶ 0066, 0070, 0081, 0082).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify WILD to include wherein a duration from the time 1 to the time 2 is about 1 second to about 1 minute.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify WILD because it would be beneficial to improve the management of battery parameters. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 4, 14, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s)teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
SHARMA further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the power converter is further configured to
calculate a preliminary state-of-charge_pre1 and a preliminary state-of-charge_pre2 based on a coulomb count taken at the time 1 and the time 2 (See, e.g., ¶ 0066, 0070, 0081, 0082).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify WILD to include wherein the power converter is further configured to calculate a preliminary state-of-charge_pre1 and a preliminary state-of-charge_pre2 based on a coulomb count taken at the time 1 and the time 2.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify WILD because it would be beneficial to improve the management of battery parameters. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 7, 17, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s)teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
SHARMA further teaches the BRI of:
wherein,
when the AC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery is used to calculate the estimate of state-of-charge of the AC rechargeable battery, the previously measured voltage and current are determined at a time 1 (See, e.g., ¶ 0066, 0070, 0081, 0082).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify WILD to include wherein, when the AC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery is used to calculate the estimate of state-of-charge of the AC rechargeable battery, the previously measured voltage and current are determined at a time.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify WILD because it would be beneficial to improve the management of battery parameters. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 8, 18, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s)teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
SHARMA further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
a duration of the time 1 is about 1 second to about 1 minute (See, e.g., ¶ 0066, 0070, 0081, 0082).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify WILD to include wherein a duration of the time 1 is about 1 second to about 1 minute
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify WILD because it would be beneficial to improve the management of battery parameters. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 6, 16, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s)teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
WILD further teaches the BRI of:
wherein,
the DC impedance and the AC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery are determined for at least one of a predetermined temperature of the AC rechargeable battery or a C-rate of the AC rechargeable battery (See, e.g., ¶ 0069).
With respect to Claim(s) 10, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s)teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
WILD further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the power converter is further configured to
perform curve fitting to
calculate resistance and capacitance values for the equivalent circuit module in real time while the power converter is operating (See, e.g., ¶ 0121, 0124, 0126, 0127).
Claim(s) 5, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) in further view of ARAUJO XAVIER ET AL. (US 2022/0212545) (hereinafter “ARAUJO XAVIER”).
With respect to Claim(s) 5, 15, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s)teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
WILD further teaches the BRI of:
the power converter.
However, WILD is lacking the explicit language of:
determine an estimate open circuit voltagepre1 and an open circuit voltage pre2 based on the preliminary state-of-charge pre1 and the preliminary state-of-charge pre2, respectively, using a look-up table comprising open circuit voltages and corresponding preliminary state-of-charges.
ARAUJO XAVIER teaches a controller configured to control at least one of the electric machine and the traction battery using an estimated battery power capability or estimated battery state of charge based on battery parameters initialized upon requesting activation of the traction battery with an open circuit voltage that varies based on elapsed time from the traction battery becoming inactive and the BRI of:
determine estimate open circuit voltage(s) based on the preliminary state-of-charge(s), respectively, using a look-up table comprising open circuit voltages and corresponding preliminary state-of-charges (See, e.g., ¶ 0035).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify WILD to include determine estimate open circuit voltage(s) based on the preliminary state-of-charge(s), respectively, using a look-up table comprising open circuit voltages and corresponding preliminary state-of-charges.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify WILD because it would be beneficial to improve battery parameter processing. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 9, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) in further view of DING ET AL. (US 11,644,513) (hereinafter “DING”).
With respect to Claim(s) 9, 19, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s)teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
WILD further teaches the BRI of:
the power converter.
However, WILD is lacking the explicit language of:
perform a Fast Fourier transform analysis to calculate voltage and current of AC signals with certain frequencies embedded in the power converter DC voltage and current.
DING teaches a Battery Management System (BMS) inspects a battery pack using AC impedance and the BRI of:
perform a Fast Fourier transform analysis to calculate voltage and current of AC signals with certain frequencies embedded in the power converter DC voltage and current (See, e.g., ¶ ABSTRACT).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify DING to include perform a Fast Fourier transform analysis to calculate voltage and current of AC signals with certain frequencies embedded in the power converter DC voltage and current.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify DING because it would be beneficial to improve the management of batteries. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed on 05/27/2026, have been entered and fully considered. In light of the applicant’s amendments changing the scope of the claimed invention, the rejection(s) have been withdrawn or updated. However, upon further consideration, a new or updated ground(s) of rejection(s) have been made, and applicant's argument(s)/remark(s) pertaining to the amended language have been rendered moot.
Applicant's argument(s)/remark(s), see page(s) 7-10, filed 05/27/2026, with respect to the 101 rejection(s) has/have been fully considered.
-Applicant states
“A. 35 U.S.C. §101 Claims 1-20
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101, because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The Applicant has amended the claims in a manner that is believed to overcome the rejection. For example, claim 1, as a representative claim, recites a power converter operably coupled to the AC rechargeable battery and a bus that connects to a grid and configured to allow current to be blocked in one direction but not the other direction to allow current to flow from the AC rechargeable battery to the power converter for discharging the AC rechargeable battery and from the power converter to the AC rechargeable battery for charging the AC rechargeable battery and to calculate an estimate of state-of-charge of the AC rechargeable battery based on at least one of a DC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery or an AC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery used to calculate resistance and capacitance values for an equivalent circuit module, wherein an AC signal at the power converter switching frequency is used to measure a real ohmic value of the AC rechargeable battery for calibrating data of an ECM calculation. As noted in the Applicant's disclosure, the methods and apparatus described therein eliminate a need for using specific testing devices, eliminate a need of a time-consuming pretesting step (e.g., six (6) to twelve (12) months) for conventional EKF methods by applying an online measurement instead, and can be used to update a SoC model in the field over a life of a battery. Additionally, the methods and apparatus described herein eliminate a need for purchasing or sharing bandwidth of specific testing devices for a four (4)-channel tester), reduce a time/labor cost (e.g., six (6) to twelve (12) months to build a database for conventional EKF), and can be sold as a kit (e.g., for additional revenue). In view of the foregoing, the Applicant respectfully submits that a storage system configured in a manner as recited in the Applicant' claims amounts to more than an abstract idea and is directed to patentable subject matter.
Accordingly, the Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection and the claims allowed.”.
Examiner agrees that the system of amended claim 1 is directed to eligible patent subject matter. Amended claim 1 includes additional structure and function beyond generic computer structure performing the identified mathematical concept that is considered a practical application and/or significantly more than the identified mathematical concept. Said rejection(s) has/have been withdrawn.
Examiner respectfully disagrees that the method and generic computer structure of amended claim(s) 11, 20 merely performing the identified mathematical concept is eligible patent subject matter.
Examiner maintains previous response to arguments:
Examiner’s BRI of the claimed inventions is generic computer structure being used as a tool to mathematically estimate parameters corresponding to an AC rechargeable battery.
When examining step 2A Prong 1, Examiner determines if there is an abstract idea present. One skilled in the art can at least perform the identified abstract idea utilizing Mathematical Concepts – mathematical relationships; mathematical formulas or equations or mathematical calculation. The arguments, in light of the specification, fail to convince the Examiner that utilizing Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes does not fit within the scope of the identified abstract limitations.
When examining step 2A Prong 2, Examiner examines the additional elements to determine if the identified abstract idea has been practically applied in a particular way in a particular technology. Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application: Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)); Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)); or Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). The additional elements, when viewed individually and in combination with the identified abstract idea, do not add anything beyond mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, adding generic ‘apply it’ language, and generically linking the identified abstract idea to a technological environment or field of use.
When examining step 2B, Examiner examines the additional elements to determine if they amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The only additional element(s) is/are the generic computer structure, communicatively coupled to an ac battery, being used as a tool to perform the abstract idea. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because looking at the additional elements as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually.
It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. An improved abstract idea is still an abstract idea.
See updated rejection(s) necessitated by amendment(s).
Applicant's argument(s)/remark(s), see page(s) 10-11, filed 05/27/2026, with respect to the art rejection(s) has/have been fully considered.
-Applicant states
“B. 35 U.S.C. §103 Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-14, 16-18, and 20
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-14, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103, as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0082631 filed by Wild et al. (hereinafter "Wild") in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0302724 filed by Sharma et al. (hereinafter "Sharma"). As noted above, claim 1 recites a power converter operably coupled to the AC rechargeable battery and a bus that connects to a grid and configured to allow current to be blocked in one direction but not the other direction to allow current to flow from the AC rechargeable battery to the power converter for discharging the AC rechargeable battery and from the power converter to the AC rechargeable battery for charging the AC rechargeable battery and to calculate an estimate of state-of-charge of the AC rechargeable battery based on at least one of a DC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery or an AC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery used to calculate resistance and capacitance values for an equivalent circuit module, wherein an AC signal at the power converter switching frequency is used to measure a real ohmic value of the AC rechargeable battery for calibrating data of an ECM calculation. Support for the amendment can at least be found in [0014 and 0028]. The Applicant respectfully submits that the art of record does not disclose, teach, or suggest an apparatus/method as recited in the Applicant's claims.
For example, in [0101] Wild discloses, in relevant part, that an apparatus 300 for estimating the state of health of a cell can include a memory 301, can be coupled to Lithium Sulfur cell in use, and can be configured to estimate the SOC and SOH of the Lithium Sulfur cell. In [0102] Wild further discloses, in relevant part, that a controller 302 can implement a SOC model 531 for modelling the state of charge and state of health of the LiS cell. The Examiner alleges that the controller 302 and SOC model 531 are analogous to the power converter recited in the Applicant's claims (see OA p. 6). The alleged power converter of Wild, however, is not configured to operably couple to an AC rechargeable battery and a bus that connects to a grid and is not configured to allow current to be blocked in one direction but not the other direction to allow current to flow from the AC rechargeable battery to the power converter for discharging the AC rechargeable battery and from the power converter to the AC rechargeable battery for charging the AC rechargeable battery. Therefore, for at least this reason Wild does not render obvious the Applicant's claims.
Moreover, the Examiner acknowledges that Wild does not disclose the recitations calculate an estimate of state-of-charge of the AC rechargeable battery based on at least one of a DC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery or an AC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery and relies on Sharma (see OA p. 9). In [0066], Sharma discloses, in relevant part, that each BPMU 30 is also configured to determine state of health (SOH) of each respective battery pack 20 using coulomb counting, electrochemical impedance measurement, or a combination thereof. In [0070], Sharma discloses, in relevant part, that the BPMU 30 can be configured to: read data from the internal BMU 25 of a respective battery pack 20 to establish capacity, an energy baseline, and an initial value of state of charge (SOC) of the respective battery pack 20; check or measure voltage and current of the respective battery pack 20 at a time interval; calculate power of the respective battery pack 20 to integrate the power into an energy reading of the respective battery pack; and determine and update state of charge (SOC) of the respective battery pack 20 based on the initial value of SOC, the current, and the time interval. Sharma does not disclose, teach, or suggest the claimed recitation to calculate an estimate of state-of-charge of the AC rechargeable battery based on at least one of a DC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery or an AC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery used to calculate resistance and capacitance values for an equivalent circuit module, wherein an AC signal at the power converter switching frequency is used to measure a real ohmic value of the AC rechargeable battery for calibrating data of an ECM calculation. That is Sharma merely discloses reading data from the internal BMU 25 of a respective battery pack 20 to establish an initial value of state of charge (SOC) of the respective battery pack 20 and checking or measuring voltage and current of the respective battery pack 20 at a time interval using coulomb counting, but does not disclose, teach, or suggest that such operations comprise wherein an AC signal at the power converter switching frequency is used to measure a real ohmic value of the AC rechargeable battery for calibrating data of an ECM calculation. Therefore, Sharma does not cure the deficiencies of Wild with respect to the Applicant's claims.
Thus, claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-14, 16-18, and 20 are patentable over Wild in view of Sharma. Accordingly, the Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection be withdrawn and the claims allowed.”.
The underlined argument(s)/remark(s) are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the previous rejected limitations.
See updated rejection(s) necessitated by amendment(s).
-Applicant states
“C. 35 U.S.C. §103 Claims 5 and 15
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103, as being unpatentable over Wild in view of Sharma in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0212545 filed by Araujo Xavier et al. (hereinafter "Araujo Xavier").
Araujo Xavier is cited merely to allegedly disclose, inter alia, determining an estimate open circuit pre1 and an open circuit voltage pre2 based on the preliminary state- of-charge pre1 and the preliminary state-of-charge pre2, respectively, using a look-up table comprising open circuit voltages and corresponding preliminary state-of-charges. However, Araujo Xavier also fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the claimed recitation to calculate an estimate of state-of-charge of the AC rechargeable battery based on at least one of a DC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery or an AC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery used to calculate resistance and capacitance values for an equivalent circuit module, wherein an AC signal at the power converter switching frequency is used to measure a real ohmic value of the AC rechargeable battery for calibrating data of an ECM calculation, as recited in the Applicant's claims. Thus, there is no teaching, suggestion, or other motivation in Araujo Xavier to modify Wild in a manner that would yield the limitations recited in the claim. Accordingly, even if one were to combine the references, the combination would still fail to yield the limitations recited in the claims. Therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness has not been established.
Thus, claims 5 and 15 are patentable over Wild in view of Sharma in further view of Araujo Xavier. Accordingly, the Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection be withdrawn and the claims allowed.”.
The argument(s)/remark(s) are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the previous rejected limitations.
See updated rejection(s) necessitated by amendment(s).
-Applicant states
“D. 35 U.S.C. §103 Claims 9 and 19
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103, as being unpatentable over Wild in view of Sharma in further view of U.S. Patent No. 11,644,513 issued to Ding et al. (hereinafter "Ding").
Ding is cited merely to allegedly disclose, inter alia, performing Fast Fourier transform analysis to calculate voltage and current of AC signals with certain frequencies embedded in the power converter DC voltage and current. However, Ding also fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the claimed recitation to calculate an estimate of state-of- charge of the AC rechargeable battery based on at least one of a DC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery or an AC impedance of the AC rechargeable battery used to calculate resistance and capacitance values for an equivalent circuit module, wherein an AC signal at the power converter switching frequency is used to measure a real ohmic value of the AC rechargeable battery for calibrating data of an ECM calculation, as recited in the Applicant's claims. Thus, there is no teaching, suggestion, or other motivation in Ding to modify Wild in a manner that would yield the limitations recited in the claim. Accordingly, even if one were to combine the references, the combination would still fail to yield the limitations recited in the claims. Therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness has not been established.
Thus, claims 9 and 19 are patentable over Wild in view of Sharma in further view of Ding. Accordingly, the Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection be withdrawn and the claims allowed.”.
The argument(s)/remark(s) are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the previous rejected limitations.
See updated rejection(s) necessitated by amendment(s).
Conclusion
RAYMOND NIMOX
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/RAYMOND L NIMOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit