DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-11 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pre-Grant Publication 2012/0143150 to Page in view of 2017/0340430 to Moore (Moore).
Regarding claim 1, Page teaches an intravenous fluid delivery system comprising a multiple line portion (see e.g. 310, Fig. 3E), including a plurality of fluid lines (312, 314) connected to each other, and a mixing element (320, 333) at a downstream end with a single outlet (connected to 331) and having slots (316) in fluid communication with each line (312, 314). Page does not teach a mixing element having elongated slots. Moore teaches another medical fluid apparatus generally, and particularly teaches that respective flows of multiple inlets (24, 26) may be combined into a single outlet (30) via elongated slots (32) in order to produce a combined flow. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to provide a mixing element as taught by Moore to the system of Page in order to combine the plurality of fluid lines (312, 314) into the single outlet (331).
Regarding claim 2, Page teaches a central line (312) and peripheral lines (314).
Regarding claim 3, Page teaches that the peripheral lines are connected to an external wall of the central line (as in Fig. 3B).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Page teaches detachable connections and separability of the peripheral lines (paragraph 87).
Regarding claim 6, Page teaches the limitations of claim 3 as discussed above, but does not teach the particular connection dimensions. However, Page does teach that the dimensions of the tubing are subject to normal design parameters and vary according to the application (paragraph 85). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to optimize the connection thickness of the tubing of Page for a given application resulting the in the claimed dimension as a mere design choice relating to the chosen application.
Regarding claim 9, Page teaches connectors (331) configured for respective connection to fluid lines.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Page teaches that the respective fluid source may be a pump or a bag (paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 13, Moore teaches a central slot (24).
Regarding claim 14, Moore teaches that the peripheral slots (26) provide fluid to the central slot (24, see e.g. paragraph 89) Regarding claim 9, Page teaches connectors (331) configured for respective connection to fluid lines.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Page teaches that the respective fluid source may be a pump or a bag (paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 13, Page teaches a central slot (24).
Regarding claim 14, Page teaches that the peripheral slots (16) provide fluid to the central slot.
Regarding claim 15, Page teaches that the single outlet is formed by a distal end of the central slot.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Page in view of Moore as applied above, and further in view of US Pre-Grant Publication 2004/0158211 to Rogers et al. (Rogers).
Regarding claim 7, Page teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, but is silent as to the materials used for the tubing. Rogers teaches that at least thermoplastic polyurethanes (paragraph 43) are known for the production of medical tubing as being flexible and biocompatible. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to use thermoplastic polyurethanes as taught by Rogers in the tubing of Page in order to achieve a flexible, biocompatible tubing.
Regarding claim 8, Page does not teach methods of forming the tubes. Rogers teaches co-extrusion of tubing (43) as a viable method of forming multiple lumen tubing. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to use co-extrusion as taught by Rogers to form the multiple lumen tubing as the mere selection of a manufacturing method known in the field for producing the type of article at hand.
Regarding claim 16, Page does not teach an outlet tubing with a valve. Rogers teaches another intravenous fluid delivery system generally, and particularly teaches that a fluid source (90) may be coupled to a needle or catheter via an outlet tube (40, 80) with a valve (30) to prevent bloodborne pathogen exposure (paragraph 21). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to provide a valved outlet tube as taught by Rogers in order to prevent bloodborne pathogen exposure. The examiner notes that the combination requires only the serial connection of the port (333) of Page to the valve (30) or outlet tube (80) of Rogers, and further notes that both references are cognizant of Luer type connections for such interfaces.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Rogers teaches coupling to needles (via 50) or catheters (20).
Regarding claim 19, Rogers teaches a one-way valve (30) downstream of the outlet tube (80) configured to prevent fluid from flowing upstream, including to the mixing element in the combination.
Regarding claim 20, Rogers teaches a one-way valve (30) between the outlet tubing (at 40) and the mixing element of Page.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filed 16 March 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Moore as set forth above.
Conclusion
/PHILIP E STIMPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 28 May 2026