DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of the International Application PCT/JP2020/042234. The instant application is a continuation of PCT/JP2020/042234 filed 12 November 2020. The International Application is not in English and has not been perfected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted 11 May 2023, 16 May 2023, 27 August 2024, 3 September 2024, 1 October 2024, 21 October 2024, 2 July 2025, 20 August 2025, 2 September 2025, 11 February 2026, and 3 March 2026 have been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The original drawings received on 11 May 2023 are accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d) or fourth paragraph
Claims 4, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 4 recites that the Na2O content is “0% or more and 30% or less of a content of Na2O”. This limitation fails to further limit claim 1, from which it depends since claim 1 recites that the TiO2 content in terms of mass % is 10% to 40% and the ratio of a total content rate of Li2O, Na2O, and K2O to the content rate of TiO2 (SA2O/TiO2) is 0.1 to 0.65. Therefore, the highest the total content of Li2O+Na2O+K2O can be is 26 mass% and thus the highest Na2O can be is also 26 mass%.
Claim 9 recites that the total content rate of Li2O, Na2O, and K2O is “5% or more and 35% or less”. This limitation fails to further limit claim 1, from which it depends since claim 1 recites that the TiO2 content in terms of mass % is 10% to 40% and the ratio of a total content rate of Li2O, Na2O, and K2O to the content rate of TiO2 (SA2O/TiO2) is 0.1 to 0.65. Therefore, the highest the total content of Li2O+Na2O+K2O can be is 26 mass%.
Claim 15 recites a ratio of a total content rate of Li2O, Na2O, and K2O to the content rate of TiO2 (SA2O/TiO2) is “0.1 or more and 2.00 or less”. This limitation fails to further limit claim 1, from which it depends since claim 1 recites that the ratio of a total content rate of Li2O, Na2O, and K2O to the content rate of TiO2 (SA2O/TiO2) is 0.1 to 0.65.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hao et al., Chinese Patent Publication CN 110922050 A.
A machine-generated translation of CN 110922050 A was included with the IDS filed 27 August 2024. In reciting this rejection, the examiner will cite this translation.
Hao et al. disclose an optical glass comprising in terms of mole percentages, 15-35% of P2O5, 15-35% of TiO2, 10-30% of Nb2O5, 0-10% of CaO, 10-30% of Na2O, 0-10% of K2O, 0-5% of Li2O, 0-8% of SiO2, 0-5% of Bi2O3, 0-5% of Al2O3, 0-5% of Ta2O5, 0-5% of ZrO2, 0-5% of ZnO, 0-5% of La2O3+Gd2O3+Y2O3+Yb2O3, 0-10% of BaO, 0-10% of SrO, 0-10% of MgO, 0-7% of B2O3, and 0-5% of WO3.. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0008]-[0010] and [0029]-[0050]. Hao et al. disclose the optical glass has a refractive index of 1.85-1.90. See paragraph [0055]. Hao et al. disclose that the optical glass has an Abbe number of 17-23. See paragraph [0055]. Hao et al. disclose that the optical glass is used for various optical elements including lenses. See paragraphs [0022], [0077], [0079], [0102] and [0105]. Hao et al. disclose that the optical elements are used in many types of optical systems including imaging equipment, microscopes, medical technologies, and digital projectors. See paragraphs [0081] and [0107]. The compositional ranges of Hao et al. are sufficiently specific to anticipate the optical glass composition as recited in claims 1-25. See MPEP 2131.03.
Specifically, as to claim 1, Hao et al. discloses Example 28 (see Table 3 and below table which shows the example in terms of mass%), which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of mass percentages, 20-55% of P2O5, 10-40% of TiO2, 0-30% of Nb2O5, 0-2% of Al2O3, 0-10% of B2O3, 3-30% of BaO, 0-30% of Bi2O3, 0-20% of Ta2O5, 0-25% of WO3, wherein the ratio of (Li2O+Na2O+K2O)/TiO2 is 0.10-0.65 and the ratio of TiO2/(P2O5+B2O3+Al2O3) is 0.25-0.85, as recited in instant claim 1.
Mass %
Ex. 28
P2O5
32.31
TiO2
14.86
Nb2O5
28.42
Al2O3
0.63
B2O3
1.29
BaO
3.49
Bi2O3
4.24
Ta2O5
5.06
Li2O
0.27
Na2O
5.53
K2O
2.57
ZrO2
0.40
(Li2O+Na2O+K2O)/TiO2
0.57
TiO2/(P2O5+B2O3+Al2O3)
0.43
As to claim 2, Hao et al. disclose Example 28 (see Table 3) having a ratio of 0.57 for the ratio (BaO+TiO2)/P2O5, which reads on an optical glass having a (BaO+TiO2)/P2O5 mass ratio of 0.40-1.50, as recited in instant claim 2.
As to claim 3, Hao et al. disclose Example 28 (see Table 3) having a ratio of 0.28 for the ratio TiO2/(TiO2+Nb2O5+WO3+Bi2O3+Ta2O5), which reads on an optical glass having a TiO2/(TiO2+Nb2O5+WO3+Bi2O3+Ta2O5) mass ratio of 0.25-1.00, as recited in instant claim 3.
As to claim 4, Hao et al. disclose Example 28 (see Table 3 and above table), which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of mass percentages, 0-30% of Na2O, 0-25% of K2O, and 0-5% of Li2O, as recited in instant claim 4.
As to claim 5, Hao et al. disclose Example 28 (see Table 3 and above table), which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of mass percentages, 0-15% of ZnO, 0-10% of MgO, 0-10% of CaO, and 0-15% of SrO, as recited in instant claim 5.
As to claim 6, Hao et al. disclose Example 28 (see Table 3 and above table), which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of mass percentages, 0-5% of SiO2, 0-5% of ZrO2, and 0-1% of Sb2O3, as recited in instant claim 6.
As to claim 7, Hao et al. disclose Example 28 (see Table 3) having a total content of SiO2+B2O3 of 1.29 mass%, which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of mass percentages, a total of SiO2+B2O3 of 0-10%, as recited in instant claim 7.
As to claim 8, Hao et al. disclose Example 28 (see Table 3 and above table), which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of mass percentages, 0-8% Y2O3, 0-5% La2O3, and 0-10% Gd2O3, as recited in instant claim 8.
As to claim 9, Hao et al. disclose Example 28 (see Table 3) having a total content of Li2O. Na2O, and K2O of 8.37 mass%, which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of mass percentages, having a total content of Li2O, Na2O, and K2O of 5-35% as recited in instant claim 9.
As to claim 10, Hao et al. disclose Example 28 (see Table 3) having a total content of MgO, CaO, SrO, BaO, and ZnO of 4.48 mass%, which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of mass percentages, having a total content of MgO, CaO, SrO, BaO, and ZnO of 0-30%, as recited in instant claim 10.
As to claim 11, Hao et al. disclose Example 28 (see Table 3) having a ratio of 0.46 for the ratio of TiO2/P2O5, which reads on an optical glass having a mass ratio of TiO2/P2O5 of 0.25-0.85, as recited in instant claim 11.
As to claim 12, Hao et al. disclose Example 28 (see Table 3) having a ratio of 0.04 for the ratio Al2O3/TiO2, which reads on an optical glass comprising having a mass ratio Al2O3/TiO2 of 0-0.15, as recited in instant claim 12.
As to claim 13, Hao et al. disclose Example 28 (see Table 3) having a ratio of 0.04 for the ratio of B2O3/P2O5, which reads on an optical glass comprising having a mass ratio B2O3/P2O5 of 0-0.30, as recited in instant claim 13.
As to claim 14, Hao et al. disclose Example 28 (see Table 3) having a ratio of 1.64 for the ratio of (BaO+TiO2+Nb2O5+WO3+Bi2O3+Ta2O5)/(P2O5+B2O3+SiO2+Al2O3), which reads on an optical glass comprising having a mass ratio (BaO+TiO2+Nb2O5+WO3+Bi2O3+Ta2O5)/(P2O5+B2O3+SiO2+Al2O3) of 0.40-2.00, as recited in instant claim 14.
As to claim 15, Hao et al. disclose Example 28 (see Table 3) having a ratio of 0.565 for the ratio of (Li2O+Na2O+K2O)/TiO2, which reads on an optical glass comprising having a mass ratio (Li2O+Na2O+K2O)/TiO2 of 0.10-2.00, as recited in instant claim 15.
As to claim 16, Hao et al. disclose Example 28 (see Table 3) having a ratio of 0.54 for the ratio of (MgO+CaO+SrO+BaO+ZnO)/(Li2O+Na2O+K2O), which reads on an optical glass comprising having a mass ratio (MgO+CaO+SrO+BaO+ZnO)/(Li2O+Na2O+K2O) of 0-3.00, as recited in instant claim 16.
As to claim 17, Hao et al. disclose that the optical glass has a refractive index of 1.85-1.90 (see paragraph [0055]), which reads on an optical glass having a refractive index in the range of 1.60-1.85, as recited in instant claim 17.
As to claim 18, Hao et al. disclose Example 28 (see Table 3) having an Abbe number of 20.14, which reads on an optical glass comprising having an Abbe number in the range of 20-35, as recited in instant claim 18.
As to claim 19, since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Hao et al. would inherently possess a partial dispersion ratio in the range of 0.61-0.66, as recited in claim 19. See MPEP 2112.
It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971).
Products of identical composition may not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655,1658 (Fed. Circ. 1990).
As to claim 20, since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Hao et al. would inherently possess a abnormal dispersibility in the range of 0.015-0.055, as recited in claim 19. See MPEP 2112.
As to claim 21, Hao et al. disclose the optical glass is used in optical elements such as lenses (see paragraphs [0022], [0077], [0079], [0102], and [0105]), which reads on the optical element as recited in instant claim 21.
As to claim 22, Hao et al. disclose the optical element is used in optical instruments (see paragraph [0023]), which reads on the optical system as recited in instant claim 22.
As to claim 23, Hao et al. disclose the optical instruments include photographic and imaging equipment (see paragraphs [0081] and [0107]), which reads on an interchangeable camera lens as recited in instant claim 23.
As to claim 24, Hao et al. disclose the optical instruments include microscopes and medical technology equipment (see paragraphs [0081] and [0107]), which reads on an objective lens as recited in instant claim 24.
As to claim 25, Hao et al. disclose the optical instruments include photographic and imaging equipment, microscopes, medical technology equipment, and digital projectors (see paragraphs [0081] and [0107]), which reads on an optical device as recited in instant claim 25.
Claims 26-28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao et al., Chinese Patent Publication CN 110922050 A in view of Fujimoto et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2003/0053218 A1.
A machine-generated translation of CN 110922050 A was included with the IDS filed 27 August 2024. In reciting this rejection, the examiner will cite this translation.
Hao et al. teach an optical glass comprising in terms of mole percentages, 15-35% of P2O5, 15-35% of TiO2, 10-30% of Nb2O5, 0-10% of CaO, 10-30% of Na2O, 0-10% of K2O, 0-5% of Li2O, 0-8% of SiO2, 0-5% of Bi2O3, 0-5% of Al2O3, 0-5% of Ta2O5, 0-5% of ZrO2, 0-5% of ZnO, 0-5% of La2O3+Gd2O3+Y2O3+Yb2O3, 0-10% of BaO, 0-10% of SrO, 0-10% of MgO, 0-7% of B2O3, and 0-5% of WO3. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0008]-[0010] and [0029]-[0050]. Hao et al. teach the optical glass has a refractive index of 1.85-1.90. See paragraph [0055]. Hao et al. teach that the optical glass has an Abbe number of 17-23. See paragraph [0055]. Hao et al. teach that the optical glass is used for various optical elements including lenses. See paragraphs [0022], [0077], [0079], [0102] and [0105]. Hao et al. teach that the optical elements are used in many types of optical systems including imaging equipment, microscopes, medical technologies, and digital projectors. See paragraphs [0081] and [0107].
Hao et al. fail to teach that the optical glass for the optical devices use cemented lenses.
Fujimoto et al. teach that objective lens systems are formed from cemented lens , including at least a first lens and a second lens. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0003], [0032], and [0045]-[0047]. Fujimoto et al. teach that the lens systems are used in various optical systems including microscope objectives. See paragraph [0003].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have an optical device comprising the optical glass and optical lens of Hao et al. as suggested by Fujimoto et al. because the resultant cemented lens comprising a first lens element and a second lens element wherein at least one of the lens elements comprises the optical glass of Hao et al., would have the superior glass of Hao et al. with the benefit of the correction of the various aberrations. Fujimoto et al. teach that using a cemented lens serves to favorably correct various aberrations. See paragraph [0046] of Fujimoto et al.
Specifically, the combination of Hao et al. in view of Fujimoto et al. reads on the cemented lens for use in optical systems for objective lens for microscopes as recited in instant claims 26-28 and 30.
Claims 26-27, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao et al., Chinese Patent Publication CN 110922050 A in view of Mikami, U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2016/0304390 A1.
A machine-generated translation of CN 110922050 A was included with the IDS filed 27 August 2024. In reciting this rejection, the examiner will cite this translation.
Hao et al. teach an optical glass comprising in terms of mole percentages, 15-35% of P2O5, 15-35% of TiO2, 10-30% of Nb2O5, 0-10% of CaO, 10-30% of Na2O, 0-10% of K2O, 0-5% of Li2O, 0-8% of SiO2, 0-5% of Bi2O3, 0-5% of Al2O3, 0-5% of Ta2O5, 0-5% of ZrO2, 0-5% of ZnO, 0-5% of La2O3+Gd2O3+Y2O3+Yb2O3, 0-10% of BaO, 0-10% of SrO, 0-10% of MgO, 0-7% of B2O3, and 0-5% of WO3. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0008]-[0010] and [0029]-[0050]. Hao et al. teach the optical glass has a refractive index of 1.85-1.90. See paragraph [0055]. Hao et al. teach that the optical glass has an Abbe number of 17-23. See paragraph [0055]. Hao et al. teach that the optical glass is used for various optical elements including lenses. See paragraphs [0022], [0077], [0079], [0102] and [0105]. Hao et al. teach that the optical elements are used in many types of optical systems including imaging equipment, microscopes, medical technologies, and digital projectors. See paragraphs [0081] and [0107].
Hao et al. fail to teach that the optical glass for the optical devices use cemented lenses.
Mikami teaches that objective lens systems are formed from cemented lens , including at least a first lens and a second lens. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0223]-[0227]. Mikami teaches that the lens systems are used in various optical systems including interchangeable lens for single lens reflex cameras. See paragraph [0228].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have an optical device comprising the optical glass and optical lens of Hao et al. as suggested by Mikami because the resultant cemented lens comprising a first lens element and a second lens element wherein at least one of the lens elements comprises the optical glass of Hao et al. would have the superior glass of Hao et al. with the benefit of the correction of the various aberrations. Mikami teaches that using a cemented lens of a lower dispersion glass concave meniscus lens to mounted to the imaging lens closest to the objective side. See paragraph [0226] of Mikami.
Specifically, the combination of Hao et al. in view of Mikami reads on the cemented lens for use in optical systems for interchangeable camera lens as recited in instant claims 26-28 and 30.
Claims 1, 3-13, 15, 17-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fu, Japanese Patent Publication JP 2016-166119 A.
A machine-generated translation of JP 2016-166119 A was included with the IDS filed 21 October 2024. In reciting this rejection, the examiner will cite this translation.
Fu discloses an optical glass comprising in terms of mole percentages, 20-60% of P2O5, 10-50% of Nb2O5, 5-45% of TiO2, 1-90% of F, 0-40% of ZnO, 0-15% of B2O3, 0-30% of Li2O, 0-30% of Na2O, 0-30% of K2O, 0-30% of MgO, 0-30% of cap, 0-30% of SrO, 0-45% of BaO, 0-10% of Bi2O3, 0-10% of WO3, 0-10% of Y2O3,, 0-10% of La2O3, 0-10% of Gd2O3, 0-10% of Yb2O3, 0-10% of SiO2, 0-10% of GeO2, 0-10% of Al2O3, 0-15% of TeO2, 0-10% of ZrO2, 0-10% of Ta2O5, 0-10% of Ga2O3, 0-10% of SnO2, and 0-3% of Sb2O3. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0010]-[0014] and [0024]-[0050]. Fu discloses the optical glass has a refractive index of 1.70-2.20. See paragraphs [0015] and [0058]. Fu discloses that the optical glass has an Abbe number of 10-35. See paragraphs [0015] and [0058]. Fu discloses that the optical glass is used for various optical elements including lenses. See paragraphs [0002], [0017], [0058], and [0065]. Fu discloses that the optical elements are used in many types of optical systems including photographic apparatus and digital cameras. See paragraphs [0002] and [0065]. The compositional ranges of Fu are sufficiently specific to anticipate the optical glass composition as recited in claims 1, 3-13, 15, 17-23, and 25. See MPEP 2131.03.
Specifically, as to claim 1, Fu discloses Example 19 (see Table 2 and below table which shows the example in terms of mass%), which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of mass percentages, 20-55% of P2O5, 10-40% of TiO2, 0-30% of Nb2O5, 0-2% of Al2O3, 0-10% of B2O3, 3-30% of BaO, 0-30% of Bi2O3, 0-20% of Ta2O5, 0-25% of WO3, wherein the ratio of (Li2O+Na2O+K2O)/TiO2 is 0.10-0.65 and the ratio of TiO2/(P2O5+B2O3+Al2O3) is 0.25-0.85, as recited in instant claim 1.
Mass %
Ex. 19
P2O5
27.12
TiO2
13.43
Nb2O5
20.28
B2O3
2.68
BaO
29.30
Bi2O3
K2O
7.19
(Li2O+Na2O+K2O)/TiO2
0.535
TiO2/(P2O5+B2O3+Al2O3)
0.45
As to claim 3, Fu discloses Example 19 (see Table 2) having a ratio of 0.40 for the ratio TiO2/(TiO2+Nb2O5+WO3+Bi2O3+Ta2O5), which reads on an optical glass having a TiO2/(TiO2+Nb2O5+WO3+Bi2O3+Ta2O5) mass ratio of 0.25-1.00, as recited in instant claim 3.
As to claim 4, Fu discloses Example 19 (see Table 2 and above table), which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of mass percentages, 0-30% of Na2O, 0-25% of K2O, and 0-5% of Li2O, as recited in instant claim 4.
As to claim 5, Fu discloses Example 19 (see Table 2 and above table), which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of mass percentages, 0-15% of ZnO, 0-10% of MgO, 0-10% of CaO, and 0-15% of SrO, as recited in instant claim 5.
As to claim 6, Fu discloses Example 19 (see Table 2 and above table), which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of mass percentages, 0-5% of SiO2, 0-5% of ZrO2, and 0-1% of Sb2O3, as recited in instant claim 6.
As to claim 7, Fu discloses Example 19 (see Table 2) having a total content of SiO2+B2O3 of 2.68 mass%, which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of mass percentages, a total of SiO2+B2O3 of 0-10%, as recited in instant claim 7.
As to claim 8, Fu discloses Example 19 (see Table 2 and above table), which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of mass percentages, 0-8% Y2O3, 0-5% La2O3, and 0-10% Gd2O3, as recited in instant claim 8.
As to claim 9, Fu discloses Example 19 (see Table 2) having a total content of Li2O. Na2O, and K2O of 7.19 mass%, which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of mass percentages, having a total content of Li2O, Na2O, and K2O of 5-35% as recited in instant claim 9.
As to claim 10, Fu discloses Example 19 (see Table 2) having a total content of MgO, CaO, SrO, BaO, and ZnO of 29.3 mass%, which reads on an optical glass comprising in terms of mass percentages, having a total content of MgO, CaO, SrO, BaO, and ZnO of 0-30%, as recited in instant claim 10.
As to claim 11, Fu discloses Example 19 (see Table 2) having a ratio of 0.50 for the ratio of TiO2/P2O5, which reads on an optical glass having a mass ratio of TiO2/P2O5 of 0.25-0.85, as recited in instant claim 11.
As to claim 12, Fu discloses Example 19 (see Table 2) having a ratio of 0 for the ratio Al2O3/TiO2, which reads on an optical glass comprising having a mass ratio Al2O3/TiO2 of 0-0.15, as recited in instant claim 12.
As to claim 13, Fu discloses Example 19 (see Table 2) having a ratio of 0.10 for the ratio of B2O3/P2O5, which reads on an optical glass comprising having a mass ratio B2O3/P2O5 of 0-0.30, as recited in instant claim 13.
As to claim 15, Fu discloses Example 19 (see Table 2) having a ratio of 0.535 for the ratio of (Li2O+Na2O+K2O)/TiO2, which reads on an optical glass comprising having a mass ratio (Li2O+Na2O+K2O)/TiO2 of 0.10-2.00, as recited in instant claim 15.
As to claim 17, Fu discloses Example 19 (see Table 2) having a refractive index of 1.7913, which reads on an optical glass having a refractive index in the range of 1.60-1.85, as recited in instant claim 17.
As to claim 18, Fu discloses Example 19 (see Table 2) having an Abbe number of 20.14, which reads on an optical glass comprising having an Abbe number in the range of 20-35, as recited in instant claim 18.
As to claim 19, Fu discloses Example 19 (see Table 2) having a partial dispersion ratio of 0.6262, which reads on an optical glass comprising having a partial dispersion ratio in the range of 0.61-0.66, as recited in claim 19
As to claim 20, since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Fu would inherently possess a abnormal dispersibility in the range of 0.015-0.055, as recited in claim 19. See MPEP 2112.
It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971).
Products of identical composition may not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655,1658 (Fed. Circ. 1990).
As to claim 21, Fu discloses the optical glass is used in optical elements such as lenses (see paragraphs [0002], [0017], [0058], and [0065]), which reads on the optical element as recited in instant claim 21.
As to claim 22, Fu discloses the optical element is used in optical instruments (see paragraphs [0002] and [0065]), which reads on the optical system as recited in instant claim 22.
As to claim 23, Fu discloses the optical instruments include photographic equipment and digital cameras (see paragraphs [0002] and [0065]), which reads on an interchangeable camera lens as recited in instant claim 23.
As to claim 25, Fu discloses the optical instruments include photographic equipment and digital cameras (see paragraphs [0002] and [0065]), which reads on an optical device as recited in instant claim 25.
Claims 24, 26-28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu, Japanese Patent Publication JP 2016-166119 A in view of Fujimoto et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2003/0053218 A1.
A machine-generated translation of JP 2016-166119 A was included with the IDS filed 21 October 2024. In reciting this rejection, the examiner will cite this translation.
Fu teaches an optical glass comprising in terms of mole percentages, 20-60% of P2O5, 10-50% of Nb2O5, 5-45% of TiO2, 1-90% of F, 0-40% of ZnO, 0-15% of B2O3, 0-30% of Li2O, 0-30% of Na2O, 0-30% of K2O, 0-30% of MgO, 0-30% of cap, 0-30% of SrO, 0-45% of BaO, 0-10% of Bi2O3, 0-10% of WO3, 0-10% of Y2O3,, 0-10% of La2O3, 0-10% of Gd2O3, 0-10% of Yb2O3, 0-10% of SiO2, 0-10% of GeO2, 0-10% of Al2O3, 0-15% of TeO2, 0-10% of ZrO2, 0-10% of Ta2O5, 0-10% of Ga2O3, 0-10% of SnO2, and 0-3% of Sb2O3. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0010]-[0014] and [0024]-[0050]. Fu teaches the optical glass has a refractive index of 1.70-2.20. See paragraphs [0015] and [0058]. Fu teaches that the optical glass has an Abbe number of 10-35. See paragraphs [0015] and [0058]. Fu teaches that the optical glass is used for various optical elements including lenses. See paragraphs [0002], [0017], [0058], and [0065]. Fu teaches that the optical elements are used in many types of optical systems including photographic apparatus and digital cameras. See paragraphs [0002] and [0065].
Fu fails to teach that the optical glass for the optical devices use cemented lenses.
Fujimoto et al. teach that objective lens systems are formed from cemented lens , including at least a first lens and a second lens. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0003], [0032], and [0045]-[0047]. Fujimoto et al. teach that the lens systems are used in various optical systems including microscope objectives. See paragraph [0003].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have an optical device comprising the optical glass and optical lens of Fu as suggested by Fujimoto et al. because the resultant cemented lens comprising a first lens element and a second lens element wherein at least one of the lens elements comprises the optical glass of Fu, would have the superior glass of Fu with the benefit of the correction of the various aberrations. Fujimoto et al. teach that using a cemented lens serves to favorably correct various aberrations. See paragraph [0046] of Fujimoto et al.
Specifically, the combination of Fu in view of Fujimoto et al. reads on the cemented lens for use in optical systems for objective lens for microscopes as recited in instant claims 24, 26-28, and 30.
Claims 26-27, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu, Japanese Patent Publication JP 2016-166119 A in view of Mikami, U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2016/0304390 A1.
A machine-generated translation of JP 2016-166119 A was included with the IDS filed 21 October 2024. In reciting this rejection, the examiner will cite this translation.
Fu teaches an optical glass comprising in terms of mole percentages, 20-60% of P2O5, 10-50% of Nb2O5, 5-45% of TiO2, 1-90% of F, 0-40% of ZnO, 0-15% of B2O3, 0-30% of Li2O, 0-30% of Na2O, 0-30% of K2O, 0-30% of MgO, 0-30% of cap, 0-30% of SrO, 0-45% of BaO, 0-10% of Bi2O3, 0-10% of WO3, 0-10% of Y2O3,, 0-10% of La2O3, 0-10% of Gd2O3, 0-10% of Yb2O3, 0-10% of SiO2, 0-10% of GeO2, 0-10% of Al2O3, 0-15% of TeO2, 0-10% of ZrO2, 0-10% of Ta2O5, 0-10% of Ga2O3, 0-10% of SnO2, and 0-3% of Sb2O3. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0010]-[0014] and [0024]-[0050]. Fu teaches the optical glass has a refractive index of 1.70-2.20. See paragraphs [0015] and [0058]. Fu teaches that the optical glass has an Abbe number of 10-35. See paragraphs [0015] and [0058]. Fu teaches that the optical glass is used for various optical elements including lenses. See paragraphs [0002], [0017], [0058], and [0065]. Fu teaches that the optical elements are used in many types of optical systems including photographic apparatus and digital cameras. See paragraphs [0002] and [0065].
Fu fails to teach that the optical glass for the optical devices use cemented lenses.
Mikami teaches that objective lens systems are formed from cemented lens , including at least a first lens and a second lens. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0223]-[0227]. Mikami teaches that the lens systems are used in various optical systems including interchangeable lens for single lens reflex cameras. See paragraph [0228].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have an optical device comprising the optical glass and optical lens of Fu as suggested by Mikami because the resultant cemented lens comprising a first lens element and a second lens element wherein at least one of the lens elements comprises the optical glass of Fu would have the superior glass Fu with the benefit of the correction of the various aberrations. Mikami teaches that using a cemented lens of a lower dispersion glass concave meniscus lens to mounted to the imaging lens closest to the objective side. See paragraph [0226] of Mikami.
Specifically, the combination of Fu in view of Mikami reads on the cemented lens for use in optical systems for interchangeable camera lens as recited in instant claims 26-28 and 30.
Conclusion
The reference CN 108975682 A by Chen et al. cited on the IDS filed 2 July 2025 is considered to be cumulative to or less than the art relied upon in the rejections above.
Specifically, Example 24 anticipates at least the compositional limitations of claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10-15.
/Elizabeth A. Bolden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
EAB
22 March 2026