DETAILED ACTION
PATH TO ALLOWANCE
Examiner respectfully suggests Applicant telephone Examiner Adams (571-270-3688) prior to filing a response to the instant office action to discuss claim amendments/clarifications in a scheduled interview to move the instant application in a Condition for Allowance. Possible considerations would be to add clarifying language to cure deficiencies under 35 U.S.C section 112(b) as this comports with Applicant’s invention.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
35 U.S.C. § 112(f)
MPEP 2181(I) discloses that a claim limitation will be presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) if it meets the following 3-prong analysis:
the claim limitation uses the phrase “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder;
the phrase “means” or “step” or the substitute term is modified by functional language, typically linked by the transition word “for” or another linking word; and
the phrase “means” or “step” or the substitute term is not modified by sufficient structure or material for performing the claimed function.
Claims 1-13 disclose limitations which are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as said limitations meet said 3-prong analysis.
Regarding Claims 1-13, a first light source configured to provide a first light is considered to read on Fig. 3 unit 310; a second light source configured to provide a second light beam is considered to read on Fig. 3 unit 310; one or more optical elements configured to transmit the first light beam is considered to read on Fig. 3 unit 330; a first light detector configured to detect is considered to read on Fig. 3 unit 330; a second light detector configured to detect is considered to read on Fig. 3 unit 330.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites ‘and to direct return light to the light detector’ (line 5) whereby ‘a light detector’ was not previously defined and whereby it is unclear if said limitation refers to ‘a first light detector’ as subsequently recited. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 recites ‘the light detector’ whereby ‘a light detector’ was not previously defined and whereby it is unclear if said limitation refers to ‘a first light detector’ as subsequently recited. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 recites ‘the combining mirror’ whereby ‘a combining mirror’ was not previously defined. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 13-15, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. (Pub. No: US 2018-0188358) in view of LIU et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020-0142039).
As per Claim 1 LI discloses A dual emitting co-axial light detection and ranging (LiDAR) system comprising (Figs. 1-7 102A-E plurality of LIDARs that each contain a detector and light source – placement about several vehicle axis [0036-0039]):
a first light source configured to provide a first light beam (Figs. 1-7 102A-E plurality of LIDARs that each contain a light source 210-n with respective beams [0028-0032]); a second light source configured to provide a second light beam (Figs. 1-7 102A-E plurality of LIDARs that each contain a light source 210-n with respective beams [0028-0032] [0049-0051]);
one or more optical elements configured to transmit the first light beam from the first light source to a target in a field of view and to direct return light to the light detector, the return light being formed by scattering the first light beam by the target (Figs. 1-7 at least one optical element unit 232-n for target object FOV of interest– scattered from surface 252 and detector 230 [0036-0039] [0049-0051]), wherein the one or more optical elements are disposed outside of a light path of the second light beam from the second light source (Figs. 1-7 102A-E plurality of LIDARs that each contain a detector and light source with respective optical elements and beams mutually exclusive [0028] [0036-0039] [0049-0051]);
a first light detector configured to detect the return light formed by partially reflecting the first light beam by at least one of the one or more optical elements (Figs. 1-7 102A-E plurality of LIDARs that each contain a detectors 230-n in line with unit 232 [0028-0032] [0036-0039] [0049-0051]);
a second light detector configured to detect return light formed from the second light beam (Figs. 1-7 102A-E plurality of LIDARs that each contain a detectors 230-n [0028-0032] [0036-0039] [0049-0051]); and control circuitry configured to mitigate a blind-zone effect (Figs. 1-7 at least 102E-F to mitigate blind spot effect [0028-0032]); return light formed from the second light beam (Figs. 1-7 102A-E plurality of LIDARs that each contain a detectors 230-n [0028-0032] [0036-0039] [0049-0051])
LI does not disclose but LIU discloses detect internally-reflected light (Figs. 1-4, 12-13 [Abstract] [0027] steering device 303 [0040]); blind-zone effect resulting from the detected internally-reflected light, based on the detected return light (Figs. 1-4, 12-13 blind spot area [0014-0015] [0027] blind spot effect awareness from at least internal reflected light [0042-0046])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include detect internally-reflected light; blind-zone effect resulting from the detected internally-reflected light, based on the detected return light as taught by LIU into the system of LI because of the benefit taught by LIU to include LIDAR blind-zone awareness and detection from potential unintended sources whereby LI is directed toward blind-zone awareness in a multi-lidar system in which blind-zones may occur under a set of given circumstances and would thereby benefit LI from the further ability to detect additional potential causes and effects of blind-zone areas to improve upon LIDAR system performance.
As per Claim 2 LI discloses The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein the first light source facilitates a longer range detection compared to the second light source (Fig.1 plurality of LIDARs 102A-E with separate light detection ranges and capabilities [0030-0031] [0070-0072]).
As per Claim 4 LI discloses The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein the second light source is configured to transmit the second light beam before the first light source transmitting the first light beam (Figs.1-3 plurality of LIDARs 102A-E with separate timings [0049-0051][0068]).
As per Claim 13 LI discloses The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein a light path of the first light beam and the light path of the second light beam at least partially overlap (Figs.1-3, 4A plurality of LIDARs 102A-E individual light beams with overlap [0013] [0028-0030] [0049-0051]).
As per Claim 14 LI discloses A method for performing LiDAR scanning using a dual emitting co-axial LiDAR scanning system comprising (See said analysis for Claim 1):
directing a first light beam provided by a first light source to one or more target objects along a first light path (Figs. 1-7 at least one optical element unit 232-n for target object for each light path for each LIDAR beam – scattered from surface 252 [0036-0039] [0049-0051]); receiving return light along the first light path (Figs. 1-7 102A-E plurality of LIDARs that each contain a detectors 230-n in line with unit 232 [0028-0032] [0036-0039] [0049-0051]); directing a second light beam provided by a second light source to the one or more target objects along a second light path (Figs. 1-7 at least one optical element unit 232-n for target object for each light path for each LIDAR beam – scattered from surface 252 [0036-0039] [0049-0051]), wherein the first light path and the second light path are different light paths that do not share one or more optical elements (Figs. 1-7 102A-E plurality of LIDARs that each contain a detector and light source with respective optical elements and beams mutually exclusive and not shared or in same light path [0028] [0036-0039] [0049-0051]);
detecting, by a first light detector, the return light along the first light path formed from the one or more optical elements along the first light path (Figs. 1-7 102A-E plurality of LIDARs that each contain a detectors 230-n in line with unit 232 with respective light paths [0028-0032] [0036-0039] [0049-0051]);
detecting, by a second light detector, return light along the second light path (Figs. 1-7 102A-E plurality of LIDARs that each contain a detectors 230-n [0028-0032] [0036-0039] [0049-0051]);
mitigating, by control circuitry, a blind zone-effect (See said analysis for Claim 1); light formed from the one or more optical elements along the first light path (Figs. 1-7 102A-E plurality of LIDARs that each contain a light source 210-n with respective beams with element 232-n [0028-0032]), based on the detected return light along the second light path (Figs. 1-7 102A-E plurality of LIDARs that each contain a detectors 230-n [0028-0032] [0036-0039] [0049-0051])
LI does not disclose but LIU discloses a blind-zone effect resulting from the detected the internally-reflected light formed (See said analysis for Claim 1); detect internally-reflected light (See said analysis for Claim 1)
As per Claim 15 LI discloses The method of claim 14, wherein the first light source facilitates a longer range detection compared to the second light source (See said analysis for Claim 2).
As per Claim 17 LI discloses The method of claim 14, wherein the second light source is configured to transmit the second light beam before the first light source transmitting the first light beam (See said analysis for Claim 4).
As per Claim 20 LI discloses The method of claim 14, wherein the first light path and the second light path at least partially overlap (See said analysis for Claim 13).
Claims 3, 5, 7-8, 16, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. (Pub. No: US 2018-0188358) in view of LIU et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020-0142039), as applied in Claims 1-2, 4, 13-15, 17, 20, and further in view of WANG et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023-0073060)
As per Claim 3 LI discloses The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein the second light source (See said analysis for Claim 1)
LI and LIU do not disclose but WANG discloses light source is a part of a flash LiDAR system (Fig. 2 [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include light source is a part of a flash LiDAR system as taught by WANG into the system of LI and LIU because of the benefit taught by WANG to include additional features, additional integrated components and system-related improvements for LIDAR systems whereby LI and LIU and both directed towards LIDAR systems and would benefit from incorporating related LIDAR improvements and features to expand upon systems’ capabilities.
As per Claim 5 LI discloses The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein the second light source is configured to transmit the second light beam (See said analysis for Claim 1)
LI and LIU do not disclose but WANG discloses light beam at a larger divergence angle (Figs. 1-2, 6A-B [0026] varying angles for the respective beams [0040, 0047]) (The motivation that applied in Claim 3 applies equally to Claim 5)
As per Claim 7 LI discloses The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein the second light source (See said analysis for Claim 1)
LI and LIU do not disclose but WANG discloses light source comprises a laser array (Figs. 1-2 laser diode bar [0026]) (The motivation that applied in Claim 3 applies equally to Claim 7)
As per Claim 8 LI discloses The LiDAR system of claim 7, configured to transmit the second light beam (See said analysis for Claim 1)
LI and LIU do not disclose but WANG discloses the laser array is configured to transmit in a time domain multiplex way (Figs. 1-2 circuit 220 [0026-0032]) (The motivation that applied in Claim 3 applies equally to Claim 8)
As per Claim 16 LI discloses The method of claim 14, wherein the second light source (See said analysis for Claim 3)
LI and LIU do not disclose but WANG discloses light source is a part of a flash LiDAR system (See said analysis for Claim 3)
As per Claim 18 LI discloses The method of claim 14, wherein the second light source is configured to transmit the second light beam (See said analysis for Claim 14)
LI and LIU do not disclose but WANG discloses light beam at a larger divergence angle (See said analysis for Claim 5)
As per Claim 19 LI discloses The method of claim 14, wherein the second light source (See said analysis for Claim 14)
LI and LIU do not disclose but WANG discloses light source comprises a laser array (See said analysis for Claim 7)
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. (Pub. No: US 2018-0188358) in view of LIU et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020-0142039), as applied in Claims 1-2, 4, 13-15, 17, 20, and further in view of KHOLOBURDIN et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022-0107409)
As per Claim 6 LI discloses The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein the second light source is configured to transmit the second light beam (Figs. 1-7 102A-E plurality of LIDARs that each contain a light source 210-n with respective beams [0028-0032] [0049-0051])
LI and LIU do not disclose but KHOLOBURDIN discloses beam at a fixed direction to fully cover the field of view (Figs. 1-2 entirely at least partially and fixed direction source 11 [0124]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include beam at a fixed direction to fully cover the field of view as taught by KHOLOBURDIN into the system of LI and LIU because of the benefit taught by KHOLOBURDIN to include even further additional features and system-related configurations and improvements for LIDAR systems whereby LI and LIU and both directed towards LIDAR systems and would benefit from incorporating related LIDAR improvements and features to expand upon systems’ capabilities.
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. (Pub. No: US 2018-0188358) in view of LIU et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020-0142039), in view of WANG et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023-0073060) as applied in Claims 3, 5, 7-8, 16, 18-19, and further in view of KHOLOBURDIN et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022-0107409)
As per Claim 9 LI discloses The LiDAR system of claim 7, wherein
LI and LIU do not disclose but WANG discloses each element of the laser array is configured (See said analysis for Claim 7)
LI LIU WANG do not disclose but KHOLOBURDIN discloses configured to partially cover the field of view (Figs. 1-2 entirely at least partially [0124]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include configured to partially cover the field of view as taught by KHOLOBURDIN into the system of LI LIU WANG because of the benefit taught by KHOLOBURDIN to include even further additional features and system-related configurations and improvements for LIDAR systems whereby LI LIU WANG and directed towards LIDAR systems and would benefit from incorporating related LIDAR improvements and features to expand upon systems’ capabilities.
Claims 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. (Pub. No: US 2018-0188358) in view of LIU et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020-0142039), as applied in Claims 1-2, 4, 13-15, 17, 20, and further in view of MIELKE et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023-017198)
As per Claim 10 LI discloses The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein the second light source is configured to transmit the second light beam (Figs. 1-7 102A-E plurality of LIDARs that each contain a light source 210-n with respective beams [0028-0032] [0049-0051])
LI and LIU do not disclose but MIELKE discloses beam at a lower peak power (Figs. 1-3, 25 lidar system 100 [0152]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include beam at a lower peak power as taught by MIELKE into the system of LI and LIU because of the benefit taught by MIELKE to include further additional configurations and improvements for LIDAR systems whereby LI and LIU and both directed towards LIDAR systems and would benefit from incorporating related LIDAR improvements and features to expand upon systems’ capabilities.
As per Claim 11 LI discloses The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein the one or more optical elements comprise a mirror configured to allow at least a part of the first light beam to travel through and to redirect the return light to the light detector (Figs. 1-7 at least one optical element unit 232-n for target object FOV of interest– scattered from surface 252 and detector 230- may contain mirror within optical element 232-n [0036-0039] [0049-0051])
LI and LIU do not disclose but MIELKE discloses a combining mirror (Figs. 1-3, 25 output 125 [0041]) (The motivation that applied in Claim 10 applies equally to Claim 11)
As per Claim 12 LI discloses The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein the one or more optical elements comprise a lens configured to collect the return light and direct the return light to the mirror (Figs. 1-7 at least one optical element unit 232-n for target object FOV of interest– scattered from surface 252 and detector 230- may contain mirror within optical element 232-n along with lens 236 [0036-0039] [0049-0051])
LI and LIU do not disclose but MIELKE discloses a combining mirror (See said analysis for Claim 11)
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Eileen Adams whose telephone number is 571-270-3688. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:30-5:00 EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, William Vaughn can be reached on (571) 272-3922. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-270-4688.
/EILEEN M ADAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481