DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4-5, 11-13, 15-26 and 29-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention or specie, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/8/25.
Applicant indicated that specie 1 includes claims 1-10, 14 and 27-28. However, claims 4-5 are directed to the embodiment shown in figure 1b and therefore are not part of the elected specie of figure 1a.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: positioning unit in claims 9-10 and 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 9-10, 27-28 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the capillary tube" and “the inner diameter of the column tube”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the claim is assumed to recite, “the capillary tubes” and “an inner diameter of the column tube”.
Claim 6 defines the inner diameter of the column tube in relation to the outer diameter of the capillary tubes. The capillary tubes are not part of the claimed invention as claim 1 is directed to a microcolumn, “…for use in a connection structure, the connection structure comprising the microcolumn and two capillary tubes…” Therefore, it is clear from the claim language that, the two capillary tubes are not part of the claimed invention. Thus, the claims are indefinite as the claims are defined in relation to structure the invention is intended to be used with.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the capillary tube". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the claim is assumed to recite, “the capillary tubes”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the capillary tube". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the claim is assumed to recite, “the capillary tubes”.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the capillary tube". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the claim is assumed to recite, “the capillary tubes”.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the capillary tube". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the claim is assumed to recite, “the capillary tubes”.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "the porous member". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the claim is assumed to recite, “the porous members”.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 1 is directed to a microcolumn, “…for use in a connection structure, the connection structure comprising the microcolumn and two capillary tubes…” Therefore, it is clear from the claim language that, the two capillary tubes are not part of the claimed invention. The positioning unit in claim 9 is disclosed in the specification as being located on the capillary tube and therefore, any limitation directed to the positioning unit is a limitation directed to structure that is not part of the claimed invention and not further limiting.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 9-10, 14, 27-28 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Michienzi et al. WO 2013/032832.
Claim 1, Michienzi teaches a microcolumn (pg. 10) comprising a column tube (24) and a packing material (28) packed inside the column tube and porous members (30) disposed within the column in contact with both ends of the packing material, the microcolumn comprising openings at both ends thereof capable of receiving capillary tubes (fig. 2-3).
Claims 2, 6-7 and 14, Michienzi further teaches the porous member comprises a porous material (pg. 10); the inner diameter of the column can be substantially the same diameter of capillary tubes (pg. 10); the packing material is a particulate packing material (pg. 8); the column tube is composed of a single tube (fig. 2-3).
Claims 9-10 do not provide any further limitations to the claimed invention.
Claim 27, Michienzi teaches a microcolumn kit comprising: the microcolumn of claim 1, capillary tubes (44a, 44b), and a positioning unit (32 or 33 or the end surface of the capillary tubes) that defines a position where the capillary tubes are received in the microcolumn (fig. 2-3).
Claim 28, Michienzi further teaches the positioning unit (the end surfaces of the capillary tube) is a stopper attached to the capillary tubes respectively (fig. 2-3).
Claim 31, Michienzi teaches a method for manufacturing a microcolumn of claim 1 comprising: packing the inside of the column tube with the packing material (28) and inserting the porous members into the column tube being in contact with the packing material (fig. 2-3).
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 9-10, 14, 27-28 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. US 2021/0172913.
Claim 1, Wang teaches a microcolumn (par 1) comprising a column tube (210) and a packing material (220) packed inside the column tube and porous members (230) disposed within the column in contact with both ends of the packing material, the microcolumn comprising openings at both ends thereof capable of receiving capillary tubes (fig. 2).
Claims 2-3, 6-7 and 14, Wang further teaches the porous member comprises a porous and fibrous material (par 41); the inner diameter of the column can be substantially the same diameter of capillary tubes (fig. 2); the packing material is a particulate packing material (par 40); the column tube is composed of a single tube (fig. 2).
Claims 9-10 do not provide any further limitations to the claimed invention.
Claim 27, Wang teaches a microcolumn kit comprising: the microcolumn of claim 1, capillary tubes (270), and a positioning unit (280 or the end surface of the capillary tubes) that defines a position where the capillary tubes are received in the microcolumn (fig. 2).
Claim 28, Wang further teaches the positioning unit (the end surfaces of the capillary tube) is a stopper attached to the capillary tubes respectively (fig. 2).
Claim 31, Wang teaches a method for manufacturing a microcolumn of claim 1 comprising: packing the inside of the column tube with the packing material (220) and inserting the porous members into the column tube being in contact with the packing material (fig. 2).
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-10, 14, 27-28 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Benevides et al. US 2011/0278214.
Claim 1, Benevides teaches a microcolumn (par 43) comprising a column tube (420) and a packing material (450) packed inside the column tube and porous members (par 83) disposed within the column in contact with both ends of the packing material, the microcolumn comprising openings at both ends thereof capable of receiving capillary tubes (fig. 4a-b).
Claims 2, 6-8 and 14, Benevides further teaches the porous member comprises a porous material (par 83); the inner diameter of the column can be substantially the same diameter of capillary tubes (fig. 4a-b); the packing material is a particulate packing material (par 100); the column tube is made of a fluororesin material (par 39-41); the column tube is composed of a single tube (fig. 4a-b).
Claims 9-10 do not provide any further limitations to the claimed invention.
Claim 27, Benevides teaches a microcolumn kit comprising: the microcolumn of claim 1, capillary tubes (432, 433), and a positioning unit (440 or the end surface of the capillary tubes) that defines a position where the capillary tubes are received in the microcolumn (fig. 2).
Claim 28, Benevides further teaches the positioning unit (the end surfaces of the capillary tube) is a stopper attached to the capillary tubes respectively (fig. 4a-b).
Claim 31, Benevides teaches a method for manufacturing a microcolumn of claim 1 comprising: packing the inside of the column tube with the packing material (450) and inserting the porous members into the column tube being in contact with the packing material (fig. 4a-b, par 83).
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-10, 27-28 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schick US 5,482,628.
Claim 1, Schick teaches a microcolumn (col. 9, lines 25-45) comprising a column tube (20) and a packing material (abstract) packed inside the column tube and porous members (36, 38) disposed within the column in contact with both ends of the packing material, the microcolumn comprising openings at both ends thereof capable of receiving capillary tubes (fig. 2-5).
Claims 2 and 6-8, Schick further teaches the porous member comprises a porous material (col. 7, lines 15-30; the inner diameter of the column can be substantially the same diameter of capillary tubes (fig. 2-5); the packing material is a particulate packing material (col. 1, lines 25-50); and the column tube is made of a fluororesin material (col. 6, line 52 – col. 7, line 3).
Claims 9-10 do not provide any further limitations to the claimed invention.
Claim 27, Schick ng teaches a microcolumn kit comprising: the microcolumn of claim 1, capillary tubes (60, 70), and a positioning unit (66, 76) that defines a position where the capillary tubes are received in the microcolumn (fig. 2-5).
Claim 28, Schick further teaches the positioning unit are stoppers attached to the capillary tubes respectively (fig. 5).
Claim 31, Schick teaches a method for manufacturing a microcolumn of claim 1 comprising: packing the inside of the column tube with the packing material and inserting the porous members into the column tube being in contact with the packing material (fig. 2-5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2023/0358705 Shimura
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779