DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/29/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 12 and have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ponce de Leon et al. (US Patent Publication Number 2008/0238780 A1) in view of Blum (US Patent Publication Number 2012/0127420 A1).
Ponce de Leon, teaches as claimed in claim 1, an antenna system (Fig 1 and 6) comprising a driven antenna element (44), a printed circuit board that carries on-board electronics communicatively coupled to the driven antenna element to communicate wireless signals via the driven antenna element (¶0019), the PCB defining a PCB ground plane (58)) for co- operation with the driven antenna element (44) in signal communication (¶0019) and a PCB extender (18) comprising a conductor electrically connected to the PCB ground plane (28) and projecting from the PCB for co-operation with the driven antenna element (44) in signal communication, Ponce de Leon fails to teach the rigid structural core such that the rigid structural core is, in cross-section, encased in the plastic synthetic material. In a related art, Blum teaches a rigid structural core (1601) of a respective body part of an electronics-enabled device (Fig. 16), the rigid structural core (1601) being of an electrically conductive metal material (¶0207 “core element 1601, which may in some embodiments comprise a conductive material and may be coupled to or disposed within the temple 1602 so as to provide a portion of a conductive path”) , and wherein each body part having a rigid structural core (1601) provided by a comprises synthetic material (1602, ¶0130 “the frame element comprises a plastic material)” supported by the rigid structural core (1601) such that the rigid structural core is, in cross-section, encased in the plastic synthetic material1 (1602, ¶0130 “the frame element comprises a plastic material), the rigid structural core (1601) being a rigid elongate element configured to define a primary skeletal structure of the respective body part (See Fig. 16), providing structural rigidity to the respective body part of the device (Fig. 16), and being configured to serve as driven antenna element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the antenna system, as taught by Ponce de Leon, with the Rigid structural core, as taught by Blum, for the purpose of providing a way to electrically isolate the electronic components from the frame (¶0028).
Ponce de Leon and Blum fail to teach providing structural rigidity and being configured to serve as driven antenna element. However, Blum teaches in another embodiment rigid structural core (1601) of a respective body part of an electronics-enabled device (Fig.16) in which the antenna system is incorporated (¶0358 “This module may comprise, for example, an antenna that may be embedded in the lenses or elsewhere in the frame (e.g. in one of the temples)”), providing structural rigidity to the respective body part of the device (Fig. 16), and being configured to serve as driven antenna element (¶0350 “ These may comprise antenna that may be disposed in the frame (e.g. a temple)” and ¶0358 “This module may comprise, for example, an antenna that may be embedded in the lenses or elsewhere in the frame (e.g. in one of the temples)”),.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the antenna system, as taught by Ponce de Leon and Blum, with the antenna system is incorporated, as taught by Blum, for the purpose of providing a way to electrically isolate the electronic components from the frame (¶0028).
Ponce de Leon, teaches as claimed in claim 2, which comprises a plurality of PCB extenders (16 and 18) electrically connected to the PCB ground plane (58) and projecting separately from the PCB.
Ponce de Leon, teaches as claimed in claim 4, wherein each of the plurality of PCB extenders (16 and 17) comprises a wire conductor (¶0020), Ponce de Leon fails to teach that forms a rigid structural core for a respectively corresponding body part of the device. In a related art, Blum teaches that forms a rigid structural core (1601) for a respectively corresponding body part of the device (Fig. 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the antenna system, as taught by Ponce de Leon and Blum, with rigid structural core, as taught by Blum, for the purpose of providing a way to electrically isolate the electronic components from the frame (¶0028).
Ponce de Leon, teaches as claimed in claim 5, wherein the driven antenna element (44) is a non-loop conductor (Fig. 6) connected at one end thereof io a signal feed (54) provided by the PCB electronics.
Ponce de Leon, teaches as claimed in claim 6, wherein the driven antenna element and the plurality of PCB extenders being housed within a body of the device (¶0029).
Ponce de Leon, teaches as claimed in claim 12, a device comprising: a device body (130), a driven antenna element (44) housed by the device body (56), a printed circuit board (PCB) that is housed by the device body (56) and that carries on- board communication electronics coupled to the driven antenna element to communicate wireless signals via the driven antenna element (¶0019), the PCB defining a PCB ground plane (58) coupled to the communication electronics for co-operation with the driven antenna element in signal communication, and one or more PCB extenders (16) housed by the body (56), each PCB extender comprising a conductor electrically connected to the PCB ground plane (58) and projecting from the PCB for co-operation with the driven antenna element (44) in signal communication, Ponce de Leon fails to teach the rigid structural core such that the rigid structural core is, in cross-section, encased in the plastic synthetic material. In a related art, Blum teaches a rigid structural core (1601) of a respective body part of an electronics-enabled device (Fig.16), the rigid structural core (1601) being of an electrically conductive metal material (¶0207 “core element 1601, which may in some embodiments comprise a conductive material and may be coupled to or disposed within the temple 1602 so as to provide a portion of a conductive path”) , and wherein each body part having a rigid structural core (1601) provided by a comprises synthetic material (1602, ¶0130 “the frame element comprises a plastic material)” supported by the rigid structural core (1601) such that the rigid structural core is, in cross-section, encased in the plastic synthetic material2 (1602, ¶0130 “the frame element comprises a plastic material), the rigid structural core (1601) being a rigid elongate element configured to define a primary skeletal structure of the respective body part (See Fig. 16), providing structural rigidity to the respective body part of the device (Fig. 16), and being configured to serve as driven antenna element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the antenna system, as taught by Ponce de Leon, with the Rigid structural core, as taught by Blum, for the purpose of providing a way to electrically isolate the electronic components from the frame (¶0028).
Ponce de Leon and Blum fail to teach providing structural rigidity and being configured to serve as driven antenna element. However, Blum teaches in another embodiment rigid structural core (1601) of a respective body part of an electronics-enabled device (Fig.16) in which the antenna system is incorporated (¶0358 “This module may comprise, for example, an antenna that may be embedded in the lenses or elsewhere in the frame (e.g. in one of the temples)”), providing structural rigidity to the respective body part of the device (Fig. 16), and being configured to serve as driven antenna element (¶0350 “ These may comprise antenna that may be disposed in the frame (e.g. a temple)” and ¶0358 “This module may comprise, for example, an antenna that may be embedded in the lenses or elsewhere in the frame (e.g. in one of the temples)”),.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the antenna system, as taught by Ponce de Leon and Blum, with the antenna system is incorporated, as taught by Blum, for the purpose of providing a way to electrically isolate the electronic components from the frame (¶0028).
Ponce de Leon, teaches as claimed in claim 13, wherein the one or more PCB extenders (16 &17 comprise a pair of PCB extenders projecting from the PCB in mutually transverse orientations (fig. 3 and 6), the pair of PCB extenders defining a pair of mutually transverse ground planes for the driven antenna clement (44).
Ponce de Leon, teaches as claimed in claim 14, wherein the driven antenna element (44) projects from the PCB in a direction transverse to both of the pair of PCB extenders (Figs. 1 & 6).
Claims 7-9, 15-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ponce de Leon et al. (US Patent Publication Number 2008/0238780 A1) in view of Blum (US Patent Publication Number 2012/0127420 A1) and in further view of Kondo (US Patent Publication Number 2014/0240474 A1).
Ponce de Leon and Blum, fail to teach as claimed in claim 7, that the device is an eyewear device, the body of the eyewear device comprising an eyewear frame defining one or more optical element holders for holding respective optical elements within view of a user when the eyewear device is worn, at least one of driven antenna element and the plurality of PCB extenders being incorporated in the eyewear frame. In a related art. Kondo discloses (in Fig. 3, 8, 10 and 11) the device (3) is an eyewear device, the body of the eyewear device comprising an eyewear frame (12) defining one or more optical element holders for holding respective optical elements (11) within view of a user when the eyewear device is worn, at least one of driven antenna element (210) and the plurality of PCB extenders (13, 206 and 207) being incorporated in the eyewear frame (12, See Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the antenna system, as taught by Ponce de Leon and Blum, with the eyewear device as taught by Kondo for the benefit of improving communication quality (¶0016).
Ponce de Leon and Blum, fail to teach as claimed in claim 8, wherein at least one of plurality of PCB extenders forms. In a related art, Kondo teaches wherein at least one of plurality of PCB extenders forms a rigid structural core (207L) of a respective one of a pair of temples connected to the eyewear frame for supporting the eyewear frame in position during wear. (Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the antenna system, as taught by Ponce de Leon, Blum and Kondo, with the PCB extenders, as taught by Kondo, for the purpose of providing a radiocommunication device having a directivity in a front surface direction of the face of a user. (¶0011).
Ponce de Leon and Blum fail to teach, as claimed in claim 9, wherein each of the pair of temples comprises a molded component formed about a rigid structural core provided by a respective one the plurality of PCB extenders. In a related art, Kondo teaches (in Figs. 8) wherein each of the pair of temples (207L and 207R) comprises a molded component formed about a rigid structural core provided by a respective one the plurality of PCB extenders (Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the antenna system, as taught by Ponce de Leon, Blum and Kondo, with the PCB extenders, as taught by Kondo, for the purpose of providing improved antenna characteristics when the mobile case is surrounded by metallic strips (¶0007).
Ponce de Leon and Blum, fail to teach as claimed in claim 15, that the device is an eyewear device, the device body comprising an eyewear frame defining one or more optical element holders for holding respective optical elements within view of a user when the eyewear device is worn, at least one of driven antenna element and the plurality of PCB extenders being incorporated in the eyewear frame. In a related art. Kondo discloses (in Fig. 3, 8, 10 and 11) the device (3) is an eyewear device (See Fig 6.), the device body comprising an eyewear frame (12) defining one or more optical element holders for holding respective optical elements (11) within view of a user when the eyewear device is worn, at least one of driven antenna element (210) and the plurality of PCB extenders (13, 206 and 207) being incorporate in the eyewear frame (12, See Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the antenna system, as taught by Ponce de Leon, Blum, with the PCB extenders, as taught by Kondo for the benefit of improving communication quality (¶0016).
Ponce de Leon and Blum, fail to teach as claimed in claim 16, that at least the driven antenna element one of plurality of PCB extenders extends along a part of one of one or more optical element holders. In a related art, Kondo discloses at least the driven antenna element (200a and 200b) one of plurality of PCB extenders extends (13, 206 and 207) along a part of one of one or more optical element holders (12, holding optical element, 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the antenna system, as taught by Ponce de Leon, Blum and Kondo, with the PCB extenders, as taught by Kondo, for the benefit of improving communication quality (¶0016).
Ponce de Leon and Blum, fail to teach as claimed in claim 17, one of plurality of PCB extenders extends along an operatively top portion of the eyewear frame, having a sideways orientation relative to a direction of view of the eyewear device. In a related art, Kondo discloses one of plurality of PCB extenders (13, 206 and 207) extends along an operatively top portion of the eyewear frame (12), having a sideways orientation relative to a direction of view of the eyewear device (3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the antenna system, as taught by Ponce de Leon, Blum and Kondo, with the PCB extenders, as taught by Kondo, for the benefit of improving communication quality (¶0016).
Ponce de Leon and Blum, fail to teach as claimed in claim 18, the device body further includes a pair of temples connected to the eyewear frame for supporting the eyewear frame in position during wear, a first PCB extender comprising a wire extending along one of pair of temples. In a related art, Kondo discloses the device body (8) further includes a pair of temples (14R and 14L) connected to the eyewear frame (12) for supporting the eyewear frame in position during wear, a first PCB extender (defined by the 206 and 207) comprising a wire (207R and 207L) extending along one of pair of temples (14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the antenna system, as taught by Ponce de Leon, Blum and Kondo, with the PCB extenders, as taught by Kondo, for the benefit of improving communication quality (¶0016).
Ponce de Leon and Blum, fail to teach as claimed in claim 19, a second PCB extender comprises a wire extending along the eyewear frame in a direction sideways relative to a direction of view of the eyewear device, such that the second PCT extender is substantially orthogonal to the first PCB extender, and wherein the driven antenna element extends along at least part of a respective optical element holder defined by the eyewear frame, the driven antenna element being substantially orthogonal to both the first PCB extender and the second PCB extender.
In a related art, Kondo discloses a second PCB extender (207L) comprises a wire conductor (defined by the signal line) extending along PCB extender (207L), a second one of pair of temples to form a respective rigid structural core for the second temple and wherein the driven antenna element (210) extends along at least part of a respective optical element holder defined by the eyewear frame (12), the driven antenna element (210) being substantially orthogonal to both the first PCB extender (207R) and the second PCB extender (207L).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the antenna system, as taught by Ponce de Leon, Blum and Kondo, with the PCB extenders, as taught by Kondo, for the benefit of improving communication quality (¶0016).
Ponce de Leon and Blum, fail to teach as claimed in claim 21, wherein the synthetic material supported by the rigid structural core comprises a polymeric plastics material. In a related art, Kondo teaches wherein the synthetic material supported by the rigid structural core comprises a polymeric plastics material (¶0046 “insulator such as plastic (e.g., epoxy resin, celluloid, acetate, or a polyamide) can be employed as materials of the rim 12 and the temple 14”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the antenna system, as taught by Ponce de Leon, Blum and Kondo, with the synthetic material, as taught by Kondo, for the benefit of improving communication quality (¶0016).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ponce de Leon et al. (US 20080238780) in view of Blum (US 20120127420 A1) and in further view of Border et al. (US 20120235900 A1).
Ponce de Leon and Blum fail to teach as claimed in claim 10, that one or more antenna components selected from the group comprising the driven antenna element and the plurality of PCB extenders comprises a thermally conductive element that is connected to the PCB to be in heat transfer relationship with one or more heat sources on the PCB, thereby to serve as a heat sink for the electronics on the PCB. In a related art, Border teaches (in Fig. 1) one or more antenna components selected from the group comprising the driven antenna element (110) and the plurality of PCB extenders (122) comprises a thermally conductive element (114) that is connected to the PCB (102) to be in heat transfer relationship with one or more heat sources on the PCB (118), thereby to serve as a heat sink for the electronics on the PCB (¶0152 & 0153).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the antenna system, as taught by Ponce de Leon and Kondo, with the thermally conductive element taught by Borden for the benefit of keeping the thermal mass of the device low per unit area (¶ 0260).
Ponce de Leon, teaches as claimed in claim 11, a rigid structural core provided by a respective PCB extenders (16, 17) comprises a metal wire connected both electrically and thermally to the PCB (defined by 58).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOURNEY F. SUMLAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
16 April 2026
/SHARRIEF I BROOME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
1 ¶0060 The frame may comprise elements such as a first and second temple.
2 ¶0060 The frame may comprise elements such as a first and second temple.