Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“ cleaning device…configured for use of compressed air and/or cleaning liquid” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, recitation of “preferably” renders the claimed invention indefinite because it is not clear what, if anything, is structurally imparted by a preference.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation of “the drives” does not have antecedent basis. It is also unclear what is encompassed by the recitation of “or the like”. It is unclear what the intended scope of the claim is based on similarities “or the like”; see section (III.) (E.) of MPEP 2173.05.
Regarding claim 5, it is unclear what is being structurally imparted by ‘the cam disc is provided in virtual form’, as the specification has a physical cam disc (2) shown in Figure 3.
Regarding claims 10 and 13, the recitation of “particularly according to the principle of a light section” in the limitation reciting “wherein the measuring device is configured as an optical scanning device, particularly according to the principle of a light section” renders the claimed invention indefinite. It is unclear what is being imparted by ‘particularly’, and it is unclear what ‘according to the principle of a light section’ imparts. Furthermore, ‘the principle’ does not have antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 11, the recitation of “a cover and/or protective housing” renders the scope of the claimed invention indefinite. As claimed, the cover and protection housing are two separate structures. However based on the specification, the cover and protective housing are one and the same; see page 5 of the specification. Therefore, it is unclear what options are imparted into the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is dependent from claim 1 and requires all the structure of claim 1, but does not antecedently reflect the structures of claim 1. Claim 12 recites “a knife” and “a mount”, both of which are recited in claim 1. Further regarding claim 12, “the sharpening process” does not have antecedent basis. It is also unclear what is being imparted by the recitation of “a difference from the predetermined cam disc profile is calculated on that basis”. Furthermore, what is “that basis”?
Regarding claim 13, “a measuring device” is already recited in claim 1, and it is unclear if claim 13 intends to impart an additional measuring device or does not properly rely on the antecedent basis established in claim 1. Claim 13 also recites “a measuring device” and “wherein that case an optical measuring device which operates…can be used”. The underlined portions create an indefinite claim scope. It is unclear how many measuring devices there are, what ‘that case’ is referring to, and what is imparted by a possibility ‘can’.
Regarding claim 14, “the predetermined guide disc” does not have antecedent basis. Furthermore, it is unclear what is being limited/antecedently relied upon in the recitation of ”these comparison values”. Additionally, “the basis” does not have antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 15, “the measurements” does not have antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 16, “the edge angle, the edge chamfer length, the edge flank angle, the edge chamfer length” do not have antecedent basis. Furthermore, it is unclear what options are imparted by the “and/or” statement, and “the edge chamfer length” is recited twice.
Regarding claim 17, “the wear state” and “the predetermined edge course” do not have antecedent bases.
Regarding claim 18, “the grinding process” does not have antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 19, “the control” and “the relevant parameters” do not have antecedent bases. Furthermore, it is unclear what is imparted by “primarily with”.
Regarding claim 20, “the control” and “the sharpening process” do not have antecedent bases.
Regarding claims 21 and 22, “the grinding process” does not have antecedent basis. Furthermore, it is unclear what is imparted by “can” and “for that purpose”.
Regarding claim 23, “the grinding process” does not have antecedent basis. Furthermore, the “one or more cleaning brushes” is in conflict with the plural “brushes”.
Regarding claim 24, it is unclear what is imparted by “can” in “can be equipped”.
Any claim noted as rejected above but not specifically/independently addressed has inherited the rejection of a base claim specifically addressed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-16, 19, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schroeder (US 2012/0309266).
Regarding claim 1, Schroeder discloses a device for sharpening edges of knives or other cutting tools with preferably a non-linear course (see Abstract and Figure 1), wherein
a mount for fixing the knife (mount 5, see [0043]),
at least one measuring device (see measuring device 13; see [0044-0048]) and
at least one grinder is provided (see grinding tool 9, grinding wheel 29; see [0051]).
Regarding claim 2, Schroeder discloses the claimed invention as applied above wherein Schroeder further discloses wherein at least one drive for radial and/or transversal movement of the knife and/or the measuring device and/or the grinder is provided (see at least drive 49, [0054-0056]; see also [0044] disclosing controlling the movement between the grinding tool 9 and blade 3, as well as rotational movement of the blade 3; see travel path III and motor disclosed in [0051]; see also linear motor 19 for moving the measuring device 13, see [0045]; see also drives 41, 43 in [0052]).
Regarding claim 3, Schroeder discloses the claimed invention as applied above wherein Schroeder further discloses wherein the drives are configured as servo-drives, pneumatic motors, hydraulic motors or the like (wherein at least [0045] discloses a linear motor, i.e. ‘or the like’).
Regarding claim 4, Schroeder discloses the claimed invention as applied above wherein Schroeder further discloses wherein a cam disc is provided for controlling the grinding process (wherein [0020] discloses a memory for determined blade edge extends; wherein [0044] discloses the extent of the blade edge 11 is automatically determined by measuring device 13, such that control 15 uses the measured blade extend to control the movement of the grinding tool and rotary blade 3; wherein [0051] disclose that the stored blade edge extent is used by the control 15 to control the movement of the grinding tool traveling along the blade edge, such that the grinding tool is tracked to compensate for the changing radius of the blade; wherein a ‘cam disc’ in the context of claim 4 is the travel path to sharpen the edge of the blade, wherein the cam disc is considered virtually stored in a memory and is used to replace copy plates disclosed in [0004] and [0008]).
Regarding claim 5, Schroeder discloses the claimed invention as applied above wherein Schroeder further discloses wherein the cam disc is provided in virtual form (wherein [0020] discloses blade edge extends can be stored in a memory, i.e. in virtual form; see also [0044], [0051], [0004], and [0008]).
Regarding claim 6, Schroeder discloses the claimed invention as applied above wherein Schroeder further discloses, wherein a cleaning device is provided (wherein there is a dressing wheel provided to remove burrs from the blade edge, see [0023]).
Regarding claim 8, Schroeder discloses the claimed invention as applied above wherein Schroeder further discloses, wherein a presser device is provided for the grinder (see dressing wheel 31).
Regarding claim 9, Schroeder discloses the claimed invention as applied above wherein Schroeder further discloses wherein a control device is provided (see control 15).
Regarding claim 10, Schroeder discloses the claimed invention as applied above wherein Schroeder further discloses wherein the measuring device is configured as an optical scanning device, particularly according to the principle of a light section (wherein measuring device 13 has a forked light barrier 17, see [0044-0048]).
Regarding claim 11, Schroeder discloses the claimed invention as applied above wherein Schroeder further discloses wherein a cover and/or a protective housing for the measuring device is or are provided (see Figure 1, wherein there is a housing surrounding the apparatus, including the measuring device 13).
Regarding claim 12, Schroeder discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Schroeder further discloses method of operating the device according to claim 1 (see Abstract and ),
wherein a knife is clamped in a mount (see Figures 1 and 2; see also mount 5 and blade 3) and initially the course of the edge by comparison with a predetermined cam disc is determined (wherein [0022] discloses a determined or predefined blade edge extent; wherein the grinding angle can be set based on the determined or predefined blade edge extent; wherein [0010] discloses detecting a blade edge extent, and determining a blade edge extent by deduction) and
then a difference from the predetermined cam disc profile is calculated on that basis and the sharpening process correspondingly regulated (see at least [0010] disclosing deducting; wherein [0020] discloses storing the determined blade edge extent, and the required blade edge extends or input blade edge extends can be stored; wherein [0022] discloses setting the grinding angle in dependence on a determined or predefined blade edge extent; see also [0044], [0049-0052]).
Regarding claim 13, Schroeder discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Schroeder further discloses wherein determination of the course of the edge is carried out by a measuring device (see measuring device 13), wherein in that case an optical measuring device which operates in particular according to the principle of a light section can be used (see [0044-0046], [0049]).
Regarding claim 14, Schroeder discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Schroeder further discloses wherein the difference from the predetermined guide disc is determined by computer and these comparison values form the basis for control of the sharpening process by grinding (see at lease [0010], [0010], [0022], [0044], and [0049-0052]).
Regarding claim 15, Schroeder discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Schroeder further discloses wherein the measuring device undertakes the measurements at discrete predetermined points (see [0011-0017]; [0047-0050]).
Regarding claim 16, Schroeder discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Schroeder further discloses wherein the measuring device determines the edge angle, the edge chamfer length, the edge flank angle and/or the edge chamfer length (see [0009] disclosing blade edge extent and blade edge angle, and the cutting edge; see [0026]; [0033]; [0054]).
Regarding claim 19, Schroeder discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Schroeder further discloses wherein the control controls and monitors the relevant parameters of the grinding process primarily with respect to pressing force, grind angle, grinding disc rotational speed and speed of movement of the knife (see at least [0054] regarding grinding angle; see [0050], as well as [0033]).
Regarding claim 25, Schroeder discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Schroeder further discloses wherein the method is used for sharpening sickle knives (see Figure 5; see also [0021]).
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brunnquell (WO20170108590).
Regarding claim 1, Brunnquell discloses a device for sharpening edges of knives or other cutting tools with preferably a non-linear course, wherein
a mount for fixing the knife (see blade holding means 2),
at least one measuring device (see at least the first and second detection means, page 3 of the English translation) and
at least one grinder is provided (see abrasive 3).
Regarding claim 2, Brunnquell discloses the claimed invention as applied above wherein Brunnquell further discloses wherein at least one drive for radial and/or transversal movement of the knife and/or the measuring device and/or the grinder is provided (in order to allow a relative movement between the abrasive 3 and / or the cleaning device on the one hand and the blade holding means 2 and the cutting blade on the other side, the device 1 comprises a drive means 6, for example one or more electric motors; the abrasive 3, the Knife holding means 2 and the cleaning device 4 are driven by their own drive means 6; one or more drive means 6 are provided such that the abrasive 3, the cleaning device 4 and the blade holding means 2 can move in all three spatial directions x, y and z).
Regarding claim 3, Brunnquell discloses the claimed invention as applied above wherein Brunnquell further discloses wherein the drives are configured as servo-drives, pneumatic motors, hydraulic motors or the like (electric motors are disclosed, see page 6 of the English translation).
Regarding claim 6, Brunnquell discloses the claimed invention as applied above wherein Brunnquell further discloses wherein a cleaning device is provided (see cleaning device 4, as well as pages 3 and 6 of the English translation).
Regarding claim 7, Brunnquell discloses the claimed invention as applied above wherein Brunnquell further discloses wherein the cleaning device is configured for use of compressed air and/or cleaning liquid (wherein the cleaning device may have a nozzle for applying a cleaning agent such as disinfectant or water).
Regarding claim 8, Brunnquell discloses the claimed invention as applied above wherein Brunnquell further discloses wherein a presser device is provided for the grinder (wherein there is a drive means 6 provided to move the abrasive 3, i.e. to press the abrasive 3).
Regarding claim 9, Brunnquell discloses the claimed invention as applied above wherein Brunnquell further discloses wherein a control device is provided (see control device 8; the cutting blade is then driven to a rotational movement and the abrasive 3 is controlled in accordance with the selected grinding program by the control device 8 so that it follows the contour of the cutting edge of the cutting blade and grinding them as desired. Furthermore, the control device 8 controls the relative movement between the blade holding means 3 and the cleaning device 4 such that the front and the back of the cutting blade are cleaned).
Regarding claim 10, Brunnquell discloses the claimed invention as applied above wherein Brunnquell further discloses wherein the measuring device is configured as an optical scanning device, particularly according to the principle of a light section (wherein the first and second detection means are disclosed as optical detection means).
Regarding claim 11, Brunnquell discloses the claimed invention as applied above wherein Brunnquell further discloses wherein a cover and/or a protective housing for the measuring device is or are provided (see housing 10, Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 12-15, 17-19, 22, 23, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunnquell (WO20170108590) in view of Holmes (US 5,609,512).
Regarding claim 4, Brunnquell discloses the claimed invention as applied above. However, Brunnquell does not explicitly teach a cam disc is provided for controlling the grinding process.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor of sharpening blades, Holmes teaches a cam disc is provided for controlling the grinding process (Col. 4, lines 26-37 and 55-57; Col. 6, lines 20-30 and 40-64; see also Col. 6, line 65-Col. 7, line 14; Col. 7, lines 26-52).
Both Brunnquell and Holmes are devices configured to sharpen blades, including blades which may be involute or different configurations, and wherein both devices employ automated control mechanisms. Holmes suggests a combined controlling mechanism for the apparatus by using both a program and a mechanical camming structure. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the cam member teachings of Holmes into the invention of Brunnquell. One would be motivated to do so in order to guide and further assist the grinding mechanism along the blade surface, thereby allowing the sharpening member to closely follow the curvature of the blade being sharpened (Col. 2, lines 23-63), i.e. reducing overall material removal waste and increasing sharpening uniformity and accuracy; see also Col. 1, lines 13-26 and 42-48.
Regarding claim 5, Brunnquell in view of Holmes teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Brunnquell further teaches wherein the cam disc is provided in virtual form (please refer to the combination statement as applied above; wherein Holmes teaches a physical cam disc in combination with control equipment including hardware and software which enables a user to input data and functions to select the proper blade sharpening program; see Col. 4, lines 26-37; see also Col. 7, lines 26-52).
Regarding claim 12, Brunnquell discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Brunnquell further discloses a method of operating the device according to claim 1 (see Abstract),
wherein a knife is clamped in a mount (see blade holding means 2).
However, Brunnquell does not explicitly teach a predetermined cam disc incorporated into the invention. Specifically, Brunnquell does not explicitly teach initially the course of the edge by comparison with a predetermined cam disc is determined and then a difference from the predetermined cam disc profile is calculated on that basis and the sharpening process correspondingly regulated.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Holmes teaches initially the course of the edge by comparison with a predetermined cam disc is determined (Col. 2, lines 45-51 discloses that a variety of cam members are provided, each being sized and shaped for a particular style and size of a cutting blade, i.e. the blade profile is compared with cam member and a cam member is appropriately selected) and then a difference from the predetermined cam disc profile is calculated on that basis and the sharpening process correspondingly regulated (Col. 4, lines 26-37 and 55-57; Col. 6, lines 20-30 and 40-64; see also Col. 6, line 65-Col. 7, line 14; Col. 7, lines 26-52).
Both Brunnquell and Holmes are devices configured to sharpen blades, including blades which may be involute or different configurations, and wherein both devices employ automated control mechanisms. Holmes suggests a combined controlling mechanism for the apparatus by using both a program and a mechanical camming structure. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the cam member teachings of Holmes into the invention of Brunnquell. One would be motivated to do so in order to guide and further assist the grinding mechanism along the blade surface, thereby allowing the sharpening member to closely follow the curvature of the blade being sharpened (Col. 2, lines 23-63), i.e. reducing overall material removal waste and increasing sharpening uniformity and accuracy; see also Col. 1, lines 13-26 and 42-48.
Regarding claim 13, Brunnquell in view of Holmes teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Brunnquell further teaches wherein determination of the course of the edge is carried out by a measuring device, wherein in that case an optical measuring device which operates in particular according to the principle of a light section can be used (wherein the combination of Holmes into the invention of Brunnquell teaches this; see at least the first and second detection means, page 3 of the English translation of Brunnquell, wherein page 4 describes an optical detection means, wherein optical detection includes light).
Regarding claim 14, Brunnquell in view of Holmes teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Brunnquell further teaches wherein the difference from the predetermined guide disc is determined by computer and these comparison values form the basis for control of the sharpening process by grinding (wherein the combination of Holmes into the invention of Brunnquell teaches this; see at least Holmes: Col. 4, lines 26-57; Col. 6, lines 20-30 and 40-64; see also Col. 6, line 65-Col. 7, line 14; Col. 7, lines 26-52; see also pages 3, 6, and 7 of Brunnquell describing the grinding program(s) and control device 8).
Regarding claim 15, Brunnquell in view of Holmes teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Brunnquell further teaches wherein the measuring device undertakes the measurements at discrete predetermined points (wherein the first detection means detects the status of the grinding apparatus in a feedback loop, i.e. at a particular point and at multiple times throughout the operation; see pages 6-7 of the English translation).
Regarding claim 17, Brunnquell in view of Holmes teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Brunnquell further teaches wherein the wear state of the knife relative to the predetermined edge course is measured by the measuring device (Brunnquell: wherein the detection means, which detects if cleaning is required, depends on the condition of the cutting blade or degree of soiling; wherein the steps of the method will be adjusted based on the signals the control device 8 receives from the detection means; see page 7).
Regarding claim 18, Brunnquell in view of Holmes teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Brunnquell further teaches wherein the knife is measured again after the grinding process and a target/actual value comparison is performed (see at least the second method step 200 which is the grinding step, is described as being carried out repeatedly in a feedback look; see page 4 of the English translation regarding grinding cycles and the first detection means; see page 9, number 10 of the English translation).
Regarding claim 19, Brunnquell in view of Holmes teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Brunnquell further teaches wherein the control controls and monitors the relevant parameters of the grinding process primarily with respect to pressing force, grind angle, grinding disc rotational speed and speed of movement of the knife (Brunnquell: see page 6 describing the cutting angle and contour of the cutting blade, as well as the position of the mechanisms in the x, y, and z directions; see also the final paragraph of page 2).
Regarding claim 22, Brunnquell in view of Holmes teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Brunnquell further teaches wherein the knife is freed of grinding residues by a cleaning device after the grinding process, wherein a compressed air nozzle and/or a washing device with cleaning liquid can be provided for that purpose (Brunnquell: see pre-cleaning step and post grinding cleaning step, described on pages 6-7, wherein the post grinding cleaning step with the solution applied via nozzles is provided to remove inorganic contaminants generated during grinding from the cutting blade).
Regarding claim 23, Brunnquell in view of Holmes teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Brunnquell further teaches wherein the knife is cleaned by one or more brushes after the grinding process, wherein the brushes can be fixed and/or driven (Brunnquell: wherein page 3 describes that the cleaning device preferably has a brush; see also pages 6-7 describing the order of the steps, wherein the cleaning is carried out in third method step 300 after grinding step 200).
Regarding claim 25, Brunnquell in view of Holmes teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Brunnquell further teaches wherein the method is used for sharpening sickle knives (Brunnquell: see Figure 1).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schroeder (US 2012/0309266) in view of Tanikella (US 2023/0182263).
Regarding claim 20, Schroeder discloses the claimed invention as applied above. However, Schroeder does not explicitly teach wherein the control uses mechanisms of fuzzy logic and/or artificial intelligence and thus optimizes the sharpening process.
From the same or similar field of devices which may be used to sharpen a workpiece (see 0191-0192]), Tanikella teaches of using fuzzy logic and/or artificial intelligence in the context of sensor data; see [0214], [0227], [0218-0220].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Tanikella into the invention of Schroeder. One would be motivated to do so in order to provide an intelligent organizational system for sensor data which would enable improved sharpening in subsequent operations over time; see [0051-0052]. The system can also provide real-time feedback to users to determine operational improvements (see [0055-0056]).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schroeder (US 2012/0309266) in view of Boesser (EP 3118575).
Regarding claim 21, Schroeder discloses the claimed invention as applied above. However, Schroeder does not explicitly teach wherein the measuring device is covered by a protective housing during the grinding process and an actuator which places the protective housing on the measuring device before the start of the grinding process and removes the protective housing again afterwards can be provided for that purpose.
From the same or similar field of endeavor, Boesser teaches a measuring device is covered by a protective housing during the grinding process and an actuator which places the protective housing on the measuring device before the start of the grinding process and removes the protective housing again afterwards can be provided for that purpose (page 5 of English translation: the measuring device 12 makes it possible to detect the knife contour; After that, if necessary, the measuring device can be moved to a protected parking position; the knife contour is stored and the device can position and move the light source and light sensing device so that the severity of the cutting edge along the entire knife contour can be determined; the light detection device may be provided with a flap which can be closed automatically at the times when no determination of the degree of severity is made. Thus, the light detection device can be protected from contamination and damage; page 6: during the cutting operation, the knife sharpening determining device can be moved away from the cutting blade or covered by a cover element, such as a flap, door or slider, so that the knife sharpness determination device is not contaminated or damaged).
Both Schroeder and Boesser are directed towards devices which employ optical light barrier measuring devices for measuring a tool, however Schroeder is silent regarding any protective coverings on the measuring device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an automated protective covering as taught by Boesser into the invention of Schroeder. One would be motivated to do so in order to mitigate damage and contamination to the measuring device (see pages 5 and 6 of Boesser), thus increasing the lifespan of the measuring device.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunnquell (WO20170108590) in view of Holmes (US 5,609,512), and in further view of Siciliano (US 5,426,895).
Regarding claim 24, Brunnquell in view of Holmes teaches the claimed invention as applied above. However, modified Brunnquell is silent regarding the material of the cleaning brush, and does not teach wherein the brushes can be equipped with plastics material bristles and/or textile bristles.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor of devices provided to clean a surface, Siciliano teaches brushes equipped with plastics material bristles (Col. 1, lines 63-66; Col. 3, lines 14-17).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the brush material as taught by Siciliano into the invention of modified Brunnquell. Both brush devices of Brunnquell and Siciliano are provided to clean the surface of an element. One would be motivated to use the material of Siciliano to ensure a functional material capable of cleaning is selected. This modification would be recognized as applying a known material, i.e. plastic filaments, to improve a similar device in the same way and would yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723