DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings received on 5/12/2023 are accepted to by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected because of the following informalities; the claim recites “(e.g. SWIR” – with a starting of parenthesis but doesn’t have any ending parenthesis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2009/0153977).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a broadband multi-line laser (refer to US 2009/0153977) comprising:
a first mirror (first dichroic mirror 24 [0024]; Fig. 3) configured to reflect a first range of wavelengths of light and pass a second range of wavelengths of light (first dichroic mirror 24 reflects the green light beam IG and transmits the red light beam IR, [0026]) such that light beams emitted from two light sources (red LED 12R, the green LED 12G, [0025], Fig. 3) directed at the first mirror at incident angles approximately perpendicular to one another (see Fig. 3) are additively combined and emitted from the first mirror (see Fig. 3);
a first laser light source (red LED 12R [0027]; light sources such as semiconductor laser, [0028]) aimed at the first mirror (first dichroic mirror 24, [0028]) and configured to emit a first light beam at at least one first wavelength (red light beam IR, [0026]) within the first range of wavelengths (red light beam IR); a second laser light source (green LED 12G, [0027]) aimed at the first mirror (24) at an angle approximately perpendicular to the first light source (see Fig. 3) and configured to emit a second light beam (green light beam IG, [0026]) at at least a second wavelength (green light beam IG) within the second range of wavelengths of light (green light beam IG) such that the first and second light beams combine into a combined light beam (see Fig. 3,); and a second mirror (second dichroic mirror 26, [0026]) configured to receive and direct the combined light beam as an output emission by the broadband multi-line laser (second dichroic mirror 26 receives the red light beam IR and green light beam IG, [Fig. 3]; combined light beam I homogenized by the light integrator rod 28 and then modulates the combined light beam to form an image beam, [0026], Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches the broadband multi-line laser according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the first mirror comprises an imaging dichroic mirror (the first dichroic mirror is configured to reflect the second light beam and to transmit the first light beam .. modulating the combined light beam to form an image beam, [abstract]. The projection lens is used for receiving and then projecting the image beam, [0009]; combined light beam forms an image beam, [0026]; imaging via the dichroic mirror which has appropriate coating can reflect or transmit certain pre-assigned wavelengths, i.e. provided by LED Laser).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 9, 10, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2009/0153977) in view of Swan et al. (US 2011/0249432).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches the broadband multi-line laser according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the first laser light source comprises a red laser light source (red LED 12R) and the second laser light source (green LED 12G).
Chen doesn’t explicitly teach the first laser light source comprises an infrared (IR) laser light source and the second laser light source comprises a visible or electro-optic (EO) laser light source.
Chen and Swan are related as device with laser diode.
Swan teaches the first laser light source comprises an infrared (IR) laser light source and the second laser light source comprises a visible or electro-optic (EO) laser light source (lighting device 600 may include an emitting end 610 containing a plurality of emitters such as IR laser, visible laser, IR LEDs, and/or visible light LEDs., [0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the broadband multi-line laser of Chen to include first laser light source comprises an infrared (IR) laser light source and the second laser light source comprises a visible laser light source, as taught by Swan for the predictable advantage of using for colored light include reduce visibility lighting and/or compatibility with certain night vision technologies, which can be overwhelmed by white light, and employing various non-visible light emitters to act as illumination sources for tasks such as navigation, observation, or other tasks that the user wants improved visibility for while using the night vision devices, as taught by Swan in [0003-0004]).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Chen teaches the broadband multi-line laser according to claim 3 (see above). Swan further teaches, wherein the IR laser light source includes at least one of a long wavelength infrared (LWIR) laser, a medium wavelength infrared (MWIR), or a short wavelength infrared (SWIR) laser (Some non-visible spectrum emitters, such as those emitting Medium Wavelength IR (MWIR), Long Wavelength or Far Infrared (LWIR or FIR) light, and Short Wave Infrared (SWIR), may be used in coordination with light-enhancing/intensifying technologies, commonly known as night vision devices (NVDs), [0003]).
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches a multi broadband laser (refer to US 2009/0153977) comprising: first mirror (mirror 24 [0024]; Fig. 3) configured to at least a first dichroic mirror (first dichroic mirror 24 [0024]; Fig. 3) configured to additively combine light emitted from two or more visible or electro-optic (EO) light sources (12R, red LED 12R, the 12G, green LED 12G, [0025], Fig. 3, electro-optic devices utilize electronic digital signals to present information and include types such as light-emitting diode (LED)); a first visible or EO light source and a second visible or EO light source (12R and 12G, Fig. 3) both aimed at the at least one first dichroic mirror (dichroic mirror 24) such that a first light beam (red light beam IR, [0026], Fig. 3) from the at least a first visible or EO light source (from LED 12R) and a second light beam (green light beam IG, [0026]) from a second visible or EO light source (from LED 12G, Fig. 3) are additively combined into a first combined light beam (dichroic mirror 26 receives the red light beam IR and green light beam IG from 24, Fig. 3); a first imaging dichroic mirror (the first dichroic mirror is configured to reflect the second light beam and to transmit the first light beam .. modulating the combined light beam to form an image beam, [abstract].) configured to additively combine light emitted from visible or electro-optic (EO) light sources (LED 12R) and at least one light source (12G, see 3) and placed to receive at least the first combined light beam from the at least a first dichroic mirror (dichroic mirror 24, [0026]); and a light source (LED 12G) aimed at the first imaging dichroic mirror (24) such that a third light beam (IB, from blue LED 12B) emitted by the light source (blue LED 12B) is additively combined with the first combined light beam by the first imaging dichroic mirror (by mirror 24) to output a multi broadband laser beam (see Fig. 3).
Chen teaches LED but doesn’t explicitly teach the LED sources comprises an infrared (IR) laser light source or a visible or electro-optic (EO) laser light source.
Chen and Swan are related as device with laser diode.
Swan teaches the first laser light source comprises an infrared (IR) laser light source and the second laser light source comprises a visible or electro-optic (EO) laser light source (lighting device 600 may include an emitting end 610 containing a plurality of emitters such as IR laser, visible laser, IR LEDs, and/or visible light LEDs., [0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the multi broadband laser of Chen to include LED light source comprises an infrared (IR) laser light source or a visible laser light source, as taught by Swan for the predictable advantage of using for colored light include reduce visibility lighting and/or compatibility with certain night vision technologies, which can be overwhelmed by white light, and employing various non-visible light emitters to act as illumination sources for tasks such as navigation, observation, or other tasks that the user wants improved visibility for while using the night vision devices, as taught by Swan in [0003-0004]).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Chen teaches the multi broadband laser of claim 9 (see above), Swan further teaches, wherein the infrared light source comprises at least one of a long wavelength infrared (LWIR) laser, a medium wavelength infrared (MWIR), or a short wavelength infrared (SWIR) laser (Some non-visible spectrum emitters, such as those emitting Medium Wavelength IR (MWIR), Long Wavelength or Far Infrared (LWIR or FIR) light, and Short Wave Infrared (SWIR), may be used in coordination with light-enhancing/intensifying technologies, commonly known as night vision devices (NVDs), [0003])
Regarding claim 16, the modified Chen teaches the multi broadband laser according to claim 9 (see above), with the first and second dichroic mirrors (see above). (the first dichroic mirror is configured to reflect the second light beam and to transmit the first light beam .. modulating the combined light beam to form an image beam, [abstract]. The projection lens is used for receiving and then projecting the image beam, [0009]; combined light beam forms an image beam, [0026]; imaging via the dichroic mirror which has appropriate coating can reflect or transmit certain pre-assigned wavelengths, i.e. provided by LED Laser), further comprising: at least a second dichroic mirror (dichroic mirror 26, [0026], Fig. 3) configured to additively combine light emitted from two or more visible or electro-optic (EO) light sources (from light sources 12R and 12G, Fig. 3) and disposed in a light path between the first dichroic mirror (24) and the first imaging dichroic mirror (26, the first dichroic mirror is configured to reflect the second light beam and to transmit the first light beam .. modulating the combined light beam to form an image beam, [abstract. The projection lens is used for receiving and then projecting the image beam, [0009]; combined light beam forms an image beam, [0026]; imaging via the dichroic mirror which has appropriate coating can reflect or transmit certain pre-assigned wavelengths, i.e. provided by LED Laser) and further configured to receive the first combined light beam (combined beam IR and IG); and a third visible or EO light source (12B) configured to direct a fourth light beam (IB) at the second dichroic mirror (at the dichroic mirror 26, [0026]; Fig. 3) such that the first combined light beam and the fourth light beam are additively combined to generate a second combined light beam (see Fig. 3, combined beam after mirror 26) that is directed toward the first imaging dichroic mirror (26) such that the second combined beam is additively combined with the third light beam (IB, Fig. 3) from the infrared light source (12B).
Regarding claim 19, Chen teaches a method for broadband multi-line laser transmission (refer to US 2009/0153977) comprising: directing at least one visible/EO laser beam from at least one visible/EO laser source (red LED 12R, beam IR, Fig. 3; light sources such as semiconductor laser may also be used in the projection apparatus 10, [0028]) toward at least one imaging mirror (dichroic mirror 24; the dichroic mirror is configured to reflect one beam and to transmit the another light beam .. modulating the combined light beam to form an image beam, [abstract]. The projection lens is used for receiving and then projecting the image beam, [0009]; combined light beam forms an image beam, [0026]; imaging via the dichroic mirror which has appropriate coating can reflect or transmit certain pre-assigned wavelengths, i.e. provided by LED Laser)); directing at least one broadband laser beam from at least one broadband IR laser source (e.g., SWIR), toward the at least one imaging mirror (24; modulating the combined light beam to form an image beam, [abstract].) for additively combining the at least one visible/EO laser beam and the at least one broadband laser beam to form a resultant multi- broadband beam (see Fig. 3, mirror 26 combining beams, beam IB from LED 12B; ); and outputting the resultant multi-broadband beam for transmission (Fig. 3 shows outputting the resultant multi-broadband beam from 26).
Chen doesn’t explicitly teach one broadband laser beam from at least one broadband IR laser source (e.g., SWIR).
Chen and Swan are related as device with laser diode.
Swan teaches one broadband laser beam from at least one broadband IR laser source e.g., SWIR, (Some non-visible spectrum emitters, such as those emitting Medium Wavelength IR (MWIR), Long Wavelength or Far Infrared (LWIR or FIR) light, and Short Wave Infrared (SWIR), may be used in coordination with light-enhancing/intensifying technologies, commonly known as night vision devices (NVDs), [0003]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the method of Chen to include broadband IR laser source (e.g., SWIR), as taught by Swan for the predictable advantage of using for colored light include reduce visibility lighting and/or compatibility with certain night vision technologies, which can be overwhelmed by white light, and employing various non-visible light emitters to act as illumination sources for tasks such as navigation, observation, or other tasks that the user wants improved visibility for while using the night vision devices, as taught by Swan in [0003-0004]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2009/0153977) in view of Greenland et al. (US 2021/0003833).
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches the broadband multi-line laser according to claim 1 (see above), with the first and second dichroic mirrors (see above).
Chen doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the second mirror comprises a fast-steering mirror (FSM).
Chen and Greenland are related as optical systems with mirrors.
Greenlane teaches the second mirror comprises a fast-steering mirror (FSM) (adding a fast-steering mirror (FSM) in place of one or more of the fold mirrors in the relay paths, [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the broadband multi-line laser of Chen wherein the second mirror comprises a fast-steering mirror (FSM), as taught by Greenland for the predictable advantage of support improvement to jitter control, as taught by Greenland (the optical system disclosed herein can support improvement to jitter control, e.g., by adding a fast steering mirror (FSM) in place of one or more of the mirrors, [0037]).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2009/0153977) in view of Diebold et al. (US 2019/0324281).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches the broadband multi-line laser according to claim 1 (see above), with the first and second dichroic mirrors (see above).
Chen doesn’t explicitly teach, the multi-line laser of claim 1, further comprising: a control circuitry communicatively coupled to the first and second laser light sources and configured to control one or more of wavelength, modulation, and on/off operation of the first and second laser light sources.
Chen and Diebold are related as optical systems with mirrors.
Diebold teaches a control circuitry communicatively coupled to the first and second laser light sources and configured to control one or more of wavelength, modulation, and on/off operation of the first and second laser light sources (each laser is configured to irradiate at discrete intervals, systems may include one or more additional components to provide for intermittent irradiation with each laser. For example, the subject systems in these embodiments may include one or more laser beam choppers, manually or computer-controlled beam stops for blocking and exposing the beam shaping component with each laser, [0070]). Light from each laser may be propagated directly to the beam shaping component or through one or more optical adjustment components. The term “optical adjustment” is used herein in its conventional sense to refer to any device that is capable of changing the spatial width irradiation or some other characteristic of irradiation from the laser light, such as for example, irradiation direction, wavelength, beam width, beam intensity, focal point and pulse width. [0062]; [0098]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the broadband multi-line laser of Chen to use a control circuitry communicatively coupled to the first and second laser light sources and configured to control one or more of wavelength, modulation, and on/off operation of the first and second laser light sources, as taught by Diebold in, [00070] for the predictable advantage of beam shaping configured to generate from a first beam of light and a second beam of light an output beam of light having a predetermined intensity profile, as taught by Dieblod in [0005].
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches the broadband multi-line laser according to claim 1 (see above), with the first and second dichroic mirrors (see above).
Chen doesn’t explicitly teach, the broadband multi-line laser further comprising: a control circuitry communicatively coupled to the second mirror to control direction of the output emission of the broadband multi-line laser.
Chen and Diebold are related as optical systems with mirrors.
Diebold teaches a control circuitry communicatively coupled to the second mirror to control direction of the output emission of the broadband multi-line laser (each laser is configured to irradiate at discrete intervals, systems may include one or more additional components to provide for intermittent irradiation with each laser. For example, the subject systems in these embodiments may include one or more laser beam choppers, manually or computer-controlled beam stops for blocking and exposing the beam shaping component with each laser, [0070]). Light from each laser may be propagated directly to the beam shaping component or through one or more optical adjustment components. The term “optical adjustment” is used herein in its conventional sense to refer to any device that is capable of changing the spatial width irradiation or some other characteristic of irradiation from the laser light, such as for example, irradiation direction, wavelength, beam width, beam intensity, focal point and pulse width. [0062]; [0098]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the broadband multi-line laser of Chen to use the broadband multi-line laser further comprising: a control circuitry communicatively coupled to the second mirror to control direction of the output emission of the broadband multi-line laser, as taught by Diebold in, [0062 and 0098] for the predictable advantage of beam shaping configured to generate from a first beam of light and a second beam of light an output beam of light having a predetermined intensity profile, as taught by Diebold in [0005].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2009/0153977) in view of Harrison et al. (US 2020/0200363).
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches the broadband multi-line laser according to claim 1 (see above), with the first and second dichroic mirrors (see above).
Chen doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the second mirror comprises a Micro-Electro-Mechanical System (MEMS) mirror array configured to beam shape the output emission of the broadband multi-line laser.
Chen and Harrison are related as optical systems with mirrors.
Harrison teaches wherein the mirror comprises a Micro-Electro-Mechanical System (MEMS) mirror array configured to beam shape the output emission of the broadband multi-line laser (beam shaping elements such as MEMS scanning mirrors, are employed to generate smart laser lighting, [0015]; The MEMS is configured to receive the laser electromagnetic radiation exited from the optical fiber and controllably deflect a beam of the laser electromagnetic radiation to desirable directions. [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the broadband multi-line laser of Chen, wherein the second mirror comprises a Micro-Electro-Mechanical System (MEMS) mirror array configured to beam shape the output emission of the broadband multi-line laser, as taught by Harrison in, [0027] for the predictable advantage of controllably deflect a beam of the laser electromagnetic radiation to desirable directions, as taught by Harrison in [0027].
Claims 11, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2009/0153977) in view of Swan et al. (US 2011/0249432), and further in view of Diebold et al. (US 2019/0324281).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Chen teaches the multi broadband laser according to claim 9 (see above), with the first and second dichroic mirrors (see above).
Modified Chen doesn’t explicitly teach, a second mirror configured to receive the multi broadband laser beam and control direction of or raster the multi broadband laser beam.
Chen and Diebold are related as optical systems with mirrors.
Diebold teaches a mirror configured to receive the multi broadband laser beam and control direction of or raster the multi broadband laser beam (each laser is configured to irradiate at discrete intervals, systems may include one or more additional components to provide for intermittent irradiation with each laser. For example, the subject systems in these embodiments may include one or more laser beam choppers, manually or computer-controlled beam stops for blocking and exposing the beam shaping component with each laser, [0070]). Light from each laser may be propagated directly to the beam shaping component or through one or more optical adjustment components. The term “optical adjustment” is used herein in its conventional sense to refer to any device that is capable of changing the spatial width irradiation or some other characteristic of irradiation from the laser light, such as for example, irradiation direction, wavelength, beam width, beam intensity, focal point and pulse width. [0062]; [0098]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the multi broadband laser of Chen to use the broadband multi-line laser further comprising: a control circuitry communicatively coupled to the second mirror to control direction of the output emission of the multi broadband laser, as taught by Diebold in, [0062 and 0098] for the predictable advantage of beam shaping configured to generate from a first beam of light and a second beam of light an output beam of light having a predetermined intensity profile, as taught by Diebold in [0005].
Regarding claim 14, Modified Chen teaches the multi broadband laser according to claim 11 (see above), with the first and second dichroic mirrors (see above).
Diebold further teaches the multi broadband laser, further comprising: a control circuitry communicatively coupled to the first visible or EO light source and the second visible or EO light source and configured to control one or more of wavelength, modulation, and on/off operation of the first and second visible or EO light sources (each laser is configured to irradiate at discrete intervals, systems may include one or more additional components to provide for intermittent irradiation with each laser. For example, the subject systems in these embodiments may include one or more laser beam choppers, manually or computer-controlled beam stops for blocking and exposing the beam shaping component with each laser, [0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the multi broadband laser of Chen to use a control circuitry communicatively coupled to the first and second laser light sources and configured to control one or more of wavelength, modulation, and on/off operation of the first and second laser light sources, as taught by Diebold in, [00070] for the predictable advantage of beam shaping configured to generate from a first beam of light and a second beam of light an output beam of light having a predetermined intensity profile, as taught by Dieblod in [0005].
Regarding claim 15, Modified Chen teaches the multi broadband laser according to claim 11 (see above), with the first and second dichroic mirrors (see above).
Modified Chen doesn’t explicitly teach the multi broadband laser, further comprising: the control circuitry communicatively coupled to the second mirror to control direction of the multi broadband laser beam.
Chen and Diebold are related as optical systems with mirrors.
Diebold teaches the multi broadband laser, further comprising: the control circuitry communicatively coupled to the second mirror to control direction of the multi broadband laser beam (each laser is configured to irradiate at discrete intervals, systems may include one or more additional components to provide for intermittent irradiation with each laser. For example, the subject systems in these embodiments may include one or more laser beam choppers, manually or computer-controlled beam stops for blocking and exposing the beam shaping component with each laser, [0070]). Light from each laser may be propagated directly to the beam shaping component or through one or more optical adjustment components. The term “optical adjustment” is used herein in its conventional sense to refer to any device that is capable of changing the spatial width irradiation or some other characteristic of irradiation from the laser light, such as for example, irradiation direction, wavelength, beam width, beam intensity, focal point and pulse width. [0062]; [0098]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the broadband multi-line laser of Chen to use the broadband multi-line laser further comprising: a control circuitry communicatively coupled to the second mirror to control direction of the output emission of the broadband multi-line laser, as taught by Diebold in, [0062 and 0098] for the predictable advantage of beam shaping configured to generate from a first beam of light and a second beam of light an output beam of light having a predetermined intensity profile, as taught by Diebold in [0005].
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2009/0153977) in view of Swan et al. (US 2011/0249432), and further in view of Greenland et al. (US 2021/0003833).
Regarding claim 12, Modified Chen teaches the multi broadband laser according to claim 11 (see above), with the first and second dichroic mirrors (see above).
Modified Chen doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the second mirror comprises a fast-steering mirror (FSM).
Chen and Greenland are related as optical systems with mirrors.
Greenlane teaches the second mirror comprises a fast-steering mirror (FSM) (adding a fast-steering mirror (FSM) in place of one or more of the fold mirrors in the relay paths, [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the multi broadband laser of modified Chen wherein the second mirror comprises a fast-steering mirror (FSM), as taught by Greenland for the predictable advantage of support improvement to jitter control, as taught by Greenland (the optical system disclosed herein can support improvement to jitter control, e.g., by adding a fast steering mirror (FSM) in place of one or more of the mirrors, [0037]).
Regarding claim 20, Modified Chen teaches the method according to claim 19 (see above), with the first and second dichroic mirrors (see above).
Chen doesn’t explicitly teach, the method further comprising: steering the resultant multi-broadband beam with a steering mirror.
Chen and Greenland are related as optical systems with mirrors.
Greenlane teaches the method further comprising: steering the resultant multi-broadband beam with a steering mirror (adding a fast-steering mirror (FSM) in place of one or more of the fold mirrors in the relay paths, [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the method of Chen further comprising: steering the resultant multi-broadband beam with a steering mirror, as taught by Greenland for the predictable advantage of support improvement to jitter control, as taught by Greenland (the optical system disclosed herein can support improvement to jitter control, e.g., by adding a fast steering mirror (FSM) in place of one or more of the mirrors, [0037]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2009/0153977) in view of Swan et al. (US 2011/0249432), and further in view of
Harrison et al. (US 2020/0200363).
Regarding claim 13, Modified Chen teaches the multi broadband laser according to claim 11 (see above), with the first and second dichroic mirrors (see above).
Modified Chen doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the second mirror comprises a Micro- Electro-Mechanical System (MEMS) mirror array configured to beam shape the multi broadband laser beam.
Chen and Harrison are related as optical systems with mirrors.
Harrison teaches wherein the mirror comprises a Micro-Electro-Mechanical System (MEMS) mirror array configured to beam shape the output emission of the broadband multi-line laser (beam shaping elements such as MEMS scanning mirrors, are employed to generate smart laser lighting, [0015]; The MEMS is configured to receive the laser electromagnetic radiation exited from the optical fiber and controllably deflect a beam of the laser electromagnetic radiation to desirable directions. [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the multi broadband laser of Chen, wherein the second mirror comprises a Micro-Electro-Mechanical System (MEMS) mirror array configured to beam shape the output emission of the broadband multi-line laser, as taught by Harrison in [0027] for the predictable advantage of controllably deflect a beam of the laser electromagnetic radiation to desirable directions, as taught by Harrison in [0027].
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2009/0153977) in view of Swan et al. (US 2011/0249432), and further in view of
Alexander et al. (US 2016/0349516).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Chen teaches the multi broadband laser according to claim 9 (see above), first imaging dichroic mirror
The modified Chen doesn’t explicitly teach a housing that encloses a volume containing the at least a first dichroic mirror, the first and second visible or EO light sources, the first imaging dichroic mirror, and the infrared light source.
Chen and Alexander are related as device with laser diode.
Alexander teaches multi broadband laser of claim 9, further comprising a housing encloses a volume containing the at least a first dichroic mirror, the first and second visible or EO light sources, the first imaging dichroic mirror, and the infrared light source (laser module 111 that includes a red laser diode, labelled “R” in FIG. 1, a green laser diode, labelled “G” in FIG. 1, [0054]; the laser module including an infrared laser diode to output an infrared light and at least one visible light laser diode to output a visible light, [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the multi broadband laser to include a housing encloses a volume containing the at least a first dichroic mirror, the first and second visible or EO light sources, the first imaging dichroic mirror, and the infrared light source, as taught by Alexander for the predictable advantage of securing the LEDs and the mirrors and capable of providing high-quality images to the user without limiting the user's ability to see their external environment, as taught by Alexander in [0004-0006] and Fig. 1).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20090153977) in view of Swan et al. (US 2011/0249432), and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2005/0275925, hereinafter Chen’925).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Chen teaches the multi broadband laser according to claim 17 (see above). Modified Chen doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the housing is further configured to include a desiccant within the volume.
Chen and Chen’925 are related as light modules.
Chen’925 teaches the housing is further configured to include a desiccant within the volume (the package, or light modulator 200, also includes a desiccant 260 positioned within the volume sealed by the casing 230, [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the multi broadband laser of modified Chen to include a desiccant within the volume, as taught by Chen’925, for the predictable advantage of absorbing and trapping moisture to maintain a dry environment
Conclusion
/R.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872