DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 08/17/2026 claims 1-20 are pending. Independent claims 1, 12, and 20 were amended by incorporating new limitations not previously presented. The dependent claims were amended to address objections presented in the Office Action dated 02/18/2026 and to ensure proper antecedent basis with the newly added limitations.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 08/17/2026, with respect to the rejections of independent claims 1, 12, and 20 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made below in view of a newly found prior art in combination with previously cited references.
Fujita teaches that the “inner state parameters” are measured “during the charge and discharge”. Those parameters are used to detect swelling, i.e. volume change. In Figs 14-15 it is disclosed that there are the standard safe and stop conditions, but here is also a “danger” condition of the swelling where the “condition-of-use” is updated. The condition of use pointed to Fig. 14 and shows that a reduced charge rate lead to better results.
The remaining arguments are moot as the applicant’s arguments for the remaining claims were based on dependency of the independent claims.
The drawing and specification objections are withdrawn in part. A plot is not claimed however charging current is claimed as a function of the volume change of the battery cells which lacks an illustration. Additionally, although the amended Fig. 6 illustrates the external power source and the detecting unit, however, blank boxes remain which do not convey their relationship in a way that could easily be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, although the applicant amended the claims to remove the structural relationship requirement of the sensors with the battery cells, the applicant still claims features with respect to these sensors which are not illustrated as claimed. The drawing and specification objections are updated below.
The claim objections are withdrawn due to the amendments.
This Office Action is made Final due to the amendments.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the detection unit, the sensors (i.e., voltage, current, pressure, temperature, and camera) and functions as outlined in claims 8-11 and 18, the external power source, and an illustration showing the charging current as a function of the volume change of the battery cells must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Additionally, the drawings are objected to because in Fig. 6 the applicant uses boxes to illustrate structural components for reference characters 612, 630, 640, and 650. These alone do not facilitate understanding of the drawings. To overcome this objection, the applicant should add more details in the drawings (e.g., clear symbols, text in the boxes, arrows with text coming off, or a legend in the drawings).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the drawing objection concerning the missing detection unit, sensors (i.e., voltage, current, pressure, temperature, and camera), external power source, and the illustration showing the charging current as a function of the volume change of the battery cells requires corresponding amendments to the specification to insert appropriate reference characters for those. Appropriate correction is required. No new matter should be entered. A marked-up copy and a clean copy of the amendments must be submitted in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 12-13, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subbaraman et al. (USPGPN 20220085635; identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) dated 05/12/2023), and further in view of Fujita et al. (USPGPN 20190198938).
With respect to independent claims 1, 12, and 20, Subbaraman teaches a method for optimizing charging of a vehicle (Fig. 13, a vehicle; abstract, a method for optimizing charging of a battery 6 in a vehicle).
Subbaraman teaches a system for optimizing charging based on swelling detection (Abstract, optimizing battery charging based on swelling detection).
Subbaraman teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium, having instructions recorded thereon for optimizing charging based on swelling detection, the instructions, when executed by control circuitry, cause the control circuitry to (Figs. 1 and 13, a BMS 8 includes a processor 10 and memory 12; ¶[4], the processor and memory store a plurality of instructions executable by the processor to optimize charging based on swelling detection).
Subbaraman teaches a detecting unit communicatively coupled to a battery pack, wherein the detecting unit is configured to detect a change in volume of one or more battery cells of the battery pack (Figs. 4-5 and 13; ¶[31] penultimate sentence; ¶[32] penultimate sentence; the sensors 54-56 (i.e., a detecting unit) are communicatively coupled to the battery pack 6, wherein the sensors 54-56 are configured to detect a change in volume (i.e., swell) of battery cells 14 of the battery pack 6).
Subbaraman teaches a control unit in electrical connection with the battery pack and an external power source (Figs. 1 and 13; BMS 8 in electrical connection with the battery pack 6 wherein one of ordinary skill understands an external power source (not illustrated) is used to charge the battery pack).
Subbaraman teaches wherein the control unit is configured to provide a charging current to the battery pack from the external power source and reduce the charging current as a function of the volume change of the one or more battery cells of the battery pack (Fig. 6; ¶[51]; in the method the BMS 8 is configured to provide a charging current to the battery pack 8 from the external power source and reduce the charging current as a function of the volume change (i.e., battery cell swelling) of the one or more battery cells 14 of the battery pack 6).
However, Subbaraman fails to explicitly teach detecting, while a charging current is being provided to a battery pack of the vehicle from an external power source; and in response to the detected change in volume and while the charging current continues to be provided from the external power source.
Fujita teaches detecting, while a charging current is being provided to a battery pack of the vehicle from an external power source (¶[40]; the inner state parameters of the vehicle’s battery are measured during charging and discharging of the battery. ¶[32]; the storage battery 1 may be of a vehicle. It is well-understood the battery is charged from an external power source).
Fujita teaches in response to the detected change in volume and while the charging current continues to be provided from the external power source (¶[43]; swelling is detected from the inner state parameters. Figs. 14-15; in the danger condition of swelling the condition-of-use is updated while the charging current continues to be provided. ¶[173, 176]; when the battery swelling risk is evaluated as danger, the charging current may be reduced by lowering the upper limit of the allowable current range to slow battery deterioration and allow continued use).
Reducing the charging current when battery swelling is detected helps lower internal heat generation and slow down gas production inside the battery cells. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have adapted Fujita’s monitoring and determination during charging with Subbaraman’s reduction of charging current when battery swelling is detected. The advantage of this being that the safety of the battery may be achieved by nondestructively examining the battery for swelling to prevent irreversible thickness of the battery (see ¶[05] of Fujita).
With respect to dependent claims 2 and 13, Subbaraman teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 12, respectively. Further, Subbaraman teaches wherein the charging current is provided at a C-rate greater than 1C (¶[69]; the C-rates used include 1C-4C (i.e., > 1C)).
With respect to claim 19, Subbaraman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 12. Further, Subbaraman teaches a vehicle comprising the system (Fig. 13, a vehicle comprising the system for optimizing charging of a battery 6).
Claims 4-11 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subbaraman in view of Fujita, and further in view of Lee et al. (USPGPN 20180006342; corresponding to USPN 10587016 identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) dated 05/12/2023).
With respect to dependent claims 4 and 14, Subbaraman teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 12, respectively. Further, Subbaraman teaches wherein the detecting unit further comprises a pressure sensor (¶[31]; sensor 54-56 include pressure sensor).
Subbaraman teaches reducing the charging current (¶[51]).
However, Subbaraman fails to explicitly teach the control unit further configured to: receive, from at least one sensor, a voltage value; compare the voltage value with a threshold voltage value; and determine whether the voltage value has exceeded the threshold voltage value; and wherein the function adjusting the charging current is based on a magnitude of the voltage value over the threshold voltage value.
Lee teaches the control unit further configured to receive, from at least one sensor, a voltage value (¶[16]; the voltage value from the pressure measuring sensor is received by the control unit 130).
Lee teaches compare the voltage value with a threshold voltage value and determine whether the voltage value has exceeded the threshold voltage value (¶[17]; the voltage value is compared with a threshold voltage value and a determination is made whether the voltage value has exceeded the threshold).
Lee teaches wherein the function adjusting the charging current is based on a magnitude of the voltage value over the threshold voltage value (Fig. 3; ¶[17]; when the voltage exceeds the threshold then the switch unit 140 is operated thus adjusting the charging current flowing from the external power source (see Fig. 3)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have adapted Lee’s sensor acquired signal compared with a threshold signal to Subbaraman’s optimized battery charging method based on swelling detection in order to compare the acquired signals with thresholds to make determination. The advantage of this being that the prevention of an ignition or an explosion due to swelling in battery cells is done so by controlling the external power source based on the measurement results (see ¶[02] in Lee).
With respect to dependent claims 5 and 15, Subbaraman teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 4 and 14, respectively. Subbaraman teaches reducing the charging current (¶[51]).
However, Subbaraman fails to explicitly teach determine the whether the voltage value has fallen below the threshold voltage value; wherein the function adjusting the charging current is no longer based on the magnitude of the voltage value over the threshold voltage value.
Lee teaches determine the whether the voltage value has fallen below the threshold voltage value, wherein the function adjusting the charging current is no longer based on the magnitude of the voltage value over the threshold voltage value (Fig. 3; ¶[19]; when the voltage value does not exceed the predetermined threshold (i.e., has fallen below) then the switch unit is closed thus the charging current from the external power source is no longer based on the magnitude of the voltage value over the threshold voltage value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have adapted Lee’s sensor acquired signal compared with a threshold signal to Subbaraman’s optimized battery charging method based on swelling detection in order to compare the acquired signals with thresholds to make determination. The advantage of this being that the prevention of an ignition or an explosion due to swelling in battery cells is done so by controlling the external power source based on the measurement results (see ¶[02] in Lee).
With respect to dependent claims 6 and 16, Subbaraman teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 12, respectively. Further, Subbaraman teaches the detecting unit further comprises a pressure sensor (¶[31]; sensor 54-56 include pressure sensor).
Subbaraman teaches reducing the charging current (¶[51]).
However, Subbaraman fails to explicitly teach the control unit further configured to: receive, from at least one sensor, a current value; compare the current value with a threshold current value; and determine whether the current value has exceeded the threshold current value; wherein the function adjusting the charging current is based on a magnitude of the current value over the threshold current value.
Lee teaches the control unit further configured to receive, from at least one sensor, a current value (¶[16]; the current value from the pressure measuring sensor is received by the control unit 130).
Lee teaches compare the current value with a threshold current value and determine whether the current value has exceeded the threshold current value (¶[17]; the current value is compared with a threshold voltage value and a determination is made whether the voltage value has exceeded the threshold).
Lee teaches wherein the function adjusting the charging current is based on a magnitude of the current value over the threshold current value (Fig. 3; ¶[17]; when the current exceeds the threshold then the switch unit 140 is operated thus adjusting the charging current flowing from the external power source (see Fig. 3)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have adapted Lee’s sensor acquired signal compared with a threshold signal to Subbaraman’s optimized battery charging method based on swelling detection in order to compare the acquired signals with thresholds to make determination. The advantage of this being that the prevention of an ignition or an explosion due to swelling in battery cells is done so by controlling the external power source based on the measurement results (see ¶[02] in Lee).
With respect to dependent claims 7 and 17, Subbaraman teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 6 and 16, respectively. Subbaraman teaches reducing the charging current (¶[51]).
However, Subbaraman fails to explicitly teach the control unit further configured to: determine whether the current value has fallen below the threshold current value; wherein the function reducing the charging current is no longer based on the magnitude of the current value over the threshold current value.
Lee teaches the control unit further configured to determine whether the current value has fallen below the threshold current value, wherein the function reducing the charging current is no longer based on the magnitude of the current value over the threshold current value (Fig. 3; ¶[19]; when the current value does not exceed the predetermined threshold (i.e., has fallen below) then the switch unit is closed thus the charging current from the external power source is no longer based on the magnitude of the current value over the threshold current value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have adapted Lee’s sensor acquired signal compared with a threshold signal to Subbaraman’s optimized battery charging method based on swelling detection in order to compare the acquired signals with thresholds to make determination. The advantage of this being that the prevention of an ignition or an explosion due to swelling in battery cells is done so by controlling the external power source based on the measurement results (see ¶[02] in Lee).
With respect to dependent claims 8 and 18, Subbaraman teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 12, respectively. Subbaraman teaches reducing the charging current (¶[51]).
However, Subbaraman fails to explicitly teach wherein the detecting the change in volume comprises receiving, from at least a first pressure measuring sensor, a voltage or current value corresponding to a pressure applied by the one or more battery cells, and wherein the reducing the charging current comprises reducing the charging current, while the charging current continues to be provided to the battery pack from the external power source, by an amount determined by a magnitude of the voltage or current value over a threshold value.
Lee teaches wherein the detecting the change in volume comprises receiving, from at least a first pressure measuring sensor, a voltage or current value corresponding to a pressure applied by the one or more battery cells (Fig. 3; ¶[60]; a pressure measuring sensor 121 may be inserted into the space formed by the one or more battery cells 110 while corresponding to the space one to one and output a voltage or current value corresponding to the pressure).
Lee teaches wherein the adjusting the charging current comprises adjusting the charging current, while the charging current continues to be provided to the battery pack from the external power source, by an amount determined by a magnitude of the voltage or current value over a threshold value (Fig. 3; ¶[17]; when the voltage exceeds the threshold then the switch unit 140 is operated thus adjusting the charging current flowing from the external power source (see Fig. 3)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have adapted Lee’s sensor acquired signal compared with a threshold signal to Subbaraman’s optimized battery charging method based on swelling detection in order to compare the acquired signals with thresholds to make determination. The advantage of this being that the prevention of an ignition or an explosion due to swelling in battery cells is done so by controlling the external power source based on the measurement results (see ¶[02] in Lee).
With respect to claim 9, Subbaraman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 8. However, Subbaraman fails to explicitly teach wherein the change in volume is further detected from a second voltage or current value received from a second pressure measuring sensor, the second voltage or current value corresponding to a pressure applied by an outermost battery cell among the one or more battery cells.
Lee teaches wherein the change in volume is further detected from a second voltage or current value received from a second pressure measuring sensor, the second voltage or current value corresponding to a pressure applied by an outermost battery cell among the one or more battery cells (Fig. 3; ¶[60]; a second pressure measuring sensor 121 may also be inserted into a space formed by the outermost battery cell among the one or more battery cells 110 and an inner wall of the battery pack and output a voltage or current value corresponding to the pressure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have adapted Lee’s sensor acquired signal compared with a threshold signal to Subbaraman’s optimized battery charging method based on swelling detection in order to compare the acquired signals with thresholds to make determination. The advantage of this being that the prevention of an ignition or an explosion due to swelling in battery cells is done so by controlling the external power source based on the measurement results (see ¶[02] in Lee).
With respect to claim 10, Subbaraman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Subbaraman teaches a first temperature measuring sensor (¶[32]; a temperature sensor).
Subbaraman teaches reducing the charging current (¶[51]).
However, Subbaraman fails to explicitly teach the detecting the change in volume comprises receiving, from at least a sensor, a voltage or current value corresponding to a sensed value of the one or more battery cells, and wherein the reducing the charging current comprises reducing the charging current, while the charging current continues to be provided to the battery pack from the external power source, by an amount determined by a magnitude of the voltage or current value over a threshold value.
Lee teaches the detecting the change in volume comprises receiving, from at least a sensor, a voltage or current value corresponding to a sensed value of the one or more battery cells, (Fig. 3; ¶[60]; a pressure measuring sensor 121 may be inserted into the space formed by the one or more battery cells 110 while corresponding to the space one to one and output a voltage or current value corresponding to the pressure).
Lee teaches wherein the adjusting the charging current comprises adjusting the charging current, while the charging current continues to be provided to the battery pack from the external power source, by an amount determined by a magnitude of the voltage or current value over a threshold value (Fig. 3; ¶[17]; when the voltage exceeds the threshold then the switch unit 140 is operated thus adjusting the charging current flowing from the external power source (see Fig. 3)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have adapted Lee’s sensor acquired signal compared with a threshold signal to Subbaraman’s optimized battery charging method based on swelling detection in order to compare the acquired signals with thresholds to make determination. The advantage of this being that the prevention of an ignition or an explosion due to swelling in battery cells is done so by controlling the external power source based on the measurement results (see ¶[02] in Lee).
With respect to claim 11, Subbaraman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Subbaraman teaches the detecting the change in volume comprises receiving, from at least a first camera sensor, a voltage or current value corresponding to at least one dimension measured from the one or more battery cells (¶[31]; a displacement sensor (i.e., a camera sensor that measures one dimension) is provided in a space of battery cells 14 and is configured to measure displacement (i.e., one dimension from the battery cell 14). One of ordinary skill understands the displacement sensor converts displacement into a voltage or current value corresponding to the dimension measured).
Subbaraman teaches wherein the reducing the charging current comprises reducing the charging current in a plurality of successive constant current stages (¶[51]; the charging current is reduced in subsequent charging profiles).
However, Subbaraman fails to explicitly teach a current magnitude of being determined by a magnitude of the voltage or current value over a threshold value.
Lee teaches a current magnitude determined by a magnitude of the voltage or current value over a threshold value (Fig. 3; ¶[17]; the current is compared with a threshold in which one of ordinary skill may determine the magnitude of the current).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subbaraman in view of Fujita, and further in view of Mehta et al. (USPGPN 20110156661; identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) dated 05/12/2023).
With respect to claim 3, Subbaraman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Subbaraman fails to explicitly teach wherein the function that describes the charging current is a Multi-Stage Constant Current-Constant Voltage, MSCC-CV, function.
Mehta teaches wherein the function that describes the charging current is a Multi-Stage Constant Current-Constant Voltage, MSCC-CV, function (Fig. 1; a two-step CC-CV charging current function).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have adapted Mehta’s MSCC-CV charging current profile to Subbaraman’s optimized battery charging method based on swelling detection in order to include multi-stage constant-current constant-voltage charging profiles to the charging method. The advantage of this being that one or more intermediate charging stages are inserted in order to improve charging rate without degrading battery performance (see ¶[19] of Mehta).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The additional prior art identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) were considered by the examiner, however, for examination purposes were not relied upon for citation purposes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859