DETAILED ACTION
I. This office action is in response to the correspondence filed on May 12, 2023. Claims 1-20 are pending.
II. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Election/Restrictions
III. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims, i.e. claims 1-15, in the reply filed on March 14, 2026 is acknowledged.
Allowable Subject Matter
IV. Claim 5-9 may be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 may be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
V. Claims 1-9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the steps
“a) determining, according to a system information message broadcast by the base station, a base location of the base station or an antenna of the base station;
b) determining, according to a further system information message, a downlink beam width comprising an angular width of a transmission beam used by the base station;
c) determining, with a GNSS (global navigation satellite system) receiver, a first location of the mobile wireless user device;
d) determining, with a speedometer, a first speed of the mobile wireless user device;
e) determining, with an electronic compass, a first direction of the mobile wireless user device; and
f) transmitting, to the base station, a first message indicating the first location, the first speed, and the first direction” in lines 3-16.
It is unclear how the base station steps of: “a) determining, according to a system information message broadcast by the base station, a base location of the base station or an antenna of the base station; b) determining, according to a further system information message, a downlink beam width comprising an angular width of a transmission beam used by the base station”
are related to the mobile wireless user device steps of: “c) determining, with a GNSS (global navigation satellite system) receiver, a first location of the mobile wireless user device; d) determining, with a speedometer, a first speed of the mobile wireless user device; e) determining, with an electronic compass, a first direction of the mobile wireless user device; and f) transmitting, to the base station, a first message indicating the first location, the first speed, and the first direction”.
The limitations render the claim indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 2-9 are dependent on claim 1 and are rejected for indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasons given above regarding claim 1.
Claim 13 recites “a second angle” in line 4. It is unclear whether the “second angle” in line 4 refers to the second angle in line 6 of claim 12 or some other angle. The limitation renders the claim indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
The following prior art rejection is based on the best possible interpretation of the claim language in light of the above rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
VI. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jassal et al. (US 2022/0060238 A1) in view of Monir et al. (US 2021/0312657 A1), Hovey et al. (US 2021/0235246 A1); and Akkarakaran et al. (US 2019/0369201 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Jassal teaches a) determining, a base location of the base station or an antenna of the base station (see paragraph [0078] & [0080], Determining where to locate the TRP. TRP refers to a base station (see paragraph [0049]). This reads on determining, a base location of the base station or an antenna of the base station); c) determining a first location of the mobile wireless user device; f) transmitting, to the base station, a first message indicating the first location (see paragraphs [0069] – [0070] & [0075], GPS coordinates of the UE may be transmitted to the TRP. The UE transmits a positioning reference signal to the TRP. The GPS and positioning references are used to locate the UE. This reads on determining a first location of the mobile wireless user device; f) transmitting, to the base station, a first message indicating the first location).
Jassal does not teach c) determining, with a GNSS (global navigation satellite system) receiver, the first location of the mobile wireless user device; d) determining a first speed of the mobile wireless user device; e) determining a first direction of the mobile wireless user device; and f) transmitting, to the base station, a first message indicating the first location, the first speed, and the first direction.
Monir teaches c) determining, with a GNSS (global navigation satellite system) receiver, the first location of the mobile wireless user device (see paragraph [0025], A user device may send a GNSS location of the user device and this reads on determining, with a GNSS (global navigation satellite system) receiver, the first location of the mobile wireless user device); d) determining, a first speed of the mobile wireless user device; e) determining a first direction of the mobile wireless user device; and f) transmitting, to the base station, a first message indicating the first location, the first speed, and the first direction (see paragraph [0025], The user device may transmit information including the GNSS location of the user device, a direction of user device and a speed of the user device. This reads on determining, a first speed of the mobile wireless user device; e) determining a first direction of the mobile wireless user device; and f) transmitting, to the base station, a first message indicating the first location, the first speed, and the first direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make Jassal adapt to include determining, with a GNSS (global navigation satellite system) receiver, the first location of the mobile wireless user device; d) determining a first speed of the mobile wireless user device; e) determining a first direction of the mobile wireless user device; and f) transmitting, to the base station, a first message indicating the first location, the first speed, and the first direction because the speed and direction of the user device would allow for the location to be more accurately determined over time (see Monir, paragraph [0025]) providing for a more reliable communication between the user device and base station device.
Jassal and Monir do not teach determining with a speedometer the first speed and determining, with an electronic compass the first direction.
Hovey teaches determining with a speedometer the first speed and determining, with an electronic compass the first direction (see paragraph [0091], One or more sensors to provide information related to the state and/or environment of the UE such as speed and compass heading. The one or more sensors including speedometer and a compass. This reads on determining with a speedometer the first speed and determining, with an electronic compass the first direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the Jassal and Monir combination adapt to include determining with a speedometer the first speed and determining, with an electronic compass the first direction because a speedometer and compass are well-known to provide determinations of speed and direction (see Hovey, above).
Jassal, Monir, and Hovey do not teach a) determining, according to a system information message broadcast by the base station, a base location of the base station or an antenna of the base station; and b) determining, according to a further system information message, a downlink beam width comprising an angular width of a transmission beam used by the base station.
Akkarakaran teaches determining, according to a system information message broadcast by the base station, a base location of the base station or an antenna of the base station (see paragraphs [0106] & [0122] – [0124], The base station can detect a new position and perform a SIB/RRC update with new latitude and longitude. The mobile base station may signal, via a wireless network, the current position of the mobile base station. This reads on determining, according to a system information message broadcast by the base station, a base location of the base station or an antenna of the base station); and determining, according to a further system information message, a downlink beam width comprising an angular width of a transmission beam used by the base station (see paragraph [0115], The network node may determine one or mor parameters associated with a beam. The one or more parameters include a beamwidth. The one or more parameters may be transmitted to a UE. This reads on determining, according to a further system information message, a downlink beam width comprising an angular width of a transmission beam used by the base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Jassal, Monir, and Hovey combination adapt to include a) determining, according to a system information message broadcast by the base station, a base location of the base station or an antenna of the base station; and b) determining, according to a further system information message, a downlink beam width comprising an angular width of a transmission beam used by the base station because would allow for a well-known and efficient mechanism for updating location of the base station (see Akkarakaran, paragraph [0002]) for more improved network communication.
Regarding claim 2 Monir teaches wherein the first message is transmitted according to 5G or 6G technology (see paragraphs [0025] & [0065], The user device location, direction, and speed transmission may be over a 5G network. This reads on herein the first message is transmitted according to 5G or 6G technology).
Regarding claim 3 Akkarakaran teaches wherein the base location is indicated in an SSB (synchronization signal block) message (see paragraphs [0106] & [0122] – [0124], The base station can detect a new position and perform a SIB/RRC update with new latitude and longitude. The mobile base station may signal, via a wireless network, the current position of the mobile base station. This reads on wherein the base location is indicated in an SSB (synchronization signal block) message).
Regarding claim 4 Jassal teaches wherein the first message is transmitted in an uplink transmission beam aimed toward the base location from the first location (see paragraphs [0069] – [0070], GPS coordinates and positioning reference signals are transmitted from the UE to the TRP (base station). This reads on wherein the first message is transmitted in an uplink transmission beam aimed toward the base location from the first location).
VII. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jassal et al. (US 2022/0060238 A1) in view of Monir et al. (US 2021/0312657 A1).
Regarding claim 10 Jassal teaches non-transitory computer-readable media (see paragraph [0184]) in a base station (120a, Fig. 1) of a wireless network (see Fig. 1) comprising user devices (ED 110a, Fig. 1), the media containing instructions that, when executed by a computing environment, cause a method to be performed (see paragraph [0184]), the method comprising: a) determining a direction of geographical north (see paragraph [0090], The origin for the azimuth angle measurement may be defined in relation to a particular direction such as North. This indicates the direction of North is known or determined and reads on determining a direction of geographical north); b) determining a base location comprising a location of the base station or the base station's antenna (see paragraphs [0077] & [0078], If the NT-TRP is to communicate with a particular UE. The network may determine where to specifically locate the NT-TRP in relation to that UE. TRP refers to a base station (see paragraph [0049]). This reads on determining a base location comprising a location of the base station or the base station's antenna); c) receiving a message from a user device, the message indicating a first location of the user device (see paragraphs [0069] – [0070] & [0075], GPS coordinates of the UE may be transmitted to the TRP. The UE transmits a positioning reference signal to the TRP. This reads on receiving a message from a user device, the message indicating a first location of the user device), d) calculating, according to the first location and the base location, a first angle toward the user device relative to geographical north (see paragraph [0092], Based on the location of the UE and TRP, the network determines a beam direction between UE and TRP (origin for the azimuth angle measurement defined in relation to North (see paragraph [0090])). This reads on calculating, according to the first location and the base location, a first angle toward the user device relative to geographical north); e) preparing a transmission beam aimed according to the first angle; and f) transmitting a first message to the user device using the transmission beam (see paragraphs [0092] – [0093] and Fig. 12, The UE implements receive beamforming having a receive beam pointed in the direction of the determined beam direction. Using the receive beam, the UE may then attempt to receive a transmission from the TRP. This reads on e) preparing a transmission beam aimed according to the first angle; and f) transmitting a first message to the user device using the transmission beam).
Jassal does not specifically teach the message indicating a first speed of the user device, and a first direction of the user device.
Monir teaches receiving a message from a user device, the message indicating a first speed of the user device, and a first direction of the user device (see paragraph [0025], The user device may transmit information including a direction of user device and speed. This reads on receiving a message from a user device, the message indicating a first speed of the user device, and a first direction of the user device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the message in Jassal adapt to include a first speed of the user device, and a first direction of the user device because the speed and direction of the user device would allow for the location to be more accurately determined over time (see Monir, paragraph [0025]) providing for a more reliable communication between the user device and base station device.
VIII. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jassal et al. (US 2022/0060238 A1) in view of Monir et al. (US 2021/0312657 A1) and Akkarakaran et al. (US 2019/0369201 A1).
Regarding claim 11 Jasssal and Monir teach the non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 10 except for a) before receiving the message form the user device, broadcasting an SSB (synchronization signal block) message comprising an indication of the base location.
Akkarakaran teaches before receiving the message form the user device, broadcasting an SSB (synchronization signal block) message comprising an indication of the base location (see paragraphs [0106] & [0122] – [0124], The base station can detect a new position and perform a SIB/RRC update with new latitude and longitude. The mobile base station may signal, via a wireless network, the current position of the mobile base station. This reads on a) before receiving the message form the user device, broadcasting an SSB (synchronization signal block) message comprising an indication of the base location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the message in the Jassal and Monir combination adapt to include a) before receiving the message form the user device, broadcasting an SSB (synchronization signal block) message comprising an indication of the base location because it would allow for a well-known and efficient mechanism for updating location of the base station (see Akkarakaran, paragraph [0002]).
IX. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jassal et al. (US 2022/0060238 A1) in view of Monir et al. (US 2021/0312657 A1) and Dai et al. (US 2021/0250938 A1, including WO 2019/234059 A1, Publication Date December 12, 2019).
Regarding claim 12 Jassal and Monir teach the limitation as recited in claim 12 including a) waiting a first interval; b) calculating a second location according to the first location and the first interval (see Jassal, paragraphs [0069] – [0070] and [0072], Determining the location of the UE using received GPS coordinates or positioning data, then tracking a UE’s previous one or more locations, and based on the tracking data, predicting the next or current location of the UE reads on a) waiting a first interval; b) calculating a second location according to the first location and the first interval); the first speed and first direction can be used to calculate a location the UE has moved to (see Monir, paragraph [0025], The user device may transmit information including a direction of user device and speed. This reads on receiving a message from a user device, the message indicating a first speed of the user device, and a first direction of the user device) and except for c) calculating a second angle according to the second location; d) preparing a second transmission beam aimed according to the second angle; and e) transmitting a second message according to the second transmission beam.
Dai teaches c) calculating a second angle according to the second location; d) preparing a second transmission beam aimed according to the second angle; and e) transmitting a second message according to the second transmission beam (see paragraph [0022], The base station transmits a second plurality of beams about its overall coverage area, with each beam of the second plurality of beams having a second width. Each beam of the second plurality of beams subtends a second angle. This reads on c) calculating a second angle according to the second location; d) preparing a second transmission beam aimed according to the second angle; and e) transmitting a second message according to the second transmission beam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Jassal and Monir combination adapt to include calculating a second angle according to the second location; d) preparing a second transmission beam aimed according to the second angle; and e) transmitting a second message according to the second transmission beam because it would allow for beam adjusting that is relative to changing conditions in the network such as changing location of UE (see Dai, paragraph 0025]).
X. Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jassal et al. (US 2022/0060238 A1) in view of Monir et al. (US 2021/0312657 A1) and Zhou et al. (US 2020/0403738 A1).
Regarding claim 14 Jassal and Monir teach the limitation as recited in claim 12 except for a) upon failing to receive an acknowledgment message to the second transmission, retransmitting the second message non-directionally.
Zhou teaches upon failing to receive an acknowledgment message to the second transmission, retransmitting the second message non-directionally (see paragraph [0099], When an initial transmission and/or a retransmission during a data exchange cycle is unsuccessful, the base station and the UE may perform a beam sweep using a plurality of inactive beam. The transmission failure may be identified based on a feedback response (e.g., a negative acknowledgement (NACK)) associated with a downlink transmission received from the base station or based on a failure to successfully transmit an uplink data message to the base station. The base station and the UE may retransmit the failed transmission using the identified beams. This reads on upon failing to receive an acknowledgment message to the second transmission, retransmitting the second message non-directionally).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Jassal and Monir combination adapt to include a) upon failing to receive an acknowledgment message to the second transmission, retransmitting the second message non-directionally because can reduce latency by efficient identifying beams for re-transmission (see Zhou, above).
Regarding claim 15 Zhou teaches a) then, upon failing to receive an acknowledgement message to the non-directional transmission, determining that the user device has moved out of range of the base station (see paragraphs [0069] & [0099], UEs outside the geographic coverage area of a base station may be unable to receive transmission from a base station. A transmission failure may be identified based on a failure to successfully transmit an uplink data message to the base station. The which indicates the base station is out or range. This reads on a) then, upon failing to receive an acknowledgement message to the non-directional transmission, determining that the user device has moved out of range of the base station).
Conclusion
XI. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Orendorff et al. Pub. No.: US 2022/0066047 A1 discloses localization using bearing from environmental features including determining a location, speed, and direction of a recipient of a signal (see paragraph [0022]).
Tao et al. WO 2015/090353 A1 discloses methods and devices for adjusting beam width in a wireless communication system including adjusting beam shape of an antenna beam in a radio link between a first communication device and a second communication device (see abstract and Fig. 2D), wherein the beam shape is adjustable based speed information (see pages 8 & 24 and Fig. 8A & 8B).
/BRANDON J MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
April 30, 2026