Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 6/27/2025 has been received; Claims 1-14 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labbe (US 2005/0198867) in view of Beers (USPN 10,046,942).
Regarding Claim 1, Labbe discloses a lacing engine for an article of footwear (Figures 1-7C), comprising: a transmission (8, 16 & 17, actuators); a lace spool (2, 3 & 11), operatively coupled to the transmission (Para. 34 & 35), including a top lace groove (200/210) in a top surface (top, see annotated Figure 7A below) of the lace spool (Figure 7A), a circumferential channel (channel, see annotated Figure 7A below), wherein the top lace groove is accessible from the top surface (Figure 7A); wherein the lace is configured to be inserted in the top lace groove (Para. 35, lines 24-26) and be taken up around the circumferential channel based on a turning of the lace spool from action by the transmission (Para. 34 & 35); and a fastener (4, 5, 19 & 400), configured to couple the lace spool to the transmission (Figure 7A), inserted into the lace spool via the top surface (4 & 5, are inserted onto the top surface, Figure 7A), the fastener having a head (head, see annotated Figure 7A below) having a head width sufficient to partially cover the top lace groove (Figure 7A), leaving a top gap (gap, see annotated Figure 3 below) having a gap width less than a thickness of the lace (Figures 3 & 7A).
Labbe does not specifically disclose a motor & a transmission, operatively coupled to the motor. However, Beers discloses the use of a motor (Col. 6, lines 50-58& Col. 28, liens 39-47) wherein a transmission is operatively coupled to the motor (Col. 6, lines 50-58, “winds and unwinds the spool in response to various inputs or controls”, Col. 21, lines 55-57, Col. 25, lines 3-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a motor, as taught by Beers, to the manual transmission of Labbe in order to provide automated shoe lacing use haptic controls such as the use of weight.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Labbe and Beers disclose the head has a circular shape (see annotated Figure 7A below) that aligns with and covers in part a curved portion (curve, see annotated Figure 7A below) of the top lace groove.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Labbe and Beers disclose the top lace groove includes straight portions (straight portion, see annotated Figure 7A below) between an edge of the lace spool and the curved portion (Figure 7A).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Labbe and Beers disclose the lace enters the top lace groove at the straight portions of the top lace groove (enters, see annotated Figure 7A below).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Labbe and Beers disclose the top surface includes two rounded edges (round, see annotated Figure 7A below) between two truncated edges (truncated, see annotated Figure 7A below), and wherein the top lace groove extends between the two rounded edges (Figure 7A).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Labbe and Beers disclose the bottom surface further comprises a bottom flange (flange, see annotated Figure 7A below) and wherein the circumferential channel is formed between the bottom flange and the top surface (Figures 7A).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Labbe and Beers disclose the fastener is a screw (4, power screw).
Regarding claim 8-14, if a prior art, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily describe a device capable of performing the steps of the method or process, then the device claimed will be considered to be inherent by the prior art process or method. When the prior art process or method is the same as a process or method described in the specification for describing the claimed device, it can be assumed the process or method will inherently describe the claimed device capable of performing the different steps of the process or method. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). MPEP 2112.02
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as discussed supra.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHARINE G KANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732