DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0214198 (Hsu).
With regards to claim 1, Hsu discloses a system for tool tracking and guidance with IMU comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1A-8B, a method comprising determining, via processing circuitry 150 (e.g. processing subsystem; paragraph [0028]), a relative position (e.g. position of tip of the tool; paragraph [0066]-[0068]; Figures 5C,5D,6) of a tip 602 (e.g. contact tip; paragraph [0068]) of a welding-type tool 102 (e.g. the tool can be a welding torch; paragraph [0026]) relative to a sensor system 106 (e.g. IMU; paragraph [0027]) attached to, or integrated with, the welding-type tool (e.g. observed in Figure 1), based on first sensor data (e.g. aim of the tool measure the position of the tip of the tool; paragraph [0066]; Figure 5C) detected by the sensor system during a first time period t1 (e.g. when the tool travels around the pipe at time instant t1; paragraph [0026]; Figure 1); tracking, via the processing circuitry 150, positions of the tip (e.g. positions of the tip in the Y-direction; Figures 5A-5D,6; paragraphs [0027],[0066],[0068]) of the welding-type tool 102 during a second time period t2 (e.g. when the tool travels around the pipe at time instant t2; paragraph [0026]; Figure 1) and a tool orientation (e.g. orientation of the tool; Figures 5A-5D; paragraphs [0027],[0059,[0066],[0072]) of the welding-type tool 102 during the second time period t2, using second sensor data (e.g. travel speed, work angle, travel angle; paragraph [0072]) detected during the second time period t2 by the sensor system 106 attached to, or integrated with, the welding-type tool (e.g. as observed in Figure 1); determining, via the processing circuitry 150, a first joint characteristic vector (e.g. any vector related to the joint, like weld direction, weld position, weld size; paragraphs [0026],[0027],[0030],[0039],[0066],[0068], [0072]) based on the positions of the tip of the welding-type tool 102 during the second time period t2; identifying, via the processing circuitry 150, a first welding technique parameter value (e.g. torch angle, travel angle; paragraphs [0026],[0027],[0030],[0039],[0066], [0068],[0072]) based on the first joint characteristic vector and the tool orientation of the welding-type tool 102 during the second time period t2 or a third time period t3 (e.g. when the tool travels around the pipe at time instant t2; paragraph [0026]; Figure 1). (See, paragraphs [0024] to [0081]).
With regards to claim 2, Hsu further discloses determining, via the processing circuitry 150, a second joint characteristic vector (e.g. any vector related to the joint, like weld direction, weld position, weld size; paragraphs [0026],[0027], [0030],[0039],[0066],[0068],[0072]) based on the second sensor data or third sensor data (e.g. data from accelerometers, gyroscope, GPS; paragraphs [0024],[0027]) detected by the sensor system 106 during the third time period t3; identifying, via the processing circuitry 150, a second welding technique parameter value (e.g. torch angle, travel angle; paragraphs [0026],[0027],[0030],[0039],[0066], [0068],[0072]) based on the second joint characteristic vector and the tool orientation of the welding-type tool 102 during the second time period t2 or the third time period t3.
With regards to claim 3, Hsu further discloses the second sensor data or the third sensor data comprises gravity data representative of a gravity vector (e.g. any measurement relative to the orthogonal projection of the tip in the z-axis direction like orthogonal distance 510; paragraphs [0066],[0067]; Figures 5A-5D); the second joint characteristic vector is determined based on the gravity vector, and the first joint characteristic vector is determined to be both perpendicular to the gravity vector and parallel to a tip movement vector that comprises a linear approximation of the positions of the tip of the welding-type tool 102 during the second time period t2 (e.g. paragraphs [0066],[0067]; Figures 5A-5D)
With regards to claim 4, Hsu further discloses the first joint characteristic vector is a joint orientation vector that extends parallel to a joint between two workpieces along which a welding-type operation occurs or is planned to occur (e.g. joint is the welded seam at parallel ends of two pipeline workpieces; paragraphs [0026],[0030]).
With regards to claim 5, Hsu further discloses the relative position of the tip of the welding-type tool 102 relative to the sensor system 106 is determined based on a distance input and the first sensor data (e.g. paragraphs [0066]-[0068]); the first sensor data comprising gravity data representative of a gravity vector (e.g. any measurement relative to the orthogonal projection of the tip in the z-axis direction like orthogonal distance 510; paragraphs [0066], [0067]; Figures 5A-5D).
With regards to claim 6, Hsu further discloses the relative position of the tip of the welding-type tool 102 relative to the sensor system 106 is determined based on the first sensor data detected by the sensor system during the first time period t1 when the sensor system 106 is rotated in a circle around the tip of the welding-type tool (e.g. traveling direction around as observed in Figures 1,3D; paragraphs [0026],[0029],[0030],[0061],[0063]).
With regards to claim 7, Hsu further discloses the first sensor data comprises data representative of an acceleration or velocity (e.g. accelerometer or gyroscope; paragraph [0024],[0031]) experienced by the sensor system 106 during the first time period t1. (See, paragraphs [0024],[0031],[0035],[0038]).
With regards to claim 8, Hsu further discloses the welding-type tool 102 comprises a stick welding torch such that the tip of the stick welding torch comprises a tip of a stick electrode (e.g. stick-out electrode of welding torch; paragraphs [0027],[0035],[0061]); the positions of the tip of the stick welding torch are tracked using the second sensor data and an estimated consumption rate of the stick electrode (e.g. paragraphs [0027],[0061],[0066],[0067]).
With regards to claim 9, Hsu further discloses the first welding technique parameter value comprises a travel angle value or a work angle value of the welding-type tool (e.g. work angle; torch angle, travel angle; paragraphs [0026],[0027],[0030],[0039],[0066],[0068],[0072]); providing feedback (e.g. feedback control and feedback signals; paragraphs [0028],[0029], [0053],[0054],[0070]), via a user interface (e.g. user interface for user input; paragraphs [0028],[0069]) based on the first welding technique parameter value.
With regards to claim 10, Hsu further discloses the sensor system 102 comprises an inertial measurement unit comprising an accelerometer, a gyroscope, or a magnetometer (e.g. IMU comprises accelerometer, gyroscope, magnetometer; paragraph [0024]), and the first or second sensor data comprises data detected by the inertial measurement unit. (See, paragraph [0024],[0031],[0035],[0038]).
With regards to claim 11, Hsu discloses a system for tool tracking and guidance with IMU comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1A-8B, a method comprising determining, via processing circuitry 150 (e.g. processing subsystem; paragraph [0028]), a relative position (e.g. position of tip of the tool; paragraph [0066]-[0068]; Figure 6) of a tip 602 (e.g. contact tip; paragraph [0068]) of a welding-type tool 102 (e.g. the tool can be a welding torch; paragraph [0026]) relative to a sensor system 106 (e.g. IMU; paragraph [0027]) attached to, or integrated with, the welding-type tool (e.g. observed in Figure 1), based on first sensor data (e.g. aim of the tool measure the position of the tip of the tool; paragraph [0066]; Figure 5C) detected by the sensor system during a first time period t1 (e.g. when the tool travels around the pipe at time instant t1; paragraph [0026]; Figure 1); tracking, via the processing circuitry 150, positions of the tip (e.g. positions of the tip in the Y-direction; Figures 5A-5D,6; paragraphs [0027],[0066],[0068]) of the welding-type tool 102 during a second time period t2 (e.g. when the tool travels around the pipe at time instant t2; paragraph [0026]; Figure 1) using second sensor data (e.g. travel speed, work angle, travel angle; paragraph [0072]) detected during the second time period t2 by the sensor system 106 attached to, or integrated with, the welding-type tool (e.g. as observed in Figure 1); determining, via the processing circuitry 150, a first joint characteristic vector (e.g. any vector related to the joint, like weld direction, weld position, weld size; paragraphs [0026],[0027], [0030],[0039],[0066],[0068],[0072]) based on the positions of the tip of the welding-type tool 102 during the second time period t2; tracking, via processing circuitry 150, a tool orientation (e.g. orientation of the tool; Figures 5A-5D; paragraphs [0027],[0059,[0066],[0072]) of the welding-type tool 102 during a third time period t3 (e.g. when the tool travels around the pipe at time instant t2; paragraph [0026]; Figure 1) using third sensor data (e.g. data from accelerometers, gyroscope, GPS; paragraphs [0024],[0027]) detected during the third time period t3 by the sensor system 106; identifying, via the processing circuitry 150, a first welding technique parameter value (e.g. torch angle, travel angle; paragraphs [0026],[0027],[0030],[0039],[0066], [0068],[0072]) based on the first joint characteristic vector and the tool orientation of the welding-type tool 102 during the third time period t3. (See, paragraphs [0024] to [0081]).
With regards to claim 12, Hsu further discloses determining, via the processing circuitry 150, a second joint characteristic vector (e.g. any vector related to the joint, like weld direction, weld position, weld size; paragraphs [0026],[0027], [0030],[0039],[0066],[0068],[0072]) based on the second sensor data or the third sensor data; identifying, via the processing circuitry 150, a second welding technique parameter value (e.g. torch angle, travel angle; paragraphs [0026], [0027],[0030],[0039],[0066], [0068],[0072]) based on the tool orientation of the welding-type tool 102 during the third time period t3 and the second joint characteristic vector.
With regards to claim 13, Hsu further discloses the second sensor data or the third sensor data comprises gravity data representative of a gravity vector (e.g. any measurement relative to the orthogonal projection of the tip in the z-axis direction like orthogonal distance 510; paragraphs [0066],[0067]; Figures 5A-5D); the second joint characteristic vector is determined based on the gravity vector, and the first joint characteristic vector is determined to be both perpendicular to the gravity vector and parallel to a tip movement vector that comprises a linear approximation of the positions of the tip of the welding-type tool 102 during the second time period t2 (e.g. paragraphs [0066],[0067]; Figures 5A-5D).
With regards to claim 14, Hsu further discloses the second welding technique parameter value comprises a work angle value or a travel angle value of the welding-type tool (e.g. work angle; torch angle, travel angle; paragraphs [0026],[0027],[0030],[0039],[0066],[0068],[0072]).
With regards to claim 15, Hsu further discloses the first joint characteristic vector is a joint orientation vector that extends parallel to a joint between two workpieces along which a welding-type operation occurs or is planned to occur (e.g. joint is the welded seam at parallel ends of two pipeline workpieces; paragraphs [0026],[0030]).
With regards to claim 16, Hsu further discloses the relative position of the tip of the welding-type tool 102 relative to the sensor system 106 is determined based on a distance input and the first sensor data (e.g. paragraphs [0066]-[0068]); the first sensor data comprising gravity data representative of a gravity vector (e.g. any measurement relative to the orthogonal projection of the tip in the z-axis direction like orthogonal distance 510; paragraphs [0066], [0067]; Figures 5A-5D).
With regards to claim 17, Hsu further discloses the relative position of the tip of the welding-type tool 102 relative to the sensor system 106 is determined based on first sensor data detected by the sensor system during the first time period t1 when the sensor system is rotated in a circle around the tip of the welding-type tool (e.g. traveling direction around as observed in Figures 1,3D; paragraphs {0026],[0029],[0030],[0061],[0063]).
With regards to claim 18, Hsu further discloses the first sensor data comprises acceleration (e.g. by IMU comprises accelerometer; paragraph [0024]) data representative of an acceleration experienced by the sensor system during the first time period t1. (See, paragraphs [0024],[0026],[0035]).
With regards to claim 19, Hsu further discloses the first welding technique parameter value comprises a travel angle value or a work angle value of the welding-type tool (e.g. work angle; torch angle, travel angle; paragraphs [0026],[0027],[0030],[0039],[0066],[0068],[0072]); providing feedback (e.g. feedback control and feedback signals; paragraphs [0028],[0029], [0053],[0054],[0070]), via a user interface (e.g. user interface for user input; paragraphs [0028],[0069]), based on the first welding technique parameter value.
With regards to claim 20, Hsu further discloses the sensor system 102 comprises an inertial measurement unit comprising an accelerometer, a gyroscope, or a magnetometer (e.g. IMU comprises accelerometer, gyroscope, magnetometer; paragraph [0024]), and the first, second, or third sensor data comprises data detected by the inertial measurement unit. (See, paragraph [0024],[0031],[0035],[0038]).
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments filed November 11, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue the Hsu reference does not teach the claimed limitation of “determining, via processing circuitry, a relative position of a tip of a welding-type tool relative to a sensor system attached to, or integrated with, the welding-type tool, based on first sensor data detected by the sensor system during a first time period”.
The examiner believes the Hsu reference teaches this claimed limitation. Hsu disclose determining (e.g. based on positioning receivers in sensor system 106 in Figure 1B), via processing circuitry 150 (e.g. processing system; paragraph [0028]; Figure 1B), a relative position (e.g. position of tip of the tool in paragraph [0066] and Figure 5C and position of contact tip 602 of the tool in paragraph [0068] and Figure 6) of a tip 602 (e.g. contact tip; paragraph [0068]) of a welding-type tool 102 (e.g. the tool can be a welding torch; paragraph [0026]) relative to a sensor system 106 (e.g. IMU, cameras, and position receivers; paragraph [0027]; Figure 1B) attached to, or integrated with, the welding-type tool (e.g. observed in Figure 1), based on first sensor data (e.g. paragraph [0066] indicates aim of the tool measure the position of the tip of the tool such that aim is measured, for example, distance from the center of a path 112 in a direction perpendicular to the direction of travel or aim is measured relative to the projection of the tip of the tool 102 as shown by measurement 524 in Figure 5C; paragraph [0066]; Figure 5C) detected by the sensor system 106 during a first time period t1 (e.g. when the tool travels around the pipe at time instant t1; paragraph [0026]; Figure 1). As indicated in paragraph [0066] and illustrated in Figure 5C, the position and orientation of the tool 102 is defined by parameters like travel angle, work angle, travel speed and aim. Since these parameters are measured (e.g. by sensors; paragraph [0068]) or determined and aim is one of the parameters, aim is used to determine the position of the tip of the tool based on where aim of the tool measure the position of the tip of the tool such that aim is measured, for example, distance from the center of a path 112 in a direction perpendicular to the direction of travel. Further, as indicated in paragraph [0068] and illustrated in Figure 6, position of the tip 602 of the tool 102 is determined by the position of the arc 610 in the Y-axis direction where the position of the arc requires the parameters like work angle, travel angle obtained via sensors. So, the relative position of the tip 602 of the welding-type tool 102 relative to the sensor system 106 is determined by the processing circuitry 150 based on the first sensor data, like travel angle, work angle, travel speed and aim, detected by the sensor system.
Therefore, the claimed limitation ““determining, via processing circuitry, a relative position of a tip of a welding-type tool relative to a sensor system attached to, or integrated with, the welding-type tool, based on first sensor data detected by the sensor system during a first time period” is taught by the Hsu reference for the comments set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HELEN C KWOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855