DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0214698 (Hsu) in view of Publication “Fastening Tool Tracking System Using a Kalman Filter and Particle Filter Combination” by Won et al.
With regards to claim 1, Hsu discloses a system for tool tracking and guidance with IMU comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1A-8B, a method comprising determining, via processing circuitry 150 (e.g. processing subsystem; paragraph [0028]), a relative position (e.g. position of tip of the tool; paragraph [0066]-[0068]; Figures 5C,5D,6) of a tip 602 (e.g. contact tip; paragraph [0068]) of a welding-type tool 102 (e.g. the tool can be a welding torch; paragraph [0026]) relative to a sensor system 106 (e.g. IMU; paragraph [0027]) attached to, or integrated with, the welding-type tool (e.g. observed in Figure 1), based on first sensor data (e.g. aim of the tool measure the position of the tip of the tool; paragraph [0066]; Figure 5C) detected by the sensor system during a first time period t1 (e.g. when the tool travels around the pipe at time instant t1; paragraph [0026]; Figure 1); tracking, via the processing circuitry 150, positions of the tip (e.g. positions of the tip in the Y-direction; Figures 5A-5D,6; paragraphs [0027],[0066],[0068]) of the welding-type tool 102 during a second time period t2 (e.g. when the tool travels around the pipe at time instant t2; paragraph [0026]; Figure 1) and a tool orientation (e.g. orientation of the tool; Figures 5A-5D; paragraphs [0027],[0059,[0066],[0072]) of the welding-type tool 102 during the second time period t2, using second sensor data (e.g. travel speed, work angle, travel angle; paragraph [0072]) detected during the second time period t2 by the sensor system 106 attached to, or integrated with, the welding-type tool (e.g. as observed in Figure 1); determining, via the processing circuitry 150, a first joint characteristic vector (e.g. any vector related to the joint, like weld direction, weld position, weld size; paragraphs [0026],[0027],[0030], [0039],[0066],[0068],[0072]) based on the positions of the tip of the welding-type tool 102 during the second time period t2; identifying, via the processing circuitry 150, a first welding technique parameter value (e.g. torch angle, travel angle; paragraphs [0026],[0027],[0030],[0039],[0066], [0068],[0072]) based on the first joint characteristic vector and the tool orientation of the welding-type tool 102 during the second time period t2 or a third time period t3 (e.g. when the tool travels around the pipe at time instant t2; paragraph [0026]; Figure 1). (See, paragraphs [0024] to [0081]).
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is the relative position of the tip of the welding-type tool relative to the sensor system comprising a distance and a direction between the tip of the welding-type tool and the sensor system.
Won et al. discloses a fastening tool tracking system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-7, determining, via processing circuitry, a relative position (e.g. page 4, 1st paragraph under section “3. Proposed tool tracking system” states “To determine the position of the tool tip with a string-encoder position sensor, the orientation of the tool should be determined.”; Figures 1-2) of a tip of a welding-type tool (e.g. tool; Figures 1-2) relative to a sensor system (e.g. string-encoder position sensor along with IMU; Figures 1-2) attached to, or integrated with the welding-type tool, based on first sensor data detected by the sensor system during a first time period; the relative position of the tip of the welding-type tool relative to the sensor system comprising a distance (e.g. page 5, 2nd paragraph under section “4.3: Fastened bolt identification” states “Then, the distance between the position sensor … should be equal to the length between the tool tip and the position sensor.”) and a direction (e.g. page 4, 1st paragraph under section “3. Proposed tool tracking system” states “To determine the position of the tool tip with a string-encoder position sensor, the orientation of the tool should be determined. When the orientation of the tool is known, the position of the tool tip can be calculated as … are the location components of the tool tip from the centre of mass of the tool, which can be measured.” In order to calculate the orientation of the tool with respect to the local fixed frame, a MEMS IMU is used due to its small size and light weight.”) between the tip of the welding-type tool and the sensor system. (See, pages 1-12).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing the relative position of the tip of the welding-type tool relative to the sensor system comprising a distance and a direction between the tip of the welding-type tool and the sensor system as suggested by Won et al. to the system of Hsu to have the ability to identify the fastened bolt when fastening action is detected. (See, page 5, 1st and 2nd paragraphs under section “4.3: Fastened bolt identification” of Won et al.).
With regards to claim 2, Hsu further discloses determining, via the processing circuitry 150, a second joint characteristic vector (e.g. any vector related to the joint, like weld direction, weld position, weld size; paragraphs [0026],[0027], [0030],[0039],[0066],[0068],[0072]) based on the second sensor data or third sensor data (e.g. data from accelerometers, gyroscope, GPS; paragraphs [0024],[0027]) detected by the sensor system 106 during the third time period t3; identifying, via the processing circuitry 150, a second welding technique parameter value (e.g. torch angle, travel angle; paragraphs [0026],[0027],[0030],[0039],[0066], [0068],[0072]) based on the second joint characteristic vector and the tool orientation of the welding-type tool 102 during the second time period t2 or the third time period t3.
With regards to claim 3, Hsu further discloses the second sensor data or the third sensor data comprises gravity data representative of a gravity vector (e.g. any measurement relative to the orthogonal projection of the tip in the z-axis direction like orthogonal distance 510; paragraphs [0066],[0067]; Figures 5A-5D); the second joint characteristic vector is determined based on the gravity vector, and the first joint characteristic vector is determined to be both perpendicular to the gravity vector and parallel to a tip movement vector that comprises a linear approximation of the positions of the tip of the welding-type tool 102 during the second time period t2 (e.g. paragraphs [0066],[0067]; Figures 5A-5D). Also, Won et al. further discloses gravity vector (e.g. page 6 under the section “5. KF/PF-based tool tracking system).
With regards to claim 4, Hsu further discloses the first joint characteristic vector is a joint orientation vector that extends parallel to a joint between two workpieces along which a welding-type operation occurs or is planned to occur (e.g. joint is the welded seam at parallel ends of two pipeline workpieces; paragraphs [0026],[0030]). At the same time, Won et al. further discloses the relative position of the tip of the welding-type tool relative to the sensor system comprises a vector representative of the distance and the direction between the tip of the welding-type tool and the sensor system (e.g. page 5, 2nd paragraph under the section “4.3 Fastened bolt identification”).
With regards to claim 5, Hsu further discloses the relative position of the tip of the welding-type tool 102 relative to the sensor system 106 is determined based on a distance input and the first sensor data (e.g. paragraphs [0066]-[0068]); the first sensor data comprising gravity data representative of a gravity vector (e.g. any measurement relative to the orthogonal projection of the tip in the z-axis direction like orthogonal distance 510; paragraphs [0066], [0067]; Figures 5A-5D).
With regards to claim 6, Hsu further discloses the relative position of the tip of the welding-type tool 102 relative to the sensor system 106 is determined based on the first sensor data detected by the sensor system during the first time period t1 when the sensor system 106 is rotated in a circle around the tip of the welding-type tool (e.g. traveling direction around as observed in Figures 1,3D; paragraphs [0026],[0029],[0030],[0061],[0063]).
With regards to claim 7, Hsu further discloses the first sensor data comprises data representative of an acceleration or velocity (e.g. accelerometer or gyroscope; paragraph [0024],[0031]) experienced by the sensor system 106 during the first time period t1. (See, paragraphs [0024],[0031],[0035],[0038]).
With regards to claim 8, Hsu further discloses the welding-type tool 102 comprises a stick welding torch such that the tip of the stick welding torch comprises a tip of a stick electrode (e.g. stick-out electrode of welding torch; paragraphs [0027],[0035],[0061]); the positions of the tip of the stick welding torch are tracked using the second sensor data and an estimated consumption rate of the stick electrode (e.g. paragraphs [0027],[0061],[0066],[0067]).
With regards to claim 9, Hsu further discloses the first welding technique parameter value comprises a travel angle value or a work angle value of the welding-type tool (e.g. work angle; torch angle, travel angle; paragraphs [0026],[0027],[0030],[0039],[0066],[0068],[0072]); providing feedback (e.g. feedback control and feedback signals; paragraphs [0028],[0029], [0053],[0054],[0070]), via a user interface (e.g. user interface for user input; paragraphs [0028], [0069]) based on the first welding technique parameter value.
With regards to claim 10, Hsu further discloses the sensor system 102 comprises an inertial measurement unit comprising an accelerometer, a gyroscope, or a magnetometer (e.g. IMU comprises accelerometer, gyroscope, magnetometer; paragraph [0024]), and the first or second sensor data comprises data detected by the inertial measurement unit. (See, paragraph [0024],[0031],[0035],[0038]).
With regards to claim 11, Hsu discloses a system for tool tracking and guidance with IMU comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1A-8B, a method comprising determining, via processing circuitry 150 (e.g. processing subsystem; paragraph [0028]), a relative position (e.g. position of tip of the tool; paragraph [0066]-[0068]; Figure 6) of a tip 602 (e.g. contact tip; paragraph [0068]) of a welding-type tool 102 (e.g. the tool can be a welding torch; paragraph [0026]) relative to a sensor system 106 (e.g. IMU; paragraph [0027]) attached to, or integrated with, the welding-type tool (e.g. observed in Figure 1), based on first sensor data (e.g. aim of the tool measure the position of the tip of the tool; paragraph [0066]; Figure 5C) detected by the sensor system during a first time period t1 (e.g. when the tool travels around the pipe at time instant t1; paragraph [0026]; Figure 1); tracking, via the processing circuitry 150, positions of the tip (e.g. positions of the tip in the Y-direction; Figures 5A-5D,6; paragraphs [0027],[0066],[0068]) of the welding-type tool 102 during a second time period t2 (e.g. when the tool travels around the pipe at time instant t2; paragraph [0026]; Figure 1) using second sensor data (e.g. travel speed, work angle, travel angle; paragraph [0072]) detected during the second time period t2 by the sensor system 106 attached to, or integrated with, the welding-type tool (e.g. as observed in Figure 1); determining, via the processing circuitry 150, a first joint characteristic vector (e.g. any vector related to the joint, like weld direction, weld position, weld size; paragraphs [0026],[0027], [0030],[0039],[0066],[0068],[0072]) based on the positions of the tip of the welding-type tool 102 during the second time period t2; tracking, via processing circuitry 150, a tool orientation (e.g. orientation of the tool; Figures 5A-5D; paragraphs [0027],[0059,[0066],[0072]) of the welding-type tool 102 during a third time period t3 (e.g. when the tool travels around the pipe at time instant t2; paragraph [0026]; Figure 1) using third sensor data (e.g. data from accelerometers, gyroscope, GPS; paragraphs [0024],[0027]) detected during the third time period t3 by the sensor system 106; identifying, via the processing circuitry 150, a first welding technique parameter value (e.g. torch angle, travel angle; paragraphs [0026],[0027],[0030],[0039],[0066], [0068],[0072]) based on the first joint characteristic vector and the tool orientation of the welding-type tool 102 during the third time period t3. (See, paragraphs [0024] to [0081]).
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is the relative position of the tip of the welding-type tool relative to the sensor system comprising a distance and a direction between the tip of the welding-type tool and the sensor system.
Won et al. discloses a fastening tool tracking system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-7, determining, via processing circuitry, a relative position (e.g. page 4, 1st paragraph under section “3. Proposed tool tracking system” states “To determine the position of the tool tip with a string-encoder position sensor, the orientation of the tool should be determined.”; Figures 1-2) of a tip of a welding-type tool (e.g. tool; Figures 1-2) relative to a sensor system (e.g. string-encoder position sensor along with IMU; Figures 1-2) attached to, or integrated with the welding-type tool, based on first sensor data detected by the sensor system during a first time period; the relative position of the tip of the welding-type tool relative to the sensor system comprising a distance (e.g. page 5, 2nd paragraph under section “4.3: Fastened bolt identification” states “Then, the distance between the position sensor … should be equal to the length between the tool tip and the position sensor.”) and a direction (e.g. page 4, 1st paragraph under section “3. Proposed tool tracking system” states “To determine the position of the tool tip with a string-encoder position sensor, the orientation of the tool should be determined. When the orientation of the tool is known, the position of the tool tip can be calculated as … are the location components of the tool tip from the centre of mass of the tool, which can be measured.” In order to calculate the orientation of the tool with respect to the local fixed frame, a MEMS IMU is used due to its small size and light weight.”) between the tip of the welding-type tool and the sensor system. (See, pages 1-12).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing the relative position of the tip of the welding-type tool relative to the sensor system comprising a distance and a direction between the tip of the welding-type tool and the sensor system as suggested by Won et al. to the system of Hsu to have the ability to identify the fastened bolt when fastening action is detected. (See, page 5, 1st and 2nd paragraphs under section “4.3: Fastened bolt identification” of Won et al.).
With regards to claim 12, Hsu further discloses determining, via the processing circuitry 150, a second joint characteristic vector (e.g. any vector related to the joint, like weld direction, weld position, weld size; paragraphs [0026],[0027], [0030],[0039],[0066],[0068],[0072]) based on the second sensor data or the third sensor data; identifying, via the processing circuitry 150, a second welding technique parameter value (e.g. torch angle, travel angle; paragraphs [0026], [0027],[0030],[0039],[0066], [0068],[0072]) based on the tool orientation of the welding-type tool 102 during the third time period t3 and the second joint characteristic vector.
With regards to claim 13, Hsu further discloses the second sensor data or the third sensor data comprises gravity data representative of a gravity vector (e.g. any measurement relative to the orthogonal projection of the tip in the z-axis direction like orthogonal distance 510; paragraphs [0066],[0067]; Figures 5A-5D); the second joint characteristic vector is determined based on the gravity vector, and the first joint characteristic vector is determined to be both perpendicular to the gravity vector and parallel to a tip movement vector that comprises a linear approximation of the positions of the tip of the welding-type tool 102 during the second time period t2 (e.g. paragraphs [0066],[0067]; Figures 5A-5D). Also, Won et al. further discloses gravity vector (e.g. page 6 under the section “5. KF/PF-based tool tracking system).
With regards to claim 14, Hsu further discloses the second welding technique parameter value comprises a work angle value or a travel angle value of the welding-type tool (e.g. work angle; torch angle, travel angle; paragraphs [0026],[0027],[0030],[0039],[0066],[0068],[0072]).
With regards to claim 15, Hsu further discloses the first joint characteristic vector is a joint orientation vector that extends parallel to a joint between two workpieces along which a welding-type operation occurs or is planned to occur (e.g. joint is the welded seam at parallel ends of two pipeline workpieces; paragraphs [0026],[0030]). At the same time, Won et al. further discloses the relative position of the tip of the welding-type tool relative to the sensor system comprises a vector representative of the distance and the direction between the tip of the welding-type tool and the sensor system (e.g. page 5, 2nd paragraph under the section “4.3 Fastened bolt identification”).
With regards to claim 16, Hsu further discloses the relative position of the tip of the welding-type tool 102 relative to the sensor system 106 is determined based on a distance input and the first sensor data (e.g. paragraphs [0066]-[0068]); the first sensor data comprising gravity data representative of a gravity vector (e.g. any measurement relative to the orthogonal projection of the tip in the z-axis direction like orthogonal distance 510; paragraphs [0066], [0067]; Figures 5A-5D).
With regards to claim 17, Hsu further discloses the relative position of the tip of the welding-type tool 102 relative to the sensor system 106 is determined based on first sensor data detected by the sensor system during the first time period t1 when the sensor system is rotated in a circle around the tip of the welding-type tool (e.g. traveling direction around as observed in Figures 1,3D; paragraphs {0026],[0029],[0030],[0061],[0063]).
With regards to claim 18, Hsu further discloses the first sensor data comprises acceleration (e.g. by IMU comprises accelerometer; paragraph [0024]) data representative of an acceleration experienced by the sensor system during the first time period t1. (See, paragraphs [0024],[0026],[0035]).
With regards to claim 19, Hsu further discloses the first welding technique parameter value comprises a travel angle value or a work angle value of the welding-type tool (e.g. work angle; torch angle, travel angle; paragraphs [0026],[0027],[0030],[0039],[0066],[0068],[0072]); providing feedback (e.g. feedback control and feedback signals; paragraphs [0028],[0029], [0053],[0054],[0070]), via a user interface (e.g. user interface for user input; paragraphs [0028],[0069]), based on the first welding technique parameter value.
With regards to claim 20, Hsu further discloses the sensor system 102 comprises an inertial measurement unit comprising an accelerometer, a gyroscope, or a magnetometer (e.g. IMU comprises accelerometer, gyroscope, magnetometer; paragraph [0024]), and the first, second, or third sensor data comprises data detected by the inertial measurement unit. (See, paragraph [0024],[0031],[0035],[0038]).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection and/or because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/HELEN C KWOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855