DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 7-14 are pending and are rejected.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the RCE filed on 07/02/2026.
Claims 1, 3-4 and 7-14 are amended and are being fully considered by the examiner.
In response to applicant’s amendments to claim 1, all the claim objections as set forth in the previous office action has been withdrawn.
In response to applicant’s amendments to claim 1, all the 35 USC §112 rejections of claims 1, 3-4 and 7-14 set forth in the previous office action has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant responds
(a) 35 U.S.C. §102 Rejection
however, that Givehchi does not disclose that the features from different stock configurations of different stock control apparatuses are selected and then transferred to the target control apparatus (i.e., a single target control apparatus) in a single transfer step. In other words, there is no selection of features from multiple devices and then a transfer of those selected features into one device. Rather, in Givehchi, only a 1:1 transfer of configurations from one old device to one corresponding new device takes place (i.e., transfer of configuration of old device 22 that is replaced by new device 22a) (see para. [0074]).
Thus, the distinguishing features of claim 1, as compared to Givehchi, lies in the fact that the desired configuration can be selected from several existing configurations of several existing stock control apparatuses and then transferred to the target control apparatus in a single transfer step. This increases engineering efficiency because it reduces the need to switch back and forth between the existing apparatuses.
Furthermore, Applicant submits that one skilled in the art would not be motivated to modify Givehchi to arrive at the claimed invention because Givehchi assumes that defective old hardware in a system is replaced by new hardware that provides the same function or that a device is cloned (i.e., old electric drill 22 being replaced by new electric drill 22a). In this context, it is neither necessary nor in any way advantageous to
transfer features from different existing devices to a new device. On the contrary, the decisive feature of a replacement or cloning process is precisely that the configuration of the original device is adopted identically. Accordingly, one skilled in the art would not even consider the subject matter of claim 1 based on the teachings of Givehchi.
On pg. 22 of the present Final Office Action, in the "Response to Arguments Section," the Examiner notes that claim 1 does not specifically recite that the single transfer step involves transfer of the selected features from the different stock configurations of the different stock control apparatuses. In other words, claim 1 did not explicitly specify that the different stock configurations are from different stock control apparatuses. Accordingly, Applicant has further amended claim 1 for clarification in this regard in the manner suggested by the Examiner.
(Page(s): 6-9)
With respect to (a) above, Examiner appreciates the interpretative description given by Applicant in response.
In response to applicant’s amendments to the claim 1 “wherein the selected features from the different stock configurations of the different stock control apparatuses are transferred to the target control apparatus that was selected in a single transfer step,” a new grounds of rejections in view of Victoriano has been introduced.
Combination of GIVEHCHI and Victoriano teach all the limitations of claims 1, 3-4 and 7-14 as described in the current office action. Thus claims 1, 3-4 and 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GIVEHCHI and Victoriano as described in the current office action.
Applicant’s arguments are fully considered, but for the above described reasons, the arguments are moot; therefore, claims 1, 3-4 and 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of the references as presented in the current office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 7-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GIVEHCHI et al. (US20180351803A1 equivalent US publication of EP3410240A1 listed in the IDS dated 08/17/2023) [hereinafter GIVEHCHI], and further in view of Victoriano et al. (US20200103844A1) [hereinafter Victoriano].
Regarding claim 1 (amended):
GIVEHCHI disclose(s), A method to configure an target control apparatus of an automation system, the method comprising: [(¶29) “method for…cloning at least some devices of a machine that facilitates an easier and faster…cloning of devices”… (¶13) “gathering the configuration information of at least some of the detected devices and storing the configuration information in the data model, transferring at least parts of the configuration information onto a new device.”];
starting a detection mode in which a computer of the automation system scans at least one network for stock control apparatuses and for target control apparatuses, and the computer detects the stock control apparatuses and the target control apparatuses; [(¶36) “root device performs the discovery of the cooperating devices before the new device is connected to the machine.” “The discovery can be performed automatically by the root device. Particularly, the root device can scan the machine for other devices,” “When another device (i.e. a cooperating device) is found, the found device and its configuration information are added to the data model”… (¶19) “In case a new device is connected to the machine (and thereby also connected to the root device), the root device can transfer the respective configuration information to the new device,”… (¶37) “the root device requests the found PLC/device to provide a list of all devices connected to the PLC and to provide the configuration information of all devices connected to the PLC.”];
selecting, by a user, a stock control apparatus out of the stock control apparatuses detected by the computer; [ (¶54): “The root device may nonetheless prompt a user for confirmation (and potentially authentication) before transferring the configuration information to the new device, in order to enhance safety & security.”… (¶33) “servo drive (i.e. a cooperating device)…a new servo drive (i.e. a new device) is connected to the machine. The new servo drive corresponds to the “old” servo drive (i.e. has identical hardware), wherein the old servo drive is present in the data model. After connecting the new servo drive to the machine, the root device transfers the configuration information (e.g. the firmware and device parameters of the “old” servo drive) that is stored in the data model to the new servo drive, thereby initializing the new servo drive with the same parameters as the old servo drive (e.g. identical parameters for acceleration, maximum speed, etc.).”
Examiner notes that, GIVEHCHI teaches, selection of old device (claimed stock control apparatus) that matches the target/new device.];
opening, via the computer, a stock configuration of the stock control apparatus selected by the user; selecting, by the user, at least one feature from the stock configuration; buffer-storing, via the computer, the at least one feature from the stock configuration, in which the computer transfers the at least one feature as a data packet into a buffer-store; [(¶33) “servo drive (i.e. a cooperating device)…a new servo drive (i.e. a new device) is connected to the machine. The new servo drive corresponds to the “old” servo drive (i.e. has identical hardware), wherein the old servo drive is present in the data model.” “In general, a firmware and corresponding parameters of a cooperating device can be stored in the data model during the discovery process—” “This firmware and corresponding parameters can later be transferred to the new device.”….(¶36) “root device performs the discovery of the cooperating devices before the new device is connected to the machine. During the discovery process the data model is filled with configuration information about the different cooperating devices of the machine. The discovery can be performed automatically by the root device. Particularly, the root device can scan the machine for other devices, as has been laid out above. When another device (i.e. a cooperating device) is found, the found device and its configuration information are added to the data model”
Examiner notes that, in broadest reasonable interpretation, the plain meaning of buffer-storing is: a temporary hold of data (e.g.; selected data) as it is transferred or ready to be transferred between two different devices (transfer of selected data). As such, buffer-storing is interpreted as holding data in memory temporarily until it is transferred/transmitted.
GIVEHCHI teaches, once a new device is discovered, the root device collects configuration information from the matched old device (claimed stock control apparatus) and holds it in the configuration data model until it is being transferred to the new device (claimed buffer-storing). One of the ordinary skilled in the art will understand that, GIVEHCHI’s use of computer/ handheld electronic devices with user interface for selection, and memory to temporarily storing configuration data (i.e.; computer with a ram) as described in GIVEHCHI’s (¶19) “using a PC (Personal Computer) with engineering tools at the time when the configuration information is written to the new device.”];
starting a transfer mode; selecting, by the user, a target control apparatus; and transferring, via the computer, the at least one feature from the buffer- store to the target control apparatus that was selected, [(¶33) “After connecting the new servo drive to the machine, the root device transfers the configuration information (e.g. the firmware and device parameters of the “old” servo drive) that is stored in the data model to the new servo drive, thereby initializing the new servo drive with the same parameters as the old servo drive (e.g. identical parameters for acceleration, maximum speed, etc.”… (¶76) “The new root device 14 b then performs a discovery process 34 thereby discovering a new servo drive 16 b, a new second PLC 18 b, a new optical sensor 20 b and a new electric drill 22 b. The new root device 14 b can then transfer the respective configuration information from the data model 36 to the respective new cooperating device 16 b, 18 b, 20 b, 22 b. After the transfer of this configuration information, an identical copy of the machine 10 has been created.”
Examiner notes that, root device collects and holds the selected configuration information as described above, and in a transfer mode, the configuration data is transferred to the new/target device selected from the discovery process].
wherein the steps of selecting the stock control apparatus, opening the stock configuration of the stock control apparatus, and selecting and buffer-storing the at least one feature from the stock configuration are repeated for more than one stock control apparatus in order to select features from different stock configurations of different stock control apparatuses, and [(¶36) “the root device performs the discovery of the cooperating devices before the new device is connected to the machine. During the discovery process the data model is filled with configuration information about the different cooperating devices of the machine. The discovery can be performed automatically by the root device. Particularly, the root device can scan the machine for other devices, as has been laid out above. When another device (i.e. a cooperating device) is found, the found device and its configuration information are added to the data model—or the data model can be updated to reflect that the new device replaces an old device (this action might require user confirmation and/or assignment by the user which new device replaces which cooperating device). After a cooperating device has been found, the root device will download the current configuration (e.g. a firmware) of the found device and will store the configuration as configuration information in the data model. This process is repeated until the root device cannot find further cooperating devices.”
Examiner notes that, see as described above in claim 1, the steps described by this claim, and GIVEHCHI ¶36 describes these steps are repeated for each discovered devices/new devices], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Victoriano discloses, wherein the selected features from the different stock configurations of the different stock control apparatuses are transferred to the target control apparatus that was selected in a single transfer step. [¶41: provides, as an output, a number of user configurations and device tags mappings 218 which are also preferably stored in the asset management database 210…214 may transfer user configuration data to one or more placeholders 220 within the process controller 11. These placeholders may store the configuration data and the controller 11 may download the configuration data to the appropriate field device at a later or appropriate time… at a block 222,…the asset management system 200 receives the stored user configurations and device tags mapping from the asset management database 210 and automatically applies the user configuration information to the intelligent field devices (e.g., devices 16-28 of FIG. 1) having device tags that match the device tags set forth in mapping 218. In this manner, the user 202 can engage a process that configures a significant number of field devices automatically or simultaneously without having to address each intelligent field device 16-28 individually…
¶42: At a block 244, the user 202 generates a mapping table of the template or templates defined at the block 242 to one or more intelligent field devices. The intelligent field devices can be specified by any suitable identifier, such as device tags or some other suitable identifier…initiates a bulk transfer of the configuration information as stored in the configuration database for the asset management system 200. At a block 248, a bulk commissioning of the field devices is performed wherein each individual field device is provided with the configuration information stored in the user template that is mapped to that respective intelligent field device].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the capability of transferring the selected features from the different stock configurations of the different stock control apparatuses to the target control apparatus that was selected in a single transfer step in order to make configuration activities easier and quicker by reducing download and communication times by implementing transfer method where multiple configurations are sent to a target device at once, and also have additional advantage of bulk transfer method where multiple configurations can be transferred to multiple devices at once taught by Victoriano with the method taught by GIVEHCHI as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to make configuration activities easier and quicker by reducing download and communication times by implementing transfer method where multiple configurations are sent to a target device at once, and also have additional advantage of bulk transfer method where multiple configurations can be transferred to multiple devices at once [Victoriano, ¶11: reduces download and communication times, to make configuration activities easier and quicker.].
Regarding claim 3:
GIVEHCHI and Victoriano disclose(s) all the elements of claim 1, and GIVEHCHI further disclose(s), wherein the stock control apparatuses and / or the target control apparatuses are located in a common network or in multiple different networks. [(¶36) “The cooper- sting devices 16, 18, 20, 22 are connected to each other and to the root device 14 via Ethernet connections 24.”… (¶70) “the root device 14 continuously and automatically performs a discovery process 34 using different communication protocols during which the cooperating devices 16, 18, 20, 22 are discovered and their respective firmware and used parameters are downloaded to a data model 36 (FIG. 1) which is stored in the root device 14.”… (¶27) “The devices of the machine can be interconnected via a field bus. Also, Ethernet or industrial Ethernet connections (e.g. Sercos III and/or EtherNet/IP and/or ProfiNet) can be used.”
Examiner notes that claim requires only one of the stock control apparatuses and / or the target control apparatuses and further requires located in only one of common network or in multiple different networks.
As such, GIVEHCHI teaches cooperating devices 16, 18, 20, 22 etc. are located in a common network; ethernet network 24 or fieldbus network; also as shown in fig. 2].
Regarding claim 4:
GIVEHCHI and Victoriano disclose(s) all the elements of claim 1, and GIVEHCHI further disclose(s), ending the detection mode. [(¶36) “After a cooperating device has been found, the root device will download the current configuration (e.g. a firmware) of the found device and will store the configuration as configuration information in the data model. This process is repeated until the root device cannot find further cooperating devices.”
Examiner notes that, in broadest reasonable interpretation, ending the detection mode is broad, and can mean once the purpose of discovery is completed.
As such, GIVEHCHI teaches, after the discovery process (i.e.; end of discovery/detection), the new device is connected to network this process is repeated until discovery process ends.].
Regarding claim 7:
GIVEHCHI and Victoriano disclose(s) all the elements of claim 1, and GIVEHCHI further disclose(s), wherein in the step of selecting the target control apparatus, more than one target control apparatus is selected, and wherein in the step of transferring the at least one feature of the stock configuration, the at least one of the stock configuration is transferred to each of the selected target control apparatuses. [(¶76) “The new root device 14 b then performs a discovery process 34 thereby discovering a new servo drive 16 b, a new second PLC 18 b, a new optical sensor 20 b and a new electric drill 22 b. The new root device 14 b can then transfer the respective configuration information from the data model 36 to the respective new cooperating device 16 b, 18 b, 20 b, 22 b. After the transfer of this configuration information, an identical copy of the machine 10 has been created.”
Examiner notes, GIVEHCHI teaches, transfer of configurations that are held to multiple target devices such as respective new cooperating device 16 b, 18 b, 20 b, 22 b].
Regarding claim 8:
GIVEHCHI and Victoriano disclose(s) all the elements of claim 1, and GIVEHCHI further disclose(s), wherein the steps of selecting the target control apparatus and the step of transferring are repeatedly performed for multiple target control apparatuses. [(¶36) “the root device performs the discovery of the cooperating devices before the new device is connected to the machine. During the discovery process the data model is filled with configuration information about the different cooperating devices of the machine. The discovery can be performed automatically by the root device. Particularly, the root device can scan the machine for other devices, as has been laid out above. When another device (i.e. a cooperating device) is found, the found device and its configuration information are added to the data model—or the data model can be updated to reflect that the new device replaces an old device (this action might require user confirmation and/or assignment by the user which new device replaces which cooperating device). After a cooperating device has been found, the root device will download the current configuration (e.g. a firmware) of the found device and will store the configuration as configuration information in the data model. This process is repeated until the root device cannot find further cooperating devices.”… (¶76) “The new root device 14 b then performs a discovery process 34 thereby discovering a new servo drive 16 b, a new second PLC 18 b, a new optical sensor 20 b and a new electric drill 22 b. The new root device 14 b can then transfer the respective configuration information from the data model 36 to the respective new cooperating device 16 b, 18 b, 20 b, 22 b. After the transfer of this configuration information, an identical copy of the machine 10 has been created.”
Examiner notes that, a target/new/cooperative device is selected as found in the discovery and transferring the stored model with configuration data is transferred to respective target/new/cooperative device and this process is repeated for multiple target/new/cooperative devices].
Regarding claim 9:
GIVEHCHI and Victoriano disclose(s) all the elements of claim 1, and GIVEHCHI further disclose(s), displaying the at least one feature that was selected. [(¶36) “The controlling software (i.e. the machine assistant) may be configured to guide a user step by step through the process of replacing and/or cloning devices. The controlling software (i.e. the machine assistant) can have a user interface which guides a user through any necessary steps, as mentioned before.”… (¶47) “cloning of devices can be controlled from any computer or even a handheld Tablet-PC or smartphone that is able to process the website. The above-mentioned user interface can be formed by the website.”…(¶36) “require user confirmation and/or assignment by the user which new device replaces which cooperating device).”… (¶54) “if a device is….replaced by a new device, the root device can recognize that a new device is present, when the root device performs the discovery process… The root device may nonetheless prompt a user for confirmation (and potentially authentication) before transferring the configuration information to the new device, in order to enhance safety & security.”
Examiner notes that, the user is guided step by step by the user interface prior to sending of the configuration data and user is given the option to select configuration information, and the system/method is performed using a computer or handheld device such that these devices forms the user interface by the website such that an ordinary skilled in the art will understand that a display device is present where the user is guided step by step to perform selection of configuration before the information is transferred to the target/new device (i.e.; require user confirmation)].
Regarding claim 10:
GIVEHCHI and Victoriano disclose(s) all the elements of claim 9, and GIVEHCHI further disclose(s), wherein the step of displaying the at least one feature that was selected takes place before the transfer of the at least one feature to the target control apparatus. [(¶36) “require user confirmation and/or assignment by the user which new device replaces which cooperating device).”… (¶54) “if a device is….replaced by a new device, the root device can recognize that a new device is present, when the root device performs the discovery process… The root device may nonetheless prompt a user for confirmation (and potentially authentication) before transferring the configuration information to the new device, in order to enhance safety & security.”].
Regarding claim 11:
GIVEHCHI and Victoriano disclose(s) all the elements of claim 9, and GIVEHCHI further disclose(s), wherein the step of displaying the at least one feature that was selected takes place after the step of selecting the target control apparatus and before the step of transferring. [(¶76) “The new root device 14 b then performs a discovery process 34 thereby discovering a new servo drive 16 b, a new second PLC 18 b, a new optical sensor 20 b and a new electric drill 22 b. The new root device 14 b can then transfer the respective configuration information from the data model 36 to the respective new cooperating device 16 b, 18 b, 20 b, 22 b. After the transfer of this configuration information, an identical copy of the machine 10 has been created.”…
(¶47) “cloning of devices can be controlled from any computer or even a handheld Tablet-PC or smartphone that is able to process the website. The above-mentioned user interface can be formed by the website.”…(¶36) “require user confirmation and/or assignment by the user which new device replaces which cooperating device).”… (¶54) “if a device is….replaced by a new device, the root device can recognize that a new device is present, when the root device performs the discovery process… The root device may nonetheless prompt a user for confirmation (and potentially authentication) before transferring the configuration information to the new device, in order to enhance safety & security.”
As described above in claim 1, selection of a new/target/cooperative device is performed by discovering the new/target/cooperative device, then as described above in claims 9-10, after the device is discovered/selected, the configuration information can be presented to the user in a user interface such as a display of mobile device or a computer before the configuration can be sent to the new/selected target device].
Regarding claim 12:
GIVEHCHI and Victoriano disclose(s) all the elements of claim 1, and GIVEHCHI further disclose(s), wherein after the step of selecting the target control apparatus and before the step of transferring, a step of selecting features to be transferred to the target control apparatus, from the at least one feature that is buffer-stored, is performed. [(¶76) “The new root device 14 b then performs a discovery process 34 thereby discovering a new servo drive 16 b, a new second PLC 18 b, a new optical sensor 20 b and a new electric drill 22 b. The new root device 14 b can then transfer the respective configuration information from the data model 36 to the respective new cooperating device 16 b, 18 b, 20 b, 22 b. After the transfer of this configuration information, an identical copy of the machine 10 has been created.”…
(¶47) “cloning of devices can be controlled from any computer or even a handheld Tablet-PC or smartphone that is able to process the website. The above-mentioned user interface can be formed by the website.”…(¶36) “require user confirmation and/or assignment by the user which new device replaces which cooperating device).”… (¶54) “if a device is….replaced by a new device, the root device can recognize that a new device is present, when the root device performs the discovery process… The root device may nonetheless prompt a user for confirmation (and potentially authentication) before transferring the configuration information to the new device, in order to enhance safety & security.”
As described above in claim 1, selection of a new/target/cooperative device is performed by discovering the new/target/cooperative device, and after the device is discovered/selected, the configuration (i.e.; buffered; temporary stored model with configuration for the purpose of transfer as described above in claim 1.) information can be presented to the user in a user interface such as a display of mobile device or a computer for user to make selection (i.e.; prompt a user for confirmation) before the configuration can be sent to the new/selected target device].
Regarding claim 13:
GIVEHCHI and Victoriano disclose(s) all the elements of claim 1, and GIVEHCHI further disclose(s), wherein after the step of selecting the target control apparatus and before the step of transferring, a step of manually changing the at least one feature that is buffer-stored is performed. [(¶36) “require user confirmation and/or assignment by the user which new device replaces which cooperating device).”… (¶54) “if a device is….replaced by a new device, the root device can recognize that a new device is present, when the root device performs the discovery process… The root device may nonetheless prompt a user for confirmation (and potentially authentication) before transferring the configuration information to the new device, in order to enhance safety & security.”…(¶76) “After all cooperating devices 16, 18, 20, 22 have been found the user 32 can use a request 38 to be shown all discovered devices 16, 18, 20, 22. The root device 14 then checks the data model 36 and uses an acknowledgement 40 to show to the user all found cooperating devices 16, 18, 20, 22. The user can then use a configuration command 42 to change the configuration of the cooperating devices 16, 18, 20, 22 or remove some of the found devices 16, 18, 20, 22 from the data model 36. Thereafter, the root device 14 resumes the discovery process 34 periodically and updates the data model 36, if necessary.”… (¶74) “The root device 14 can then transfer configuration information from the data model 36 to the new electric drill 22 a, thereby allowing the new electric drill 22 a to perform the same functions as the electric drill 22.”].
Regarding claim 14:
GIVEHCHI and Victoriano disclose(s) all the elements of claim 1, and GIVEHCHI further disclose(s), An apparatus to carry out the method according to claim 1. [(¶68) “The root device 14 runs a webserver 26 to which a mobile device, depicted as Tablet-PC 28, is connected via a wireless network and/or an Internet connection 30.”… (¶69) “FIG. 4 schematically shows a user 32 that operates the Tablet-PC 28, the root device 14”… (¶75) “The user 32 can then use a replace command 44 which is sent from the Tablet-PC 28 to the root device 14.”… (¶47) “root device runs a webserver that hosts a website which allows controlling the replacing and/or cloning of cooperating devices. Due to the webserver, the replacing and/or cloning of devices can be controlled from any computer or even a handheld Tablet-PC or smartphone that is able to process the website. The above-mentioned user interface can be formed by the website.”
GIVEHCHI teaches various apparatuses as shown in figures 1-3, such as root device 14 with webserver 26, Tablet-PC 28, root device runs a webserver that hosts a website etc. to perform the method as described above in claim 1].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the current PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited document and the PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited document mailed previously.
Buck (US20140156784A1) - Method and system for providing an application to an electronic device for enhancing user security:
(¶18): Automatically collect the selected application and configuration information, state information and/or application data associated with the selected application. The collected information is referred to as “cloning data.” Once the cloning data is collected, the source device can be configured to transmit at least a portion of the cloning data to the target electronic device. The cloning data can be transmitted directly to the target electronic device, e.g., via a Bluetooth connection, or indirectly via an application provisioning service or an application store service.
Victoriano et al. (US20200103844A1) - Bulk commissioning of field devices within a process plant:
(¶6): The system and method described herein enable the user to perform configuration activities for field device parameters, and to set these configuration changes for bulk transfer, within a system that provides contextual information about the field device component to which the field device parameters relate,…provides a simple and easy to understand methodology of finding various parameters in the configuration screens of the configuration utility.
Grgic et al. (US20060178757A1) - System and method for automatically matching programmable data of devices within an industrial control system:
¶17: central controller to identify memories distributed through the industrial control system having programmable data and collect the programmable data from the memories…the collected programmable data may be used to substantially recreate operation of the industrial control system in a second industrial control system having another central controller substantially identical to the industrial controller and multiple devices connected to the central controller.
/M.S./
Patent Examiner,
Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116