Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to the communication filed on 12/31/2025. Claims 1, and 5 have been amended. Claims 2-4, 6-7 and 9 have been cancelled, and claims 16-25 have been added. Claims 1, 5, 8, and 10-25 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks filed on 12/31/2025 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s amendments overcome the 35 U.S.C. §112(d) rejection of claim 9.
Applicant’s arguments provided for the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejections of claims 1-15 have been considered but are not persuasive.
(A) Applicant argues, “Claims 1 and 8-15 are rejected as obvious over Toyokawa (JP2005012204) and Masuda (JP2007073662). Claims 2-4 are rejected as obvious over Toyokawa, Masuda and Tanabe (JP2001156491). Claims 5-7 are rejected as obvious over Toyokawa, Masuda and Liu (CN208029314). Applicant respectfully traverses the rejections.
“Based on the cited references, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have any reason or motivation to arrive at Formula (1):
“-1.0 < ln(T/d) < 0.0 ... (1) for a frequency range of 27 GHz to 34 GHz recited in amended claim 1.
“The Office arrives at the ln(T/d) ranges in examined claims 2-4 based on a broad range in Tanabe, which is not specific for any frequency range.
“However, each of claims 2-4 recites a specific ln(T/d) range for a specific frequence range. One of ordinary skill in the art would not have any reason or motivation to arrive at three distinct ln(T/d) range for three distinct frequency ranges recited in examined claims 2-4 based on a single broad ln(T/d) range in Tanabe, which is not specific for any frequency range.
“Further, any prima facie case of obviousness is more than overcome by the evidence of criticality for a combination of Formula (1): -1.0 < ln(T/d) < 0.0 and a frequency range of 27 GHz to 34 GHz recited in amended claim 1. Specifically, Table 1 provides evidence of superior attenuation, see Abs. Columns in Table 1, for films satisfying Formula (1) compared to films that do not satisfy Formula (1) for the frequency range of 27 GHz to 34 GHz. Such superiority could not be expected based on the cited references because Tanabe teaches only a single broad ln (T/d) range in Tanabe, which is not specific for any frequency range.
“In sum, since no prima facie case of obviousness is established, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejections,” (from remarks pages 6-7).
As to point (A), Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant asserts that no prima facie case of obviousness is established. According to MPEP § 2144.05 subsection I, “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists” and “Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close”. Claim 1 asserts specific ranges for both the applicable frequencies and for the thickness of the electromagnetic wave attenuation film relative to the skin depth. Tanabe teaches a range that overlaps regarding the film thickness relative to skin depth. Tanabe furthermore gives an example frequency (1 GHz) that is close to the claimed range and a statement that the present invention is also effective at higher frequencies. Therefore, a prima facie case of obvious has been established in accordance with MPEP § 2144.05 subsection I.
Applicant furthermore asserts that any prima facie case of obviousness is overcome by the evidence of criticality as shown by, for example, Table 1. Criticality and unexpected results are discussed in MPEP § 2144.05 subsection III.A and MPEP § 716.02 - § 716.02(g). Applicant’s conclusory remarks fail to provide evidence of criticality and unexpected results in accordance with these MPEP sections.
Applicant’s arguments provided for new claims 16-25 have been considered but are not persuasive.
(A) Applicant argues, “New claim 16 is non-obvious over the cited references at least in view of the evidence of criticality for a combination of Formula (2): -2.0 < ln(T/d) < -0.5 and a frequency range of 35 GHz to 50 GHz recited in claim 16 and supported in Table 4 of the Specification as filed.
“Specifically, Table 4 provides evidence of superior attenuation, see Abs. Columns in Table 4, for films satisfying Formula (2) compared to films that do not satisfy Formula (2) for the frequency range of 35 GHz to 50 GHz. Such superiority could not be expected based on the cited references because Tanabe teaches only a single broad ln (T/d) range in Tanabe, which is not specific for any frequency range.
“New claim 21 is non-obvious over the cited references at least in view of the evidence of criticality for a combination of Formula (3):-2.5 < ln(T/d) < -1.0 and a frequency range of 57 GHz to 90 GHz recited in claim 21 and supported in Table 7 of the Specification as filed.
“Specifically, Table 7 provides evidence of superior attenuation, see Abs. Columns in Table 7, for films satisfying Formula (3) compared to films that do not satisfy Formula (3) for the frequency range of 57 GHz to 90 GHz. Such superiority could not be expected based on the cited references because Tanabe teaches only a single broad ln (T/d) range in Tanabe, which is not specific for any frequency range,” (from remarks pages 7-8).
As to point (A), Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant asserts that new claims 16 and 21 are non-obvious over the cited references in view of evidence of criticality given in Table 4 and Table 7. According to MPEP § 2144.05 subsection I, “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists” and “Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close”. Claims 16 and 21 assert specific ranges for both the applicable frequencies and for the thickness of the electromagnetic wave attenuation film relative to the skin depth. Tanabe teaches a range that overlaps regarding the film thickness relative to skin depth. Tanabe furthermore gives an example frequency (1 GHz) that is close to the claimed range and a statement that the present invention is also effective at higher frequencies. Therefore, a prima facie case of obvious has been established in accordance with MPEP § 2144.05 subsection I.
Regarding Applicants assertions of evidence of criticality shown by Table 4 and Table 7, Examiner refers to the discussion of criticality and unexpected results in MPEP § 2144.05 subsection III.A and MPEP § 716.02 - § 716.02(g). Applicant’s conclusory remarks fail to provide evidence of criticality and unexpected results in accordance with these MPEP sections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-16, 18-21 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyokawa et al. (JP-2005012204-A; hereinafter, Toyokawa) in view of Masuda et al. (JP-2007073662-A; hereinafter, Masuda) and Tanabe (JP-2001156491-A; hereinafter, Tanabe).
Regarding claim 1, Toyokawa discloses [Note: what Toyokawa fails to disclose is strike-through]:
An electromagnetic wave attenuation film (see at least Fig. 10, electromagnetic wave absorber 1), comprising:
dielectric substrates having a front surface and a rear surface (see at least Fig. 10, dielectric layer 3)
a thin-film conductive layer disposed on the front surface (see at least Fig. 10, pattern layer 5 is taught in [0014] of the translation to be conductive), the thin-film conductive layer including a plurality of discretely arranged (see translation at least [0014]; “…pattern layer 5 in which a plurality of conductive patterns 12 are arranged in such a manner that the conductive patterns 12 are not connected to each other…”); and
a planar inductor disposed in the direction of the rear surface (see at least Fig. 10, conductive reflective layer 2 matches the description in [0080] of the instant specification of the planar inductor as a flat plate or slab), wherein
the electromagnetic wave attenuation film is configured to attenuate millimeter waves within a predetermined frequency range (see at least [0036]; “Of course, the present invention is not limited to wireless LAN, and can be used as an electromagnetic wave absorber for specific frequency bands (single frequency and multiple frequencies) in the microwave band and millimeter wave band.”),
However, Toyokawa does not explicitly teach that the thin-film conductive layer is made of a metal material, nor does Toyokawa teach wherein the predetermined frequency range is a frequency range of 27 GHz to 34 GHz; and the electromagnetic wave attenuation film satisfies Formula (1).
Masuda teaches:
An electromagnetic wave attenuation film (see translation at least [0001]; “The present invention relates to a radio wave absorber, and more particularly, to a radio wave absorber that can prevent communication failure due to reflection of electromagnetic waves and the like and can be reduced in thickness and weight.”), comprising
a dielectric substrate having a front surface and a rear surface (see at least Fig. 1, dielectric layer 12);
a thin-film conductive layer disposed on the front surface (see at least Fig. 1, pattern layer 13 shown in [0008] of translation to be made of a conductor), the thin-film conductive layer including a plurality of discretely arranged metal plates (see at least Fig. 2, patch pattern 101, shown in [0018] to be made of copper); and
a planar inductor disposed on the rear surface (see at least Fig. 1, conductor layer 11 matches the description in [0080] of the instant specification of the planar inductor as a flat plate or slab), wherein
the electromagnetic wave attenuation film is configured to attenuate waves within a predetermined frequency range (see translation at least [0036]; “In the above embodiment, an example in which the radio wave absorber of the present invention is applied to a wireless LAN system has been described. However, the present invention is not limited to this and can be applied to other than a wireless LAN system. That is, the frequency and band of radio waves to be absorbed can be changed by adjusting the shape, size, and arrangement of the patch pattern and loop slot, or by adjusting the thickness, surface resistance value, constituent material, etc. of each layer.”).
Both Toyokawa and Masuda teach an electromagnetic wave absorber comprising a dielectric substrate with a planar conductive layer on one side and on the other side a thin-film conductive layer including a plurality of discretely arranged conducting plates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the conducting patterns of Toyokawa could be made of metal, as taught by Masuda for the comparable feature. Such a modification would have been obvious because metal is conductive and shown by Masuda to be suitable for forming discrete conducting plates.
However, neither Toyokawa nor Masuda teach wherein the predetermined frequency range is a frequency range of 27 GHz to 34 GHz; and the electromagnetic wave attenuation film satisfies Formula (1).
Tanabe teaches a range for ln(T/d) that overlaps with Formula (1) (see Tanabe translation at least [0013]; “In other words, it was found that a sufficient shielding effect can be achieved with a metal film that is less than or equal to 1/50 of the inherent skin depth of the metal at the lower limit of the high frequency to be shielded, and more preferably, less than or equal to 1/2 and more than or equal to 1/20 of the skin depth.” Rewriting the preferred range in the form of Formula 1, Tanabe teaches -3 ≤ ln(T/d) ≤ -0.7).
Both Toyokawa and Tanabe teach embodiments where a dielectric layer is sandwiched between conducting film layers (see Tanabe translation at least [0016] and Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conducting layers used in Toyokawa to have thicknesses falling within the preferred range relative to skin depth as taught by Tanabe. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to design thicknesses to fall within this range in order to maintain desired performance while reducing costs, as recognized by Tanabe (see Tanabe translation at least [0014]; “Thus, it has been found that a sufficient shielding effect can be achieved with a metal film thinner than previously thought, and only a small amount of metal material is required. In terms of the manufacturing process, the plating or vapor deposition process for attaching the metal film to the dielectric can be completed in a short time, thereby reducing costs.”).
Neither Toyokawa nor Tanabe explicitly teach a predetermined frequency range of 27 GHz to 34 GHz. However, Tanabe gives examples at 1 GHz and teaches that the same principles apply at higher frequencies (see translation at least [0021]; “While mobile phones have been given as an example of the application of the present invention, it goes without saying that the present invention is effective not only for such portable wireless devices but also for shielding high frequencies in electronic devices, the operating frequencies of which have recently become higher.”). Similarly, Toyokawa gives examples in the range of 1 to 6 GHz (see [0012] of translation) yet states that the same design is suitable for the millimeter wave band (see [0036] of translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the design principles of Toyokawa and Tanabe in the millimeter wave band, such as between 27 GHz and 34 GHz.
Regarding claim 8, Toyokawa in view of Masuda and Tanabe teaches the electromagnetic wave attenuation film of claim 1. Toyokawa further teaches:
wherein the thin-film conductive layer and the planar inductor are separated from each other in a thickness direction of the dielectric substrate (see at least Fig. 1, where the thickness of dielectric layer 3 separates the conductive reflective layer 2 and the pattern layer 5).
Regarding claim 10, Toyokawa in view of Masuda and Tanabe teaches the electromagnetic wave attenuation film of claim 1. Toyokawa further teaches:
wherein each of the metal plates have two opposing sides (see at least Fig. 4 and [0090] of translation; pattern units 19 are square and have opposing sides).
Regarding claim 11, Toyokawa in view of Masuda and Tanabe teaches the electromagnetic wave attenuation film of claim 10. Toyokawa further teaches:
wherein the two opposing sides in each of the (see translation at least [0039]; “The resonance frequency of the patterned electromagnetic wave absorber is first determined by the length and perimeter of the conductive pattern 12 . Since this receives electromagnetic waves by resonating with electromagnetic waves of a specific frequency, the resonance length is determined according to 1/2 or 1/4 of the wavelength of the electromagnetic waves of that specific frequency.” Because Toyokawa teaches that the design can be adapted for millimeter waves in [0036] of the translation, the resulting length of the electromagnetic wave absorber falls into the range specified in claim 11).
It would have been obvious in view of Masuda to make the plates out of metal for the reasons given regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Toyokawa in view of Masuda and Tanabe teaches the electromagnetic wave attenuation film of claim 1. Toyokawa further teaches:
comprising a top coat layer on the thin-film conductive layer (see at least Fig. 10, top layer 4, called the wave absorbing layer, is on the pattern layer 5).
Regarding claim 13, Toyokawa in view of Masuda and Tanabe teaches the electromagnetic wave attenuation film of claim 12. Toyokawa further teaches:
wherein the top coat layer is configured to match an impedance thereof to an impedance of air through which the electromagnetic waves are propagative (see translation at least [0059]; “The electromagnetic wave absorbing layer 4 contains a magnetic loss material as an essential component, but it is also preferable to impart an appropriate complex relative dielectric constant for impedance matching.” The impedance being matched is taught in [0023] of the translation to be the impedance of air).
Regarding claim 14, Toyokawa in view of Masuda and Tanabe teaches the electromagnetic wave attenuation film of claim 1. Masuda further teaches:
wherein the metal plates are made of any of silver, copper and aluminum (see at least [0019] of the translation; “The patch pattern 101 is made of a copper foil, and is periodically arranged on the upper surface of the dielectric substrate 12 (that is, regularly with a constant interval).”).
It would have been obvious to combine Toyokawa and Masuda for the reasons given regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Toyokawa in view of Masuda and Tanabe teaches the electromagnetic wave attenuation film of claim 1. Toyokawa further teaches:
wherein the plurality of (see at least Fig. 5 and [0090] of translation; “In this case, the pattern 12 is configured by regularly arranging pattern units 19 of a single type of geometric design in a matrix shape at intervals d1x and d1y in the x and y directions (hereinafter referred to as ‘pattern intervals’).”).
Regarding claim 16, Toyokawa discloses [Note: what Toyokawa fails to disclose is strike-through]:
An electromagnetic wave attenuation film (see at least Fig. 10, electromagnetic wave absorber 1), comprising:
dielectric substrates having a front surface and a rear surface (see at least Fig. 10, dielectric layer 3)
a thin-film conductive layer disposed on the front surface (see at least Fig. 10, pattern layer 5 is taught in [0014] of the translation to be conductive), the thin-film conductive layer including a plurality of discretely arranged (see translation at least [0014]; “…pattern layer 5 in which a plurality of conductive patterns 12 are arranged in such a manner that the conductive patterns 12 are not connected to each other…”); and
a planar inductor disposed in the direction of the rear surface (see at least Fig. 10, conductive reflective layer 2 matches the description in [0080] of the instant specification of the planar inductor as a flat plate or slab), wherein
the electromagnetic wave attenuation film is configured to attenuate millimeter waves within a predetermined frequency range (see at least [0036]; “Of course, the present invention is not limited to wireless LAN, and can be used as an electromagnetic wave absorber for specific frequency bands (single frequency and multiple frequencies) in the microwave band and millimeter wave band.”),
However, Toyokawa does not explicitly teach that the thin-film conductive layer is made of a metal material, nor does Toyokawa teach wherein the predetermined frequency range is a frequency range of 35 GHz to 50 GHz; and the electromagnetic wave attenuation film satisfies Formula (2).
Masuda teaches:
An electromagnetic wave attenuation film (see translation at least [0001]; “The present invention relates to a radio wave absorber, and more particularly, to a radio wave absorber that can prevent communication failure due to reflection of electromagnetic waves and the like and can be reduced in thickness and weight.”), comprising
a dielectric substrate having a front surface and a rear surface (see at least Fig. 1, dielectric layer 12);
a thin-film conductive layer disposed on the front surface (see at least Fig. 1, pattern layer 13 shown in [0008] of translation to be made of a conductor), the thin-film conductive layer including a plurality of discretely arranged metal plates (see at least Fig. 2, patch pattern 101, shown in [0018] to be made of copper); and
a planar inductor disposed on the rear surface (see at least Fig. 1, conductor layer 11 matches the description in [0080] of the instant specification of the planar inductor as a flat plate or slab), wherein
the electromagnetic wave attenuation film is configured to attenuate waves within a predetermined frequency range (see translation at least [0036]; “In the above embodiment, an example in which the radio wave absorber of the present invention is applied to a wireless LAN system has been described. However, the present invention is not limited to this and can be applied to other than a wireless LAN system. That is, the frequency and band of radio waves to be absorbed can be changed by adjusting the shape, size, and arrangement of the patch pattern and loop slot, or by adjusting the thickness, surface resistance value, constituent material, etc. of each layer.”).
Both Toyokawa and Masuda teach an electromagnetic wave absorber comprising a dielectric substrate with a planar conductive layer on one side and on the other side a thin-film conductive layer including a plurality of discretely arranged conducting plates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the conducting patterns of Toyokawa could be made of metal, as taught by Masuda for the comparable feature. Such a modification would have been obvious because metal is conductive and shown by Masuda to be suitable for forming discrete conducting plates.
However, neither Toyokawa nor Masuda teach wherein the predetermined frequency range is a frequency range of 35 GHz to 50 GHz; and the electromagnetic wave attenuation film satisfies Formula (2).
Tanabe teaches a range for ln(T/d) that substantially overlaps with Formula (2) (see translation at least [0013]; “In other words, it was found that a sufficient shielding effect can be achieved with a metal film that is less than or equal to 1/50 of the inherent skin depth of the metal at the lower limit of the high frequency to be shielded, and more preferably, less than or equal to 1/2 and more than or equal to 1/20 of the skin depth.” Rewriting the preferred range in the form of Formula 1, Tanabe teaches -3 ≤ ln(T/d) ≤ -0.7).
Both Toyokawa and Tanabe teach embodiments where a dielectric layer is sandwiched between conducting film layers (see Tanabe translation at least [0016] and Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conducting layers used in Toyokawa to have thicknesses falling within the preferred range relative to skin depth as taught by Tanabe. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to design thicknesses to fall within this range in order to maintain desired performance while reducing costs, as recognized by Tanabe (see Tanabe translation at least [0014]; “Thus, it has been found that a sufficient shielding effect can be achieved with a metal film thinner than previously thought, and only a small amount of metal material is required. In terms of the manufacturing process, the plating or vapor deposition process for attaching the metal film to the dielectric can be completed in a short time, thereby reducing costs.”).
Neither Toyokawa nor Tanabe explicitly teach a predetermined frequency range of 35 GHz to 50 GHz. However, Tanabe gives examples at 1 GHz and teaches that the same principles apply at higher frequencies (see translation at least [0021]; “While mobile phones have been given as an example of the application of the present invention, it goes without saying that the present invention is effective not only for such portable wireless devices but also for shielding high frequencies in electronic devices, the operating frequencies of which have recently become higher.”). Similarly, Toyokawa gives examples in the range of 1 to 6 GHz (see at least [0012] of translation) yet states that the same design is suitable for the millimeter wave band (see [0036] of translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the design principles of Toyokawa and Tanabe in the millimeter wave band, such as between 35 GHz and 50 GHz.
Regarding claim 18, Toyokawa in view of Masuda and Tanabe teaches the electromagnetic wave attenuation film of claim 16. Toyokawa further teaches:
wherein each of the metal plates have two opposing sides (see at least Fig. 4 and [0090] of translation; pattern units 19 are square and have opposing sides).
Regarding claim 19, Toyokawa in view of Masuda and Tanabe teaches the electromagnetic wave attenuation film of claim 18. Toyokawa further teaches:
wherein the two opposing sides in each of the (see translation at least [0039]; “The resonance frequency of the patterned electromagnetic wave absorber is first determined by the length and perimeter of the conductive pattern 12 . Since this receives electromagnetic waves by resonating with electromagnetic waves of a specific frequency, the resonance length is determined according to 1/2 or 1/4 of the wavelength of the electromagnetic waves of that specific frequency.” Because Toyokawa teaches that the design can be adapted for millimeter waves in [0036] of the translation, the resulting length of the electromagnetic wave absorber falls into the range specified in claim 11).
It would have been obvious in view of Masuda to make the plates out of metal for the reasons given regarding claim 16.
Regarding claim 20, Toyokawa in view of Masuda and Tanabe teaches the electromagnetic wave attenuation film of claim 16. Masuda further teaches:
wherein the metal plates are made of any of silver, copper and aluminum (see at least [0019] of the translation; “The patch pattern 101 is made of a copper foil, and is periodically arranged on the upper surface of the dielectric substrate 12 (that is, regularly with a constant interval).”).
It would have been obvious to combine Toyokawa and Masuda for the reasons given regarding claim 16.
Regarding claim 21, Toyokawa discloses [Note: what Toyokawa fails to disclose is strike-through]:
An electromagnetic wave attenuation film (see at least Fig. 10, electromagnetic wave absorber 1), comprising:
dielectric substrates having a front surface and a rear surface (see at least Fig. 10, dielectric layer 3)
a thin-film conductive layer disposed on the front surface (see at least Fig. 10, pattern layer 5 is taught in [0014] of the translation to be conductive), the thin-film conductive layer including a plurality of discretely arranged (see translation at least [0014]; “…pattern layer 5 in which a plurality of conductive patterns 12 are arranged in such a manner that the conductive patterns 12 are not connected to each other…”); and
a planar inductor disposed in the direction of the rear surface (see at least Fig. 10, conductive reflective layer 2 matches the description in [0080] of the instant specification of the planar inductor as a flat plate or slab), wherein
the electromagnetic wave attenuation film is configured to attenuate millimeter waves within a predetermined frequency range (see at least [0036]; “Of course, the present invention is not limited to wireless LAN, and can be used as an electromagnetic wave absorber for specific frequency bands (single frequency and multiple frequencies) in the microwave band and millimeter wave band.”),
However, Toyokawa does not explicitly teach that the thin-film conductive layer is made of a metal material, nor does Toyokawa teach wherein the predetermined frequency range is a frequency range of 57 GHz to 90 GHz; and the electromagnetic wave attenuation film satisfies Formula (3).
Masuda teaches:
An electromagnetic wave attenuation film (see translation at least [0001]; “The present invention relates to a radio wave absorber, and more particularly, to a radio wave absorber that can prevent communication failure due to reflection of electromagnetic waves and the like and can be reduced in thickness and weight.”), comprising
a dielectric substrate having a front surface and a rear surface (see at least Fig. 1, dielectric layer 12);
a thin-film conductive layer disposed on the front surface (see at least Fig. 1, pattern layer 13 shown in [0008] of translation to be made of a conductor), the thin-film conductive layer including a plurality of discretely arranged metal plates (see at least Fig. 2, patch pattern 101, shown in [0018] to be made of copper); and
a planar inductor disposed on the rear surface (see at least Fig. 1, conductor layer 11 matches the description in [0080] of the instant specification of the planar inductor as a flat plate or slab), wherein
the electromagnetic wave attenuation film is configured to attenuate waves within a predetermined frequency range (see translation at least [0036]; “In the above embodiment, an example in which the radio wave absorber of the present invention is applied to a wireless LAN system has been described. However, the present invention is not limited to this and can be applied to other than a wireless LAN system. That is, the frequency and band of radio waves to be absorbed can be changed by adjusting the shape, size, and arrangement of the patch pattern and loop slot, or by adjusting the thickness, surface resistance value, constituent material, etc. of each layer.”).
Both Toyokawa and Masuda teach an electromagnetic wave absorber comprising a dielectric substrate with a planar conductive layer on one side and on the other side a thin-film conductive layer including a plurality of discretely arranged conducting plates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the conducting patterns of Toyokawa could be made of metal, as taught by Masuda for the comparable feature. Such a modification would have been obvious because metal is conductive and shown by Masuda to be suitable for forming discrete conducting plates.
However, neither Toyokawa nor Masuda teach wherein the predetermined frequency range is a frequency range of 57 GHz to 90 GHz; and the electromagnetic wave attenuation film satisfies Formula (3).
Tanabe teaches a range for ln(T/d) that substantially overlaps with Formula (3) (see translation at least [0013]; “In other words, it was found that a sufficient shielding effect can be achieved with a metal film that is less than or equal to 1/50 of the inherent skin depth of the metal at the lower limit of the high frequency to be shielded, and more preferably, less than or equal to 1/2 and more than or equal to 1/20 of the skin depth.” Rewriting the preferred range in the form of Formula 1, Tanabe teaches -3 ≤ ln(T/d) ≤ -0.7).
Both Toyokawa and Tanabe teach embodiments where a dielectric layer is sandwiched between conducting film layers (see Tanabe translation at least [0016] and Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conducting layers used in Toyokawa to have thicknesses falling within the preferred range relative to skin depth as taught by Tanabe. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to design thicknesses to fall within this range in order to maintain desired performance while reducing costs, as recognized by Tanabe (see Tanabe translation at least [0014]; “Thus, it has been found that a sufficient shielding effect can be achieved with a metal film thinner than previously thought, and only a small amount of metal material is required. In terms of the manufacturing process, the plating or vapor deposition process for attaching the metal film to the dielectric can be completed in a short time, thereby reducing costs.”).
Neither Toyokawa nor Tanabe explicitly teach a predetermined frequency range of 57 GHz to 90 GHz. However, Tanabe gives examples at 1 GHz and teaches that the same principles apply at higher frequencies (see translation at least [0021]; “While mobile phones have been given as an example of the application of the present invention, it goes without saying that the present invention is effective not only for such portable wireless devices but also for shielding high frequencies in electronic devices, the operating frequencies of which have recently become higher.”). Similarly, Toyokawa gives examples in the range of 1 to 6 GHz (see at least [0012] of translation) yet states that the same design is suitable for the millimeter wave band (see [0036] of translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the design principles of Toyokawa and Tanabe in the millimeter wave band, such as between 57 GHz and 90 GHz.
Regarding claim 23, Toyokawa in view of Masuda and Tanabe teaches the electromagnetic wave attenuation film of claim 21. Toyokawa further teaches:
wherein each of the metal plates have two opposing sides (see at least Fig. 4 and [0090] of translation; pattern units 19 are square and have opposing sides).
Regarding claim 24, Toyokawa in view of Masuda and Tanabe teaches the electromagnetic wave attenuation film of claim 23. Toyokawa further teaches:
wherein the two opposing sides in each of the (see translation at least [0039]; “The resonance frequency of the patterned electromagnetic wave absorber is first determined by the length and perimeter of the conductive pattern 12 . Since this receives electromagnetic waves by resonating with electromagnetic waves of a specific frequency, the resonance length is determined according to 1/2 or 1/4 of the wavelength of the electromagnetic waves of that specific frequency.” Because Toyokawa teaches that the design can be adapted for millimeter waves in [0036] of the translation, the resulting length of the electromagnetic wave absorber falls into the range specified in claim 11).
It would have been obvious in view of Masuda to make the plates out of metal for the reasons given regarding claim 21.
Regarding claim 25, Toyokawa in view of Masuda and Tanabe teaches the electromagnetic wave attenuation film of claim 21. Masuda further teaches:
wherein the metal plates are made of any of silver, copper and aluminum (see at least [0019] of the translation; “The patch pattern 101 is made of a copper foil, and is periodically arranged on the upper surface of the dielectric substrate 12 (that is, regularly with a constant interval).”).
It would have been obvious to combine Toyokawa and Masuda for the reasons given regarding claim 21.
Claims 5, 17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyokawa in view of Masuda and Tanabe, further in view of Liu et al. (CN-208029314-U; hereinafter, Liu).
Regarding claim 5, Toyokawa in view of Masuda and Tanabe teaches the electromagnetic wave attenuation film of claim 1. However, Toyokawa does not teach:
the dielectric substrate has asperities on the front surface, the asperities including at least two first regions as concavities located at a relatively low level, and a second region located at a relatively high level;
the thin-film conductive layer includes a plurality of metal plates discretely arranged in the at least two first regions;
the at least two first regions are discretely arranged; and
the second region is located between the two first regions.
Liu teaches:
the dielectric substrate has asperities on the front surface (see translation at least [0014]; “The insulating layer has a first side surface and a second side surface arranged opposite to each other, and the first side surface is provided with grooves connected to each other in a grid shape…”), the asperities including at least two first regions as concavities located at a relatively low level, and a second region located at a relatively high level (see at least Fig. 3b, which shows the asperities of the insulating layer comprise concavities at a lower level and also regions at a higher level);
the thin-film conductive layer includes a plurality of metal plates arranged in the at least two first regions (see translation at least [0015] – [0016]; “A conductive layer, wherein the bottom of the trench is filled with a conductive material to form the conductive layer; The metal layer is electroplated on the conductive layer in the groove.”); and
the second region is located between the two first regions (see again Fig. 3b, where higher regions are located between two lower regions).
Both Toyokawa and Liu teach electromagnetic wave attenuating films comprising a conducting pattern layer disposed on an insulating layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the discretely arranged conducting patterns and dielectric used in Toyokawa to have the conducting patterns situated in grooves of the insulating layer, as taught by Liu. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include situate the discrete conducting patterns of Toyokawa within grooves of the dielectric in order to achieve high quality and yield in the conductive traces, as recognized by Liu (see Liu translation at least [0039]; “Adding an electroplated metal layer 3 on the conductive layer 2 formed by filling after embossing makes up for the defects of the traditional chemical deposition, coating conductive paste curing, etc., such as the metal layer is not dense, resulting in micro cracks and reduced electromagnetic shielding performance, thereby improving the yield and quality.”).
Regarding claim 17, Toyokawa in view of Masuda and Tanabe teaches the electromagnetic wave attenuation film of claim 16. However, Toyokawa does not teach:
the dielectric substrate has asperities on the front surface, the asperities including at least two first regions as concavities located at a relatively low level, and a second region located at a relatively high level;
the thin-film conductive layer includes a plurality of metal plates discretely arranged in the at least two first regions;
the at least two first regions are discretely arranged; and
the second region is located between the two first regions.
Liu teaches:
the dielectric substrate has asperities on the front surface (see translation at least [0014]; “The insulating layer has a first side surface and a second side surface arranged opposite to each other, and the first side surface is provided with grooves connected to each other in a grid shape…”), the asperities including at least two first regions as concavities located at a relatively low level, and a second region located at a relatively high level (see at least Fig. 3b, which shows the asperities of the insulating layer comprise concavities at a lower level and also regions at a higher level);
the thin-film conductive layer includes a plurality of metal plates arranged in the at least two first regions (see translation at least [0015] – [0016]; “A conductive layer, wherein the bottom of the trench is filled with a conductive material to form the conductive layer; The metal layer is electroplated on the conductive layer in the groove.”); and
the second region is located between the two first regions (see again Fig. 3b, where higher regions are located between two lower regions).
Both Toyokawa and Liu teach electromagnetic wave attenuating films comprising a conducting pattern layer disposed on an insulating layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the discretely arranged conducting patterns and dielectric used in Toyokawa to have the conducting patterns situated in grooves of the insulating layer, as taught by Liu. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include situate the discrete conducting patterns of Toyokawa within grooves of the dielectric in order to achieve high quality and yield in the conductive traces, as recognized by Liu (see Liu translation at least [0039]; “Adding an electroplated metal layer 3 on the conductive layer 2 formed by filling after embossing makes up for the defects of the traditional chemical deposition, coating conductive paste curing, etc., such as the metal layer is not dense, resulting in micro cracks and reduced electromagnetic shielding performance, thereby improving the yield and quality.”).
Regarding claim 22, Toyokawa in view of Masuda and Tanabe teaches the electromagnetic wave attenuation film of claim 21. However, Toyokawa does not teach:
the dielectric substrate has asperities on the front surface, the asperities including at least two first regions as concavities located at a relatively low level, and a second region located at a relatively high level;
the thin-film conductive layer includes a plurality of metal plates discretely arranged in the at least two first regions;
the at least two first regions are discretely arranged; and
the second region is located between the two first regions.
Liu teaches:
the dielectric substrate has asperities on the front surface (see translation at least [0014]; “The insulating layer has a first side surface and a second side surface arranged opposite to each other, and the first side surface is provided with grooves connected to each other in a grid shape…”), the asperities including at least two first regions as concavities located at a relatively low level, and a second region located at a relatively high level (see at least Fig. 3b, which shows the asperities of the insulating layer comprise concavities at a lower level and also regions at a higher level);
the thin-film conductive layer includes a plurality of metal plates arranged in the at least two first regions (see translation at least [0015] – [0016]; “A conductive layer, wherein the bottom of the trench is filled with a conductive material to form the conductive layer; The metal layer is electroplated on the conductive layer in the groove.”); and
the second region is located between the two first regions (see again Fig. 3b, where higher regions are located between two lower regions).
Both Toyokawa and Liu teach electromagnetic wave attenuating films comprising a conducting pattern layer disposed on an insulating layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the discretely arranged conducting patterns and dielectric used in Toyokawa to have the conducting patterns situated in grooves of the insulating layer, as taught by Liu. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include situate the discrete conducting patterns of Toyokawa within grooves of the dielectric in order to achieve high quality and yield in the conductive traces, as recognized by Liu (see Liu translation at least [0039]; “Adding an electroplated metal layer 3 on the conductive layer 2 formed by filling after embossing makes up for the defects of the traditional chemical deposition, coating conductive paste curing, etc., such as the metal layer is not dense, resulting in micro cracks and reduced electromagnetic shielding performance, thereby improving the yield and quality.”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHLEY BROWN RAYNAL/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648