DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/03/2026 in regards to claims 1-2, 6, 26-28, 32-33 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Tankersley et al. does not disclose a mounting bracket comprising a saddle profile. Based on an interpretation or grouping of parts of Tankersley the mounting bracket is identified as the parts/members of figure 4 (less the A-profile frame 33) to include the base 41 with curved couplers 92 forming an open bottom channel and an upper saddle profile is formed by the shape of upper surface 58.
Applicant argues the cited bracket (111) of Tankersley et al. is not interposed between each of the pair of legs and coupled to the legs. Taking the claim at its broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, one of the bracket (111) exists in space at least partially at a location between the legs (71) and is coupled to both members (71) at least by way of intermediate members/portions (as legs 71 are part of a single piece – figure 5).
Applicant argues Tankersley et al. does not teach the legs having a bend adjacent to an end portion. Such a bend is seen in figure 9 indicated in the view through the slot 133. Applicant refers to figures of Tankersley et al. found in the application file which show a different view of the legs 71. It is held that the figure 9 of Tankersley et al. can be taken as disclosing a bend even if differing figures may show differing designs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 26-28, 32-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Tankersley et al. (US 12,088,238).
Regarding claim 1, Tankersley et al. (hereafter “D1”) discloses a pier (ground engaging system/frame; figure 8) for a solar tracking system (title), comprising: a bearing housing assembly (cover 43, bolts to tabs 63 – col. 3, lines 35-38); a frame (33), the frame formed from a length of tube bent to form an A-profile (at 33 – figure 5), the A- profile comprising a pair of legs (71) and a crown (74) at a center portion thereof; and a mounting bracket (base 41, plate 52, couplers 92), the mounting bracket coupled to a portion of the crown of the frame at a first portion thereof and coupled to a portion of the bearing housing assembly at a second portion thereof (coupled to 33 via 92 and to cover 43 directly – figure 4; col. 4, lines 23-35), the mounting bracket comprising an upper surface (at 58/63) and two leg portions (legs of 92) extending downwardly from the upper surface to form a saddle profile (top of surface 58 forming a saddle profile) defining an open bottom channel between the two leg portions (channel between members 92; figure 4), the open bottom channel configured to receive the crown of the frame within a portion of the open bottom channel (crown of 33 received between 52 and 92 – figure 4).
Regarding claim 2, D1 discloses further comprising a fastener (bolts to/at 66 – col. 3, lines 35-38), the fastener coupling the bearing housing assembly to the mounting bracket (seen in figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, D1 discloses further comprising a support bracket (111), the support bracket interposed between each of the pair of legs of the frame, a first end portion of the support bracket coupled to a portion of a first leg of the pair of legs and a second, opposite end portion of the support bracket coupled to a portion of a second leg of the pair of legs (col. 4, lines 58-67).
Regarding claims 26, 28, and 32, see the discussion of claim 1, 2, and 6 above.
Regarding claim 27, D1 discloses wherein the end portion of each leg of the pair of legs further comprises a mounting hole (not indexed, see figures 10-11) for operably coupling to a piling (coupling to lower piling post).
Regarding claim 33, D1 discloses wherein each leg (71) of the pair of legs of the frame includes a bend formed adjacent to an end portion of the leg such that the end portions are aligned generally perpendicular to a ground surface (as seen in figure 9 leg bottom has a bend as seen through slot 133)).
Regarding claim 34, D1 discloses wherein the mounting bracket further comprises one of more fasteners (94) configured to couple the two leg portions (92) of the mounting bracket to the crown of the frame (figure 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7-11 are allowed.
Claims 3-5, 29-31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not disclose or suggest any combination meeting the limitations of the indicated claims. Specifically, Tankersley et al. does not teach at least the claimed A-frame tripod arrangement (of claim 7) or the inclined washers (of claims 3-5, 29-31) and the prior art documents of record do not suggest a modification to meet these limitations.
Conclusion
/PATRICK D HAWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631