This action is responding to application papers dated 5/12/2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
The information disclosure statement filed on 5/12/2023 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Specifically, claims 1-20 are directed to an abstract idea.
Per claim 1, the claim is directed to an idea of itself, mental processes that can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper. The steps of repeatedly applying and outputting the field names and values as drafted can be pure mental processes under the broadest reasonable interpretation. The claim does not recite how the applying and outputting steps are performed or implemented in a particular manner. Specifically, repeatedly applying the definition against the object string can be done mentally for a simple or linear object string as it is possible to learn to recognize the patterns in the string. The additional limitation, the step of receiving an object identification code input string is mere data gathering for the mental steps. Therefore, the additional limitation does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components or insignificant extra solution activities (e.g. processors, devices, program instructions), then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping of abstract ideas (2019 PEG step 2A, Prong 1: Abstract idea grouping? Yes, Mental Process). At most, the receiving step is not found to include anything more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. In this case, it is noted that the claimed extra-solution of data gathering is acknowledged to be a well-understood, routine, conventional activity court recognized as WURC examples in MPEP 2106.05(d)(ll), for example, data gathering and retrieving, storing data, transmitting/displaying a result - Symantec, Versata Dev, Content extraction, Electric Power Group). Insignificant extra solution activities or mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. Viewing the limitations individually and as a combination, the additional elements merely perform data gathering for the mental steps without integrating the abstract idea into a practical application. For at least these reasons, claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Per claims 2-12, these claims are directed to the same idea itself as in claim 1, reciting details of data and the mental steps (the step of recursively calling a parsing function, choosing) without adding any other additional element that is significantly more. Therefore, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as in claim 1.
Per claim 13, the claim is directed to an idea of itself, mental processes that can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper. The steps of parsing and outputting the field name and value pairs as drafted can be pure mental processes under the broadest reasonable interpretation. The claim does not recite how the accepting, parsing and outputting steps are performed or implemented in a particular manner. Specifically, parsing the string can be done mentally for a simple or linear object string as it is possible to learn to recognize the patterns in the string. The limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the functions through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1 Step 2A. The additional limitations, the step of accepting an object identification code input string and …definition as input is mere data gathering for the mental steps while the at least one hardware processor, memory, and parser are described at a high level of generality for applying or performing the abstract idea and do not indicate any integration of the abstract idea into a practical application as the mental steps are merely applied with a generic computing component(s). See MPEP see MPEP 2106.05(f) /2106.05(h). It is noted that employing generic computer functions to execute an abstract idea, even when limiting the use of the idea to one particular environment, does not add significantly more, similar to how limiting the abstract idea in Flook to petrochemical and oil-refining industries was insufficient. Therefore, the additional limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components or insignificant extra solution activities (e.g. processors, devices, program instructions), then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping of abstract ideas (2019 PEG step 2A, Prong 1: Abstract idea grouping? Yes, Mental Process). At most, the obtaining step is not found to include anything more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. In this case, it is noted that the claimed extra-solution of data gathering is acknowledged to be a well-understood, routine, conventional activity court recognized as WURC examples in MPEP 2106.05(d)(ll), for example, data gathering and retrieving, storing data, transmitting/displaying a result - Symantec, Versata Dev, Content extraction, Electric Power Group). Insignificant extra solution activities or mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. Viewing the limitations individually and as a combination, the additional elements merely perform data gathering for the mental steps and perform the mental steps using generic computing components as tools without integrating the abstract idea into a practical application. For at least these reasons, claim 13 is not patent eligible.
Per claims 14-19, these claims are directed to the same idea itself as in claim 13, reciting details of data and the mental steps (the step of recursively calling a parsing function, implementing an object scheme, editing the object definition) without adding any other additional element that is significantly more. Therefore, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as in claim 13.
Per claim 20, the claim is directed to the same idea itself as in claims 1, 3, 6, and 8, reciting only the same mental steps and additional elements recited in the claims 1, 3, 6, and 8 without adding any other additional element that is significantly more. Therefore, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as in claims 1, 3, 6, and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12, 14, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the object identification code decoding scheme definitions” on line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Interpretation: the object identification code decoding scheme definition.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the bar code input string” on line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Interpretation: the object identification code input string.
Per claim 15, it is unclear to which decoding scheme definition on lines 2 and 5 they are referring. Interpretation: the object identification code decoding scheme definition. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the second definition” on the last line in the claim. Interpretation: the second stored internal representation.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the bar code input string” on the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Interpretation: the object identification code input string.
Per claims 2-12, these claims are rejected because they depend on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Beall et al. (US 20240339208, hereafter Beall).
Per claim 13:
Beall teaches:
A computing system comprising: at least one hardware processor; at least one memory coupled to the at least one hardware processor; a stored internal representation of an object identification code decoding scheme definition, wherein the object identification code decoding scheme definition comprises a plurality of regular expression, field name pairs that map regular expressions to respective field names (Beall, see at least [0019], The computing device can receive the object information from a scan of the barcode with a communicatively coupled barcode scanning device; [0029] the machine-readable code may be a barcode that encodes a string of binary values in two dimensions (e.g., a QR code, etc.); (Beall, see at least [0044] recognize patterns within information that correspond to particular values; [0053] As this pattern is included in the object information 210, the regular expression 218C can be utilized to extract the value 219C (e.g., “Mar. 23, 2023”) from the object information 210 for the “best-by” field; [0040]; [0039]- The regular expression information 218 can also map each of the plurality of regular expressions to a corresponding field ID of the field that the regular expression is configured to identify; Note that the field IDs are field names);
an object identification code parser configured to accept an object identification code input string and the object identification code decoding scheme definition as input, wherein the object identification code parser is configured to parse the object identification code input string according to the object identification code decoding scheme definition as specified in the regular expression, field name pairs, wherein the object identification code parser is configured to output field name, value pairs based on regular expression pattern matches found in the object identification code input string (Beall, see at least [0005], performing a non-sequential parsing process to the object information to identify one or more values for one or more fields of a plurality of unique fields, … applying a plurality of regular expressions to the object information to identify the one or more values, wherein each of the plurality of regular expressions is configured to identify values for at least one field of the plurality of unique fields. The operations include storing, for each of the one or more values, a data object that comprises the value and information indicative of the field for the value; [0021] apply a first regular expression that is configured to identify values for a product identifier field to extract the value for the product identifier field from the encoded information … parse values from encoded information in a non-sequential manner, allowing for extraction of values from encoded information that includes values for unknown fields; [0039] the non-sequential parsing module 216 can include regular expression information 218. The regular expression information 218 can store a plurality of regular expressions. The regular expression information 218 can also map each of the plurality of regular expressions to a corresponding field ID of the field that the regular expression is configured to identify. … the regular expression RGX_1 may be configured to identify values for a PROD_ID (i.e., product ID) field; [0045] the fields are identified by a series of standardized field identifiers. For example, each of the values encoded in the object information 210 can be values for field(s) of a plurality of possible fields - Note that the object identification in barcodes decodes where the scanner reads the patterns of the barcode).
15. The system of claim 13, wherein: the stored internal representation of an object identification code decoding scheme definition is a first definition defining a GS1-compliant object identification code decoding scheme; and the computing system further comprises a second stored internal representation of an object identification code decoding scheme definition, wherein the second definition defines a non-GS1-compliant object identification code decoding scheme (Beall, see at least [0029] the machine-readable code may store information in accordance with some information encoding standard, such as an HIBC standard or GS1 standard; [0056]; -(Note that the HIBC standard is a different, non-GS1 compliant and independent standard).
16. The system of claim 13, wherein: the object identification code parser supports order-based object identification code decoding scheme definitions (Beall, see at least [0016] machine-readable codes are formatted to encode information in a standardized and sequential order so that the encoded information is easily parsed once extracted from the machine-readable code; [0042] the object information 210 may indicate that if a serial number value does not exist in the object information, to instead return a value for a product number field, or a lot number field, or a current date, in that order – (Note that the fields are order-based; both GS1 and HIBC standards are order based for uniquely identifying objects).
17. The system of claim 13, wherein: an object identification code parser function of the object identification code parser supports multiple matches against a given field name, regular expression pair in the bar code input string (Beall, see at least [0040] A regular expression, also known as regex or regexp, is a sequence of characters that define a search pattern. A regular expression essentially consists of a combination of characters and metacharacters that collectively define a pattern. Regular expressions can match specific characters or character groups within a larger body of characters, and can be used to search for specific sequences of characters; [0039] The regular expression information 218 can also map each of the plurality of regular expressions to a corresponding field ID of the field that the regular expression is configured to identify; (Beall, see at least [0019] a GS1-standardized barcode, a two-dimensional barcode (e.g., a QR code, etc.), a Health Industry Bar Code (HIBC), etc.). The computing device can receive the object information from a scan of the barcode with a communicatively coupled barcode scanning device, and can transmit the object information to the computing system – (Note that the GS1 standard supports having multiple instances of the same field within a code input string).
18. The system of claim 13, wherein: the object identification code parser supports reuse of a same delimiter for a plurality of fields (Beall, see at least [0056] The object information is either (a) extracted from a machine-readable code associated with the object, or (b) derived from information extracted from the machine-readable code associated with the object… the machine-readable code can be a barcode generated according to GS1 standards. For another example, the machine-readable code can be a barcode generated to HIBC standards (i.e., an HIBC barcode). …a two-dimensional barcode that encodes information in two dimensions (e.g., vertically and horizontally, etc.) – (Note that both HIBC and GS1 standards support the use of delimiters to separate fields, specifically, the GS1 standard uses <GS> character repeatedly (reuse) to separate multiple fields)).
19. The system of claim 13, wherein: the object identification code parser implements an object identification code decoding scheme according to the object identification code decoding scheme definition; and editing the object identification code decoding scheme definition customizes the object identification code decoding scheme by editing non-programming-code text only (Beall, see at least [0020] The computing system can perform a non-sequential parsing process to the object information to identify one or more values for one or more fields of a plurality of unique fields. To perform the non-sequential parsing process, the computing system can apply a plurality of regular expressions to the object information to identify the one or more values. Each of the plurality of regular expressions can be configured to identify values for at least one of the plurality of unique fields – (Note that regular expressions (regex) which are non-programming code text can be configured identify values for unique fields which implies editing or writing specific tailored regular expressions because regex is used to match precise character patterns, the expression must be edited to match the specific string format. Therefore, the tailored expressions enable customized decoding scheme)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beall in view of Yang et al. (CN 115270829, hereafter Yang).
Per claim 1:
Beall teaches:
A computer-implemented method comprising: receiving an object identification code input string representing a scanned object identification code (Beall, see at least [0019], The computing device can receive the object information from a scan of the barcode with a communicatively coupled barcode scanning device; [0029] the machine-readable code may be a barcode that encodes a string of binary values in two dimensions (e.g., a QR code, etc.); applying an object identification code decoding scheme definition against the object identification code input string, wherein the object identification code decoding scheme definitions comprises a plurality of regular expressions and the applying identifies fields with field values in the object identification code input string with the regular expressions of the object identification code decoding scheme definition, wherein the fields have respective field names; and outputting the field names and field values (Beall, see at least [0005], performing a non-sequential parsing process to the object information to identify one or more values for one or more fields of a plurality of unique fields, … applying a plurality of regular expressions to the object information to identify the one or more values, wherein each of the plurality of regular expressions is configured to identify values for at least one field of the plurality of unique fields. The operations include storing, for each of the one or more values, a data object that comprises the value and information indicative of the field for the value; [0021] apply a first regular expression that is configured to identify values for a product identifier field to extract the value for the product identifier field from the encoded information … parse values from encoded information in a non-sequential manner, allowing for extraction of values from encoded information that includes values for unknown fields; [0039] the non-sequential parsing module 216 can include regular expression information 218. The regular expression information 218 can store a plurality of regular expressions. The regular expression information 218 can also map each of the plurality of regular expressions to a corresponding field ID of the field that the regular expression is configured to identify. … the regular expression RGX_1 may be configured to identify values for a PROD_ID (i.e., product ID) field; [0045] the fields are identified by a series of standardized field identifiers. For example, each of the values encoded in the object information 210 can be values for field(s) of a plurality of possible fields - Note that the object identification in barcodes decodes where the scanner reads the patterns of the barcode).
Beall teaches a GS1-standarlized barcode and QR code (Beall, see at least [0019] a GS1-standardized barcode, a two-dimensional barcode (e.g., a QR code, etc.), a Health Industry Bar Code (HIBC), etc.). In general, for GS1 format and QR codes containing embedded structured data, a parser is often called recursively to handle nested or concatenated data structures. Beall does not appear to explicitly teach a function of repeatedly applying, however, Yang particularly teaches recursive parsing that corresponds to repeatedly applying the decoding scheme definition (Yang, see at least Fig. 2 and associated texts, public recursive parsing node: which means that the identification analysis system provides a key entry facility for identifying the analysis service to the outside, receiving the identification query the external client terminal, finding the enterprise node through the gradual recursion manner in the identification analysis system, and obtaining the detailed information of the identification). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Yang’s recursion with Beall’s object identification to modify Beall’s system to combine the recursion function as taught by Yang, with a reasonable expectation of success, since they are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor related to object identification or decoding. Combining Yang’s functionality with that of Beall results in a system that allows a recursive call. The modification would be obvious because one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination to enable object identification in a recursion manner for allowing complex tasks to be broken into simpler tasks (Yang, see at least Fig. 2 and associated texts, public recursive parsing node: which means that the identification analysis system provides a key entry facility for identifying the analysis service to the outside, receiving the identification query the external client terminal, finding the enterprise node through the gradual recursion manner in the identification analysis system, and obtaining the detailed information of the identification).
2. The method of claim 1, wherein: repeatedly applying the object identification code decoding scheme definition comprises recursively calling a parsing function (Yang, see at least Fig. 2 and associated texts, public recursive parsing node: which means that the identification analysis system provides a key entry facility for identifying the analysis service to the outside, receiving the identification query the external client terminal, finding the enterprise node through the gradual recursion manner in the identification analysis system, and obtaining the detailed information of the identification).
3. The method of claim 1, wherein: the object identification code decoding scheme definition comprises configuration information mapping the regular expressions to respective field names (Beall, see at least [0039], The regular expression information 218 can also map each of the plurality of regular expressions to a corresponding field ID of the field that the regular expression is configured to identify. … the regular expression RGX_1 may be configured to identify values for a PROD_ID (i.e., product ID) field; [0021]; [0064] - Note that the lot number in a barcode, GS1 barcodes are identified by a specific application identifier which is for identifying different data elements like dates, serials within the same barcode).
4. The method of claim 1, wherein: portions of the object identification code input string matching patterns in the regular expressions are extracted as the field values (Beall, see at least [0044] recognize patterns within information that correspond to particular values; [0053] As this pattern is included in the object information 210, the regular expression 218C can be utilized to extract the value 219C (e.g., “Mar. 23, 2023”) from the object information 210 for the “best-by” field; [0040]; [0039]- The regular expression information 218 can also map each of the plurality of regular expressions to a corresponding field ID of the field that the regular expression is configured to identify).
5. The method of claim 1, wherein: for the object identification code decoding scheme definition, a given field with a given field name can appear only once in the object identification code input string; and subsequent appearances in the object identification code input string cause an error to be raised (Beall, see at least [0064] The one or more data elements respectively include the one or more values and one or more field identifiers that identify the one or more fields of the plurality of unique fields…. each of the plurality of regular expressions is configured to identify a field identifier and a corresponding value. In some implementations, each of the one or more data elements comprises a GS1-format element string comprising a field identifier and a corresponding value that immediately follows the field identifier in the element string; --
Note that in GS1 standards, encountering a same identifier again causes an error. A field name is used as a unique identifier, therefore, it appears only once per barcode string. It can cause errors if more than one fields are assigned the same name).
6. The method of claim 1, wherein: the field names comprise a global field name having defined semantics within an enterprise resource planning system; the object identification code input string comprises a field value for the global field name; and the method further comprises: storing the field value for the global field name in a database (Beall, see at least [0036]; [0019] a GS1-standardized barcode, a two-dimensional barcode (e.g., a QR code, etc.), a Health Industry Bar Code (HIBC), etc.); [0035], the server computing system 130 can implement cloud-based databases that store information, such as medical information (e.g., associations between medical devices and encoded information, etc.). Access to services provided by the server computing system 130 can be mediated by an API. For example, the user computing device 102 may utilize machine-readable code sensor 120 to extract encoded information from a machine-readable code. The user computing device 102 can provide the encoded information to the server computing system 130 via an API for processing of the encoded information by a cloud-based information processing service implemented by the server computing system 130; - (Note that GS1 field names have standardized global names part of the GS1 global data model and defined in the attribute definitions for business. GS1 barcodes are globally unique and recognized)).
8. The method of claim 1, wherein: the object identification code decoding scheme definition is configurable via editing non-programming-code text representing the definition (Beall, see at least [0020] The computing system can perform a non-sequential parsing process to the object information to identify one or more values for one or more fields of a plurality of unique fields. To perform the non-sequential parsing process, the computing system can apply a plurality of regular expressions to the object information to identify the one or more values. Each of the plurality of regular expressions can be configured to identify values for at least one of the plurality of unique fields – (Note that regular expressions (regex) which are non-programming code text can be configured identify values for unique fields which implies editing or writing specific tailored regular expressions because regex is used to match precise character patterns, the expression must be edited to match the specific string format. Therefore, the tailored expressions enable a configurable decoding scheme definition)).
9. The method of claim 1, further comprising: choosing the object identification code decoding scheme definition based on an application identifier identifying an application invoking object identification code decoding (Beall, see at least [0019] a GS1-standardized barcode, a two-dimensional barcode (e.g., a QR code, etc.), a Health Industry Bar Code (HIBC), etc.). The computing device can receive the object information from a scan of the barcode with a communicatively coupled barcode scanning device, and can transmit the object information to the computing system – (Note that under the GS1 format, a barcode field is identified by an application identifier, and the value of the field follows the identifier)).
10. The method of claim 1, wherein: the object identification code decoding scheme definition supports order-based fields within the object identification code input string (Beall, see at least [0016] machine-readable codes are formatted to encode information in a standardized and sequential order so that the encoded information is easily parsed once extracted from the machine-readable code; [0042] the object information 210 may indicate that if a serial number value does not exist in the object information, to instead return a value for a product number field, or a lot number field, or a current date, in that order – (Note that the fields are order-based)).
11. The method of claim 1, wherein: the object identification code decoding scheme definition supports multiple occurrences of a same field within the object identification code input string (Beall, see at least [0019] a GS1-standardized barcode, a two-dimensional barcode (e.g., a QR code, etc.), a Health Industry Bar Code (HIBC), etc.). The computing device can receive the object information from a scan of the barcode with a communicatively coupled barcode scanning device, and can transmit the object information to the computing system –(Note that the GS1 standard supports having multiple instances of the same field (application identifier) within a code input string).
12. The method of claim 1, wherein: the object identification code input string represents direct output from an object identification code read (Beall, see at least [0019] The computing device can receive the object information from a scan of the barcode with a communicatively coupled barcode scanning device, and can transmit the object information to the computing system; [0029] The user computing device 102 can utilize the machine-readable code sensor 120 to extract encoded information from a machine-readable code … the user computing device 102 may directly signal the string of binary values to the server computing system 130 (e.g., via an application programming interface (API) using network(s) 180); - (Note that the code string represents the direct raw output from a barcode scanner/reader, the string is the direct data representation f the barcode. The string is direct/immediate alphanumeric result of the decoding process)).
Per claim 14:
Beall teaches when parsing the bar code input string, an object identification code parser function of the object identification code parser (Bealls, abstract, A non-sequential parsing process is performed to the object information to identify one or more values for one or more fields of a plurality of unique fields. Performing the non-sequential parsing process includes applying a plurality of regular expressions to the object information to identify the one or more values). Beall does not appear to explicitly teach a parser calling itself recursively, however, Yang particularly teaches parser calling itself recursively (Yang, see at least Fig. 2 and associated texts, public recursive parsing node: which means that the identification analysis system provides a key entry facility for identifying the analysis service to the outside, receiving the identification query the external client terminal, finding the enterprise node through the gradual recursion manner in the identification analysis system, and obtaining the detailed information of the identification). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Yang’s recursion with Beall’s object identification to modify Beall’s system to combine the recursion function as taught by Yang, with a reasonable expectation of success, since they are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor related to object identification or decoding. Combining Yang’s functionality with that of Beall results in a system that allows a recursive call. The modification would be obvious because one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination to enable object identification in a recursion manner for allowing complex tasks to be broken into simpler tasks (Yang, see at least Fig. 2 and associated texts, public recursive parsing node: which means that the identification analysis system provides a key entry facility for identifying the analysis service to the outside, receiving the identification query the external client terminal, finding the enterprise node through the gradual recursion manner in the identification analysis system, and obtaining the detailed information of the identification).
Per claim 20:
Beall teaches: One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a computing system, cause the computing system to perform operations comprising: receiving a barcode input string representing a barcode scanned by a barcode scanner (Beall, see at least [0019], The computing device can receive the object information from a scan of the barcode with a communicatively coupled barcode scanning device; [0029] the machine-readable code may be a barcode that encodes a string of binary values in two dimensions (e.g., a QR code, etc.); applying a barcode decoding scheme definition against the barcode input string, wherein the applying identifies global field names and field values in the barcode input string based on regular expressions in the barcode decoding scheme definition; and outputting the global field names and field values; (Beall, see at least [0005], performing a non-sequential parsing process to the object information to identify one or more values for one or more fields of a plurality of unique fields, … applying a plurality of regular expressions to the object information to identify the one or more values, wherein each of the plurality of regular expressions is configured to identify values for at least one field of the plurality of unique fields. The operations include storing, for each of the one or more values, a data object that comprises the value and information indicative of the field for the value; [0021] apply a first regular expression that is configured to identify values for a product identifier field to extract the value for the product identifier field from the encoded information … parse values from encoded information in a non-sequential manner, allowing for extraction of values from encoded information that includes values for unknown fields; [0039] the non-sequential parsing module 216 can include regular expression information 218. The regular expression information 218 can store a plurality of regular expressions. The regular expression information 218 can also map each of the plurality of regular expressions to a corresponding field ID of the field that the regular expression is configured to identify. … the regular expression RGX_1 may be configured to identify values for a PROD_ID (i.e., product ID) field; [0045] the fields are identified by a series of standardized field identifiers. For example, each of the values encoded in the object information 210 can be values for field(s) of a plurality of possible fields - Note that the object identification in barcodes decodes where the scanner reads the patterns of the barcode);
wherein the barcode decoding scheme definition comprises configuration information mapping the regular expressions to respective global field names (Beall, see at least [0039], The regular expression information 218 can also map each of the plurality of regular expressions to a corresponding field ID of the field that the regular expression is configured to identify. … the regular expression RGX_1 may be configured to identify values for a PROD_ID (i.e., product ID) field; [0021]; [0064] - Note that the lot number in a barcode, GS1 barcodes are identified by a specific application identifier which is for identifying different data elements like dates, serials within the same barcode; Note that GS1 field names have standardized global names part of the GS1 global data model and defined in the attribute definitions for business. GS1 barcodes are globally unique and recognized); and wherein the barcode decoding scheme definition is configurable via editing non-programming-code text representing the barcode decoding scheme definition; (Beall, see at least [0020] The computing system can perform a non-sequential parsing process to the object information to identify one or more values for one or more fields of a plurality of unique fields. To perform the non-sequential parsing process, the computing system can apply a plurality of regular expressions to the object information to identify the one or more values. Each of the plurality of regular expressions can be configured to identify values for at least one of the plurality of unique fields – (Note that regular expressions (regex) which are non-programming code text can be configured identify values for unique fields which implies editing or writing specific tailored regular expressions because regex is used to match precise character patterns, the expression must be edited to match the specific string format. Therefore, the tailored expressions enable a configurable decoding scheme definition)).
Beall teaches a GS1-standarlized barcode and QR code (Beall, see at least [0019] a GS1-standardized barcode, a two-dimensional barcode (e.g., a QR code, etc.), a Health Industry Bar Code (HIBC), etc.). In general, for GS1 format and QR codes containing embedded structured data, a parser is often called recursively to handle nested or concatenated data structures. Beall does not appear to explicitly teach a function of repeatedly applying, however, Yang particularly teaches recursive parsing that corresponds to repeatedly applying the decoding scheme definition (Yang, see at least Fig. 2 and associated texts, public recursive parsing node: which means that the identification analysis system provides a key entry facility for identifying the analysis service to the outside, receiving the identification query the external client terminal, finding the enterprise node through the gradual recursion manner in the identification analysis system, and obtaining the detailed information of the identification). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Yang’s recursion with Beall’s object identification to modify Beall’s system to combine the recursion function as taught by Yang, with a reasonable expectation of success, since they are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor related to object identification or decoding. Combining Yang’s functionality with that of Beall results in a system that allows a recursive call. The modification would be obvious because one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination to enable object identification in a recursion manner for allowing complex tasks to be broken into simpler tasks (Yang, see at least Fig. 2 and associated texts, public recursive parsing node: which means that the identification analysis system provides a key entry facility for identifying the analysis service to the outside, receiving the identification query the external client terminal, finding the enterprise node through the gradual recursion manner in the identification analysis system, and obtaining the detailed information of the identification).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beall in view of Yang and Han et al. (US20190392075, hereafter Han).
Per claim 7:
Beall and Yang do not explicitly teach wherein: the field names comprise a field name of a database table selected from a user interface of a relational database management system managing the database table. Han teaches that the field names comprise a field name of a database table selected from a user interface of a relational database management system managing the database table (Han, see at least [0043] Source data 108 can include data in a database, such as tables 112 of a relational database system; [0007] A first user interface screen is presented. The first user interface screen displays a plurality of attributes, such as fields of one or more relational database tables, that are selectable for relationship analysis. First user input is received selecting multiple attributes of the plurality of attributes for analysis). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Han’s relational database system with Yang’s recursion and Beall’s object identification to modify Beall’s system to combine the recursion function as taught by Han, with a reasonable expectation of success, since they are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor related to data processing. Combining Han’s functionality with that of Beall and Yang results in a system that allows integrating a relational database management system with a user interface as the cloud-based database of Beall can be a relational database management system. The modification would be obvious because one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination to enable a selection of field attributes of database tables from a user interface of a relational database management system which allows efficient management and analysis (Han, see at least [0043] Source data 108 can include data in a database, such as tables 112 of a relational database system; [0007] A first user interface screen is presented. The first user interface screen displays a plurality of attributes, such as fields of one or more relational database tables, that are selectable for relationship analysis. First user input is received selecting multiple attributes of the plurality of attributes for analysis).
Examiner’s Note
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20220292157 is related to regular expression that specifies syntax for parsing an URI;
CN104835045 is related to a parser initiating a recursive query to standard identification service system.
/INSUN KANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2193