Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-11, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown (5,422,617).
Regarding claim 1, Brown discloses:
a static housing (12);
a plunger (14, 30) disposed within the housing (12) and translatable along an actuation axis in response to a magnetic actuation force;
an intermediate element (26) disposed within the housing (12) and surrounding at least a portion of the plunger (14, 32),
wherein the intermediate element (26) is translatable along the actuation axis (see the drawing below) in response to magnetic actuation force (see col. 1, lines 28—33); and
a coil (16, 32) arrangement disposed within the housing (12) configured to provide a first magnetic actuation force in response to electrical excitation thereof and to provide a second magnetic actuation force in response to electrical excitation thereof (see col. 1, lines 28—33 and col. 4, lines 8-37);
wherein the coil arrangement (16, 32) is arranged such that the first magnetic actuation force is configured to translate the intermediate element (26) and the plunger (14, 30) together with respect to the static housing (12), and such that the second magnetic actuation force is configured to translate the plunger (14, 30) with respect to the intermediate element (26), (see col. 4, lines 8-37);
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st Gap)][AltContent: textbox (1st actuation surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st actuation limiting surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd Gap )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Sliding join)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Cavity )][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Actuation axis)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2st actuation surface)][AltContent: textbox (2nd actuation limiting surface)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2, Brown discloses:
the coil arrangement (16, 32) comprises: a first coil assembly (16) disposed within the housing (12) and configured to provide the first magnetic actuation force in response to electrical excitation thereof (see col. 3, lines 3-32); and
a second, different coil assembly (32) disposed within the housing (12) and configured to provide the second magnetic actuation force in response to electrical excitation thereof (see col. 3, lines 3-32).
Regarding claim 8, Brown discloses:
the first (16) and second coil assemblies (32) are arranged in series axially along the actuation axis (see the drawing above).
Regarding claim 9, Brown discloses:
a sliding joint (see the drawing below/above) between the intermediate element (26) and the plunger (14, 30).
Regarding claim 10, Brown discloses:
the plunger (14, 30) includes a second actuation surface (see the drawing above) opposing a second actuation limiting surface of the housing (12), and
wherein a second gap (see the drawing above) between the second actuation surface (see the drawing above) and the second actuation limiting surface (see the drawing above) is reduced or closed in response to the second magnetic actuation force translating the plunger (14, 30); (see Col. 4, lines 40-55; and Col. 4, lines 50-65; Col. 5, lines 1-20).
Regarding claim 16, Brown discloses:
the second actuation (see the drawing above) and actuation limiting surfaces (see the drawing above) are angled at an acute angle relative to a radial direction from the actuation axis (see the drawing above).
Regarding claim 11, Brown discloses:
the first and second coil assemblies (16, 32) are disposed in respective cavities in the housing (12).
Regarding claim 3, Brown discloses:
the intermediate element (26) includes a first actuation surface (see the drawing above) opposing a first actuation limiting surface (see the drawing above) of the housing (12), and wherein
a first gap (see the drawing above) between the first actuation surface and the first actuation limiting surface is reduced or closed in response to the first magnetic actuation force translating the intermediate element (26), (see col. 4, lines 8-38).
Regarding claim 4, Brown discloses:
the first actuation (see the drawing above) and actuation limiting surfaces (see the drawing above) are angled at an acute angle relative to a radial direction from the actuation axis (see the drawing above).
Regarding claim 20, Brown discloses:
the electrically energizing the first and second coil assemblies simultaneously (see col. 4, lines 8—20).
a static housing (12);
a plunger (14, 30) disposed within the housing (12) and translatable along an actuation axis in response to a magnetic actuation force;
an intermediate element (26) disposed within the housing (12) and surrounding at least a portion of the plunger (14, 32),
wherein the intermediate element (26) is translatable along the actuation axis (see the drawing below) in response to magnetic actuation (see col. 1, lines 28—33); and
a coil (16, 32) arrangement disposed within the housing (12) configured to provide a first magnetic actuation force in response to electrical excitation thereof and to provide a second magnetic actuation force in response to electrical excitation thereof (see col. 1, lines 28—33 and col. 4, lines 8-37);
the coil arrangement (16, 32) including the first coil assembly (16) and the second coil assembly (32),
the first coil assembly (16) disposed within the housing (12) and configured to provide the first magnetic actuation force in response to electrical excitation thereof,
the second coil assembly (32) disposed within the housing (12) and configured to provide the second magnetic actuation force in response to electrical excitation thereof;
wherein the coil arrangement (16, 32) is arranged such that the first magnetic actuation force is configured to translate the intermediate element (26) and the plunger (14, 30) together with respect to the static housing (12), and such that the second magnetic actuation force is configured to translate the plunger (14, 30) with respect to the intermediate element (26), (see col. 4, lines 8-37);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (5,422,617).
Regarding claims 5-7, 17 and 18, Brown teaches the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the acute angle is an angle between 300-600; 400-500 or about 450.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the acute angle is an angle between 300-600; 400-500 or about 450 for the purpose of providing a smoother, more stability.
Claim 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (5,422,617) in view of McGee (US 4,615,548).
Regarding claim 19, Brown discloses:
a static housing (12);
a plunger (14, 30) disposed within the housing (12) and translatable along an actuation axis in response to a magnetic actuation;
an intermediate element (26) disposed within the housing (12) and surrounding at least a portion of the plunger (14, 32),
wherein the intermediate element (26) is translatable along the actuation axis (see the drawing below) in response to magnetic actuation (see col. 1, lines 28—33); and
a coil (16, 32) arrangement disposed within the housing (12) configured to provide a first magnetic actuation force in response to electrical excitation thereof and to provide a second magnetic actuation force in response to electrical excitation thereof and to provide a second magnetic actuation force in response to electrical excitation thereof (see col. 1, lines 28—33 and col. 4, lines 8-37);
wherein the coil arrangement (16, 32) is arranged such that the first magnetic actuation force is configured to translate the intermediate element (26) and the plunger (14, 30) together with respect to the static housing (12), and such that the second magnetic actuation force is configured to translate the plunger (14, 30) with respect to the intermediate element (26), (see col. 4, lines 8-37);
Brown teaches the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose: a door lock; and the solenoid assembly wherein translation of the plunger and is configured to provide selective locking or unlocking of the door lock.
McGee discloses a door lock system comprising solenoid and plunger configured to provide selective locking or unlocking of the door lock (see the abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the make the door lock system as taught by McGee with Brown’s device for the purpose of providing the speed, reliability, and security features.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the REMARKS:
“Brown does not disclose or suggest that a coil arrangement such that (i) a first magnetic actuation force is configured to translate an intermediate element and a plunger together with respect to a static housing and (ii) a second magnetic actuation force is configured to translate the plunger with respect to the intermediate element”.
This argument is not found to be persuasive, because “protrusion” as shown in Figure 2 of the applicant below is equivalent with element “38” of the Prior Art of record. Therefore, it would produce the same function.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Protrusion)]
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Lisa Nhung Homza/
Patent Examiner - Art Unit 2837
February 12, 2026
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837