DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The reply with claim amendment filed on 12/03/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 10, and 15 are now pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0089973 A1, “Zhang”) in view of Singh et al. (WO 2024/099921, “Singh”).
Regarding claim 1:
Zhang discloses a user equipment (UE) (e.g., Fig. 3, 300), comprising:
receiving circuitry (e.g., Fig. 3, 316) configured to determine a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) with a hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) overlaps with a configured grant (CG) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) with UCI; transmitting circuitry (e.g., Fig. 3, 316) configured to encode a joint sequence with the UCI and the HARQ-ACK by appending bits for the HARQ-ACK to bits of the UCI, and multiplex the joint sequence on the CG PUSCH, in a case that priority of the HARQ-ACK is the same as the UCI, wherein the priority of the UCI is the same as the CG PUSCH (e.g., [0062], [0073], [0076], [0077], Fig. 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B).
Zhang is silent regarding unused transmission PUSCH occasion uplink control information (UTO-UCI).
Singh teaches a CG-PUSCH with unused transmission PUSCH occasion uplink control information (UTO-UCI) ([0038]-[0048], [0052]-[0054], Fig. 4 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Zhang based on Singh so that the UCI is unused transmission PUSCH occasion uplink control information (UTO-UCI), in order to improve resource efficiency of the system with unused allocated uplink resources.
Regarding claim 10:
Singh discloses a base station (gNB) (e.g., 2, 200), comprising:
transmitting circuitry (e.g., Fig. 2, 208) to determine a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) with a hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) overlaps with a configured grant (CG) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) with UCI; and receiving circuitry (e.g., Fig. 2, 208) configured to decode a joint sequence with the UCI and the HARQ-ACK by appending bits for the HARQ-ACK to bits of the UCI, and the joint sequence on the CG PUSCH is multiplexed, in a case that priority of the HARQ-ACK is the same as the UCI, wherein the priority of the UCI is the same as the CG PUSCH (e.g., [0062], [0073], [0076], [0077], Fig. 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B).
Zhang is silent regarding unused transmission PUSCH occasion uplink control information (UTO-UCI).
Singh teaches a CG-PUSCH with unused transmission PUSCH occasion uplink control information (UTO-UCI) ([0038]-[0048], [0052]-[0054], Fig. 4 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the inventio to modify the system of Zhang based on Singh so that the UCI is unused transmission PUSCH occasion uplink control information (UTO-UCI), in order to improve resource efficiency of the system with unused allocated uplink resources.
Regarding claim 15:
Singh discloses a method by a user equipment (UE) (e.g., Fig. 10, UE QQ200,) comprising:
determining a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) with a hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) overlaps with a configured grant (CG) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) with UCI; encoding a joint sequence with the UCI and the HARQ-ACK by appending bits for the HARQ-ACK to bits of the UCI, and multiplex the joint sequence on the CG PUSCH, in a case that priority of the HARQ-ACK is the same as the UCI, wherein the priority of the UCI is the same as the CG PUSCH (e.g., [0062], [0073], [0076], [0077], Fig. 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B).
Zhang is silent regarding unused transmission PUSCH occasion uplink control information (UTO-UCI).
Singh teaches a CG-PUSCH with unused transmission PUSCH occasion uplink control information (UTO-UCI) ([0038]-[0048], [0052]-[0054], Fig. 4 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Zhang based on Singh so that the UCI is unused transmission PUSCH occasion uplink control information (UTO-UCI), in order to improve resource efficiency of the system with unused allocated uplink resources.
Response to Arguments
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 over Singh
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 10, and 15 have been considered but are moot in view of a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Zhang and Singh.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BO HUI A ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465