DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues Tsujimoto discloses an electric leakage detecting apparatus 3a configured to detect, during a current leak, a variation in the resistance value from the resistance value without the electric leakage in the magnetic element 14s. (Tsujimoto, par. [0121]-[0122]). The Office Action alleges that the magnetic element 14s in Tsujimoto may equate to the TMR device as shown in Figures 2-5 of the instant application. However, Tsujimoto does not disclose or suggest that the magnetic element 14s include baseline resistance values, each associated with a frequency spectrum and a given operation voltage and/or temperature of the TVS device.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Tsujimoto (Paragraph [0062] / teach Rm is a baseline resistance value of the TMR device when no external magnetic field is present. This value is inherently associated to a frequency spectrum and a given operating voltage and/or temperature of the TVS/circuit because it is operating as some frequency/voltage/temperature when the baseline value is obtained. It is further noted that the circuit configuration of Fig. 5 is similar to the configuration shown in Fig. 4, 5 of the pending application, and thus this configuration would have the same properties).
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 10, Applicant argues Further, the Office Action alleges that the amplifier 24 of Tsujimoto may equate to the amplifier of the instant application. However, Tsujimoto does not disclose or suggest that the amplifier 24 is configured to amplify the voltage provided by the TMR device to generate the output voltage indicative of the leakage current in the TVS device.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Tsujimoto Fig. 5 shows Vmr across the TMR device and leads to the amplifier which is further utilized in the detecting electrical leakage. (See abstract)
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,8-12,15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsujimoto (US 20150153401) in view of Kristiansson et al. (US 20250155478).
Regarding claim 1, Tsujimoto teach A method of monitoring a change in leakage current through a circuit, the method comprising:
coupling a tunnel magneto-resistance (TMR) device (magnetic element 14) to the circuit (to be measured circuit 99. Note Paragraphs [0059],[0073] / note the point of the TMR device is to be placed proximate the circuit to detect leakage current) and connected in a current conduction path (Figure 5 / note the TMR element (14) is connected in a current conduction path from the power source); and
measuring a change in resistance of the TMR device using a voltage divider (combination of 14,22 for voltage divider) and an amplifier (amplifier 24) coupled after the TMR device and configured to provide an output voltage indicative of leakage current in the circuit (Figure 5 / note the amplifier is connected in a similar manner to that of applicant), (Paragraphs [0083]-[0086] / note that the output of the amplifier is indicative of the leakage current, such that when no leakage current is present, the output is zero, and when leakage current is present, the output is non-zero),
the voltage divider including the TMR device and a resistor (magnetic element 14 and resistor 22) (Figure 5),
obtaining a baseline resistance value for the TMR device associated with a frequency spectrum and a given operating voltage and/or temperature of the circuit (Paragraph [0062] / note Rm is a baseline resistance value of the TMR device when no external magnetic field is present. This value is inherently associated to a frequency spectrum and a given operating voltage and/or temperature of the TVS/circuit because it is operating as some frequency/voltage/temperature when the baseline value is obtained. It is further noted that the circuit configuration of Fig. 5 is similar to the configuration shown in Fig. 4, 5 of the pending application, and thus this configuration would have the same properties).
Tsujimoto does not teach the circuit is a transient voltage suppressor (TVS) device, and therefore does not disclose locating a tunnel magneto-resistance (TMR) device in proximity to the TVS device and connected in a current conduction path; and measuring a change in resistance of the TMR device using a voltage divider and an amplifier coupled in series after the TMR device and configured to provide an output voltage indicative of leakage current in the TVS device.
Kristiansson et al. (Kristiansson) (US 2025/0155478) discloses electrically measuring leakage current in the TVS device (Paragraph [0050]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Tsujimoto to include that the circuit is or includes a transient voltage suppressor (TVS) device, to therefore disclose locating a tunnel magneto-resistance (TMR) device in proximity to the TVS device and connected in a current conduction path; and measuring a change in resistance of the TMR device using a voltage divider and an amplifier coupled in series after the TMR device and configured to provide an output voltage indicative of leakage current in the TVS device, obtaining a baseline resistance value for the TMR device associated with a frequency spectrum and a given operating voltage and/or temperature of the circuit given the above disclosure and teaching of Kristiansson in order to advantageously be able to suppresses all overvoltages (Paragraph [0050]) which still monitoring for leakage current that can provide an indication of a circuit failure.
Regarding claim 2, Tsujimoto teach obtaining a baseline resistance value for the TMR device based on a baseline level of a leakage current of the TVS device; ([0122] Note that, when the current leaks, it is necessary in the electric leakage detecting apparatus 3a in FIG. 14 to detect the variation in the resistance value from the resistance value without the electric leakage in the magnetic element 14s. Thus, it is necessary to record the output from the amplifier 24 when there is no electric leakage so as to sequentially compare the recorded value with the output from the amplifier 24. Thus, a memory and comparing means 40 is preferably placed for the output from the amplifier 24.) Examiner’s position is the recorded output is interpreted as the baseline.
comparing subsequent measured resistance values of the TMR device with the baseline resistance value. ([0123] The configuration of the memory and comparing means is not especially limited as long as the memory and comparing means 40 has a function for recording the output from the amplifier 24 when no current leaks as an initial value to compare the output from the amplifier 24 after the start of the detection of an electric leakage with the default value, and sending a signal to the display means 26 when the output has varied.)
Regarding claim 3,Tsujimoto teach storing the baseline resistance value of the TMR device in memory. ([0122] Note that, when the current leaks, it is necessary in the electric leakage detecting apparatus 3a in FIG. 14 to detect the variation in the resistance value from the resistance value without the electric leakage in the magnetic element 14s. Thus, it is necessary to record the output from the amplifier 24 when there is no electric leakage so as to sequentially compare the recorded value with the output from the amplifier 24. Thus, a memory and comparing means 40 is preferably placed for the output from the amplifier 24.)
Regarding claim 4, Tsujimoto teach storing the subsequent measured resistance values in memory. ([0123] The configuration of the memory and comparing means is not especially limited as long as the memory and comparing means 40 has a function for recording the output from the amplifier 24 when no current leaks as an initial value to compare the output from the amplifier 24 after the start of the detection of an electric leakage with the default value, and sending a signal to the display means 26 when the output has varied.) The Examiner’s position is that detection of electric leakage is not a one time occurrence therefore subsequent values are stored.
Regarding claim 8, Tsujimoto teach wherein the baseline resistance value comprises a plurality of baseline resistance values each associated with a given operation voltage and/or temperature, and wherein each of the subsequent measured resistance values is compared with the baseline resistance value associated with the given operation voltage and/or temperature at which the subsequent measured resistance value was taken. ([0123] The configuration of the memory and comparing means is not especially limited as long as the memory and comparing means 40 has a function for recording the output from the amplifier 24 when no current leaks as an initial value to compare the output from the amplifier 24 after the start of the detection of an electric leakage with the default value, and sending a signal to the display means 26 when the output has varied.) The Examiner’s position is that detection of electric leakage is not a one time occurrence therefore subsequent values are stored and voltage is present in the circuit so resistance is broadly interpreted as being associated with voltage.
Regarding claim 9, Tsujimoto teach wherein each of the plurality of baseline resistance values is associated with a frequency spectrum, and each of the measured resistance values is associated with a frequency spectrum. (Paragraph [0062] / note Rm is a baseline resistance value of the TMR device when no external magnetic field is present. This value is inherently associated to a frequency spectrum and a given operating voltage and/or temperature of the TVS/circuit because it is operating as some frequency/voltage/temperature when the baseline value is obtained. It is further noted that the circuit configuration of Fig. 5 is similar to the configuration shown in Fig. 4, 5 of the pending application, and thus this configuration would have the same properties).
Regarding claim 10, Tsujimoto teach a transient voltage suppression (TVS) device, the TVS device connected in a current conduction path;
a tunnel magneto-resistance (TMR) device (14a,14b) located proximate the TVS device; in proximity to the circuit (93a, 93b) (Figures 5, 6 / note the wires carrying leakage current are the circuit, and each element 14a,b is the same as 14 in Figure 5), (Paragraphs [0059],[0073] / note the point of the TMR device is to be placed proximate the circuit to detect leakage current),
a voltage divider comprising the TMR device and a resistor, the voltage divider configured to measure changes in a resistance of the TMR device during operation of the TVS device; (combination of 14,22) and
an amplifier (24, Fig. 5) coupled in series after the TMR device and configured to provide an output voltage indicative of leakage current in the TVS device. (Figure 5 / note the amplifier is connected in a similar manner to that of applicant, and thus in light of the disclosure is also connected in series), (Paragraphs [0083]-[0086] / note that the output of the amplifier is indicative of the leakage current, such that when no leakage current is present, the output is zero, and when leakage current is present, the output is non-zero); wherein the amplifier is configured to amplify the voltage (Note Vmr, Fig. 5, par. 063) provided by the TMR device to generate the output voltage indicative of the leakage current in the TVS device. (Note par. 0081, The measuring terminals 23 are connected with inputs of the amplifier 24 so as to amplify the voltage between the measuring terminals 23. The display means 26 is connected to the output from the amplifier 24. The display means 26 is not especially limited to as long as the display means 26 can display the output from the amplifier 24. For example, the display means 26 can display the output from the amplifier 24 without any change. Alternatively, a threshold used to round off predetermined noise levels can be provided such that the display means 26 can display a signal indicating the presence of an electric leakage when the output from the amplifier 24 is higher than the threshold.)
Tsujimoto does not teach a transient voltage suppression (TVS) device, the TVS device connected in a current conduction path;
Kristiansson et al. teach a transient voltage suppression (TVS) device, (32, par. 0050) the TVS device connected in a current conduction path;
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Tsujimoto to include that the circuit is or includes a transient voltage suppressor (TVS) device, the TVS device connected in a current conduction path to advantageously be able to suppresses all overvoltages (Paragraph [0050]) while still monitoring for leakage current that can provide an indication of a circuit failure.
Regarding claim 11, Tsujimoto et al. teach wherein the voltage divider includes the TMR device configured to provide a voltage indicative of the resistance of the TMR device to the amplifier. (Paragraph [0062] / note Rm is a baseline resistance value of the TMR device when no external magnetic field is present. This value is inherently associated to a frequency spectrum and a given operating voltage and/or temperature of the TVS/circuit because it is operating as some frequency/voltage/temperature when the baseline value is obtained. It is further noted that the circuit configuration of Fig. 5 is similar to the configuration shown in Fig. 4, 5 of the pending application, and thus this configuration would have the same properties).
Regarding claim 12, Tsujimoto teach wherein the voltage divider includes a voltage source (91, Fig. 5) which the TMR device and the resistor is connected in series. (Note Fig. 5)
Regarding claim 15, Tsujimoto teach a non-volatile memory for storing resistance and leakage current values. (Note par. 0123)
Regarding claim 16, A method of monitoring a change in leakage current through a transient voltage suppressor (TVS) device, the method comprising:
Tsujimoto teach locating a tunnel magneto-resistance (TMR) device in proximity to the TVS device; (14a,14b); (93a, 93b) (Figures 5, 6 / note the wires carrying leakage current are the circuit, and each element 14a,b is the same as 14 in Figure 5), (Paragraphs [0059],[0073] / note the point of the TMR device is to be placed proximate the circuit to detect leakage current),
measuring a change in resistance of the TMR device; (Note by combination of 14,22)
obtaining a baseline resistance value for the TMR device based on a baseline level of a leakage current of the TVS device; ([0122] Note that, when the current leaks, it is necessary in the electric leakage detecting apparatus 3a in FIG. 14 to detect the variation in the resistance value from the resistance value without the electric leakage in the magnetic element 14s. Thus, it is necessary to record the output from the amplifier 24 when there is no electric leakage so as to sequentially compare the recorded value with the output from the amplifier 24. Thus, a memory and comparing means 40 is preferably placed for the output from the amplifier 24.) Examiner’s position is the recorded output is interpreted as the baseline.
comparing subsequent measured resistance values of the TMR device with the baseline resistance value. ([0123] The configuration of the memory and comparing means is not especially limited as long as the memory and comparing means 40 has a function for recording the output from the amplifier 24 when no current leaks as an initial value to compare the output from the amplifier 24 after the start of the detection of an electric leakage with the default value, and sending a signal to the display means 26 when the output has varied.); wherein the baseline resistance value is associated with a frequency spectrum and the measured resistance values is associated with a frequency spectrum. (Paragraph [0062] / note Rm is a baseline resistance value of the TMR device when no external magnetic field is present. This value is inherently associated to a frequency spectrum and a given operating voltage and/or temperature of the TVS/circuit because it is operating as some frequency/voltage/temperature when the baseline value is obtained. It is further noted that the circuit configuration of Fig. 5 is similar to the configuration shown in Fig. 4, 5 of the pending application, and thus this configuration would have the same properties).
Tsujimoto does not teach a transient voltage suppression.
Kristiansson et al. teach a transient voltage suppression (TVS) device, (32, par. 0050)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Tsujimoto to include a transient voltage suppressor (TVS) device, to advantageously be able to suppresses all overvoltages (Paragraph [0050]) while still monitoring for leakage current that can provide an indication of a circuit failure.
Regarding claim 17, Tsujimoto teach storing the baseline resistance value of the TMR device in memory. ([0122] Note that, when the current leaks, it is necessary in the electric leakage detecting apparatus 3a in FIG. 14 to detect the variation in the resistance value from the resistance value without the electric leakage in the magnetic element 14s. Thus, it is necessary to record the output from the amplifier 24 when there is no electric leakage so as to sequentially compare the recorded value with the output from the amplifier 24. Thus, a memory and comparing means 40 is preferably placed for the output from the amplifier 24.)
Regarding claim 18, Tsujimoto teach storing the subsequent measured resistance values in memory. ([0123] The configuration of the memory and comparing means is not especially limited as long as the memory and comparing means 40 has a function for recording the output from the amplifier 24 when no current leaks as an initial value to compare the output from the amplifier 24 after the start of the detection of an electric leakage with the default value, and sending a signal to the display means 26 when the output has varied.) The Examiner’s position is that detection of electric leakage is not a one time occurrence therefore subsequent values are stored.
Regarding claim 19, Tsujimoto teach wherein the baseline resistance value comprises a plurality of baseline resistance values each associated with a given operation voltage and/or temperature, and wherein each of the subsequent measured resistance values is compared with the baseline resistance value associated with the given operation voltage and/or temperature at which the subsequent measured resistance value was taken. ([0123] The configuration of the memory and comparing means is not especially limited as long as the memory and comparing means 40 has a function for recording the output from the amplifier 24 when no current leaks as an initial value to compare the output from the amplifier 24 after the start of the detection of an electric leakage with the default value, and sending a signal to the display means 26 when the output has varied.) The Examiner’s position is that detection of electric leakage is not a one time occurrence therefore subsequent values are stored and voltage is present in the circuit so resistance is broadly interpreted as being associated with voltage.
Regarding claim 9, Tsujimoto teach wherein each of the plurality of baseline resistance values is associated with a frequency spectrum, and each of the measured resistance values is associated with a frequency spectrum. (Paragraph [0062] / note Rm is a baseline resistance value of the TMR device when no external magnetic field is present. This value is inherently associated to a frequency spectrum and a given operating voltage and/or temperature of the TVS/circuit because it is operating as some frequency/voltage/temperature when the baseline value is obtained. It is further noted that the circuit configuration of Fig. 5 is similar to the configuration shown in Fig. 4, 5 of the pending application, and thus this configuration would have the same properties).
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsujimoto (US 20150153401) in view of Kristiansson et al. (US20250155478) further in view of Han et al. (US 20230052897).
Tsujimoto teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 5, Tsujimoto does not teach wherein the change in the leakage current through the TVS device is used as an indication of degree of degradation of the TVS device.
Han et al. teach wherein the change in the leakage current through the TVS device is used as an indication of degree of degradation of the TVS device (surge arrester, par. 0009). (to precisely determine the degraded state of the surge arrester, it is most preferable to determine the state of degradation by measuring the resistive leakage current) [par. 0009]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsujimoto to include the teaching of wherein the change in the leakage current through the TVS device is used as an indication of degree of degradation of the TVS device to provide an indication when the TVS device should be replaced.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsujimoto (US 20150153401) in view of Kristiansson et al. (US20250155478) further in view of Uozumi et al. (JP 2013072820 A).
Tsujimoto teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 6, Tsujimoto does not teach measuring the change in resistance of the TMR device is performed continuously.
Uozumi teach measuring the change in resistance of the TMR device is performed continuously. ( Par. 0017 The detection circuit main body 5 is equipped with an IC that drives the TMR element 2 with current at the above frequency to detect resistance changes, and is also equipped with a modulation circuit that drives the TMR element 2 with current at the above frequency, a demodulation circuit that demodulates the detected resistance signal, an amplifier that amplifies the resistance signal of the TMR element 2, and an A/D converter that converts the amplified signal from analog to digital.) Examiner’s position is that the measuring is performed continuous for the time the measuring takes place.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsujimoto to include the teaching of measuring the change in resistance of the TMR device is performed continuously to provide the most recent measurement.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsujimoto (US 20150153401) in view of Kristiansson et al. (US20250155478) further in view of Ito et al. (US 20190219633).
Tsujimoto teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 7, Tsujimoto does not teach measuring the change in resistance of the TMR device is performed periodically.
Ito et al. teach measuring the change in resistance of the TMR device is performed periodically. (the meter 41 measures change in resistance value of the evaluation MTJ 11a for a predetermined period while causing a predetermined current to flow into the evaluation MTJ 11a.) [par. 0052]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsujimoto to include the teaching of measuring the change in resistance of the TMR device is performed periodically to gather information only at scheduled times thereby limiting reducing wear and tear of the measuring device.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsujimoto (US 20150153401) in view of Kristiansson et al. (US 20250155478) further in view of Hu et al. (CN 103412176 A).
Tusjimoto teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 14, Tsujimoto does not teach wherein the TMR device comprises two layers of ferromagnetic material separated by a thin insulative layer.
Huy et al. teach wherein the TMR device comprises two layers of ferromagnetic material separated by a thin insulative layer. (6, 7, par. 0027) Examiner takes the position that a TMR device inherently has two layers of ferromagnetic material separated by a thin insulative layer.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tusjimoto to include the teaching of TMR device comprises two layers of ferromagnetic material separated by a thin insulative layer to provide high sensitivity and low power consumption.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 13, wherein the voltage divider includes a voltage source across which, the TMR device and a second, oppositely directed TMR device is connected in series.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEMETRIUS R PRETLOW/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858