DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Fig. 4) in the reply filed on 10/20/2025 is acknowledged.
In response, Examiner has identified claims which do not correspond to the disclosed structure of the elected species. Therefore, claims 6 and 12-15 are Withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, ln 7: “auxilar winding” should read –auxiliary winding--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, 10-11, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dajaku et al. (US 2016/0049838).
In claim 1, Dajaku discloses a self-excited brushless machine with compensated field windings (Fig. 1-11), the machine comprising: a rotor (2) comprising: a field winding (6) secured to the rotor (2); an auxiliary winding (3) secured to the rotor (2); and an energy converter (4) associated with the rotor (2) and configured to convert current between the field winding (6) and the auxiliary winding (3); and a stator (1) comprising a multiphase winding ([0048]).
In claim 2, Dajaku discloses wherein the energy converter (4) is configured to convert AC current induced in an auxiliary winding to DC current ([0050-0055]; see NOTE).
NOTE: A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
In claim 3, Dajaku discloses wherein the energy converter (4) is configured to convert a first AC current induced in an auxiliary winding to a second AC current having a different magnitude and frequency ([0050-0055]; see NOTE).
NOTE: A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
In claim 7, Dajaku discloses wherein the rotor comprises: a rectifier (4); an auxiliary winding (3) electrically coupled to the rectifier (4); and a field winding (6) electrically coupled to the rectifier (4).
In claim 8, Dajaku discloses wherein: the field winding (6) is a single-phase winding that serves as a synchronous machine field winding (6; [0071-0073]); and the auxiliary winding (3) is configured for power transfer from the stator (1) to the rotor (2).
In claim 10, Dajaku discloses wherein the auxiliary winding (3) is a single-phase winding (E; Fig. 1-2, and 5).
In claim 11, Dajaku discloses wherein the rotor (2) and the stator (1) have radial geometry (Fig. 4).
In claim 16, Dajaku discloses (Fig. 1-11) a method of operating a machine, the method comprising: using a first current (Alternating Current) to generate a first magnetomotive force on a stator (1) of the machine; using a second current (Direct Current) to generate a second magnetomotive force; inducing a third current (Induced Current) on auxiliary windings (3) of a rotor of the machine using the second magnetomotive force; and exciting a rotor field winding (6) of the machine with the induced currents of the auxiliary windings (3; [0034, 0050-0055, 0060]).
In claim 17, Dajaku discloses wherein the rotor (2) comprises an energy converter (4).
In claim 18, Dajaku discloses wherein the energy converter (4) converts AC current induced in the auxiliary winding to DC current ([0050-0055]).
In claim 19, Yamada discloses wherein the energy converter (4) converts a first AC current the auxiliary winding to a second AC current having a different magnitude and frequency ([0050-0055]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dajaku et al. (US 2016/0049838) in view of Kuznetsov et al. (US 2019/0393754).
In claim 4, Dajaku teaches the machine of claim 1, with the exception of wherein the energy converter comprises an active AC/AC converter.
However, Kuznetsov teaches wherein an energy converter comprises an active AC/AC converter (C1 106) to provide excitation of a rotor circuit at a different frequency and power level ([0026]).
Therefore in view of Kuznetsov, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide an energy storage system application for the machine (Kuznetov; [0026]).
In claim 20, Dajaku teaches the machine of claim 16, with the exception of wherein the energy converter comprises an active AC/AC converter.
However, Kuznetsov teaches wherein an energy converter comprises an active AC/AC converter (C1 106) to provide excitation of a rotor circuit at a different frequency and power level ([0026]).
Therefore in view of Kuznetsov, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide an energy storage system application for the machine (Kuznetov; [0026]).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dajaku et al. (US 2016/0049838) in view of Kuznetsov et al. (US 2019/0393754), and further in view of Jackson et al. (US 2013/0332014).
In claim 5, Dajaku as modified teaches the machine of claim 4, with the exception of wherein the energy converter comprises a wireless transmission interface that controls switching gate commands.
However, Jackson teaches wherein energy converter comprises a wireless transmission interface that controls switching gate commands (via the use of a controller [0066]).
Therefore in view of Jackson, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide to manage and distribute power to the other components of the machine (Jackson; [0066]).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dajaku et al. (US 2016/0049838) in view of Yamada et al. (US 2014/0028160).
In claim 9, Dajaku teaches the machine of claim 8, with the exception of wherein the auxiliary winding is a multiphase winding.
However, Yamada teaches (Fig. 2) an auxiliary winding (42n, 42s) having multiphase windings (A-Phase and B-Phase).
Therefore in view of Yamada, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to produce magnetic characteristics in the pole of each rotor tooth to create electromotive forces which are produced on the windings (Yamada; [0061]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamada et al. (US 2014/0028160) teaches a stator having a stator core, and stator windings wound around either the stator core or teeth of the stator.
Roche et al. (US 4233555) teaches stator windings of a dynamo electric machine including three phase and single phase output windings for generating alternating current output power at different voltages
RASHAD H. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/RASHAD H JOHNSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834