DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-6, 12-13, 15-19, and 21-23 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 5, 12, 16, 18, and 22 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Krishnamurthy et al. US (2013/0301434) in view of Seo et al. US (2013/0279361), further in view of HAN et al. US (2011/0200137), further in view of Nory et al. US (2014/0036747), further in view of Zhang US (2013/0094411), and further in view of Kwon et al. US (2011/0275363).
Regarding Claim 1, Krishnamurthy discloses a communication method performed by a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 106 & Para [0025] i.e., UEs 106, 107, and 108), the method comprising: receiving, by a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 106 & Fig. 3) a first message comprising a plurality of sets of parameters, (see Para’s [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message (i.e., “first message”) containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations (i.e., “plurality”) through higher-layer signaling. For example, UE might receive CSI-RS configuration information from the network via RRC signaling (i.e., “first message”)…A CSI-RS resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS (which will be referred to as CSI-RS resources). The CSI-RS resources indicate (i.e., “sets of parameters”), for example, the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted, the OFDM symbols and REs associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted, the CSI-RS ports, a subframe offset and a periodicity of the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted, etc. (i.e., sets of parameters are associated with each CSI-RS configuration) & [0070])
each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprising information on a location of a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS); (see Para [0048] i.e., A CSI-RS-resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS. The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example…the OFDM symbols and REs associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted (i.e., “location”)…In general, the CSI-RS resource information uniquely identifies the time-frequency resources to which the CSI-RS are mapped (i.e., “location”)) and subframe configuration information (see Para [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations through higher-layer signaling…A CSI-RS resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS (which will be referred to as CSI-RS resources). The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example, the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted (i.e., “subframe configuration information”)…a subframe offset and a periodicity of the subframes (i.e., offset and periodicity may also be “subframe configuration information”) in which CSI-RS are transmitted)
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 106 & Fig. 3), Downlink Control Information (DCI) on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a first subframe, (see Para’s [0037] i.e., PDCCH is transmitted in the first few OFDM symbols at the beginning of the subframe, [0040-0041] i.e., PDCCH which is located at the start of each downlink subframe, & [0043] i.e., The EPDCCH or PDCCH carries scheduling assignments and other control information in form of downlink control information (DCI) messages)
designating a first set of parameters among the plurality of sets of parameters (see Para’s [0048] i.e., a CSI-RS resource configuration will be designated for the UE to perform CSI measurement & [0070] i.e., i.e., This allows the UE to estimate and report CSI relating to neighboring TPs or cells or particularly CSI relating to a CSI-RS resource (i.e., “first set of parameters” of CSI-RS resource configuration)…The set of TPs (or CSI resources associated with TPs) about which the UE performs CSI measurement is referred to as the CoMP measurement set)
obtaining, by a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 106 & Fig. 3), the CSI-RS based on the first set of parameters; (see Para’s [0046] i.e., CSI-RS is transmitted on resource elements (REs) will be received by the UE for performing channel measurements, [0048] i.e., CSI-RS are typically transmitted only in some DL subframes (i.e., CSI-RS is transmitted and received according to the CSI-RS resource configuration which uses the first set of parameters)…one-to-one correspondence between each TP and each CSI-RS-resource & [0070] i.e., This allows the UE to estimate and report CSI relating to neighboring TPs or cells or particularly CSI relating to a CSI-RS resource…The set of TPs (or CSI resources associated with TPs) about which the UE performs CSI measurement is referred to as the CoMP measurement set, & [0080])
and receiving, by a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 106 & Fig. 3), data using radio resources on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), (see Fig. 4 i.e., PDSCH is received over resource elements (REs) of resource blocks (RBs) & Para’s [0037] i.e., data is transmitted in the rest of the subframe & [0038] i.e., the subframe 400 comprises multiple resource blocks (RBs), [0080] i.e., PDSCH)
While Krishnamurthy discloses the UE performs CSI measurement according to a designated first set of parameters of a CSI-RS resource configuration among the plurality of sets of parameters (see Para’s [0048] & [0070]), Krishnamurthy does not disclose the DCI designating a first set of parameters among the plurality of sets of parameters and receiving, by the UE, the DCI on the PDCCH in the first subframe. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Seo et al. US (2013/0279361).
Seo discloses a DCI designating a CSI-RS configuration information which includes parameters including a CSI-RS location (see Para’s [0080] i.e., an eNB may signal a CSI-RS location, periodicity, and the number of antenna ports, for each CSI-RS configuration information (i.e., “parameters”), [0112-0113] i.e., CSI-RS configuration information may be dynamically signaled using a DCI formation transmitted through a PDCCH…To this end a new field for signaling CSI-RS configuration information may be added to an existing DCI format & [0114] i.e., 2-bit field may be defined in the DCI format for indicating the CSI-RS configuration).
receiving, by the UE, the DCI on the PDCCH in the first subframe (see Para’s [0040], [0042] i.e., The UE receives a PDCCH/PDSCH…Especially, the UE receives DCI through the PDCCH, [0050-0051] i.e., The PDCCH is allocated to the first n OFDM symbols of a subframe…Information indicating how UEs are to receive PDSCH are contained in the PDCCH, & [0112] i.e., CSI-RS configuration information may be dynamically signaled using a DCI formation transmitted through a PDCCH…To this end a new field for signaling CSI-RS configuration information may be added to an existing DCI format)
(Seo suggests dynamically signaling any CSI-RS configuration information which should be used during CSI reporting among CSI-RS configuration information RRC-signaled through a DCI format (see Para [0113])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the first set of parameters for a CSI-RS resource configuration designated for the UE for performing CSI measurement as disclosed in Krishnamurthy to be indicated using the DCI in the first subframe disclosed in Seo who discloses signaling to a UE, a DCI on the PDCCH in the first subframe comprising a field which indicates or designates a CSI-RS configuration information including parameters such as CSI-RS location, because the motivation lies in Seo for properly receiving specific CSI-RS configuration information by the UE for efficiently performing CSI reporting according to the corresponding CSI-RS configuration information indicated by the DCI.
While Krishnamurthy discloses obtaining, by the UE the CSI-RS based on the first set of parameters (see Para’s [0046], [0048], [0070], & [0080]), the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo does not disclose the claim feature of obtaining, by the UE, the CSI-RS in the first subframe and receiving, by the UE, data using radio resources on a PDSCH in the first subframe. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of HAN et al. US (2011/0200137).
HAN discloses a transmit end 1100 generates a PDCCH including CSI-RS configuration information and transmits a subframe (i.e., “first subframe”) including the generated PDCCH and CSI-RS, to a receive end 1102 (see Fig. 11 & Para’s [0087-0089] i.e., In step 1112, the transmit end 1100 generates a PDCCH including CSI-RS configuration information and then, in step 1114, transmits a subframe (i.e., “first subframe”) including the generated PDCCH and a CSI-RS, to the receive end 1102. The PDCCH may indicate only if the CSI-RS is included in the subframe, and may additionally indicate a position and pattern of the CSI-RS in the subframe)
and receiving, by the UE, data using radio resources on a PDSCH in the first subframe (see Figures 5A-5C i.e., PDCCH and PDSCH (i.e., time-frequency resources) are included in the same subframe (i.e., “the first subframe”) which is received by the receive end 1102 & Para’s [0060], [0074], [0076-0077] i.e., received PDSCH & [0085-0088])
(HAN suggests the PDCCH including CSI-RS configuration and the CSI-RS transmitted in the subframe is used by the UE for determining and locating the CSI-RS in order to efficiently perform channel state measurement, (see Para’s [0009] & [0088])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the CSI-RS obtained by the UE based on the first set of parameters (i.e., CSI-RS configuration) indicated by the DCI on PDCCH in the first subframe as disclosed in Krishnamurthy in view of Seo to obtain, by the UE, the CSI-RS in the first subframe based on the teachings of HAN who discloses a transmit end generates a PDCCH including CSI-RS configuration information and transmits a subframe (i.e., “first subframe”) including the generated PDCCH and CSI-RS to a receive end which receives the PDCCH including CSI-RS configuration, the CSI-RS, and PDSCH in the same subframe (i.e., “first subframe”), because the motivation lies in HAN that the PDCCH including CSI-RS configuration and the CSI-RS transmitted in the subframe is used by the UE for determining and locating the CSI-RS in order to efficiently perform channel state measurement.
While Krishnamurthy discloses the UE performs CSI measurement based on using a first set of parameters associated with a CSI-RS resource configuration which includes location of the CSI-RS (see Para’s [0048] i.e., CSI-RS resource configurations…The CSI-RS resources indicate the OFDM symbols and REs associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted…the CSI-RS resource information uniquely identifies the time-frequency resources to which the CSI-RS are mapped & [0070]), the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, and further in view of Han does not disclose the claim feature of the receiving the data using radio resources on the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in the first subframe is based on the first set of parameters. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Nory et al. US (2014/0036747).
Nory discloses receiving data using radio resources on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) based on information on the location of a CSI-RS (see Para’s [0002] i.e., The PDCCH provides a device or UE with information that allows the device to, for example, process data that is downloaded/transmitted from the network over the PDSCH, [0023], [0041] i.e., DCI provides the UE with information necessary for proper reception and decoding of downlink data. DCI may include DL information such as scheduling assignments, including PDSCH resource indication, [0043], [0045], & [0080] i.e., In one implementation, the signal from the network is a message that explicitly indicates parameters relevant for receiving PDSCH…For example, the parameters can include DMRS antenna ports based on which PDSCH is received in the second default transmission mode, and/or, information indicating zero power CSI-RS RE locations based on which the UE determines the REs (i.e., “radio resources”) used for receiving the PDSCH).
(Nory suggests information indicating CSI-RS RE locations is used by the UE for determining the resource elements (REs) used for properly receiving data on the PDSCH (see Para [0080])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the first set of parameters including CSI-RS location information received by the UE in the first subframe in order to receive the CSI-RS as disclosed in Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, and further in view of Han to be used for receiving the data using radio resources on the PDSCH in the first subframe based on the teachings of Nory who discloses a UE receiving data using radio resources on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) based on information on the location of a CSI-RS, because the motivation lies in Nory for properly receiving data on the PDSCH based on information indicating CSI-RS RE locations which is used by the UE for determining the resource elements (REs) used for properly receiving the PDSCH.
While Krishnamurthy discloses the UE receives a first message comprising a plurality of sets of parameters (see Para [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message (i.e., “first message”) containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations through higher-layer signaling (i.e., sets of parameters are associated with each CSI-RS configuration)), each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprising first information on a location of a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS); (see Para [0048] i.e., A CSI-RS-resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS. The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example…the OFDM symbols and REs associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted (i.e., “location”)…In general, the CSI-RS resource information uniquely identifies the time-frequency resources to which the CSI-RS are mapped (i.e., “location”)) and second information on a location of a subframe (see Para [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations through higher-layer signaling…A CSI-RS resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS (which will be referred to as CSI-RS resources). The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example, the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted (i.e., “subframe configuration information”)…a subframe offset and a periodicity of the subframes (i.e., offset and periodicity may also be “subframe configuration information”) in which the CSI-RS are transmitted), the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Han, and further in view of Nory does not disclose the subframes in which the CSI-RS are transmitted are multicast broadcast single frequency network (MBSFN) subframes. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Zhang US (2013/0094411).
Zhang discloses the CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as a Multi-Media Broadcast over a single frequency network (MBSFN) or non-MBSFN subframe (see Abstract & Para’s [0013], [0021], [0050-0051] i.e., a CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as an MBSFN subframe & [0062-0063]).
(Zhang suggests the CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as an MBSFN subframe such that the CSI-RS is not transmitted in certain subframes which results in more available REs per PRB, thus providing a larger CSI-RS reuse factor and the CSI-RS can be collision free from essential system signals and common control channels (see Para [0051])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first message received by the UE which includes subframe configuration information which indicates the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted as disclosed in Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Han, and further in view of Nory to be MBSFN subframes for transmitting the CSI-RS as disclosed in the teachings of Zhang who discloses the CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as a MBSFN or non-MBSFN subframe, which results in MBSFN subframe configuration information in the first message, because the motivation lies in Zhang that the CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as an MBSFN subframe such that the CSI-RS is not transmitted in certain subframes which results in more available REs per PRB, thus providing a larger CSI-RS reuse factor and the CSI-RS can be collision free from essential system signals and common control channels.
While Krishnamurthy discloses receiving, by the UE, the first message comprising the plurality of sets of parameters (see Para [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message (i.e., “first message”) containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations (i.e., “plurality”) through higher-layer signaling), each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprising the first information on a location of the CSI-RS (see Para [0048] i.e., A CSI-RS-resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS. The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example…the OFDM symbols and REs (i.e., “first information”) associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted) and second information on a location of a subframe that includes CSI-RS which may be configured as an MBSFN subframe (see Para [0048] i.e., A CSI-RS-resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS. The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example…the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted & Zhang, see Para’s [0050-0051]), the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Han, further in view of Nory, and further in view of Zhang does not disclose the second information includes information on a location of the MBSFN subframe. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kwon et al. US (2011/0275363).
Kwon discloses a UE receives MBSFN subframe configuration information which includes information on a location of a MBSFN subframe (see Para’s [0033-0034] i.e., The operation of Release-8 UE is simplified by a simple indication that RRC configuration includes which subframes are MBSFN subframes and which subframes are not in the form of bitmap & [0038] i.e., The relase-8 UE may identify the subframe indices which are defined as MBSFN subframe using the received system information S120).
(Kwon suggests the MBSFN subframe configuration information is sent to the UE in order for the UE to properly identify which subframes are MBSFN subframes for efficiently decoding the MBSFN subframe which results in improved performance and throughput at the UE, (see Para’s [0005], [0019-0020], [0034], & [0038]) and CSI-RS measurements may be defined in the MBSFN subframe where CSI-RS may be located, in order for the UE to properly measure the channel quality and response according to the identified MBSFN subframes whose result will be reported to the serving eNB, (see Para’s [0049-0051] & [0055])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the subframe configuration information in the first RRC message received by the UE such as the second information on a location of a subframe that includes CSI-RS which may be configured as an MBSFN subframe as disclosed in Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Han, further in view of Nory, and further in view of Zhang to include the MBSFN subframe configuration information on a location of the MBSFN subframe as disclosed in the teachings of Kwon who discloses a UE receives from a base station, MBSFN subframe configuration information which includes information indicating which subframe is a MBSFN subframe, because the motivation lies in Kwon that the MBSFN subframe configuration information is sent to the UE in order for the UE to properly identify which subframes are MBSFN subframes for efficiently decoding the MBSFN subframe which results in improved performance and throughput at the UE and CSI-RS measurements may be defined in the MBSFN subframe where CSI-RS may be located, in order for the UE to properly measure the channel quality and response according to the identified MBSFN subframes whose result will be reported to the serving eNB.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Han, further in view of Nory, and further in view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sets of parameters comprise a second set of parameters (Krishnamurthy, see Para [0048] i.e., one or more CSI-RS resource configurations may comprise a second set of parameters), the second set of parameters comprises information on another location of another CSI-RS, (Krishnamurthy, see Para [0048] i.e., one or more CSI-RS resource configurations may comprise a second set of parameters comprising OFDM symbols and REs (i.e., “another location”) associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted…the CSI-RS resource information uniquely identifies the time-frequency resources (i.e., “another location”) to which the CSI-RS are mapped & [0117] i.e., when two or more TPs transmit on different PRBs and/or subframes).
and the location of the CSI-RS is different from the another location of the another CSI-RS, (Krishnamurthy, see Para’s [0048] i.e., The CSI-RS resource indicates the subframe on which the CSI-RS is transmitted for each CSI-RS resource configuration and therefore the CSI-RSs for each configuration may be located in different subframes…The CSI-RS is typically transmitted only in some DL subframes & [0080] i.e., different CSI-RS resources are quasi collocated or from quasi collocated TPs)
Regarding Claim 12, Krishnamurthy discloses a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 106 & Para [0025] i.e., UEs 106, 107, and 108 & Fig. 3), comprising: a circuitry (see Fig. 3 i.e., transceiver 302 & Para [0034]) which is configured to: cause the UE to receive a first message comprising a plurality of sets of parameters, (see Para’s [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message (i.e., “first message”) containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations (i.e., “plurality”) through higher-layer signaling. For example, UE might receive CSI-RS configuration information from the network via RRC signaling (i.e., “first message”)…A CSI-RS resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS (which will be referred to as CSI-RS resources). The CSI-RS resources indicate (i.e., “sets of parameters”), for example, the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted, the OFDM symbols and REs associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted, the CSI-RS ports, a subframe offset and a periodicity of the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted, etc. (i.e., sets of parameters are associated with each CSI-RS configuration) & [0070])
each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprising information on a location of a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS); (see Para [0048] i.e., A CSI-RS-resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS. The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example…the OFDM symbols and REs associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted (i.e., “location”)…In general, the CSI-RS resource information uniquely identifies the time-frequency resources to which the CSI-RS are mapped (i.e., “location”)) and subframe configuration information (see Para [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations through higher-layer signaling…A CSI-RS resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS (which will be referred to as CSI-RS resources). The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example, the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted (i.e., “subframe configuration information”)…a subframe offset and a periodicity of the subframes (i.e., offset and periodicity may also be “subframe configuration information”) in which CSI-RS are transmitted)
cause the UE to receive Downlink Control Information (DCI) on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a first subframe, (see Para’s [0037] i.e., PDCCH is transmitted in the first few OFDM symbols at the beginning of the subframe, [0040-0041] i.e., PDCCH which is located at the start of each downlink subframe, & [0043] i.e., The EPDCCH or PDCCH carries scheduling assignments and other control information in form of downlink control information (DCI) messages)
designating a first set of parameters among the plurality of sets of parameters (see Para’s [0048] i.e., a CSI-RS resource configuration will be designated for the UE to perform CSI measurement & [0070] i.e., i.e., This allows the UE to estimate and report CSI relating to neighboring TPs or cells or particularly CSI relating to a CSI-RS resource (i.e., “first set of parameters” of CSI-RS resource configuration)…The set of TPs (or CSI resources associated with TPs) about which the UE performs CSI measurement is referred to as the CoMP measurement set)
cause the UE to obtain the CSI-RS based on the first set of parameters; (see Para’s [0046] i.e., CSI-RS is transmitted on resource elements (REs) will be received by the UE for performing channel measurements, [0048] i.e., CSI-RS are typically transmitted only in some DL subframes (i.e., CSI-RS is transmitted and received according to the CSI-RS resource configuration which uses the first set of parameters)…one-to-one correspondence between each TP and each CSI-RS-resource & [0070] i.e., This allows the UE to estimate and report CSI relating to neighboring TPs or cells or particularly CSI relating to a CSI-RS resource…The set of TPs (or CSI resources associated with TPs) about which the UE performs CSI measurement is referred to as the CoMP measurement set, & [0080])
and cause the UE to receive data using radio resources on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), (see Fig. 4 i.e., PDSCH is received over resource elements (REs) of resource blocks (RBs) & Para’s [0037] i.e., data is transmitted in the rest of the subframe & [0038] i.e., the subframe 400 comprises multiple resource blocks (RBs), [0080] i.e., PDSCH)
While Krishnamurthy discloses the UE performs CSI measurement according to a designated first set of parameters of a CSI-RS resource configuration among the plurality of sets of parameters (see Para’s [0048] & [0070]), Krishnamurthy does not disclose the DCI designating a first set of parameters among the plurality of sets of parameters and receiving, by the UE, the DCI on the PDCCH in the first subframe. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Seo et al. US (2013/0279361).
Seo discloses a DCI designating a CSI-RS configuration information which includes parameters including a CSI-RS location (see Para’s [0080] i.e., an eNB may signal a CSI-RS location, periodicity, and the number of antenna ports, for each CSI-RS configuration information (i.e., “parameters”), [0112-0113] i.e., CSI-RS configuration information may be dynamically signaled using a DCI formation transmitted through a PDCCH…To this end a new field for signaling CSI-RS configuration information may be added to an existing DCI format & [0114] i.e., 2-bit field may be defined in the DCI format for indicating the CSI-RS configuration).
receiving, by the UE, the DCI on the PDCCH in the first subframe (see Para’s [0040], [0042] i.e., The UE receives a PDCCH/PDSCH…Especially, the UE receives DCI through the PDCCH, [0050-0051] i.e., The PDCCH is allocated to the first n OFDM symbols of a subframe…Information indicating how UEs are to receive PDSCH are contained in the PDCCH, & [0112] i.e., CSI-RS configuration information may be dynamically signaled using a DCI formation transmitted through a PDCCH…To this end a new field for signaling CSI-RS configuration information may be added to an existing DCI format)
(Seo suggests dynamically signaling any CSI-RS configuration information which should be used during CSI reporting among CSI-RS configuration information RRC-signaled through a DCI format (see Para [0113])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the first set of parameters for a CSI-RS resource configuration designated for the UE for performing CSI measurement as disclosed in Krishnamurthy to be indicated using the DCI in the first subframe disclosed in Seo who discloses signaling to a UE, a DCI on the PDCCH in the first subframe comprising a field which indicates or designates a CSI-RS configuration information including parameters such as CSI-RS location, because the motivation lies in Seo for properly receiving specific CSI-RS configuration information by the UE for efficiently performing CSI reporting according to the corresponding CSI-RS configuration information indicated by the DCI.
While Krishnamurthy discloses obtaining, by the UE the CSI-RS based on the first set of parameters (see Para’s [0046], [0048], [0070], & [0080]), the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo does not disclose the claim feature of obtaining, by the UE, the CSI-RS in the first subframe and receiving, by the UE, data using radio resources on a PDSCH in the first subframe. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of HAN et al. US (2011/0200137).
HAN discloses a transmit end 1100 generates a PDCCH including CSI-RS configuration information and transmits a subframe (i.e., “first subframe”) including the generated PDCCH and CSI-RS, to a receive end 1102 (see Fig. 11 & Para’s [0087-0089] i.e., In step 1112, the transmit end 1100 generates a PDCCH including CSI-RS configuration information and then, in step 1114, transmits a subframe (i.e., “first subframe”) including the generated PDCCH and a CSI-RS, to the receive end 1102. The PDCCH may indicate only if the CSI-RS is included in the subframe, and may additionally indicate a position and pattern of the CSI-RS in the subframe)
and receiving, by the UE, data using radio resources on a PDSCH in the first subframe (see Figures 5A-5C i.e., PDCCH and PDSCH (i.e., time-frequency resources) are included in the same subframe (i.e., “the first subframe”) which is received by the receive end 1102 & Para’s [0060], [0074], [0076-0077] i.e., received PDSCH & [0085-0088])
(HAN suggests the PDCCH including CSI-RS configuration and the CSI-RS transmitted in the subframe is used by the UE for determining and locating the CSI-RS in order to efficiently perform channel state measurement, (see Para’s [0009] & [0088])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the CSI-RS obtained by the UE based on the first set of parameters (i.e., CSI-RS configuration) indicated by the DCI on PDCCH in the first subframe as disclosed in Krishnamurthy in view of Seo to obtain, by the UE, the CSI-RS in the first subframe based on the teachings of HAN who discloses a transmit end generates a PDCCH including CSI-RS configuration information and transmits a subframe (i.e., “first subframe”) including the generated PDCCH and CSI-RS to a receive end which receives the PDCCH including CSI-RS configuration, the CSI-RS, and PDSCH in the same subframe (i.e., “first subframe”), because the motivation lies in HAN that the PDCCH including CSI-RS configuration and the CSI-RS transmitted in the subframe is used by the UE for determining and locating the CSI-RS in order to efficiently perform channel state measurement.
While Krishnamurthy discloses the UE performs CSI measurement based on using a first set of parameters associated with a CSI-RS resource configuration which includes location of the CSI-RS (see Para’s [0048] i.e., CSI-RS resource configurations…The CSI-RS resources indicate the OFDM symbols and REs associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted…the CSI-RS resource information uniquely identifies the time-frequency resources to which the CSI-RS are mapped & [0070]), the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, and further in view of Han does not disclose the claim feature of the receiving the data using radio resources on the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in the first subframe is based on the first set of parameters. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Nory et al. US (2014/0036747).
Nory discloses receiving data using radio resources on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) based on information on the location of a CSI-RS (see Para’s [0002] i.e., The PDCCH provides a device or UE with information that allows the device to, for example, process data that is downloaded/transmitted from the network over the PDSCH, [0023], [0041] i.e., DCI provides the UE with information necessary for proper reception and decoding of downlink data. DCI may include DL information such as scheduling assignments, including PDSCH resource indication, [0043], [0045], & [0080] i.e., In one implementation, the signal from the network is a message that explicitly indicates parameters relevant for receiving PDSCH…For example, the parameters can include DMRS antenna ports based on which PDSCH is received in the second default transmission mode, and/or, information indicating zero power CSI-RS RE locations based on which the UE determines the REs (i.e., “radio resources”) used for receiving the PDSCH).
(Nory suggests information indicating CSI-RS RE locations is used by the UE for determining the resource elements (REs) used for properly receiving data on the PDSCH (see Para [0080])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the first set of parameters including CSI-RS location information received by the UE in the first subframe in order to receive the CSI-RS as disclosed in Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, and further in view of Han to be used for receiving the data using radio resources on the PDSCH in the first subframe based on the teachings of Nory who discloses a UE receiving data using radio resources on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) based on information on the location of a CSI-RS, because the motivation lies in Nory for properly receiving data on the PDSCH based on information indicating CSI-RS RE locations which is used by the UE for determining the resource elements (REs) used for properly receiving the PDSCH.
While Krishnamurthy discloses the UE receives a first message comprising a plurality of sets of parameters (see Para [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message (i.e., “first message”) containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations through higher-layer signaling (i.e., sets of parameters are associated with each CSI-RS configuration)), each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprising first information on a location of a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS); (see Para [0048] i.e., A CSI-RS-resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS. The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example…the OFDM symbols and REs associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted (i.e., “location”)…In general, the CSI-RS resource information uniquely identifies the time-frequency resources to which the CSI-RS are mapped (i.e., “location”)) and second information on a location of a subframe (see Para [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations through higher-layer signaling…A CSI-RS resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS (which will be referred to as CSI-RS resources). The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example, the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted (i.e., “subframe configuration information”)…a subframe offset and a periodicity of the subframes (i.e., offset and periodicity may also be “subframe configuration information”) in which the CSI-RS are transmitted), the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Han, and further in view of Nory does not disclose the subframes in which the CSI-RS are transmitted are multicast broadcast single frequency network (MBSFN) subframes. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Zhang US (2013/0094411).
Zhang discloses the CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as a Multi-Media Broadcast over a single frequency network (MBSFN) or non-MBSFN subframe (see Abstract & Para’s [0013], [0021], [0050-0051] i.e., a CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as an MBSFN subframe & [0062-0063]).
(Zhang suggests the CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as an MBSFN subframe such that the CSI-RS is not transmitted in certain subframes which results in more available REs per PRB, thus providing a larger CSI-RS reuse factor and the CSI-RS can be collision free from essential system signals and common control channels (see Para [0051])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first message received by the UE which includes subframe configuration information which indicates the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted as disclosed in Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Han, and further in view of Nory to be MBSFN subframes for transmitting the CSI-RS as disclosed in the teachings of Zhang who discloses the CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as a MBSFN or non-MBSFN subframe, which results in MBSFN subframe configuration information in the first message, because the motivation lies in Zhang that the CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as an MBSFN subframe such that the CSI-RS is not transmitted in certain subframes which results in more available REs per PRB, thus providing a larger CSI-RS reuse factor and the CSI-RS can be collision free from essential system signals and common control channels.
While Krishnamurthy discloses receiving, by the UE, the first message comprising the plurality of sets of parameters (see Para [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message (i.e., “first message”) containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations (i.e., “plurality”) through higher-layer signaling), each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprising the first information on a location of the CSI-RS (see Para [0048] i.e., A CSI-RS-resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS. The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example…the OFDM symbols and REs (i.e., “first information”) associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted) and second information on a location of a subframe that includes CSI-RS which may be configured as an MBSFN subframe (see Para [0048] i.e., A CSI-RS-resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS. The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example…the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted & Zhang, see Para’s [0050-0051]), the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Han, further in view of Nory, and further in view of Zhang does not disclose the second information includes information on a location of the MBSFN subframe. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kwon et al. US (2011/0275363).
Kwon discloses a UE receives MBSFN subframe configuration information which includes information on a location of a MBSFN subframe (see Para’s [0033-0034] i.e., The operation of Release-8 UE is simplified by a simple indication that RRC configuration includes which subframes are MBSFN subframes and which subframes are not in the form of bitmap & [0038] i.e., The relase-8 UE may identify the subframe indices which are defined as MBSFN subframe using the received system information S120).
(Kwon suggests the MBSFN subframe configuration information is sent to the UE in order for the UE to properly identify which subframes are MBSFN subframes for efficiently decoding the MBSFN subframe which results in improved performance and throughput at the UE, (see Para’s [0005], [0019-0020], [0034], & [0038]) and CSI-RS measurements may be defined in the MBSFN subframe where CSI-RS may be located, in order for the UE to properly measure the channel quality and response according to the identified MBSFN subframes whose result will be reported to the serving eNB, (see Para’s [0049-0051] & [0055])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the subframe configuration information in the first RRC message received by the UE such as the second information on a location of a subframe that includes CSI-RS which may be configured as an MBSFN subframe as disclosed in Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Han, further in view of Nory, and further in view of Zhang to include the MBSFN subframe configuration information on a location of the MBSFN subframe as disclosed in the teachings of Kwon who discloses a UE receives from a base station, MBSFN subframe configuration information which includes information indicating which subframe is a MBSFN subframe, because the motivation lies in Kwon that the MBSFN subframe configuration information is sent to the UE in order for the UE to properly identify which subframes are MBSFN subframes for efficiently decoding the MBSFN subframe which results in improved performance and throughput at the UE and CSI-RS measurements may be defined in the MBSFN subframe where CSI-RS may be located, in order for the UE to properly measure the channel quality and response according to the identified MBSFN subframes whose result will be reported to the serving eNB.
Regarding Claim 16, the claim is directed towards a UE which performs the same claim features as claim 5. Therefore claim 16 is rejected as obvious over the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Han, further in view of Nory, and further in view of Zhang as in claim 5.
Regarding Claim 18, Krishnamurthy discloses a communication device (see Fig. 3 & Para [0033]) for a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 106 & Para [0025] i.e., UEs 106, 107, and 108), the communication device (see Fig. 3) comprising: a circuitry (see Fig. 3 i.e., transceiver 302 & Para [0034]) which is configured to: cause the UE to receive a first message comprising a plurality of sets of parameters, (see Para’s [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message (i.e., “first message”) containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations (i.e., “plurality”) through higher-layer signaling. For example, UE might receive CSI-RS configuration information from the network via RRC signaling (i.e., “first message”)…A CSI-RS resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS (which will be referred to as CSI-RS resources). The CSI-RS resources indicate (i.e., “sets of parameters”), for example, the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted, the OFDM symbols and REs associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted, the CSI-RS ports, a subframe offset and a periodicity of the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted, etc. (i.e., sets of parameters are associated with each CSI-RS configuration) & [0070])
each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprising information on a location of a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS); (see Para [0048] i.e., A CSI-RS-resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS. The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example…the OFDM symbols and REs associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted (i.e., “location”)…In general, the CSI-RS resource information uniquely identifies the time-frequency resources to which the CSI-RS are mapped (i.e., “location”)) and subframe configuration information (see Para [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations through higher-layer signaling…A CSI-RS resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS (which will be referred to as CSI-RS resources). The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example, the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted (i.e., “subframe configuration information”)…a subframe offset and a periodicity of the subframes (i.e., offset and periodicity may also be “subframe configuration information”) in which CSI-RS are transmitted)
cause the UE to receive Downlink Control Information (DCI) on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a first subframe, (see Para’s [0037] i.e., PDCCH is transmitted in the first few OFDM symbols at the beginning of the subframe, [0040-0041] i.e., PDCCH which is located at the start of each downlink subframe, & [0043] i.e., The EPDCCH or PDCCH carries scheduling assignments and other control information in form of downlink control information (DCI) messages)
designating a first set of parameters among the plurality of sets of parameters (see Para’s [0048] i.e., a CSI-RS resource configuration will be designated for the UE to perform CSI measurement & [0070] i.e., i.e., This allows the UE to estimate and report CSI relating to neighboring TPs or cells or particularly CSI relating to a CSI-RS resource (i.e., “first set of parameters” of CSI-RS resource configuration)…The set of TPs (or CSI resources associated with TPs) about which the UE performs CSI measurement is referred to as the CoMP measurement set)
cause the UE to obtain the CSI-RS based on the first set of parameters; (see Para’s [0046] i.e., CSI-RS is transmitted on resource elements (REs) will be received by the UE for performing channel measurements, [0048] i.e., CSI-RS are typically transmitted only in some DL subframes (i.e., CSI-RS is transmitted and received according to the CSI-RS resource configuration which uses the first set of parameters)…one-to-one correspondence between each TP and each CSI-RS-resource & [0070] i.e., This allows the UE to estimate and report CSI relating to neighboring TPs or cells or particularly CSI relating to a CSI-RS resource…The set of TPs (or CSI resources associated with TPs) about which the UE performs CSI measurement is referred to as the CoMP measurement set, & [0080])
and cause the UE to receive data using radio resources on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), (see Fig. 4 i.e., PDSCH is received over resource elements (REs) of resource blocks (RBs) & Para’s [0037] i.e., data is transmitted in the rest of the subframe & [0038] i.e., the subframe 400 comprises multiple resource blocks (RBs), [0080] i.e., PDSCH)
While Krishnamurthy discloses the UE performs CSI measurement according to a designated first set of parameters of a CSI-RS resource configuration among the plurality of sets of parameters (see Para’s [0048] & [0070]), Krishnamurthy does not disclose the DCI designating a first set of parameters among the plurality of sets of parameters and receiving, by the UE, the DCI on the PDCCH in the first subframe. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Seo et al. US (2013/0279361).
Seo discloses a DCI designating a CSI-RS configuration information which includes parameters including a CSI-RS location (see Para’s [0080] i.e., an eNB may signal a CSI-RS location, periodicity, and the number of antenna ports, for each CSI-RS configuration information (i.e., “parameters”), [0112-0113] i.e., CSI-RS configuration information may be dynamically signaled using a DCI formation transmitted through a PDCCH…To this end a new field for signaling CSI-RS configuration information may be added to an existing DCI format & [0114] i.e., 2-bit field may be defined in the DCI format for indicating the CSI-RS configuration).
receiving, by the UE, the DCI on the PDCCH in the first subframe (see Para’s [0040], [0042] i.e., The UE receives a PDCCH/PDSCH…Especially, the UE receives DCI through the PDCCH, [0050-0051] i.e., The PDCCH is allocated to the first n OFDM symbols of a subframe…Information indicating how UEs are to receive PDSCH are contained in the PDCCH, & [0112] i.e., CSI-RS configuration information may be dynamically signaled using a DCI formation transmitted through a PDCCH…To this end a new field for signaling CSI-RS configuration information may be added to an existing DCI format)
(Seo suggests dynamically signaling any CSI-RS configuration information which should be used during CSI reporting among CSI-RS configuration information RRC-signaled through a DCI format (see Para [0113])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the first set of parameters for a CSI-RS resource configuration designated for the UE for performing CSI measurement as disclosed in Krishnamurthy to be indicated using the DCI in the first subframe disclosed in Seo who discloses signaling to a UE, a DCI on the PDCCH in the first subframe comprising a field which indicates or designates a CSI-RS configuration information including parameters such as CSI-RS location, because the motivation lies in Seo for properly receiving specific CSI-RS configuration information by the UE for efficiently performing CSI reporting according to the corresponding CSI-RS configuration information indicated by the DCI.
While Krishnamurthy discloses obtaining, by the UE the CSI-RS based on the first set of parameters (see Para’s [0046], [0048], [0070], & [0080]), the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo does not disclose the claim feature of obtaining, by the UE, the CSI-RS in the first subframe and receiving, by the UE, data using radio resources on a PDSCH in the first subframe. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of HAN et al. US (2011/0200137).
HAN discloses a transmit end 1100 generates a PDCCH including CSI-RS configuration information and transmits a subframe (i.e., “first subframe”) including the generated PDCCH and CSI-RS, to a receive end 1102 (see Fig. 11 & Para’s [0087-0089] i.e., In step 1112, the transmit end 1100 generates a PDCCH including CSI-RS configuration information and then, in step 1114, transmits a subframe (i.e., “first subframe”) including the generated PDCCH and a CSI-RS, to the receive end 1102. The PDCCH may indicate only if the CSI-RS is included in the subframe, and may additionally indicate a position and pattern of the CSI-RS in the subframe)
and receiving, by the UE, data using radio resources on a PDSCH in the first subframe (see Figures 5A-5C i.e., PDCCH and PDSCH (i.e., time-frequency resources) are included in the same subframe (i.e., “the first subframe”) which is received by the receive end 1102 & Para’s [0060], [0074], [0076-0077] i.e., received PDSCH & [0085-0088])
(HAN suggests the PDCCH including CSI-RS configuration and the CSI-RS transmitted in the subframe is used by the UE for determining and locating the CSI-RS in order to efficiently perform channel state measurement, (see Para’s [0009] & [0088])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the CSI-RS obtained by the UE based on the first set of parameters (i.e., CSI-RS configuration) indicated by the DCI on PDCCH in the first subframe as disclosed in Krishnamurthy in view of Seo to obtain, by the UE, the CSI-RS in the first subframe based on the teachings of HAN who discloses a transmit end generates a PDCCH including CSI-RS configuration information and transmits a subframe (i.e., “first subframe”) including the generated PDCCH and CSI-RS to a receive end which receives the PDCCH including CSI-RS configuration, the CSI-RS, and PDSCH in the same subframe (i.e., “first subframe”), because the motivation lies in HAN that the PDCCH including CSI-RS configuration and the CSI-RS transmitted in the subframe is used by the UE for determining and locating the CSI-RS in order to efficiently perform channel state measurement.
While Krishnamurthy discloses the UE performs CSI measurement based on using a first set of parameters associated with a CSI-RS resource configuration which includes location of the CSI-RS (see Para’s [0048] i.e., CSI-RS resource configurations…The CSI-RS resources indicate the OFDM symbols and REs associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted…the CSI-RS resource information uniquely identifies the time-frequency resources to which the CSI-RS are mapped & [0070]), the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, and further in view of Han does not disclose the claim feature of the receiving the data using radio resources on the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in the first subframe is based on the first set of parameters. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Nory et al. US (2014/0036747).
Nory discloses receiving data using radio resources on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) based on information on the location of a CSI-RS (see Para’s [0002] i.e., The PDCCH provides a device or UE with information that allows the device to, for example, process data that is downloaded/transmitted from the network over the PDSCH, [0023], [0041] i.e., DCI provides the UE with information necessary for proper reception and decoding of downlink data. DCI may include DL information such as scheduling assignments, including PDSCH resource indication, [0043], [0045], & [0080] i.e., In one implementation, the signal from the network is a message that explicitly indicates parameters relevant for receiving PDSCH…For example, the parameters can include DMRS antenna ports based on which PDSCH is received in the second default transmission mode, and/or, information indicating zero power CSI-RS RE locations based on which the UE determines the REs (i.e., “radio resources”) used for receiving the PDSCH).
(Nory suggests information indicating CSI-RS RE locations is used by the UE for determining the resource elements (REs) used for properly receiving data on the PDSCH (see Para [0080])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the first set of parameters including CSI-RS location information received by the UE in the first subframe in order to receive the CSI-RS as disclosed in Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, and further in view of Han to be used for receiving the data using radio resources on the PDSCH in the first subframe based on the teachings of Nory who discloses a UE receiving data using radio resources on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) based on information on the location of a CSI-RS, because the motivation lies in Nory for properly receiving data on the PDSCH based on information indicating CSI-RS RE locations which is used by the UE for determining the resource elements (REs) used for properly receiving the PDSCH.
While Krishnamurthy discloses the UE receives a first message comprising a plurality of sets of parameters (see Para [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message (i.e., “first message”) containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations through higher-layer signaling (i.e., sets of parameters are associated with each CSI-RS configuration)), each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprising first information on a location of a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS); (see Para [0048] i.e., A CSI-RS-resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS. The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example…the OFDM symbols and REs associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted (i.e., “location”)…In general, the CSI-RS resource information uniquely identifies the time-frequency resources to which the CSI-RS are mapped (i.e., “location”)) and second information on a location of a subframe (see Para [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations through higher-layer signaling…A CSI-RS resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS (which will be referred to as CSI-RS resources). The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example, the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted (i.e., “subframe configuration information”)…a subframe offset and a periodicity of the subframes (i.e., offset and periodicity may also be “subframe configuration information”) in which the CSI-RS are transmitted), the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Han, and further in view of Nory does not disclose the subframes in which the CSI-RS are transmitted are multicast broadcast single frequency network (MBSFN) subframes. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Zhang US (2013/0094411).
Zhang discloses the CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as a Multi-Media Broadcast over a single frequency network (MBSFN) or non-MBSFN subframe (see Abstract & Para’s [0013], [0021], [0050-0051] i.e., a CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as an MBSFN subframe & [0062-0063]).
(Zhang suggests the CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as an MBSFN subframe such that the CSI-RS is not transmitted in certain subframes which results in more available REs per PRB, thus providing a larger CSI-RS reuse factor and the CSI-RS can be collision free from essential system signals and common control channels (see Para [0051])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first message received by the UE which includes subframe configuration information which indicates the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted as disclosed in Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Han, and further in view of Nory to be MBSFN subframes for transmitting the CSI-RS as disclosed in the teachings of Zhang who discloses the CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as a MBSFN or non-MBSFN subframe, which results in MBSFN subframe configuration information in the first message, because the motivation lies in Zhang that the CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as an MBSFN subframe such that the CSI-RS is not transmitted in certain subframes which results in more available REs per PRB, thus providing a larger CSI-RS reuse factor and the CSI-RS can be collision free from essential system signals and common control channels.
While Krishnamurthy discloses receiving, by the UE, the first message comprising the plurality of sets of parameters (see Para [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message (i.e., “first message”) containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations (i.e., “plurality”) through higher-layer signaling), each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprising the first information on a location of the CSI-RS (see Para [0048] i.e., A CSI-RS-resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS. The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example…the OFDM symbols and REs (i.e., “first information”) associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted) and second information on a location of a subframe that includes CSI-RS which may be configured as an MBSFN subframe (see Para [0048] i.e., A CSI-RS-resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS. The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example…the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted & Zhang, see Para’s [0050-0051]), the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Han, further in view of Nory, and further in view of Zhang does not disclose the second information includes information on a location of the MBSFN subframe. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kwon et al. US (2011/0275363).
Kwon discloses a UE receives MBSFN subframe configuration information which includes information on a location of a MBSFN subframe (see Para’s [0033-0034] i.e., The operation of Release-8 UE is simplified by a simple indication that RRC configuration includes which subframes are MBSFN subframes and which subframes are not in the form of bitmap & [0038] i.e., The relase-8 UE may identify the subframe indices which are defined as MBSFN subframe using the received system information S120).
(Kwon suggests the MBSFN subframe configuration information is sent to the UE in order for the UE to properly identify which subframes are MBSFN subframes for efficiently decoding the MBSFN subframe which results in improved performance and throughput at the UE, (see Para’s [0005], [0019-0020], [0034], & [0038]) and CSI-RS measurements may be defined in the MBSFN subframe where CSI-RS may be located, in order for the UE to properly measure the channel quality and response according to the identified MBSFN subframes whose result will be reported to the serving eNB, (see Para’s [0049-0051] & [0055])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the subframe configuration information in the first RRC message received by the UE such as the second information on a location of a subframe that includes CSI-RS which may be configured as an MBSFN subframe as disclosed in Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Han, further in view of Nory, and further in view of Zhang to include the MBSFN subframe configuration information on a location of the MBSFN subframe as disclosed in the teachings of Kwon who discloses a UE receives from a base station, MBSFN subframe configuration information which includes information indicating which subframe is a MBSFN subframe, because the motivation lies in Kwon that the MBSFN subframe configuration information is sent to the UE in order for the UE to properly identify which subframes are MBSFN subframes for efficiently decoding the MBSFN subframe which results in improved performance and throughput at the UE and CSI-RS measurements may be defined in the MBSFN subframe where CSI-RS may be located, in order for the UE to properly measure the channel quality and response according to the identified MBSFN subframes whose result will be reported to the serving eNB.
Regarding Claim 22, the claim is directed towards a communication device which performs the same claim features as claim 5. Therefore claim 22 is rejected as obvious over the combination of the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Han, further in view of Nory, and further in view of Zhang as in claim 5.
Claims 2, 13, and 19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Krishnamurthy et al. US (2013/0301434) in view of Seo et al. US (2013/0279361), further in view of HAN et al. US (2011/0200137), further in view of Nory et al. US (2014/0036747), further in view of Zhang US (2013/0094411), further in view of Kwon et al. US (2011/0275363) as applied to claims 1, 12, and 18 above, and further in view of Chen et al. US (2012/0069802).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Han, further in view of Nory, further in view of Zhang, and further in view of Kwon discloses the method of claim 1 including the DCI on the PDCCH (Krishnamurthy, see Para [0043]), but does not disclose wherein the DCI on the PDCCH is related to semi persistent scheduling (SPS) activation. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Chen et al. US (2012/0069802).
Chen discloses wherein the DCI on the PDCCH is related to semi persistent scheduling (SPS) activation (see Para [0080] i.e., uplink SPS may be activated/re-configured via downlink control information (DCI) format 0 or any other DCI format for uplink grants. The DCI is a message carried by a PDCCH).
(Chen suggests the amount of control information that is transmitted may be reduced when using SPS based on semi-persistent scheduling which does not schedule control information for each data transmission interval since the set of resources are pre-allocated and persistently maintained during a specific time interval (see Para [0079])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the DCI on the PDCCH as disclosed in Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Han, further in view of Nory, further in view of Zhang, and further in view of Kwon to be related to semi persistent scheduling (SPS) activation according to the DCI disclosed in Chen who discloses semi persistent scheduling (SPS) may be activated via DCI because the motivation lies in Chen that the amount of control information that is transmitted may be reduced when using SPS based on semi-persistent scheduling which does not schedule control information for each data transmission interval since the set of resources are pre-allocated and persistently maintained during a specific time interval.
Regarding Claim 13, the claim is directed towards a UE which performs the same claim features as claim 2. Therefore claim 13 is rejected as obvious over the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Han, further in view of Nory, further in view of Zhang, further in view of Kwon, and further in view of Chen as in claim 2.
Regarding Claim 19, the claim is directed towards a communication device which performs the same claim features as claim 2. Therefore claim 19 is rejected as obvious over the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Han, further in view of Nory, further in view of Zhang, further in view of Kwon, and further in view of Chen as in claim 2.
Claims 6, 17, and 23 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Krishnamurthy et al. US (2013/0301434) in view of Seo et al. US (2013/0279361), further in view of HAN et al. US (2011/0200137), further in view of Nory et al. US (2014/0036747), further in view of Zhang US (2013/0094411), further in view of Kwon et al. US (2011/0275363) as applied to claims 1, 12, and 18 above, and further in view of Kang US (2013/0301467).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of HAN, further in view of Nory, further in view of Zhang, and further in view of Kwon discloses the method of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprises information on a starting Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kang US (2013/0301467).
Kang discloses wherein each of a plurality of sets of parameters comprise information on a starting Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol (see Para’s [0013] i.e., configuration number may indicate a location in a subframe of a resource element (i.e., includes a “starting OFDM symbol”) to which the CSI-RS is mapped, [0059] i.e., OFDM symbols in FDD and TDD radio frame & [0138]).
(Kang suggests the CSI-RS is used for measuring a channel state between the at least one node and the base station (see Para [0012])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for each of the plurality of sets of parameters of the CSI-RS resource configurations as disclosed in Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of HAN, further in view of Nory, further in view of Zhang, and further in view of Kwon to each comprise information on a starting Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol included in the CSI-RS configurations as disclosed in Kang, because the motivation lies in Kang for using the CSI-RS configuration information for measuring a channel state between the at least one node and the base station for achieving optimized communications.
Regarding Claim 17, the claim is directed towards a UE which performs the same claim features as claim 6. Therefore claim 17 is rejected as obvious over the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of HAN, further in view of Nory, further in view of Zhang, further in view of Kwon, and further in view of Kang as in claim 6.
Regarding Claim 23, the claim is directed towards a communication device which performs the same claim features as claim 6. Therefore claim 23 is rejected as obvious over the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of HAN, further in view of Nory, further in view of Zhang, further in view of Kwon, and further in view of Kang as in claim 6.
Claims 4, 15, and 21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Krishnamurthy et al. US (2013/0301434) in view of Seo et al. US (2013/0279361), further in view of HAN et al. US (2011/0200137), further in view of Nory et al. US (2014/0036747), further in view of Zhang US (2013/0094411), further in view of Kwon et al. US (2011/0275363) as applied to claims 1, 12, and 18 above, and further in view of Kim et al. US (2014/0348050).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Han, further in view of Nory, further in view of Zhang, and further in view of Kwon discloses the method of claim 1 including the second information on the location of the MBSFN subframe such as MBSFN subframe configuration information (Kwon, see Para’s [0034] & [0038]), but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the second information indicates allocation period and offset of radio frames that contain MBSFN subframes. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kim et al. US (2014/0348050).
Kim discloses wherein MBSFN subframe configuration information indicates allocation period and offset of radio frames that contain MBSFN subframes (see Para’s [0044] i.e., Table 1 shows an exemplary MBSFN-SubframeConfigIE & [0045] i.e., Here, the radio frame allocation period and radio frame allocation offset are used for indicating the radio frame having MBSFN subframe)
(Kim suggests the MBSFN subframe configuration information received by the UE indicates the radio frame including MBSFN subframes and the subframes that can be used as MBSFN subframes in the radio frame in order for the UE to determine the MBSFN subframe configuration for properly receiving broadcasting/multicasting data (see Para’s [0032-0034] & [0044-0045])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the second information on the location of the MBSFN subframe such as the MBSFN subframe configuration information disclosed in Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Han, further in view of Nory, further in view of Zhang, and further in view of Kwon to indicate allocation period and offset of radio frames that contain MBSFN subframes according to the MBSFN subframe configuration information received by the UE as disclosed in Kim, because the motivation lies in Kim that the MBSFN subframe configuration information received by the UE indicates the radio frame including MBSFN subframes and the subframes that can be used as MBSFN subframes in the radio frame in order for the UE to determine the MBSFN subframe configuration for properly receiving broadcasting/multicasting data.
Regarding Claim 15, the claim is directed towards a UE which performs the same claim features as claim 4. Therefore claim 15 is rejected as obvious over the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Han, further in view of Nory, further in view of Zhang, further in view of Kwon, and further in view of Kim as in claim 4.
Regarding Claim 21, the claim is directed towards a communication device which performs the same claim features as claim 4. Therefore claim 21 is rejected as obvious over the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Han, further in view of Nory, further in view of Zhang, further in view of Kwon, and further in view of Kim as in claim 4.
Conclusion
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461