DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 25 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to the applicants arguments regarding the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Nory, further in view of Zhang, and further in view of Kwon, the examiner respectfully disagrees. More specifically the applicant argues the claim features in claim 1 of “receiving, by a user equipment (UE), a first message comprising a plurality of sets of parameters, each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprising first information on a location of a CSI-RS and second information on a location of a MBSFN subframe” is not taught by the combination of the references (i.e., Pg. 8 of the remarks).
More specifically, the applicant argues that the office action acknowledges that Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Nory, and further in view of Zhang fails to teach or suggest the claimed features “each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprising first information on a location of a CSI-RS and second information on a location of a MBSFN subframe”. The applicant then states that the office action relies upon the disclosure of Kwon to teach the above-features of claim 1 such as i.e., “each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprising first information on a location of a CSI-RS and second information on a location of a MBSFN subframe”. However the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicants analysis of the rejection of claim 1.
For example the examiner does not rely only on Kwon individually for disclosing the claim feature of “each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprising first information on a location of a CSI-RS and second information on a location of a MBSFN subframe”. The rejection of claim 1 is an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103. Hence, the examiner relies on the combined teachings of the references for disclosing the claim feature.
For example, the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Zhang discloses “receiving, by a user equipment (UE), the first message comprising a plurality of sets of parameters, (Krishnamurthy, see Para [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message (i.e., “first message”) containing one or more CSI-RS-resource configurations (i.e., “plurality of sets of parameters”) through higher-layer signaling. For example, UE might receive CSI-RS-resource configuration information from the network via RRC signaling (i.e., “first message”). A CSI-RS-resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS (which will be referred to as CSI-RS resources). The CSI-RS resource (i.e., “sets of parameters” such as at least CSI-RS location and subframe location in which CSI-RS is transmitted) indicate, for example, the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted, the OFDM symbols and REs associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted)
each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprising first information on a location of a CSI-RS and second information on a location of a MBSFN subframe” (Krishnamurthy, see Para [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message (i.e., “first message”) containing one or more CSI-RS-resource configurations (i.e., “plurality of sets of parameters”) through higher-layer signaling. For example, UE might receive CSI-RS-resource configuration information from the network via RRC signaling (i.e., “first message”). A CSI-RS-resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS (which will be referred to as CSI-RS resources). The CSI-RS resource (i.e., “sets of parameters” such as at least CSI-RS location and subframe location in which CSI-RS is transmitted) indicate, for example, the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted, the OFDM symbols and REs associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted).
The main difference between the teachings of Krishnamurthy and the claim feature is that the subframes in which the CSI-RS are transmitted are MBSFN subframes. However the office action relies on the teachings of Zhang for teaching configuring MBSFN subframes for CSI-RS transmission, (Para’s [0013], [0021], [0050-0051] i.e., a CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as an MBSFN subframe, [0052] i.e., number of subframes can be configured as MBSFN subframes for CSI-RS transmission & [0062-0063]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the first message received by the UE which includes subframe configuration information which indicates the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted as disclosed in Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, and further in view of Nory to be MBSFN subframes for transmitting the CSI-RS as disclosed in the teachings of Zhang, which results in MBSFN subframe configuration information in the first message, because the motivation lies in Zhang that the CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as an MBSFN subframe such that the CSI-RS is not transmitted in certain subframes which results in more available REs per PRB, thus providing a larger CSI-RS reuse factor and the CSI-RS can be collision free from essential system signals and common control channels (Zhang, Para [0051]).
Therefore the combined teachings of at least Krishnamurthy in view of Zhang discloses the claim feature in claim 1 of “receiving, by a user equipment (UE), a first message comprising a plurality of sets of parameters, each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprising first information on a location of a CSI-RS and second information on a location of a MBSFN subframe”, and does not rely on the teachings of Kwon individually for disclosing the claim feature.
The teachings of Kwon was relied upon for disclosing the second information explicitly indicating information on a location of the MBSFN subframe by sending RRC signaling to the UE indicating the location of MBSFN subframes in which CSI-RS may be transmitted (Kwon, see Para’s [0005], [0019-0020], [0033-0034], [0038] i.e., The release-8 UE may identify the subframe indices which are defined as MBSFN subframe using the received system information S120. The system information may be transmitted via RRC signaling from an eNB, [0049-0050], & [0055]).
(Kwon suggests the MBSFN subframe configuration information is sent to the UE in order for the UE to properly identify which subframes are MBSFN subframes for efficiently decoding the MBSFN subframe which results in improved performance and throughput at the UE, (see Para’s [0005], [0019-0020], [0034], & [0038]) and CSI-RS measurements may be defined in the MBSFN subframe where CSI-RS may be located, in order for the UE to properly measure the channel quality and response according to the identified MBSFN subframes whose result will be reported to the serving eNB, (see Para’s [0049-0051] & [0055])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the subframe configuration information in the first RRC message received by the UE such as the second information on a location of a subframe that includes CSI-RS which may be configured as an MBSFN subframe as disclosed in Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Nory, and further in view of Zhang to include the MBSFN subframe configuration information on a location of the MBSFN subframe as disclosed in the teachings of Kwon who discloses a UE receives from a base station, MBSFN subframe configuration information which includes information indicating which subframe is a MBSFN subframe, because the motivation lies in Kwon that the MBSFN subframe configuration information is sent to the UE in order for the UE to properly identify which subframes are MBSFN subframes for efficiently decoding the MBSFN subframe which results in improved performance and throughput at the UE and CSI-RS measurements may be defined in the MBSFN subframe where CSI-RS may be located, in order for the UE to properly measure the channel quality and response according to the identified MBSFN subframes whose result will be reported to the serving eNB.
For the reasons explained, the references combined disclosed the claim feature in claim 1 of “receiving, by a user equipment (UE), a first message comprising a plurality of sets of parameters, each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprising first information on a location of a CSI-RS and second information on a location of a MBSFN subframe”.
In regards to the applicants arguments on Pg. 9 of the remarks, the applicant argues that Kwon teaches signaling of MBSFN subframe location information and that CSI-RS may be present within an MBSFN subframe, and that in contrast claim 1 requires “each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprising first information on a location of a CSI-RS and second information on a location of a MBSFN subframe”. However as previously explained the examiner does not rely on Kwon individually for disclosing the claim feature. The applicant is arguing the teachings of Kwon individually for not disclosing the claim feature.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
For the reasons explained above, the combination of the references discloses the claim feature of “each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprising first information on a location of a CSI-RS and second information on a location of a MBSFN subframe”.
The applicant further argues on Pg. 10 of the remarks, that Kwon discloses (i) providing the UE with MBSFN subframe location information and (ii) the possibility that CSI-RS may be located in the MBSFN subframe, and that there is no disclosure in Kwon of providing CSI-RS location information and MBSFN subframe location information as a single parameter set, nor of having such a set designated by an index in a DCI. However the examiner respectfully disagrees with applicants arguments as the applicant is arguing the teachings of Kwon individually for not disclosing the claimed features when the rejection of claim 1 is an obviousness rejection under 35 USC 103. The teachings of Krishnamurthy in combination with Zhang, and Kwon discloses providing CSI-RS location information and MBSFN subframe location information as a single parameter set (Krishnamurthy, see Para [0048] i.e., A CSI-RS resource configuration (i.e., CSI-RS resource configuration is a “single parameter set”) includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS (which will be referred to as CSI-RS resources). The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example, the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted (i.e., “MBSFN subframe location information”), the OFDM symbols and REs (i.e., “CSI-RS location information”) associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted). As previously explained the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Zhang results in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted as disclosed in Para [0048] of Krishnamurthy, being configured as MBSFN subframes. Therefore based on the combined teachings of the references, the CSI-RS resource configuration (i.e., “single parameter set”) disclosed in Para [0048] of Krishnamurthy will include CSI-RS location information and MBSFN subframe location information as a single parameter set.
As previously explained, the teachings of Kwon was relied upon for disclosing the second information explicitly indicating information on a location of the MBSFN subframe by sending RRC signaling to the UE indicating the location of MBSFN subframes in which CSI-RS may be transmitted (Kwon, see Para’s [0005], [0019-0020], [0033-0034], [0038] i.e., The release-8 UE may identify the subframe indices which are defined as MBSFN subframe using the received system information S120. The system information may be transmitted via RRC signaling from an eNB, [0049-0050], & [0055]). Therefore combining the teachings of Kwon’s MBSFN subframe configuration information via RRC signaling with the RRC signaling message disclosed in Krishnamurthy in view of Zhang will result in providing CSI-RS location information and MBSFN subframe location information as a single parameter set. Therefore the combined teachings of the references discloses the claim feature of providing CSI-RS location information and MBSFN subframe location information as a single parameter set.
In regards to the applicants arguments regarding the parameter set being designated by an index in a DCI. Claim 1 does not claim an index in a DCI indicating the single parameter set. Rather claim 1 recites, “receiving by a UE, DCI on a PDCCH, the DCI designating a first set of parameters among the plurality of sets of parameters”. Therefore the applicant is arguing subject matter which is not claimed. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a single parameter set designated by an index in a DCI ) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In regards to the applicants arguments regarding Kwon not teaching the single parameter set being designated by DCI, the examiner does not rely on Kwon individually for disclosing the claim feature. The teachings of Seo discloses a DCI designating a CSI-RS configuration information including a parameter set (see Para’s [0080] i.e., an eNB may signal a CSI-RS location, periodicity, and the number of antenna ports (i.e., “parameter set”), for each CSI-RS configuration information, & [0112-0113] i.e., CSI-RS configuration information may be dynamically signaled using a DCI formation transmitted through a PDCCH…To this end a new field for signaling CSI-RS configuration information may be added to an existing DCI format, & [0114]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the CSI-RS configuration including a parameter set disclosed in the teachings of Krishnamurthy to be designated using the DCI disclosed in Seo who discloses a CSI-RS configuration information including a parameter set may be designated by DCI, because the motivation lies in Seo for properly receiving specific CSI-RS configuration information by the UE for efficiently performing CSI reporting according to the corresponding CSI-RS configuration information indicated by the DCI (Seo, see Para [0113]).
Therefore the combination of the references discloses the claim feature the first set of parameters designated by DCI.
In regards to the applicants arguments that Kwon fails to teach or suggest the concept that two types of information are delivered together as a single set” designated by DCI, the examiner respectfully disagrees as the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo discloses the claim feature. As previously explained, the applicant is arguing the teachings of Kwon individually for not disclosing such feature when the rejection of claim 1 is an obviousness rejection under 35 USC 103. For example the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Zhang discloses the two types of information such as CSI-RS location information and MBSFN subframe location are delivered together as a single set in CSI-RS configuration information sent to the UE (Krishnamurthy, see Para [0048]). For the same reasons as explained above with respect to the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, Seo discloses a DCI designating a CSI-RS configuration information including a parameter set (see Para’s [0080] i.e., an eNB may signal a CSI-RS location, periodicity, and the number of antenna ports (i.e., “parameter set”), for each CSI-RS configuration information, [0112-0113] i.e., CSI-RS configuration information may be dynamically signaled using a DCI formation transmitted through a PDCCH…To this end a new field for signaling CSI-RS configuration information may be added to an existing DCI format, & [0114]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the CSI-RS configuration including a parameter set disclosed in the teachings of Krishnamurthy to be designated using the DCI disclosed in Seo who discloses a CSI-RS configuration information including a parameter set may be designated by DCI.
For the reasons explained the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Nory, further in view of Zhang, and further in view of Kwon discloses the claim features in claim 1 argued by the applicant. Therefore the rejection of claim 1 is maintained over the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Nory, further in view of Zhang, and further in view of Kwon for the reasons explained above. Independent claims 12 and 18 which recite features similar to claim 1 also remain rejected over the prior art (Of Record) for the same reasons as claim 1. The dependent claims remain rejected over the prior art (Of Record) based on their dependence to independent claims 1, 12, and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, and 22 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Krishnamurthy et al. US (2013/0301434) in view of Seo et al. US (2013/0279361), further in view of Nory et al. US (2014/0036747), further in view of Zhang US (2013/0094411), and further in view of Kwon et al. US (2011/0275363).
Regarding Claim 1, Krishnamurthy discloses a communication method performed by a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 106 & Para [0025] i.e., UEs 106, 107, and 108), the method comprising: receiving, by a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 106 & Fig. 3) a first message comprising a plurality of sets of parameters, (see Para’s [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message (i.e., “first message”) containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations (i.e., “plurality”) through higher-layer signaling. For example, UE might receive CSI-RS configuration information from the network via RRC signaling (i.e., “first message”)…A CSI-RS resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS (which will be referred to as CSI-RS resources). The CSI-RS resources indicate (i.e., “sets of parameters”), for example, the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted, the OFDM symbols and REs associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted, the CSI-RS ports, a subframe offset and a periodicity of the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted, etc. (i.e., sets of parameters are associated with each CSI-RS configuration) & [0070])
each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprising information on a location of a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS); (see Para [0048] i.e., A CSI-RS-resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS. The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example…the OFDM symbols and REs associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted (i.e., “location”)…In general, the CSI-RS resource information uniquely identifies the time-frequency resources to which the CSI-RS are mapped (i.e., “location”)) and subframe configuration information (see Para [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations through higher-layer signaling…A CSI-RS resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS (which will be referred to as CSI-RS resources). The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example, the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted (i.e., “subframe configuration information”)…a subframe offset and a periodicity of the subframes (i.e., offset and periodicity may also be “subframe configuration information”) in which CSI-RS are transmitted)
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 106 & Fig. 3), Downlink Control Information (DCI) on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), (see Para’s [0037] i.e., PDCCH is transmitted in the first few OFDM symbols at the beginning of the subframe, [0040-0041] i.e., PDCCH which is located at the start of each downlink subframe, & [0043] i.e., The EPDCCH or PDCCH carries scheduling assignments and other control information in form of downlink control information (DCI) messages)
designating a first set of parameters among the plurality of sets of parameters (see Para’s [0048] i.e., a CSI-RS resource configuration will be designated for the UE to perform CSI measurement & [0070] i.e., i.e., This allows the UE to estimate and report CSI relating to neighboring TPs or cells or particularly CSI relating to a CSI-RS resource (i.e., “first set of parameters” of CSI-RS resource configuration)…The set of TPs (or CSI resources associated with TPs) about which the UE performs CSI measurement is referred to as the CoMP measurement set)
obtaining, by a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 106 & Fig. 3), the CSI-RS based on the first set of parameters; (see Para’s [0046] i.e., CSI-RS is transmitted on resource elements (REs) will be received by the UE for performing channel measurements, [0048] i.e., CSI-RS are typically transmitted only in some DL subframes (i.e., CSI-RS is transmitted and received according to the CSI-RS resource configuration which uses the first set of parameters)…one-to-one correspondence between each TP and each CSI-RS-resource & [0070] i.e., This allows the UE to estimate and report CSI relating to neighboring TPs or cells or particularly CSI relating to a CSI-RS resource…The set of TPs (or CSI resources associated with TPs) about which the UE performs CSI measurement is referred to as the CoMP measurement set, & [0080])
and receiving, by a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 106 & Fig. 3), data using radio resources on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), (see Fig. 4 i.e., PDSCH is received over resource elements (REs) of resource blocks (RBs) & Para’s [0037] i.e., data is transmitted in the rest of the subframe & [0038] i.e., the subframe 400 comprises multiple resource blocks (RBs), [0080] i.e., PDSCH)
While Krishnamurthy discloses the UE performs CSI measurement according to a designated first set of parameters of a CSI-RS resource configuration among the plurality of sets of parameters (see Para’s [0048] & [0070]), Krishnamurthy does not disclose the DCI designating a first set of parameters among the plurality of sets of parameters. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Seo et al. US (2013/0279361).
Seo discloses a DCI designating a CSI-RS configuration information which includes parameters including a CSI-RS location (see Para’s [0080] i.e., an eNB may signal a CSI-RS location, periodicity, and the number of antenna ports, for each CSI-RS configuration information (i.e., “parameters”), [0112-0113] i.e., CSI-RS configuration information may be dynamically signaled using a DCI formation transmitted through a PDCCH…To this end a new field for signaling CSI-RS configuration information may be added to an existing DCI format & [0114] i.e., 2-bit field may be defined in the DCI format for indicating the CSI-RS configuration).
(Seo suggests dynamically signaling any CSI-RS configuration information which should be used during CSI reporting among CSI-RS configuration information RRC-signaled through a DCI format (see Para [0113])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the first set of parameters for a CSI-RS resource configuration designated for the UE for performing CSI measurement as disclosed in Krishnamurthy to be indicated using the DCI disclosed in Seo who discloses signaling to a UE, a DCI comprising a field which indicates or designates a CSI-RS configuration information including parameters such as CSI-RS location, because the motivation lies in Seo for properly receiving specific CSI-RS configuration information by the UE for efficiently performing CSI reporting according to the corresponding CSI-RS configuration information indicated by the DCI.
While Krishnamurthy discloses the UE performs CSI measurement based on using a first set of parameters associated with a CSI-RS resource configuration which includes location of the CSI-RS (see Para’s [0048] i.e., CSI-RS resource configurations…The CSI-RS resources indicate the OFDM symbols and REs associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted…the CSI-RS resource information uniquely identifies the time-frequency resources to which the CSI-RS are mapped & [0070]), the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo does not disclose the claim feature of the UE receiving data using radio resources on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) based on the first set of parameters. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Nory et al. US (2014/0036747).
Nory discloses receiving data using radio resources on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) based on information on the location of a CSI-RS (see Para’s [0002] i.e., The PDCCH provides a device or UE with information that allows the device to, for example, process data that is downloaded/transmitted from the network over the PDSCH, [0023], [0041] i.e., DCI provides the UE with information necessary for proper reception and decoding of downlink data. DCI may include DL information such as scheduling assignments, including PDSCH resource indication, [0043], [0045], & [0080] i.e., In one implementation, the signal from the network is a message that explicitly indicates parameters relevant for receiving PDSCH…For example, the parameters can include DMRS antenna ports based on which PDSCH is received in the second default transmission mode, and/or, information indicating zero power CSI-RS RE locations based on which the UE determines the REs (i.e., “radio resources”) used for receiving the PDSCH).
(Nory suggests information indicating CSI-RS RE locations is used by the UE for determining the resource elements (REs) used for properly receiving data on the PDSCH (see Para [0080])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the first set of parameters including CSI-RS location information received by the UE in order to receive the CSI-RS as disclosed in Krishnamurthy in view of Seo to be used for receiving data using radio resources on the PDSCH based on the teachings of Nory who discloses a UE receiving data using radio resources on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) based on information on the location of a CSI-RS because the motivation lies in Nory for properly receiving data on the PDSCH based on information indicating CSI-RS RE locations which is used by the UE for determining the resource elements (REs) used for properly receiving the PDSCH.
While Krishnamurthy discloses the UE receives a first message comprising a plurality of sets of parameters (see Para [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message (i.e., “first message”) containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations through higher-layer signaling (i.e., sets of parameters are associated with each CSI-RS configuration)), each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprising first information on a location of a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS); (see Para [0048] i.e., A CSI-RS-resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS. The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example…the OFDM symbols and REs associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted (i.e., “location”)…In general, the CSI-RS resource information uniquely identifies the time-frequency resources to which the CSI-RS are mapped (i.e., “location”)) and second information on a location of a subframe (see Para [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations through higher-layer signaling…A CSI-RS resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS (which will be referred to as CSI-RS resources). The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example, the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted (i.e., “subframe configuration information”)…a subframe offset and a periodicity of the subframes (i.e., offset and periodicity may also be “subframe configuration information”) in which the CSI-RS are transmitted), the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, and further in view of Nory does not disclose the subframes in which the CSI-RS are transmitted are multicast broadcast single frequency network (MBSFN) subframes. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Zhang US (2013/0094411).
Zhang discloses the CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as a Multi-Media Broadcast over a single frequency network (MBSFN) or non-MBSFN subframe (see Abstract & Para’s [0013], [0021], [0050-0051] i.e., a CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as an MBSFN subframe & [0062-0063]).
(Zhang suggests the CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as an MBSFN subframe such that the CSI-RS is not transmitted in certain subframes which results in more available REs per PRB, thus providing a larger CSI-RS reuse factor and the CSI-RS can be collision free from essential system signals and common control channels (see Para [0051])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first message received by the UE which includes subframe configuration information which indicates the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted as disclosed in Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, and further in view of Nory to be MBSFN subframes for transmitting the CSI-RS as disclosed in the teachings of Zhang who discloses the CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as a MBSFN or non-MBSFN subframe, which results in MBSFN subframe configuration information in the first message, because the motivation lies in Zhang that the CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as an MBSFN subframe such that the CSI-RS is not transmitted in certain subframes which results in more available REs per PRB, thus providing a larger CSI-RS reuse factor and the CSI-RS can be collision free from essential system signals and common control channels.
While Krishnamurthy discloses receiving, by the UE, the first message comprising the plurality of sets of parameters (see Para [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message (i.e., “first message”) containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations (i.e., “plurality”) through higher-layer signaling), each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprising the first information on a location of the CSI-RS (see Para [0048] i.e., A CSI-RS-resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS. The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example…the OFDM symbols and REs (i.e., “first information”) associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted) and second information on a location of a subframe that includes CSI-RS which may be configured as an MBSFN subframe (see Para [0048] i.e., A CSI-RS-resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS. The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example…the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted & Zhang, see Para’s [0050-0051]), the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Nory, and further in view of Zhang does not disclose the second information includes information on a location of the MBSFN subframe. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Kwon et al. US (2011/0275363).
Kwon discloses a UE receives MBSFN subframe configuration information which includes information on a location of a MBSFN subframe (see Para’s [0033-0034] i.e., The operation of Release-8 UE is simplified by a simple indication that RRC configuration includes which subframes are MBSFN subframes and which subframes are not in the form of bitmap & [0038] i.e., The relase-8 UE may identify the subframe indices which are defined as MBSFN subframe using the received system information S120).
(Kwon suggests the MBSFN subframe configuration information is sent to the UE in order for the UE to properly identify which subframes are MBSFN subframes for efficiently decoding the MBSFN subframe which results in improved performance and throughput at the UE, (see Para’s [0005], [0019-0020], [0034], & [0038]) and CSI-RS measurements may be defined in the MBSFN subframe where CSI-RS may be located, in order for the UE to properly measure the channel quality and response according to the identified MBSFN subframes whose result will be reported to the serving eNB, (see Para’s [0049-0051] & [0055])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the subframe configuration information in the first RRC message received by the UE such as the second information on a location of a subframe that includes CSI-RS which may be configured as an MBSFN subframe as disclosed in Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Nory, and further in view of Zhang to include the MBSFN subframe configuration information on a location of the MBSFN subframe as disclosed in the teachings of Kwon who discloses a UE receives from a base station, MBSFN subframe configuration information which includes information indicating which subframe is a MBSFN subframe, because the motivation lies in Kwon that the MBSFN subframe configuration information is sent to the UE in order for the UE to properly identify which subframes are MBSFN subframes for efficiently decoding the MBSFN subframe which results in improved performance and throughput at the UE and CSI-RS measurements may be defined in the MBSFN subframe where CSI-RS may be located, in order for the UE to properly measure the channel quality and response according to the identified MBSFN subframes whose result will be reported to the serving eNB.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Nory, and further in view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the DCI, the CSI-RS, and the data are received in a single sub-frame, (Krishnamurthy, see Fig. 4 i.e., subframe 400 will include the PDCCH/DCI, CSI-RS, and data & Para’s [0037] i.e., PDCCH is transmitted in the first few OFDM symbols at the beginning of the subframe and data is transmitted in the rest of the subframe on the LTE Uu downlink, [0038] i.e., data carried by the OFDM signals is organized into radio frames…Each radio frame typically includes ten subframes…structure of a subframe 400 is shown in Fig. 4, [0040-0041] i.e., PDCCH which is located at the start of each downlink subframe, [0043] i.e., The EPDCCH or PDCCH carries scheduling assignments and other control information in form of downlink control information (DCI) messages, [0046] i.e., user data regions of the sub-frame [0048] i.e., The CSI-RS are typically transmitted only in some DL subframes (i.e., includes “one sub-frame”) and not all)
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, further in view of Nory, and further in view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sets of parameters comprise a second set of parameters (Krishnamurthy, see Para [0048] i.e., one or more CSI-RS resource configurations may comprise a second set of parameters), the second set of parameters comprises information on another location of another CSI-RS, (Krishnamurthy, see Para [0048] i.e., one or more CSI-RS resource configurations may comprise a second set of parameters comprising OFDM symbols and REs (i.e., “another location”) associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted…the CSI-RS resource information uniquely identifies the time-frequency resources (i.e., “another location”) to which the CSI-RS are mapped & [0117] i.e., when two or more TPs transmit on different PRBs and/or subframes).
and the location of the CSI-RS is different from the another location of the another CSI-RS, (Krishnamurthy, see Para’s [0048] i.e., The CSI-RS resource indicates the subframe on which the CSI-RS is transmitted for each CSI-RS resource configuration and therefore the CSI-RSs for each configuration may be located in different subframes…The CSI-RS is typically transmitted only in some DL subframes & [0080] i.e., different CSI-RS resources are quasi collocated or from quasi collocated TPs)
Regarding Claim 12, Krishnamurthy discloses a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 106 & Para [0025] i.e., UEs 106, 107, and 108 & Fig. 3), comprising: a circuitry (see Fig. 3 i.e., transceiver 302 & Para [0034]) which is configured to: cause the UE to receive a first message comprising a plurality of sets of parameters, (see Para’s [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message (i.e., “first message”) containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations (i.e., “plurality”) through higher-layer signaling. For example, UE might receive CSI-RS configuration information from the network via RRC signaling (i.e., “first message”)…A CSI-RS resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS (which will be referred to as CSI-RS resources). The CSI-RS resources indicate (i.e., “sets of parameters”), for example, the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted, the OFDM symbols and REs associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted, the CSI-RS ports, a subframe offset and a periodicity of the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted, etc. (i.e., sets of parameters are associated with each CSI-RS configuration) & [0070])
each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprising information on a location of a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS); (see Para [0048] i.e., A CSI-RS-resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS. The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example…the OFDM symbols and REs associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted (i.e., “location”)…In general, the CSI-RS resource information uniquely identifies the time-frequency resources to which the CSI-RS are mapped (i.e., “location”)) and subframe configuration information (see Para [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations through higher-layer signaling…A CSI-RS resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS (which will be referred to as CSI-RS resources). The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example, the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted (i.e., “subframe configuration information”)…a subframe offset and a periodicity of the subframes (i.e., offset and periodicity may also be “subframe configuration information”) in which CSI-RS are transmitted)
cause the UE to receive Downlink Control Information (DCI) on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), (see Para’s [0037] i.e., PDCCH is transmitted in the first few OFDM symbols at the beginning of the subframe, [0040-0041] i.e., PDCCH which is located at the start of each downlink subframe, & [0043] i.e., The EPDCCH or PDCCH carries scheduling assignments and other control information in form of downlink control information (DCI) messages)
designating a first set of parameters among the plurality of sets of parameters (see Para’s [0048] i.e., a CSI-RS resource configuration will be designated for the UE to perform CSI measurement & [0070] i.e., i.e., This allows the UE to estimate and report CSI relating to neighboring TPs or cells or particularly CSI relating to a CSI-RS resource (i.e., “first set of parameters” of CSI-RS resource configuration)…The set of TPs (or CSI resources associated with TPs) about which the UE performs CSI measurement is referred to as the CoMP measurement set)
cause the UE to obtain the CSI-RS based on the first set of parameters; (see Para’s [0046] i.e., CSI-RS is transmitted on resource elements (REs) will be received by the UE for performing channel measurements, [0048] i.e., CSI-RS are typically transmitted only in some DL subframes (i.e., CSI-RS is transmitted and received according to the CSI-RS resource configuration which uses the first set of parameters)…one-to-one correspondence between each TP and each CSI-RS-resource & [0070] i.e., This allows the UE to estimate and report CSI relating to neighboring TPs or cells or particularly CSI relating to a CSI-RS resource…The set of TPs (or CSI resources associated with TPs) about which the UE performs CSI measurement is referred to as the CoMP measurement set, & [0080])
and cause the UE to receive data using radio resources on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), (see Fig. 4 i.e., PDSCH is received over resource elements (REs) of resource blocks (RBs) & Para’s [0037] i.e., data is transmitted in the rest of the subframe & [0038] i.e., the subframe 400 comprises multiple resource blocks (RBs), [0080] i.e., PDSCH)
While Krishnamurthy discloses the UE performs CSI measurement according to a designated first set of parameters of a CSI-RS resource configuration among the plurality of sets of parameters (see Para’s [0048] & [0070]), Krishnamurthy does not disclose the DCI designating a first set of parameters among the plurality of sets of parameters. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Seo et al. US (2013/0279361).
Seo discloses a DCI designating a CSI-RS configuration information which includes parameters including a CSI-RS location (see Para’s [0080] i.e., an eNB may signal a CSI-RS location, periodicity, and the number of antenna ports, for each CSI-RS configuration information (i.e., “parameters”), [0112-0113] i.e., CSI-RS configuration information may be dynamically signaled using a DCI formation transmitted through a PDCCH…To this end a new field for signaling CSI-RS configuration information may be added to an existing DCI format & [0114] i.e., 2-bit field may be defined in the DCI format for indicating the CSI-RS configuration).
(Seo suggests dynamically signaling any CSI-RS configuration information which should be used during CSI reporting among CSI-RS configuration information RRC-signaled through a DCI format (see Para [0113])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the first set of parameters for a CSI-RS resource configuration designated for the UE for performing CSI measurement as disclosed in Krishnamurthy to be indicated using the DCI disclosed in Seo who discloses signaling to a UE, a DCI comprising a field which indicates or designates a CSI-RS configuration information including parameters such as CSI-RS location, because the motivation lies in Seo for properly receiving specific CSI-RS configuration information by the UE for efficiently performing CSI reporting according to the corresponding CSI-RS configuration information indicated by the DCI.
While Krishnamurthy discloses the UE performs CSI measurement based on using a first set of parameters associated with a CSI-RS resource configuration which includes location of the CSI-RS (see Para’s [0048] i.e., CSI-RS resource configurations…The CSI-RS resources indicate the OFDM symbols and REs associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted…the CSI-RS resource information uniquely identifies the time-frequency resources to which the CSI-RS are mapped & [0070]), the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo does not disclose the claim feature of the UE receiving data using radio resources on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) based on the first set of parameters. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Nory et al. US (2014/0036747).
Nory discloses receiving data using radio resources on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) based on information on the location of a CSI-RS (see Para’s [0002] i.e., The PDCCH provides a device or UE with information that allows the device to, for example, process data that is downloaded/transmitted from the network over the PDSCH, [0023], [0041] i.e., DCI provides the UE with information necessary for proper reception and decoding of downlink data. DCI may include DL information such as scheduling assignments, including PDSCH resource indication, [0043], [0045], & [0080] i.e., In one implementation, the signal from the network is a message that explicitly indicates parameters relevant for receiving PDSCH…For example, the parameters can include DMRS antenna ports based on which PDSCH is received in the second default transmission mode, and/or, information indicating zero power CSI-RS RE locations based on which the UE determines the REs (i.e., “radio resources”) used for receiving the PDSCH).
(Nory suggests information indicating CSI-RS RE locations is used by the UE for determining the resource elements (REs) used for properly receiving data on the PDSCH (see Para [0080])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the first set of parameters including CSI-RS location information received by the UE in order to receive the CSI-RS as disclosed in Krishnamurthy in view of Seo to be used for receiving data using radio resources on the PDSCH based on the teachings of Nory who discloses a UE receiving data using radio resources on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) based on information on the location of a CSI-RS because the motivation lies in Nory for properly receiving data on the PDSCH based on information indicating CSI-RS RE locations which is used by the UE for determining the resource elements (REs) used for properly receiving the PDSCH.
While Krishnamurthy discloses the UE receives a first message comprising a plurality of sets of parameters (see Para [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message (i.e., “first message”) containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations through higher-layer signaling (i.e., sets of parameters are associated with each CSI-RS configuration)), each of the plurality of sets of parameters comprising information on a location of a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS); (see Para [0048] i.e., A CSI-RS-resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS. The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example…the OFDM symbols and REs associated with the OFDM symbols in the subframes in which CSI-RS are transmitted (i.e., “location”)…In general, the CSI-RS resource information uniquely identifies the time-frequency resources to which the CSI-RS are mapped (i.e., “location”)) and second information on a location of a subframe (see Para [0048] i.e., The UE may receive a message containing one or more CSI-RS resource configurations through higher-layer signaling…A CSI-RS resource configuration includes information that indicates the resources used by the CSI-RS (which will be referred to as CSI-RS resources). The CSI-RS resources indicate, for example, the subframes on which the CSI-RS is transmitted (i.e., “subframe configuration information”)…a subframe offset and a periodicity of the subframes (i.e., offset and periodicity may also be “subframe configuration information”) in which the CSI-RS are transmitted), the combination of Krishnamurthy in view of Seo, and further in view of Nory does not disclose the subframes in which the CSI-RS are transmitted are multicast broadcast single frequency network (MBSFN) subframes. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Zhang US (2013/0094411).
Zhang discloses the CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as a Multi-Media Broadcast over a single frequency network (MBSFN) or non-MBSFN subframe (see Abstract & Para’s [0013], [0021], [0050-0051] i.e., a CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as an MBSFN subframe & [0062-0063]).
(Zhang suggests the CSI-RS can be transmitted in a downlink subframe configured as an MBSFN subframe such that the CSI-RS is not transmitted in certain subframes which results in more available REs per PRB, thus providing a larger CSI-RS reuse factor and the CSI-RS can be collision free from essential system signals and common control channels (see Para [0051])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first message received by the UE which includes subframe configurati