DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendment/arguments filed on 05/29/2026. Claims 2, 5-6, 11, 14 and 18 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 9 and 17 have been amended. Currently, claims 1, 3-4, 7-10, 12-13, 15-17 and 19-23 are pending. This action is made FINAL.
Terminal Disclaimer
Receipt is acknowledged on Terminal Disclaimer was filed on 05/29/2026. However, the Terminal Disclaimer is not for the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to amended claims 1, 9 and 17 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 5 of claim 1, replace “by a UE” with -- by the UE --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-9, 12, 15-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barbiebri (WO 2011/130409 A1) in view of Takeda et al. (US 20220322372 A1).
Consider claim 1, Barbiebri discloses a method (read as operations 700 performed by UE for making received power and received quality measurements, figures 7, par [0070]-[0073]) comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE), reference signals from a serving cell and an interfering cell, the reference signals received on a same frequency at a same transmission time interval, wherein the reference signals include a cell-specific reference signal (CRS) (read as the UE 120 receiving downlink signals from base station 110 including serving eNB Y and interfering eNB Z (figure 5, par [0043]-[0044] and [0047]); the cell-specific reference signals (CRSs) transmitted in corresponding U and N subframes (same time interval as shown in figure 6), with CRS collision (i.e. same time transmissions) occurring when the target eNB and interfering eNB transmit CRSs on the same set of subcarriers (corresponds to same frequency), figures 4, 6 and 7, par [0037]-[0039], [0058]-[0059] and [0072]);
measuring, by a UE, the reference signals (read as the UE measuring received power of a first frequency signal from the base station in the first set of resources, and also measure RSRP (reference signal received power) of each interfering eNB having a corresponding N subframe, figure 7, par [0054]-[0056], [0065] and [0073]);
determining, by the UE, the serving cell based on the measuring of the reference signals (read as selecting the serving eNB from multiple eNBs using received signal strength or received signal quality, and using RSRP of the target eNB or cell reference signal to select a serving base station for the UE (par [0043], [0056] and [0080]); the UE obtains cell IDs to distinguish the target eNB from the interfering eNB during the CRS collision process, which corresponds to the UE identifying the serving and interfering cells (par [0059]));
removing, by the UE, a contribution of the interfering cell to the reference signals (read as the UE identifies an interfering base station/eNB, estimates interference due to a second reference signal from that interfering base station in the subframe, and subtract or cancels the estimated interference form the received signal to obtain an interferent-cancelled signal, which corresponds to removing the interfering cell’s contribution to the received reference signals, figure 7, par [0060] and [0074]);
based at least in part on the measuring, the determining, and the removing of the contribution of the interfering cell to the reference signals, estimating, by the UE, a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the reference signal from the serving cell (read as U subframe for the serving cell and a corresponding N subframe for the potentially interfering neighbor cells (par [0072]); in the UE measurement process, the UE measures received power of the first reference signal, determines RSRP from the received power and then measures the received power of the first reference signal based on interference-cancelled signal after subtracting or cancelling interference due to the second reference signal from the interfering base station/eNB (figure 7, par [0073]-[0074]); and the RSRP would be used to select the serving base station/eNB for the UE, which ties the RSRP measurement to the serving-cell determination (par [0067] and [0080]); and
separate from the removing of the contribution of the interfering cell to the reference signals, receiving at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission received by the UE or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission received by the UE (read as the UE receiving downlink signals in the system that includes PDSCH data transmission and PDCCH control transmission, and the data and control resources elements distinct from CRS response elements with interference estimation and removal on the CRS resources (figures 2-4, par [0033], [0037], [0039] and [0070]-[0074]).
However, Barbiebri discloses the claimed invention above with CRS measurements and PDSCH reception (figure 7, par [0033], [0037], [0073] and [0074]) but does not specifically disclose wherein the reference signals include a synchronization signal block (SSB), and separate from the removing of the contribution of the interfering cell to the reference signals, removing interference from at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission received by the UE.
Nonetheless, Takeda discloses reference signal interference cancelling process in which cells share downlink time and frequency resources, the UE 120 performs NR measurements using a synchronization signal block (SSB) including an RSRP measurement (figure 6, par [0249]-[0251] and [0258]); the UE 120 receiving an NR PDSCH transmission and performing an interference cancelling operation by estimating propagation channel coefficients, generating an interference replica and subtracting the generated interference replica from the PDSCH transmission received by the UE 120, figure 6, par [0246], [0259]-[0260], [0262] and [0264]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Takeda into the teachings of Barbiebri, to configure Barbieri’s UE received power measurement and interference cancellation process using Takeda’s NR SSB measurement and PDSCH interference canceling technique, in order to support NR SSB measurements and reduce neighbor cell reference signal interference on received R PDSCH data while retaining interference-canceled received power measurement for the serving cell (see par [0250], [0258] and [0264] of Takeda).
Consider claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Barbiebri, as modified by Takeda, discloses wherein removing the contribution of the interfering cell to the reference signals comprises determining the contribution to the reference signals based at least in part on a cell identifier of the interfering cell (read as a CRS is a reference signal that is specific for a cell, e.g., generated based on a cell identity (ID);therefore, reference signal of serving cell is specific for serving cell and generated based on serving cell identify (ID) and reference signal of interfering cell is specific for interfering cell and generated based on interfering cell identify (ID) (par [0039]); also, CRS collision would occur when the target eNB and the interfering eNB transmit their CRSs on the same set of subcarriers. The UE may obtain the cell ID of each eNB based on the PSS and SSS transmitted by that eNB and may then determine whether there is CRS collision based on the cell IDs of the target eNB and the interfering eNB, par [0037]).
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, Barbiebri, as modified by Takeda, discloses wherein the reference signals include at least first reference signals of a first reference signal type and second reference signals of a second reference signal type; wherein the removing further comprises removing a contribution of the interfering cell to the first reference signals and removing a contribution of the interfering cell to the second reference signals; and wherein the estimating further comprises: estimating, by the UE, a first RSRP of a first reference signal of the first reference signals for the serving cell; estimating, by the UE, a second RSRP of a second reference signal of the second reference signals for the serving cell; and determining the estimated RSRP based on the first RSRP and the second RSRP (read as the UE may measure the RSRP and RSSI of the target eNB in the U subframe and also measure the RSRP of each interfering eNB having an N subframe corresponding to the U subframe of the target eNB; estimating the in interference and removing it; and the base station may obtain a measurement made by a UE based on received power of a first reference signal sent from the base station in the first set of resources; and the measurement may comprise RSRP of the base station; the RSRP may be used for various purposes such as to select a serving base station for the UE; the received power of the first reference signal may be measured by the UE after estimating and canceling interference due to a second reference signal from an interfering base station in the subframe, par [0058], [0062], [0063], [0076] and [0077]).
Consider claim 8, as applied to claim 1 above, Barbiebri, as modified by Takeda, discloses providing the estimated RSRP to the serving cell in a measurement report (read as the base station may obtain a measurement made by a UE based on received power of a first reference signal sent from the base station in the first set of resources; and the measurement may comprise RSRP of the base station, par [0076] and [0077]).
Consider claim 9, Barbiebri discloses a user equipment (UE) (read as, for example, UE 120, figure 2, par [0030]) comprising: a processor (read as processor 280, figure 2, par [0033]); a transceiver for sending and receiving signals (read as the transmitter and receiver of UE 120 as shown in figure 2, par [0033]-[0034]); and
programming instructions that, when executed by the processor (rad as algorithm embodied directly in hardware, in software module executed by processor, par [0095] and [0014]), cause the UE to perform operations including:
receiving, via the transceiver UE (read as the transmitter and receiver of UE 120 as shown in figure 2, par [0033]-[0034]), reference signals from a serving cell and an interfering cell, the reference signals received on a same frequency at a same transmission time interval, wherein the reference signals include a cell-specific reference signal (CRS) (read as the UE 120 receiving downlink signals from base station 110 including serving eNB Y and interfering eNB Z (figure 5, par [0043]-[0044] and [0047]); the cell-specific reference signals (CRSs) transmitted in corresponding U and N subframes (same time interval as shown in figure 6), with CRS collision (i.e. same time transmissions) occurring when the target eNB and interfering eNB transmit CRSs on the same set of subcarriers (corresponds to same frequency), figures 4, 6 and 7, par [0037]-[0039], [0058]-[0059] and [0072]);
measuring, by a UE, the reference signals (read as the UE measuring received power of a first frequency signal from the base station in the first set of resources, and also measure RSRP (reference signal received power) of each interfering eNB having a corresponding N subframe, figure 7, par [0054]-[0056], [0065] and [0073]);
determining, by the UE, the serving cell based on the measuring of the reference signals (read as selecting the serving eNB from multiple eNBs using received signal strength or received signal quality, and using RSRP of the target eNB or cell reference signal to select a serving base station for the UE (par [0043], [0056] and [0080]); the UE obtains cell IDs to distinguish the target eNB from the interfering eNB during the CRS collision process, which corresponds to the UE identifying the serving and interfering cells (par [0059]));
removing, by the UE, a contribution of the interfering cell to the reference signals (read as the UE identifies an interfering base station/eNB, estimates interference due to a second reference signal from that interfering base station in the subframe, and subtract or cancels the estimated interference form the received signal to obtain an interferent-cancelled signal, which corresponds to removing the interfering cell’s contribution to the received reference signals, figure 7, par [0060] and [0074]);
based at least in part on the measuring, the determining, and the removing of the contribution of the interfering cell to the reference signals, estimating, by the UE, a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the reference signal from the serving cell (read as U subframe for the serving cell and a corresponding N subframe for the potentially interfering neighbor cells (par [0072]); in the UE measurement process, the UE measures received power of the first reference signal, determines RSRP from the received power and then measures the received power of the first reference signal based on interference-cancelled signal after subtracting or cancelling interference due to the second reference signal from the interfering base station/eNB (figure 7, par [0073]-[0074]); and the RSRP would be used to select the serving base station/eNB for the UE, which ties the RSRP measurement to the serving-cell determination (par [0067] and [0080]); and
separate from the removing of the contribution of the interfering cell to the reference signals, receiving at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission received by the UE or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission received by the UE (read as the UE receiving downlink signals in the system that includes PDSCH data transmission and PDCCH control transmission, and the data and control resources elements distinct from CRS response elements with interference estimation and removal on the CRS resources (figures 2-4, par [0033], [0037], [0039] and [0070]-[0074]).
However, Barbiebri discloses the claimed invention above with CRS measurements and PDSCH reception (figure 7, par [0033], [0037], [0073] and [0074]) but does not specifically disclose wherein the reference signals include a synchronization signal block (SSB), and separate from the removing of the contribution of the interfering cell to the reference signals, removing interference from at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission received by the UE.
Nonetheless, Takeda discloses reference signal interference cancelling process in which cells share downlink time and frequency resources, the UE 120 performs NR measurements using a synchronization signal block (SSB) including an RSRP measurement (figure 6, par [0249]-[0251] and [0258]); the UE 120 receiving an NR PDSCH transmission and performing an interference cancelling operation by estimating propagation channel coefficients, generating an interference replica and subtracting the generated interference replica from the PDSCH transmission received by the UE 120, figure 6, par [0246], [0259]-[0260], [0262] and [0264]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Takeda into the teachings of Barbiebri, to configure Barbieri’s UE received power measurement and interference cancellation process using Takeda’s NR SSB measurement and PDSCH interference canceling technique, in order to support NR SSB measurements and reduce neighbor cell reference signal interference on received R PDSCH data while retaining interference-canceled received power measurement for the serving cell (see par [0250], [0258] and [0264] of Takeda).
Consider claim 12, as applied to claim 9 above, Barbiebri, as modified by Takeda, discloses wherein removing the contribution of the interfering cell to the reference signals comprises determining the contribution to the reference signals based at least in part on a cell identifier of the interfering cell (read as a CRS is a reference signal that is specific for a cell, e.g., generated based on a cell identity (ID);therefore, reference signal of serving cell is specific for serving cell and generated based on serving cell identify (ID) and reference signal of interfering cell is specific for interfering cell and generated based on interfering cell identify (ID) (par [0039]); also, CRS collision would occur when the target eNB and the interfering eNB transmit their CRSs on the same set of subcarriers. The UE may obtain the cell ID of each eNB based on the PSS and SSS transmitted by that eNB and may then determine whether there is CRS collision based on the cell IDs of the target eNB and the interfering eNB, par [0037]).
Consider claim 15, as applied to claim 9 above, Barbiebri, as modified by Takeda, discloses wherein the reference signals include at least first reference signals of a first reference signal type and second reference signals of a second reference signal type; wherein the removing further comprises removing a contribution of the interfering cell to the first reference signals and removing a contribution of the interfering cell to the second reference signals; and wherein the estimating further comprises: estimating, by the UE, a first RSRP of a first reference signal of the first reference signals for the serving cell; estimating, by the UE, a second RSRP of a second reference signal of the second reference signals for the serving cell; and determining the estimated RSRP based on the first RSRP and the second RSRP (read as the UE may measure the RSRP and RSSI of the target eNB in the U subframe and also measure the RSRP of each interfering eNB having an N subframe corresponding to the U subframe of the target eNB; estimating the in interference and removing it; and the base station may obtain a measurement made by a UE based on received power of a first reference signal sent from the base station in the first set of resources; and the measurement may comprise RSRP of the base station; the RSRP may be used for various purposes such as to select a serving base station for the UE; the received power of the first reference signal may be measured by the UE after estimating and canceling interference due to a second reference signal from an interfering base station in the subframe, par [0058], [0062], [0063], [0076] and [0077]).
Consider claim 16, as applied to claim 9 above, Barbiebri, as modified by Takeda, discloses wherein the operations further include providing the estimated RSRP to the serving cell in a measurement report (read as the base station may obtain a measurement made by a UE based on received power of a first reference signal sent from the base station in the first set of resources; and the measurement may comprise RSRP of the base station, par [0076] and [0077]).
Consider claim 17, Barbiebri discloses a non-transitory computer storage medium having programming instructions stored thereon that (read as algorithm embodied directly in hardware, in software module executed by processor, par [0095] and [0014]), when executed by a user equipment (UE) cause the UE to perform operations (read as, for example, UE 120 and processor 280, figure 2, par [0030] and par [0033]) comprising:
receiving, via a transceiver of the UE (read as the transmitter and receiver of UE 120 as shown in figure 2, par [0033]-[0034]), reference signals from a serving cell and an interfering cell, the reference signals received on a same frequency at a same transmission time interval, wherein the reference signals include a cell-specific reference signal (CRS) (read as the UE 120 receiving downlink signals from base station 110 including serving eNB Y and interfering eNB Z (figure 5, par [0043]-[0044] and [0047]); the cell-specific reference signals (CRSs) transmitted in corresponding U and N subframes (same time interval as shown in figure 6), with CRS collision (i.e. same time transmissions) occurring when the target eNB and interfering eNB transmit CRSs on the same set of subcarriers (corresponds to same frequency), figures 4, 6 and 7, par [0037]-[0039], [0058]-[0059] and [0072]);
measuring, by a UE, the reference signals (read as the UE measuring received power of a first frequency signal from the base station in the first set of resources, and also measure RSRP (reference signal received power) of each interfering eNB having a corresponding N subframe, figure 7, par [0054]-[0056], [0065] and [0073]);
determining, by the UE, the serving cell based on the measuring of the reference signals (read as selecting the serving eNB from multiple eNBs using received signal strength or received signal quality, and using RSRP of the target eNB or cell reference signal to select a serving base station for the UE (par [0043], [0056] and [0080]); the UE obtains cell IDs to distinguish the target eNB from the interfering eNB during the CRS collision process, which corresponds to the UE identifying the serving and interfering cells (par [0059]));
removing, by the UE, a contribution of the interfering cell to the reference signals (read as the UE identifies an interfering base station/eNB, estimates interference due to a second reference signal from that interfering base station in the subframe, and subtract or cancels the estimated interference form the received signal to obtain an interferent-cancelled signal, which corresponds to removing the interfering cell’s contribution to the received reference signals, figure 7, par [0060] and [0074]);
separate from the removing of the contribution of the interfering cell to the reference signals, receiving at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission received by the UE or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission received by the UE (read as the UE receiving downlink signals in the system that includes PDSCH data transmission and PDCCH control transmission, and the data and control resources elements distinct from CRS response elements with interference estimation and removal on the CRS resources (figures 2-4, par [0033], [0037], [0039] and [0070]-[0074]); and
based at least in part on the measuring, the determining, and the removing of the contribution of the interfering cell to the reference signals, estimating, by the UE, a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the reference signal from the serving cell (read as U subframe for the serving cell and a corresponding N subframe for the potentially interfering neighbor cells (par [0072]); in the UE measurement process, the UE measures received power of the first reference signal, determines RSRP from the received power and then measures the received power of the first reference signal based on interference-cancelled signal after subtracting or cancelling interference due to the second reference signal from the interfering base station/eNB (figure 7, par [0073]-[0074]); and the RSRP would be used to select the serving base station/eNB for the UE, which ties the RSRP measurement to the serving-cell determination (par [0067] and [0080]).
However, Barbiebri discloses the claimed invention above with CRS measurements and PDSCH reception (figure 7, par [0033], [0037], [0073] and [0074]) but does not specifically disclose wherein the reference signals include a synchronization signal block (SSB), and separate from the removing of the contribution of the interfering cell to the reference signals, removing interference from at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission received by the UE.
Nonetheless, Takeda discloses reference signal interference cancelling process in which cells share downlink time and frequency resources, the UE 120 performs NR measurements using a synchronization signal block (SSB) including an RSRP measurement (figure 6, par [0249]-[0251] and [0258]); the UE 120 receiving an NR PDSCH transmission and performing an interference cancelling operation by estimating propagation channel coefficients, generating an interference replica and subtracting the generated interference replica from the PDSCH transmission received by the UE 120, figure 6, par [0246], [0259]-[0260], [0262] and [0264]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Takeda into the teachings of Barbiebri, to configure Barbieri’s UE received power measurement and interference cancellation process using Takeda’s NR SSB measurement and PDSCH interference canceling technique, in order to support NR SSB measurements and reduce neighbor cell reference signal interference on received R PDSCH data while retaining interference-canceled received power measurement for the serving cell (see par [0250], [0258] and [0264] of Takeda).
Consider claim 19, as applied to claim 17 above, Barbiebri, as modified by Takeda, discloses wherein removing the contribution of the interfering cell to the reference signals comprises determining the contribution to the reference signals based at least in part on a cell identifier of the interfering cell (read as a CRS is a reference signal that is specific for a cell, e.g., generated based on a cell identity (ID);therefore, reference signal of serving cell is specific for serving cell and generated based on serving cell identify (ID) and reference signal of interfering cell is specific for interfering cell and generated based on interfering cell identify (ID) (par [0039]); also, CRS collision would occur when the target eNB and the interfering eNB transmit their CRSs on the same set of subcarriers. The UE may obtain the cell ID of each eNB based on the PSS and SSS transmitted by that eNB and may then determine whether there is CRS collision based on the cell IDs of the target eNB and the interfering eNB, par [0037]).
Claim(s) 4, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barbiebri (WO 2011/130409 A1) in view of Takeda et al. (US 20220322372 A1), and in further view of Joey (US 20160301486 A1).
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Barbiebri, as modified by Takeda, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose determining whether the estimated RSRP meets a mobility threshold; and when the mobility threshold is met, switching to a different serving cell.
Nonetheless, Joey discloses a UE includes a cell search and selection module to search for a neighbor cell in response to determining that the RSRP is below (i.e. is met) the threshold value (i.e. mobility threshold), [0034].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Joey into the teachings of Barbiebri, which modified by Takeda, to design the system to perform cell search and reselection when the RSRP is below a threshold to ensure provide acceptable communication.
Consider claim 13, as applied to claim 9 above, Barbiebri, as modified by Takeda, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the operations further include: determining whether the estimated RSRP meets a mobility threshold; and when the mobility threshold is met, switching to a different serving cell.
Nonetheless, Joey discloses a UE includes a cell search and selection module to search for a neighbor cell in response to determining that the RSRP is below (i.e. is met) the threshold value (i.e. mobility threshold), [0034].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Joey into the teachings of Barbiebri, which modified by Takeda, to design the system to perform cell search and reselection when the RSRP is below a threshold to ensure provide acceptable communication.
Consider claim 20, as applied to claim 17 above, Barbiebri, as modified by Takeda, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the operations further include: determining whether the estimated RSRP meets a mobility threshold; and when the mobility threshold is met, switching to a different serving cell.
Nonetheless, Joey discloses a UE includes a cell search and selection module to search for a neighbor cell in response to determining that the RSRP is below (i.e. is met) the threshold value (i.e. mobility threshold), [0034].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Joey into the teachings of Barbiebri, which modified by Takeda, to design the system to perform cell search and reselection when the RSRP is below a threshold to ensure provide acceptable communication.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barbiebri (WO 2011/130409 A1) in view of Takeda et al. (US 20220322372 A1), and in further view of Zhang (US 20240040388 A1).
Consider claim 10, as applied to claim 9 above, Barbiebri, as modified by Takeda, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein at least one of the serving cell or the interfering cell is associated with Fifth Generation (5G) or later technology.
Nonetheless, Zhang discloses the communication system comprising base station and UE using different communication standards such as LTE or fifth generation (5G) NR, see par [0031]-[0034]-[0035].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhang into the teachings of Barbiebri, which modified by Takeda, to design the system to use 5G NR as it would enable fast network access with reduced overhead compared to 4G.
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barbiebri (WO 2011/130409 A1) in view of Takeda et al. (US 20220322372 A1), and in further view of Tsai (US 20170156079 A1).
Consider claims 21-23, as applied to claims 1, 9 and 17 respectively above, Barbiebri, as modified by Takeda, discloses the claimed invention above and the interfering cell being identified by its cell identifier (cell ID) (read as the UE obtains the cell ID of each eNB based on the PSS and SSS and use those cell IDs in an interference scenario involving a target eNB and an interfering eNB, par [0058]-[0059]) and removing the interference from the PDSCH transmission (see par [0075] of Takeda) but does not expressly teach that removing the interference from the PDSCH transmission comprises cancelling physical resource blocks (PRBs) from the interfering cell.
Nonetheless, Tsai discloses that physical resource blocks (PRBs) are the minimal granularity of resource allocation, and that the interference characteristics may need to be estimated on a PRB level for an interference PDSCH, and that the UE cancels the data transmission from the neighboring cell, including cancel/suppress operation for neighboring cell transmission, par [0029], [0032], [0026] and [0028].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Tsai’s PRB-granular interference-cancellation teaching into the teachings of Barbieri, as modified by Takeda, in order to implement the PDSCH interference removal using PRB-scoped cancellation of the interfering cell’s contribution, which would provide a implementation-level approach for cancelling interference on the specific PRB resources impacted by the interfering cell.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645