DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the reply, filed on 07/20/2026, Applicant did not make any amendments.
Claims 1-23 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the limitations of “deployment structure to attach said shelter in said packaging to a drone aircraft” of claims 3 and 15, and “deployment structure configured to automatically deploying said fires shelter in said environment” of claims 8 and 19, should not be interpreted under 112(f) because the claims recite structural features, not functional language. Examiner respectfully disagrees. These claims do not disclose any particular structure regarding these features whatsoever. The mere fact that they disclose “deployment structures” is not enough actual structure to know what these encompass. Examiner notes that the word “structures” is a generic placeholder, not actual structural language. Examiner maintains these limitations under 112(f) and is interpreting them as stated in Claim Interpretation, seen below.
Regarding prior art rejections of Musser in view of Gross, Applicant argues that Examiner’s rationale that Gross inherently teaches the claimed feature of “an interior space that is protected from exceeding 200°F for at least 15 minutes when the shelter is deployed in a fire environment” is a conclusion that is not supported by evidence, but merely an assumption. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As evidence for Gross being capable of performing the claimed function, Examiner cites that Gross teaches a layer of absorbent material and a fire resistant substance that impregnates the absorbent material that are made out of exact same materials that Applicant’s invention are made out of. Therefore, considering how broad the independent claims are regarding these materials and the fact that Gross teaches the same materials, Gross is deemed capable of performing the claimed function. Furthermore, this claimed function hinges on the shelter being placed on “a fire environment”, wherein Examiner notes that an arbitrary fire environment is extremely broad language, as stated in the rejection below; that is, fires vary in temperature and intensity. If a fire is small enough, for example a bonfire at a camp site, virtually any fire blanket will protect the interior space in a way that the temperature does not exceed 200°F for at least 15 minutes, as claimed. In other words, the independent claims remain broad by not claiming specify materials, ratios or sizes of the materials, how the fire resistant substance is integrated with the layer of absorbent material, and the specifics of the fire (temperature).
Applicant cites Par 0207 of Gross, which states that its insulator protects “foam and other components” from melting; wherein Applicant alleges that this is proof that the insulator is not capable of protecting at a temperature of 200°F. Examiner notes that this is merely an example; plus, it is not known what type of “foam” is being disclosed here. There are myriads of foams, all with varying melting temperatures. Furthermore, “other components” could be anything as well. In other words, this is not enough evidence to show that Gross does not have the capability of protecting the interior space from exceeding 200°F for at least 15 minutes.
Applicant argues that nothing in Gross suggests that the materials are arranged in a manner that provides an interior safety space as specified, and states that using the same materials at different concentrations or applied in different ways will impact its capabilities. Examiner notes that the claims are silent with respect to how the martials of the fire shelter are arranged. As such, this argument is non-commensurate with claim language. The only claimed limitation regarding the two materials is that the fire resistant substance impregnates the absorbent material, and Gross teaches this feature in Pars 0230-231. In order to overcome Gross, structural subject matter not taught by Gross should be positively claimed. Merely arguing that Applicant discloses the shelter made differently is not enough, as the subject matter of the specification is not explicitly included in the claims.
Regarding claim 14, Applicant makes similar arguments about the lack of evidence for inherency. As rebutted above, the evidence lies in Gross disclosing the same materials that Applicant discloses, plus the lack of detail in the claims regarding the specifics about how the fire shelter is composed. In particular, regarding the “packaging” of claim 14, Examiner notes that Gross teaches a layer 11 disclosed as a thermoplastic which behaves in the same manner as how the packaging is disclosed in Applicant’s specification (see rejection below for details). Examiner further notes that the packaging is broadly claimed, with no actual structural limitations or specific materials. As such, Gross reads on this language.
Regarding the 103 rejection, Applicant argues that Examiner relies on hindsight when combining Musser with Gross. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner has taken motivation to combine taken directly from Gross’ teachings (see rejections below). As such, Examiner has not relied on Applicant’s teachings to make the modifications; meaning no hindsight rationale was applied. Examiner notes that this was not a piecemeal combination, where all the elements of the claims were considered, and one of ordinary skill in the art would use the device Musser with a fire shelter made in a similar manner as Gross. Furthermore, the combination in view of Gross does not go against the intended purpose of Musser and does not prevent its device from working as intended. Musser remains operational, just with a fire shelter made of different materials, as taught by Gross.
For these reasons, Examiner maintains the current grounds of rejection. Applicant did not make any further arguments.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a “deployment structure configured to attach said shelter in said packaging to a drone aircraft” in claims 3 and 15. This limitation meets the three prong test because 1) it uses a generic placeholder “structure”; 2) it is modified by functional language “to attach said shelter in said packaging to a drone aircraft”; and 3) it is not modified by any actual structure.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The specification discloses [Par 0041] “Figure 4 shows the example package 200 being carried by a flying drone 220 for dropping into a desired location. Any desired motive means could be utilized for transporting the shelter to a desired location”. And Fig 4 shows the shelter attached to the drone via hooks, i.e. mechanical fasteners. Examiner will interpret the deployment structure configured to attach said shelter to the drone aircraft as any fastening structure, or equivalent thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a “deployment structure configured to automatically deploying said fires shelter in said fire environment” in claims 8 and 19. This limitation meets the three prong test because 1) it uses a generic placeholder “structure”; 2) it is modified by functional language “to automatically deploying said fires shelter in said fire environment”; and 3) it is not modified by any actual structure.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The Specification [Par 0043] discloses the deployment structure as compressed air, a small explosive device, a spring loaded device, robotic mechanisms, chemical reactions, or any combination of these features. The specification also discloses [Par 0045] weighted base components as deployment structures. Examiner will interpret it as such, or equivalent thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-10, 13, 14, 16, 18, 19, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Musser (U.S. 2009/0266567) in view of Gross et al (U.S. 2008/0050565).
Regarding claim 1, Musser teaches a portable fire shelter (tarp 10, seen in Fig 5 and 6), wherein said fire shelter is configured to deploy in a manner to form an interior space (space that houses the house 70, Fig 6) that is protected from when is deployed in a fire environment (as disclosed in Par 0025-26 , the shelter is deployed from a helicopter, i.e. it is portable, and protects a house from a fire environment).
However, Musser does not teach the shelter comprising: a layer of absorbent material; and a fire resistant substance impregnating said layer of absorbent material, wherein said fire shelter is configured to deploy in a manner to form an interior space that is protected from exceeding 200°F for at least 15 minutes when said fire shelter is deployed in a fire environment.
Gross teaches a flexible thermally insulating fire-retardant composite pad (such as 40 or 70, seen in Figs 4 and 7), comprising: a layer (10) of absorbent material (layer 10 includes fiber, such as cotton – Par 0131, 0134; wherein the layer is absorbent – Par 0143; furthermore, Applicant discloses in their own Specification, Par 0032, that the absorbent layer is cotton); and a fire resistant substance (ammonium polyphosphate or phosphate ester fire-retardants – Par 0230-0231; note that Applicant discloses in their own Specification, Par 0033, that the fire-resistant substance can be a phosphorous containing compound) impregnating said layer of absorbent material (Pars 0230-0231 disclose these fire retardant being sprayed/applied onto the cellulosic fibers, i.e. the cotton fibers).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Musser to incorporate the teachings of Gross to provide the shelter with a layer of absorbent material impregnated with a fire resistance substance in order to effectively block the fire in an affordable manner (as disclosed in Par 0016 and 0202 of Gross). In combination, Musser and Gross teach a fire shelter that protects the interior space from exceeding 200°F for at least 15 minutes when said fire shelter is deployed in a fire environment (since Gross teaches the same materials disclosed by Applicant’s specification: cotton used as the layer of absorbent material, and a phosphorous containing compound as the fire-resistant substance, then the shelter of Gross is deemed capable of achieving the function of protecting the interior from exceeding 200°F for at least 15 minutes when exposed to fire. Examiner notes that this function is also directly dependent on the intensity of the fire; if the fire is small enough the shelter will protect the interior space as claimed, or even exceed the claimed time 15 minutes).
Regarding claim 2, Musser and Gross teach the portable fire shelter of claim 1, further comprising packaging (layer 11 of Gross) configured to prevent said fire resistant substance from evaporating from, or hardening within, said layer of absorbent material (layer 11 is disclosed as a thermoplastic material, see Par 0172 and 0173 of Gross; As disclosed by Applicant in Par 0042: the packaging is designed to burn off or melt from heat to expose the shelter to during deployment; Layer 11 of Gross is disclosed as a thermoplastic material which would act in the same manner as claimed: it would prevent the fire resistant substance from evaporating from, or hardening within said layer of absorbent material and then it would melt in the presence of the fire to expose the shelter).
Regarding claim 4, Musser and Gross teach the portable fire shelter of claim 2, wherein said packaging is configured to be consumed, melt, or otherwise be opened by action of the heat of said fire environment (packaging, i.e. layer 11, is disclosed as a thermoplastic material, see Par 0172 and 0173 of Gross; wherein thermoplastics melt as result of heat emitted from the fire).
Regarding claim 5, Musser and Gross teach the portable fire shelter of claim 1, wherein said fire resistant substance is a liquid or gel (Gross teaches fire retardants ammonium polyphosphate or phosphate ester; wherein Par 0230-0231 disclose these as liquids sprayed onto the fibers, i.e. absorbent layer of cotton) .
Regarding claim 7, Musser and Gross teach the portable fire shelter of claim 1, said layer of absorbent material including felt or a woven material (Gross Par 0193 discloses the airfelt as the nonwoven structure, i.e. the material for layer 10; that is, Gross discloses a type of felt as the absorbent material).
Regarding claim 8, Musser and Gross teach the portable fire shelter of claim 1, further comprising deployment structure configured to automatically deploying said fires shelter in said fire environment (Musser teaches weighted base portions 18, the automatically drag the base of the shelter down in order for the aircraft to place the deployed shelter in the target area, see Par 0020 and Fig 2b).
Regarding claim 9, Musser and Gross teach the portable fire shelter of claim 1, wherein said interior space is of sufficient size to encompass a building (the size of the shelter of Musser is sufficient to cover a house 70, i.e. a building, see Fig 6).
Regarding claim 10, Musser and Gross teach the portable fire shelter of claim 1, wherein said interior space is of sufficient size to encompass a vehicle (the size of the shelter of Musser is sufficient to cover a house 70, i.e. a building, see Fig 6; therefore it is big enough to cover a vehicle such as a car).
Regarding claim 13, Musser and Gross teach the portable fire shelter of claim 1, wherein said fire environment includes a temperature greater than 1000°F in the immediate vicinity of the deployed fire shelter (Musser and Gross teach the same structural limitations as claimed; as such, the shelter of the prior art is deemed capable of being used in a fire that exceeds a temperature greater than 1000°F. Furthermore, this claim is claiming particulars of the environment the invention is used in, which carries very limited patentable weight. In other words, the claims are directed to a fire shelter, and the claim does not disclose particular limitations of the shelter itself, it its merely claiming the temperature of a fire in the environment).
Regarding claim 14, Musser teaches a portable fire shelter (tarp 10, seen in Fig 5 and 6), wherein said fire shelter is configured to deploy in a manner to form an interior space (space that houses the house 70, Fig 6) that protects an object (house 70) or person provided in the interior space from excessive heat when said fire shelter is deployed in a fire environment (as disclosed in Par 0018 and 0025-26 , the shelter is deployed from a helicopter, i.e. it is portable, and protects a house from a fire environment).
However, Musser does not teach the shelter comprising a layer of absorbent material; a fire resistant substance in the form of a liquid or gel impregnating said layer of absorbent material; and packaging configured to prevent said fire resistant substance from evaporating from, or hardening within, said layer of absorbent material.
Gross teaches a flexible thermally insulating fire-retardant composite pad (such as 40 or 70, seen in Figs 4 and 7), comprising a layer (10) of absorbent material (layer 10 includes fiber, such as cotton – Par 0131, 0134; wherein the layer is absorbent – Par 0143; furthermore, Applicant discloses in their own Specification, Par 0032, that the absorbent layer is cotton); a fire resistant substance (ammonium polyphosphate or phosphate ester fire-retardants – Par 0230-0231; note that Applicant discloses in their own Specification, Par 0033, that the fire-resistant substance can be a phosphorous containing compound) in the form of a liquid or gel (Pars 0230-0231 disclose these substances as liquid) impregnating said layer of absorbent material (Pars 0230-0231 disclose these fire retardant being sprayed/applied onto the cellulosic fibers, i.e. the cotton fibers); and packaging (layer 11) configured to prevent said fire resistant substance from evaporating from, or hardening within, said layer of absorbent material (layer 11 is disclosed as a thermoplastic material, see Par 0172 and 0173; As disclosed by Applicant in Par 0042: the packaging is designed to burn off or melt from heat to expose the shelter to during deployment; Layer 11 of Gross is disclosed as a thermoplastic material which would act in the same manner as claimed: it would prevent the fire resistant substance from evaporating from, or hardening within said layer of absorbent material and then it would melt in the presence of the fire to expose the shelter).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Musser to incorporate the teachings of Gross to provide the shelter with a layer of absorbent material impregnated with a fire resistance substance and packaging in order to effectively block the fire in an affordable manner (as disclosed in Par 0016 and 0202 of Gross).
Regarding claim 16, Musser and Gross teach the portable fire shelter of claim 14, wherein said packaging is configured to be consumed, melt, or otherwise be opened by action of the heat of said fire environment (packaging, i.e. layer 11, is disclosed as a thermoplastic material, see Par 0172 and 0173 of Gross; wherein thermoplastics melt as result of heat emitted from the fire).
Regarding claim 18, Musser and Gross teach the portable fire shelter of claim 14, said layer of absorbent material including felt or a woven material (Gross Par 0193 discloses the airfelt as the nonwoven structure, i.e. the material for layer 10; that is, Gross discloses a type of felt as the absorbent material).
Regarding claim 19, Musser and Gross teach the portable fire shelter of claim 14, further comprising deployment structure configured to automatically deploying said fires shelter in said fire environment (Musser teaches weighted base portions 18, the automatically drag the base of the shelter down in order for the aircraft to place the deployed shelter in the target area, see Par 0020 and Fig 2b).
Regarding claim 21, Musser and Gross teach the portable fire shelter of claim 14, wherein said fire environment includes a temperature greater than 1000°F in the immediate vicinity of the deployed fire shelter (Musser and Gross teach the same structural limitations as claimed; as such, the shelter of the prior art is deemed capable of being used in a fire that exceeds a temperature greater than 1000°F. Furthermore, this claim is claiming particulars of the environment the invention is used in, which carries very limited patentable weight. In other words, the claims are directed to a fire shelter, and the claim does not disclose particular limitations of the shelter itself, it its merely claiming the temperature of a fire in the environment).
Regarding claim 22, Musser teaches a method of providing a protected interior space (space that houses the house 70, Fig 6) in a fire environment (as disclosed in Par 0019 0025-26 a shelter 10 protects the house from a fire environment), comprising the steps of:
providing a fire shelter (tarp 10, seen in Fig 5 and 6),
transporting said fire shelter to a fire zone (Par 0025 discloses the shelter transport to a fire zone to protect the house); deploying said fire shelter in said fire zone to provide a protected space (Par 0025, the shelter is deployed via helicopter to provide a protected space, i.e. space inside the shelter that contains the house).
However, Musser does not teach the fire shelter comprising: a layer of absorbent material, a fire resistant substance in the form of a liquid or gel impregnating said layer of absorbent material, and packaging configured to prevent said fire resistant substance from evaporating from, or hardening within, said layer of absorbent material after said impregnating.
Gross teaches a flexible thermally insulating fire-retardant composite pad (such as 40 or 70, seen in Figs 4 and 7) comprising: a layer (10) of absorbent material (layer 10 includes fiber, such as cotton – Par 0131, 0134; wherein the layer is absorbent – Par 0143; furthermore, Applicant discloses in their own Specification, Par 0032, that the absorbent layer is cotton), a fire resistant substance (ammonium polyphosphate or phosphate ester fire-retardants – Par 0230-0231; note that Applicant discloses in their own Specification, Par 0033, that the fire-resistant substance can be a phosphorous containing compound) in the form of a liquid or gel (Pars 0230-0231 disclose these substances as liquid) impregnating said layer of absorbent material (Pars 0230-0231 disclose these fire retardant being sprayed/applied onto the cellulosic fibers, i.e. the cotton fibers), and packaging (layer 11) configured to prevent said fire resistant substance from evaporating from, or hardening within, said layer of absorbent material after said impregnating (layer 11 is disclosed as a thermoplastic material, see Par 0172 and 0173; As disclosed by Applicant in Par 0042: the packaging is designed to burn off or melt from heat to expose the shelter to during deployment; Layer 11 of Gross is disclosed as a thermoplastic material which would act in the same manner as claimed: it would prevent the fire resistant substance from evaporating from, or hardening within said layer of absorbent material and then it would melt in the presence of the fire to expose the shelter).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Musser to incorporate the teachings of Gross to provide the shelter with a layer of absorbent material impregnated with a fire resistance substance and packaging in order to effectively block the fire in an affordable manner (as disclosed in Par 0016 and 0202 of Gross). In combination, Musser and Gross teach maintaining a temperature within said protected space of less than 200°F for at least 15 minutes in said fire zone (since Gross teaches the same materials disclosed by Applicant’s specification: cotton used as the layer of absorbent material, and a phosphorous containing compound as the fire-resistant substance, then the shelter of Gross is deemed capable of achieving the function of protecting the interior from exceeding 200°F for at least 15 minutes when exposed to fire. Examiner notes that this function is also directly dependent on the intensity of the fire; if the fire is small enough the shelter will protect the interior space as claimed, or even exceed the claimed time 15 minutes).
Claims 3, 15 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Musser (U.S. 2009/0266567) in view of Gross et al (U.S. 2008/0050565); further in view of Bartz (U.S. 2021/0269151).
Regarding claim 3, Musser and Gross teach the portable fire shelter of claim 2, further comprising deployment structure (defined by cables 14 of Musser) configured to attach said shelter in said packaging (as modified by Gross) to an aircraft (as disclosed in Pars 0017, 0019 and 0025 of Musser, the cables attach the shelter to a helicopter).
However, Musser and Gross do not teach the aircraft being a drone.
Bartz teaches an unmanned aerial vehicle system for fire protection that uses drone to deploy a net, i.e. a shelter, onto a fire (as disclosed in Par 0002).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Musser to incorporate the teachings of Bartz to deploy the shelter using a drone (UAV) because drones have the ability to remain powered in flight and being unaffected by smoke and fire, which could choke a manned aircraft (as disclosed in Par 0007 of Bartz).
Regarding claim 15, Musser and Gross teach the portable fire shelter of claim 14, further comprising deployment structure (defined by cables 14 of Musser) configured to attach said shelter in said packaging (as modified by Gross) to an aircraft (as disclosed in Pars 0017, 0019 and 0025 of Musser, the cables attach the shelter to a helicopter).
However, Musser and Gross do not teach the aircraft being a drone.
Bartz teaches an unmanned aerial vehicle system for fire protection that uses drone to deploy a net, i.e. a shelter, onto a fire (as disclosed in Par 0002).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Musser to incorporate the teachings of Bartz to deploy the shelter using a drone (UAV) because drones have the ability to remain powered in flight and being unaffected by smoke and fire, which could choke a manned aircraft (as disclosed in Par 0007 of Bartz).
Regarding claim 23, Musser and Gross teach the method of claim 22. However, they teach said transporting step accomplished by a helicopter (200, See Figs of Musser) instead of being accomplished using a robot or drone.
Bartz teaches an unmanned aerial vehicle system for fire protection that uses drone to deploy a net, i.e. a shelter, onto a fire (as disclosed in Par 0002).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Musser to incorporate the teachings of Bartz to deploy the shelter using a drone (UAV) because drones have the ability to remain powered in flight and being unaffected by smoke and fire, which could choke a manned aircraft (as disclosed in Par 0007 of Bartz).
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Musser (U.S. 2009/0266567) in view of Gross et al (U.S. 2008/0050565); further in view of Bolton et al (U.S. 5,124,208).
Regarding claim 6, Musser and Gross teach the portable fire shelter of claim 1. However, they do not teach said fire resistant substance including acrylamide and/or bisacrylamide.
Bolton teaches an intumescent gel compound for a fire resistant device that includes acrylamide (col 1, lines 33-41).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Musser and Gross to incorporate the teachings of Bolton to include acrylamide in the fire-resistant material in order to speed up gelling reaction (as disclosed in col 1, lines 33-41 of Bolton). Doing so, would ensure the shelter will react to the fire quicker by gelling, i.e. solidifying, the layer of absorbent material, thus creating a barrier that further protects the interior space.
Regarding claim 17, Musser and Gross teach the portable fire shelter of claim 14. However, they do not teach said fire resistant substance including acrylamide and/or bisacrylamide.
Bolton teaches an intumescent gel compound for a fire resistant device that includes acrylamide (col 1, lines 33-41).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Musser and Gross to incorporate the teachings of Bolton to include acrylamide in the fire-resistant material in order to speed up gelling reaction (as disclosed in col 1, lines 33-41 of Bolton). Doing so would ensure the shelter will react to the fire quicker by gelling, i.e. solidifying, the layer of absorbent material, thus creating a barrier that further protects the interior space.
Claims 11, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Musser (U.S. 2009/0266567) in view of Gross et al (U.S. 2008/0050565); further in view of Goldberg (U.S. 2008/0001128).
Regarding claim 11, Musser and Gross teach the portable fire shelter of claim 1, further comprising a structural layer (Gross teaches a “heavy” layer 12; since the structural layer is broadly claimed, a heavy layer provides structure to the shelter; Thus, reading on claim language).
If it is found that Musser and Gross do not teach a structural layer, Goldberg teaches a flexible wall having fire resistant properties (see abstract); wherein the wall comprises a structural layer (5, 7 and 9, seen in Fig 4; wherein the layer is formed of various basalt fiber fabric, which provides mechanical strength by distributing loads and mechanical tensions – see Par 0051, i.e. provides structural support).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Musser and Gross to incorporate the teachings of Goldberg to provide a structural layer in order to provide mechanical strength to the shelter (as disclosed in Par 0051 of Goldberg).
Regarding claim 12, Musser and Gross teach the portable fire shelter of claim 1. However, they do not teach the shelter further comprising a heat reflecting layer.
Goldberg teaches a flexible wall having fire resistant properties (see abstract); wherein the wall comprises a heat reflecting layer (flexible metal layer 8; Par 0038 discloses layer 8 reflecting heat radiation).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Musser and Gross to incorporate the teachings of Goldberg to provide a heat reflecting layer in order to reflect heat radiation (as disclosed in Par 0038 of Goldberg), which would provide additional heat resistance when deployed in a fire.
Regarding claim 20, Musser and Gross teach the portable fire shelter of claim 14. However, they do not teach the shelter further comprising a heat reflecting layer.
Goldberg teaches a flexible wall having fire resistant properties (see abstract); wherein the wall comprises a heat reflecting layer (flexible metal layer 8; Par 0038 discloses layer 8 reflecting heat radiation).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Musser and Gross to incorporate the teachings of Goldberg to provide a heat reflecting layer in order to reflect heat radiation (as disclosed in Par 0038 of Goldberg), which would provide additional heat resistance when deployed in a fire.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If there are any inquiries that are not being addressed by first contacting the Examiner or the Supervisor, you may send an email inquiry to TC3700_Workgroup_D_Inquiries@uspto.gov.
/JUAN C BARRERA/
Examiner, Art Unit 3752
/CODY J LIEUWEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752