Election/Restrictions
The response to election/restriction filed on 12/05/2025, a provisional election was made with traverse to prosecute the invention of 1, claims 1-8, 14-16. Claims 9-13 withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 14-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "at least one synchronization signal" in line 11. It is unclear if it is new or referred back to "at least one synchronization signal" in claim 1 line 9. Similar problem in claim 14, 15, 16.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the at least one synchronization signal" in line 16, 17. It is unclear referred back to "at least one synchronization signal" in claim 1 line 9 or line 11. Similar problem in claim 14, 15, 16.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "a communication control device" in line 1. It is unclear if it is new or referred back to " a communication control device " in claim 1 line 8.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the at least one synchronization signal" in line 6. It is unclear referred back to "at least one synchronization signal" in claim 1 line 9 or line 11.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the at least one synchronization signal" in line 5. It is unclear referred back to "at least one synchronization signal" in claim 1 line 9 or line 11.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the at least one synchronization signal" in line 5. It is unclear referred back to "at least one synchronization signal" in claim 1 line 9 or line 11.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the vehicle mounted electronic device" in lines 5, 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the at least one synchronization signal" in line 5. It is unclear referred back to "at least one synchronization signal" in claim 1 line 9 or line 11.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the vehicle mounted electronic device" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "RSU" in line 5. It is unclear if it is new or referred back to " RSU " in claim 5 line 3.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the at least one synchronization signal" in line 5. It is unclear referred back to "at least one synchronization signal" in claim 1 line 9 or line 11.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the vehicle mounted electronic device" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 14-16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11706727. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Regarding claims 1, 14, the Patent No. 11706727 teaches an electronic device, comprising:
a communication interface configured to receive synchronization signals transmitted from each of a plurality of devices (claim 1), wherein the synchronization signals include at least a Primary Sidelink Synchronization Signal (PSSS) and a Secondary Sidelink Synchronization Signal (SSSS), wherein one of the synchronization signals is a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) signal received from a Global Positioning System satellite (claim 1), and
receive an instruction from a communication control device to select at least one synchronization signal from among the synchronization signals (claim 1); and
circuitry configured to select at least one synchronization signal from among the synchronization signals based on the instruction received from the communication control device to perform a synchronization process based on a determination that the electronic device is moving toward a location at which at least one of the synchronization signals is not available (claim 1); and
perform the synchronization process based on the at least one selected synchronization signal (claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, the Patent No. 11706727 teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of devices include at least one of a communication control device, a roadside unit (RSU), a vehicle-mounted electronic device, or a mobile communication device (claim 2).
Regarding claims 15, 16, the Patent No. 11706727 teaches a communication control device comprising:
circuitry configured to: transmit synchronization signals to an electronic device, wherein the synchronization signals include at least a Primary Sidelink Synchronization Signal (PSSS) and a Secondary Sidelink Synchronization Signal (SSSS), wherein one of the synchronization signals is a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) signal received from a Global Positioning System satellite (claim 1); and
transmit an instruction to the electronic device to select at least one synchronization signal from among the synchronization signals (claim 1),
wherein the electronic device selects at least one synchronization signal from among the synchronization signals based on the instruction transmitted from the communication control device to perform a synchronization process based on a determination that the electronic device is moving toward a location at which at least one of the synchronization signals is not available (claim 1), and
the electronic device performs the synchronization process based on the at least one selected synchronization signal (claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 14, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHORYAEV et al. (provisional app. 62232371 filed on 09/24/2015 for the US 20180213498 herein KHORYAEV) in view of RAITH (US 6711408).
Regarding claim 1, 14, KHORYAEV et al. (US 20180213498) teaches an electronic device (page 7, 9, terminal), comprising:
a communication interface configured to receive synchronization signals transmitted from each of a plurality of devices (page 7, 9, both eNBs and UEs can provide synchronization reference to the terminals), wherein the synchronization signals include at least a Primary Sidelink Synchronization Signal (PSSS) (page 11, PSSS/SSSS) and a Secondary Sidelink Synchronization Signal (SSSS) (page 11, PSSS/SSSS), wherein one of the synchronization signals is a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) signal received from a Global Positioning System satellite (page 7, 8, 10, 11, GNSS), and
receive an instruction from a communication control device to select at least one synchronization signal from among the synchronization signals (page 7, 9, the priority rules for synchronization source selection…these rules can be provided/configured by the network); and
circuitry configured to select at least one synchronization signal from among the synchronization signals based on the instruction received from the communication control device to perform a synchronization process based on a determination that the electronic device is at location at which at least one of the synchronization signals is not available (page 7, 8 9, 11, selection of synchronization reference…not available GNSS sync…Priority of synchronization reference for out of coverage vehicles); and
perform the synchronization process based on the at least one selected synchronization signal (page 7, 9, 11).
However, KHORYAEV does not teach select at least one synchronization signal based on the determination that the electronic device is moving toward to a location.
But, RAITH in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches select the local signal based on the determination that the electronic device is moving toward to a location (col. 10 lines 49-60, When the mobile terminal 20 nears a handoff point, the mobile communication network 10 sends a list of channels for the mobile terminal 20 to monitor (block 510). The mobile terminal 20 then monitors the channels in a manner known in the art and communicates the appropriate measurements to the base station 12… At the appropriate time based on aggregating prior results and quality metrics stored in memory, and/or based on signal strength returned from the mobile terminal 20, the call is handed off to the best available base station 12).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by RAITH in the system of KHORYAEV to using the determination that the electronic device is moving toward a location, e.g. tunnel, to select the local synchronization signal.
The motivation would have been to provide preemptive selection to provide continuous synchronization signal.
Regarding claim 2, KHORYAEV teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of devices include at least one of a communication control device, a roadside unit (RSU), a vehicle-mounted electronic device, or a mobile communication device (page 7, 8, UEs or terminal integrated to vehicle).
Regarding claims 15, 16, KHORYAEV et al. (US 20180213498) teaches a communication control device (page 7, 9, eNBs or V2X server; network device) comprising:
circuitry configured to: transmit synchronization signals to an electronic device (page 7, 9, both eNBs and UEs can provide synchronization reference to the terminals), wherein the synchronization signals include at least a Primary Sidelink Synchronization Signal (PSSS) (page 11, PSSS/SSSS) and a Secondary Sidelink Synchronization Signal (SSSS) (page 11, PSSS/SSSS), wherein one of the synchronization signals is a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) signal received from a Global Positioning System satellite (page 7, 8, 10, 11, GNSS); and
transmit an instruction to the electronic device to select at least one synchronization signal from among the synchronization signals (page 7, 9, the priority rules for synchronization source selection…these rules can be provided/configured by the network),
wherein the electronic device selects at least one synchronization signal from among the synchronization signals based on the instruction transmitted from the communication control device to perform a synchronization process based on a determination that the electronic device is in a location at which at least one of the synchronization signals is not available (page 7, 8 9, 11, selection of synchronization reference…not available GNSS sync…Priority of synchronization reference for out of coverage vehicles), and
the electronic device performs the synchronization process based on the at least one selected synchronization signal (page 7, 9, 11).
However, KHORYAEV does not teach selects at least one synchronization signal based on the determination that the electronic device is moving toward to a location.
But, RAITH in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches selects at least one synchronization signal based on the determination that the electronic device is moving toward to a location (col. 10 lines 49-60, When the mobile terminal 20 nears a handoff point, the mobile communication network 10 sends a list of channels for the mobile terminal 20 to monitor (block 510). The mobile terminal 20 then monitors the channels in a manner known in the art and communicates the appropriate measurements to the base station 12… At the appropriate time based on aggregating prior results and quality metrics stored in memory, and/or based on signal strength returned from the mobile terminal 20, the call is handed off to the best available base station 12).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by RAITH in the system of KHORYAEV to using the determination that the electronic device is moving toward a location, e.g. tunnel, to select the local synchronization signal.
The motivation would have been to provide preemptive selection to provide continuous synchronization signal.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHORYAEV et al. (provisional app. 62232371 filed on 09/24/2015 for the US 20180213498 herein KHORYAEV) and RAITH (US 6711408) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of HARADA et al. (US 20170230854).
Regarding claim 3, KHORYAEV teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to control the communication interface to transmit location information indicating a current location of the electronic device to the communication control device (fig. 1, The V2X server can receive measurements (including location, speed, congestion reports, amount of vehicles, etc.) from the target device); and
the communication interface is configured to receive, from the communication control device, assistance information (fig. 1).
However, KHORYAEV does not explicitly teach the communication interface is configured to receive, from the communication control device, the instruction to select the at least one synchronization signal based on the transmitted location information.
But, HARADA et al. (US 20170230854) teaches the communication interface is configured to receive, from the communication control device, the instruction to select the at least one synchronization signal based on the transmitted location information (par. 43, 44, 48, 53, a “synchronized set” refers to information about a PSS/SSS that can be used as a reference for the CSI-RS detection timings included in the DRS… when synchronized sets are reported from a macro cell to the user terminal, it is possible to report synchronized sets that relate to all the small cells that overlap the macro cell… based on the geographic location of the user terminal, synchronized sets that relate to part of the small cells that are located near the user terminal may be reported).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by HARADA in the system of KHORYAEV and RAITH to instruct user terminal the synchronized sets to synchronize based on location.
The motivation would have been to reduce the increase of power consumption in user terminals in a radio communication system in which small cells are detected (HARADA par. 9).
Claim(s) 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHORYAEV et al. (provisional app. 62232371 filed on 09/24/2015 for the US 20180213498 herein KHORYAEV) and RAITH (US 6711408) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of AMEIXIERA (provisional app. 62222016 filed on 09/22/2015 in US 20170086159).
Regarding claim 4, KHORYAEV et al. (US 20180213498) teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising:
a vehicle-mounted memory configured to store map information (page 7, terminals integrated to vehicle); and
access the map information to select the at least one synchronization signal from among the synchronization signals based on the current location of the electronic device (page 7, The both eNBs and UEs can provide synchronization reference to the terminals. The predefined rules are defined for selection of synchronization reference by D2D transmitter. In particular, eNB has higher priority as a synchronization reference, followed by UE propagating timing from eNB).
However, KHORYAEV does not explicitly teach wherein the circuitry is configured to determine a current location of the electronic device; select the at least one synchronization signal based on the current location of the electronic;
But, AMEIXIERA (US 20170086159) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to determine a current location of the electronic device (par. 77, 89, a node may select a manner of synchronization and/or another one or more nodes with which to synchronize, based at least in part on context information (e.g., node signal strength, node location, whether a node is a stationary or mobile node, node velocity, node type, node fleet identification, etc.)); and
access the map information to select the at least one synchronization signal from among the synchronization signals based on the current location of the electronic device (par. 77, 85, 89, a node may select a manner of synchronization and/or another one or more nodes with which to synchronize, based at least in part on context information (e.g., node signal strength, node location, whether a node is a stationary or mobile node, node velocity, node type, node fleet identification, etc.)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by AMEIXIERA in the system of KHORYAEV and RAITH to select synchronize source based on location.
The motivation would have been to select best synchronization source as the node moving (AMEIXIERA par. 85, 89).
Regarding claim 5, KHORYAEV teaches the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the interface is configured to: receive a synchronization signal from the communication control device or a roadside unit (RSU) (fig. 2, 3, page 8, 10, synchronization from eNB, GNSS, and UEs); and
receive a synchronization signal from a mobile communication device (fig. 2, 3, page 8, 10, synchronization from eNB, GNSS, and UEs).
Regarding claim 6, KHORYAEV teaches the electronic device of claim 5, wherein the circuitry is configured to: determine that the electronic device is in a shielded area (page 8, this UE may propagate timing information towards V2X users with not available GNSS sync (e.g. due to damage of GNSS module, blocked GNSS signals (e.g. in tunnel)); and
select the synchronization signal received from the mobile communication device as the at least one synchronization signal upon determining that the vehicle mounted electronic device is in the shielded area, in particular a tunnel, underground passage, underpass or garage (page 7, 8 9, 11, this UE may propagate timing information towards V2X users with not available GNSS sync (e.g. due to damage of GNSS module, blocked GNSS signals (e.g. in tunnel)… selection of synchronization reference…not available GNSS sync…Priority of synchronization reference for out of coverage vehicles).
However, KHORYAEV does not teach determine, based on the map information and the current location of the electronic device, that the electronic device is approaching a shielded area; select the synchronization signal upon determining that the electronic device is approaching the shielded area.
But, AMEIXIERA (US 20170086159) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches determine, based on the map information and the current location of the electronic device, that the electronic device is approaching a shielded area (par. 77, 83, 85, 89, Therefore, each node is able to quickly change among synchronization source, based on the environmental context and on the cooperation with their neighbors (e.g., nodes can be placed in a region without GPS coverage due to high buildings or other obstructions, an indoor environment, etc.)…The CSME may additionally, for example, select a node based at least in part on trajectory information of a node (e.g., selecting a node that is moving toward the CSME's node over a node that is moving away from the CSME's node));
select the synchronization signal received from the mobile communication device as the at least one synchronization signal upon determining that the vehicle mounted electronic device is approaching the shielded area, in particular a tunnel, underground passage, underpass or garage (par. 77, 83, 85, 89, Therefore, each node is able to quickly change among synchronization source, based on the environmental context and on the cooperation with their neighbors (e.g., nodes can be placed in a region without GPS coverage due to high buildings or other obstructions, an indoor environment, etc.)…The CSME may additionally, for example, select a node based at least in part on trajectory information of a node (e.g., selecting a node that is moving toward the CSME's node over a node that is moving away from the CSME's node)…a node may select a manner of synchronization and/or another one or more nodes with which to synchronize, based at least in part on context information (e.g., node signal strength, node location, whether a node is a stationary or mobile node, node velocity, node type, node fleet identification, etc.)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by AMEIXIERA in the system of KHORYAEV and RAITH to select synchronize source based on location.
The motivation would have been to select best synchronization source as the node moving (AMEIXIERA par. 85, 89).
Regarding claim 7, KHORYAEV teaches the electronic device of claim 5, wherein the circuitry is configured to: determine that the electronic device is at a shielded area or unshielded area (page 4, availability of global and stable timing reference (at least in free space environments when there is no blockage of signal from satellites; page 8, this UE may propagate timing information towards V2X users with not available GNSS sync (e.g. due to damage of GNSS module, blocked GNSS signals (e.g. in tunnel)); and select one of the GNSS signal or the synchronization signal received from the communication control device or the RSU as the at least one synchronization signal upon determining that the vehicle mounted electronic device is at the shielded area or unshielded area (page 4, availability of global and stable timing reference (at least in free space environments when there is no blockage of signal from satellites; page 7, 8 9, 11, this UE may propagate timing information towards V2X users with not available GNSS sync (e.g. due to damage of GNSS module, blocked GNSS signals (e.g. in tunnel)… selection of synchronization reference…not available GNSS sync…Priority of synchronization reference for out of coverage vehicles).
However, KHORYAEV does not explicitly teach determine, based on the map information and the current location of the electronic device, that the electronic device is exiting an area; and select one of the GNSS signal or the synchronization signal received from the communication control device or the RSU as the at least one synchronization signal upon determining that the vehicle mounted electronic device is exiting the area.
But, AMEIXIERA (US 20170086159) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches determine, based on the map information and the current location of the electronic device, that the electronic device is exiting a area (par. 77, 83, 85, 89, select a closest node based on location (e.g., GPS, etc.) information for the node…selecting a node that is moving toward the CSME's node over a node that is moving away from the CSME's node…select a node based upon a cost function that considers any or all of the example factors discussed herein…a node may select a manner of synchronization and/or another one or more nodes with which to synchronize, based at least in part on context information (e.g., node signal strength, node location, whether a node is a stationary or mobile node, node velocity, node type, node fleet identification, etc.)); and select one of the GNSS signal or the synchronization signal received from the communication control device or the RSU as the at least one synchronization signal upon determining that the vehicle mounted electronic device is exiting the area (par. 77, 83, 85, 89, select a closest node based on location (e.g., GPS, etc.) information for the node…selecting a node that is moving toward the CSME's node over a node that is moving away from the CSME's node…select a node based upon a cost function that considers any or all of the example factors discussed herein…a node may select a manner of synchronization and/or another one or more nodes with which to synchronize, based at least in part on context information (e.g., node signal strength, node location, whether a node is a stationary or mobile node, node velocity, node type, node fleet identification, etc.)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by AMEIXIERA in the system of KHORYAEV and RAITH to select synchronize source based on location.
The motivation would have been to select best synchronization source as the node moving (AMEIXIERA par. 85, 89).
Regarding claim 8, KHORYAEV teaches the electronic device of claim 5, wherein the circuitry is configured to: determine that the electronic device is in an unshielded area (page 4, availability of global and stable timing reference (at least in free space environments when there is no blockage of signal from satellites); page 7, 8 9, 11); and select one of the GNSS signal or the synchronization signal received from the communication control device or RSU as the at least one synchronization signal upon determining that the vehicle mounted electronic device is in the unshielded area (page 4, availability of global and stable timing reference (at least in free space environments when there is no blockage of signal from satellites); page 7, 8 9, 11, node may select a manner of synchronization and/or another one or more nodes with which to synchronize, based at least in part on context information (e.g., node signal strength, node location, whether a node is a stationary or mobile node, node velocity, node type, node fleet identification, etc.)).
However, KHORYAEV does not explicitly teach determine, based on the map information and the current location of the electronic device, that the electronic device is in an area.
But, AMEIXIERA (US 20170086159) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches determine, based on the map information and the current location of the electronic device, that the electronic device is in an unshielded area (par. 77, 79, 83, 85, 89, with GPS information available)…Therefore, each node is able to quickly change among synchronization source, based on the environmental context and on the cooperation with their neighbors (e.g., nodes can be placed in a region without GPS coverage due to high buildings or other obstructions, an indoor environment, etc.)…The CSME may additionally, for example, select a node based at least in part on trajectory information of a node (e.g., selecting a node that is moving toward the CSME's node over a node that is moving away from the CSME's node)); and select one of the GNSS signal or the synchronization signal received from the communication control device or RSU as the at least one synchronization signal upon determining that the vehicle mounted electronic device is in the unshielded area (par. 77, 83, 85, 89, Therefore, each node is able to quickly change among synchronization source, based on the environmental context and on the cooperation with their neighbors (e.g., nodes can be placed in a region without GPS coverage due to high buildings or other obstructions, an indoor environment, etc.)…The CSME may additionally, for example, select a node based at least in part on trajectory information of a node (e.g., selecting a node that is moving toward the CSME's node over a node that is moving away from the CSME's node)…a node may select a manner of synchronization and/or another one or more nodes with which to synchronize, based at least in part on context information (e.g., node signal strength, node location, whether a node is a stationary or mobile node, node velocity, node type, node fleet identification, etc.)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by AMEIXIERA in the system of KHORYAEV and RAITH to select synchronize source based on location.
The motivation would have been to select best synchronization source as the node moving (AMEIXIERA par. 85, 89).
Conclusion
/THINH D TRAN/for /Thinh Tran/, Patent Examiner of Art Unit 2466 12/27/2025