DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, the Examiner suggests adding “electrical” in “one additional electrical contact” for consistency and clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2, “the additional electrical contact” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Claim 1 recites “at least one additional electrical contact.” The Examiner suggests amending to “the at least one additional electrical contact” for consistency and clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Koenekamp (US 7,549,438 B2).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Koenekamp relates generally to a heated valve that employs a divided solenoid where only one of the coils in the solenoid is energized to provided valve heating during freeze conditions, where the valve has particular application for a valve in an anode outlet unit (i.e. drain or purge valve) of a fuel cell system (1:5-11). Koenekamp teaches the valve 40 includes a divided electromagnetic solenoid 70 (i.e. magnet coil), that is activated to lift the valve tappet 60 (i.e. actuates the electromagnetic valve) (4:4-7). Koenekamp teaches the coils may be energized to provide heat (4:26-36) and that there are multiple terminals (Fig. 3: terminals 84,86,88) (i.e. electrical contacts).
Koenekamp teaches a typical fuel cell stack may have two hundred or more stacked fuel cells, receive a cathode input gas, and receive an anode input gas (1:37-46).
Regarding claim 2, Koenekamp teaches terminal 88 is shown mid-way between the terminals 84 and 86, which reads on “centrally provided.”
Regarding claim 3, Koenekamp teaches more than two coils can be provided in the solenoid (4:43-47).
Regarding claim 5, Koenekamp teaches the valve 40 includes a cylindrical valve body 42, typically made of a metal, such as stainless steel, and a cylindrical valve housing 44, typically made of a suitable plastic (3:55-65). The valve housing of Koenekamp reads on the claimed valve body, and the valve body of Koenekamp reads on the metal insert parts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koenekamp as applied to claims 1-3, and 5-6 above, and further in view of Siepierski et al. (“Siepierski, US 2003/0077499 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Koenekamp teaches the valve 40 needs to be designed so that heat generated by the solenoid 70 (i.e. magnet coil) is able to reach the valve seat 58 (4:62-63); the valve tappet 60 can be made of a thermally conductive material (4:64-65). Koenekamp depicts in Fig. 2 the solenoid 70 in direct contact with valve tappet 60 and in direct contact with valve body 42 when activated.
As discussed, Koenekamp teaches the solenoid (i.e. magnet coil) but does not teach the iron components of the magnet coil. However, it is well known in the art that iron is a common magnetic material (ferromagnetic).
For example, Siepierski teaches permanent magnets can be made of neodymium-boron-iron, inter alia ([0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use a magnet coil with the aforementioned iron components in order to predictably produce a coil with magnetism since such iron was a commonly known/suitable magnetic material, as evidenced by Siepierski ([0025]). The examiner notes that the MPEP establishes that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is generally not a matter of patentable distinction (MPEP 2143).
Conclusion
/DANIEL H LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746