Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-8 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sonoda et al (US 2016/0134015)(hereinafter Sonoda).
Regarding claim 1, Sonoda discloses an information transmission method, performed by a communications device (see Sonoda, Fig. 1), comprising:
obtaining channel quality of a plurality of antenna channels (see Sonoda, Fig. 1, p. [0036], e.g., the signal processing circuit 30 includes a measurement unit for measuring channel quality of a received signal of the antennas 11 and 12);
determining an antenna operation mode based on the channel quality (see Sonoda, Fig. 1, p. [0039-0040], e.g., The controller 31 selects a directivity pattern to be set for the antennas 11 and 12, and p. [0067-0077], e.g., relationship between a directivity pattern and a transmission mode, and analyzed data of the channel capacity with respect to the SINR for each of MIMO mode and BF mode); and
transmitting information in the antenna operation mode, wherein the antenna operation mode comprises: a multiple-input multiple-output MIMO mode in which all the plurality of antenna channels operate in a MIMO manner (see Sonoda, Fig. 1, p. [0042-0046], [0067-0077], e.g., relationship between a directivity pattern and a transmission mode, and analyzed data of the channel capacity with respect to the SINR for each of MIMO mode and BF mode), a Faster-than-Nyquist FTN mode in which all the plurality of antenna channels operate in an FTN manner, or a MIMO-FTN mode in which the same antenna port group in the plurality of antenna channels operates in a MIMO precoding manner and different antenna port groups operate in an FTN manner, wherein each antenna port group comprises at least one antenna channel. (Note: the alternate limitations are not considered).
Regarding claim 2, Sonoda discloses the information transmission method of claim 1, wherein the determining an antenna operation mode based on the channel quality comprises at least one of the following: in a case that the channel quality is less than or equal to a first threshold, determining that the antenna operation mode is the MIMO mode (see Sonoda, Fig. 1, p. [0042-0046], e.g., the measured value of the channel quality compared to a threshold value when selecting a directivity pattern suitable for transmission in the transmission mode, and p. [0067-0077], e.g., relationship between a directivity pattern and a transmission mode, and analyzed data of the channel capacity with respect to the SINR for each of MIMO mode and BF mode); in a case that the channel quality is greater than or equal to a second threshold, determining that the antenna operation mode is the FTN mode; or in a case that the channel quality is greater than the first threshold and less than the second threshold, determining that the antenna operation mode is the MIMO-FTN mode.
Regarding claim 3, Sonoda discloses the information transmission method of claim 1, wherein after the determining an antenna operation mode based on the channel quality, the method further comprises: switching the antenna operation mode based on updated channel quality; and performing transmission in a switched-to antenna operation mode (see Sonoda, Fig. 1, p. [0042-0046], e.g., the measured value of the channel quality compared to a threshold value when selecting a directivity pattern suitable for transmission in the transmission mode, and p. [0067-0077], e.g., relationship between a directivity pattern and a transmission mode, and analyzed data of the channel capacity with respect to the SINR for each of MIMO mode and BF mode).
Regarding claim 4, Sonoda discloses the information transmission method of claim 2, the channel quality is determined based on a first channel quality parameter, and the first channel quality parameter comprises at least one of a signal-to-noise ratio SNR, a signal to interference plus noise ratio SINR, a reference signal received power RSRP, or reference signal received quality RSRQ (see Sonoda, Figs. 2-3, p. [0037], e.g., SINR).
Regarding claim 5, Sonoda discloses the information transmission method of claim 1, wherein in a case that the communications device is a terminal (see Sonoda, Fig. 1, p. [0030], e.g., a communication device that is installed inside the mobile entity), the obtaining channel quality of a plurality of antenna channels comprises:
receiving a downlink reference signal through the plurality of antenna channels (see Sonoda, p. [0034-0037], e.g., The signal processing circuit 30 is a circuit for processing a received signal that is obtained by receiving an incoming wave by the antennas 11 and 12); and
measuring the downlink reference signal to obtain the channel quality (see Sonoda, p. [0034-0037], e.g., The signal processing circuit 30 includes a measurement unit for measuring received signal quality of a received signal of the antennas 11 and 12, and for measuring channel quality of a received signal of the antennas 11 and 12).
Regarding claim 7, Sonoda discloses the information transmission method of claim 1, wherein in a case that the communications device is a network side device, the obtaining channel quality of a plurality of antenna channels comprises:
transmitting a downlink reference signal through the plurality of antenna channels (see Sonoda, p. [0034-0037], e.g., ; and
receiving channel state information CSI fed back by a terminal to obtain the channel quality, wherein the CSI is obtained by the terminal through measurement based on the downlink reference signal (see Sonoda, p. [0034-0037], e.g. As examples of the channel quality of a received signal of the antennas 11 and 12, there are Channel State Information (CSI), a rank, and so forth.
Regarding claim 8, Sonoda discloses the information transmission method of claim 1, wherein in a case that the communications device is a network side device, the obtaining channel quality of a plurality of antenna channels comprises:
receiving an uplink reference signal through the plurality of antenna channels (see Sonoda, p. [0034-0037], e.g., The signal processing circuit 30 is a circuit for processing a received signal that is obtained by receiving an incoming wave by the antennas 11 and 12) and
measuring the uplink reference signal to obtain the channel quality (see Sonoda, p. [0034-0037], e.g., The signal processing circuit 30 includes a measurement unit for measuring received signal quality of a received signal of the antennas 11 and 12, and for measuring channel quality of a received signal of the antennas 11 and 12).
Regarding claim 19, Sonoda discloses a communications device, comprising: a processor; and a memory, storing a program or instruction that is capable of running on the processer , wherein the program or instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the communication device to:
obtaining channel quality of the plurality of antenna channels (see Sonoda, Fig. 1, p. [0036], e.g., the signal processing circuit 30 includes a measurement unit for measuring channel quality of a received signal of the antennas 11 and 12);
determining the antenna operation mode based on the channel quality (see Sonoda, Fig. 1, p. [0039-0040], e.g., The controller 31 selects a directivity pattern to be set for the antennas 11 and 12); and
transmitting information in the antenna operation mode (see Sonoda, Fig. 1, p. [0042-0046], [0067-0077], e.g., relationship between a directivity pattern and a transmission mode, and analyzed data of the channel capacity with respect to the SINR for each of MIMO mode and BF mode).
Regarding claim 20, Sonoda discloses a non-transitory readable storage medium, storing a program or instruction, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to:
obtaining channel quality of the plurality of antenna channels (see Sonoda, Fig. 1, p. [0036], e.g., the signal processing circuit 30 includes a measurement unit for measuring channel quality of a received signal of the antennas 11 and 12);
determining the antenna operation mode based on the channel quality (see Sonoda, Fig. 1, p. [0039-0040], e.g., The controller 31 selects a directivity pattern to be set for the antennas 11 and 12); and
transmitting information in the antenna operation mode (see Sonoda, Fig. 1, p. [0042-0046], [0067-0077], e.g., relationship between a directivity pattern and a transmission mode, and analyzed data of the channel capacity with respect to the SINR for each of MIMO mode and BF mode).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonoda in view of Manolakos et al (US 2021/0050888) (hereinafter Manolakos).
Regarding claim 6, Sonoda does not expressly disclose the information transmission method of claim 1, wherein in a case that the communications device is a terminal and a communications peer is a terminal, the obtaining channel quality of a plurality of antenna channels comprises: transmitting a sidelink reference signal through the plurality of antenna channels; and receiving channel quality fed back by the communications peer, wherein the channel quality is obtained by the communications peer through measurement based on the sidelink reference signal.
Manolakos discloses the above recited limitations. In particular, Manolakos discloses the information transmission method of claim 1, wherein in a case that the communications device is a terminal and a communications peer is a terminal (see Manolakos, Fig. 4, e.g., UE 120a and 120b), the obtaining channel quality of a plurality of antenna channels comprises:
transmitting a sidelink reference signal through the plurality of antenna channels (see Manolakos, Fig. 4, p. [0063-0064], e.g., At 408, the UE 120a may transmit, to the UE 120b, one or more sidelink RSs); and
receiving channel quality fed back by the communications peer, wherein the channel quality is obtained by the communications peer through measurement based on the sidelink reference signal (see Manolakos, Fig. 4, p. [0065], e.g., At 412, the UE 120b may transmit, to the UE 120a, the feedback report based at least in part on the CSI report configuration).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Manolakos’ teachings into Sonoda. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide channel state information associated with sidelink air interfaces as suggested by Manolakos.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 of this application is patentably indistinct from claims 1-7, 10-11 and 14-20 of Application No. 18/315,920. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claims 1-20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 10-11 and 14-20 of copending Application No. 18/315,920 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the application and copending application are direct to the subject matter of an information transmission method involving a plurality of antenna channels where claims are not patentably distinct from each other.
Present Application (18/197,200)
Copending application (18/315,920)
1. An information transmission method, performed by a communications device, comprising:
obtaining channel quality of a plurality of antenna channels;
determining an antenna operation mode based on the channel quality; and
transmitting information in the antenna operation mode, wherein the antenna operation mode comprises: a multiple-input multiple-output MIMO mode in which all the plurality of antenna channels operate in a MIMO manner, a Faster-than-Nyquist FTN mode in which all the plurality of antenna channels operate in an FTN manner, or a MIMO-FTN mode in which the same antenna port group in the plurality of antenna channels operates in a MIMO precoding manner and different antenna port groups operate in an FTN manner, wherein each antenna port group comprises at least one antenna channel.
2. The information transmission method of claim 1, wherein the determining an antenna operation mode based on the channel quality comprises at least one of the following:
in a case that the channel quality is less than or equal to a first threshold, determining that the antenna operation mode is the MIMO mode;
in a case that the channel quality is greater than or equal to a second threshold, determining that the antenna operation mode is the FTN mode; or in a case that the channel quality is greater than the first threshold and less than the second threshold, determining that the antenna operation mode is the MIMO-FTN mode.
3. The information transmission method of claim 1, wherein after the determining an antenna operation mode based on the channel quality, the method further comprises:
switching the antenna operation mode based on updated channel quality; and
performing transmission in a switched-to antenna operation mode.
4. The information transmission method of claim 2 , the channel quality is determined based on a first channel quality parameter, and the first channel quality parameter comprises at least one of a signal-to-noise ratio SNR, a signal to interference plus noise ratio SINR, a reference signal received power RSRP, or reference signal received quality RSRQ.
5. The information transmission method of claim 1, wherein in a case that the communications device is a terminal, the obtaining channel quality of a plurality of antenna channels comprises:
receiving a downlink reference signal through the plurality of antenna channels; and
measuring the downlink reference signal to obtain the channel quality.
6. The information transmission method of claim 1, wherein in a case that the communications device is a terminal and a communications peer is a terminal, the obtaining channel quality of a plurality of antenna channels comprises:
transmitting a sidelink reference signal through the plurality of antenna channels; and
receiving channel quality fed back by the communications peer, wherein the channel quality is obtained by the communications peer through measurement based on the sidelink reference signal.
7. The information transmission method of claim 1, wherein in a case that the communications device is a network side device, the obtaining channel quality of a plurality of antenna channels comprises:
transmitting a downlink reference signal through the plurality of antenna channels; and
receiving channel state information CSI fed back by a terminal to obtain the channel quality, wherein the CSI is obtained by the terminal through measurement based on the downlink reference signal.
8. The information transmission method of claim 1, wherein in a case that the communications device is a network side device, the obtaining channel quality of a plurality of antenna channels comprises:
receiving an uplink reference signal through the plurality of antenna channels; and
measuring the uplink reference signal to obtain the channel quality.
9. The information transmission method of claim 1, wherein in a case that the antenna operation mode is the MIMO-FTN mode, the method further comprises:
determining the number of overlapping layers in a case that the FTN mode is used for operation between antenna port groups; and
determining a precoding matrix indicator PMI in a case that the MIMO mode is used for operation within an antenna port group, wherein the transmitting information in the antenna operation mode comprises:
performing transmission based on the PMI and the number of overlapping layers.
10. The information transmission method of claim 9, wherein the determining the number of overlapping layers in a case that the FTN mode is used for operation between antenna port groups comprises:
determining the number of overlapping layers based on the channel quality; or wherein the determining a precoding matrix indicator PMI in a case that the MIMO mode is used for operation within an antenna port group comprises:
obtaining channel measurement information of the antenna port group; and
determining the precoding matrix indicator PMI of the antenna port group based on the channel measurement information of the antenna port group.
11. The information transmission method of claim 10, wherein the channel quality is determined based on a second channel quality parameter, and the second channel quality parameter comprises at least one of the following: an SINR, an RSRP, a multipath quantity, a relative speed, a Doppler frequency shift, a residual frequency offset after frequency offset correction, or a bit error rate.
12. The information transmission method of claim 9, wherein the performing transmission based on the PMI and the number of overlapping layers comprises:
for an antenna port group, performing digital beamforming on information of an antenna channel in the group based on a corresponding precoding matrix, to obtain MIMO information, wherein the corresponding precoding matrix is indicated based on the precoding matrix indicator PMI of the antenna port group;
for MIMO information of at least two antenna port groups, performing superposition based on the number of overlapping layers to obtain MIMO-FTN information; and transmitting the MIMO-FTN information.
13. The information transmission method of claim 1, wherein in a case that the antenna operation mode is the FTN mode, the method further comprises:
determining the number of overlapping layers based on the channel quality, wherein the transmitting information in the antenna operation mode comprises:
superposing antenna information based on the number of overlapping layers to obtain FTN information; and
transmitting the FTN information.
14. The information transmission method of claim 10, wherein the method further comprises:
re-determining the number of overlapping layers in a case that a transmission condition is not met, wherein the transmission condition comprises:
a bit error rate fed back by a communications peer is not less than a first preset threshold;
or the number of received NACK messages transmitted by a communications peer reaches a second preset threshold; or the number of continuously received NACK messages transmitted by a communications peer reaches a third preset threshold; or an SNR or an RSRP of a received signal is less than a fourth preset threshold.
15. The information transmission method of claim 14, wherein the method further comprises:
in a case that the antenna operation mode is the FTN mode, adjusting a transmission parameter of FTN information based on antenna measurement information, wherein the antenna measurement information is obtained by measuring an antenna port; or in a case that the antenna operation mode is the MIMO-FTN mode, adjusting a transmission parameter of MIMO-FTN information based on channel measurement information.
16. The information transmission method of claim 15, wherein the method further comprises:
after the number of overlapping layers is re-determined, indicating the re-determined number of overlapping layers to the communications peer by using first indication information;
or after the transmission parameter is adjusted, indicating an adjusted transmission parameter to the communications peer by using second indication information.
17. The information transmission method of claim 1, wherein the antenna port group is obtained by grouping antenna channels; and
the grouping antenna channels comprises:
determining the number of antenna port groups and a grouping rule based on the number of overlapping layers; and
grouping antenna channels based on the number of antenna port groups and the grouping rule.
18. The information transmission method of claim 2, wherein in a case that the communications device is a network side device, the method further comprises:
receiving terminal capability information transmitted by a terminal, wherein the terminal capability information comprises information indicating whether the terminal supports an FTN decoding algorithm, and the FTN decoding algorithm comprises an uplink FTN decoding algorithm and/or a downlink FTN decoding algorithm.
19. A communications device, comprising: a processor; and
a memory, storing a program or instruction that is capable of running on the processer , wherein the program or instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the communication
obtaining channel quality of the plurality of antenna channels;
determining the antenna operation mode based on the channel quality; and
transmitting information in the antenna operation mode.
20. A non-transitory readable storage medium, storing a program or instruction, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to:
obtaining channel quality of the plurality of antenna channels;
determining the antenna operation mode based on the channel quality; and
transmitting information in the antenna operation mode.
1. An information transmission method, comprising:
obtaining, by a communications device, channel quality of a plurality of antennas;
determining, by the communications device, an antenna working mode according to the channel quality; and
performing, by the communications device, information transmission by using the antenna working mode, wherein
the antenna working mode comprises a MIMO mode in which the plurality of antennas all work in a multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) manner, a faster-than-Nyquist (FTN) mode in which the plurality of antennas all work in a faster-than-Nyquist (FTN) manner, or a MIMO-FTN mode in which an FTN manner is used for a same intra-antenna port group in the plurality of antennas and a MIMO manner is used for different inter-antenna port groups, wherein each antenna port group comprises at least one antenna.
2. The information transmission method of claim 1, wherein the determining, by the communications device, the antenna working mode according to the channel quality comprises at least one of the following:
in a case that the channel quality is less than or equal to a first threshold, determining, by the communications device, that the antenna working mode is the MIMO mode;
in a case that the channel quality is greater than or equal to a second threshold, determining, by the communications device, that the antenna working mode is the FTN mode; or in a case that the channel quality is greater than the first threshold and less than the second threshold, determining, by the communications device, that the antenna working mode is the MIMO-FTN mode.
3. The information transmission method of claim 1, wherein after the determining, by the communications device, the antenna working mode according to the channel quality, the method further comprises:
switching, by the communications device, the antenna working mode according to updated channel quality; and
performing, by the communications device, information transmission by using a switched antenna working mode.
4. The information transmission method of claim 2, wherein the channel quality is determined according to the first channel quality parameter, and the first channel quality parameter comprises at least one of a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR), reference signal received power (RSRP), or reference signal received quality (RSRQ).
5. The information transmission method of claim 1, wherein when the communications device is a terminal, the obtaining, by a communications device, channel quality of a plurality of antennas comprises:
receiving, by the communications device, a downlink reference signal by using the plurality of antennas; and
measuring, by the communications device, the downlink reference signal to obtain the channel quality; or wherein when the communications device is a terminal and a communications peer end is a terminal, the obtaining, by a communications device, channel quality of a plurality of antennas comprises:
sending, by the communications device, a sidelink reference signal by using the plurality of antennas; and
receiving, by the communications device, channel quality fed back by the communications peer end, wherein the channel quality is obtained by the communications peer end by means of measurement according to the sidelink reference signal; or,
wherein when the communications device is a network side device, the obtaining, by a communications device, channel quality of a plurality of antennas comprises:
sending, by the communications device, a downlink reference signal by using the plurality of antennas; and
receiving, by the communications device, channel state information (CSI) fed back by a terminal, to obtain the channel quality, wherein the CSI is obtained by the terminal by means of measurement according to the downlink reference signal; or,
wherein when the communications device is a network side device, the obtaining, by a communications device, channel quality of a plurality of antennas comprises:
receiving, by the communications device, an uplink reference signal by using the plurality of antennas; and
measuring, by the communications device, the uplink reference signal to obtain the channel quality.
Claim 5.
Claim 5.
Claim 5.
6. The information transmission method of claim 1, wherein when the antenna working mode is the MIMO-FTN mode, the method further comprises:
determining, by the communications device, the number of overlapping layers when an FTN manner is used for an intra-antenna port group; and
determining, by the communications device, a MIMO target working mode when a MIMO manner is used for inter-antenna port groups; wherein
the performing, by the communications device, information transmission by using the antenna working mode comprises:
performing, by the communications device, information transmission according to the MIMO target working mode and the number of overlapping layers.
7. The information transmission method of claim 6, wherein the determining, by the communications device, the number of overlapping layers when an FTN manner is used for an intra-antenna port group comprises: determining, by the communications device, the number of overlapping layers based on the channel quality;
wherein the channel quality is determined according to a second channel quality parameter, and the second channel quality parameter comprises at least one of the following: an SINR, RSRP, the multipath number, a relative speed, a Doppler frequency shift, a residual frequency offset after frequency offset correction, or a bit error rate.
Claim 7
10. The information transmission method of claim 8, wherein the performing, by the communications device, information transmission according to the PMI used in the beamforming MIMO mode and the number of overlapping layers comprises:
for one antenna port group, obtaining, by the communications device, FTN information based on the number of overlapping layers;
for FTN information of at least two antenna port groups, performing, by the communications device, digital beamforming on information of inter-antenna port groups based on a target precoding matrix, to obtain MIMO-FTN information, wherein
the target precoding matrix is determined based on a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) of the antenna port group; and
transmitting, by the communications device, the MIMO-FTN information.
14. The information transmission method of claim 1, wherein when the antenna working mode is the FTN mode, the method further comprises:
determining, by the communications device, the number of overlapping layers based on the channel quality; wherein
the performing, by the communications device, information transmission by using the antenna working mode comprises:
superposing, by the communications device, antenna information based on the number of overlapping layers to obtain FTN information; and
transmitting, by the communications device, the FTN information.
15. The information transmission method of claim 14, wherein the method further comprises:
re-determining, by the communications device, the number of overlapping layers in a case that it is determined that a transmission condition is not met, wherein
the transmission condition comprises:
a bit error rate fed back by a communications peer end of the communications device is not less than a first preset threshold; or
the number of packet loss retransmission NACK messages that are sent by a communications peer end and that are received by the communications device reaches a second preset threshold; or
the number of NACK messages that are sent by a communications peer end and that are continuously received by the communications device reaches a third preset threshold; or
an SNR or RSRP of a signal received by the communications device is less than a fourth preset threshold.
16. The information transmission method of claim 15, wherein the method further comprises:
when the antenna working mode is the FTN mode, adjusting, by the communications device, a sending parameter of the FTN information based on antenna measurement information, wherein the antenna measurement information is obtained by measuring an antenna port; and
when the antenna working mode is the MIMO-FTN mode, adjusting, by the communications device, a sending parameter of MIMO-FTN information based on channel measurement information.
17. The information transmission method of claim 16, wherein the method further comprises:
after re-determining the number of overlapping layers, indicating, by the communications device, the re-determined number of overlapping layers to the communications peer end by using fourth indication information; or
after adjusting the sending parameter, indicating, by the communications device, an adjusted sending parameter to the communications peer end by using fifth indication information.
11. The information transmission method of claim 1, wherein the antenna port group is obtained by grouping, by the communications device, antennas; and
the grouping, by the communications device, antennas comprises: determining, by the communications device, the number of groups based on the number of overlapping layers; and
grouping, by the communications device, the antennas based on a grouping rule and the number of groups.
18. The information transmission method of claim 2, wherein when the communications device is a network side device, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the communications device, terminal capability information sent by a terminal, wherein the terminal capability information comprises information indicating whether the terminal supports an FTN decoding algorithm, and the FTN decoding algorithm comprises an uplink FTN decoding algorithm and/or a downlink FTN decoding algorithm.
19. A communications device, comprising:
a processor; and
a memory, storing a program or an instruction that is capable of running on the processor , wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the communications device to :
obtain channel quality of a plurality of antennas;
determine an antenna working mode according to the channel quality; and
perform information transmission by using the antenna working mode.
20. A non-transitory readable storage medium storing a program or instruction, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to :
obtain channel quality of a plurality of antennas;
determine an antenna working mode according to the channel quality; and
perform information transmission by using the antenna working mode.
Conclusion
/MINH TRANG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477