DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-7 in the reply filed on November 11, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (CN-114870588A) in view of Zhang et al. (CN-114870600 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Luo et al. reference discloses an apparatus for producing ammonium bicarbonate in an ammonia-based decarbonization system, the apparatus comprising:
a cooling function zone operable to cool process gas (Figures 1 and 2, numerals 1 – process gas, 2 – decarburization cooling tower);
a decarbonization absorption tower (Figures 1 and 2, numeral 7), and
an ammonia removal function zone operable to remove ammonia from decarbonized process gas (Figures 1 and 2, numeral 12 – ammonia escape control system);
However, Luo et al. does not disclose that the decarbonization absorption tower having an ammonium bicarbonate generation zone operable to generate ammonium bicarbonate and a carbon dioxide absorption zone operable to absorb, via multi-stage absorption, carbon dioxide from process gas, wherein the carbon dioxide absorption zone applies absorbent ammonia to process gas for carbon dioxide removal. Zhang et al. reference discloses a device for high-efficient ammonia decarburization, wherein the device comprises a pressurizing device, a decarburization device and an ammonia removing device, wherein the decarburization device is provided with a bubbling unit and a solution circulation spraying unit wherein the process gas containing carbon dioxide enters the decarburization device through the pressurizing device, the ammonia is used as the absorbent to remove CO2 from the gas to produce ammonium hydrogen carbonate (Abstract and Figure 1, numerals 1 – process gas, 17 – ammonia, 5 – carbon ammonium generating area, 7 – first-stage decarburization absorption area, 9 – second-stage decarburization area, 12 – carbon ammonium discharging pump, and 4-ammonium bicarbonate processing device). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the decarbonization absorption tower as taught by Zhang et al., since Zhang et al. states at Abstract that such a modification would increase the ammonium salt solution and the flue gas contact strengthening conversion reaction, improve the decarburization efficiency.
Regarding Claim 2, Luo et al. and Zhang et al. reference discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the ammonium bicarbonate generation zone applies less ammonia to process gas than one or more stages with the multi- stage absorption zone (Zhang et al. – Figure 1, numerals 17 – ammonia applied to 7, 9 - first-stage and second-stage decarburization absorption areas).
Regarding Claim 3, Luo et al. and Zhang et al. reference discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein a first-stage within the carbon dioxide absorption zone, said first-stage being subsequent to the ammonium bicarbonate generation zone, applies less ammonia than an immediate next stage to process gas (Zhang et al. – Figure 1, numerals 5, 7, and 9 and also, these are process limitation and does not add additional structure to the decarburization absorption tower of Zhang et al.).
Regarding Claim 4, Luo et al. and Zhang et al. reference discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a last-stage decarbonization absorption circulating liquid applies less ammonia to process gas than a previous stage within the carbon dioxide absorption zone (process limitation and does not add additional structure to the decarburization absorption tower of Zhang et al.).
Regarding Claim 5, Luo et al. and Zhang et al. reference discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein a first-stage within the carbon dioxide absorption zone, said first-stage being subsequent to the ammonium bicarbonate generation zone, applies less than 20% of the total ammonia applied to process gas (process limitation and does not add additional structure to the decarburization absorption tower of Zhang et al.)..
Regarding Claim 6, Luo et al. and Zhang et al. reference discloses the apparatus of claim 1wherein: solid ammonium bicarbonate is produced from the ammonium bicarbonate generated in the ammonium bicarbonate generation zone by a post-treatment system (Zhang et al. – Figure 1, numerals 12 and 4); and
ammonium bicarbonate mother liquid is returned to a first-stage within the carbon dioxide absorption zone, said first-stage being subsequent to the ammonium bicarbonate generation zone (Zhang et al. – Figure 1, numerals 6 - carbon ammonium generating area circulating pump and 14 - circulating spraying unit).
Regarding Claim 7, Luo et al. and Zhang et al. reference discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the cooling function zone, the ammonium bicarbonate generation zone, the carbon dioxide absorption zone, and the ammonia removal function zone are combined in one or more towers, equipment/components being disposed between the function zones to allow the passage of gas (Luo et al – Figures 1 and 2, numerals 2, 7, and 12).
Conclusion
/HUY TRAM NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1774