DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The use of the term Gor-Tex (pg. 1, line 21), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM, or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
1. "Figs" should be Fig, as the line is drawing attention to one figure (pg. 5, line 16).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Examiner notes the applicant’s specification: “it is expressly intended that the provisions of 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) are not to be invoked unless the specific terms "means for" or "step for"15 are recited in a aim”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bishop et al. US 20180185153 A1, herein referred to as Bishop, in view of Spence et al. US 7166127 B2, herein referred to as Spence.
Regarding Claim 1, Bishop discloses: An anchor assembly (Fig. 39C, 302/308) configured to be implanted into a heart wall of a heart of a patient (abstract) to anchor a suture (Fig 38G, suture 344 [0304]) that is configured to extend from a valve leaflet of the heart as an artificial chorda ([0320], Fig 38H), the anchor assembly (Fig 39C 302/308) comprising: an anchor hub (Fig 39C, anchor hub 308) having a proximal drive socket (Fig 39C and [0304], recess that engages 306’ of driver 309) configured to interface with a delivery tool (Fig 39C, driver 309) and defining an outer clamp surface (outer surface of 308); a helical coil (Fig 39C, helical anchor 302) extending distally from the anchor hub and having a sharpened tip (Annotated Fig 38G below) configured to embed the helical coil into the heart wall upon rotation of the helical coil caused by the delivery tool interfacing with the drive socket ([0307]).
Annotated Figure 39C, Bishop et al.
Annotated Figure 38G, Bishop et al.
Bishop fails to disclose: a spring crimp having an open position and a closed position, the spring crimp being biased towards the closed position; and a locking element configured to interface with the spring crimp to selectively hold the spring crimp in the open position, wherein removal of the locking element from the spring crimp with the spring crimp positioned over the anchor hub causes the spring crimp to clamp onto the outer clamp surface of the anchor hub with sufficient force to hold a suture between the spring crimp and the outer clamp surface under tension as an artificial chordae extending from the valve leaflet to the anchor.
However, Spence also discloses a similar anchor assembly system comprising an anchor (Fig 15D. fastener/anchor 140) having an anchor hub (Fig 15C, fastener3 delivery system). Spence teaches: a spring crimp (Fig 15D, crimp 150) having an open position and a closed position (Col. 17, lines 21-13), the spring crimp being biased towards the closed position (Col 9, lines 10-19); and a locking element (Col. 17, 42-43, magnets 142, 144 and fasteners 140) configured to interface with the spring crimp to selectively hold the spring crimp in the open position (Col. 9, lines 7-36), wherein removal of the locking element (Col. 9, lines 7-36) from the spring crimp with the spring crimp positioned over the anchor hub causes the spring crimp to clamp onto the outer clamp surface of the anchor hub with sufficient force to hold a suture between the spring crimp and the outer clamp surface under tension as an artificial chordae extending from the valve leaflet to the anchor (Col 7, lines 5-21; Col 9, lines 1-36; Col 17, lines 48-63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Bishop’s anchor assembly for implant implanting artificial chorda with Spence to include a spring crimp having an open position and a closed position, the spring crimp being biased towards the closed position; and a locking element configured to interface with the spring crimp to selectively hold the spring crimp in the open position, wherein removal of the locking element from the spring crimp with the spring crimp positioned over the anchor hub causes the spring crimp to clamp onto the outer clamp surface of the anchor hub with sufficient force to hold a suture between the spring crimp and the outer clamp surface under tension as an artificial chordae extending from the valve leaflet to the anchor, as taught and suggested by Bishop to reduce mitral regurgitation while implanting an artificial chorda tendinea (¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 8, Bishop discloses an anchor assembly (Fig. 39C, 302/308) configured to be implanted into a heart wall of a heart of a patient (abstract) to anchor a suture (Fig 38G, suture 344 [0304]) that is configured to extend from a valve leaflet of the heart as an artificial chorda (abstract, Fig 38H), the anchor assembly comprising: an anchor (Fig 39C, tissue anchor 302) configured to be inserted into a heart wall of a patient (Fig 38H, tissue anchor 302);
But Bishop fails to disclose a spring crimp having an open position and a closed position, the spring crimp being biased towards the closed position; and a locking element configured to selectively hold the spring crimp in the open position, wherein removal of the locking element from the spring crimp with the spring crimp positioned over the anchor causes the spring crimp to clamp onto the anchor with sufficient 18force to hold a suture between the spring crimp and the anchor under tension as an artificial chordae extending from the valve leaflet to the anchor.
But Spence also discloses a similar anchor assembly system comprising an anchor (Fig 15D. fastener or anchor 140) having an anchor hub (Fig 15C, fastener delivery system). Spence teaches: a spring crimp (Fig 15D, crimp 150) having an open position and a closed position (Col. 17, lines 21-13), the spring crimp being biased towards the closed position (Col 9, lines 10-19); and a locking element (Col. 17, 42-43, magnets 142, 144 and fasteners 140) configured to selectively hold the spring crimp in the open position (Col 9, lines 10-19, prior demonstrates locking and unlocking as needed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Bishop’s anchor assembly for implant implanting artificial chorda with Spence to include a spring crimp having an open position and a closed position, the spring crimp being biased towards the closed position; and a locking element configured to selectively hold the spring crimp in the open position, wherein removal of the locking element from the spring crimp with the spring crimp positioned over the anchor causes the spring crimp to clamp onto the anchor with sufficient 18force to hold a suture between the spring crimp and the anchor under tension as an artificial chordae extending from the valve leaflet to the anchor, as taught and suggested by Bishop to reduce mitral regurgitation (¶ 0006).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bishop and in view of Spence as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Wilson et al. US 20190000624 A1, herein referred to as Wilson.
Regarding claim 2, Bishop in view of Spence discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, but does not disclose
wherein the spring crimp comprises one or more locking rings, and wherein the locking element interfaces with the one or more locking rings to hold the spring crimp in the open position.
But Wilson discloses a similar anchor assembly (Fig 4, delivery device 130). Wilson teaches a similar anchor assembly: wherein the spring crimp (Spence Fig 15D, tensile member 148 and crimp 150) comprises one or more locking rings (Wilson Fig 11A, knot rings 280), and wherein the locking element (Wilson Fig 11A, slot SL) interfaces with the one or more locking rings to hold the spring crimp in the open position (Fig. 11A, [0094], prior art recites multiple “rings” by using the plural “rings”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bishop and Spence to incorporate wherein the spring crimp comprises one or more locking rings, and wherein the locking element interfaces with the one or more locking rings to hold the spring crimp in the open position, as taught and suggested by Wilson, in order to improve stabilization of anchoring (Wilson [0094]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Bishop, Spence, and Wilson as discussed above in claim 2 teaches Wherein the spring crimp (Spence Fig 15D, tensile member 148 and crimp 150) comprises a pair of locking 17rings (Wilson Fig 11A, knot rings 280) that are axially aligned in the open position (¶ 0143, line 13) (Fig. 11A, [0094] Figure recites use of plural rings and depicts at least two rings axially aligned in open and closed position).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Bishop, Spence, and Wilson as discussed above in claim 2 teaches: wherein the spring crimp comprises one or more locking rings (Wilson Fig 11A, knot rings 280), and wherein the locking element interfaces with the one or more locking rings to hold the spring crimp in the open position wherein the spring crimp comprises one or more locking rings (Lock is secured with the alignment of rings, Fig 15D knot rings 280), and wherein the locking element interfaces with the one or more locking rings to hold the spring crimp in the open position (Fig. 11A, [0094] Figure recites use of plural rings and depicts at least two axial aligned in open and closed position).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Bishop, Spence, and Wilson as discussed above in claim 9 teaches wherein the spring crimp comprises a pair of locking rings that are axially aligned in the open position. (Fig. 1B).
Claim(s) 4-7, 11, 12, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bishop in view of Spence in claims 1 above, and further in view of Huddleston US 20220296365 A1, herein referred to as Huddleston.
Regarding claim 4, Bishop in view of Spence discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the locking element is configured as an elongate rod.
However, Huddleston discloses a similar anchoring system (Fig 6A, epicardial anchoring device). Huddleston teaches a similar anchoring system: wherein the locking element (Annotated Fig 6A below) is configured as an elongate rod (Fig 6A, rod 481).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify combination of Bishop and Spence to include wherein the locking element is configured as an elongate rod, as taught and suggested by Huddleston, in order improve surgical transition (¶0007 lines 5-6).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Bishop, Spence, and Huddleston as discussed above in claim 4 teaches wherein the elongate rod (Fig 6A, rod 481) is inserted through one or more openings in the suture crimp to hold the suture crimp in the open position (¶ 0085, line 8-9) (Fig. 7C).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Bishop, Spence, and Huddleston as discussed above in claim 4 teaches wherein the elongate rod is configured to be moved proximally relative to the anchor to be removed from the spring crimp (Figure 6C).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Bishop, Spence, and Huddleston as discussed above in claim 4 teaches wherein the elongate rod is configured to extend from the anchor inserted into the heart wall thorough the patient's vasculature and outside of the body (Figure 3E).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Bishop, Spence, and Huddleston as discussed above in claim 4 teaches: wherein the locking element is configured as an elongate rod (584) (¶ 0085, line 8-9) (Fig. 7C).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Bishop, Spence, and Huddleston as discussed above in claim 11 teaches wherein the elongate rod is inserted through one or more openings in the suture crimp to hold the suture crimp in the open position. (¶ 0085, line 8-9) (Fig. 7C).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Bishop, Spence, and Huddleston as discussed above in claim 11 teaches wherein the elongate rod is configured to be moved [0078] proximally relative to the anchor to be removed from the spring crimp ([0078], locking rod capable of changing locking orientation, alternative rod configurations are anticipated in the prior art).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Bishop, Spence, and Huddleston as discussed above in claim 13 teaches wherein the elongate rod is configured to extend from the anchor (tether T) inserted into the heart wall thorough the patient's vasculature and outside of the body ([1580], [0103] and [0098], prior art is silent regarding remote use, therefore the device must be operate by surgeon in some manner outside the body through the vasculature as describe as it is with the vasculature to secure an implant in the heart.).
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bishop in view of Spence and Wilson, and further in view of Huddleston US 20220054258 A1.
Regarding claim 15, Bishop discloses an anchor assembly (Fig. 39C, 302/308) configured to be implanted into a heart wall of a heart of a patient (Fig 38G, suture 344 [0304]) to anchor a suture that is configured to extend from a valve leaflet of the heart as an artificial chorda (abstract, [0302], Fig 7).
But fails to disclose the anchor assembly comprising: a spring crimp having an open position and a closed position, the spring crimp being biased towards the closed position and including one or more locking rings; and a locking element configured to be inserted through the one or more locking rings of the spring crimp to selectively hold the spring crimp in the open position, wherein removal of the locking rod from the one or more locking rings of the spring crimp with the spring crimp positioned over a suture anchor causes the spring crimp to clamp onto the outer clamp surface of the suture anchor with sufficient force to hold a suture between the spring crimp and the suture anchor under tension as an artificial chordae extending from the valve leaflet to the suture anchor.
But Spence discloses a similar anchor assembly system comprising an anchor (Fig 15D. fastener or anchor 140) having an anchor hub (Fig 15C, fastening system).
Spence teaches: a spring crimp (Fig 15D, crimp 150) having an open position and a closed position (Col. 17, lines 21-13), the spring crimp being biased towards the closed position (Col 9, lines 10-19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Bishop’s anchor assembly for implant implanting artificial chorda with Spence to include a spring crimp having an open position and a closed position, the spring crimp being biased towards the closed position, as taught and suggested by Bishop to reduce mitral regurgitation (¶ 0006).
But the combination of Bishop and Spence fails to disclose including one or more locking rings; and a locking element configured to be inserted through the one or more locking rings of the spring crimp to selectively hold the spring crimp in the open position, wherein removal of the locking rod from the one or more locking rings of the spring crimp with the spring crimp positioned over a suture anchor causes the spring crimp to clamp onto the outer clamp surface of the suture anchor with sufficient force to hold a suture between the spring crimp and the suture anchor under tension as an artificial chordae extending from the valve leaflet to the suture anchor.
However, Wilson discloses a similar anchor assembly (Fig 4, delivery device 130). Wilson teaches a similar anchor assembly: comprising a locking element (Wilson Fig 11A, slot SL), including one or more locking rings (Wilson Fig 11A, knot rings 280, also discloses the plural of rings).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bishop and Spence to incorporate wherein the spring crimp comprises one or more locking rings, as taught and suggested by Wilson, in order to improve stabilization of anchoring (Wilson [0094]).
But the combination of Bishop, Spence and Wilson fails to disclose a locking element configured to be inserted through the one or more locking rings of the spring crimp to selectively hold the spring crimp in the open position
However, Huddleston discloses a similar anchoring assembly (Fig 6A, epicardial anchoring device). Further, Huddleston teaches a similar anchoring assembly: a locking element (Annotated Fig 6A above) configured to be inserted (Fig 6A, rod 481), through the one or more locking rings (Wilson Fig 11A, knot rings 280) of the spring crimp to selectively hold the spring crimp (Fig 15D, tensile member 148 and crimp 150) in the open position (combination would be capable of claimed of locking element into locking rings in an open position).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify combination of Bishop and Spence to include wherein a locking element configured to be inserted through the one or more locking rings of the spring crimp to selectively hold the spring crimp in the open position, as taught and suggested by Huddleston, in order improve surgical transition (¶0007 lines 5-6).
The phrase “wherein removal of the locking rod from the one or more locking rings of the spring crimp with the spring crimp positioned over a suture anchor causes the spring crimp to clamp onto the outer clamp surface of the suture anchor with sufficient force to hold a suture between the spring crimp and the suture anchor under tension as an artificial chorda extending from the valve leaflet to the suture anchor” is a functional recitation (see MPEP 2114.II). The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose the recited function, but merely have the capability of performing or being manipulated to the recited function in order to meet the claim requirements. In this case, the locking element is considered to be capable of clamping to the anchor hub with sufficient force to anchor a suture act to act as an artificial chorda tendineae.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Bishop, Spence, Wilson and Huddleston as discussed above in claim 15 teaches wherein the spring crimp comprises a pair of locking rings that are axially aligned in the open position (Fig. 1B).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Bishop, Spence, Wilson and Huddleston as discussed above in claim 15 teaches wherein the locking element is configured as an elongate rod (481).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Bishop, Spence, Wilson and Huddleston as discussed above in claim 17 teaches wherein the elongate rod (584) is inserted through one or more openings in the suture crimp to hold the suture crimp in the open position (¶ 0085, line 8-9) (Fig. 7C).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Bishop, Spence, Wilson and Huddleston as discussed above in claim 17 teaches: wherein the elongate rod is configured to be moved proximally relative to the anchor to be removed from the spring crimp (Figure 6C).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Bishop, Spence, Wilson and Huddleston as discussed above in claim 17 teaches wherein the elongate rod is configured to extend from the anchor inserted into the heart wall thorough the patient's vasculature and outside of the body (Figure 3E).
Conclusion
/ADRIAN FLORES/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/THOMAS C BARRETT/SPE, Art Unit 3799