DETAILED ACTION
This is the second Office action on the merits of the claims.
All citations to the Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP) refer to Revision 01.2024, which was released in November 2024.
Status of the Claims
In the Reply filed 10 September 2025, Applicant amended claims 10 and 15, and cancelled claims 1-9, 11, and 16-17. Claims 10 and 12-15 are pending. Claims 12-14 remain withdrawn because they are directed to various non-elected species of tissue. Claims 10 and 15 are under consideration.
Status of the Rejections
The rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or (pre-AIA ) first paragraph is maintained. Applicant’s recent amendment/argument is considered in paragraph 22 of this Office action.
The rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or (pre-AIA ) second paragraph is maintained. Applicant’s arguments are considered in paragraphs 27-29 of this Office action.
The rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hinderson (US 2013/0216628 A1) in view of Northey (WO 2011/014809 A1) has been modified by adding Goldan (US 2010/0285151 A1) as a secondary reference. The foregoing modification was necessitated by the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed by Applicant on 12 September 2025, which was accompanied by the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p). Applicant’s arguments are considered in paragraphs 49-53 of this Office action.
All non-statutory double patenting rejections set forth in the previous Office action (12 March 2025) are maintained. The examiner notes that Application No. 17/842,100 issued recently as Patent No. 12,419,910 (September 23, 2025). Accordingly, the corresponding provisional double patenting rejection has been converted to a non-provisional double patenting rejection.
Claims of Benefit and/or Priority (updated)
Applicant’s claim of benefit recites, inter alia, that the present application is a continuation of Application No. 15/612,571 (parent application), which is a continuation-in-part of Application No. 15/267,220 (grandparent application). It is critical to recognize, however, that claims in a continuation-in-part application must be directed solely to subject matter adequately disclosed under 35 U.S.C. 112 in the parent nonprovisional application to receive the benefit of the filing date of the parent nonprovisional application. MPEP § 211.05(I)(B). If a claim in a continuation-in-part application recites a feature that was not disclosed or adequately supported by a proper disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 112 in the parent nonprovisional application, but instead was first introduced or adequately supported in the present continuation-in-part application, such a claim is entitled only to the filing date of the present application. Id. Additionally, “[i]f there is a continuous chain of copending nonprovisional applications, each copending application must disclose the claimed invention of the later-filed application in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C.112(a) in order for the later-filed application to be entitled to the benefit of the earliest filing date.” Id. (emphasis added). With these controlling principles in mind, the examiner now addresses the claims of the present application:
Regarding claim 10 (as amended), the following feature is not supported by the grandparent (’220) application: “acetic acid at a concentration of at least about 0.1 wt%.”
Regarding claim 10 (as amended), the grandparent application (’220) does not support the hypochlorous acid concentration range of “at least about 10 ppm.” As a courtesy, Applicant is again referred to Figure 4 of the grandparent (’220) application, which contains the only relevant disclosure concerning ppm of hypochlorous acid.
Regarding claim 10, the grandparent (’220) application, which is directed to a hand disinfectant, focuses exclusively on skin. Although skin is a species of tissue, the grandparent application does not disclose the tissue genus or even describe tissues other than skin. Consequently, the grandparent (’220) application does not adequately support any claim that broadly recites or incorporates the tissue genus.
Regarding claim 15, the grandparent (’220) application does not support the recited acetic acid concentration range of “about 0.5 wt % to about 5.0% wt %.”
In sum, none of the claims under consideration is entitled to the benefit of the filing date of grandparent Application No. 15/267,220 (16 September 2016). The examiner notes that Hinderson (US 2013/0216628 A1), which is applied later in this Office action, therefore qualifies as prior art.
Given the complexity and length of the claim of benefit for this application, Applicant is alerted that the examiner’s analysis set forth above is not exhaustive. The examiner will extend his analysis of the claim of benefit, as needed, to address any future claim amendments made by Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA first paragraph
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or (pre-AIA ) first paragraph because the specification — while being enabling for treating a biofilm in or on tissue by administering an effective amount of a composition comprising significant concentrations of hypochlorous acid and acetic acid — does not reasonably provide enablement for treating the biofilm by administering ineffective amounts of that composition.
The test of enablement is whether one skilled in the art could make and use the claimed invention from the disclosures in the specification coupled with information known in the art without undue experimentation (United States v. Telectronics, 8 USPQ2d 1217 (Fed. Cir. 1988)). MPEP § 2164.01. Whether undue experimentation is needed is not based upon a single factor but rather is a conclusion reached by weighing many factors. MPEP § 2164.01(a). These factors were outlined in In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988) and include the following: (1) the breadth of the claims; (2) the nature of the invention; (3) the state of the prior art; (4) the level of one of ordinary skill; (5) the level of predictability in the art; (6) the amount of direction provided by the inventor; (7) the existence of any working examples; and (8) the quantity of experimentation necessary needed to practice the claimed invention based on the content of the disclosure. MPEP § 2164.01(a).
There is no requirement in claim 10 that an effective amount of the composition comprising hypochlorous acid and acetic acid is administered to the tissue. Applicant’s specification does not reasonably provide enablement for treating a biofilm in or on tissue by administering a negligible or otherwise ineffective amount of that composition. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art could not practice the full scope of Applicant’s invention, as recited in claim 10 and the claim depending thereon (claim 15), without first engaging in undue experimentation.
Response to Applicant’s Amendment/Argument
Applicant’s recent amendments to claim 10 do not overcome the foregoing enablement rejection because the claim still encompasses administering a negligible amount of the recited composition. Although the concentration ranges now recited in claim 10 assist in fleshing out the claims, a concentration is not an amount. For example, claim 10 continues to encompass administering a negligible volume of the recited composition, regardless of the concentration ranges corresponding to the acetic acid and hypochlorous acid, respectively. Accordingly, the enablement rejection is maintained.
* * *
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA second paragraph
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter that the inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 10, as presently drafted, still appears directed to a laboratory procedure, rather than a medical procedure. For example, the tissue infected with the biofilm could be in a petri dish. There is no indication in the claim that the tissue, itself, is actually part of a living organism, such as a human (or other mammal) who is suffering from an infection caused by a biofilm. Thus, the claim fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter that the inventor regards as the invention. Consequently, claim 10 and the claim depending thereon (claim 15) remain indefinite.
Response to Applicant’s Amendment/Argument
Regarding claim 10, Applicant argues: “However, whether or not the claim is directed to a medical procedure or a laboratory procedure is irrelevant. The claim recites a method to treat a biofilm in or on tissue, which may be effective regardless of the source of the tissue.” Reply (10 September 2025) at p. 4. As explained below, this argument is not persuasive.
Claims directed to the treatment of a disease or other disorder are typically drafted in the following format, where [D] is the disease/disorder to be treated, [S] is the subject (e.g., human or other mammal), and [M] is the medication: “A method of treating [D] in a [S] in need thereof comprising administering to the [S] an effective amount of [M].” Applicant’s recent remarks amplify the need to clarify claim 10, which remains unclear as to whether (or not) the tissue is comprised in a living organism, such as a mammal, or instead is a discrete entity, such as a piece of tissue in a petri dish. MPEP § 2173.04 (“But a genus claim that could be interpreted in such a way that it is not clear which species are covered would be indefinite (e.g., because there is more than one reasonable interpretation of what species are included in the claim).”). Applicant is advised that if a particular locus of the living organism is targeted for delivery of the medication, this is accomplished by including claim language defining the route of administration.
Accordingly, the indefiniteness rejection is maintained.
* * *
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103(a)
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hinderson (US 2013/0216628 A1) in view of Goldan (US 2010/0285151 A1) and Northey (WO 2011/014809 A1).
As an initial matter, the examiner notes that examination remains focused on the following species, both of which were previously elected by Applicant without traverse: (i) gel, as the form of the composition; and (ii) wound site, as the tissue. Reply (11 December 2024) at p. 3. The phrase “wound site” is interpreted in a manner consistent with page 26 of the specification, which states, in relevant part: “Wounds include bedsores, chronic wounds, burns, pressure wounds, diabetes wounds, and other forms of skin trauma.” Lines 8-10. In other words, “wound site” means a site of trauma to skin tissue. See also Office action (11 October 2024) at para. 20.
Hinderson is directed to highly pure and stable compositions of hypochlorous acid (HOCl) and their method of manufacture. Title/Abstract; para. [0007].
Hinderson discloses: “Hypochlorous acid (HOCl) is a weak acid that is known to rapidly inactivate bacteria, algae, fungus, and other organics, making it an effective agent across a broad range of microorganisms. Additionally, since hypochlorous acid is a weak acid and since people naturally produce certain compounds that allow them to tolerate hypochlorous acid (e.g., the amino acid taurin), it is generally not harmful to people.” (Emphasis added) Para. [0003].
Hinderson discloses that the composition comprises hypochlorous acid (HOCl) and acetic acid (HAc). Para. [0077] at Table 2; para. [0078]. The three exemplary compositions set forth in Table 2 of Hinderson are identical to the exemplary compositions set forth on page 33 of the specification of the present application, as originally filed. Those compositions comprise either 205 ppm or 207 ppm of hypochlorous acid, which anticipates the corresponding range now recited in claim 10 (“at least about 10 ppm”). MPEP § 2131.03(I). Additionally, the compositions disclosed in Table 2 of Hinderson achieve a pH of 4.62, 5.33, and 4.07, respectively, using acetic acid in combination with the designated concentration of hypochlorous acid. Although Hinderson is silent regarding the concentration of acetic acid, the foregoing observations provide a sound basis for the examiner’s position that the acetic acid concentration in the exemplified Hinderson compositions is “at least about 0.1 wt%,” as now recited in claim 10. The burden of production is shifted to Applicant. MPEP § 2112(V) (“once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden of production shifts to the applicant”).
Although Hinderson discloses that the HOCl/HAc composition can be used for medical applications, such as wound care (para. [0069]), and that HOCl rapidly inactivates bacteria (para. [0003]) and breaks down bacterial biofilm (para. [0055]), Hinderson is silent as to whether the HOCl/HAc composition can be administered as a gel to treat a biofilm in or on a wound site (a site of trauma to skin tissue). As explained below, Goldan and Northey compensate for this deficiency.
Goldan is directed to “compositions and methods for treating a condition characterized by infection and/or inflammation, such as conditions of the eyes, ears, nose, mouth, and/or throat, by administering a hypohalous acid, such as HOCl, to the affected area as described herein.” Para. [0025].
Goldan teaches: “Hypochlorous acid (HOCl) is an oxidant and biocide that is produced by the human body’s natural immune system. HOCl is generated as the final step of the Oxidative Burst Pathway, with large quantities of HOCl being released into phagocytic vesicles to destroy invading microorganisms. It is considered, without wishing to be bound by any theory, that hypochlorous acid exerts a biocidal effect by attacking the surface and plasma membrane proteins, impairing transport of solutes and the salt balance of bacterial cells.” Para. [0026].
Goldan teaches: “Where the condition involves biofilm, the hypohalous acid deactivates the polymatrix material of the biofilm to facilitate removal (cleansing), and disinfection. Hypohalous acid contact with biofilm formation dissolves the protective polysaccharaide matrix of the biofilm aiding in the effective removal of pathogens and debris.” (Emphasis added) Paras. [0046] and [0072]; see also claim 4 (“wherein the condition involves a bacterial infection and/or biofilm”).
Goldan teaches: “The hypohalous acid and compositions of the present invention may be administered in any appropriate dosage form such as a liquid, aerosol, gas, or semi-solid including a solution, suspension, viscous or semi-viscous gel, ointment, cream, or other types of compositions.” (Emphasis added) Paras. [0059] and [0074].
Northey is directed to a hydrogel formulation comprising oxidative reductive potential (ORP) water. Title/Abstract.
Northey teaches that the ORP water comprises hypochlorous acid. Paras. [0014]-[0015].
Northey teaches that the ORP water can be administered to treat a patient in need of skin bacterial disinfection. Para. [0053]. “For example, when used to treat an infection, a therapeutically effective amount of the formulation reduces the extent of the infection and/or prevents further infection.” Para. [0058].
Northey teaches that the ORP water can be topically administered to the skin. Para. [0051]-[0052]. However, “the application of liquid products to treatment sites is difficult to control, as run-off, spillage, and poor containment are commonly encountered problems.” Para. [0004]. Northey overcomes that problem by formulating the ORP water as a gel, by adding a gelling agent. Paras. [0031]-[0033] and [0037].
Northey teaches: “Conditions in a patient that may be treated according to the invention include, for example, the following: surgical/open wound cleansing agent; skin pathogen disinfection (e.g., for bacteria, mycoplasmas, virus, fungi, prions); wound disinfection (e.g., battle wounds); wound healing promotion; burn healing promotion; treatment of skin fungi; psoriasis; athlete's foot; ear infections (e.g., swimmer’s ear); traumatic wounds; acute, subchronic and chronic infections (e.g. diabetic foot infections being an example of the latter), pressure ulcers, derma-abrasion, debrided wounds, laser re-surfacing, donor sites/grafts, exuding partial and full thickness wounds, superficial injuries (lacerations, cuts, abrasions, minor skin irritations) and other medical applications on or in the human or animal body.” (Emphasis added) Para. [0053]; see also paras. [0054]-[0055] (teaching the administration of ORP gel formulations to wound sites).
Prior to the time Applicant’s invention was made, the foregoing teachings of Goldan and Northey would have motivated a person having ordinary skill in the art (i) to add a gelling agent to the highly pure and stable HOCl/HAc composition of Hinderson to yield a gel, which is easier than a liquid to control/contain and, thereafter, (ii) topically administer the gel to a wound site or other site of skin trauma to treat a patient suffering from an infection at that site caused by a bacterial biofilm. Therefore, claim 10 is prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 15, as established above, the compositions disclosed in Table 2 of Hinderson achieve a pH of 4.62, 5.33, and 4.07, respectively, using acetic acid in combination with the designated concentration of hypochlorous acid. In view of the fact that the compositions set forth in Table 2 of Hinderson are identical to the exemplary compositions set forth on page 33 of the specification of the present application, there is a sound basis for the examiner’s position that the acetic acid concentration range recited in claim 15 (“between about 0.5 wt % and about 5.0 wt %”) is either anticipated or rendered prima facie obvious by Hinderson. The burden of production is shifted to Applicant. MPEP § 2112(V) (quoted above). In the alternative, Northey identifies acetic acid as an exemplary buffering agent (para. [0034]) and teaches a buffering agent concentration range of “from about 0.01 weight-percent to about 5.0 weight-percent, based on the weight of the formulation” and “[p]referably, the buffering agent is present in an amount of from about 0.1 weight-percent to about 1.0 weight-percent” (para. [0035]). MPEP § 2144.05(I) (overlapping, approaching, or similar ranges are prima facie obvious).
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
The following remarks are provided in response to the arguments raised by Applicant on pages 4-5 of the Reply filed 10 September 2025:
Applicant argues: “Hinderson reports compositions of hypochlorous acid (HOCl) and methods of manufacture thereof. US 2013/0216628, Abstract. Hinderson does not disclose concentrations of HOCl below 100 ppm. Id., FIG. 8. Hinderson also makes no mention of the concentration of acetic acid used. Instead, Hinderson gives the pH of the compositions with acetic acid, which does not equate to a concentration of HAc. Additionally, Hinderson makes no mention of using the composition to treat biofilms in or on tissue.” Reply (10 September 2025) at p. 4. As explained below, this argument is not persuasive.
From the outset, it important to recognize that none of the claims under consideration requires that the concentration of hypochlorous acid (HOCl) is below 100 ppm. Claim 10 is the only claim under consideration that addresses HOCl concentration, and the corresponding concentration range — i.e., “at least about 10 ppm” — has no maximum. In this regard, Applicant’s argument is based on a limitation that is not even claimed. MPEP § 2145(VI) (arguing limitations that are not claimed).
Applicant’s assertion that “Hinderson gives the pH of the compositions with acetic acid [(HAc)], which does not equate to a concentration of HAc” is unavailing because the burden of production is shifted to Applicant, as established in paragraphs 36 and 48 of this Office action and in paragraphs 34 and 41 of the previous Office action (12 March 2025). To rebut the foregoing §103 rejection, Applicant should submit evidence establishing that the none of the three exemplary compositions disclosed in Table 2 of Hinderson (para. [0077]) satisfies the compositional profile recited in the claims. With respect to Hinderson’s silence regarding the concentration of acetic acid in those three compositions, Applicant is reminded that “[t]here is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.” MPEP § 2112(II). Moreover, the Patent Office does not have a laboratory and, therefore, the examiner is unable to adjust the pH of the Hinderson compositions to 4.62, 5.33, and 4.07, respectively, using acetic acid (as disclosed therein) and, thereafter, determine the resulting acetic acid concentration. MPEP § 2113(III) (“As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith.”).
Applicant’s remaining arguments, which concern Northey and are set forth on page 5 of the recent Reply, are not persuasive because one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejection is based on a combination of references. MPEP § 2145(IV). It is worth emphasizing that an anticipatory prior art reference (35 U.S.C. 102) is not required to advance a proper rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103.
* * *
Claim Rejections - Double Patenting (Non-Statutory)
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-16 of Patent No. 10,577,244 (March 3, 2020).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following: Conflicting claims 7-11 of the ’244 Patent are directed to a method of providing wound care by applying a HOCl/HAc composition. Conflicting claims 12-16 of the ’244 Patent are directed to a method of breaking down a biofilm by applying a HOCl/HAc composition. Thus, claims 7-16 collectively disclose treating a biofilm in or on tissue by applying a HOCl/HAc composition. In sum, the present claims are not patentably distinguishable over claims 7-16 of the ’244 Patent.
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8-19 of Patent No. 10,675,299 (June 9, 2020).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following: Conflicting claims 8-19 of the ’299 Patent are directed to a method for disinfecting skin by applying to the skin an HOCl/HAc composition. Conflicting claims 10-11 and 13 collectively disclose that the skin infection can be caused by a bacterial (Staphylococcus aureus) biofilm. In sum, the present claims are not patentably distinguishable over claims 8-19 of the ’299 Patent.
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of Patent No. 11,452,741 (September 27, 2022).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following: Conflicting claim 1 of the ’741 Patent is directed to “[a]n antimicrobial composition for treating and/or preventing pathogenic bacterial biofilms on a tissue surface without harming natural biofilm of the tissue, the composition comprising a mixture of acetic acid (HAc) and hypochlorous acid (HOCl) having concentrations optimized so as to achieve a synergistic effect.” Conflicting claim 2 discloses that “the tissue is skin tissue.” Conflicting claim 5 discloses “the composition is formulated in a spray, gel, cream, ointment, or oil.” A person having ordinary skill in the art would have readily envisaged that those are topical formulations and, therefore, would have been motivated to topically apply them to the skin or other tissue to treat a bacterial biofilm. In sum, the present claims are not patentably distinguishable over claims 1-6 of the ’741 Patent.
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of Patent No. 11,478,507 (October 25, 2022).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following: Conflicting claims 1 and 2 of the ’507 Patent are directed to a HOCl/HAc composition for treating bacterial biofilm on skin. Conflicting claim 3 discloses that the HOCl/HAc composition is in the form of a gel, cream, ointment or oil, which are topical dosage forms. Thus, the conflicting claims collectively teach or suggest topically applying a HOCl/HAc composition to skin or other tissue to treat a bacterial biofilm. In sum, the present claims are not patentably distinguishable over claims 1-3 of the ’507 Patent.
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of Patent No. 11,672,825 (June 13, 2023).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following: Conflicting claim 1 of the ’825 Patent includes limitations directed to an HOCl/HAc composition for “deeper, subsurface treatment of biofilm infected tissue.” Conflicting claim 6 discloses that the HOCl/HAc composition is in the form of a gel, cream, ointment or oil, which are topical dosage forms. Thus, the conflicting claims collectively teach or suggest applying a HOCl/HAc composition to tissue to treat a biofilm. In sum, the present claims are not patentably distinguishable over claims 1-6 of the ’825 Patent.
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-18 of Patent No. 12,419,910 (September 23, 2025).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following: Conflicting claim 11 of the ’910 Patent is directed to “[a] method for treating a biofilm in a wound, the method comprising providing to the wound a composition comprising hypochlorous acid and acetic acid.” A wound necessarily comprises tissue. Therefore, the present claims are not patentably distinguishable over claims 11-18 of the ’910 Patent.
Claims 10 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-14 and 16 of co-pending Application No. 17/970,906 (as amended on 27 August 2025).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following: Conflicting claim 12 of the ’906 Application is directed to “[a] method for treating a bacterial infection in tissue, the method comprising administering to the tissue a composition comprising acetic acid at a concentration of at least about 0.1 wt % and hypochlorous acid at a concentration of at least about 50 ppm.” A person having ordinary skill in the art would have readily envisaged that bacteria often aggregate to form a biofilm. Thus, the conflicting claims collectively teach or suggest applying a HOCl/HAc composition to tissue to treat a bacterial biofilm. Therefore, the present claims are not patentably distinguishable over claims 12-14 and 16 of the ’906 Application. This is a provisional rejection because the conflicting claims have not been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected.
No claim is allowed.
Applicant’s submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 12 September 2025 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b) and § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETER ANTHOPOLOS whose telephone number is 571-270-5989. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday – Friday (9:00 am – 5:00 pm). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Bethany P. Barham, can be reached on Monday – Friday (9:00 am – 5:00 pm) at 571-272-6175. The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/P.A./
22 December 2025
/CRAIG D RICCI/
/CRAIG D RICCI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611