DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed October 3, 2025 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 10 and 15 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the Applicant’s argument that the Examiner has not provided adequate reasoning for why a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings of Deepak and Uchino to arrive at the claimed invention (Response filed October 3, 2025, Page 15), Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
Deepak provides “the satellite MAC may utilize the downlink transmitter to transmit the INE broadcast” (Deepak [Para. 0109]) and “the communications involve data to be transmitted to a desired radio frequency” (Deepak [Para. 0068]). Deepak teaches satellite broadcast at a single band.
Uchino teaches “a size of the UE capability information message may be relatively large, thereby consuming significant network resources” (Uchino [Para. 0049]), “transmitting, to the UE, an indication of one band for which the UE capability information message is to indicate per-band UE capabilities, where the UE capability information message indicates the one UE capability associated with the NTN in response to the one band including a non-terrestrial network (NTN) band” (Uchino [Para. 0197]) and “The UE may perform selective reporting of per-band capabilities. In this way, the size of the UE capability information message may be reduced” (Uchino [Para. 0116]). The teaching of Uchino provides a solution to the problem of large message size in satellite transmission.
Uchino is in the same field of endeavor as Deepak, satellite transmission. Furthermore, Uchino provides a ready improvement to Deepak to reduce the size of UE capabilities message and accordingly the consumption of network resources. The improvement specifically suits Deepak where transmission is at a single band. Therefore, there is adequate reasoning for why a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings of Deepak and Uchino.
Applicant’s other arguments with respect to claim 1 have also been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on the references not applied in the prior rejection of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deepak et al. (US20230403744A1, hereinafter Deepak), and in view of Yu et al. (US20230361859A1, hereinafter Yu), Lee et al. (US20250324240A1, hereinafter Lee) and Uchino et al. (US20230232214A1, hereinafter Uchino).
For claim 1, Deepak teaches a system ([FIG. 1] and [Para. 0033], system 100) for limiting user equipment (UE) capability information messaging received by an extraterrestrial base station ([Para. 0033], The system 100 shown here comprises a plurality of satellites) to a single RF band comprising: the extraterrestrial base station configured to operate on a single RF band without carrier aggregation capability and to broadcast signals on a single RF band for a single carrier ([Para. 0108] and [FIG. 7A], the satellite networking 708 may send an initial network entry (INE) broadcast scanning command to the satellite MAC 706. [Para. 0109], responsive to the INE broadcast scanning command, the satellite MAC 706 may utilize the downlink transmitter 278 to transmit the INE broadcast [Para. 0068], the communications involve multiplexing, encoding, and compressing data to be transmitted, modulating the data to a desired radio frequency, thus indicating a transmission on a single RF [Examiner Note: The system of Deepka does not operate in multiple carriers, thus, the broadcast signals will be for a single carrier]); and one or more computer processing components configured to perform operations comprising ([Para. 0061], the satellite 102, … or other systems described herein may include … one or more hardware processors, computer-readable storage media. Embodiments may be provided computer program… to program a computer (or other electronic device) to perform the processes or methods described herein): transmitting one or more broadcast signals from the extraterrestrial base station ([Para. 0108] and [FIG. 7A], The satellite 102, meanwhile, at 712 sends initial network entry (INE) broadcast(s) 178 to the spot 302 that includes the user terminal (UT) 108); in response to the UE detecting at least one broadcast signal from the one or more broadcast signals transmitted from the extraterrestrial base station ([Para. 0112], at 714 the user terminal (UT) 108 receives the initial network entry (INE) broadcast 178. For example, the UT MAC 704 may scan the sky in an attempt to receive the INE broadcast 178. During this scan, the UT MAC 704 receives the initial network entry (INE) broadcast); receiving an attachment request from the UE ([Para. 0115], at 718 the user terminal (UT) 108 sends an initial network entry (INE) request to the satellite 102 using the RACH data 192 provided in the INE broadcast [Para. 0019], INE request is sent on a random access channel (RACH) uplink, and in response, a series of operations are performed to establish communication and authentication); authenticating an identity of the UE ([Para. 0120], responsive to the internal initial network entry (INE) request, at 728 the satellite networking 708 may generate challenge data that is associated with the first user terminal (UT)-ID. The challenge data may be used to authenticate one or more of the UT 108. [Para. 0127], at 740 the UT 108 sends the challenge response to the satellite 102. [Para. 0128], at 742 the satellite 102 has received the challenge response and attempts to validate the challenge response).
Deepak teaches broadcasting at a desired radio frequency, indicating a single band carrier. However, Deepak does not explicitly teach the extraterrestrial base station configured to operate on a single RF band without carrier aggregation capability and to broadcast signals on a single RF band for a single carrier. Yu is directed to providing on-demand resource management satellite communication system and method. More specifically, Yu teaches the extraterrestrial base station configured to operate on a single RF band without carrier aggregation capability and to broadcast signals on a single RF band for a single carrier ([Para. 0028], the eNodeB 12 controls the satellite 100 so that the beams 152 use the lower-power global system for mobile communications (GSM) transmission schemes. The beam 152 switches to the high-power LTE transmission scheme to directly communicate with the active user equipment. If the threshold level of communication is no longer met, the system 5 can switch from LTE transmissions to GSM transmissions. [Para. 0029], the transmission scheme can dynamically switch between TDMA (Time Division Multiple Access) and SCPC (Single Carrier Per Channel) depending on the amount of traffic within a cell 160. SCPC is large carrier signal and has a large bandwidth (e.g., 200 Mb/s), whereas TDMA is a small carrier with a smaller bandwidth. If there are active user equipment with high amounts of data being communicated, the system uses LTE and SCPC transmission protocols. If there are active user equipment but with low amounts of data being communicated, the system uses LTE and TDMA transmission protocols [Examiner’s Note: The satellite is configured to only operate in GSM, TDMA or SCPC, none of which operates with carrier aggregation]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deepak, so that the communication is performed by TDMA, SCPC and GSM, as taught by Yu. The modification would have provided on-demand resource allocation to provide sufficient bandwidth and power on-demand to UE(s) in the field of view (Yu [Para. 0008]).
Although teaching broadcast in single carrier band and receiving attachment request by the satellite, Deepak and Yu do not explicitly disclose transmitting a capability enquiry message to the UE including signaling information elements that instruct the UE to report only capabilities for the specific single RF band used by the extraterrestrial base station and to exclude capabilities unrelated to the single RF band; and receiving a UE capability information message from the UE that excludes capabilities for RF bands other than the single RF band associated with the extraterrestrial base station.
Lee is directed to providing method and apparatus for reporting ue capability in next generation wireless communication system. More specifically, Lee teaches transmitting a capability enquiry message to the UE including signaling information elements that instruct the UE to report only capabilities for the specific single RF band used by the extraterrestrial base station and to exclude capabilities unrelated to the single RF band ([Para. 0060], the terminal may receive a UECapabilityEnquiry message including UE-CapabilityRAT-Request with an RAT type of NR. [Para. 0061], the terminal may include UE-NR-Capability as an entry in ue-CapabilityRAT-ContainerList included in a UECapabilityInformation message. If capabilityRequestFilterCommon that is filtering information is included, the terminal may compile a list of candidate band combinations according to filtering criteria included in the capabilityRequestFilterCommon field. A band used in this case is a band included in frequencyBandListFilter; and receiving a UE capability information message from the UE that excludes capabilities for RF bands other than the single RF band associated with the extraterrestrial base station ([Para. 0061], the terminal may include UE-NR-Capability as an entry in ue-CapabilityRAT-ContainerList included in a UECapabilityInformation message. If capabilityRequestFilterCommon that is filtering information is included, the terminal may compile a list of candidate band combinations according to filtering criteria included in the capabilityRequestFilterCommon field. A band used in this case is a band included in frequencyBandListFilter).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deepak and Yu, so that UECapabilityEnquiry to the terminal includes frequencyBandListFilter that instructs the terminal to exclude the capabilities for band other than the band listed in in frequencyBandListFilter, as taught by Lee. The modification would have reduced a total L2 buffer size required for a terminal (Lee [Para. 0]).
Although teaching the information element that instructs excluding the capabilities for band other than the band listed in in frequencyBandListFilter, Deepak, Yu and Lee do not explicitly disclose transmitting a capability enquiry message to the UE including signaling information elements that instruct the UE to report only capabilities for the specific single RF band used by the extraterrestrial base station and to exclude capabilities unrelated to the single RF band; and receiving a UE capability information message from the UE that excludes capabilities for RF bands other than the single RF band associated with the extraterrestrial base station.
Uchino is directed selective reporting of user equipment capability information. More specifically, Uchino teaches transmitting a capability enquiry message to the UE including signaling information elements that instruct the UE to report only capabilities for the specific single RF band used by the extraterrestrial base station and to exclude capabilities unrelated to the single RF band ([Para. 0193], the base station may transmit, to a UE, a UE capability request message. [Para. 0196], transmitting, to the UE, an indication that the one UE capabilities associated with a particular NTN are to be indicated in the UE capability information message. [Para. 0197], transmitting, to the UE, an indication of one band for which the UE capability information message is to indicate per-band UE capabilities, where the UE capability information message indicates the one UE capability associated with the non-terrestrial network (NTN) in response to the one band including an NTN band); and receiving a UE capability information message from the UE that excludes capabilities for RF bands other than the single RF band associated with the extraterrestrial base station ([Para. 0197], transmitting, to the UE, an indication of one band for which the UE capability information message is to indicate per-band UE capabilities, where the UE capability information message indicates the one UE capability associated with the NTN in response to the one band including a non-terrestrial network (NTN) band. [Para. 0194], the base station may receive, from the UE in response to the UE capability request message, the UE capability information message that indicates one UE capability associated with the NTN).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deepak, Yu and Lee, so that the base sends UE capabilities request indicating the band associated with the non-terrestrial network (NTN) and receives the UE capabilities information of the band, as taught by Uchino. The modification would have allowed the size of the UE capability information message to be reduced and consumption of network resources (Uchino [Para. 0049 and 0116]).
For claim 2, Deepak, Yu, Lee and Uchino teach the system of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the one or more computer processing components are further configured to grant permission to the UE to attach to the extraterrestrial base station (Deepak [Para. 0061], the satellite 102, … or other systems described herein may include … one or more hardware processors, computer-readable storage media. Embodiments may be provided computer program… to program a computer (or other electronic device) to perform the processes or methods described herein. Deepak [Para. 0136] and [FIG. 7B], at 772 a second initial network entry initial network entry (INE) acceptance message is transmitted from the satellite 102 to the user terminal (UT) 108).
For claim 8, Deepak, Yu, Lee and Uchino teach the system of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the UE capability information message comprising information corresponding solely to the single RF band associated with the extraterrestrial base station decreases a risk of transmitting incorrect information to the extraterrestrial base station (Uchino [0136], the UE capability information generated by the UE 120 may have a size that is greater than a protocol data unit (PDU) size (e.g., an RRC PDU size, a PDCP PDU size, or a transport block size, among other examples), and therefore the UE capability information cannot be accommodated by a PDU. This could result in the UE capability information reported by the UE 120 being incomplete [Examiner’s Note: Incomplete information may be incorrect information]. Uchino [Para. 0051], To reduce the size of the UE capability information message, a base station may provide a band filtering indication to a UE. The band filtering indication may indicate one non-terrestrial network (NTN) band for which the UE is to report per-band capabilities. [Examiner’s Note: Reduced size in UE capabilities messages may decrease the risk of incomplete information]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deepak, Yu and Lee, so that the base sends UE capabilities request indicating the band associated with the non-terrestrial network (NTN) and receives the UE capabilities information of the band to reduce the risk of incomplete information, as taught by Uchino. The modification would have allowed the size of the UE capability information message to be reduced and consumption of network resources (Uchino [Para. 0049 and 0116]).
For claim 9, Deepak, Yu, Lee and Uchino teach the system of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the extraterrestrial base station supports a single LTE carrier (Yu [Para. 0028], the eNodeB 12 controls the satellite 100. the beam 152 switches to the high-power LTE transmission scheme to directly communicate with the active user equipment. Yu [Para. 0029], the transmission scheme can dynamically switch between TDMA (Time Division Multiple Access) and SCPC (Single Carrier Per Channel) depending on the amount of traffic within a cell 160. SCPC is large carrier signal and has a large bandwidth (e.g., 200 Mb/s), whereas TDMA is a small carrier with a smaller bandwidth [Examiner’s Note: Both TDMA and SPSC are single carrier band]. If there are active user equipment with high amounts of data being communicated, the system uses LTE and SCPC transmission protocols. If there are active user equipment but with low amounts of data being communicated, the system uses LTE and TDMA transmission protocols).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deepak, Lee and Uchino, so that the broadcast is in a single LTE carrier, as taught by Yu. The modification would have provided on-demand resource allocation to provide sufficient bandwidth and power on-demand to UE(s) in the field of view (Yu [Para. 0008]).
For claim 15, Deepk teaches a system ([FIG. 1] and [Para. 0033], system 100) for limiting user equipment (UE) capability information messaging received by an extraterrestrial base station ([Para. 0033], The system 100 shown here comprises a plurality of satellites) to a single RF band comprising: the extraterrestrial base station configured to operate on a single RF band without carrier aggregation capability and to broadcast signals on a single RF band for a single carrier ([Para. 0108] and [FIG. 7A], the satellite networking 708 may send an initial network entry (INE) broadcast scanning command to the satellite MAC 706. [Para. 0109], responsive to the INE broadcast scanning command, the satellite MAC 706 may utilize the downlink transmitter 278 to transmit the INE broadcast [Para. 0068], the communications involve multiplexing, encoding, and compressing data to be transmitted, modulating the data to a desired radio frequency, thus indicating a transmission on a single RF [Examiner Note: The system of Deepka does not operate in multiple carriers, thus, the broadcast signals will be for a single carrier]); and one or more computer processing components configured to perform operations comprising ([Para. 0061], the satellite 102, … or other systems described herein may include … one or more hardware processors, computer-readable storage media. Embodiments may be provided computer program… to program a computer (or other electronic device) to perform the processes or methods described herein): transmitting one or more broadcast signals from the extraterrestrial base station ([Para. 0108] and [FIG. 7A], The satellite 102, meanwhile, at 712 sends initial network entry (INE) broadcast(s) 178 to the spot 302 that includes the UT 108); receiving an attachment request from the UE ([Para. 0115], at 718 the user terminal (UT) 108 sends an initial network entry (INE) request to the satellite 102 using the RACH data 192 provided in the INE broadcast. [Para. 0019], INE request is sent on a random access channel (RACH) uplink, and in response, a series of operations are performed to establish communication and authentication); and transmitting a signal to the UE permitting the UE to attach to the extraterrestrial base station ([Para. 0136] and [FIG. 7B], at 772 a second initial network entry initial network entry (INE) acceptance message is transmitted from the satellite 102 to the user terminal (UT) 108).
Deepak teaches broadcasting at a desired radio frequency, indicating a single band carrier. However, Deepak does not explicitly teach the extraterrestrial base station configured to operate on a single RF band without carrier aggregation capability and to broadcast signals on a single RF band for a single carrier. Yu is directed to providing on-demand resource management satellite communication system and method. More specifically, Yu teaches the extraterrestrial base station configured to operate on a single RF band without carrier aggregation capability and to broadcast signals on a single RF band for a single carrier ([Para. 0028], the eNodeB 12 controls the satellite 100 so that the beams 152 use the lower-power global system for mobile communications (GSM) transmission schemes. The beam 152 switches to the high-power LTE transmission scheme to directly communicate with the active user equipment. If the threshold level of communication is no longer met, the system 5 can switch from LTE transmissions to GSM transmissions. [Para. 0029], the transmission scheme can dynamically switch between TDMA (Time Division Multiple Access) and SCPC (Single Carrier Per Channel) depending on the amount of traffic within a cell 160. SCPC is large carrier signal and has a large bandwidth (e.g., 200 Mb/s), whereas TDMA is a small carrier with a smaller bandwidth. If there are active user equipment with high amounts of data being communicated, the system uses LTE and SCPC transmission protocols. If there are active user equipment but with low amounts of data being communicated, the system uses LTE and TDMA transmission protocols [Examiner’s Note: The satellite is configured to only operate in GSM, TDMA or SCPC, none of which operates with carrier aggregation]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deepak, so that the communication is performed by TDMA, SCPC and GSM, as taught by Yu. The modification would have provided on-demand resource allocation to provide sufficient bandwidth and power on-demand to UE(s) in the field of view (Yu [Para. 0008]).
Although teaching broadcast in single carrier band and receiving attachment request by the satellite, Deepak and Yu do not explicitly disclose transmitting a capability enquiry message to the UE including signaling information elements that instruct the UE to report only capabilities for the specific single RF band used by the extraterrestrial base station and to exclude capabilities unrelated to the single RF band; receiving a UE capability information message that excludes capabilities for RF bands other than the single RF band associated with the extraterrestrial base station.
Lee is directed to providing method and apparatus for reporting ue capability in next generation wireless communication system. More specifically, Lee teaches transmitting a capability enquiry message to the UE including signaling information elements that instruct the UE to report only capabilities for the specific single RF band used by the extraterrestrial base station and to exclude capabilities unrelated to the single RF band ([Para. 0060], the terminal may receive a UECapabilityEnquiry message including UE-CapabilityRAT-Request with an RAT type of NR. [Para. 0061], the terminal may include UE-NR-Capability as an entry in ue-CapabilityRAT-ContainerList included in a UECapabilityInformation message. If capabilityRequestFilterCommon that is filtering information is included, the terminal may compile a list of candidate band combinations according to filtering criteria included in the capabilityRequestFilterCommon field. A band used in this case is a band included in frequencyBandListFilter [Exmainer’s Note: Under 3GPP TS 38.331 v17.3.0, frequencyBandListFilter is carried in UECapabilityEnquiry, which is an information element [Page 1036]. frequencyBandListFilter instructs the UE to only include the band that is listed in frequencyBandListFilter [Page 229]]); receiving a UE capability information message that excludes capabilities for RF bands other than the single RF band associated with the extraterrestrial base station ([Para. 0061], the terminal may include UE-NR-Capability as an entry in ue-CapabilityRAT-ContainerList included in a UECapabilityInformation message. If capabilityRequestFilterCommon that is filtering information is included, the terminal may compile a list of candidate band combinations according to filtering criteria included in the capabilityRequestFilterCommon field. A band used in this case is a band included in frequencyBandListFilter).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deepak and Yu, so that UECapabilityEnquiry to the terminal includes frequencyBandListFilter that instructs the terminal to exclude the capabilities for band other than the band listed in in frequencyBandListFilter, as taught by Lee. The modification would have reduced a total L2 buffer size required for a terminal (Lee [Para. 0]).
Although teaching the information element that instructs excluding the capabilities for band other than the band listed in in frequencyBandListFilter, Deepak, Yu and Lee do not explicitly disclose transmitting a capability enquiry message to the UE including signaling information elements that instruct the UE to report only capabilities for the specific single RF band used by the extraterrestrial base station and to exclude capabilities unrelated to the single RF band; receiving a UE capability information message that excludes capabilities for RF bands other than the single RF band associated with the extraterrestrial base station.
Uchino is directed selective reporting of user equipment capability information. More specifically, Uchino teaches transmitting a capability enquiry message to the UE including signaling information elements that instruct the UE to report only capabilities for the specific single RF band used by the extraterrestrial base station and to exclude capabilities unrelated to the single RF band ([Para. 0193], the base station may transmit, to a UE, a UE capability request message. [Para. 0196], transmitting, to the UE, an indication that the one UE capabilities associated with a particular NTN are to be indicated in the UE capability information message. [Para. 0197], transmitting, to the UE, an indication of one band for which the UE capability information message is to indicate per-band UE capabilities, where the UE capability information message indicates the one UE capability associated with the non-terrestrial network (NTN) in response to the one band including an NTN band); receiving a UE capability information message that excludes capabilities for RF bands other than the single RF band associated with the extraterrestrial base station ([Para. 0197], transmitting, to the UE, an indication of one band for which the UE capability information message is to indicate per-band UE capabilities, where the UE capability information message indicates the one UE capability associated with the NTN in response to the one band including a non-terrestrial network (NTN) band. [Para. 0194], the base station may receive, from the UE in response to the UE capability request message, the UE capability information message that indicates one UE capability associated with the NTN).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deepak, Yu and Lee, so that the base sends UE capabilities request indicating the band associated with the non-terrestrial network (NTN) and receives the UE capabilities information of the band, as taught by Uchino. The modification would have allowed the size of the UE capability information message to be reduced and consumption of network resources (Uchino [Para. 0049 and 0116]).
For claim 17, Deepak, Yu, Lee and Uchino teach the system of claim 15. The references further teach wherein the extraterrestrial base station communicates with the UE using LTE (Yu [Para. 0028], the eNodeB 12 controls the satellite 100. the beam 152 switches to the high-power LTE transmission scheme to directly communicate with the active user equipment. [Para. 0029], the transmission scheme can dynamically switch between TDMA (Time Division Multiple Access) and SCPC (Single Carrier Per Channel) depending on the amount of traffic within a cell 160. SCPC is large carrier signal and has a large bandwidth (e.g., 200 Mb/s), whereas TDMA is a small carrier with a smaller bandwidth [Examiner’s Note: Both TDMA and SPSC are single carrier band]. If there are active user equipment with high amounts of data being communicated, the system uses LTE and SCPC transmission protocols. If there are active user equipment but with low amounts of data being communicated, the system uses LTE and TDMA transmission protocols).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deepak, Lee and Uchino, so that the broadcast is in a single LTE carrier, as taught by Yu. The modification would have provided on-demand resource allocation to provide sufficient bandwidth and power on-demand to UE(s) in the field of view (Yu [Para. 0008]).
For claim 19, Deepak, Yu, Lee and Uchino teach the system of claim 15. The references further teach wherein the extraterrestrial base station does not support carrier aggregation (Yu [Para. 0028], the eNodeB 12 controls the satellite 100. The beam 152 switches to the high-power LTE transmission scheme to directly communicate with the active user equipment. If the threshold level of communication is no longer met, the system 5 can switch from LTE transmissions to GSM transmissions. Yu [Para. 0029], the transmission scheme can dynamically switch between TDMA (Time Division Multiple Access) and SCPC (Single Carrier Per Channel) depending on the amount of traffic within a cell 160. SCPC is large carrier signal and has a large bandwidth (e.g., 200 Mb/s), whereas TDMA is a small carrier with a smaller bandwidth. If there are active user equipment with high amounts of data being communicated, the system uses LTE and SCPC transmission protocols. If there are active user equipment but with low amounts of data being communicated, the system uses LTE and TDMA transmission protocols [Examiner’s Note: The system does not operate carrier aggregation]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deepak, Lee and Uchino, so that the communication is performed by TDMA, SCPC and GSM, as taught by Yu. The modification would have provided on-demand resource allocation to provide sufficient bandwidth and power on-demand to UE(s) in the field of view (Yu [Para. 0008]).
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deepak et al. (US20230403744A1, hereinafter Deepak), in view of Yu et al. (US20230361859A1, hereinafter Yu), Lee et al. (US20250324240A1, hereinafter Lee) and Uchino et al. (US20230232214A1, hereinafter Uchino), and further in view of Raghunathan et al. (US20180227904A1, hereinafter Raghunathan).
For claim 3, Deepak, Yu, Lee and Uchino teach the system of claim 1. The references further teach wherein receiving the UE capability information message from the UE comprising information corresponding solely to the single RF band saves bandwidth resources (Uchino [Para. 0197], transmitting, to the UE, an indication of one band for which the UE capability information message is to indicate per-band UE capabilities, where the UE capability information message indicates the one UE capabilities associated with the NTN in response to the one band including an NTN band. Uchino [Para. 0194], the base station may receive, from the UE in response to the UE capability request message, the UE capability information message that indicates one UE capability associated with the NTN. Uchino [Para. 0116], The UE 120 may perform selective reporting of per-band capabilities according to a band filtering indication. the size of the UE capability information message may be reduced).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deepak, Yu and Lee, so that the base station only receives UE capabilities on one band to save network resource, as taught by Uchino. The modification would have allowed the size of the UE capability information message to be reduced and consumption of network resources (Uchino [Para. 0049 and 0116]).
Although teaching the UE capability message reporting one band for the single band to reduce the size of message, Deepak, Yu, Lee and Uchino do not explicitly disclose wherein receiving the UE capability information message from the UE comprising information corresponding solely to the single RF band saves bandwidth resources.
Raghunathan is directed to providing methods and apparatus for user equipment capability exchange. More specifically, Raghunathan teaches wherein receiving the UE capability information message from the UE comprising information corresponding solely to the single RF band saves bandwidth resources ([Para. 0081], the present disclosure provides enhancements for UE capability exchange procedures to reduce the message size of UE capability information. Accordingly, network loading on the uplink may be reduced [Examiner’s Note: Less network bandwidth is needed to transmit the UE capability message when the message size is reduced]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deepak, Yu, Lee and Uchino, to reduce the message size of UE capability information, as taught by Raghunathan. The modification would have reduced the message size of UE capability information, and accordingly, reduced network loading and the failure rate of LTE or 5G attach procedure, and further, saved power on the UE (Raghunathan [Para. 0081]).
For claim 7, Deepak, Yu. Lee and Uchino teach the system of claim 1. The references further teach wherein providing information corresponding solely to the single RF band associated with the extraterrestrial base station improves a network's capacity (Uchino [Para. 0049], a size of the UE capability information message may be relatively large, thereby consuming significant network resources. Uchino [Para. 0051], To reduce the size of the UE capability information message, a base station may provide a band filtering indication to a UE. The band filtering indication may indicate one non-terrestrial network (NTN) band for which the UE is to report per-band capabilities).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deepak, Yu and Lee, so that the base sends UE capabilities request indicating the band associated with the non-terrestrial network (NTN) and receives the UE capabilities information of the band, as taught by Uchino. The modification would have allowed the size of the UE capability information message to be reduced and consumption of network resources (Uchino [Para. 0049 and 0116]).
Although teaching the UE capability message reporting one band to size of the message to reduce consumption of network resources, Deepak, Yu. Lee and Uchino do not explicitly disclose wherein providing information corresponding solely to the single RF band associated with the extraterrestrial base station improves a network's capacity.
Raghunathan is directed to providing methods and apparatus for user equipment capability exchange. More specifically, Raghunathan teaches wherein providing information corresponding solely to the single RF band associated with the extraterrestrial base station improves a network's capacity ([Para. 0081], the present disclosure provides enhancements for UE capability exchange procedures to reduce the message size of UE capability information. Accordingly, network loading on the uplink may be reduced. Also, the time for transmitting UE capability information and the failure rate of LTE or 5G attach procedure may be reduced [Examiner’s Note: Reduction in traffic load on the network links and increasing success rate of attach procedure improve network capacity]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deepak, Yu, Lee and Uchino, to reduce the message size of UE capability information, as taught by Raghunathan. The modification would have reduced the message size of UE capability information, and accordingly, reduced network loading and the failure rate of LTE or 5G attach procedure, and further, saved power on the UE (Raghunathan [Para. 0081]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deepak et al. (US20230403744A1, hereinafter Deepak), in view of Yu et al. (US20230361859A1, hereinafter Yu), Lee et al. (US20250324240A1, hereinafter Lee) and Uchino et al. (US20230232214A1, hereinafter Uchino), and further in view of Jia (US20200029269A1, hereinafter Jia).
For claim 4, Deepak, Yu, Lee and Uchino teach the system of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the UE requests to attach to the extraterrestrial base station after determining it is unable to attach to a terrestrial base station (Deepak [Para. 0115], at 718 the user terminal (UT) 108 sends an initial network entry (INE) request to the satellite 102 using the RACH data 192 provided in the INE broadcast. Deepak [Para. 0019], INE request is sent on a random access channel (RACH) uplink, and in response, a series of operations are performed to establish communication and authentication).
Although teaching attaching to non-terrestrial base station, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the UE requests to attach to the extraterrestrial base station after determining it is unable to attach to a terrestrial base station.
Jia is directed to providing protective response to failed network attach operations. More specifically, Jia teaches wherein the UE requests to attach to the extraterrestrial base station after determining it is unable to attach to a terrestrial base station ([Para. 0023], connection behavior component 120 of system 100 can determine that the attaching of UE 110 to the network has failed. [Para. 0032], where the attaching of UE 410 to the network fails, UE 410 can failover to another network, e.g., via failover attachment request signal 496, facilitating an attempt to connect to the other network. [Para. 0077], aspects, features, or advantages of the subject matter can be exploited in … network, including universal mobile telecommunications system terrestrial radio access network).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deepak, Yu, Lee and Uchino, so that the UE sends attach request to another base station after unable to attach to a terrestrial network, as taught by Jia. The modification would have allowed the system to prevent from creating unnecessary spectral noise, consuming power unnecessarily, consuming processing cycles related to processing each subsequent attachment request (Jia [Para. 0016 - 0017]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deepak et al. (US20230403744A1, hereinafter Deepak) in view of Yu et al. (US20230361859A1, hereinafter Yu), Lee et al. (US20250324240A1, hereinafter Lee) and Uchino et al. (US20230232214A1, hereinafter Uchino), and further in view of Kyung et al. (US20240072878A1, hereinafter Kyung).
For claim 5, Deepak, Yu, Lee and Uchino teach the system of claim 1. Although teaching broadcast from non-terrestrial base station in single carrier band, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the UE is configured to support a plurality of bands.
Kyung is directed to providing method and apparatus for beam failure recovery. More specifically, Kyung teaches wherein the UE is configured to support a plurality of bands ([Para. 0025], in step 311, UE 301 is configured to operate in multiple FR bands (e.g., LTE/NR FR1 and FR2) under carrier aggregation (CA)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deepak, Yu, Lee and Uchino, so that the UE is configured to operate in multiple bands, as taught by Kyung. The modification would have supported support PCell, SCell, and per-TRP based beam failure recovery, with less standard impact and reduced latency (Kyung [Para. 0005]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deepak et al. (US20230403744A1, hereinafter Deepak) in view of Yu et al. (US20230361859A1, hereinafter Yu), Lee et al. (US20250324240A1, hereinafter Lee) and Uchino et al. (US20230232214A1, hereinafter Uchino), and further in view of Dutta (US20220224403A1, hereinafter Dutta).
For claim 6, Deepak, Yu, Lee and Uchino teach the system of claim 1. Although teaching broadcast from non-terrestrial base station in single carrier band, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the extraterrestrial base station is configured for a single LTE RF band and frequency.
Dutta is directed to providing single-frequency broadcasting networks using multiple spotbeams. More specifically, Dutta teaches wherein the extraterrestrial base station is configured for a single LTE RF band and frequency ([Para. 0010], embodiments of the present invention provide for the use of Single Frequency Network techniques for satellite broadcast and multicast communications systems. [Para. 0027] and [FIG. 2], example satellite network 200 for transmitting broadcast and/or multicast signals to Earth-based receivers. [Para. 0028], the satellite 202 receives signals from the gateway equipment 208 via a Ku-band satellite link 210 and retransmits those signals to the user equipment 206 via an L-band service link 212. [Para. 0029], the choice of the specific center frequency (at L-band) used in each spotbeam is made by a resource manager. [Para. 0034], where f is the frequency relative to the band center [Examiner’s Note: Single frequency is a single rf band and the single frequency within L-band is within LTE frequency range]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deepak, Yu, Lee and Uchino, so that the broadcast is in a single rf band within LTE range, as taught by Dutta. The modification would have allowed multiple spotbeams on the same frequency are generated for a coverage area without issue from phase shift (Dutta [Para. 0010]).
Claims 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deepak et al. (US20230403744A1, hereinafter Deepak) in view of Lee et al. (US20250324240A1, hereinafter Lee) and Uchino et al. (US20230232214A1, hereinafter Uchino).
For claim 10, Deepka teaches a method for limiting user equipment (UE) capability information messaging received by an extraterrestrial base station ([Para. 0184], the methods discussed in this disclosure may be implemented in hardware, software, or a combination thereof; [Para. 0033], the system 100 shown here comprises a plurality of satellites) to a single RF band comprising: transmitting one or more broadcast signals from the extraterrestrial base station ([Para. 0068], the communications involve multiplexing, encoding, and compressing data to be transmitted, modulating the data to a desired radio frequency, thus indicating a transmission on a single RF. [Para. 0108] and [FIG. 7A], The satellite 102, meanwhile, at 712 sends initial network entry (INE) broadcast(s) 178 to the spot 302 that includes the user terminal (UT) 108); receiving an attachment request from the UE ([Para. 0115], at 718 the user terminal (UT) 108 sends an initial network entry (INE) request to the satellite 102 using the RACH data 192 provided in the INE broadcast. [Para. 0019], INE request is sent on a random access channel (RACH) uplink, and in response, a series of operations are performed to establish communication and authentication); authenticating an identity of the UE ([Para. 0120], responsive to the internal initial network entry (INE) request, at 728 the satellite networking 708 may generate challenge data that is associated with the first user terminal (UT)-ID. The challenge data may be used to authenticate one or more of the UT 108. [Para. 0127], at 740 the UT 108 sends the challenge response to the satellite 102. [Para. 0128], at 742 the satellite 102 has received the challenge response and attempts to validate the challenge response).
Although teaching broadcast in single carrier band and receiving attachment request by the satellite, Deepak does not explicitly disclose transmitting a capability enquiry message to the UE including signaling information elements that instruct the UE to report only capabilities for the specific single RF band used by the extraterrestrial base station and to exclude capabilities unrelated to the single RF band; and receiving a UE capability information message from the UE that excludes capabilities for RF bands other than the single RF band associated with the extraterrestrial base station.
Lee is directed to providing method and apparatus for reporting ue capability in next generation wireless communication system. More specifically, Lee teaches transmitting a capability enquiry message to the UE including signaling information elements that instruct the UE to report only capabilities for the specific single RF band used by the extraterrestrial base station and to exclude capabilities unrelated to the single RF band ([Para. 0060], the terminal may receive a UECapabilityEnquiry message including UE-CapabilityRAT-Request with an RAT type of NR. [Para. 0061], the terminal may include UE-NR-Capability as an entry in ue-CapabilityRAT-ContainerList included in a UECapabilityInformation message. If capabilityRequestFilterCommon that is filtering information is included, the terminal may compile a list of candidate band combinations according to filtering criteria included in the capabilityRequestFilterCommon field. A band used in this case is a band included in frequencyBandListFilter [Exmainer’s Note: Under 3GPP TS 38.331 v17.3.0, frequencyBandListFilter is carried in UECapabilityEnquiry, which is an information element [Page 1036]. frequencyBandListFilter instructs the UE to only include the band that is listed in frequencyBandListFilter [Page 229]]); and receiving a UE capability information message from the UE that excludes capabilities for RF bands other than the single RF band associated with the extraterrestrial base station ([Para. 0061], the terminal may include UE-NR-Capability as an entry in ue-CapabilityRAT-ContainerList included in a UECapabilityInformation message. If capabilityRequestFilterCommon that is filtering information is included, the terminal may compile a list of candidate band combinations according to filtering criteria included in the capabilityRequestFilterCommon field. A band used in this case is a band included in frequencyBandListFilter).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Deepak and Yu, so that UECapabilityEnquiry to the terminal includes frequencyBandListFilter that instructs the terminal to exclude the capabilities for band other than the band listed in in frequencyBandListFilter, as taught by Lee. The modification would have reduced a total L2 buffer size required for a terminal (Lee [Para. 0]).
Although teaching the information element that instructs excluding the capabilities for band other than the band listed in in frequencyBandListFilter, Deepak, Yu and Lee do not explicitly disclose transmitting a capability enquiry message to the UE including signaling information elements that instruct the UE to report only capabilities for the specific single RF band used by the extraterrestrial base station and to exclude capabilities unrelated to the single RF band; and receiving a UE capability information message from the UE that excludes capabilities for RF bands other than the single RF band associated with the extraterrestrial base station.
Uchino is directed selective reporting of user equipment capability information. More specifically, Uchino teaches transmitting a capability enquiry message to the UE including signaling information elements that instruct the UE to report only capabilities for the specific single RF band used by the extraterrestrial base station and to exclude capabilities unrelated to the single RF band ([Para. 0193], the base station may transmit, to a UE, a UE capability request message. [Para. 0196], transmitting, to the UE, an indication that the one UE capabilities associated with a particular NTN are to be indicated in the UE capability information message. [Para. 0197], transmitting, to the UE, an indication of one band for which the UE capability information message is to indicate per-band UE capabilities, where the UE capability information message indicates the one UE capability associated with the non-terrestrial network (NTN) in response to the one band including an NTN band); and receiving a UE capability information message from the UE that excludes capabilities for RF bands other than the single RF band associated with the extraterrestrial base station ([Para. 0197], transmitting, to the UE, an indication of one band for which the UE capability information message is to indicate per-band UE capabilities, where the UE capability information message indicates the one UE capability associated with the NTN in response to the one band including a non-terrestrial network (NTN) band. [Para. 0194], the base station may receive, from the UE in response to the UE capability request message, the UE capability information message that indicates one UE capability associated with the NTN).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Deepak, Yu and Lee, so that the base sends UE capabilities request indicating the band associated with the non-terrestrial network (NTN) and receives the UE capabilities information of the band, as taught by Uchino. The modification would have allowed the size of the UE capability information message to be reduced and consumption of network resources (Uchino [Para. 0049 and 0116]).
For claim 13, Deepak, Lee and Uchino teach the method of claim 10. The references further teach further comprising transmitting a message to the UE indicating it is approved to attach to the extraterrestrial base station and confirming that the UE has attached to the extraterrestrial base station (Deepak [Para. 0136] and [FIG. 7B], at 772 a second initial network entry initial network entry (INE) acceptance message is transmitted from the satellite 102 to the user terminal (UT) 108).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deepak et al. (US20230403744A1, hereinafter Deepak) in view of Lee et al. (US20250324240A1, hereinafter Lee) and Uchino et al. (US20230232214A1, hereinafter Uchino), and further in view of Kim et al. (US20150327107A1, hereinafter Kim).
For claim 11, Deepak, Lee and Uchino teach the method of claim 10. The references further teach wherein prior to sending the attachment request to the extraterrestrial base station (Deepak [Para. 0115], at 718 the user terminal (UT) 108 sends an initial network entry (INE) request to the satellite 102 using the RACH data 192 provided in the INE broadcast. Deepak [Para. 0019], INE request is sent on a random access channel (RACH) uplink, and in response, a series of operations are performed to establish communication and authentication).
Although teaching the attempt to attach to terrestrial network, Deepak, Lee and Uchino do not explicitly disclose wherein prior to sending the attachment request to the extraterrestrial base station, the UE attempts to locate a terrestrial base station for attachment.
Kim is directed to providing method for activating pscell and scell in mobile communication system supporting dual connectivity. More specifically, Kim teaches wherein prior to sending the attachment request to the extraterrestrial base station ([Para. 0118], The UE 805 powers on at operation 820. The UE 805 searches for the cells transmitting electric wave and a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) and determines the PLMN and the cell for performing an attach process at Cell Search operation 825), the UE attempts to locate a terrestrial base station for attachment ([Para. 0118], The UE 805 powers on at operation 820. The UE 805 searches for the cells transmitting electric wave and a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) and determines the PLMN and the cell for performing an attach process at Cell Search operation 825. [Para. 0119], if the UE is performing the above procedure in an LTE network, the RAT Type is set to Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access (EUTRA) [Examiner’s Note: The attempt to attach may fail]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Deepak, Lee and Uchino, so that the UE searches for a terrestrial base station to attach, as taught by Kim. The modification would have activated a Secondary Cell (SCell) efficiently in a mobile communication system supporting the dual connectivity (Kim [Para. 0010]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deepak et al. (US20230403744A1, hereinafter Deepak) in view of Lee et al. (US20250324240A1, hereinafter Lee), Uchino et al. (US20230232214A1, hereinafter Uchino) and Kim et al. (US20150327107A1, hereinafter Kim), and further in view of UY et al. (US20220174474A, hereinafter UY) and Chou et al. (US20050153722A1, hereinafter Chou).
For claim 12, Deepak, Lee, Uchino and Kim teach the method of claim 11. Although teaching locating a non-terrestrial base station before attachment, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the UE utilizes mobile network code (MNC) that provides a ranking of base stations for attachment.
UY is directed to providing mobile profile download via null-authenticated communications session. More specifically, UY teaches wherein the UE utilizes mobile network code (MNC) that provides a ranking of base stations for attachment ([Para. 0054], the MCC/MNC pair is included in the attach request message as part of a mobile identity such as an IMSI. In general, an IMSI includes the MCC/MNC tuple and a subscriber identifier).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Deepak, Lee, Uchino and Kim, so that the MNC is included in attach request, as taught by UY. The modification would have allowed allow for the retrieval of mobile profiles over a cellular network without using a bootstrap profile (UY [Para. 0002 and 0011]).
Although teaching attaching to a non-terrestrial base station with MNC, Deepak, Lee, Uchino, Kim and UY do not explicitly disclose wherein the UE utilizes mobile network code (MNC) that provides a ranking of base stations for attachment.
Chou is directed to providing apparatus of public land mobile network selection and method of the same. More specifically, Chou teaches wherein the UE utilizes mobile network code (MNC) that provides a ranking of base stations for attachment ([Para. 0036], S303: setting the initial value of an integer index i as one; [Para. 0037], S304: selecting an ith priority PLMN as a target PLMN [Examiner’s Note: Starting with the PLMN code of the highest priority associates the PLMN code with the ranking in priority]. [Para. 0043], S310: according to the PLMN code, corresponding to the candidate base station in the base station table, determining whether the candidate base station belongs to the target PLMN, if the result of step S310 is YES, then executing step S311. [Para. 0044], S311: selecting the ith priority PLMN as the serving PLMN that provides communication services to the mobile station [Examiner’s Note: The term “mobile phone network code” is used in the initial foreign patent application (TWI258931B) for PLMN code]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Deepak, Lee, Uchino, Kim and UY, so that the MNC is utilized in ranking PLMN to be the serving PLMN, as taught by Chou. The modification would have substantially reduced the time for selecting a PLMN and improved the corresponding efficiency (Chou [Para. 0014]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deepak et al. (US20230403744A1, hereinafter Deepak) in view of Lee et al. (US20250324240A1, hereinafter Lee) and Uchino et al. (US20230232214A1, hereinafter Uchino), and further in view of Kyung et al. (US20240072878A1, hereinafter Kyung).
For claim 14, Deepak, Lee and Uchino teach the method of claim 13. Although teaching broadcast from non-terrestrial base station in single carrier band, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the UE is configured to support a plurality of LTE RF band and frequencies.
Kyung is directed to providing method and apparatus for beam failure recovery. More specifically, Kyung teaches wherein the UE is configured to support a plurality of LTE RF band and frequencies ([Para. 0025], in step 311, UE 301 is configured to operate in multiple FR bands (e.g., LTE/NR FR1 and FR2) under carrier aggregation (CA) [Examiners’ Note: FR1 and FR2 are frequency ranges]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Deepak, Lee and Uchino, so that the UE is configured to operate in multiple bands and frequencies, as taught by Kyung. The modification would have supported support PCell, SCell, and per-TRP based beam failure recovery, with less standard impact and reduced latency (Kyung [Para. 0005]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deepak et al. (US20230403744A1, hereinafter Deepak) in view of Yu et al. (US20230361859A1, hereinafter Yu), Lee et al. (US20250324240A1, hereinafter Lee) and Uchino et al. (US20230232214A1, hereinafter Uchino), and further in view of Kyung et al. (US20240072878A1, hereinafter Kyung)
For claim 16, Deepak, Yu, Lee and Uchino teach the system of claim 15. Although teaching broadcast from non-terrestrial base station in single carrier band, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the UE is configured to support multiple RF bands and carrier aggregation combinations.
Kyung is directed to providing method and apparatus for beam failure recovery. More specifically, Kyung teaches wherein the UE is configured to support multiple RF bands and carrier aggregation combinations ([Para. 0025], in step 311, UE 301 is configured to operate in multiple FR bands (e.g., LTE/NR FR1 and FR2) under carrier aggregation (CA)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deepak, Yu, Lee and Uchino, so that the UE is configured to operate in multiple bands and carrier aggregation, as taught by Kyung. The modification would have supported support PCell, SCell, and per-TRP based beam failure recovery, with less standard impact and reduced latency (Kyung [Para. 0005]).
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deepak et al. (US20230403744A1, hereinafter Deepak) in view of Yu et al. (US20230361859A1, hereinafter Yu), Lee et al. (US20250324240A1, hereinafter Lee) and Uchino et al. (US20230232214A1, hereinafter Uchino), and further in view of Raghunathan et al. (US20180227904A1, hereinafter Raghunathan).
For claim 18, Deepak, Yu, Lee and Uchino teach the system of claim 15. The references further teach wherein the extraterrestrial base station authenticates the UE prior to transmitting the capability enquiry message (Deepak [Para. 0033], The system 100 shown here comprises a plurality of satellites).
Although teaching authentication of the UE and transmitting UE capabilities enquiry, Deepak, Yu, Lee and Uchino do not explicitly disclose wherein the extraterrestrial base station authenticates the UE prior to transmitting the capability enquiry message.
Raghunathan is directed to providing methods and apparatus for user equipment capability exchange. More specifically, Raghunathan teaches wherein the extraterrestrial base station authenticates the UE prior to transmitting the capability enquiry message ([Para. 0083] and [FIG. 4], at 408 and 410, UE 402 may submit an attach request to MME 406 and an RRC connection request to BS 404. At 412 and 414, RRC connection may be set up between UE 402 and BS 404. After RRC connection setup, UE 402 may be authenticated by the network (not illustrated in FIG. 4). At 416, BS 404 may transmit a first UE capability enquiry to UE 402. In response, at 418 and 420, UE 402 may transmit first UE capability information to BS 404).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deepak, Yu, Lee and Uchino, so that the base station authenticates the UE before sending capabilities enquiry, as taught by Raghunathan. The modification would have reduced the message size of UE capability information, and accordingly, reduced network loading and the failure rate of LTE or 5G attach procedure, and further, saved power on the UE (Raghunathan [Para. 0081]).
For claim 20, Deepak, Yu, Lee and Uchino teach the system of claim 15. The references further teach wherein providing information solely related to the requested band improves the system's capacity (Uchino [Para. 0049], a size of the UE capability information message may be relatively large, thereby consuming significant network resources. Uchino [Para. 0051], To reduce the size of the UE capability information message, a base station may provide a band filtering indication to a UE. The band filtering indication may indicate one NTN band for which the UE is to report per-band capabilities).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deepak, Yu and Lee, so that the base sends UE capabilities request indicating the band associated with the NTN and receives the UE capabilities information of the band, as taught by Uchino. The modification would have allowed the size of the UE capability information message to be reduced and consumption of network resources (Uchino [Para. 0049 and 0116]).
Although teaching the UE capability message reporting one band to size of the message to reduce consumption of network resources, Deepak, Yu, Lee and Uchino do not explicitly disclose wherein providing information solely related to the requested band improves the system's capacity.
Raghunathan is directed to providing methods and apparatus for user equipment capability exchange. More specifically, Raghunathan teaches wherein providing information solely related to the requested band improves the system's capacity ([Para. 0081], the present disclosure provides enhancements for UE capability exchange procedures to reduce the message size of UE capability information. Accordingly, network loading on the uplink may be reduced. Also, the time for transmitting UE capability information and the failure rate of LTE or 5G attach procedure may be reduced [Examiner’s Note: Reduction in traffic load on the network links and increasing success rate of attach procedure improve network capacity]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deepak, Yu, Lee and Uchino, to reduce the message size of UE capability information, as taught by Raghunathan. The modification would have reduced the message size of UE capability information, and accordingly, reduced network loading and the failure rate of LTE or 5G attach procedure, and further, saved power on the UE (Raghunathan [Para. 0081]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417