DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-8, and 15-23 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/16/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, are 9-14, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding Claim 1; “at least a first interface and a second interface” in line 3, “one of the first interfaces” in line 5 and “two of the second interfaces” in line(s) 5-6 are each unclear; whereas “at least a first interface and a second interface” in line 3 only constitutes a broadest reasonable interpretation BRI of one first interface, and one second interface and does not necessitate more than one first interface or more than one second interface. The office herein notes that consistent terminology including singularity and plurality thereof shall be asserted to define the terms as intended; whereas at least a first interface is further limited as one of the first interfaces in line 5 and otherwise at least second interface is further limited as two of the second interfaces in line(s) 5-6, and thus the claim presents inconsistent terminology which appears to read on varying claim constructions. Further, in line(s) 8-10: “one of a plurality if current paths based on which two of the second interfaces are electrically and mechanically connected to the second type of separable electrical connector” is unclear; whereas the limitation appears to suggest two different sets of second interfaces; whereas the claim already asserts the second type connector simultaneously connected to two of the second interfaces, and the claim does not otherwise assert any particular manner of electrical control to constitute any current path using only one of the two interfaces. Regarding Claim 12; “the first interface and the second interface” is unclear; whereas claim 1 appears to denote first and second interfaces (plural), and thus it cannot be readily ascertained if a select first interface and a select second interface is intended or otherwise if intended to denote each of the first interfaces and each of the second interfaces.
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, and 11-14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Parrish 2008/0180884).
Regarding Claim 1; Parrish discloses a system (as constituted by a vehicle electrical system—para. 0002) comprising: a switching apparatus (as depicted by Fig.’s 1-4, and constituted by a power distribution assembly-100 having a power distribution module-102 comprising fuses, relays, and diodes—para.’s 0015-0016) comprising a plurality of electrically isolated busbars, each busbar comprising at least a first interface and a second interface (as set forth by para.’s 0022-0023--whereas bus bars 128 include busbar-128a-128c, each including first and second interfaces defined by respective terminals 188 loaded in channels 116-Fig. 1 formed by upper and lower channel portions 150 and 164—Fig. 2, and the channels are insulated from one another—as further set forth by para. 0021); a first type of separable electrical connector configured to mechanically and electrically connect to one of the first interfaces (as depicted by Fig.’s 1 and 4--as constituted by a fuse-125 with a connector-122 electrically and mechanically connected at row 1, column C to one corresponding terminal-188—as set forth by para. 0022); and suggests a second type of separable electrical connector configured to connect to two of the second interfaces simultaneously (as depicted by Fig.’s 2, 4--whereas relay 124-Fig. 4 constitutes a connector simultaneously connected electrically and mechanically to a terminal interface 188 at row 3, columns A of the bus bar 128a and another terminal interface 188 at row 2 column C of another bus bar 128c—as further set forth by para. 0030; and otherwise where a different fuse 125 constitutes a connector that is simultaneously electrically and mechanically coupled via a terminal interface-188 at row D of busbar 128c and at another terminal interface of row E of busbar 128b); wherein the switching apparatus is configurable to have one of a plurality of current paths based on which two of the second interfaces are electrically and mechanically connected to the second type of separable electrical connector (as depicted by Fig.’s 2, 4--whereas the power distribution module comprises two different current paths as constituted by the above-mentioned respective terminal connections of the relay and the different fuse; wherein one path is defined by electrically and mechanically connecting the relay-124 to bus bar 128a via terminal-188 at row 3, column A and powered by the bus bar 128c via a terminal at row 2, column C --as set forth by para. 0030; and otherwise when the different fuse 125 is electrically and mechanically coupled to terminal interface-188 at row D of busbar 128c and terminal-188 of row E of busbar 128b to distribute power). Except, Parrish does not explicitly disclose actually disclose the second type of separable connectors. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the second type of separable connector as a second type since it was known in the art, as set forth by para. 0018 that different type and/or size of contacts according to application type so as to change and reconfigure an entire base of the assembly and/or wiring scheme thereof, as set forth by para. 0004.
Regarding Claim 2; Parrish discloses the system of claim 1, suggests further comprising a base portion, the base portion being an electrically conductive material, and wherein the plurality of busbars are attached to the base portion and are electrically isolated from the base portion (as set forth by para. 0021—as constituted by a base-105 and/or channel portion-164, wherein the base may include a solid block of material having the channels, and the channels define slots receiving the bus bars and the channels are insulated from one another), except, explicitly disclosing the base portion being an electrically conductive material. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the solid block comprising the base and/or the channel portion thereof as aluminum so as to characterize a lightweight base, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 3; Parrish discloses the already modified system of claim 2, wherein the base portion comprises a plurality of bays, and each busbar is in a separate bay (whereas each of the slots-166 constitute a bay receiving respective bus bars).
Regarding Claim 4; Parrish discloses the already modified system of claim 3, wherein each bay is defined by walls that extend from the base portion (whereas sidewalls of the channels-164 extend from a bottom-162 of the base 105).
Regarding Claim 9; Parrish discloses the already modified system of claim 1, suggests further comprising an electrically insulating material between each busbar (as set forth by para. 0021—as constituted by a base-105 and/or channel portion-164, wherein the base may include a solid block of material having the channels, and the channels define slots receiving the bus bars and the channels are insulated from one another), except, explicitly disclosing the base portion being an electrically conductive material. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the solid block comprising the base and/or the channel portion thereof as aluminum so as to characterize a lightweight base, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 11; Parrish discloses the already modified system of claim 1, the first interface is a loadbreak interface configured to connect to a loadbreak connector. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the terminal 188 and the corresponding connector of the fuse-125 as a loadbreak interface and a loadbreak connector since it was known in the art that a fuse constitutes a loadbreak device that may be safely removed during operation. Going further, the system may employed for different types of systems which include different types of devices—as set forth by para. 0028, and will allow for safe repair of i.e. a transformer for an electrical distribution system while energized, and thus it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding Claim 12; Parrish discloses the already modified system of claim 11, except, explicitly wherein the first interface and the second interface are rated to conduct current up to 600A. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the respective interfaces of the modified distribution system to be configured for low and medium amperage applications for enhanced design flexibility, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 13; Parrish discloses the already modified system of claim 1, except, explicitly wherein the first interface is a deadbreak bushing. However, the first interface as a deadbreak bushing may be employed in accordance with safe repair of a deenergized system, whereas para. 0028 discloses the system may employed for different types of systems which include different types of devices—as set forth by para. 0028, and thus it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding Claim 14; Parrish discloses the already modified system of claim 13, except, explicitly wherein the second interface is rated to conduct current up to 600 A. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the respective interfaces of the modified distribution system to be configured for low and medium amperage applications for enhanced design flexibility, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 10, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 5; the system of claim 4, wherein the system further comprises a cover portion configured for placement over the bays, the cover portion comprising a plurality of openings; and when the cover portion is placed over the bays, at least some of the openings are over intersection points of the walls to thereby provide a visible indicator of the current path. Regarding Claim 10; the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of current paths comprise: a standard current path that connects a device to a load; a transition current path that provides a low- impedance current path between the source and the load and a high-impedance current path to the device; and a bypass current path that connects the source to the load without being connected to the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20080259532 A1
Hughes; David Charles et al.
Fig.’s 5-7
US 20070032110 A1
Hughes; David Charles et al.
Fig.’s 2-7
/COURTNEY L SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835