DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Mori et al. (US-20120305347).
Regarding claim 1, Mori et al. discloses a suspension system (fig 6), comprising: a front left damper (81FL) including a first compression chamber (B) and a first rebound chamber (C); a front right damper (81FR) including a second compression chamber (B) and a second rebound chamber (C); a back left damper (81RL) including a third compression chamber (B) and a third rebound chamber (C); a back right damper (81RR) including a fourth compression chamber (B) and a fourth rebound chamber (C); a first hydraulic circuit (84/85/89A) that fluidly connects said first compression chamber (B-81FL) of said front left damper and said second rebound chamber (C-81FR) of said front right damper (fig 6 and at least [0107], via a connection portion 89A while being in communication with each other at a certain position along the external pipes 84 and 85); a second hydraulic circuit (82/83/88A) that fluidly connects said first rebound chamber (C-81FL) of said front left damper and said second compression chamber (B-81FR) of said front right damper (fig 6 and at least [0106], via a connection portion 88A while being in communication with each other at a certain position along the external pipes 82 and 83); a third hydraulic circuit (84/85/89A, at bottom cylinders) that fluidly connects said third compression chamber (B-81RL) of said back left damper and said fourth rebound chamber (C-81RR) of said back right damper (fig 6 and at least [0107], via a connection portion 89A); a fourth hydraulic circuit (82/83/88A, at bottom cylinders) that fluidly connects said third rebound chamber (C-81RL) of said back left damper and said fourth compression chamber (B-81RR) of said back right damper (fig 6 and at least [0106]); a first longitudinal hydraulic line (89) extending between and fluidly connecting said first and third hydraulic circuits (at least at 89A); a second longitudinal hydraulic line (88) extending between and fluidly connecting said second and fourth hydraulic circuits (a least at 88A); a first bi-directional pump (14, fig 6 bottom) that is arranged along and fluidly connected to said first longitudinal hydraulic line (89), said first bi-directional pump having a first operating mode for pumping hydraulic fluid in a first direction (at least E or F) from said first hydraulic circuit to said third hydraulic circuit and a second operating mode for pumping hydraulic fluid in a second direction (at least E or F) from said third hydraulic circuit to said first hydraulic circuit (at least [0029] and [0113] wherein the pump 14 is a bidirectional pump configured to be driven to rotate in a normal direction and a reverse direction (the directions indicated by arrows E and F) by a motor 20 serving as a drive source); and a second bi-directional pump (14, fig 6 top) that is arranged along and fluidly connected to said second longitudinal hydraulic line (88), said second bi-directional pump having a third operating mode for pumping hydraulic fluid in a third direction (at least E or F) from said second hydraulic circuit to said fourth hydraulic circuit and a fourth operating mode for pumping hydraulic fluid in a fourth direction (at least E or F) from said fourth hydraulic circuit to said second hydraulic circuit (at least [0029] and [0113] wherein the pump 14 is a bidirectional pump configured to be driven to rotate in a normal direction and a reverse direction (the directions indicated by arrows E and F) by a motor 20 serving as a drive source).
Regarding claim 2, Mori et al. discloses wherein said first bi-directional pump (fig 4, 14, bottom) includes a first port that is configured as an inlet in said first operating mode and an outlet in said second operating mode (fig 6, wherein the right and left sides of pump 14 have been interpreted as inlet or outlet ports depending on the direction of flow, E or F), wherein said first bi-directional pump includes a second port that is configured as an outlet in said first operating mode and an inlet in said second operating mode(fig 6, wherein the right and left sides of pump 14 have been interpreted as inlet or outlet ports depending on the direction of flow, E or F), wherein said second bi-directional pump (fig 4, 14, top) includes a third port that is configured as an inlet in said third operating mode and an outlet in said fourth operating mode (fig 6, wherein the right and left sides of pump 14 have been interpreted as inlet or outlet ports depending on the direction of flow, E or F), and wherein said second bi- directional pump includes a fourth port that is configured as an outlet in said third operating mode and an inlet in said fourth operating mode (fig 6, wherein the right and left sides of pump 14 have been interpreted as inlet or outlet ports depending on the direction of flow, E or F).
Regarding claim 3, Mori et al. discloses wherein said first hydraulic circuit (84/85/89A) includes a first hydraulic line (84/85) that extends between and fluidly connects said first compression chamber of said front left damper (B-81FL) and said second rebound chamber (C-81FR) of said front right damper (fig 6), wherein said second hydraulic circuit (82/83/88A) includes a second hydraulic line (82/83) that extends between and fluidly connects said first rebound chamber (C-81FL) of said front left damper and said second compression chamber (B-81FR) of said front right damper (fig 6), wherein said third hydraulic circuit (84/85/89A, bottom) includes a third hydraulic line (84/85, bottom) that extends between and fluidly connects said third compression chamber of said back left damper (B81RL) and said fourth rebound chamber of said back right damper (C-81RR), wherein said fourth hydraulic circuit (82/83/88A, bottom) includes a fourth hydraulic line (82/83) that extends between and fluidly connects said third rebound chamber of said back left damper (C-81RL) and said fourth compression chamber of said back right damper (B-81RR), wherein said first longitudinal hydraulic line (89) includes a first hydraulic line segment (at least at or near 15A) that extends between and fluidly connects said first hydraulic line (89) and said first port (depending on flow E/F, either side of 14) of said first bi-directional pump (fig 6, 14), wherein said first longitudinal hydraulic line (89) includes a second hydraulic line segment (at least at or near 15A) that extends between and fluidly connects said third hydraulic line and said second port (fig 6, opposite end of said first port) of said first bi- directional pump (fig 6, 14), wherein said second longitudinal hydraulic line (88) includes a third hydraulic line segment (at or near 15A, top) that extends between and fluidly connects said second hydraulic line and said third port (depending on flow E/F, either side of 14) of said second bi-directional pump (14), and wherein said second longitudinal hydraulic line includes a fourth hydraulic line segment (at least at or near 15A, top) that extends between and fluidly connects said fourth hydraulic line and said fourth port of said second bi-directional pump (fig 6, opposite end of said first port).
Claims 1-5, 11, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Walker et al. (US-20220380004).
Regarding claim 1, Walker et al. discloses a suspension system (fig 6), comprising: a front left damper (11) including a first compression chamber (19) and a first rebound chamber (71); a front right damper (12) including a second compression chamber (20) and a second rebound chamber (72); a back left damper (13) including a third compression chamber (21) and a third rebound chamber (73); a back right damper (14) including a fourth compression chamber (22) and a fourth rebound chamber (74); a first hydraulic circuit (23’) that fluidly connects said first compression chamber (19) of said front left damper and said second rebound chamber (72) of said front right damper (figs 5 and 6); a second hydraulic circuit (24’) that fluidly connects said first rebound chamber (71) of said front left damper and said second compression chamber (20) of said front right damper (figs 5 and 6); a third hydraulic circuit (25’) that fluidly connects said third compression chamber (21) of said back left damper and said fourth rebound chamber (74) of said back right damper (figs 5 and 6); a fourth hydraulic circuit (26’) that fluidly connects said third rebound chamber (73) of said back left damper and said fourth compression chamber (22) of said back right damper (figs 5 and 6); a first longitudinal hydraulic line (24/25) extending between and fluidly connecting said first and third hydraulic circuits (figs 5 and 6); a second longitudinal hydraulic line (23/26) extending between and fluidly connecting said second and fourth hydraulic circuits (figs 5 and 6); a first bi-directional pump (32) that is arranged along and fluidly connected to said first longitudinal hydraulic line (24/25), said first bi-directional pump (32) having a first operating mode for pumping hydraulic fluid in a first direction from said first hydraulic circuit to said third hydraulic circuit and a second operating mode for pumping hydraulic fluid in a second direction from said third hydraulic circuit to said first hydraulic circuit (at least [0064] wherein reversible pump 32 is connected between the front right compression conduit 24 and the back left compression conduit 25 to enable fluid to be transferred between the front right compression control volume 28 and the back left compression control volume 29. The four possible permutations of simultaneously running the two pumps 31, 32 forwards or backwards gives the four chassis displacements of roll to the left and the right and pitch to the front and the back); and a second bi-directional pump (31) that is arranged along and fluidly connected to said second longitudinal hydraulic line (23/26), said second bi-directional pump having a third operating mode for pumping hydraulic fluid in a third direction from said second hydraulic circuit to said fourth hydraulic circuit and a fourth operating mode for pumping hydraulic fluid in a fourth direction from said fourth hydraulic circuit to said second hydraulic circuit (at least [0064] wherein reversible pump 31 is connected between the front left compression conduit 23 and the back right compression conduit 26 to enable fluid to be transferred between the front left compression control volume 27 and the back right compression control volume 30).
Regarding claim 2, Walker et al. discloses wherein said first bi-directional pump (32) includes a first port that is configured as an inlet in said first operating mode and an outlet in said second operating mode (figs 5 and 6, wherein the top and bottom sides of pump 32 have been interpreted as inlet or outlet ports depending on the direction of flow), wherein said first bi-directional pump includes a second port that is configured as an outlet in said first operating mode and an inlet in said second operating mode (figs 5 and 6, wherein the top and bottom sides of pump 32 have been interpreted as inlet or outlet ports depending on the direction of flow), wherein said second bi-directional pump (31) includes a third port that is configured as an inlet in said third operating mode and an outlet in said fourth operating mode (figs 5 and 6, wherein the top and bottom sides of pump 31 have been interpreted as inlet or outlet ports depending on the direction of flow), and wherein said second bi- directional pump includes a fourth port that is configured as an outlet in said third operating mode and an inlet in said fourth operating mode (figs 5 and 6, wherein the top and bottom sides of pump 31 have been interpreted as inlet or outlet ports depending on the direction of flow).
Regarding claim 3, Walker et al. discloses wherein said first hydraulic circuit (23’) includes a first hydraulic line (23’) that extends between and fluidly connects said first compression chamber of said front left damper (19) and said second rebound chamber (72) of said front right damper (figs 5 and 6), wherein said second hydraulic circuit (24’) includes a second hydraulic line (24’) that extends between and fluidly connects said first rebound chamber (71) of said front left damper and said second compression chamber (20) of said front right damper (figs 5 and 6), wherein said third hydraulic circuit (25’) includes a third hydraulic line (25’) that extends between and fluidly connects said third compression chamber of said back left damper (21) and said fourth rebound chamber of said back right damper (74), wherein said fourth hydraulic circuit (25’) includes a fourth hydraulic line (25’) that extends between and fluidly connects said third rebound chamber of said back left damper (73) and said fourth compression chamber of said back right damper (22), wherein said first longitudinal hydraulic line (24/25) includes a first hydraulic line segment (fig 6, 24 adjacently below 98) that extends between and fluidly connects said first hydraulic line (24) and said first port (depending on flow, either side of 32) of said first bi-directional pump (32), wherein said first longitudinal hydraulic line (24/25) includes a second hydraulic line segment (at least all or a segment of 25) that extends between and fluidly connects said third hydraulic line and said second port (fig 6, opposite end 32) of said first bi- directional pump (fig 6, 32), wherein said second longitudinal hydraulic line (23/26) includes a third hydraulic line segment (fig 6, 23 adjacently below 98) that extends between and fluidly connects said second hydraulic line and said third port (depending on flow, either side of 31) of said second bi-directional pump (31), and wherein said second longitudinal hydraulic line includes a fourth hydraulic line segment (at least all or a segment of 26) that extends between and fluidly connects said fourth hydraulic line and said fourth port of said second bi-directional pump (fig 6, opposite end of said first port).
Regarding claim 4, Walker et al. discloses a reservoir (318 or 312); and a third bi-directional pump (316) that is arranged between and fluidly connected to said reservoir and said first and second longitudinal hydraulic lines (fig 6), said third bi-directional pump (316) having a fifth operating mode for pumping hydraulic fluid in a fifth direction from said reservoir to at least one of said first and second longitudinal hydraulic lines and a sixth operating mode for pumping hydraulic fluid in a sixth direction from at least one of said first and second longitudinal hydraulic lines to said reservoir ([0098] at least wherein The pump/motor 316 can use energy from the motor 304 and/or the pumps 31, 32 to draw fluid from the reservoir 318 and pump it into the energy accumulator 312, which in this example is a hydro-pneumatic fluid pressure accumulator. Conversely, when the pumps 31, 32 require more energy than is available from the motor 304, energy can be released from the energy accumulator 312 either to provide fast initial response as the motor 304 increases in speed and energy output, or to provide additional power at peak requirements).
Regarding claim 5, Walker et al. discloses wherein said third bi-directional pump (316) includes a fifth port that is configured as an inlet in said fifth operating mode and an outlet in said sixth operating mode and wherein said third bi-directional pump includes a sixth port that is configured as an outlet in said fifth operating mode and an inlet in said sixth operating mode ([0098] at least wherein The pump/motor 316 can use energy from the motor 304 and/or the pumps 31, 32 to draw fluid from the reservoir 318 and pump it into the energy accumulator 312, which in this example is a hydro-pneumatic fluid pressure accumulator. Conversely, when the pumps 31, 32 require more energy than is available from the motor 304, energy can be released from the energy accumulator 312 either to provide fast initial response as the motor 304 increases in speed and energy output, or to provide additional power at peak requirements).
Regarding claim 11, Walker et al. discloses a suspension system (fig 6), comprising: a front left damper (11) including a first compression chamber (19) and a first rebound chamber (71); a front right damper (12) including a second compression chamber (20) and a second rebound chamber (72); a back left damper (13) including a third compression chamber (21) and a third rebound chamber (73); a back right damper (14) including a fourth compression chamber (22) and a fourth rebound chamber (74); a first hydraulic circuit (23’) that fluidly connects said first compression chamber (19) of said front left damper and said second rebound chamber (72) of said front right damper (figs 5 and 6); a second hydraulic circuit (24’) that fluidly connects said first rebound chamber (71) of said front left damper and said second compression chamber (20) of said front right damper (figs 5 and 6); a third hydraulic circuit (25’) that fluidly connects said third compression chamber (21) of said back left damper and said fourth rebound chamber (74) of said back right damper (figs 5 and 6); a fourth hydraulic circuit (26’) that fluidly connects said third rebound chamber (73) of said back left damper and said fourth compression chamber (22) of said back right damper (figs 5 and 6); a first longitudinal hydraulic line (24/25) extending between and fluidly connecting said first and third hydraulic circuits (figs 5 and 6); a second longitudinal hydraulic line (23/26) extending between and fluidly connecting said second and fourth hydraulic circuits (figs 5 and 6); a first bi-directional pump (32) that is arranged along and fluidly connected to said first longitudinal hydraulic line (24/25), said first bi-directional pump (32) having a first operating mode for pumping hydraulic fluid in a first direction from said first hydraulic circuit to said third hydraulic circuit and a second operating mode for pumping hydraulic fluid in a second direction from said third hydraulic circuit to said first hydraulic circuit (at least [0064] wherein reversible pump 32 is connected between the front right compression conduit 24 and the back left compression conduit 25 to enable fluid to be transferred between the front right compression control volume 28 and the back left compression control volume 29. The four possible permutations of simultaneously running the two pumps 31, 32 forwards or backwards gives the four chassis displacements of roll to the left and the right and pitch to the front and the back); and a second bi-directional pump (31) that is arranged along and fluidly connected to said second longitudinal hydraulic line (23/26), said second bi-directional pump having a third operating mode for pumping hydraulic fluid in a third direction from said second hydraulic circuit to said fourth hydraulic circuit and a fourth operating mode for pumping hydraulic fluid in a fourth direction from said fourth hydraulic circuit to said second hydraulic circuit (at least [0064] wherein reversible pump 31 is connected between the front left compression conduit 23 and the back right compression conduit 26 to enable fluid to be transferred between the front left compression control volume 27 and the back right compression control volume 30); and one or more controllers (at least shown in fig 7 at 322 and/or at least [0072] wherein the roll and pitch attitude of the body can be actively controlled to minimize such changes in attitude) electrically connected to said first and second bi-directional pumps (31/32) and programmed to concurrently or independently activate at least one of said first and second operating modes of said first bi-directional pump and at least one of said third and fourth operating modes of said second bi-directional pump (at least [0101], wherein a controller 322 which controls the flow of power to and from the motor/generator 324 driving or being driven by the diagonal reversible pumps 31, 32).
Regarding claim 18, Walker et al. discloses a suspension system (fig 6), comprising: a front left damper (11) including a first compression chamber (19) and a first rebound chamber (71); a front right damper (12) including a second compression chamber (20) and a second rebound chamber (72); a back left damper (13) including a third compression chamber (21) and a third rebound chamber (73); a back right damper (14) including a fourth compression chamber (22) and a fourth rebound chamber (74); a first hydraulic circuit (23’) that fluidly connects said first compression chamber (19) of said front left damper and said second rebound chamber (72) of said front right damper (figs 5 and 6); a second hydraulic circuit (24’) that fluidly connects said first rebound chamber (71) of said front left damper and said second compression chamber (20) of said front right damper (figs 5 and 6); a third hydraulic circuit (25’) that fluidly connects said third compression chamber (21) of said back left damper and said fourth rebound chamber (74) of said back right damper (figs 5 and 6); a fourth hydraulic circuit (26’) that fluidly connects said third rebound chamber (73) of said back left damper and said fourth compression chamber (22) of said back right damper (figs 5 and 6); a first longitudinal hydraulic line (24/25) extending between and fluidly connecting said first and third hydraulic circuits (figs 5 and 6); a second longitudinal hydraulic line (23/26) extending between and fluidly connecting said second and fourth hydraulic circuits (figs 5 and 6); a reservoir (318 or 312) that is arranged in fluid communication with at least one of said first and second longitudinal hydraulic lines (fig 6), a first bi-directional pump (32) that is arranged along and fluidly connected to said first longitudinal hydraulic line (24/25), said first bi-directional pump (32) having a first operating mode for pumping hydraulic fluid in a first direction from said first hydraulic circuit to said third hydraulic circuit and a second operating mode for pumping hydraulic fluid in a second direction from said third hydraulic circuit to said first hydraulic circuit (at least [0064] wherein reversible pump 32 is connected between the front right compression conduit 24 and the back left compression conduit 25 to enable fluid to be transferred between the front right compression control volume 28 and the back left compression control volume 29. The four possible permutations of simultaneously running the two pumps 31, 32 forwards or backwards gives the four chassis displacements of roll to the left and the right and pitch to the front and the back); and a second bi-directional pump (31) that is arranged along and fluidly connected to said second longitudinal hydraulic line (23/26), said second bi-directional pump having a third operating mode for pumping hydraulic fluid in a third direction from said second hydraulic circuit to said fourth hydraulic circuit and a fourth operating mode for pumping hydraulic fluid in a fourth direction from said fourth hydraulic circuit to said second hydraulic circuit (at least [0064] wherein reversible pump 31 is connected between the front left compression conduit 23 and the back right compression conduit 26 to enable fluid to be transferred between the front left compression control volume 27 and the back right compression control volume 30); and a third bi-directional pump (316) that is arranged between and fluidly connected to said reservoir and said first and second longitudinal hydraulic lines (fig 6), said third bi-directional pump (316) having a fifth operating mode for pumping hydraulic fluid in a fifth direction from said reservoir to at least one of said first and second longitudinal hydraulic lines and a sixth operating mode for pumping hydraulic fluid in a sixth direction from at least one of said first and second longitudinal hydraulic lines to said reservoir ([0098] at least wherein The pump/motor 316 can use energy from the motor 304 and/or the pumps 31, 32 to draw fluid from the reservoir 318 and pump it into the energy accumulator 312, which in this example is a hydro-pneumatic fluid pressure accumulator. Conversely, when the pumps 31, 32 require more energy than is available from the motor 304, energy can be released from the energy accumulator 312 either to provide fast initial response as the motor 304 increases in speed and energy output, or to provide additional power at peak requirements).
Regarding claim 19, Walker et al. discloses a common reservoir line (fig 6, line between 318 and 316 and/or the line between 312 and 316) that extends between and fluidly connects said reservoir (318 or 312) and said third bi-directional pump (316); and a first reservoir line (301) that is arranged in fluid communication with said first longitudinal hydraulic line and said third bi-directional pump (301, between 316 and 24/25/via 32).
Regarding claim 20, Walker et al. discloses a second reservoir line (fig 6, 301 between 316 and 31) that is arranged in fluid communication with said second longitudinal hydraulic line(23-26 via 31) and said third bi-directional pump (316).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 and 12-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 6, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a first reservoir line that is arranged in fluid communication with said first longitudinal hydraulic line and said fifth port of said third bi-directional pump; and a first reservoir shut-off valve positioned in said first reservoir line, the first reservoir shut-off valve being a two position electro-mechanical valve with a fully open position and a fully closed position.
As to claim 8, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a front left bridge line that extends between and fluidly connects said first and second hydraulic lines at a location adjacent to said front left damper; a front right bridge line that extends between and fluidly connects said first and second hydraulic lines at a location adjacent to said front right damper; a back left bridge line that extends between and fluidly connects said third and fourth hydraulic lines at a location adjacent to said back left damper; and a back right bridge line that extends between and fluidly connects said third and fourth hydraulic lines at a location adjacent to said back right damper.
As to claim 12, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a front left bridge line that extends between and fluidly connects said first and second hydraulic circuits; a front left shut-off valve that is positioned in said front left bridge line; a front right bridge line that extends between and fluidly connects said first and second hydraulic circuits; a front right shut-off valve that is positioned in said front right bridge line; a back left bridge line that extends between and fluidly connects said third and fourth hydraulic circuits; a back left shut-off valve that is positioned in said back left bridge line; a back right bridge line that extends between and fluidly connects said third and fourth hydraulic circuits; and a back right shut-off valve that is positioned in said back right bridge line, wherein said front left shut-off valve, said front right shut-off valve, said back left shut-off valve, and said back right shut-off valve are two position electro-mechanical valves, each having a fully open position and a fully closed position.
Conclusion
/JAMES K HSIAO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3616