DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/25/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-13, 15-21, 23-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 14, 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Waguri et al disclose a microphone comprising: a microphone element configured to detect sound; a digital signal processor configured to: receive a first analog audio signal, wherein the first analog audio signal is based on the sound detected by the microphone element; select, based on a selected digital signal processing mode, of a plurality of digital signal processing modes, a maximum amount of an automatic level control gain, from a plurality of maximum amounts of automatic level control gain, wherein each of the predetermined maximum amounts of automatic level control gain is associated with a different one of the plurality of digital signal processing modes; cause automatic level control to be performed on the first analog audio signal based on the selected maximum amount of automatic level control gain; and perform, based on the first analog audio signal and in accordance with the selected digital signal processing mode, digital signal processing to generate a digital audio signal; a connector configured to output, the digital audio signal; but do not expressly disclose the limitation “wherein the digital signal processing mode, a value of bass tamer parameter from a plurality of predetermined values of the bass tamer parameter each associated with a different one of the plurality of the digital signal processing modes; and compress a bass frequency of the first analog audio signal based on the selected value of the bass tamer parameter“.
None of the prior art of record disclose in their entirety or in combination the claimed limitation “wherein the digital signal processing mode, a value of bass tamer parameter from a plurality of predetermined values of the bass tamer parameter each associated with a different one of the plurality of the digital signal processing modes; and compress a bass frequency of the first analog audio signal based on the selected value of the bass tamer parameter“.
Therefore, the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant's claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waguri et al (US 2013/0177191 A1) in view of Osamu et al (JP 2006-173918 A) and further in view of Saeki (US 2018/0183399 A1) and further in view of Nagai et al (US 2002/0159179 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Waguri et al disclose a microphone (Waguri et al ; Fig 5) comprising: a microphone element configured to detect sound (Waguri et al ; Fig 5 microphone 4); a digital signal processor configured to (Waguri et al ; Fig 5; DSP 22): receive a first analog audio signal (Waguri et al; Para [0058]), wherein the first analog audio signal is based on the sound detected by the microphone element (Waguri et al; Para [0058]); determine, based on a selected digital signal processing mode, of a plurality of digital signal processing modes (Waguri et al; Para [0040]), a target amount of an automatic level control gain, from a plurality of target amounts of automatic level control gain, wherein each of the target mounts of automatic level control gain is associated with a different one of the plurality of digital signal processing modes (Waguri et al; Para [0041]-[0042]; table with set values for automatic level control for each recording mode); and perform, based on the first analog audio signal and in accordance with the selected digital signal processing mode, digital signal processing to generate a digital audio signal (Waguri et al; Para [0041]-[0042][0047]), but do not expressly disclose determine, based on a selected digital signal processing mode, of a plurality of digital signal processing modes, a maximum amount of an automatic level control gain, from a plurality of predetermined maximum amounts of automatic level control gain, wherein each of the predetermined maximum amounts of automatic level control gain is associated with a different one of the plurality of digital signal processing modes; cause automatic level control to be performed on the first analog audio signal based on the maximum amount of automatic level control gain; a connector configured to output, the digital audio signal. However, in the same field of endeavor, Osamu et al disclose an audio recording device comprising determine, based on a selected digital signal processing mode, of a plurality of digital signal processing modes (Osamu et al; Para [0042][0044]-[0049]), an automatic level control parameter, from a plurality of automatic level control parameters, wherein each of the automatic level control parameter is associated with a different one of the plurality of digital signal processing modes (Osamu et al; Para [0044]-[0049]; automatic level control parameter ALC value based on selected recording shooting modes). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio processing taught by Osamu as audio processing in the device taught by Waguri. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the sound quality (Osamu et al; Para [0012]). Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, Saeki discloses an audio recording device comprising an automatic level control wherein a maximum amount of an automatic level control gain, from a plurality of predetermined maximum amounts of automatic level control gain (Saeki; Para [0076]; max gain for each processing modes-recording and monitoring), wherein each of the predetermined maximum amounts of automatic level control gain is associated with a different one of the plurality of digital signal processing modes (Saeki; Para [0076]; max gain1 for recording and max gain 2 for monitoring) cause automatic level control to be performed on the first analog audio signal based on the maximum amount of automatic level control gain (Saeki; Para [0076]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the automatic level control taught by Saeki to control the gain of the ALC in the device taught by Waguri in view of Osamu. The motivation to do so would have been protecting the audio from excessive volumes (Saeki; Para [0040]). Furthermore, in the same field of endeavor, Nagai et al disclose an audio recording device a connector configured to output, the digital audio signal (Nagai et al; Fig 1; Para [0126]; USB connector 24 for outputting digital audio signals). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the connector taught by Nagai as audio output option in the device taught by Waguri. The motivation to do so would have been to communicate with an external device (Nagai et al; Para [0126]).
Regarding claim 2, Waguri et al in view of Osamu et al and further in view of Sekai et al and further in view of Nagai et al disclose the microphone of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the connector comprises a universal serial bus (USB) connector. However, in the same field of endeavor, Nagai et al disclose an audio recording device wherein the connector comprises a universal serial bus (USB) connector (Nagai et al; Fig 1; Para [0126]; USB connector 24 for outputting digital audio signals). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the connector taught by Nagai as audio output option in the device taught by Waguri. The motivation to do so would have been to communicate with an external device (Nagai et al; Para [0126]).
Regarding claim 4, Waguri et al in view of Osamu et al and further in view of Sekai et al and further in view of Nagai et al disclose the microphone of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the digital signal processor is configured to: determine, based on the selected digital signal processing mode, at least one value of at least one parameter, wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of a hold parameter, or a decay parameter; and perform the digital signal processing based on the at least one value of the at least one parameter. However, in the same field of endeavor, Osamu et al disclose an audio recording device wherein the digital signal processor is configured to: determine, based on the selected digital signal processing mode, at least one value of at least one parameter, wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of a hold parameter, or a decay parameter (Osamu et al; Para [0044]- [0049]; recovery parameter interpreted as decay parameter selected for each shooting or recording modes); and perform the digital signal processing based on the at least one value of the at least one parameter (Osamu et al; Para [0044]-[0049]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio processing taught by Osamu as audio processing in the device taught by Waguri. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the sound quality (Osamu et al; Para [0012]).
Regarding claim 5, Waguri et al in view of Osamu et al and further in view of Sekai et al and further in view of Nagai et al disclose the microphone of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the digital signal processor is configured to: determine, based on the selected digital signal processing mode, a value of an attack parameter, a value of a hold parameter, and a value of a decay parameter; and perform the digital signal processing based on the value of the value of the hold parameter, and the value of the decay parameter. However, in the same field of endeavor, Osamu et al disclose an audio recording device wherein the digital signal processor is configured to: determine, based on the selected digital signal processing mode, a value of a value of a hold parameter, and a value of a decay parameter (Osamu et al; Para [0044]-[0049]; recovery parameter interpreted as decay parameter selected for each shooting or recording modes); and perform the digital signal processing based on the value of the value of the hold parameter, and the value of the decay parameter (Osamu et al; Para [0044]-[0049]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio processing taught by Osamu as audio processing in the device taught by Waguri. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the sound quality (Osamu et al; Para [0012]).
Regarding claim 8, Waguri et al in view of Osamu et al and further in view of Sekai et al and further in view of Nagai et al disclose the microphone of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the microphone is further configured to receive a second analog audio signal from a second microphone external to the microphone, and wherein the first analog audio signal is further based on the second analog audio signal. However, in the same field of endeavor, Nagai et al disclose an audio recording device wherein the microphone is further configured to receive a second analog audio signal from a second microphone external to the microphone (Nagai et al; Fig 1; Para [0104]; mike jack is for receiving analog signal from external mike), and wherein the first analog audio signal is further based on the second analog audio signal (Nagai et al; Fig 1; Para [0104]; external mike connected to mike jack record same ambient acoustic signal as first analog signal from internal mike 1). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the external mike taught by Nagai as audio input in the device taught by Waguri. The motivation to do so would have been to communicate with an external device (Nagai et al; Para [0126]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waguri et al (US 2013/0177191 A1) in view of Osamu et al (JP 2006-173918 A) and further in view of Saeki (US 2018/0183399 A1) and further in view of Nagai et al (US 2002/0159179 A1) and further in view of Hyatt (US 2006/0291671 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Waguri et al in view of Osamu et al and further in view of Sekai et al and further in view of Nagai et al disclose the microphone of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the microphone comprises one or more processors configured to determine the selected digital signal processing mode based on a control signal received via the connector. However, in the same field of endeavor, Hyatt disclose an audio device wherein the microphone comprises one or more processors configured to determine the selected digital signal processing mode based on a control signal received via the connector (Hyatt; Para [0031]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the control signal taught by Hyatt as mode control signal option in the device taught by Waguri. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce costs (Hyatt et al; Para [0036]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waguri et al (US 2013/0177191 A1) in view of Osamu et al (JP 2006-173918 A) and further in view of Saeki (US 2018/0183399 A1) and further in view of Nagai et al (US 2002/0159179 A1) and further in view of Sato (US 2010/0106272 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Waguri et al in view of Osamu et al and further in view of Sekai et al and further in view of Nagai et al disclose the microphone of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein each of the plurality of digital signal processing modes comprises a different combination of a microphone position setting and a tone setting. However, in the same field of endeavor, Sato discloses a microphone device wherein each of the plurality of digital signal processing modes comprises a different combination of a microphone position setting and a tone setting (Sato Fig 5; Para [0048]; microphone sensitivity is interpreted as microphone position setting and filtering is interpreted as tone setting).It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the tone setting taught by Sato as processing parameter in the microphone device taught by Waguri. The motivation to do so would have been to facilitate the operation of the device (Sato; Para [0075]).
Claim(s) 9, 12-13, 17, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waguri et al (US 2013/0177191 A1) in view of Osamu et al (JP 2006-173918 A) and further in view of Saeki (US 2018/0183399 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Waguri et al disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed (Waguri et al ; Fig 5), configure a microphone (Waguri et al ; Fig 5) to: select, based on a selected digital signal processing mode, of a plurality of digital signal processing modes (Waguri et al; Para [0040]), a value of an automatic level control setting, from a plurality of automatic level control settings each associated with a different one of the plurality of digital signal processing modes (Waguri et al; Para [0041 J-[0042]; table with set values for automatic level control for each recording mode); cause automatic level control to be performed on a first analog audio signal based on the amount of automatic level control gain (Waguri et al; Para [0041]-[0042]), wherein the first analog audio signal is based on sound detected by the microphone (Waguri et al ; Fig 5 microphone 4; Para [0058]); and cause digital signal processing to be performed, based on the first analog audio signal and in accordance with the selected digital signal processing (Waguri et al; Para [0041]-[0042][0047]); but do not expressly disclose determine, based on a selected digital signal processing mode, of a plurality of digital signal processing modes, a maximum amount of an automatic level control gain, from a plurality of predetermined maximum amounts of automatic level control gain, wherein each of the predetermined maximum amounts of automatic level control gain is associated with a different one of the plurality of digital signal processing modes; cause automatic level control to be performed on the first analog audio signal based on the maximum amount of automatic level control gain. However, in the same field of endeavor, Osamu et al disclose an audio recording device comprising determine, based on a selected digital signal processing mode, of a plurality of digital signal processing modes (Osamu et al; Para [0042][0044]-[0049]), an automatic level control parameter, from a plurality of automatic level control parameter, wherein each of the automatic level control parameter is associated with a different one of the plurality of digital signal processing modes (Osamu et al; Para [0044]-[0049]; ALC value based on selected recording shooting modes). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio processing taught by Osamu as audio processing in the device taught by Waguri. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the sound quality (Osamu et al; Para [0012]). Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, Saeki discloses an audio recording device comprising an automatic level control wherein a maximum amount of an automatic level control gain, from a plurality of predetermined maximum amounts of automatic level control gain (Saeki; Para [0076]; max gain for each processing modes-recording and monitoring), wherein each of the predetermined maximum amounts of automatic level control gain is associated with a different one of the plurality of digital signal processing modes (Saeki; Para [0076]; max gain1 for recording and max gain 2 for monitoring) cause automatic level control to be performed on the first analog audio signal based on the maximum amount of automatic level control gain (Saeki; Para [0076]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the automatic level control taught by Saeki to control the gain of the ALC in the device taught by Waguri in view of Osamu. The motivation to do so would have been protecting the audio from excessive volumes (Saeki ; Para [0040]).
Regarding claim 12, Waguri et al in view of Osamu et al and further in view of Saeki et al disclose the non-transitory computer- readable medium of claim 9, but do not expressly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed, further configure the microphone to: determine, based on the selected digital signal processing mode, at least one value of at least one parameter, wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of a hold parameter, or a decay parameter; and perform the digital signal processing based on the at least one value of the at least one parameter. However, in the same field of endeavor, Osamu et al disclose an audio recording device wherein the digital signal processor is configured to: determine, based on the selected digital signal processing mode, at least one value of at least one parameter, wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of a hold parameter, or a decay parameter (Osamu et al; Para [0044]-[0049]; recovery parameter interpreted as decay parameter selected for each shooting or recording modes); and perform the digital signal processing based on the at least one value of the at least one parameter (Osamu et al; Para [0044]-[0049]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio processing taught by Osamu as audio processing in the device taught by Waguri. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the sound quality (Osamu et al; Para [0012]).
Regarding claim 13, Waguri et al in view of Osamu et al and further in view of Saeki et al disclose the non-transitory computer- readable medium of claim 9, but do not expressly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed, further configure the microphone to: determine, based on the selected digital signal processing mode, a value of a hold parameter, and a value of a decay parameter; and perform digital signal processing based on the value of the value of the hold parameter, and the value of the decay parameter. However, in the same field of endeavor, Osamu et al disclose an audio recording device wherein the digital signal processor is configured to: determine, based on the selected digital signal processing mode, a value of a value of a hold parameter, and a value of a decay parameter (Osamu et al; Para [0044]-[0049]; recovery parameter interpreted as decay parameter selected for each shooting or recording modes); and perform the digital signal processing based on the value of the value of the hold parameter, and the value of the decay parameter (Osamu et al; Para [0044]-[0049]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio processing taught by Osamu as audio processing in the device taught by Waguri. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the sound quality (Osamu et al; Para [0012]).
Regarding claim 17, Waguri et al disclose a method comprising: generating, by a microphone, a first analog audio signal based on detected sound (Waguri et al ; Fig 5 microphone 4; Para [0058]); determining, by the microphone, and based on a selected digital signal processing mode, of a plurality of digital signal processing modes (Waguri et al; Para [(0040]), a value of an automatic level control target setting, from a plurality of automatic level control target settings each associated with a different one of the plurality of digital signal processing modes (Waguri et al; Para [0041 ]-[0042]; table with set values for automatic level control for each recording mode); performing, by the microphone, automatic level control on the first analog audio signal (Waguri et al; Para [0041]-[0042]); and performing, by the microphone, based on the first analog audio signal, and in accordance with the selected digital signal processing mode, digital signal processing to generate a digital audio signal (Waguri et al; Para [(0041]- [0042][0047]); but do not expressly disclose determine, based on a selected digital signal processing mode, of a plurality of digital signal processing modes, a maximum amount of an automatic level control gain, from a plurality of predetermined maximum amounts of automatic level control gain, wherein each of the predetermined maximum amounts of automatic level control gain is associated with a different one of the plurality of digital signal processing modes; cause automatic level control to be performed on the first analog audio signal based on the maximum amount of automatic level control gain. However, in the same field of endeavor, Osamu et al disclose an audio recording device comprising determine, based on a selected digital signal processing mode, of a plurality of digital signal processing modes (Osamu et al; Para [0042][0044]-[0049]), a target amount of an automatic level control parameter, from a plurality of automatic level control parameter, wherein each of automatic level control parameter is associated with a different one of the plurality of digital signal processing modes (Osamu et al; Para [0044]-[0049]; ALC value based on selected recording shooting modes). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio processing taught by Osamu as audio processing in the device taught by Waguri. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the sound quality (Osamu et al; Para [0012]). Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, Saeki discloses an audio recording device comprising an automatic level control wherein a maximum amount of an automatic level control gain, from a plurality of predetermined maximum amounts of automatic level control gain (Saeki; Para [0076]; max gain for each processing modes-recording and monitoring), wherein each of the predetermined maximum amounts of automatic level control gain is associated with a different one of the plurality of digital signal processing modes (Saeki; Para [0076]; max gain1 for recording and max gain 2 for monitoring) cause automatic level control to be performed on the first analog audio signal based on the maximum amount of automatic level control gain (Saeki; Para [0076]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the automatic level control taught by Saeki to control the gain of the ALC in the device taught by Waguri in view of Osamu. The motivation to do so would have been protecting the audio from excessive volumes (Saeki ; Para [0040]).
Regarding claim 20, Waguri et al in view of Osamu et al and further in view of Saeki et al disclose the method of claim 17, but do not expressly disclose further comprising: determining, based on the selected digital signal processing mode, at least one value of at least one other parameter, wherein the at least one other parameter comprises at least one of ahold parameter, or a decay parameter; and performing the digital signal processing based on the at least one value of the at least one parameter. However, in the same field of endeavor, Osamu et al disclose an audio recording device wherein the digital signal processor is configured to: determine, based on the selected digital signal processing mode, at least one value of at least one parameter, wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of a hold parameter, or a decay parameter (Osamu et al; Para [0044]-[0049]; recovery parameter interpreted as decay parameter selected for each shooting or recording modes); and perform the digital signal processing based on the at least one value of the at least one parameter (Osamu et al; Para [0044]-[0049]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio processing taught by Osamu as audio processing in the device taught by Waguri. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the sound quality (Osamu et al; Para [0012]).
Regarding claim 21, Waguri et al in view of Osamu et al and further in view of Saeki et al disclose the method of claim 17, but do not expressly disclose further comprising: determining, based on the selected digital signal processing mode, a value of a hold parameter, and a value of a decay parameter; and performing the digital signal processing based on the value of the value of the hold parameter, and the value of the decay parameter. However, in the same field of endeavor, Osamu et al disclose an audio recording device wherein the digital signal processor is configured to: determine, based on the selected digital signal processing mode, a value of a value of a hold parameter, and a value of a decay parameter (Osamu et al; Para [0044]-[0049]; recovery parameter interpreted as decay parameter selected for each shooting or recording modes); and perform the digital signal processing based on the value of the value of the hold parameter, and the value of the decay parameter (Osamu et al; Para [0044]-[0049]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio processing taught by Osamu as audio processing in the device taught by Waguri. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the sound quality (Osamu et al; Para [0012]).
Claim(s) 10, 16, 18, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waguri et al (US 2013/0177191 A1) in view of Osamu et al (JP 2006-173918 A) and further in view of Saeki (US 2018/0183399 A1) and further in view of Nagai et al (US 2002/0159179 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Waguri et al in view of Osamu et al and further in view of Saeki et al disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, but do not expressly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed, configure the microphone to send the digital audio signal via a universal serial bus (USB) connector. However, in the same field of endeavor, Nagai et al disclose an audio recording method wherein the instructions, when executed, configure the microphone to send the digital audio signal via a universal serial bus (USB) connector (Nagai et al; Fig 1; Para [0126]; USB connector 24 for outputting digital audio signals). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the connector taught by Nagai as audio output option in the device taught by Waguri. The motivation to do so would have been to communicate with an external device (Nagai et al; Para [0126]).
Regarding claim 16, Waguri et al in view of Osamu et al and further in view of Saeki et al disclose the non- transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, but do not expressly disclose wherein the first analog audio signal is further based on a second analog audio signal received from a second microphone external to the microphone. However, in the same field of endeavor, Nagai et al disclose an audio recording method wherein the microphone is further configured to receive a second analog audio signal from a second microphone external to the microphone (Nagai et al; Fig 1; Para [0104]; mike jack is for receiving analog signal from external mike). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the external mike taught by Nagai as audio input option in the device taught by Waguri. The motivation to do so would have been to communicate with an external device (Nagai et al; Para [0126]).
Regarding claim 18, Waguri et al in view of Osamu et al and further in view of Saeki et al disclose the method of claim 17, but do not expressly disclose further comprising sending the digital audio signal via a universal serial bus (USB) connector. However, in the same field of endeavor, Nagai et al disclose an audio recording method wherein the instructions, when executed, configure the microphone to send the digital audio signal via a universal serial bus (USB) connector (Nagai et al; Fig 1; Para [0126]; USB connector 24 for outputting digital audio signals). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the connector taught by Nagai as audio output option in the device taught by Waguri. The motivation to do so would have been to communicate with an external device (Nagai et al; Para [0126]).
Regarding claim 24, Waguri et al in view of Osamu et al and further in view of Saeki et al disclose the method of claim 17, but do not expressly disclose wherein the first analog audio signal is further based on at-a second analog audio signal received from a second microphone external to the microphone. However, in the same field of endeavor, Nagai et al disclose an audio recording method wherein the first analog audio signal is further based on the second analog audio signal (Nagai et al; Fig 1; Para [0104]; external mike connected to mike jack record same ambient acoustic signal as first analog signal from internal mike 1). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the external mike taught by Nagai as audio input option in the device taught by Waguri. The motivation to do so would have been to communicate with an external device (Nagai et al; Para [0126]).
Claim(s) 11, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waguri et al (US 2013/0177191 A1) in view of Osamu et al (JP 2006-173918 A) and further in view of Saeki (US 2018/0183399 A1) and further in view of Hyatt (US 2006/0291671 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Waguri et al in view of Osamu et al and further in view of Saeki et al disclose the non-transitory computer- readable medium of claim 9, but do not expressly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed, further configure the microphone to determine the selected digital signal processing mode based on a control signal received from a device external to the microphone. However, in the same field of endeavor, Hyatt disclose an audio method wherein the instructions, when executed, further configure the microphone to determine the selected digital signal processing mode based on a control signal received from a device external to the microphone (Hyatt; Para [0031]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the control signal taught by Hyatt as mode control signal option in the device taught by Waguri. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce costs (Hyatt et al; Para [0036]).
Regarding claim 19, Waguri et al in view of Osamu et al and further in view of Saeki et al disclose the method of claim 17, but do not expressly disclose further comprising determining the selected digital signal processing mode based on a control signal received from a device external to the microphone. However, in the same field of endeavor, Hyatt disclose an audio method wherein the instructions, when executed, further configure the microphone to determine the selected digital signal processing mode based on a control signal received from a device external to the microphone (Hyatt; Para [0031 ]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the control signal taught by Hyatt as mode control signal option in the device taught by Waguri. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce costs (Hyatt et al; Para [0036]).
Claim(s) 15, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waguri et al (US 2013/0177191 A1) in view of Osamu et al (JP 2006-173918 A) and further in view of Saeki (US 2018/0183399 A1) and further in view of Sato (US 2010/0106272 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Waguri et al in view of Osamu et al and further in view of Saeki et al disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, but do not expressly disclose wherein each of the plurality of digital signal processing modes comprises a different combination of a microphone position setting and a tone setting. However, in the same field of endeavor, Sato discloses a microphone method wherein each of the plurality of digital signal processing modes comprises a different combination of a microphone position setting and a tone setting (Sato Fig 5; Para [0048]; microphone sensitivity is interpreted as microphone position setting and filtering is interpreted as tone setting).It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the tone setting taught by Sato as processing parameter in the microphone device taught by Waguri. The motivation to do so would have been to facilitate the operation of the device (Sato; Para [0075]).
Regarding claim 23, Waguri et al in view of Osamu et al and further in view of Saeki et al disclose the method of claim 17, but do not expressly disclose wherein each of the plurality of digital signal processing modes comprises a different combination of a microphone position setting and a tone setting. However, in the same field of endeavor, Sato discloses a microphone method wherein each of the plurality of digital signal processing modes comprises a different combination of a microphone position setting and a tone setting (Sato Fig 5; Para [0048]; microphone sensitivity is interpreted as microphone position setting and filtering is interpreted as tone setting).It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the tone setting taught by Sato as processing parameter in the microphone device taught by Waguri. The motivation to do so would have been to facilitate the operation of the device (Sato; Para [0075]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUASSI A GANMAVO/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692